• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

STRIKE in HK! Unions raise S$100K to suppork strikers!

Asterix

HK's Confederation of Trade Unions have raised HK$650K (S$100K) from public donations in suppork of striking dock workers at Container Terminal 4 in Kwai Tsing. A representative of the union said that "we hope to pay out every cent of the funds raised to the striking workers and not reserve it for other uses". The union will distribute HK$1,000 (S$160) in cash to each striking worker to help them with living expenses as they will not be paid their salaries while the strike is going on. (This is rough translation of a paragraph from an article in one of HK's Chinese newspapers today, original article appears in next post.)

Now, this is community spirit. Solidarity at work. Sinkies can draw any lessons from this? Of course you cannot expect Minions like Zorro to disobey their masters. Zorro definitely will not help any Sinkie worker that dares to strike. He will oppose minimum wages "in your best interest" and ask you to improve your productivity - "fasterer, betterer and cheaperer"! Then he goes and look his personal CPF statement ... :eek:

136492742530693.jpg

Asterix

Here's the full article in traditional Chinese characters. Click on the link below for more photos.

【am730訊】高院日前頒布臨時禁制令,限制罷工工人及支持者霸佔貨櫃碼頭抗爭,逾百名工人前晚撤到閘外,冒雨通宵紮營留守,昨晚再轉到附近空地集會,期間撕破象徵禁制令的單張。有外判商昨再發出「最後通牒」,要求工人復工,但無人答應,罷工人數更突破500人;工會向每名罷工工人發放1,000元生活津貼,以解燃眉之急。

國際貨櫃碼頭(HIT)最大單一股東的和黃集團主席李嘉誠,昨晨離開寓所時無回應外判工人罷工事件,僅打開車窗向守候的傳媒問好,其長子兼和黃副主席李澤鉅亦無回應。職工盟昨開會後決定,繼續在葵涌貨櫃碼頭閘外留守。碼頭業職工會總幹事何偉航稱,閘外是最理想的罷工地點,工會將安排更多帳篷,並租用流動廁所,以作長期抗爭。同時,工會的罷工基金已籌集65萬元,並向每名罷工工人發放1,000元現金,相當於吊機機手一天薪金,「希望將罷工基金一分一毫都俾晒工人,唔想要儲存或留嚟其他用途」,但領取條件是,罷工工人必須是工會會員,即場以170元加入工會,同獲1,000元津貼。

工人申法援抗禁制令

對於有人指罷工是搞亂香港,職工盟秘書長李卓人反駁指工人要生活安定,社會才會好,並非靠高壓、不合理分配方式來維持社會安定。部分被禁制令點名的工人代表,則向法援署申請法援,以便周五出席正式禁制令聆訊時,有律師協助答辯,但因未交齊文件,無法即時審理。

至於連日被工人炮轟無誠意溝通的HIT董事總經理嚴磊輝,昨出席多個電台節目,他稱工潮發生多日仍未解決,已嚴重打擊本港航運中心聲譽,HIT及本港其他碼頭公司都是「輸家」。他又多次強調,HIT並非今次事件的資方,外間不應將矛頭指向他們,重申工人爭取薪金需自行向外判商談判,他已責成外判商盡快解決問題,「同佢(外判商)關係係又愛又恨,因為愛係一定要佢幫我手做嘢,有員工做嘢,恨係佢令我哋每日損失500萬元!」他透露,受工潮影響,部分貨船已改到深圳及新加坡裝卸貨物。

嚴:工人薪金屬市價

嚴磊輝續稱,HIT作為碼頭管理公司,個人很有誠意了解行業訴求,「依家全香港都識得我啦,咪搵我囉……但加人工我做唔到嘅」。嚴指,曾抽查外判商糧單,發現工人指過去10年無加薪的說法不正確,認為工人領取的薪金已屬市場價,若薪金不足,工人早已轉行。他又指,罷工行動前一至兩個月,已要求外判商在今年7月簽署新合約時,需向工人加薪5%,「我要求承辦商至少有呢個情況(加薪5%),佢俾好咗佢問題,俾差咗我會追究」,但否認指示外判商不再聘用罷工工人,「絕對冇秋後算帳」。

