• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

gooddebt

No need every other day go Tesco, Jusco. Try doing charity work, help out at the church, temples etc...more meaningful and fulfilling.

1nottiboy

I am not a believer in charity work. But I do believe in taking care of yourself so that nobody has to take the trouble to help you. That in itself is charity - both for yourself and society.

No need every other day go Tesco, Jusco. Try doing charity work, help out at the church, temples etc...more meaningful and fulfilling.

gooddebt

I am not a believer in charity work. But I do believe in taking care of yourself so that nobody has to take the trouble to help you. That in itself is charity - both for yourself and society.

mmm...yes, you can take care of yourself but not everyone is so fortunate to be able to take care of themselves, especially through no fault of their own.

PuteriWorld

Perhaps the issue here is that many Sporeans say living in JB is excellent. They say this ( me included ) because we earn Spore dollars. Cmon, lets not kid ourselves. An average office worker earns S$2000 or RM 5000 in Singapore. Hubby and wife and RM 10,000 a month is guaranteed. They live in JB obviously they are happy.

If they are Malaysians earning ringgit, I suppose they earn about RM 4000 at most a month. Obviously they are strugging. So for Sporeans its normal to enjoy life in JB.

congo9

Helping in charity is good because you will meet more friends. Enlarge your circle of friends and make new friends.

Jetstream

Didn't you read the papers before? A Malaysian had his hand CHOPPED off by a robber and he was told to take Q number and Q up by the nurse and after waiting for 1 hour, his immediately family drove him to Tan Tock Seng to sew back the hand. This kind of service if you give me FOC I wont take it. My life in Singapore is cheap but my life is not FOC for sure.

My mum is born and bred Singaporean, my dad Malaysian who's a retired Malaysian civil servant having full pension benefits that include free medical at public hospitals for himself and my mum. My mum used to live in Singapore when my siblings and I were studying here, so she used to get her medical done here. Now in her old age, she suffers from the usual chronic conditions like hypertension, diabetes, glaucoma etc. She found the bills here increasingly exhorbitant until my dad persuaded her to get her medical done in Malaysia. Of course my siblings and I, having been educated here in sg and thinking like Singaporeans asked mum, "you sure or not, can trust malaysian hospital or not, somemore public hospital". My dad on the other hand who has all along been getting his check ups etc done in such hospitals persuaded my mum to give it a try as he had confidence in Malaysian healthcare. And so began my mum's courtship with malaysian public health care at zero cost as my mum began getting more of her treatment and medications in Malaysia and recently had her glaucoma ops done right here at the sultanah aminah GH in JB. From the treatments and medication s she has been prescribed, it appears that she has been getting top-notch medicines. For eg, for her joints, she was prescribed the best medicine on the market, according to a doctor friend. Her glaucoma op was done professionally by the head of the opthalmology dept altho the hospital facilities were no frills. I visited my mum in the hospital and was surprised that the wards were very clean. No air con but well ventilated. So, while I cant speak for the case of the hapless robbery victim with the chopped hand, dont be too quick to dismiss the quality of Malaysian public healthcare.

SG education is not bad but not good enough to find a bank CEO for a national bank.
Someone told me that a local university did a survey to ask what business they will start and it seems a vast majority said tuition center.
My kids are in SG school, it's almost free now and the school facilities are excellent, really cannot complaint. But you wonder why not good enough to produce a bank CEO or industry leader.:confused:

Yeah lor, not good enough in the government eyes lah..The problem is with them, not with the people. Have to get rid of the problem creator...

Didn't you read the papers before? A Malaysian had his hand CHOPPED off by a robber and he was told to take Q number and Q up by the nurse and after waiting for 1 hour, his immediately family drove him to Tan Tock Seng to sew back the hand. This kind of service if you give me FOC I wont take it. My life in Singapore is cheap but my life is not FOC for sure.

Good for the Malaysian, he should be thankful that Spore public hospital saved his life. No, I didn't read about this case but I read the papers of one Singaporean young man who waited 6 hours at Tan Tock Seng hospital A&E and still not treated, he died from dengue fever later...

menghuii

If we r indeed retirees or rather one who wishes to enjoy the 'wan nian' then we certainly
need not only $$ but definitely good health. Else u can forget everything.
although we need friends, but friends can only go up to a limit.
only one's spouse can accompany u til the end. so both must be healthy.
probably finding meaning to continue living would be the most rewarding.
I believe whatever we are going to do from now should be from the heart
regardless it's for friends or strangers and being honest with ourselves is the key.
I don't thik any sporean here will cut their roots, the fact that u chose jb should be because of proximity.
really staying 'overseas' at home range. quite perfect I think except that u r not going to get snow or
a cool 10 degree feeling. we r just across the straits. same thing like haze, flash flood n what nots.
so come to think of it I m anticipating too much already. It may not turn out like what I imagine.
my only hope is we don't quarrel and putrajaya is stable.

PuteriWorld

I would like to say if you are a doctor facing two patients of which one got dengue and one got his hand chopped off and blood is flowing profusingly, who will you treat first ? We almost never heard about people dying in Singapore hospitals even though the waits sometimes can be long. This I don't know as I once visited A&E Tan Tock seng with a severe stomach pains @ 3am in the morning and I was treated by a doctor in about 8 minute.

PuteriWorld

Heard Anwar is Jailed 5 years for Sodomy. With the figure head of the opposition gone, protest and instability are back. When there are protests and a the protestors want to venge their anger, which race will they target? Look back into the history of Malaysia and Indonesia and you will get the answer. My advice is those who are still clinging onto the Malaysia properties where foreigners cant buy when they are below rm1million, quick sell asap.

FHBH12

Heard Anwar is Jailed 5 years for Sodomy. With the figure head of the opposition gone, protest and instability are back. When there are protests and a the protestors want to venge their anger, which race will they target? Look back into the history of Malaysia and Indonesia and you will get the answer. My advice is those who are still clinging onto the Malaysia properties where foreigners cant buy when they are below rm1million, quick sell asap.

Is it that bad? I tot the Chinese are migrating down to Johor from other states. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

alnine

Is it that bad? I tot the Chinese are migrating down to Johor from other states. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

There is even a Chinese university being build south of KL with 1/3 to be filled by Chinese .
Time has changed a lot of things, riot in Singapore were police cars burned but I do not recall reading such news in recent times in Malaysia.
DAP winning so many seats. Large new migrant communities both in Singapore and KL. One driver in KL told me he does not go to such and such a place because of large middle eastern men there. High crime rate but it seems the communities have taken self action, criminals are badly beaten up when caught by the public. So the landscape has changed a lot in my view just like in Singapore.:wink:

Jetstream

When it comes to Anwar Ibrahim, the anger on the ground is directed at the ruling BN. It never became racial. Anwar is Malay and is the victim. When Anwar was arrested for the first sodomy charge in the late 90s, the mobs directed their anger at the government. Anwar's party is predominantly Malay. The allied PAS is likewise. So there is nothing racial about this. There surprisingly substantial Malay opposition to the BN.

potter

I would prefer hold it forever..forever...世世代代..万岁万岁万万岁 :biggrin:

RedsYNWA

Yes, the Chinese are migrating down to JB from other states. My Malaysian friend mentioned on FB: S$1 = RM 2.6 的魔力 when lamenting abt the 2nd link jam.

Status
Not open for further replies.