• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

When a Minister talks about his love for restaurant toothpicks

Leepotism

Which eatery has the best toothpicks? Din Tai Fung, says labour chief Lim Swee Say

When labour chief Lim Swee Say goes to Chinese restaurant Din Tai Fung, his eyes are peeled not so much on its dumplings and noodles, but on its toothpicks.

He likes them because they are well-designed and of good quality.
"Many restaurants give you toothpicks, but the toothpick is so big it can never go through, but this one is so fine that whatever is inside sure can come out," he said on Monday.

In fact, he revealed with a laugh, the Din Tai Fung toothpicks are so good, he "can never resist" - he always takes half a box of them during each visit.

"They always serve in a pack," he told reporters at BreadTalk Group's new headquarters in Tai Seng. "And because I go there very early - 10.30 in the morning - always full right. And guess what? By the time I left, normally right, it's half left. The other half is in my pocket."

In fact, Mr Lim had a Din Tai Fung toothpick on him, and showed it to reporters.

The point he wanted to make? "Success never happens by chance," he said.
Companies like BreadTalk and Din Tai Fung -a chain founded in Taiwan and which is run by BreadTalk here - pay attention to the finest details.

During his tour, Mr Lim was shown how BreadTalk has streamlined its work processes to deal with the manpower crunch that has affected the service sector.
A Din Tai Fung spokesman said toothpicks are placed on all tables and customers are free to use as many as they like.

In fact, he revealed with a laugh, the Din Tai Fung toothpicks are so good, he "can never resist" - he always takes half a box of them during each visit.

Wah.. million dollar salary minister still want to grab so many toothpicks?

Can't afford toothpicks at home? :rolleyes:

ray_of_hope

Wonderful! There are so few problems plaguing us as a country that the main story is about a Cabinet Minister and his favourite toothpick! :o

Dai Tai Fung must send him a case of their tooth picks...damn bloody disgusting miser...bloody no class!

Next time u go din tai fung and you realise no toothpick, you know which cbkia start this trend.

Zorro the CB kia was doing free publicity for crony George Quek's Breadtalk Group, which owns Din Tai Fung restaurants.

Poomer

Do you trust someone who tan xiao pian yi to help you fight for better salaries?

"If we cannot trust a politician to tell the truth, then we cannot trust him or her to safeguard public funds, to put public interest ahead of personal gain, or to make decisions affecting the well-being and security of Singaporeans. This is the standard that we must hold ourselves to, and that Singaporeans have rightly come to expect from those in politics, whether in government or opposition." - PM Lee

He must come clean on what else he take from the restaurant & how much discount they give him & his family or guests or......may have swiped the towels too for wiping the face...the peanuts...the... such a cheapskate!

Forummer Leepotism, please can you provide the link and source for this article.
Please please provide everything you know including the reporter, the website, newspaper, etc.

Because if you do and it really exists, this is my only response:

LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL

SgParent

"They always serve in a pack," he told reporters at BreadTalk Group's new headquarters in Tai Seng. "And because I go there very early - 10.30 in the morning - always full right. And guess what? By the time I left, normally right, it's half left. The other half is in my pocket."

In fact, Mr Lim had a Din Tai Fung toothpick on him, and showed it to reporters.

is zorro lim admitting to theft?

ooh wait.. i'm sure din tai fung owner will happily cover for zorro lim, saying those toothpicks are complementary.

Forummer Leepotism, please can you provide the link and source for this article.
Please please provide everything you know including the reporter, the website, newspaper, etc.

Because if you do and it really exists, this is my only response:

LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL LOL

http://www.straitstimes.com/breakin...-toothpicks-din-tai-fung-says-labour-chief-li

Straits Times article, written by Amelia Tan.

34b2a76.jpg

http://sg.linkedin.com/in/ameliatan

In fact, he revealed with a laugh, the Din Tai Fung toothpicks are so good, he "can never resist" - he always takes half a box of them during each visit

Best case - he is cheap, bloody cheap.
Worst case - he is a thief.

Toothpicks are meant for use at the restaurant, not for him to take it home for personal use.

hahahahahaha. my pappies master doggy very sarporting leh. see sinkees so stressed up over the haze and the ms. vivian tua pao (big cannon) back fire. knn, sinkees shud be more grateful for our pappies chief entertainer, zorro lim shitbsay to provide such world class entertainment to sinkees.

Poomer

is zorro lim admitting to theft?

ooh wait.. i'm sure din tai fung owner will happily cover for zorro lim, saying those toothpicks are complementary.

they already cover liao. but srsly toothpicks are all complementary, so not much of a case to call for pinky to sack him, but it does speak volumes about his character. :biggrin: