• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

PuteriWorld

I parked @ Peace Centre for 1 hour ( I swear its just normal dinner at the foodcourt on a Christmas day no other activities ) and I was cursing when I remove my cashcard with $4.50 deducted. One hour - $4.50. 10 hour - $45? To me that's Carpark Robbery.

Jusco is a nice place and RM 1 parking is atrociously cheap. That's 40 cent Sing dollar compared to my $4.50 sing.

Malaysia parking is still about 10% of Singapore... most places are still FOC.

And the quality of the shopping in Singapore need to catch up with Jusco.. Aeon is in a league of its own. Singapore shopping malls are over-hyped and parking is relevant to robbery

I parked at Aeon for 8 hours on Christmas Day....total parking fees $1RM.....compared with what I would pay if I park at say Jurong Point.....much more if I park at Taka for 8 hours(Easily SG$25)......so effectively $20RM(approx SG$8) VEP can be offset by parking chrages alone if you decide to shop in Sg instead of JB......I saved on movies...makan....massage....and groceries....plus various other items shopped.....and on the way back one qtr tank of petrol.....driving thru the checkpoints was a breeze...possibly thanks to all the hype that scare fellow Sinkies away.

Manhattan

Just to share,
Cod liver oil. JB giant rm 9.90. In sg, sgd 7.80. So its half price over in JB.

Not all stuff are cheap, need to do some homework before going there to buy.

RedsYNWA

And the quality of the shopping in Singapore need to catch up with Jusco.. Aeon is in a league of its own. Singapore shopping malls are over-hyped and parking is relevant to robbery

Bro, the statement is really too much of an exaggeration lah...... Where are the Chanel, LV, Hermes boutiques in JB? And where are the Iggy's, Waku Ghin, Andre restaurants?

JB has many things going for it, such as good zi-char/Chinese food, hip cafes, spacious houses and cheap cars. But it is quite an exaggeration to say that SG malls need to match up to Jusco, when there's not even a decent ladies boutique high-end shop in the entire state.

And the best French food in JB is probably Chez Papa, which is really not bad, but how to compare to Iggy's or Andre in SG?

Narmi

JPO not counted is it bro?
Bro, the statement is really too much of an exaggeration lah...... Where are the Chanel, LV, Hermes boutiques in JB? And where are the Iggy's, Waku Ghin, Andre restaurants?

JB has many things going for it, such as good zi-char/Chinese food, hip cafes, spacious houses and cheap cars. But it is quite an exaggeration to say that SG malls need to match up to Jusco, when there's not even a decent ladies boutique high-end shop in the entire state.

And the best French food in JB is probably Chez Papa, which is really not bad, but how to compare to Iggy's or Andre in SG?

winners

To be fair, I must agree that the type of upmarket shops in JB still have much to catch up with Singapore. Basically, there must first be the demand and to have that, the people must be able to afford the much higher prices for these goods. Even if we don't talk about catching up with Singapore, they'll first need to be on par with KL. And when that happens (eventually it should), then things will become expensive, even parking. Try to park at the Pavillion or any shopping centres along the Bukit Bintang vicinity in KL and you'll also complain of their high parking charges.

AHGS14

To be fair, I must agree that the type of upmarket shops in JB still have much to catch up with Singapore. Basically, there must first be the demand and to have that, the people must be able to afford the much higher prices for these goods. Even if we don't talk about catching up with Singapore, they'll first need to be on par with KL. And when that happens (eventually it should), then things will become expensive, even parking. Try to park at the Pavillion or any shopping centres along the Bukit Bintang vicinity in KL and you'll also complain of their high parking charges.

Frankly, I would rather things remain as it is, although it may be wishful thinking. I don't expect to shop high end often, and probably will patronise high end restaurants only once in a blue moon. The advantage that JB has is its proximity to Sg. When I want to buy high end, or go to some classy restaurant, driving over to Sg occasionally sure beats paying high costs everyday.

toyohon

Frankly, I would rather things remain as it is, although it may be wishful thinking. I don't expect to shop high end often, and probably will patronise high end restaurants only once in a blue moon. The advantage that JB has is its proximity to Sg. When I want to buy high end, or go to some classy restaurant, driving over to Sg occasionally sure beats paying high costs everyday.

