• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat NTU/A*Star sacks FT Prof and PHD of Student revoked

numero uno

Now that you reminded me of the Ying husband and wife. This should tell us all the nature of deception and abuse that is going on in A*Star. And notice the cover up. 4 family member in a Dept of 150 staff.

A*STAR institute’s admin director worked with her husband, brother and sister-in-law
Jose Raymond
[email protected]

IT IS not uncommon to have relatives working in the same organisation, but to avoid conflicts of interest, most employers try to avoid placing them in the same department, particularly if one relative is subordinate to the other.

However, in an unusual situation at a local research institute, the husband, brother and sister-in-law of the director of administration were hired for positions that came under her purview.

The Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (IBN), a research institute under the Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR) umbrella, only has about 150 employees, and the fact that for the last 18 months or so, three close relatives of a senior member of the management team have been working in her division has raised some eyebrows among the staff.

The administration director’s husband was hired as the IBN’s head of facilities, while her brother was a senior officer in the IT department and his wife was a senior officer in the administration department.

In response to TODAY’s queries, A*STAR’s spokeswoman Michelle Khor said it is the agency that approves the appointment of executive directors and senior staff of its research institutes.

“Recruitment of other staff by each institute is based on job requirements, candidates’ experience and job fit. Consistent with the public sector practice, A*STAR recruits and selects candidates according to a set of criteria such as qualifications, experience, skills and personal qualities.”

She added that A*STAR’s guidelines “restrict the employment of staff with conflicting relationships including those with family relations”.

“Conflicting relations must be declared upfront and any such employment must be surfaced to the A*STAR Management for approval. A*STAR authorised the executive directors of research institutes to employ staff members at their discretion except senior scientists above a certain grade.”

“However, for good HR practice and to avoid possible conflict of interests, we would avoid posting married couples or family members to a unit where one officer is subordinate to the other.”
The institute’s executive director Jackie Ying said the man in question did not
report to his wife. A*STAR institute’s admin director worked with her husband, brother and sister-in-law

YES. I agree with you ALL THIS IS BULLSHIT. That Prof Ying is from USA and in USA you have to declare your conflict of interests UPFRONT and make all disclosure voluntarily. If you are caught later that you hide such info, You would be charge under state laws with non disclosure , fired immediately and even sent to imprisonment as it is consider a breach of conduct most unbecoming of a scientist.
Now obviously the wife is lying when the husband was hired as the IBN’s head of facilities, while her brother was a senior officer in the IT department and his wife was a senior officer in the administration department. how can the husband reported directly to Prof Ying and it is still a conflict of interests as family ties are involve and you cannot expect impartiality in disciplinary issues if any infarctions are made. Now don't tell me this yong fellow doesn't know when all americans professors and doctors are continuously made to sign any declaration of conflict of interests almost every year by their heads or departments. this is what my USA friend told me. Very fishy all these 4 close family members in such a small unit. Don't tell me that this The Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (IBN) is a family business!!!! moreover during her time there this crap institute did not produce any scientific paper of real value. mostly varaitions of otehrs people work.

Bro, there is even a worst case involving an academic and it supposed to be one of the worst case of academic fraud in the World. I cannot remember the name. He was a South American who got his basic degree in Russia. He was in NUS for 8 years and became a full professor and headed NUS Immunology Dept . He then left for the UK and continued to supervise his research team in Singapore. Within months of going to University of Liverpool they realised that he did not know his work. They suspended him and asked Singapore to check his work. After 2 years of investigation, they found all his papers for the years in NUS to contain falsified data, plagiarised content etc. We had no clue for 8 years. Thats how bad we were. By the way, no one was fired.

