• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MINDEF tried to cover up 2nd accident, only come clean after a relative contacted ST

SNAblog

MINDEF did not disclose the 2nd accident because this poor chap is a NSF private? All NSF servicemen should ask themselves, what are they defending? :mad:

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...+didn%27t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%3F.html

Posted on 26 May 2010

Not 1, but 2 soldiers shot in Thailand: Why didn't MINDEF give full disclosure?

Second+soldier+shot%253A+Why+didn%2527t+MINDEF+give+full+disclosure%253F-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Integrity wonders why MINDEF did not disclose that a second soldier, a full-time national serviceman, was also shot in the same incident. The news of the second shooting only surfaced when a relative of Private J. Pritheery Raj contacted The Straits Times.

In the first report on May 24, a Thai farmer had fired his shotgun at 1st Sgt Woo Teng Hai while the latter was out on a night exercise in Thailand. The regular commando is said to have been blinded in his right eye.

The Defence Ministry only admitted yesterday (May 25) that Private Raj had also been hurt in the same incident. The NSF still has two shotgun pellets lodged in his cheekbones and right shoulder. He has been on medical leave for the last two months.

In the STOMPer's email:

"I read the news about the second soldier shot in the news today with surprise.

"Why didn't MINDEF give full disclosure about the second soldier who was also hurt?

"Is it because he is 'just' a NSF Private?

"Apparently the relative of the poor Private had to contact the media directly after reading the report about the commando being shot by the Thai farmer."

tun_dr_m

Re: MINDEF tried to cover up 2nd accident, only come clean after a relative contacted

Give the THAI-man a THAI-girl!

:wink:

lianbeng

Re: MINDEF tried to cover up 2nd accident, only come clean after a relative contacted

the more they try to cover up the more will be uncovered.

I bet over the years there have been many cases of NS men dying or getting hurt. Many of these cases have been covered up or overlooked by the media.

wrcboi

gosh the company has stated very clear previously..." u die your problem" "we are all lesser mortals"

"what more do you want? 3 insurance pay out per day ??"

Watchman

Looks like a FT .

lianbeng

I bet over the years there have been many cases of NS men dying or getting hurt. Many of these cases have been covered up or overlooked by the media.

can we help to uncover more can of worms?:confused:

Lee5604

How come the Minister of Defence is not accountable? Pay him millions of tax payers dollars for what? Both the ministers should be accountable - the Minister and State Minister for Defence.

Two good for nothing ministers.

lianbeng

How come the Minister of Defence is not accountable? Pay him millions of tax payers dollars for what? Both the ministers should be accountable - the Minister and State Minister for Defence.

Two good for nothing ministers.

recently he has been busy teaching PRC chinese soldiers how to fight a war lah.:biggrin:
is he back oredi?:confused:

can we help to uncover more can of worms?:confused:

The only way I can see things improving is to break the PAP monopoly i.e. vote more opposition in.

More independent eyes & ears in the gov't, will encourage more disclosures of what is actually going on in the system.

Don't expect the PAP to voluntarily open up since they're hiding alot of warts & failures in the system :rolleyes:

SNAblog

MINDEF: It is our usual practice not to report on military training accidents

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/...-ministry-said-wednesday-that-two-of-its.html

Singapore's Defence Ministry said Wednesday that two of its soldiers, not just one, were accidentally shot by a villager

Singapore - Singapore's Defence Ministry said Wednesday that two of its soldiers, not just one, were accidentally shot by a villager while they were taking part in a night training exercise in March in Thailand.

A ministry spokeswoman confirmed a report by The Straits Times newspaper that said a second soldiers was wounded. Apart from a sergeant, 19-year-old Private J Pritheery Raj had also been wounded when a villager out hunting inadvertently opened fire on them, the daily said.

Raj still had shotgun pellets lodged in his cheekbones and his right shoulder and was on medical leave, the report said, citing one of Raj's relatives.

On Tuesday, the ministry had confirmed that First Sergeant Woo Teng Hai, 25, suffered head injuries in the incident.

He had been discharged from hospital at the end of March, the Times said.

The shootings happened March 13 in a designated military training area in Thailand's western province of Kanchanaburi.

Because of limited space on its home turf, Singapore's armed forces have agreements with several countries to train on their soil.

Asked why the shootings were not reported earlier, the spokeswoman said it was usual practice for the ministry not to report on military training accidents.

shelltox

everything also must leeport, stomp would become another tool as in "big brother" watching

palden

One conmando shot malu enough alreadi la. Two kenna then we are hopeless liao. Want to attack sg just send villagers with shotgun can already. No need for state of the art weapons and regular army.

You know the biggest joke is him being a keling means that he can camoflague in the dark since it's harder to see him, but he still got shot.

Brightkid

You know the biggest joke is him being a keling means that he can camoflague in the dark since it's harder to see him, but he still got shot.

N la, being keling put him at a disadvantage.

I think he smiled when the farmer saw him. then the keling got shot.

N la, being keling put him at a disadvantage.

I think he smiled when the farmer saw him. then the keling got shot.

Then he's a really cmi commado wannabe.

Which moron would smile at a moment like that?

Brightkid

Then he's a really cmi commado wannabe.

Which moron would smile at a moment like that?

Haha, that was why he got shot lor.

From the credible newspaper, I think SAF wanted to discharge him since he risk the team of commandos by smiling at the wrong time, but mom wanted him to complete his 2 year stink ?

myo539

MINDEF should know. You can't shut up an Ah Neh.

If it happens to a Malay, they will take it and say God willing! - but make sure you provide them with sufficient support and compensation.

If it's a Chinese, they will diam diam - must be very suay to be shot by a farmer - and not an enemy.

But it happens to an Ah Neh - they will never stop talking !!!

Not trying to sound racist, but that's how people of different ethnicity will usually react. So there are some more Ah Nehs here who will continue to talk non-stop.

But Ah Neh can be very loyal - if you know how to handle them!

MINDEF should know. You can't shut up an Ah Neh.

If it happens to a Malay, they will take it and say God willing! - but make sure you provide them with sufficient support and compensation.

If it's a Chinese, they will diam diam - must be very suay to be shot by a farmer - and not an enemy.

But it happens to an Ah Neh - they will never stop talking !!!

Not trying to sound racist, but that's how people of different ethnicity will usually react. So there are some more Ah Nehs here who will continue to talk non-stop.

But Ah Neh can be very loyal - if you know how to handle them!

Ah nehs will complain about every damn thing. They are truly talking shits.

Btw how do u make ah nehs loyal to you by handling them correctly? Pls teach.

myo539

Ah nehs will complain about every damn thing. They are truly talking shits.

Btw how do u make ah nehs loyal to you by handling them correctly? Pls teach.

Haha - just watch your MM. You see how loyal all of them are - except one who fled to America but never dare to return.

Cardinal Principle - never let them be on top of you.