Totally agree with you!

freedom

I parked @ Peace Centre for 1 hour ( I swear its just normal dinner at the foodcourt on a Christmas day no other activities ) and I was cursing when I remove my cashcard with $4.50 deducted. One hour - $4.50. 10 hour - $45? To me that's Carpark Robbery.

Jusco is a nice place and RM 1 parking is atrociously cheap. That's 40 cent Sing dollar compared to my $4.50 sing.

Malaysia parking is still about 10% of Singapore... most places are still FOC.

My hubby had a shock when I parked at Takashimaya for work and had dinner with him there...parking was S$30+.Compared to Aeon or Jusco where it is rm1 no matter how long I park... The cost of maintaining a car here with COE and high road tax is definitely a push factor for me when we bought a house in JB...

dare2

.....haha aren't u exagerating? This place does not sell decent brands? http://www.premiumoutlets.com.my

http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/ShowU...r-Johor_Bahru_Johor_Bahru_District_Johor.html

dumb1

My hubby had a shock when I parked at Takashimaya for work and had dinner with him there...parking was S$30+.Compared to Aeon or Jusco where it is rm1 no matter how long I park... The cost of maintaining a car here with COE and high road tax is definitely a push factor for me when we bought a house in JB...

How can you compare parking in our OR with parking in ulu places in Johore? You can definitely expect a huge disparity in the charges. You cant even compare parking in KSL with parking in OR as they are in completely different league.

PuteriWorld

Chanel, LV, Hermes boutiques in JB? And where are the Iggy's, Waku Ghin, Andre restaurants?
>>

The thing is do you buy Chanel, LV, Hermes every day? Poor chaps like us who has to move to Johor hasn't never heard of Iggy's, Waku Ghin, Andre... I am contented with Subway or Coffeebean.. Jusco has everything for just RM 1 parking. I missed my days roaming around Jusco from 10am-4pm. In Orchard Road the ERP and parking would be S$30 at least.. don't think I can do that everyday!

PuteriWorld

My record in the city was $20+ only for about 2 hours + and I was cursing.. And this year I broke my own record with a parking fee of S$150+ in Singapore. Lucky my Cashcard got $300+. Not gota say where but it was once the world premier places but now no longer #01.

winners

I must tell you that parking in JB's City Square is also rather expensive (by JB standard).

winners

The type and variety of products selling at the Johor Premium Outlets still pale in comparison to those in the US. Also, their prices (for those upmarket brands) are not really that cheap as I had did a simple comparison before against the outlets at the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets (NY). For price competitiveness from those various factory outlets, nothing beats those in the US, even the ones in Hongkong are also more costly.

RedsYNWA

JPO not counted is it bro?

Haha JPO does not carry LV, Hermes or Chanel mah...... These 3 brands are always the hallmark of a cosmopolitan city, as much as I don't like them....... But indeed JB has developed quickly over the last 5-6 years, and I believe things will be quite different in 10 years time. Who knows, by then, these 3 brands may decide to set up their fashion shops in JB (not accessories), the 2nd MY city after KL...... :biggrin:

In the meantime, I look forward to Southkey JB, Sutera Mall extension, Ikea Tebrau etc to open in the next few years, and hope for my MY houses to continue to chiong up......haha

PuteriWorld

Looks like they gota change name to Johor Pricey Outlet?
The type and variety of products selling at the Johor Premium Outlets still pale in comparison to those in the US. Also, their prices (for those upmarket brands) are not really that cheap as I had did a simple comparison before against the outlets at the Woodbury Common Premium Outlets (NY). For price competitiveness from those various factory outlets, nothing beats those in the US, even the ones in Hongkong are also more costly.

Daydreamer

Mate I concur on this. Went there (Woodbury) recently. Yes, Levis USD$40 a pair of jeans, missus got a truck load of them. Nosing around the Bukit Indah Levis store cost at least RM 270 (USD$77) a pair. HTF they can justified that when the American have higher salary with cheaper goods. I'm not sure an ordinary Malaysian can afford that. Surely they don't tax that much for a pair of jeans, is it?

congo9

I must tell you that parking in JB's City Square is also rather expensive (by JB standard).

Parking in JB city square is very ex. Unless you can park at the open air car park around the mall. Komtar JB CC has also rather expensive parking fee by JB standard. I even hear my my Malaysia gal friend complaining about carpark charges at Sutera Mall.

Of course, all the above you can't compare with Singapore. It is just so unfortunate.

Status
Not open for further replies.