• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP is totally clueless on where to lead the country

Do you need a degree to get a good job?

Goh Chin Lian, Andrea Ong
Singapolitics
Friday, Aug 02, 2013

SINGAPORE - While paper qualifications help, a majority of Singaporeans said it was not necessary to secure a good job. A recent survey commissioned by The Straits Times of 500 respondents of working age found that 56 per cent felt that people do not need a degree to get a good job. The survey also found that current job satisfaction levels are high here, but Singaporeans' view of the next generation's job prospects is more mixed.

Many cited competition from foreigners and the poor work attitude of the young as the biggest obstacles that the future batch of workers will face. The wide-ranging survey, conducted by consultancy Degree Census from June 20 to July 2, provide snapshots of the Singapore worker's priorities and concerns as the society wrestles with a stressful pace of life while keeping ahead in the global competition. Responses from the emerging generation of the twenty-somethings, in particular, challenged some employers' claim that Singaporean workers lack hunger and drive.

The survey also suggested that Singaporeans have a healthy respect for people who take risks in their jobs or get their hands dirty, even if they would not take up such work themselves.

Same old PAP spin ...first the ministers come out and blare about the waste of pursuing degrees ...now they produce some survey to back up their claims.

You know sinkapore is going down the drain when the pursuit of higher education for social mobility is no longer a national priority. How are people supposed to improve their station in life? The ministers tell you to become hawkers. Not even meaningful entrepreneurship, be hawkers! Because the PAP doesn't want to spend a dime to help you become a successful entrepreneur.

That's how screwed up the PAP is. It doesn't have a plan anymore.

Tuayapeh

please .....

this country's plan is simple... open more casinos and if your people oppose.....

dilute their votes by parachuting in more grateful low level FTs.....just wait and see lor....2016 will see the pap increasing their share of the votes despite all their fucked up bullshittery and incompetence.....

:smile:

Many cited competition from foreigners and the poor work attitude of the young as the biggest obstacles that the future batch of workers will face.

I've been saying this all along. The survey proves that I am spot on in my analysis.

The current bunch of sinkies are lazy buggers. That's why businesses need hardworking foreigners on the team.

HorGauGan

then next time psle holder can be CEO :biggrin: supreme dog lee kuan yew will peng san! WHAHAHAAHH

Do you need a degree to get a good job?

Goh Chin Lian, Andrea Ong
Singapolitics
Friday, Aug 02, 2013

SINGAPORE - While paper qualifications help, a majority of Singaporeans said it was not necessary to secure a good job. A recent survey commissioned by The Straits Times of 500 respondents of working age found that 56 per cent felt that people do not need a degree to get a good job. The survey also found that current job satisfaction levels are high here, but Singaporeans' view of the next generation's job prospects is more mixed.

Many cited competition from foreigners and the poor work attitude of the young as the biggest obstacles that the future batch of workers will face. The wide-ranging survey, conducted by consultancy Degree Census from June 20 to July 2, provide snapshots of the Singapore worker's priorities and concerns as the society wrestles with a stressful pace of life while keeping ahead in the global competition. Responses from the emerging generation of the twenty-somethings, in particular, challenged some employers' claim that Singaporean workers lack hunger and drive.

The survey also suggested that Singaporeans have a healthy respect for people who take risks in their jobs or get their hands dirty, even if they would not take up such work themselves.

then next time psle holder can be CEO :biggrin: supreme dog lee kuan yew will peng san! WHAHAHAAHH

There are loads of CEOs with nothing more than a primary eduction. Some have no formal education whatsoever.

I've been saying this all along. The survey proves that I am spot on in my analysis.

The current bunch of sinkies are lazy buggers. That's why businesses need hardworking foreigners on the team.

They must have visited this site and copied your answers. Your site is indeed popular with the PAP. Damn proud of you man!

HorGauGan

can dogs lead? :rolleyes:

puppy-eating.jpg

... A recent survey commissioned by The Straits Times of 500 respondents of working age found that 56 per cent felt that people do not need a degree to get a good job. The survey also found that current job satisfaction levels are high here, but Singaporeans' view of the next generation's job prospects is more mixed ...

gahmen shud follow ze results of tis survey n abolish all skolarship schemes immediately ... dat wud oso save gahmen tons of moni which is betta channeled in2 rewarding workers who take risks n get their hands dirty in their jobs ...

blackmondy

Do you need a degree to get a good job ?

Saw bitch is a fantastic example you don't need a degree.

From DFAss sales-girl to AssMRT CEO....nuff said.

Dark Knight

Some years back there was this chap from Standard Chartered Bank got posting to India as branch manager.
He got laid off and went jobless for quite a while after trying hard to search for another banker's position in Sillypore.
Not giving up, he heed the Sillypore gahbrament's advise/advice to upgrade himself by pursuing a master degree.

Upon completion, he still cannot secure a job as a banker in Sillypore.
He still cannot understand why with his years of banking experience, while is it so difficult for his to find another similar job.
He ended up working in a hawker center as dish collector. His case was reflected on tv. No more news was heard from him then.

Anyone know of his status now?

koKSia

plain lazy or picky? some quite on but need to get interested. not like us last time, kena F means will do.

freedalas

Anyone who believes in a survey carried out by the Straits Times must get his head examined. Who in S'pore now believes the PAP brothel at Toa Payoh except an absolute idiot like u.

freedalas

There are loads of CEOs with nothing more than a primary eduction. Some have no formal education whatsoever.

These are those who owns the businesses themselves and self appoint himself or herself as the CEO. These were in the much earlier years where education was considered a luxury with few finishing school. The situation is now totally different. Just find me one guy with only a primary education had been made a CEO in the past decade(and I am not taking about those who self-appoint themselves as owners of the business). It shows how archaic you are; you belong to the 20th century so my advise is you stop discussing about issues in the 21st century to save yourself embarrassment.

Anyone who believes in a survey carried out by the Straits Times must get his head examined. Who in S'pore now believes the PAP brothel at Toa Payoh except an absolute idiot like u.

The ST has just been chosen as the BEST newspaper in town. If it was full of lies, it would have been awarded under the fiction category not the news category.

You're the one who needs your head examined along with your ass.

Physiocrat

vroom expectancy theory

The difficulty of affording a flat for the fresh grads is a big turnoff.

Chances are....either they loses hope and thus the motivation to strive or they switch on to the "Dog eat dog" mode.

Either way, the old fucks (most likely the baby boomers) will still complain.

They will be labeled as lazy If they loses motivation; they will be labelled as cold blooded reptiles lacking moral values if they switch on to the "Dog eat dog" mode.

These are those who owns the businesses themselves and self appoint himself or herself as the CEO. These were in the much earlier years where education was considered a luxury with few finishing school. The situation is now totally different. Just find me one guy with only a primary education had been made a CEO in the past decade(and I am not taking about those who self-appoint themselves as owners of the business). It shows how archaic you are; you belong to the 20th century so my advise is you stop discussing about issues in the 21st century to save yourself embarrassment.

Those who start their own companies are far more deserving of the title of "CEO" you twit.

Ones that are hired often know nuts about the job they're supposed to do. Singapore is full of such examples.