• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A traumatic birthday for mum at airport

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>A traumatic birthday for mum at airport
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->MY PARENTS were scheduled to fly to Macau from the Changi Airport Budget Terminal on Tiger Airways TR906 on Feb22.
At the Customs check, they were stopped for an inspection of their carry-on luggage and they cooperated fully. After the search, the zip became damaged when the Certis Cisco officer was zipping up the baggage. Instead of admitting his mistake, his supervisor made the bizarre decision to report the matter to the police.
With their departure time looming, my parents were willing to let the matter rest. However, the supervisor said that, under Singapore law, they were to be detained until the police arrived.
The supervisor dismissed their protests that they would miss their flight, saying the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) had been informed.
When my parents were finally allowed to leave, minutes before departure, they found that the boarding gate was already closed. They were told by the airline they would need to top up $300 each to board the next flight. The CAAS officer at the boarding gate said he had not been notified by Customs. During all these six hours of waiting until the next flight, no police officer showed up.
I hope Cisco, CAAS and the police will review this incident and address the following issues:
What is the procedure when passengers' luggage is damaged? What if there is a dispute?
Can one be detained over a dispute over damaged luggage? Worse still, no reason was given to my parents.
My parents were told they could not leave because the police had been called. Subsequently, in the next six hours, no police officer turned up.
Who will now compensate for the damaged luggage, the six hours wasted and the extra costs because of this incident?
Feb 22 was my mother's birthday, and she had to go through this trauma with my father. Till now, she is still very upset and shaken by the incident.
Is this incident a reflection of the service standards we should expect at the Budget Terminal?
Loy Zhi-Yang

Everytime i see the word Tiger link with airline, there will be problems.

ahpong

Everytime i see the word Tiger link with airline, there will be problems.

After so many negative reports on Tiger and Budget terminal, they are still not out of business yet. I wonder why there are still so many people attracted to them.

This is a face value for the govt, if they remove Tiger, govt will lose face.

They even built a terminal for it and Tiger has to use that terminal. Jetstar and airasia are smarter. They dun give a shit to what the gov tis doing, they build the terminal that is thier business.

That is why i say , the govt is not suitable to do biz and they try so hard and lost so much money. Good luck to sinkies' CPF.

That is what Sinkies vote for.

khunking

The budget terminal is packed with foreign nationals.

After so many negative reports on Tiger and Budget terminal, they are still not out of business yet. I wonder why there are still so many people attracted to them.

char_jig_kar

mr loy zi yang,

just suck it up, and take it. corlect me if i am wrong. u guys (u and your parents) have been voting PAP all along isn't it? so why so surprise by screw up service and attitude here leh? u don't know under PAP govt, the country's service is like shit? no?

char_jig_kar

tell me mr loh zhi yang, is this incident at the airport, that screw up service and attitude your parents had encountered, is that a small price to pay for safe street, clean water, etc? do u feel shiok now knowing that how fuck up is the service here in this country under PAP gahmen??

if mr loh and family continues to vote for PAP after this incident, then something is seriously wrong..:(

char_jig_kar

if mr loh and family continues to vote for PAP after this incident, then something is seriously wrong..:(

they might not be able to make the connection between screw up services and PAP's responsibility for that...

they might not able to understand, the strong influence asserted by the PAP, PAP bo hew (heck care) attitude, ya ya attitude, had ingrained into the mind of the people. monkey see, monkey do.

TeeKee

Why must they report police for just a damage zipper? Did the couple demanded a compensation or was rude to the officer?

Sometimes we need to look at the mirror first before blaming others!

But then again, in world class airport, you have express lane if your flight is leaving soon!

char_jig_kar

Why must they report police for just a damage zipper? Did the couple demanded a compensation or was rude to the officer?

But then again, in world class airport, you have express lane if your flight is leaving soon!

its the security officer call up the police. not the old folks.

"At the Customs check, they were stopped for an inspection of their carry-on luggage and they cooperated fully. After the search, the zip became damaged when the Certis Cisco officer was zipping up the baggage. Instead of admitting his mistake, his supervisor made the bizarre decision to report the matter to the police."

Yeah, same as those who follow Gods words but God tell them dun eat meat, they still eat it. Got Follow Meh!!!!

kelvin

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>A traumatic birthday for mum at airport
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><!-- show image if available --></TBODY></TABLE>

When my parents were finally allowed to leave, minutes before departure, they found that the boarding gate was already closed. They were told by the airline they would need to top up $300 each to board the next flight. The CAAS officer at the boarding gate said he had not been notified by Customs. During all these six hours of waiting until the next flight, no police officer showed up.
UNQUOTE.

i thot that an aeroplane CANNOT depart until ALL passengers are accounted for, due to the Strict Safety Regulations ? ? ? :confused:

hemunkeong

I have flown tiger airways via the budget terminal
the experience is far from pleasant

My advice to all :
NEVER travelled on Tiger airways
NEVER fly via our budget terminal

Both are are a disgrace to the country

ahpong

The budget terminal is packed with foreign nationals.

O I C, Thanks

If I want to travel by a Low cost airlines, I'll choose Jetstar (Valueair) or Air Asia (in that order). It never occurs to me to go to the Budget Terminal and treated like an animal by the airport and airline staff.

scoobyhoo

call the tv "前线追踪" program for this. perhaps they can improve their service to the public after then from this. let your parents' unhappy encounter becomes something useful to improve the service standard.

HTOLAS

I've never traveled via the budget terminal but have sent someone there before - I'm not impressed. It reminds me of military airstrips or small town airports in Third World countries.

Indeed, the whole exercise of building a budget terminal came across to me like an exercise of humiliation of those who thought out of the box and did not follow the SIA way of doing things. I remember SIA and thus the powers that be pooh poohing the whole concept of budget airlines and initially refusing to join in. When the trend appeared unstoppable, they jumped belatedly on the bandwagon and then only grudgingly.

They also seemed to go all out to make traveling budget as unpleasant as possible. The only budget airline I have ever flown was Jetstar Asia and have no complaints about their service - but that is also because the airline refused to be castigated.

TeeKee

I've never traveled via the budget terminal but have sent someone there before - I'm not impressed. It reminds me of military airstrips or small town airports in Third World countries.

not so bad lah, third world countries dun have aircon...hehe..

on the return trip it looks more like 3rd world countries...lol..

at least my girl girl can enjoy the playground....

but the food choices are really bad, expensive..no fast food...

hey budget should have fast food right? they work both hand in hand together leh...

Nice-Gook

<style></style>This incident has nothing to do with world class airport.But has plenty to do with the sickening attitude of people down the line.I mean security customs and etc.Ever notice practically all these counter guys and gals are Malays?

I bet they have to answer to some paper-general upstairs.With family to feed and jobs hard to secure these mats are preoccupied with pleasing their superiors.I bet discretion is not their forte.After all even our judges have to watch behind their collars or simply thrown out of job.

There are far too many incidents like this that goes unreported.Every traveler is a terrorist to them.Try asking questions to any of these guard dogs in woodlands check point.I bet that would get you hand cuffed.Don't believe me just try.

Wong Cant Sing is responsible for all this.