• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I bet this fucker must feel real proud about shooting a man dead leegally!

littlefish

But could the officer shot at the suspect's leg to make him go down and not killing him.

I'm assuming the officer shot the suspect in the chest.

I believed I had posted on this topic before. When someone is charging at you with a dangerous weapon from a short distance, there is no time to think or aim at a non-lethal region. Besides, it is even more risky if you aim at a harder area to hit and misses. If you are the police officer, I am sure you would not want to miss and end up getting stabbed (which might be fatal for you).

Nothing to do with sensitivity or anything to hide. More like common sense. Sounds bizarre that he prefers to allow his own countryman to stab him rather than shoot him. The guy already stabbed someone. When you are in danger, you must be mad to look for colour to make a decision.

If it was a Chinese officer, he too would have done the same thing if the chap was black, brown or yellow.

I thought that the Threatstarter was off from his title and I think more or less agreed on that.

yes!, it doesn't matter if the cat is black or white, but as long as it catches mice...

But the "IF"...still persists...if a person charges at you with a knife at close range, the reaction would be, to draw you pistol ( if you have one) and shoot.....but "IF"...still lurks in the mind..."If" leaves the benefit of the doubt..and this have to do with the level of education & bias!..:wink:
If I have to shoot at that sitaution..I would have regardless of languange or race!!!

Nothing to do with education and bias . As I said common sense. Even a kindergarden dropout would know what to do. Its basic instinct. Not your day.

yes!, it doesn't matter if the cat is black or white, but as long as it catches mice...

But the "IF"...still persists...if a person charges at you with a knife at close range, the reaction would be, to draw you pistol ( if you have one) and shoot.....but "IF"...still lurks in the mind..."If" leaves the benefit of the doubt..and this have to do with the level of education & bias!..:wink:
If I have to shoot at that sitaution..I would have regardless of languange or race!!!

QXD

In this case, the police did the right thing by shooting the man.

Too bad the police aren't armed with non-lethal weapons for subduing a suspect.

Hakka Tiow

Okay, just got in and gone through the views offered.

Originally Posted by scroobal
Nothing to do with sensitivity or anything to hide. More like common sense. Sounds bizarre that he prefers to allow his own countryman to stab him rather than shoot him. The guy already stabbed someone. When you are in danger, you must be mad to look for colour to make a decision.

If it was a Chinese officer, he too would have done the same thing if the chap was black, brown or yellow.

I thought that the Threatstarter was off from his title and I think more or less agreed on that..

I will assume that there is a typo in the highlighted statement above with "most" as in "I think [most] more or less agree on that."

I detect thus, disapproval of my stance in a hypothetical role. The gist of my intent has nothing at all to do with the right of a police officer instinct for self defense to protect his own life nor the perception or suspicion that race had colored his decision to take down the perp. In that kind of situation, it would and should never ever be even taken into consideration.

Why then am I casting a shadow of doubt over whether it was justifiable, the gunning down of a murderer.

I am no liberal bleeding heart, but I am questioning the Police Command's handling of the situation from the time information was received from the public about the stabbing in Jalan Kukoh hawker center, the description of the perp given and the orders given that led to the fatal confrontation in Outram MRT station.

Bear in mind according to the testimonies given in the Coroner's inquiry so far, a member of the public had tailed the perp all the way from the scene of the crime right up to the pointing out of the perp to the two officers at the scene who had initially gone to China Town MRT station to search for him.

Now, let's consider these points.

a) The Police knew they were looking for a man armed with a knife who had just stabbed someone with it.

b) They had real time information on his whereabouts courtesy of a chivalrous
member of the public.

c) Why were two uniformed officers sent to confront him on a crowded train platform? Where was the necessity of speed to apprehend at the first opportunity? He was presenting a danger to the commuters on the train?

d) The Police side of the story that the officer had acted in self defence, I'll grant that. But shooting in a crowded public area? Perhaps they were told in training that a .38 bullet will not pass through a body at the range of two meters and continue on to lodge into another solid mass. I certainly wasn't.

e) How many times over the past twenty years had the Police shot someone in public? I can recall a few, mostly the mentally disturbed. Maybe that's the reason the local distributor of the Taser gun saw the need and was successful in selling both the idea and the hardware to them. Sadly the deceased did not benefit from such a brilliant foresight.

My thread header may be a bit off tangent but that was my instant response to another bad PR handling on the part of the authorities. At the very least, show a photo of a sad or pensive looking man instead of one with arms across his chest, a body language that speaks of being defensive. He did his duty but he was led into the way he executed that duty!

Char_Azn

d) The Police side of the story that the officer had acted in self defence, I'll grant that. But shooting in a crowded public area? Perhaps they were told in training that a .38 bullet will not pass through a body at the range of two meters and continue on to lodge into another solid mass. I certainly wasn't.

e) How many times over the past twenty years had the Police shot someone in public? I can recall a few, mostly the mentally disturbed. Maybe that's the reason the local distributor of the Taser gun saw the need and was successful in selling both the idea and the hardware to them. Sadly the deceased did not benefit from such a brilliant foresight.

