• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cost of premature baby....medical treatment..-

TopSage

Below is a write up about a low income family with a premature baby.

1. Baby born in 34th week normal gestation is are 40 weeks..
2. Baby goes to natal intensive care for 3 weeks (incubator?)
3. Total bil is $55k
4. Subsidised bill is $14K
5 Couple apply for medical finanscial aid
6. Rejected because bank account have 15k
7. Was asked to empty Medisave account to pay for 70% of the bill and remainder
from bank account.

Okay th couple situation is manageable. At least they did not have to go into medical debt to pay for bill. While the family is low income and face some financial strain it was not disastrous for them. Without a universal healthcare system unfortunately babies are left out and the burden falls on the family. You can see the medical bill is $55k is not cheap for a premature baby which is not uncommon
medlical condition ....actually this woman should consider herself lucky the situation did not cripple her financially permanently.

Many Singaporeans blur blur g and have babies but dunno if baby need medical treatment it can turn out financially disastrous due to various lapses in the system. Like I always advice best not to have children unless you are quite rich otherwise you only have yourself to blame when you fail into severe strain dont expect govt to help you with medical bills for baby. Like my friend who end up in dire straits making a few mistakes:

1. Sign up for maternity package at Thomson Medical thinking package $2K plus is affordable.going to private hospital is first mistake. Later you see why.

2 Baby was born. Doctors came to check found anormaly i heart something more serious than hole in heart.

3, Transfer to KK intensive care because private hospital did not have surgeon for baby heart surgery..

4. Once you are transfer from private hospital, you are not eligible to class C but become zero subsidy private patient,

5. Try to downgrade to class C but disqualified because cannot meet low income criteria.
6. Baby had surgery for heart stay in hospital 3 months plus.

7. Total bill $200K.

8. Medisave $20K wiped out. Put on medical debt of $180k to pay by instalment.

9. 2008 fiancial crisis struck. My friend who was working in bank got retrenched.

10. He took up lower paying job. Struggle to pay both home mortgage and this medical debt.
Hospital send debt collectors to call him to chase for payment every month.

11. He end up selling his home and move back to stay in his parents 4 room flat. No more home mortgage to service but hospital debt collectors still chasing him every month to pay.

One lesson to learn is govt keep asking you to have more babies to feed to their economy and maintain theier econmzic engine but once baby born sick you can bew left in very
desperate financial state that is why it is best not to have children in Singapore.

----------

http://therealsingapore.com/content...empty-our-savings-providing-financial-support

On 1st September 2013, my wife & I welcomed our newborn son to this world at KK Hospital. He was unfortunately born at 34 weeks & weight 1.25kg. He was put in the Natal Intensive Care Unit for 3 weeks which the hospital then transferred him to Special Care Nursery for another 3 weeks stay. The medical bills shot up to an amount of $14,000 after subsidy from the original bill size of $55,000.

We were approached by a senior medical social worker (Phyllis Wong) from the hospital to assist us in the huge bill size. We were told to submit all relevant documents to declare our total household income including both of our latest "Bank Statement". If application is successful we will receive further financial support from the government. We were so thankful at that point of time as we came from a low mid household income.*

A week later, when we received news from the medical social worker all hopes are gone. We were told that our total household income is totally eligible for further financial assistance but because we have a savings amount of $15,000 in our bank account we will not be eligible for further financial support instead. Even if we appeal on this, our appeal will most likely get rejected because of the amount of money we have in the bank. We were told that we will need to pay the balance amount after deduction from our Medisave. We were also told that we could pay by installments if we wanted to.

We argued for unfairness as the amount of money in our savings got nothing to do with eligibility. Eligibility should solely be based on our household income. Savings is what we strive so hard to set aside for the future. Our new BTO 4 room flat is reaching completion and we will need our savings for furniture too. Upon hearing our plead the medical social worker told us to pay installments for all our furniture which she said could lessen the financial load. How could installments possibly be the solution out? We barely make $3,500 for our household income. Just how much installments can we afford to pay every month? What about food? Don't our family need to eat? We still have a 4 year old son to support.
The response from the medical social worker is totally unacceptable.

