• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Desert Island Discs And More

There is a long-running radio program on BBC called "Desert Island Discs". Each week, a celebrity would introduce his favourite CDs or Records (at that time), which he would want to bring with him onto a desert island.
Please list your 3 desert island discs in this thread.

Don't worry, this thread has something for everyone. In addition to music lovers, pappy lovers and haters can also name their favourite and most disliked pappy, fans of this forum can also name their favourite and most disliked forummer, even the horny devils can name their favourite and most disliked chiobu. Of course, it will all be in the context of the desert island, i.e. who you would most and least like to spend time with on a desert island.

The rules are simple.
Only 3 desert island discs please. And they have to be actual CDs or records released by the musician, not pirated compilations or "mixed tapes".
To simplify things, please indicate the pappy you would most like to have with you on a desert island as First choice pappy (as if there is one hahaha) and the one you would least like to have around as Last choice pappy (only one please hahaha).
For the first and last choice chiobu, you can of course say your neighbour or your boss, but it would be better if it's someone we knew.
Reasons for your choices are optional, but will be much appreciated.
Let me start.

Desert Island Discs:
Queen Greatest Hits Volume I (released way back in 1981 and includes Bohemian Rhapsody, Save Me, Don't Stop Me Now, Play The Game, etc)
Rod Stewart The Story So Far (released in 2001)
Pat Metheny Group Letter From Home (released in 1989 for easy listening jazz)

First choice pappy: Georgie Yeo (at least can have a conversation methinks)
First choice forummer: Zhihau or Wuqi 256 (couldn't decide between these 2 nice guys, considered someone like Ramseth to talk about football, but he might turn nasty)
First choice chiobu: Jennifer Love Hewitt (decided to go for a big titted chio bu, like the way she talks too)

Last choice pappy: Sweesay Lim (can't stand the way he talks)
Last choice forummer: Clinton666 (many to choose from but decided that the island can do without a retarded gay dog)
Last choice chiobu: MH Chua (toss up between her and Sumiko, but decided on the former on account that the latter is relatively more chio)

It's always a hard choice for a desert isalnd disc to accompany a castaway on a deserted island. A list of more than 10 would come mind, by if forced down to one, I'd have to pick Dark Side Of The Moon by Pink Floyd as the greatest album in the world worth growing old with and dying with.

HTOLAS

Good to see someone resurrect this memory. There's one anecdote about the programme which still tickles me to this day. Elizabeth Schwazkopf was once a guest on the show. ALL her choices were her own recordings.

desert island discs: selecting 1 oni ... no nid 3 ... me can listen 2 tis over n over again non-stop 4 days ...
31JS4JPKT7L._SL500_AA300_.jpg

actually dun nid tis particular disc ... me oso dun have it, but got another different 1 ... but any disc wif dese 2 symfonies wil b goot enuff ...

1st choice chiobu: ah fala ... c my avatar ...

1st choice pappy: dun waste my time on dem ... but me change it 2 1st choice politician, can anot? ... if iz 1st choice politician, den c below ...

1st choice politician: yuri fujikawa ... swee-swee, man! ...
fujikawa-yuri10-300x224.jpg

It's always a hard choice for a desert isalnd disc to accompany a castaway on a deserted island. A list of more than 10 would come mind, by if forced down to one, I'd have to pick Dark Side Of The Moon by Pink Floyd as the greatest album in the world worth growing old with and dying with.
You have 3 choices if you want.
Did you read my comments on choice of forummer? Hehehe. :smile:

Good to see someone resurrect this memory. There's one anecdote about the programme which still tickles me to this day. Elizabeth Schwazkopf was once a guest on the show. ALL her choices were her own recordings.
Hi Bro Thanks for your reply.
Btw, she died in 2006 age 90.

This is from Wiki.
When invited in 1958 to select her eight favourite records on the BBC's Desert Island Discs, Schwarzkopf chose seven of her own recordings as they evoked fond memories of the people she had worked with. This apparently narcissistic choice was due to the influence of her husband Walter Legge. In private, she remarked that she disliked many of her recordings.

actually dun nid tis particular disc ... me oso dun have it, but got another different 1 ... but any disc wif dese 2 symfonies wil b goot enuff ...

1st choice chiobu: ah fala ... c my avatar ...
Good choice of disc. I prefer Mozart though.
Is your avatar HK actress Fala Chen?

Logisex

One for morning, afternoon and evening:

1) The Stone Roses
2) Nimrod - Green Day
2) Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil (Soundtrack)

And when I'm feeling sad and lonely on this deserted island, I will listen to........Intimate Ella by Ella Fitzgerald

On a desert Island...

1. The Beatles "Abbey Road"...I can play it in endless loop, even without the CD
2. Jesus Christ Superstar Movie Soundtrack... I can hum & sing every words & music from beginning to end..in endless loop together with number 1.
3. Eddie Rabbitt "Horizon"

No MIW's or their cronies...either I swim with the sharks or strangle them... heh heh heh

The Beatles "Abbey Road"...I can play it in endless loop, even without the CD

For vinyl records or cassettes, the A-side opens with Come Together and Something, classics by their own. It closes with I Want You (She's So Heavy) arguably revolutionally ushered in the age of heavy metal blues (a follow up to Yer Blues from the White Album that ushered in the age of heavy metal.) The Beatles broke-up thereafter and none of the soloist Beatles were energetic enough to follow up further on their pioneering heavy metal ventures.

The B-side is a classic pop-rock opera epic through You Never Give Me Your Money through She Came In Through The Bathroom Window through The End ("and in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.") But Paul McCartney somehow had to spoil the grand curtains with that Her Majesty ditty hymn. I think that John Lennon was too tired to argue with him and stop him.

Anyway, John Lennon loved a little imperfection too, like what he did to the other Beatles masterpiece Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. He added some rubbish noises to the grand finale of the album, A Day In The Life, in my (and I believe many's) opinion the best classic example of the Lennon-McCartney songwriting ever.

2-sided vinyl records and cassettes are outdated now. For CD listeners, spare about 50 minutes to relax, listen to and enjoy Abbey Road in one single uninterrupted session. You'd experience the difference why the Beatles have broke up 40 years ago and are still revered.

One for morning, afternoon and evening:

1) The Stone Roses
2) Nimrod - Green Day
2) Midnight in the Garden of Good & Evil (Soundtrack)

And when I'm feeling sad and lonely on this deserted island, I will listen to........Intimate Ella by Ella Fitzgerald
You are given only 3 desert island discs my friend.
And you won't get sad and lonely, what do you think the pappy and the chiobu are there for?