• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Anybody flown United Airlines before?

Semaj2357

they usually have a couple of nubile asians for language purposes going from sfo to tokyo or hkg (jap-speaking if tokyo and cantonese or mandarin-speaking if hkg). the leg from tokyo or hkg to sin is manned or womanned by mostly asian cabin crew. from sfo to hkg, i was very impressed by a couple of language-tagged crew who could speak and make announcements in cantonese, mandarin, and engrish superbly. multi-language announcements are extremely annoying as they're long, repetitive, 3 in a row, and interfere with my movies. wish they cut it down to 2 languages: engrish and mandalin.
and you can be sure that these two announcements will advise you to look after your carry-ons in the compartment above if there are prc nationals on-board :cool:

If you are well treated by the SQ girls, then you will not like United.

On the other hand, if the SQ girls treat you badly, then you will love United.

Ps. For Sinkies, you can page the United stewardess many times for water, coke, etc, the United stewardess will still be nice. If you page the SQ stewardess many times, it is hard to predict how the SQ stewardess will react.

i have never had any poor or bad cabin service on sia. the crew are extremely helpful and accommodating. on united, i had at least 3 bad experience:

(1) short-staffed flight - a solo and new stewardess in my section started serving meals at the front rows first as i was sitting in the rear (which was ok), but she started clearing trays at the rear rows first which meant i only had less than 5 minutes to gulp everything down an hour before landing. she was in a rush too and just grabbed trays while passengers were still eating. there was no help from other crew.

(2) an older stewardess served me coffee at the end of a meal but came back later and poured tea into my cup half-filled with coffee without even asking. that was my introduction to hk yinyang beverage, by accident.

(3) 2 very old stewardesses were in my section, and they were extremely slow and deliberate with service. i told them not to serve me after seeing them moving like the disabled and i went to sleep.

there were nice moments. had great conversations with an older blond cougar throughout much of the flight, and she spirited a couple of bottles of unopened bordeaux from 1st class to my seat. i kept one for over 10 years.

and you can be sure that these two announcements will advise you to look after your carry-ons in the compartment above if there are prc nationals on-board :cool:

that reminded me of the safety announcement "items in the overhead compartment may shift." this black dude kept fidgeting with his brief case in the overhead compartment, and it fell hard on the head of a female passenger below. ouch! she cried in pain, but luckily the flight took off without further incident. :eek:

Semaj2357

that reminded me of the safety announcement "items in the overhead compartment may shift." this black dude kept fidgeting with his brief case in the overhead compartment, and it fell hard on the head of a female passenger below. ouch! she cried in pain, but luckily the flight took off without further incident. :eek:

they should also have one more announcement for the other specie - who are fond of doing this and subjecting others to their bo....in hindi:eek:

If you are well treated by the SQ girls, then you will not like United.

On the other hand, if the SQ girls treat you badly, then you will love United.

Ps. For Sinkies, you can page the United stewardess many times for water, coke, etc, the United stewardess will still be nice. If you page the SQ stewardess many times, it is hard to predict how the SQ stewardess will react.

Actually my experience with most of the airlines that I taken, have been good. Normally I am courteous and friendly with the crew, and they reciprocate, vice versa. As I mentioned earlier, I normally fly Asian airlines like TG, Cathay, EVA, Emirates, (JAL also) and previously MAS. For SQ, usually for my business trips.

So far, the least friendly of the lot I mentioned above seems to be the crew from Emirates. I took 2 return trips. While their food is slightly better than the rest, their crew is somewhat unfriendly and indifferent. Not rude though. Also when I took an Emirates A380 flight from Dubai to Singapore, it wasn't as comfortable as SQ or TG A380. Dunno is that me or not.

I like MAS (no mistake) crew best and SQ second, they are friendly and nice. If not for the MAS 370 and MAS 17 incidents, I wouldn't mind flying MAS.

To me, all airlines food taste more or less the same. Emirate is slightly better.

For Business Class, I only flown SQ, EVA and Silkair. SQ food is the best.

I recalled the last time I took an ang moh airline was probably in 2001 or 2002, where Swiss Air and Finnair flies to Bangkok. So I am not sure if I want to take ang moh airlines or not to Tokyo. KNN, if I fly 6 hours and the crew face black black, then I sian liao!

:mad:

mei mei

Actually my experience with most of the airlines that I taken, have been good. Normally I am courteous and friendly with the crew, and they reciprocate, vice versa. As I mentioned earlier, I normally fly Asian airlines like TG, Cathay, EVA, Emirates, (JAL also) and previously MAS. For SQ, usually for my business trips.