YES. I agree with you ALL THIS IS BULLSHIT. That Prof Ying is from USA and in USA you have to declare your conflict of interests UPFRONT and make all disclosure voluntarily. If you are caught later that you hide such info, You would be charge under state laws with non disclosure , fired immediately and even sent to imprisonment as it is consider a breach of conduct most unbecoming of a scientist.
Now obviously the wife is lying when the husband was hired as the IBN’s head of facilities, while her brother was a senior officer in the IT department and his wife was a senior officer in the administration department. how can the husband reported directly to Prof Ying and it is still a conflict of interests as family ties are involve and you cannot expect impartiality in disciplinary issues if any infarctions are made. Now don't tell me this yong fellow doesn't know when all americans professors and doctors are continuously made to sign any declaration of conflict of interests almost every year by their heads or departments. this is what my USA friend told me. Very fishy all these 4 close family members in such a small unit. Don't tell me that this The Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (IBN) is a family business!!!! moreover during her time there this crap institute did not produce any scientific paper of real value. mostly varaitions of otehrs people work.

numero uno

Bro, there is even a worst case involving an academic and it supposed to be one of the worst case of academic fraud in the World. I cannot remember the name. He was a South American who got his basic degree in Russia. He was in NUS for 8 years and became a full professor and headed NUS Immunology Dept . He then left for the UK and continued to supervise his research team in Singapore. Within months of going to University of Liverpool they realised that he did not know his work. They suspended him and asked Singapore to check his work. After 2 years of investigation, they found all his papers for the years in NUS to contain falsified data, plagiarised content etc. We had no clue for 8 years. Thats how bad we were. By the way, no one was fired.
Yes. His name is Dr aliro Melendez. Google it. Also there is another more blatant case that nus missed but the American doctors found out he is not even a medical doctor and degree all fake. In nus he was treated as A medical expert. Don't know how much harm he caused as he was here a long time. A real bull sshitter if you read the USA article. Make our nus prof look real stupid.
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/education/ex-nus-professor-in-resume-fraud-scandal-in-us
Another shit skin cheat. Nus full of cheats and undiscovered con men. Seems the top people there all equally useless. Need the overseas docs to sniff out these cheats. Usually from India or south America or Philippine. A lot undetected still. He was treated as a medical expert in nus for a long time with a very high pay. A real bull shitter these Indian con man. Don't know how many people he killed while masquerading as a doctor here. Read the USA article. Simple logic d have made them guess he is a cheat. Made his professor supervisor look like an idiot and laughing stock of the world

MDA already got one fake india talent. Unfortunately, her boss thought she was talented and fought to keep her despite social media's outing her as fake as toilet roll.

not becos of her, becos he will lose credibility when she get sexed from job. becos it proved he didnt check properly n need to hari kiri

Semaj2357

not becos of her, becos he will lose credibility when she get sexed from job. becos it proved he didnt check properly n need to hari kiri
yes, enuff of these shitskins - we have too many..........awreddy!! :(

The university’s investigations also resulted in NTU revoking a doctorate awarded to one of its post-graduate student Sudarsanreddy Lokireddy, also an Indian national.

Nonsense lah. 8 years how can be nobody suspect? Definitely someone knew but choose to mind their own business like a good sinkie. Teehee!

zeebjii

"someone" has to open the doors for these 'snakes' to come in to feed.....that "someone" proudly will tell you, the 70% endorses the welcome of the "snakes" & it is their Privilege to feed them ( the "snakes").

It is a National duty, not to panic & get xenophobic....they create CHOPS..oops! jobs for the 70%...:p

And it takes A LOT of feed them. I see many of these 'talents' every day at one-north where a*SHIT and it's new buildings is located. I am shocked how FAT these talents are, ladies included. And their numbers are increasing alarmingly fast. On some mornings they make up 90% of the a MRT cabin along the circle line towards buona vista/one-north/kent ridge. There is no way out, unless we have our own 'brexit'.

Nonsense lah. 8 years how can be nobody suspect? Definitely someone knew but choose to mind their own business like a good sinkie. Teehee!

You also lah. Got info to help against injustice but keep quiet like some other sinkies right? Then after that still damn bloody thick-skinned to act righteous to condemn PAP for injustice. Right right?

What a silly ger you are! Of course if no benefit to me i keep quiet lah. :rolleyes: Who the ones suffer injustice, you tell me? I cannot see! :cool: I bet you those on the losing end dun even know they lugi, why whould i care huh? :rolleyes:

Thanks.

When Philip Yeo first began the project, he wanted 1,000 candidates go thru the A*Star system and become candidates. He got each candidate to take a photo and he hung the more photogenic ones around walls of his office. So naturally you had a number of them who had one parent who was a caucasian, so real pretty girls and even 2 good looking twins. He wanted to track their progress until they got their PHD.

He however did some good things like breakdown bureaucracy and get rid of red tape. He also mandated that only English must be spoken when he found out that a good Caucasian researcher left because his colleagues all spoke Mandarin because there were a lot of PRC and the Singaporeans also began speaking Mandarin. However the problem was that 3rd World candidates were submitting embellished and sometimes falsified credentials. Our screening and vetting were very poor and complicated by the fact that in many cases they bought the credentials from corrupt officials back home and their records did exist. They were also recruited but their countrymen.

The worst he did however was allowing spouses to be hired at state's expenses. Once he did that with some eminent Ang Mo candidates, the rest wanted he same. That culture permeated all the way into NTU and NUS. Its now even in People's Association.

And that fact that he used the system for his son's benefit was of course the icing on the cake. Obviously the Nobel Laurette Sydney Brenner was going to take his son under his wing and supervise his work when you are the boss. And the son was never in A*Star in the first place. Brenner probably thought it was a cultural and institutional thing for 3rd World country.

If a clerk at one of our Ministries went to her EO and asked for a position for his wife, I guarantee to you, the EO's jaw will drop no matter how well qualified the wife is. Yet on the top husband, brother, sister-in-law all can be hired in the same department and the Govt officially condoned it in the press.

Yes. His name is Dr aliro Melendez. Google it. Also there is another more blatant case that nus missed but the American doctors found out he is not even a medical doctor and degree all fake.

If a clerk at one of our Ministries went to her EO and asked for a position for his wife, I guarantee to you, the EO's jaw will drop no matter how well qualified the wife is. Yet on the top husband, brother, sister-in-law all can be hired in the same department and the Govt officially condoned it in the press.

This call meritocracy lah. If a candidate is the right person for the job, does not matter if the father is a prime minister or a dishwasher. So you see obviously beauty and intelligence are heriditary. And therefore a natural aristocracy will emerge from meritocractic society. Elementary. :cool:

grandtour

There was another Shit Skin Indian Anoop Shankar who cheated NUS in 2014

health.asiaone.com/health/health-news/nus-probing-work-ex-medicine-faculty-member

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2014

NUS probing work of ex-medicine faculty member

SINGAPORE - The National University of Singapore (NUS) has opened an investigation after reports that former faculty member Anoop Shankar had faked his academic credentials.

"In view of the media reports on Anoop Shankar, NUS has initiated an internal investigation into his research publications when he was at NUS," a university spokesman said yesterday.

According to his resume, the former assistant professor at NUS graduated from India's top medical school when he was 21 and had a doctorate in epidemiology.

However, a review of his work by West Virginia University in the United States found that Mr Shankar had only a master's degree from the University of North Carolina and did not graduate from the All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi.

In addition, some publications listed on his resume were either authored by someone else, or did not exist.

Mr Shankar was at NUS' Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine from 2005 to 2008, where he was part of the department of community, occupational and family medicine. There, he wrote several papers on topics such as diabetes, and was also part of a research programme looking into eye diseases in Singapore.

Hans168

A*Star, brainchild of Philip Yeo and Old Man during the PMship of GCT. It's the same Philip Yeo who bought the Delifrance Chain to complement Sembawang Engineering.

When LHL became PM, he chaired the main body. He quietly moved away when he realised that it was becoming a political liability. None in Admin Service wants to touch it. So much so that they had get some of the researchers to do management and senior admin role. One former Singaporean researcher is handling procurement which runs into millions. The research gravitas has moved back to NUS and NTU and A*Star researchers are now attached to groups led by NUS and NTU. No father and no mother.

