• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino gambling fall in here!!!

Steve111

If you don't gamble, its okay. You can try simulating 1000 hands using basic strategy, remember to record every single hand in order which card comes first.

Then you realise that certain situations basic strategy tells you to hit and you stand instead, hit and you double instead, stand when you are supposed to split, you in fact lose lesser units than you are supposed to and you win more when you have a hopeless card of 12,13,14,15,16.

from the statement above, are you saying that u have a better "basic strategy" than those we already know? Please share with us in a table form, is that possible?

Heart Break Kid

When player has 2 and take 3rd card, and his 3rd card is 2 while Banker has 5, Banker do not need to draw any more cards. This is Banker's advantage.

That is why we must know our gambling rules very very well before we play. If we don't know it well, when we are at the tables, the dealer blur, our eyes blurry, they pay us nevermind, but we pay them, then not good already.

If the above scenario is true, then you should win and not lose. Another thing to tell you is you actually lost $600. Why do I say so?

Instead of winning $300, you lost $300 to dealer, +300 becomes -300, that's a gap of $600. You need to win 2 more times of $300 before you get back to +300. Take it as a lesson, next time if you are unsure, you can question the dealer, no need paiseh one. It's our money. They will stop the game. No one will laugh at you, because 70% of people who play baccarat do not know the rules of drawing cards when they are sitting at the table playing baccarat

Thank bro .. I entirely agreed with you as to we must understand the rules very well before we played.
Expecially when when the dealers is layman level.

I did went down last night to the duty manager there indicating the date & time of played my $300 bet was the only one bet in that table in level 1.

Hosh .. its took 2 hours for them to review the CCTV to view the whole process of that hand.
True enough K 5 should stand but sadly scanner device cannot provide any alertness to dealer.

They are make the necessary compensation :cool:

thegambler888

Maybe very soon a few of those 222,333,444,555,777 brothers, sistas will come out and say each and everyone of you have a very good understanding. Probably you would like to depict an example for us to see here, rather than statements saying that the casino odds will break down the players.

If you don't gamble, its okay. You can try simulating 1000 hands using basic strategy, remember to record every single hand in order which card comes first.

Then you realise that certain situations basic strategy tells you to hit and you stand instead, hit and you double instead, stand when you are supposed to split, you in fact lose lesser units than you are supposed to and you win more when you have a hopeless card of 12,13,14,15,16.

Anyway, for those who don't gamble or play in casinos, they wouldn't be able to fathom or understand what is written and I am surprised they are here just to tell everyone the laws and probabilities is to the advantage of the casinos. This is something everyone knows already. What people here are keen on is how to reduce the house edge and minimise the losing bets and maximise the winning bets. :biggrin:

Why are you so evasive about the book that you can't give the title? To understand why 1000 hands is not a good gauge, you should take up a statistics course

ray_of_hope

Casino gambling is all about odds and probability in the long run, not about luck, choice of dealer nor the color of your underwear.

The ONLY casino table game that can be won in the long run is counting card in blackjack, and only on a table without a continuous shuffling machine. So don't waste time trying to beat the casino in other stupid games like roulette or baccarat (even though baccarat has one of the best player odds).

The particular dealer (croupier) is relevant in only one casino game -- roulette. It is also possible to win regularly at this game if one has studied all its intracacies long enough.

Thank bro .. I entirely agreed with you as to we must understand the rules very well before we played.
Expecially when when the dealers is layman level.

They are make the necessary compensation :cool:

hi bro,

congrats. u got it bk.

n credit to MBS for admitting their mistake n honoring it.

aurvandil

The ONLY casino table game that can be won in the long run is counting card in blackjack, and only on a table without a continuous shuffling machine. So don't waste time trying to beat the casino in other stupid games like roulette or baccarat (even though baccarat has one of the best player odds).

Another way to win is to play the nn chip game. If you buy nn junket chip packages to say Long Jie, you can usually get 1%. This is on top of the freebies they might toss your way. Assuming you are able to play PERFECT basic strategy in Blackjack, you will have a very small positive expectations game.

The trick of course is to play ONLY with nn chips and to keep the cash chips you win.

Here it should be noted that this will only work with Blackjack as it is the only table game where it is possible to get the house edge to under 1%. This is on assumption you play PERFECT basic and there are no variations to the rules which affect the house edge. If you play Improvised Basic, the house edge can rise to as much as 2%, causing you to lose in the long run.

Heart Break Kid

hi bro,

congrats. u got it bk.

n credit to MBS for admitting their mistake n honoring it.

Thank Bro SIFU,

I am just be specific in telling them what happen and wanted to clear my doubt.

MBS is much more service-oriented than ........ :biggrin:

One more thing I learned from this incident is : The baccarrat tables have 2 different scanners.

(1) From the shuffling machine did scan the cards been drawn out from the machine.

(2) Another scanning device is installed underneath the baccarat tables. The dealers move the card to PLAYER area for the scanned than BANKER area. Once the results declared, the dealers pressed the button beside the shuffling machine and the scoreboard will flash the actual cards been drawn on each segment of PLAYER or BANKER.

