• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Killiney Kopitiam in California

it's finally open. this kopitiam is supposed to be opened last year but the city permit process got screwed up. they had to redo and then postpone the construction. and after 6.9 months into construction with opening date in april, pandamic struck. over 30 staff and service personnel were undergoing training when lockdown began. the owner continues to pay rent, utilities, staff and all personnel despite the shutdown for almost 6.9 months. good for her. she's a crazy rich asian sinkie in sg. 6.9 sexpensive sexotic cars. huge mansion. i was there on the 1st weekend. parked my porsche in front of it on waverley. and was 1st in line. when it opened, the line was already 69 people long. outdoor seating is available as the eatery next door (prolific oven) is closed permanently, thus there's sextra space on the walkway. next door taipan dim sum place is still constructing a deck on parking spaces for outdoor dining. i like the ambience inside but cannot dine indoors for now. marble top tables, stools, and very warm colors and feeling. the kitchen is good and fast, churning out makan quickly with great quality. the only problem i have is the kopi station. too slow and too confused. they have latino baristas who still gabra between kopi-c and kopi. i guess the c-suffix confuses them since in sg it stands for carnation but there's no "carnation" evaporated milk at the cafe. they have evaporated milk for kopi-c, but it's a different brand. they think it's "condensed" milk, so orders have to be redone. if it's kopi-e, they may get the orders right the first time. that kopi station should be helmed by a sexperienced sinkie swift hand - ah pek in singlet and shorts with towel over his shoulder and unlit ciggy dangling on his lips.
8D568C74-A0C4-4A80-AB59-C2435C0CC8B8.jpeg

countryman

Probably Killiney won't succeed.. All the Ya Kun outlets in HK closed down already. @its peak, they had more than 20 outlets..

tobelightlight

Probably Killiney won't succeed.. All the Ya Kun outlets in HK closed down already. @its peak, they had more than 20 outlets..
When you open a business, it does not mean all owners are considered substance material. The true test comes when crisis hit and that is the real test to see if they are made of real substance. Ya kun and Killiney are run by different owners of diff substances.

Anyone can make toasted bread and coffee but Who can make laksa, mee rubus, fried kway teow? which is more appeling to foreigners? bread or laksa.

I wish Killiney all success.

tobelightlight

that kopi station should be helmed by a sexperienced sinkie swift hand - ah pek in singlet and shorts with towel over his shoulder and unlit ciggy dangling on his lips.
No No ... pls dun protray sg with boomers look. That is a very boring and tiring look. A picture of that is nice for the cultural touch but not the staffs.

You think they are looking for more extra hands. I can tell everyone i will be working in silicon valley.

2C06AB13-B6B6-4F2B-9086-A0B0FFB08684.jpeg
88347CDA-8A4A-42D0-8C92-10EBACEFF61D.jpeg
3170992A-C68F-4B0A-B138-9CAA59B534A3.jpeg

kaya has too much eggs and coconut cream. when butter is added, more creamy. but not overly sweet as they tone down on sugar.