• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Young mother complains about noise from Malay wedding

Friday, Nov 15, 2013

SINGAPORE - Another Amy Cheong in the making? A young mother has been bombarded by netizens for racial discrimination after she complained about a Malay wedding at her void deck, reported Lianhe Wanbao. One netizen even allegedly made a police report.

According to the report, there was a Malay wedding at the block where 20-year-old Jacqueline Wong lives. The celebrations reportedly caused her new-born baby girl not to get any sleep, thus prompting her to rant on social media site Facebook on Thursday evening.

She wrote: 'Another malay wedding under my block againnnnn! all th knocking since early morning! now thy are setting up th scene. then thy gonna make sooooooo much noises cooking till midnight. then again sooooooo much noises on th wedding day. no peace for at least 3days! god damn it. even my baby can't haf her afternoon nap. i wonder who started th "malay wedding at hdb" thing. nv see other races doing so too? inconsiderate max.' (Note: This is from her original post)

After putting up the remark, Lianhe Wanbao said the post garnered much attention with netizens calling her disrespectful. The evening daily also said some people even reported her post to the police.

A member of the public Miss Chen told Lianhe Wanbao: 'How can she scold others for having weddings at the HDB block? When Chinese people have funerals, the events are even longer and noisier; and we don't see people complaining. The one who is inconsiderate is her!"

According to the Chinese daily, Miss Wong has since removed her post and has been constantly apologising for it after seeing the responses she was getting.

In a similar case in October 2012, former NTUC Membership Partnership & Alliance assistant director Amy Cheong posted an expletive-filled racist rant on Facebook about the noise coming from a Malay wedding held at her void deck, reported local news media.

The New Paper reported that netizens branded her a "racist" and even government ministers, including Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, condemned her post. Cheong was subsequently terminated from her company and the English daily said she moved to Perth, Australia, shortly after the incident.

Cheong, a Singapore permanent resident and Australian citizen, also received a stern warning from the police, reported The Straits Times in March 2013.

Young mother shows sincerity in changing

Even though Miss Wong, 20, has been apologising and asking for forgiveness for her post, said Lianhe Wanbao, there are still netizens who refuse to accept her apology.

After seeing the backlash she was getting from her post, the young mother immediately removed it from her Facebook page and issued an apology, hoping to gain forgiveness and a chance to explain her side of the story.

She said: "What I wanted to say was why can't HDB build a multi-purpose area for us to hold wedding activities?"

Despite apologising many times, Lianhe Wanbao said some netizens are still not satisfied, saying that she should have known that her post is wrong.

However, one netizen said: "Everyone makes mistakes. Since she has apologised, we should give her another chance."

This article was translated from Lianhe Wanbao (Nov 15, 2013).

[email protected]

This lady has a point ...after so many decades, didn't the HDB realize that the noise from events at the void deck bothers residents? A wedding on a weekend, a funeral on the next, another CCC event on the following ...3 weekends of turbulent noise could be a likelihood.

HDB is sleeping on the job.

It's all part and parcel of living in a HDB estate..

Like it or not peasants must just tahan the noise and the inconvenience..

Now must also add loan shark menace as part of living in a HDB neighborhood.. For me this problem is a really major inconvenience and its much more irritating than the loud noises from Mat weddings and Chinese Funerals..

Malay weddings and Chinese funerals have been conducted under HDB blocks for such a long time.. I don't see any issue with this.. As I said in my earlier post, its all part and parcel of staying in a HDB estates..

Back then when my Ah Kong up the casket service van, his funeral clashed with a Malay wedding..

The Malay family kindly let us used the multi purpose hall which they had book earlier.. They then held their wedding in a block few blocks away from the multi purpose hall.. I think the town council then gave them some discount..

Quite a sight when the Malays sang Karaoke songs and our family booked a small wayang troupe to do a show on a wooden built stage..