So far, the least friendly of the lot I mentioned above seems to be the crew from Emirates. I took 2 return trips. While their food is slightly better than the rest, their crew is somewhat unfriendly and indifferent. Not rude though. Also when I took an Emirates A380 flight from Dubai to Singapore, it wasn't as comfortable as SQ or TG A380. Dunno is that me or not.

I like MAS (no mistake) crew best and SQ second, they are friendly and nice. If not for the MAS 370 and MAS 17 incidents, I wouldn't mind flying MAS.

To me, all airlines food taste more or less the same. Emirate is slightly better.

For Business Class, I only flown SQ, EVA and Silkair. SQ food is the best.

I recalled the last time I took an ang moh airline was probably in 2001 or 2002, where Swiss Air and Finair flies to Bangkok. So I am not sure if I want to take ang moh airlines or not to Tokyo.

KNN, if I fly 6 hours and the crew face black black, then I sian liao!

:mad:

You are right, if you show respect to the crew, they will reciprocate.

Emirates, they pride themselves for service. The ang moh stewardess should be polite. Maybe these are that odd cases of unpleasant experience. Ang moh stewardess should be nice, especially those from USA/Aust etc because these countries are multi-cultural. The European ones, like Finn Air, I'm not so sure, maybe some don't like to see an Asian face, so face black black.

mei mei

i have never had any poor or bad cabin service on sia. the crew are extremely helpful and accommodating. on united, i had at least 3 bad experience:

(1) short-staffed flight - a solo and new stewardess in my section started serving meals at the front rows first as i was sitting in the rear (which was ok), but she started clearing trays at the rear rows first which meant i only had less than 5 minutes to gulp everything down an hour before landing. she was in a rush too and just grabbed trays while passengers were still eating. there was no help from other crew.

(2) an older stewardess served me coffee at the end of a meal but came back later and poured tea into my cup half-filled with coffee without even asking. that was my introduction to hk yinyang beverage, by accident.

(3) 2 very old stewardesses were in my section, and they were extremely slow and deliberate with service. i told them not to serve me after seeing them moving like the disabled and i went to sleep.

there were nice moments. had great conversations with an older blond cougar throughout much of the flight, and she spirited a couple of bottles of unopened bordeaux from 1st class to my seat. i kept one for over 10 years.

Have experienced scenario (1) before. You must be so charming the older blond cougar treat you special :smile:

mei mei

not bad but not as good as sia. instead of young nubile flight attendants, you have grannies serving you. they don't pamper you like sq girls, but they provide motherly love and cougar passion if you smile at them and display some yellow teeth. :biggrin:

attachment.php

The ang moh airlines have old grannies stewardess because they don't age-discriminate, they can work as stewardess till they retire.

Correct me if I am wrong, SQ is different, they don't have old grannies stewardess because the stewardess are taken off in-flight duties after they pass a certain age. Don't know when they are taken off in-flight duties, they are posted to ground duties or laid off.

Leckmichamarsch

Anybody flown United Airlines before? Any review and comments?

They are having a promotion to Tokyo. Think of taking as it is a direct flight. But I have not taken their airlines before. I normally fly Asian airlines like TG, Cathay, SQ, Eva, Emirates and previously MAS. Never fancy ang moh airlines.

okay lah but flight crew mostly elderly......... maybe for domestic leg only but dun expect chiobu for international flights

xpo2015

Air India is the best!!!

Indian food is bloody yummy.

Fly Air India!!

Long time never explode or crash already.

Should be quite safe I think.

hokkien

How flight attendants handle their best & worst passengers

AsiaOne | Sun, Jun 14 2015

Send a tip
Print
A flight attendant's job first and foremost is to ensure the safety of passengers, according Thrillist.com, but when alcohol is served during a flight, some passengers can get out of hand.
The New York-based digital media group asked a seasoned flight attendant how they have been trained and found out the protocol on how to handle rowdy passengers during a flight.
The flight attendant revealed that a traffic light system is put in place to identify different types of drinkers.
Green is a happy drinker, yellow is someone who is starting "to lose it" and red means it is time to stop serving that person any more drinks.
A purser or a head flight attendant will alert the crew not to serve the person anymore and inform the passenger that they have been served their last drink.
This happens mostly in economy class, revealed the flight attendant.
In first class, the flight attendants will apparently let the passengers get away with more drinks since they pay a lot more for their ticket.
For some travellers, alcohol did not sit well with them during their journey.
Don't miss these...

