• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Taxi driver income

da dick

I thought security guard walk here walk there very senang one ?:confused:

i heard some neh cleaners sleep all day, most of the job taichi to aunties to do leh. some more only 8hrs shift, security mostly 12 hr shift.
dishwasher i heard mostly very short working hrs, cannot earn much OT. and most of them definitely don't have dishwashing machine one loh. and definitely don't have 4K a month dishwasher like what sucky sushi say in waobao newspaper.

da dick

can drive taxi as part time not? like 8pm to 12am

drive 12 hrs a day IS PART-TIME. fulltime taxi drivers are the "oneman show" who drive day and night, but also can take a break whenever they like. those guys usually get very fat, and sometimes die from heart attack on the job.

Dark Knight

These days with so many taxi, a lot of those driver don't earn much.
Sillypore gahbrament is the major share holder of all those taxi company.
Rental of the car and petrol is not cheap and some driver can only break even.
But these drivers were once PMET with high paying job and they got no where to go except self employed as taxi driver.

Took a cab home after sending a friend off at the airport. Strike up a conversation with the driver and we spoke on the flights coming in, understand from the taxi driver, lately there has been fewer customer. I guess the strong sing dollar and expensive shopping in singapore has taken its toll. The taxi driver also mentioned that his earning has been impacted to a certain extent. Was wondering what do they make in a month assuming, driving for 12 hours daily, 6 days week. To hazard a guess, after taking into consideration, the rentals and cost of fuel, would estimate at 3k to 3.5k.

What do forummers think?

This profession should be 1 of the most secretive income profession. Some says breakeven, some says 2.5k, some says 3.5k, all the way upto 7k. Even 2.5-3.5k is a huge difference of 1k that is a avg blue collar full time jobs' pay .
Only have not heard toh-tiap case.
This question has been asked thousands of times and never will have an answer. You have to try it then you will know , and let me know ok ? I will take your answer as the correct one lol

rotiprata

every day, so many taxi uncles 'lah kopi' from 10 am - 3 pm at the kopi tiams :biggrin:
we oso can see many taxis parked outside H-81 every day from 3 pm - 5 pm :biggrin:
so drive taxi must be goooooood :p :o :smile:

greenies

Not long ago, someone claimed that he earns $7k as taxi driver.
Is it still applicable here?

Ex-manager earns $7,000 a month as cabby
Published on Oct 28, 2012 6:00 AM

Mr Muhammad Hasnor Hashim, 32, quit his $5,000 a month job as a security manager a year ago to become a cabby, and he has no regrets.

"My taxi is a money machine," said the father of three, who has a diploma in administration. "Every day, I see the money and it is directly dependent on how hard I work." He earns an average of about $7,000 a month working ×Mondays to Saturdays, he said, and gets to join his family for dinner every day. Sunday is his day off.

The driver with ×Premier Taxis finds it puzzling when some cabbies complain that it is a struggle to earn a living. It could be because some are semi-retired and spend time in coffee shops chatting, he said.

Mr Muhammad believes that a driver has to put in more effort if he wants to earn a good living behind the wheel of a taxi. "It's all about discipline and knowing when and where to go," he added. That means working hard, staying on the road when it rains and being willing to drive at night as well.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/breakin...000-month-cabby-20121028#sthash.elbfizo1.dpuf

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/ex-manager-earns-7000-month-cabby-20121028

when i say 3k, i mean there is no need to plan your route, just cruise on the road, stop at your favourite food joint for makan, and once in a month fetch your lover to hotel 81. realc,relac, driving style, no point stress yourself. last time, my hirer, ex-regular age 50 still go gym during lunch break, after driving, relac at kopitiam for beer. my uncle and friend's father drive till ripe old age, then retire. but there are some unhealthy drivers end up heart attack on the road.

you all should ask me, i used to be a taxi elite pioneer...:biggrin:

on average 3k cash no problem for 10 hours 6 days week. that's my calculation based on night shift, and thanks to PM robert lee for bring in more foreigners. if not, taxi drivers can fly a real kite while plying the roads.

I thought security guard walk here walk there very senang one ?:confused:

Some even can sleep and no need much work....that's why the salary also reflects the effort.
12 hrs shift still need to factor in travel time to and fro from office.....granted use work time to catch up on sleep but still dun leave one much personal time left....at least 6 days a week like that.....all for measly pay again. Maybe some think ok for retirees but now even ex pmet are joining the trade.

Some even can sleep and no need much work....that's why the salary also reflects the effort.
12 hrs shift still need to factor in travel time to and fro from office.....granted use work time to catch up on sleep but still dun leave one much personal time left....at least 6 days a week like that.....all for measly pay again. Maybe some think ok for retirees but now even ex pmet are joining the trade.

They are known to take on another assignment after night shift. Tough life. No future.

SNTCK

when i say 3k, i mean there is no need to plan your route, just cruise on the road, stop at your favourite food joint for makan, and once in a month fetch your lover to hotel 81. realc,relac, driving style, no point stress yourself. last time, my hirer, ex-regular age 50 still go gym during lunch break, after driving, relac at kopitiam for beer. my uncle and friend's father drive till ripe old age, then retire. but there are some unhealthy drivers end up heart attack on the road.

why now you stop driving?