Father is Phillip Noel Yeo & mother oso him (some animals are of both sexes...)
He stays submerged to escape detection like the multi billions he lost in Bio R&D which he started never see daylight
Like you know who.......... the idea is to think big, do big - never mind viable or not sinceh Kong pays for it & doers get lots of fame for it/ Rememeber who lost $500 mio in few months buying Micropolis? Citibank etc???? Whose money was that??????

numero uno

health.asiaone.com/health/health-news/nus-probing-work-ex-medicine-faculty-member

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2014

SINGAPORE - The National University of Singapore (NUS) has opened an investigation after reports that former faculty member Anoop Shankar had faked his academic credentials.

"In view of the media reports on Anoop Shankar, NUS has initiated an internal investigation into his research publications when he was at NUS," a university spokesman said yesterday.

According to his resume, the former assistant professor at NUS graduated from India's top medical school when he was 21 and had a doctorate in epidemiology.

However, a review of his work by West Virginia University in the United States found that Mr Shankar had only a master's degree from the University of North Carolina and did not graduate from the All India Institute of Medical Sciences in New Delhi.

In addition, some publications listed on his resume were either authored by someone else, or did not exist.

Mr Shankar was at NUS' Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine from 2005 to 2008, where he was part of the department of community, occupational and family medicine. There, he wrote several papers on topics such as diabetes, and was also part of a research programme looking into eye diseases in Singapore.

By right this guy should be charged with impersonating as a doctor (he did not graduate from any medical school at all and his medical degree and all his research papers were forged and his basic mbbs from all india medical college is a fake) And as in the otehr cases and an interpol warrant of arrest akin to that 2 shit skin researches in simon shrovon cases should be issued nd extraditied back to singapore to face his criminal charges.
There should not be any problem as USA is an extradition partner. My guess is that they just quietly let it die down because if extraditied and charged in court it would open a big can of worms and her NUS prof would look like a blardy idiot and really incompetent(by the way I heard she is equally arrogant). also the issue of patients who were mismanaged by this bogus doc in singapore would lead to legal implications for the hospital etc. so they just kept quiet like shit all these useless NUS and NUH professors shits.

Bigfuck

Possible. NUS had and still has dubiously qualified jokers put there for political reasons. NUS used to have UOL correspondence pHD professors. So they know little where question other profs?

Imagine he was teaching our young to be doctors for 3 years in the oldest medical college despite not even having a basic medical degree. And they want to investigate him for his research papers. It should be a Police case for submitting false qualifications.

Tuesday, Sep 16, 2014

Imagine he was teaching our young to be doctors for 3 years in the oldest medical college despite not even having a basic medical degree. And they want to investigate him for his research papers. It should be a Police case for submitting false qualifications.

No wonder at one time I read here that NUH is as no standard as CGH. So was this fake doctor also treating patients in NUH?

By right this guy should be charged with impersonating as a doctor (he did not graduate from any medical school at all and his medical degree and all his research papers were forged and his basic mbbs from all india medical college is a fake) And as in the otehr cases and an interpol warrant of arrest akin to that 2 shit skin researches in simon shrovon cases should be issued nd extraditied back to singapore to face his criminal charges.
There should not be any problem as USA is an extradition partner. My guess is that they just quietly let it die down because if extraditied and charged in court it would open a big can of worms and her NUS prof would look like a blardy idiot and really incompetent(by the way I heard she is equally arrogant). also the issue of patients who were mismanaged by this bogus doc in singapore would lead to legal implications for the hospital etc. so they just kept quiet like shit all these useless NUS and NUH professors shits.

Yes he should be charged for criminal act of fake doctor. Just like MALAYSIAN Saw phaik hwa intentionally not doing proper train maintenance. All should be charged for disregarding safety of others and put human lives in danger.

What a silly ger you are! Of course if no benefit to me i keep quiet lah. :rolleyes: Who the ones suffer injustice, you tell me? I cannot see! :cool: I bet you those on the losing end dun even know they lugi, why whould i care huh? :rolleyes:

Whatever. Sinkies just need to remember this. Don't be damn bloody thick-skinned to complain injustice when you turned a blind eye to injustice yourself when you could lift a finger to help.

Why is nus not making polis report for white collar crime n hv the interpol arrest them? Why this continue to happen? The education ministar must come clean to explain everything.