Secret language of flight attendants revealed
10 things you should never say to flight attendants
Confessions of an air stewardess
Confessions of a cabin crew member
The flight attendant shared how a male passenger defecated all over the walls of the lavatory and vomited in the sink during a flight. After that, he realised he had lost his phone in the trash and even asked the flight attendant to help him locate it.
He apologised for his behaviour at the end of the flight and blamed it on the Ambien - a sedative for short-term treatment of insomnia - which he washed down with a glass of wine, according to the flight attendant.
The flight attendant also revealed that giving out free drinks is also their way of rewarding polite passengers like those who get up from their seat to request for something instead of ringing the bell.
Bringing the crew sweet treats like candy, cookies and especially chocolates can get the passenger free drinks too, added the flight attendant.
[email protected]
- See more at: http://travel.asiaone.com/article/n...ir-best-worst-passengers#sthash.vNNFw1NY.dpuf

BonScott

Avoid flying with Mainlanders, the country bumpkins type for it is unworthy to die at their expense when they open the airplane doors in mid flight. :biggrin:

Intra Pacific sector, don't UA rely on asian crew? But across the Pacific into U.S., you kena old foggies club. This was my experience awhile back. Got to do with union or labour laws and practices, I guess.

Euro airlines similar fate, with big fräuleins throwing your economy meals like a pack of cards. Also asking, coffee tea or me?:eek: Fact is crew ratio on non-Asian airlines sucks

Yes I flew United airline before once and the angmoh old stewardess threw economy meals to every seat. My friend who flew on another flight had the same kind of experience. Angmoh stewardess service cannot make it. In comparison, SIA stewardess service was very good then.

The ang moh airlines have old grannies stewardess because they don't age-discriminate, they can work as stewardess till they retire.

Correct me if I am wrong, SQ is different, they don't have old grannies stewardess because the stewardess are taken off in-flight duties after they pass a certain age. Don't know when they are taken off in-flight duties, they are posted to ground duties or laid off.

that's why the big 3 airlines in america are broke or losing money. they're dominated by union labor, and since labor cost constitutes a major part of expenses, there's hardly any room for running the business in the black. every labor contract cycle in a few years, the unions will threaten strikes if pay and benefits don't go up. they hold airlines hostage. worse is when workers who flout their seniority with high pay checks, obscene allowances, accumulated benefits and unsustainable pension plans have a lot of say in contract terms, they tend to stymy the hiring and promotion of younger and more enthusiastic workers for selfish reasons. these are unintended and undesirable consequences from unionized seniority-labor friendly policies and practice. it's actually a serious safety hazard to have 60 to 70-year olds working in the cabin on long haul flights. passengers may end up assisting these old geezers rather than the other way in an emergency.

public school teachers and postal workers in the u.s. are using the same labor practice. it's no surprise that both systems are broke and ineffectual.

by the way, i know of senior united cabin crew who own single family homes in palo alto where homes are averaging us$3-4m with 2500 sq. ft. of indoor space on a 6000 sq. ft. lot. and they are still flying with united although their children are all grown and have kids of their own.

that's why the big 3 airlines in america are broke or losing money.

Alamak, your info is history. They are rolling in big bucks now with all the fees. Many of the unions have been broken.
http://www.bloomberg.com/bw/article...-packing-planes-and-rolling-in-record-profits

public school teachers and postal workers in the u.s. are using the same labor practice. it's no surprise that both systems are broke and ineffectual.

You are a union-hater, I suspect.

by the way, i know of senior united cabin crew who own single family homes in palo alto where homes are averaging us$3-4m with 2500 sq. ft. of indoor space on a 6000 sq. ft. lot. and they are still flying with united although their children are all grown and have kids of their own.
That's the true middle class lifestyle that all sinkees should have. But thanks to the PAP government, most will have to work till they die just to pay off their pigeon hole, education for their kids and then to supplement their meagre CPF.

Anybody flown United Airlines before? Any review and comments?

They are having a promotion to Tokyo. Think of taking as it is a direct flight. But I have not taken their airlines before. I normally fly Asian airlines like TG, Cathay, SQ, Eva, Emirates and previously MAS. Never fancy ang moh airlines.

united airlines no good. MAS cheaper , food better, and seat more comfortable. Fly MAS.

That's the true middle class lifestyle that all sinkees should have. But thanks to the PAP government, most will have to work till they die just to pay off their pigeon hole, education for their kids and then to supplement their meagre CPF.

It is sinkies' ball-lessness fault for not protesting PAP and throw them out.. A very clear example of the karma of ball-lessness.