My dear Singaporeans & readers, I hope you can see my point and spread this. We do have a reasonable amount if Medisave in our CPF account to pay 70% of the bill. But I want to remind everyone that Medisave money didn't come from the sky. We work our lives everyday through thick and thin for that money. Medisave is still cold hard cash, if anything will to happen to my newborn son which need hospital medical attention I still can use it to pay his bills. Setting the amount of money in our bank savings as a criteria for eligibility for further financial support is just not fair at all.*

When the government gives out GST packages do they check our bank account and tell us you are not eligible because you have enough money in your bank account?

Does the government really want us to spend away every single cent we have before they start to provide us with financial support?

This medical social worker is just heartless to speak like that. Shouldn't they be the ones to show compassion to offer help instead of telling people who need help to go away?

Abandoned Citizen*

who asks them to fuck and get impregnated? without protection? they deserve to be sterilized for good. :rolleyes:

TopSage

I think some female insurance plan covers pregnancies complication??

some? which one? how many are strongly
advised to buy? what is the cost?

anyway the fact that medical.insurance exist for.this and that cannot
be taken as an excuse not to have universal.coverage.
Insurance will always exist because it is a profitable business
and cannot be use as a plug in for gaps in the state medical system.

You cannot claim to have universal.healthcare when.the families
of the sick are so.much.more heavily burdened financially.

pre matured birth I think not covered. see MP to appeal will b best hope...contact 新明 or 晚报 to air story to give greater awareness...btw I nud to ask...who they vote for ? which grc they staying in ?

TopSage

Oh no! Someone is gonna ask who did he vote for.

Irrelevant qn. Because voting for the other side does not necessarily guarantee anything...because the 60% are happily voting and you can't convince them.

watchman8

I think some female insurance plan covers pregnancies complication??
None cover the cost of icu for the baby. I have friends who suffered $100k one month icu cost for premature baby. It is a huge financial burden for any middle class family as icu cost can easily run up to six figures.

I'm surprise that MOH has still not come in to fully support the icu medical costs of new born Singaporeans. There ought to be a low flat fee for all new babies, regardless of condition.

TopSage

None cover the cost of icu for the baby. I have friends who suffered $100k one month icu cost for premature baby. It is a huge financial burden for any middle class family as icu cost can easily run up to six figures.

I'm surprise that MOH has still not come in to fully support the icu medical costs of new born Singaporeans. There ought to be a low flat fee for all new babies, regardless of condition.
Usually babies who kena ICU need lifelong support because some have long term health issues. Parents already burdened by a lifetime of responsibility ...also burdened by medical bills. That is why I always say Singaporeans should think twice before having children, it is quite irresponsible if something like this happens and you burden your family and end up struggling.

1. They chose to have children. The child was not imposed upon them.

2. They chose to keep the baby alive at all costs when mother nature thinks otherwise.

They have nobody to blame but themselves for their predicament.

I am sick and tired of hearing calls for taxpayers to pick up the tab for those who cannot afford the choices they made.

TopSage

2. They chose to keep the baby alive at all costs when mother nature thinks otherwise.

I am sick and tired of hearing calls for taxpayers to pick up the tab for those who cannot afford the choices they made.

In a way it is true. We should be wary of govt calls to have more children when such issues are not handled.

correct on point of medical fees long term for pre term bbies. also the long term health effects is not known...sadly the % of such cases will rise esp more undergoing IVF

Such kids are a burden to their family. And their quality of life is fucked. But if the baby is born prematurely or very ill like Albino etc. Wat r the options for the family? Can they euthanised the child? If not. Than icu etc is forced on them etc n have no choice.

Usually babies who kena ICU need lifelong support because some have long term health issues. Parents already burdened by a lifetime of responsibility ...also burdened by medical bills. That is why I always say Singaporeans should think twice before having children, it is quite irresponsible if something like this happens and you burden your family and end up struggling.

The moral of the lesson is...have cash, keep at home in cookie jar..like me, I always maintain the lowest possible in my bank account..Whom did they vote for & believe in???

They should have euthanized you when you were born...

escher

True. For the low income family with child, the problems are just beginning

For the PAP walking bags of excrement to enjoy, sinkies must suffer.
They voted and voted for that.

So they should get what they voted for