• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I want to move to Canada. Anyone can help?

nayr69sg

Staff member
Please think very carefully before moving to Canada! You really don't want to leave your paradise in Singapore!

If you really still decide to move to Canada please please only go to Vancouver or Toronto! You will not survive anywhere else in Canada! The cold temperatures will kill you even before you get settled.

Oh and by the way, the economy in Canada is now very very very bad. No jobs. So please please stay in Singapore.

Please think very carefully before moving to Canada! You really don't want to leave your paradise in Singapore!

If you really still decide to move to Canada please please only go to Vancouver or Toronto! You will not survive anywhere else in Canada! The cold temperatures will kill you even before you get settled.

Oh and by the way, the economy in Canada is now very very very bad. No jobs. So please please stay in Singapore.

Don't be like that lah :biggrin:

Which would you prefer, a new PRC, indian, or ex-Sporean neighbour :smile:

nayr69sg

Staff member
Don't be like that lah :biggrin:

Which would you prefer, a new PRC, indian, or ex-Sporean neighbour :smile:

Any of the 3. The key is not to have TOO MANY of them. Anyway it is ok, they usually are very afraid of the cold and they will go to Vancouver and Toronto. So we are safe. :biggrin:

But seriously, economy wise, it is now a very bad time to come to Canada. The only bright side is the CAD/SGD$ exchange is pretty close to parity.

dr.wailing

I was in Vancouver a couple of years ago and it was full of triad gangs and homeless people littering the streets. It was bloody awful.

Taxes are sky high too.

To crown it all a raccoon stole my lunch while I was at one of the local parks.

Singapore is so much better.

USA is way, way better than Sinkieland or Canada. That's why both my wife and I have become US citizens.

Unrepented

I have a relative who moved to Canada 30 years ago when she was in her late 40s, two years ago came back to attend our relative's wedding. She looked young and health for her age as compare to the rest of the old folks who stay in sg.

I've lived in both Canada & Spore & I can tell you that the grass is definitely greener there.
Cars, housing, utilities cost less there than in Spore. The wages are also higher there.

I have many friends & relatives who have emigrated there & they have never regretted their decision.

Talking about sunlight, I have been watching the haze levels in Edmonton & the PSI is about 5 or 6 compared to Spore which is usually from 50 to 80.

i want to move to las vegas to play poker can anyone help me?work part time job and play poker during my off time......11 casinos open 24/7,ready to deal u poker anytime u want,three in the afternoon,5am in the morning,and endless free flow of fish and tourist at 1/2 and 1/3 tables.stacking up racks of chips.

biondi

The grass is always greener on the other side but living in Singapore still beats Canada.

I once had a Chinese Canadian colleague who gave up his CA citizenship for a SGD one. I asked him why, given the immigration-friendly image of Canada. He told me in Quebec where in lived, the weather is awful with temperature constantly dropping below zero. Many of his Canadian friends back home envy the tropical weather of Singapore.

Jobs are scarce. This colleague graduated from McGill university, a university with comparable standing with a computing degree and the only job he can do is waitering at his parents' cafe for a living. He told me not to believe the official statistics of 7 percent unemployment. Once you factored in the underemployed and people who gave up looking for a job, real unemployment is around 16 percent.

Don't be fooled by the cheap healthcare and vast scenery. The economic situation in Canada is far worse in Singapore

biondi

This is the problem with sinkies. Years of cuddling by the PAP has made many sinkies unable to push out of their comfort zones without the nanny guidance by the PAP. A lot of sinkies will pick Vancouver or Toronto because they think it will be easier to assimilate into Canadian society with the large Chinese population in these 2 areas. What's the whole point of migrating if you are just going to stay within your own race. Might as well stay in Singapore.

Vancouver and Toronto are also bad choices due to the high property prices jacked up by overseas PRC investing in properties in these 2 areas. Unless you are rich, settling in these 2 areas with leave you with decades of mortgage debt.

Economic migrants should go to Alberta instead. Property prices are more reasonable and employment level is higher. Don't try to aim for an office job. Go pick up a trade instead as it gives better economic security. Check out their local polytechnic institute and enroll in a trade. Unlike in Singapore where we treat our blue collars workers like crap, blue collar jobs in Canada pays as well as a white collar job.

soikee

The thick white cloud has been suffocating sinkees for a long time. Stupid sinkees don't know what smoke and fresh air and think that the smoke is fresh air.

Look at Niagara Falls. I lived there for 6 months 5 years ago when C$1 was around 1.5 SGD and now it's near parity.

A double storey bungalow standing on 10,000 sq ft of freehold land then cost about C$180,000 and a Lexus 350 cost me C$35,000 only.

Niagara Falls is only 45 minutes away from New York by air and 2 hours by road from Toronto.

But I would love to live in Montreal just to get pranked by Montreal world famous Just For Laughs.

Any of the 3. The key is not to have TOO MANY of them. Anyway it is ok, they usually are very afraid of the cold and they will go to Vancouver and Toronto. So we are safe. :biggrin:

But seriously, economy wise, it is now a very bad time to come to Canada. The only bright side is the CAD/SGD$ exchange is pretty close to parity.

With oil prices so low Alberta must really be hurting.

I have to make a visit because I want to see the old neighbourhood. Also need to close my RRSP & mutual trusts accounts:smile:

The grass is always greener on the other side but living in Singapore still beats Canada.

I once had a Chinese Canadian colleague who gave up his CA citizenship for a SGD one. I asked him why, given the immigration-friendly image of Canada. He told me in Quebec where in lived, the weather is awful with temperature constantly dropping below zero. Many of his Canadian friends back home envy the tropical weather of Singapore.

Jobs are scarce. This colleague graduated from McGill university, a university with comparable standing with a computing degree and the only job he can do is waitering at his parents' cafe for a living. He told me not to believe the official statistics of 7 percent unemployment. Once you factored in the underemployed and people who gave up looking for a job, real unemployment is around 16 percent.

Don't be fooled by the cheap healthcare and vast scenery. The economic situation in Canada is far worse in Singapore

I don't believe you that he gave up his Canadian citizenship. As a Canadian he can work in the U.S., Europe, .... even in Spore as a foreign talent in Spore.

I know many Canadians who are working in HK, Britain & Europe. Some haven't been back for years but they still value their Canadian citizenship.

nayr69sg

Staff member
With oil prices so low Alberta must really be hurting.

I have to make a visit because I want to see the old neighbourhood. Also need to close my RRSP & mutual trusts accounts:smile:

Eh? Close RRSP accounts? Are you retiring?

Alberta should be hurting but I don't really see it at the malls. People are still shopping like crazy.

There are still many PRCs moving to Alberta though. I'm still seeing many as new patients in my practice. Most of the PRCs have jobs.

I've noticed that Singaporeans who migrate to Canada are usually pretty well to do to begin with. So perhaps getting a job isn't necessarily the main concern for potential Singaporean Immigrants to Canada.

Talk about high property prices in Vancouver, it is nothing to these Singaporeans. A bigger concern is the weather and the prestige of where they are.

I remember when I resigned from the Polyclinic, the CEO of NHGP asked me where I was going. I said Edmonton. He replied "I have never heard of it, is it a small rural town area? All I know is Vancouver and Toronto".

To be fair, many Canadians think that Singapore is part of China and would remark "Your english is very good". It works both ways. LOL!

Lastly, no need to ask for help to come to Canada. You can do it on your own. Or you can pay for assistance services. There is no free lunch.

Charlie99

Eh? Close RRSP accounts? Are you retiring?

Alberta should be hurting but I don't really see it at the malls. People are still shopping like crazy.

There are still many PRCs moving to Alberta though. I'm still seeing many as new patients in my practice. Most of the PRCs have jobs.

I've noticed that Singaporeans who migrate to Canada are usually pretty well to do to begin with. So perhaps getting a job isn't necessarily the main concern for potential Singaporean Immigrants to Canada.

Talk about high property prices in Vancouver, it is nothing to these Singaporeans. A bigger concern is the weather and the prestige of where they are.

I remember when I resigned from the Polyclinic, the CEO of NHGP asked me where I was going. I said Edmonton. He replied "I have never heard of it, is it a small rural town area? All I know is Vancouver and Toronto".

To be fair, many Canadians think that Singapore is part of China and would remark "Your english is very good". It works both ways. LOL!

Lastly, no need to ask for help to come to Canada. You can do it on your own. Or you can pay for assistance services. There is no free lunch.

Happy New Year.

I am surprised that that individual have not heard of Edmonton.
Did he or she know so little about the rest of the world?

After living for the last two decades in Ang Moh lands I'm now making plans to move to a less developed country.

I'm getting sick and tired of the political correctness and the tall poppy syndrome that has enveloped the Western World. I'm moving to a place where money buys privilege and women function as God intended.