• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Church leader gets $500k

Harry Lee

he will think that he is doing this for God. The suffering convince him that he is godly. In then end, who do he help? The pimp or the whores? By hiding here and there, how about his family? How about his parent? Who is really suffering because of his deed.
Sometime all these people will do everything to help others but never really look at their own life.

=============

Yes, Jesus said: "Greater Love has no man, except when he lays down his life for another"

Jesus also said : "take up your cross and follow me". Does the Church teach that today?

I once spoke to a guy from City Harvest. He was quite shocked when I quoted bible verses to show that St Paul suffered from hunger and from fears.....

Porfirio Rubirosa

Now now no need to get personal.

I don't think NKF/Durai's case is the same as NCC.

NKF/Durai is a public charity and involved deceit, deception, fraud, smokescreens and mirrors.

NCC on the other hand is a church organisation accountable to its member congregation only. What NCC does with its income is purely up to NCC and its member congregation. Others not happy, well I guess God shall deal with NCC and its member congregation in due course.

However if there is fraud, deceit and deception going on in NCC then yes the authorities should step in and do the necessary, no one is above the law. But is this case?

Typical PAP response. You work for IDA right?

If TT Durai decides to give 10 cents per donation dollar to charity then who are we to judge?

If NCC earns 55 million for 2007-08 and spend 660 million to build lifestyle complex who are we to judge?

Careful. Religions have no loyalty to state. Ask the moslems.

lockeliberal

Dear Porifirio

I believe voting members of the congregation have rights to all the information at hand, financials, amount tithe, amount given away to other churches, salaries etc. But like the PAP cadre its a smaller percentage of the church going population and one is subjected to greater scrutiny. i.e conduct, service, tithing especially with regards to the last, that is tracked individually. This does not apply to the general population with of course much lesser demands and scrutiny. I find that quite fair.

Locke

angry_one

I know a couple of friends from such 'pop churches'. Their normal pastors get 10K-15K per month. The reason? They were doctors and lawyers who gave up their careers to be pastors, and must be compensated for fairly.:oIo:

Porfirio Rubirosa

Are you saying that the voting members of the congregation donate more $$$ in tithes and offerings?

Dear Porifirio

I believe voting members of the congregation have rights to all the information at hand, financials, amount tithe, amount given away to other churches, salaries etc. But like the PAP cadre its a smaller percentage of the church going population and one is subjected to greater scrutiny. i.e conduct, service, tithing especially with regards to the last, that is tracked individually. This does not apply to the general population with of course much lesser demands and scrutiny. I find that quite fair.

Locke

lockeliberal

Dear Porifirio

In terms of numbers, the voting members will be outweighed by the non voting members in terms of absolute amounts

Locke

Porfirio Rubirosa

Like I said above, caveat emptor, individual should be responsible for the decisions that he/she makes. I personally wouldn't give prince and kong Hee the time of day, but heck that is me. If others need their type of 'chicken noodle soup for the soul' approach to religion, be my guest.

Dear Por

Its always open, just that the requirements tend to put a lot of people off. Would you ?

Locke

Dear Porifirio

Locke

Yes, its only the inner sanctum. Usually they have to start their own chapter, build their own cell and they they have rights to buy a franchise. Yes, its a franchise and like a franchise except that its in US style.

I have come across such a document, its straight forward business model. For example, you can only buy candlesticks and wine chalice from the Head of the Singapore church in this case Kong. Buy you get wholesale price from him and you keep the profits. So those holding leadership positions in Harvest must buy all supplies from Kong's company ( not the church). For the main church, Kong supplies church supplies.
Once in the game, you realise the rewards.

TeeKee

if jesus lived today, he would be nothing more than just another magician..:cool:

dun talk cock lah!

your buddha got claim he's god?

why do you want to settle for the 2nd best?

Jesus is God, remember that!

Oh and I have no doubt PAP have been monitoring people like Prince and Kong Hee as they are the new charismatic demagogues, however like you said these chaps do not appear to threaten PAP as they just provide 'chicken noodle soup for the soul'.

I know where you are coming from and I know that in no way you would be part of this, knowing your personality.

I do agree that it does provide chicken soup for soul and this is where NKF followers have done the same. They too received chicken soup for the soul, thinking that they are donating to a good cause and the money does reach the intended beneficiary.

Except Durai's model is not the right model for blind faith. Tangible results can be measured in NKF while Kong's is a better model where everything is up in the air. Nothing can be measured.

All good people but gullible

TeeKee

seriously, believing in Jesus is not blind.

only when you see Jesus, you will believe.

but many can't see Him. which is too bad.

people who only believed, when they can see tangible stuffs, are really not very intelligent.

like money worshipping. do you think they are smart people?

i dun think so, there are real fools for others to take advantge of!

and do you think people who drink, and be merry can enjoy themselves for long?

their lives will be taken away just like that, like kena run down by a car or suffer from heart attacks or some medical condition.

live is short. dun be a fool and just lived by your human nature and desires.

Naturefarm2

seriously, believing in Jesus is not blind.

only when you see Jesus, you will believe.

but many can't see Him. which is too bad.

people who only believed, when they can see tangible stuffs, are really not very intelligent.

like money worshipping. do you think they are smart people?

i dun think so, there are real fools for others to take advantge of!

and do you think people who drink, and be merry can enjoy themselves for long?

their lives will be taken away just like that, like kena run down by a car or suffer from heart attacks or some medical condition.

live is short. dun be a fool and just lived by your human nature and desires.

Well, The leader in these church create dream for the commoner to chase. In the process of these, they provide a service and get paid what wrong with that? Young man dreams dream right?

TeeKee

i donno about you, but churches in sgp has to comply with the sgp govt. in the name of religious harmony.

once the govt. has control over the churches. you neber know if they are directly under the command of Pinky or really God.

so did i answer all of your questions?

Hi kakowi.
Well, its very obvious we deserve that type of reward, isnt it? Do not tell me is the cleaner at the toilet?
This whole business is about demand and supply. if there is a demand of god words, there is supply of $$ so that they can be part of it. Just look at the crowd at CHC or NCC and the old family church and you find the different. If the teenages or Gen X need this kind of attraction to attract them to the church, then be it. Its like open a Super store, the main focus is not to tell the whole world that you have the best store or the cheapest sales, its getting the crowd to come to your store first. if no people come to your store, your message will not be getting over to anyone, isnt it?

you make religious sound like a business ...:wink:
you guys franchise from "jesus " brand ? If Christ were here now there is one thing he would not be - a Christian.

Isn't it crazy with all these church scandals? I'm beginning to understand how all those Bibles ended up in hotel rooms.

kakowi

Are you jesus? Nobody will know what he will do right? What he do 2000 years ago do not prove that what he will do in 2009 right. Indeed Jesue worth alot in the brand equity. Isnt it that all of them make million using his word?

In defense of what Joseph Prince is doing, you are willing to go to the extent of saying that Jesus' words and actions are a matter of the times?