• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

why are CNA infested with FTs newscasters?

Nobunaga Oda

<iframe src="//www.youtube.com/embed/WlXp1tLxrko?rel=0" allowfullscreen="" width="480" frameborder="0" height="360"></iframe>

Glenda Chong speak hokkien on CNA news

tridome

This ramesh reminds me of this...
View attachment 14123

s-ramesh-cartoon-press.jpg

Met this midget once... si bei yaya attitude behaved like superstar. Don't know he is really like that or just having a bad day.

heliotrope

Channel NewsAsia covers not just local news, but also regional/international news, which could explain the different nationalities of news presenters. Plus, with the irregular hours and crazy tight deadlines, you think such jobs will attract many sinkies to apply?

In recent years, CCTV - state broadcaster in China, has also been aggressively hiring foreign anchors in order to shed off its 'mouthpiece' image and expand its coverage of international events.

GoldenPeriod

Time to impose hard quotas on ALL companies in Singapore. Quota-Only 5% of the workforce in any company can be foreigners. Also minimum time limit of 20 years working in Singapore before eligibility for PR. This is the only way to save Singapore and Singaporean jobs.

In recent years, CCTV - state broadcaster in China, has also been aggressively hiring foreign anchors in order to shed off its 'mouthpiece' image and expand its coverage of international events.

CCTV used to have more angmos newscasters ...now alot of cheaper non-white foreign newscasters.

Time to impose hard quotas on ALL companies in Singapore. Quota-Only 5% of the workforce in any company can be foreigners. Also minimum time limit of 20 years working in Singapore before eligibility for PR. This is the only way to save Singapore and Singaporean jobs.

The best way to influence business is to hit them in their pocketbook ...so, the way to do it is to make employers pay a sum equivalent to wage of a local if they choose to hire foreigners. The extra levy will be given to the local employees of the firm. That way, the more foreigners are hire in that firm, the locals will benefit more.
No new PR until the foreign population goes back down to 2 percent of population.

I am actually quite curious as to how many countries, besides Singapore, broadcast CNA.

When I visit Batam the hotel I stay in doesn't carry CNN or BBC. In the past they did have CNN but sometimes last year they stopped:o
I have also noticed the same thing with the hotels in Thailand, the only new channel is Al Jazeera & although they do sometimes have CNA, the signal reception for CNA is very bad.

I tune in to CNA to keep in touch with what is happening in Spore e.g. haze, floods , MRT breakdown,.... When I am in Batam I don't usually have my computer with me but now that I've got an iPad it will be easier to stay connected.

Agoraphobic

To answer your first question, it's because it is inappropriate for a TV newscaster to present in Singlish or speak with a Singlish accent. Second question, that's quite a good guess, that's why Peesai needs so many foreigners.

.................why isn't our own ppl given a chance to be presenter?

................ is it really true that singaporen doesn't have any talent for anything??

The only FT newscaster that can remain is Wei Du and her twin towers !:p

The worst is the FT newscaster presenting at night. Her mouth and teeth looks exactly like my pet piranha !:(

i think that's dawn tan who's always panting when she reads the news...like anytime she shall be out of breathe and needs CPR.

the other with the bitchy look is genieve woo. see her face only, u wanna STUPIAK her left n right . :p

Wa swee bo? :wink:

85155EE0227BB2B01D54DDB6AB72.jpg

glenda chong - most probably hokkien or a penangite hokkien. she was once caught on tape speaking hokkien and describing like this:

lan bo swee, beh hiao kin....tao mo swee toh ho!

translated: if ugly, neber mind as long as your hair is pretty, ok liao.

Why?

To make it colorful. They like half breeds.
Even ceo Shaun's wife is not his kind. For the staff strength they got,
the quota for foreigners is definitey huge.

shaun seow or seow shaun is hopeless artificial who speaks with a funny slang and think that's cool but damn bloody jialatly disgrace!!

just imagine a chinese speaking tamil with exaggerated head shaking. get the idea? weird right??

and yes , his wifey was also once a newscaster until she upgraded and becum a maid basher which landed herself being charged and jailed.

she gave her maid a hot water bath...from the boiling kettle pot. dun mess with her!

then there was jennifer "iwantyourhole" who was molested by that teeko indian, shankar (i think) and the latter was charged for attempted rape on a fatty newscaster a stephanie sim (i think) and was rotan-whacked, jailed and probably kicked back to india.

those FTs organised some wild orgy parties and all hell broke loose!!

PRCs newscasters for our mandarin channels news are ok becos everyone also know sporean-chinese's mandarin pronounciation are terrible.

Also noticed mediacorp get mainly shanghainese PRCs newscasters, Shanghainese mandarin is widely accepted and acknowledged as being the best in all countries that have chinese race, even Taiwan TV stations also invites and hires shanghainese into their TV channels as TV hosts, example that Shanghainese PRC Xia Yi is very popular in Taiwanese TV channels.

And I think that Zhang Hai Jie long ago in year 2002 or 2003 already converted to spore citizenship

they also got the bitchy chang hai jie who quit and boasted she would eat "returned grass"....but in end she returns and really eat grass. she never won a STAR AWARD.

but she won something even bigger. rumour has it that she won the heart of sim wong boo who gave her a very expensive condominium and maybe provided her livelihood during her jobless days when media U suddenly closed shop and she was out of job.