I agree with point, d) I was pretty disturbed about the fact that the round went off in of all places an enclosed and usually crowd place like the MRT station

However judging from the 2nd report(the one I posted on the CCTV in the earlier post in this thread), the taser does not seem to be an option due to the critical nature of the attack. The police officer was in serious danger at that particular moment in time. It does begs the question, did the policeman had a taser. If he did, this could have been avoided had he confronted the person earlier and in a more open area.

Hakka Tiow

I agree with point, d) I was pretty disturbed about the fact that the round went off in of all places an enclosed and usually crowd place like the MRT station

However judging from the 2nd report(the one I posted on the CCTV in the earlier post in this thread), the taser does not seem to be an option due to the critical nature of the attack. The police officer was in serious danger at that particular moment in time. It does begs the question, did the policeman had a taser. If he did, this could have been avoided had he confronted the person earlier and in a more open area.

My main point is that he should had been taken down by plainclothes officers. My contention is that there was a breakdown of command leadership.
My bet is that many of us had never seen how efficient our police are in this respect. And I am not talking about marxists or "Operation Coldstore".

Kid278

this guy will be promoted and be ready to shoot any tak boleh tahan protestors on the streets..

othman-wongkwaichow.jpg

He looks arrogant and a guy that will not hesitate to shoot again if he had to. Someone had to tell him not to be trigger happy in crowded places such as MRT stations, else innocent people is going to die for no reason.

The dead guy had him to thank as even if survived he will be looking at the gallows for killing someone earlier on.

Now we have narrowed it to brother, tomorrow twin brother and finally to son. Human instinct is to defend and protect oneself - intuitive and instinctive. Why in the world would he care if its another Malay. Defies logic in such a situation.

In homogenous society such as Japan, China, India, Mexico, are you suggesting that the Police don't shoot anyone in a similar situation because they are "brothers" and of the same race. but run way and allow the chap to chase them and when he finally tires, throw a net over him.

my my 'certain affliation', whom I consider my 'brother', I will hesitate for a moment, or try for an alternative..IF, IF..If and if's...that is the question!, "watson"!

"make my day"... heh heh heh "if"..:biggrin:

Last edited by a moderator:

In a crowded and enclosed place the danger is even much more imminent. If they don't confine and corner him, he will turn and stab another member of the public. He has already stabbed one. Its unfortunate and I don't think people take pleasure in taking a life.

What would suggest the Police do in crowded and enclosed place in a similar situation knowing that people are at risk?

elephanto

sigh .... i actually read thru till the end of thread.

Sporeans really got time to kill & like to analyse to death ... myself included. :biggrin:

cleareyes

Bro Hakka tiow
Are you saying that the policeman cannot shoot someone who is charging at him with a knife?
Do you have a logical explanation why he should not have shot him?

I guess it is very easy for us to question "ifs" and "buts" as we are bothe by-standers as well as sitting comfortablity to debate what action could be better after the incident had took place.

But given the situation, I do not think any of this dabate would appear in anyone's mind and action of the moment would be taken in consideration of what activity that could present itself.

Do not judge the police officer by his color or looks and who he is. when such a situation do occur, its either he got stuck on the spot or he reacted. Comprehension and considertion of any kind of his action would be non-existance.

Someone suggested why not plain clothes policeman were not send and insitead have someone in uniform there, then i would question, if the "victim" is subdued by plain clothes, then wont that give another theory that we have many polices and spies watching what common citizens are doing?

Hakka Tiow

I bet there was a review of SOP in that kind of scenario, training revised and a training video made that renacts the case as did if I can recall correctly the dealing of an IMH case where an officer's revolver was snatched, fired and wounded a policeman.

Well, I guess you have to live with the fact that you screwed up 2 titles in one day and look real silly.

I know, the ego is really a fragile thing. Interestingly I suspect I too would have written "war and peace" to try and look intelligent if I fell into a hole like that.

We can all roll eyes on the Human Race for all its little kinks.

Hakka Tiow

I guess it is very easy for us to question "ifs" and "buts" as we are bothe by-standers as well as sitting comfortablity to debate what action could be better after the incident had took place.

But given the situation, I do not think any of this dabate would appear in anyone's mind and action of the moment would be taken in consideration of what activity that could present itself.

Do not judge the police officer by his color or looks and who he is. when such a situation do occur, its either he got stuck on the spot or he reacted. Comprehension and considertion of any kind of his action would be non-existance.

Someone suggested why not plain clothes policeman were not send and insitead have someone in uniform there, then i would question, if the "victim" is subdued by plain clothes, then wont that give another theory that we have many polices and spies watching what common citizens are doing?

Your messy typo aside, I always have the impresion that you live in a cocoon. Let's just say I would not punch you if I were in a crowd because the odds of someone with a warrant card within the vicinity is just too high for me to gamble on.

Hakka Tiow

Well, I guess you have to live with the fact that you screwed up 2 titles in one day and look real silly.

I know, the ego is really a fragile thing. Interestingly I suspect I too would have written "war and peace" to try and look intelligent if I fell into a hole like that.

We can all roll eyes on the Human Race for all its little kinks.

Ego? That should be said of some people here but sorry, not me. What have I got to loose?:rolleyes: Take it or leave it. Other than an unprovoked or relentless attack on every post I made, what is there to feel angry about? Say your piece or whatever, it's perfectly all right.:smile: