• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Elderly woman's hand severed by lift doors at HDB block

Leepotism

Slowly and surely, the 70% sinkies will come to realise that a PAP government is an inefficient and bad government.

zookeeper

Everyone, go check your HDB lift door safety mechanism.
Personally checked mine a few months back and got the Town Council to have the faulty mechanism repaired.
I believe there are many faulty lift doors waiting to kill someone.

apogee

Re: Hdb lift horror !!! Made in china lift severed ah ma hand

How can modern lifts in a First World country have no sensors? This is one of the most, if not the most, important safety features in a lift. There should be a class action lawsuit against HDB and all PAP town councils!

It has sensors but they are not sensitive.

I expected some PAP screw up in the medical field to cost lives & not something as innocuous incident with an elevator to be so dangerous.:eek:
Reminds me of the problem with the escalators causing deaths in China.

However I'm not surprised that something like this is happening in safe Spore. Just look at all the problems we've been having with trains breakdowns, flash floods, dengue, death in our hospitals,...

borom

Again another example what we have become under the pappy-1st world prices for 3rd world quality.
The price you pay for your HDB pigeonhole can buy a nice condo in many countries.

Thick Face Black Heart

I expected some PAP screw up in the medical field to cost lives & not something as innocuous incident with an elevator to be so dangerous.:eek:
Reminds me of the problem with the escalators causing deaths in China.

However I'm not surprised that something like this is happening in safe Spore. Just look at all the problems we've been having with trains breakdowns, flash floods, dengue, death in our hospitals,...

All the capable foreigners have gone to the US, Europe and Australia, that's why the foreigners we hire to build and manage our infrastructure do a poor job of it and we end up with so many hiccups.

Akan datang

Escalator death traps a la tiong.....
Huat ah 70%

zeebjii

How can modern lifts in a First World country have no sensors? This is one of the most, if not the most, important safety features in a lift. There should be a class action lawsuit against HDB and all PAP town councils!

Looking at the photos, can tell from the cheap looking chrome that these are sigma lifts. My block's upgraded sigma lifts broke down more times in 1 year than the old fujitec lifts in 35 years. These lift do have sensors, which most likely failed. The old lady must have thought that she could tap the doors to open them like the old lifts.

Strumming my pain with its doors,
Screwing my arm with its jamb,
Killing me softly with this lift,
Leaving my arteries numbed with bloods,

Sensors are useless....go old school and have those safety door edges which will repel the doors open once object is detected

CABcommander

Just saw the channel 8 news. Old woman entering the lift with her dog with a leash behind her. After she entered she realised her dog was still outside the lift. But lift car already moving upwards even though the door has no closed fully.

Old woman instinctively stick out her hand and tried to maybe activate opening sensor or pull her dog. But lift continue to move up with her hand sticking out. That's how her hand got severed. Also heard someone say got to grab a scissors to cut the dog leash. Not sure if the dog survived.

At least this didn't happen. :wink:

[video=youtube;Zly6nC01qM8]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zly6nC01qM8[/video]

Not sure if the dog survived.

you mean....

Screen%20Shot%202014-01-15%20at%205.13.43%20pm.png

Nolito

Just saw the channel 8 news. Old woman entering the lift with her dog with a leash behind her. After she entered she realised her dog was still outside the lift. But lift car already moving upwards even though the door has no closed fully.

Old woman instinctively stick out her hand and tried to maybe activate opening sensor or pull her dog. But lift continue to move up with her hand sticking out. That's how her hand got severed. Also heard someone say got to grab a scissors to cut the dog leash. Not sure if the dog survived.

in this case, dog can't save master but got her into deep shit.

CABcommander

you mean....

Screen%20Shot%202014-01-15%20at%205.13.43%20pm.png

Should be similar to this. Forgot to mention old woman was stuck inside the lift with her severed hand dripping blood until scdf came to rescue her. Pity the first guy who saw the severed hand outside the lift.