持續已6日的工潮,合共有5個外判商的工人參與,包括負責船上貨櫃裝卸的「永豐」和「現創」,以及負責吊機操作的「高寶」、「培記」及「聯營」。據了解,除「現創」工人復工外,其餘多間外判商的工人仍堅持罷工。其中,「高寶」指願意與工人商討薪酬及工作環境,但認為吊機操作員加薪兩成「冇可能」,並稱工會不熟悉碼頭操作,「一坐低就話(加)十五二十(百分點),咁邊有得傾」。

《東張西望》接逾200投訴

另外,無綫日前播出的《東張西望》接獲213宗投訴,主要不滿報道工潮手法偏頗。無綫外事部副總監曾醒明稱,節目無預設立場,除碼頭公司外,亦有訪問工會代表和時事評論員等,不認為內容偏頗。

http://www.am730.com.hk/article.php?article=148792&d=2010

Asterix

From today's SCMP:

The dispute between striking dockers and the container port operator escalated yesterday, with thousands of the workers and their supporters staging a protest march.

Meanwhile, the city's 20,000 truck drivers were urged to show their support by going on sick leave today.

As the strike entered its 11th day, the 500 dock workers on strike marched with their supporters from Causeway Bay's Victoria Park to Central's Cheung Kong Center - where tycoon Li Ka-shing works - and then on to the government's Tamar headquarters in Admiralty.

Port operator Hongkong International Terminals (HIT) is a subsidiary of Li's Hutchison Whampoa. The Confederation of Trade Unions, the protest organiser, said 4,000 people took part. Police put the number at 2,800.

One striking docker, Wong Ming, said that while he was aware of the impact their industrial action had on the city's economy, the workers had to fight for their rights. "We have contributed to the economy for so many years. We have the right to fight for what we deserve," he said.

The dockers are seeking a 17 per cent pay rise and say their pay has gone up only once in 15 years.

HIT managing director Gerry Yim Lui-fai earlier said his company was losing HK$5 million a day because of the walkout.

HIT was due to meet another group of dockers this morning - those directly employed by the operator - to discuss their demands. But it continues to ignore pleas for talks from dockers employed by contractors.

Meanwhile, the Logistics Industry and Container Truck Drivers Union has called on its 1,200 members and the rest of the city's 20,000 truck drivers to go on collective sick leave today in support of the strike. The union said it was also pressing the drivers' employers for a 10 per cent pay rise. The hourly wage of truck drivers has dropped from HK$55 in 1998 to HK$40, it said.

Union of Hong Kong Dockers spokesman Stanley Ho Wai-hong said: "Every wise man will understand that people should not use the economy as an excuse to say that the dockers should not fight for their rights."

http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article/1209413/strike-stakes-rise-others-join-action

They should arrest the whole damned lot and throw them behind bars for 6 months to teach them a lesson.

Asterix

They should arrest the whole damned lot and throw them behind bars for 6 months to teach them a lesson.

Hi there,

When these dock workers succeed in getting a better deal than what was initially offered because of the strike action, your other half Tonychat will say:

See lah, Sinkies ball-less that's why they got nothing, praise to the Hongkies for having the balls to fight back!

Spock

In SG, you just need to arrest a few of the leaders or kick them out of SG if they are foreigners and viola, problem solved.

Asterix

Donations streamed in from members of the public. Sinkies of course will neber do that.

[video=youtube;0o_Q4NLlx4I]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0o_Q4NLlx4I[/video]

Asterix

[video=youtube;3Y4SVee4LCQ]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Y4SVee4LCQ[/video]

South China Morning Post, 10th April 2013

Talks to end port strike will take time, says organiser Lee Cheuk-yan

Long-awaited talks among striking dockers, two contractors and the affected port operator are due to be held today, but the union representing the workers doubts the dispute can be resolved in one sitting.

This came as the operator, Hongkong International Terminals (HIT), said 90 vessels were expected to have skipped the Kwai Tsing container terminals, where it operates, if the strike lasted 25 days to April 21.

Strike organiser Lee Cheuk-yan, a lawmaker with the Confederation of Trade Unions (CTU), said that if talks broke down today, Secretary for Labour and Welfare Matthew Cheung Kin-chung should bear the "biggest responsibility".

Cheung said the Labour Department had arranged a meeting of the confederation, the port operator, and two contractors, to be held this morning.

