nice pics. North Korea is a beautiful country with nice people and great leaders. feel like migrating there...
why need to migrate there? living in sinkieland is similar to n korea
nice pics. North Korea is a beautiful country with nice people and great leaders. feel like migrating there...
The rooms are bugged so that they can watch people being buggered.
The thing that sinkie leaders can learn from nkoreakie leaders is not to worry so much about what other countries leaders think about them.
Oh and more chiobu peektures please.
bro...based on what i read, they don't allow photography anywhere, esp of the local citizens. Hence i surprised you can take photo of the police woman and the performers. Your 'guide' neber stop you? U can take your camera openly to shoot like this?
Wow nice pics. Hoping to hear how they allowed you to take their pics.
Thank you Google user. Show us what Hermit Kingdom doesn't want the world to see and not organized tours or photos approved by KNCA.
If the US General is just a few steps away from North Korea and having a chats and a photo session, the atmosphere at the border must be quite relaxing.
how's the food in North Korea?
Nice?
why need to migrate there? living in sinkieland is similar to n korea
As usual the stuff we read about the North have been grossly exaggerated. We were given a briefing on the China side, the tour agency boss told us not to talk about politics or the economy.
I took those photo myself I didn't google them. There wasn't much else to take other than those places they showed us. The condition of the country is not as bad as we think. Even the lesser developed area we passed by isn't THAT bad. India is way way worse than what I've seen in North Korea. Here are some pics of things that U probably won't find elsewhere. Pics are blur coz I took some of them from the bus/train
did you explore around on your own or you did all activities in group only ? you were in Kaesong and Pyongyang. anywhere else ? Kaesong and Pyongyang are the best developed North Korean cities. can't really judge the condition of the country accurately based on these two cities.
bro char_azn, when did you visit? i was on the South Korea DMZ on 12th Sep late morning. And i remembered seeing that american lady photographer (in black jacket) on the right side of the american officials.
from what you said, it feels stricter over at the South side with regards to photo taking and carrying bags during the tour. I felt like i was back in NS again (very regimental) when the south korean tour guide said "cannot do this, cannot do that".
Pyongyang itself is VERY well maintain. It's streets are clean and the trees and plants are properly maintained.
The condition of the country is not as bad as we think. Even the lesser developed area we passed by isn't THAT bad. India is way way worse than what I've seen in North Korea. Here are some pics of things that U probably won't find elsewhere. Pics are blur coz I took some of them from the bus/train
Some mythbusting from my tour of North Korea
1)It is hard to get inside, getting a visa is almost impossible
This is so wrong. It was very easy for me to join a Chinese tour to North Korea. I communicated with the Chinese tour agency mainly via Email. I sent them my Passport details to them once I confirm my dates. 1 day before the start of the tour, I went to the tour agency in Dandong to make payment. They got the visa ready the next day and I met them at the office which is next to the train station.
2)Having North Korean stamp on your Passport will make it harder to visit other countries
No stamping of passport for my trip. They just checked your passport and the visa that the tour agency will do for you. They did however kept my passport for just about the entire time I was there
3)No Photographs
As evident from all the picture I posted, this is so wrong. When I was there, the guide only told us not to take photographs of military personal and equipment. Locals are ok but we need to get their permission. At no point during the tour was I stopped from taking photos or my camera checked for undesirable photos
4)They do not allow Ang Moh tourist into the country
I saw quite a few Ang Moh tourist there. All from Europe though
5)North Koreans are hostile towards foreigners
Nope, they were pretty friendly. Even the border guards were very friendly was trying to joke with us with his limited Chinese while he was on the train to check documents
As for North Korean being poor
I think we can't really compare our system with their system
If we compare it this way yes they are pathetically poor. The tour guide was telling us his wage was something like RMB$500 a month. Which is about SGD$100. A Doctor probably earns around RMB$1500(SGD$300) a month
The thing about money there is they virtually do not need to use any money, it's not like they have anywhere to spend it to begin with
Everything is provided by the state
Housing, Healthcare, Education is all FREE.
Need a house, get married and apply for one, U get one in less than 2 months if it's available. They don't need to buy one, in fact, buying/selling a house is illegal
They don't need to buy food, everyone gets a ration card to exchange for food. Food allocation depends on job and size of the individual
Even cigarettes and alcohol is provided.
Electronics are given out as a sort of bonus. They basically work as a group. So for example a group of farmers is given a target of x tons of rice they need to produce a year. If they produce above that amount the team will get a reward of either cash or some other products of their choosing e.g. TV or fridge. Of coz if they save enough money they can buy it on their own
There are virtually no shops. There are only a few "shops" that are operated by the government where they can spend on "luxury" items like electronics product. Basically everything there is operated by the government. It's almost illegal to do business. They can barter goods with each other but not using cash
They have 100% employment rate and no tax. Basically no stress, coz if U work 10 hrs or 1 hr everyone gets equal treatment
As for entertainment there are 4 TV channels. We came across a few swimming pools, sport complex and quite a number of pple fishing by the river.
Personally I wouldn't want to live there but someone who crave a simpler life by find it good.
It's kind of ironic actually, everything that the Pro-Opposition camp is demanding from our govt, North Korea already has it.
Thanks for sharing the interesting photos. The street pavement and roads are so wide and clean. I watched a CNA show that day on North korea got fence to separate the locals from the tourist. Don't have? And they say the locals not enough food to eat and always got electricity blackout. Is it true?
The Defectors from CNA?