The noise that evening was eclectic..:biggrin:

Malay weddings and Chinese funerals have been conducted under HDB blocks for such a long time.. I don't see any issue with this.. As I said in my earlier post, its all part and parcel of staying in a HDB estates..

newcummers will have a problem. they do not understand that this is part and parcel of hdb subculture - a very unique sinkie thing. to encourage more effective use of void decks, i recommend ktv and movie nights to be part and parcel of the weekly program. :p

This lady has a point ...after so many decades, didn't the HDB realize that the noise from events at the void deck bothers residents? A wedding on a weekend, a funeral on the next, another CCC event on the following ...3 weekends of turbulent noise could be a likelihood.

Should ban wedding and funerals at void deck. It create noise pollution for both. For funeral is worst, it create fear. Dead body should not been seen in public.

spotter542

Young mother shows sincerity in changing

Even though Miss Wong, 20, has been apologising and asking for forgiveness for her post, said Lianhe Wanbao, there are still netizens who refuse to accept her apology.

After seeing the backlash she was getting from her post, the young mother immediately removed it from her Facebook page and issued an apology, hoping to gain forgiveness and a chance to explain her side of the story.

She said: "What I wanted to say was why can't HDB build a multi-purpose area for us to hold wedding activities?"

Despite apologising many times, Lianhe Wanbao said some netizens are still not satisfied, saying that she should have known that her post is wrong.

However, one netizen said: "Everyone makes mistakes. Since she has apologised, we should give her another chance."

This article was translated from Lianhe Wanbao (Nov 15, 2013).

[email protected]

Must be shotgun lah , got baby already still Miss Wong meh :rolleyes:

newcummers will have a problem. they do not understand that this is part and parcel of hdb subculture - a very unique sinkie thing. to encourage more effective use of void decks, i recommend ktv and movie nights to be part and parcel of the weekly program. :p

I remember the days when we used to play football under the void decks, before the Govt set up futsal courts in all the HDB estates..

A Malay boy in our group blasted a ball and hit an old Makcik who was going to the market.. Makcik fell down dramatically and we kids ran away from the crime site..

The next day saw the Makcik again..

It was a relief to see the Makcik still alive..:biggrin:

there's a hairdresser in cupertino who looks like her. the last time i had a haircut and shampoo with her, she scratched my head so hard and deep with her nails i almost bled. i stopped going to her for fear of getting my head ripped off. she's divorced, and i could sense pent-up sexual frustration in her. a good shafting would probably bring world peace to her. :eek:

Point taken BUT and this is the most important thing of all BUT this isn't the topic of discussion here at all.

The topic of discussion here is trying to crucify this woman here for just simply posting on FB how noisy she finds the wedding and it's not the noise but rather who is making the noise. A MALAY wedding. Very important here keyword: malay.

If she had complained about a noisy chinese funeral nothing would have happened if it was a noisy non malay wedding nothing.

So you see how fucking ridiculous sg is.

Back then when my Ah Kong up the casket service van, his funeral clashed with a Malay wedding..

The Malay family kindly let us used the multi purpose hall which they had book earlier.. They then held their wedding in a block few blocks away from the multi purpose hall.. I think the town council then gave them some discount..

Quite a sight when the Malays sang Karaoke songs and our family booked a small wayang troupe to do a show on a wooden built stage..

The noise that evening was eclectic..:biggrin:

Yup that is correct but i'm curious what do you think about ppl that post on FB about the noise.

They didn't go down to fight of course they just post on FB do you think they deserve to be punished?

malay wedding is nothing. the worst to happen at any void deck is when two jamaicans are going at it full throttle. :p

there are jamaicans in singapore?

Btw how are jamaicans in the bay area? They are considerably less compared to the new york area that also holds the annual west indian parade.

there are jamaicans in singapore?

Btw how are jamaicans in the bay area? They are considerably less compared to the new york area that also holds the annual west indian parade.

yaa maan! saw a couple of them. one was usain volt. the other was insane volt. :p