The casino operators did a lot on control issues to prevent magicians entering casinos to swoop their cards despite the cards is been unique manufactured from each casino. This is the whole process of baccarat game.

Hope my experience is useful to casino lovers :p

rofthelper

This line maybe I put in which I pick up from a book.
Your advantage is not to put yourself at a disadvantage.

Let me finish the book and analyse through playing in casinos. I have been applying their system which does not involve card counting and it seems it can reap profits between 4 - 12 units in 2 hours of gameplay.

Bro sliver, can I get this book from bookshops?

silverfox@

Bro sliver, can I get this book from bookshops?

I have bought a few books (paperback version).

There is one book I like very much by Fred Renzy Blackjack Bluebook II. Inside he will evaluate a few systems and also giving us some scenarios on why certain scenarios is not advisable to make decisions based on Basic Strategy.

It's not so simple as saying this cannot be done that cannot be done, just because people say so. The different thing is he evaluates the situation based on probability and dealer's upcard.

The rest of my books are with a friend, 2 more by Cardoza and others from other authors can't remember. Just need to find a book where after reading you think its logical and not some kind of content which is photocopied from most books (same content)

For online, I buy systems from websites. Yes, I know some of you will say sure win meh? Buying systems is not to buy already and follow you will win. Buying systems is to understand how people play the game differently and you find their good points and throw away their bad points.

Most systems and books are emphasizing on card counting which I think does not apply to the casinos today. It gives people a false illusion that after buying it they will win. Actually buying such books and materials are just to read more and understand how they do and win differently.

For instance, there is a system I bought for close to 200USD, that system don't really work. It works probably 60% of the time but 40% losing and can incur heavy losses.

Another 2 more was like replicate of each other, 1 costing me 80USD, the other 149USD. 70% content very similar. :eek:

Now I recently bought 1 system 3 weeks ago, cost me $70USD. still trying out as this system is quite defensive and their system do not believe in splitting cards. On an average day can win about 4-10 units. I normally play $200-$300 per hand. Losing rate is about so far 1 time out of 7. But the loss is about 3 units and I didn't really stay long, was about 40 minutes in casino. Let me try a few more times and I will post the links if the system works. No point I post links which I never tried before.

Yesterday night I won about 6.5units. Mostly won from doubling down. Something which most people feared doing when dealer had a strong upcard. When dealer had a 10, I double down where I had 10 pts from 2 cards too.

silverfox@

Another way to win is to play the nn chip game. If you buy nn junket chip packages to say Long Jie, you can usually get 1%. This is on top of the freebies they might toss your way. Assuming you are able to play PERFECT basic strategy in Blackjack, you will have a very small positive expectations game.

The trick of course is to play ONLY with nn chips and to keep the cash chips you win.

Here it should be noted that this will only work with Blackjack as it is the only table game where it is possible to get the house edge to under 1%. This is on assumption you play PERFECT basic and there are no variations to the rules which affect the house edge. If you play Improvised Basic, the house edge can rise to as much as 2%, causing you to lose in the long run.

using nn chips is also 1 way to win too, but its more to getting advantage from chips :smile:

aurvandil

Do book stores like MPH or Borders in Singapore sell casino gambling books ?

I always found gambling books a rip off.

For the lay person, the following wizard of odds site offers all you could want to know about gambling and statistics. It is really good as it offers odds on many of the funky deviations you see at Genting/RWS and how it affects the odds.

http://wizardofodds.com/

If you are statistically inclined, the best place to read gambling material for free is NUS. You will find lots of papers and journals as the probability behind gambling games are a legitimate area of scholarly academic pursuit.

Heart Break Kid

For the lay person, the following wizard of odds site offers all you could want to know about gambling and statistics. It is really good as it offers odds on many of the funky deviations you see at Genting/RWS and how it affects the odds.

If you are statistically inclined, the best place to read gambling material for free is NUS. You will find lots of papers and journals as the probability behind gambling games are a legitimate area of scholarly academic pursuit.

Thank bro ......

If the gambler had to write a book, his methods probably aren't that successful.

aurvandil

If the gambler had to write a book, his methods probably aren't that successful.

That's actually very true. Contrary to popular belief Basic Strategy and Card Counting in blackjack was not invented by some legendary gambler. They were actually first postulated by a statistician named Thorp in 1962. Unlike nowadays where computing power is cheap and plentiful, he used a IBM 704 to devise basic strategy and how card counting on top of basic strategy could convert blackjack into a positive expectations game.

His work was largely unknown outside of the statistical/professional gambling faternity. It was not until the late 1990s that it gain widespread fame due to introduction of popular PC programs that taught you how to card count. Another contributing factor was the Internet which spread the theory of card counting and later shuffle tracking far and wide.

As in all things, the casinos of course did not sit still. Just as the lay person could pick up card counting, the casinos too learnt of it and devised counter measures against it. One of these was actually pontoon. It defeated card counting by removing the 10's so that the probability of a favourable deck occuring was statistically very low. Also the changed deck and odds meant that the conventional basic strategy was actually a sub optimal strategy. This defeated most lay gambers as most lay gamblers did not have the skill to independently devise an optimum strategy for pontoon (until wizard of odds came along of course).

The culmination of these efforts is the continous shuffle machine. While initially very expensive, these have come down in cost as much so that almost every blackjack table has such a machine. The only manual shoes may be found in pontoon on a very crowded nite. As the odds of a favourable deck occuring is very low in pontoon, the chance you can find a manual shoe pontoon deck and beat the house is very low.

For those curious about Thorp, you can check out this wiki entry.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edward_O._Thorp

silverfox@

Why do we need to buy newspapers when we can read it online?

There are all kinds of books. Finance, Stocks, IT, Engineering, Gambling. Some may want to read it free fiddling in bookshops. Most of these books are written by authors who are knowledgeable in that area.

Firstly it depends on the mindset of the person who buys the book. If a person who buys the book and thinks he can be god of gamblers, he is stupid. If the person who buys the book and thinks he can play like a pro and always win, he is stupid.

Have you all ever buy any of such books? Not every book is worth buying. But in every book, you can read the experiences of these people whether its motivational book, gambling book, finance etc. So it depends on individuals whether they find it worthwhile to buy to read the experiences of others. That is what is happening to Rich Dad, Poor Dad, or even books written on Warren Buffett. Why do people buy them? People buy them to read on experiences. However if anyone is buying book to read on basic strategy, there is no such book. Books have basic strategy as part of the chapter, and the rest are mostly simulations and how some simulations can use basic strategy while some simulations are entirely wrong to use basic strategy.

I will tend to keep a more positive and open mind when buying books. If I like what I read, I just buy, if I don't like, I don't buy. I don't believe in thinking its a rip off. It's a willing buyer, willing seller thing. If there is any rip off, then one should not even step into a casino. :biggrin:

silverfox@

I would think that its the person who after reading the book, decides to use the methods but in a wrong way.

There are many people who win and later lose in casinos. Not because of the methods they use. But because they are too greedy. So if a person is greedy, whatever method he use also no use. :p

Another way to see is when you see a method, the next thing is to use the logical aspect to see whether its workable and logical. By following blindly on every method, would be suicidal and stupid.

Like for instance, there are people who don't know the rules of blackjack when they play the game. when they get 6,4,A, they still tell the dealer they want to hit. So you may start thinking, even if you give this person a method that works, sooner or later he/she will lose his/her money back to casino. :biggrin:

Steve111

Very true. if the game is unbeatable mathematically, we have absolutely no chance in the long run no matter what we do, not even bringing along a super computer to keep track of every card dealt.
The only game I know that can be won is counting card in blackjack on a non continuous shuffling table. Anyone think he or she can win in roulette or baccarat is a fool and deserve to lose.

aurvandil

Very true. if the game is unbeatable mathematically, we have absolutely no chance in the long run no matter what we do, not even bringing along a super computer to keep track of every card dealt.
The only game I know that can be won is counting card in blackjack on a non continuous shuffling table. Anyone think he or she can win in roulette or baccarat is a fool and deserve to lose.

Roulette is actually beatable. One of Thorp's lesser known exploits is that he went to play roulette with a clunky hand held computer and managed to show it can be a positive expectations game. If the roulette ball is not changed, you can model the fall of the ball using a non linear model so that you can win in the long run. You can read more about how Thorp did it in the wiki link.

Please note that you need to use a non linear model that needs to be estimated with a computer. Copying down the fall of the ball and hoping to magically see some kind of pattern will NOT work.

The casinos defeated this by:

1) Changing the roulette ball frequently
2) Banning the use of hand held computers

The use of hand held computer and other devices for advantage play is actually illegal in Las Vegas. If you sit down and clandistinely use a computer, you can and will be hauled off by the police. It is not illegal in Singapore/Malaysia. The pit boss will however have you thrown out of the casino.

silverfox@

From what I read, I don't think you play in a casino often enough, or seen enough. Most of your postings are based on what others have written on the internet and you replicate them here based on theory.

For the lesser unknown, there are a few dealers in Genting who are experienced in spinning the ball in roulette. Their spins over number of years of practice, they can actually spin often enough to a certain sector of the wheel.

That is why Genting are very wary of heavy payouts on certain roulette tables and will halt the game for the security room to view the cam. They also practise table rotation for dealers and game rotations. Even the casinos know that some of their dealers can collaborate with outside patrons to win money from it. Croupiers do not have a high salary and roulette tables are one of those that can help them make some sideline money if they are good in spinning the ball.

There are beatable games, just that what you read on the internet tells you it cannot be won and most laymen will like to believe what they read and never seen or experienced for themselves how others won consistently and not based on luck. Of course with many others who win, there will be more who lost .