It is understood the two contractors are Everbest Port Services and Global Stevedoring Service Company. HIT will act only as an "observer".

There will be another meeting in the afternoon involving HIT, the two contractors, the Federation of Trade Unions and the Federation of Hong Kong and Kowloon Labour Unions. The two unions represent two other groups of non-striking dockers.

"We won't have enough time to talk it through. In my experience, labour dispute negotiations can take up to 24 hours" to resolve, Lee said. He criticised the Labour Department's decision to invite the two other unions, which were not involved in the strike. "Maybe Matthew Cheung is trying to boost the image of the pro-establishment, pro-Beijing unions."

The 500 strikers are seeking a 17 to 24 per cent pay rise. Lee said there was room for negotiation but did not offer specifics.

A representative for contractor Everbest said it was "not impossible" the company might raise workers' salaries by 20 per cent. "I would leave it for [today's] discussion," Dick Wong said. "I don't want to be too harsh by saying 'no' now."

Wong said his company had offered a pay rise to some workers, and they wanted to accept the offer.

"But they said they needed to leave the matter to the union," he said, without specifying how much was offered.

http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/...e-will-take-time-says-organiser-lee-cheuk-yan

that would enhance more strike.

the should learn from zorro lim suay suay. if everything else doesn't work, he can always blast away his "UPTURN THE DOWNTURN" lame hokkien song. of course, it gotta be in canto this time.

Asterix

As at 14th April, ordinary Hongkies from all walks of life have donated HK$4.6 million (S$730,000) to support the striking dock workers. Of course present day Sinkies will neber do that. Solidarity has been brainwashed out of their mindset. Was told that it wasn't like that in the past. Otherwise how is that even bargirls donated part of their wages to help fund Nanyang University. I'm told on the opening day of Nantah, the roads to its campus were jam packed with cars, buses, etc. The PAPzis fear all sorts of community based activism.

This video is of a TV interview with Lee Cheuk Yan, legislator and leader of the Confederation of Trade Unions. While Lee sides with the workers, "unionist" Zorro sides with the employers. What kind of crap "unionist" is that?

Anyway, enjoy the video. You will never get to watch this kind of free wheeling and down to earth discussion on Stated Sponsored MediaCock. The strike is still ongoing.

[video=youtube;ALLoXtKS8eE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALLoXtKS8eE[/video]

blissquek

In SG, you just need to arrest a few of the leaders or kick them out of SG if they are foreigners and viola, problem solved.

In Singapore u have the strong arm of the law and a very much controlled media which will mute all views and opinions..

Remember Lehman Bros case..where in HK , u can go and bang at DBS Hk door and get paid in full.

In Singapore, some of my frds lost their fortune $200k..cos they are suppose to know the product and risk they buy...Lehman sold the same product, here and HK...

DBS..globally run by the same CEO, but law applied differently..

Here, the minions and daft get globbled up and silenced...

Do u still want to bank with DBS..??..

Hi there,

When these dock workers succeed in getting a better deal than what was initially offered because of the strike action, your other half Tonychat will say:

See lah, Sinkies ball-less that's why they got nothing, praise to the Hongkies for having the balls to fight back!

you are very well trained by me.

btw, i am NOT boss sam.. ok??????

CheeByeKiaTonyChat

18-12-2010 11:30 AM tonychat
View Profile View Forum Posts Private Message Add as Contact

My Reputation: 491
Hey drift, can add to my reputation point in the i agree part.

Those sinkie losers keep deducting my point until i dun have power to infract and play sniper game. knn!!!
Thailand got FREE World Cup, but Sinkieland Leh??? why why

Because Thai people got the balls to deal with their govt. Sinkies will never get it!!
WAHAHHAHAHAH!!!!

A description of Disgusting Sinke Behavior

Sinkies voting style. It is all about your Flat..

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthread.php?95636
Thread from drifter : tony chat begs me like a dog to give him points :wink:

Asterix

you are very well trained by me.

btw, i am NOT boss sam.. ok??????

OK and I am NOT WongMengMeng and also NOT Rumpole.

Cheers.

PS: Actually, me thinks I'm self-trained with a little bit of inspiration from here, there, everywhere. :biggrin:

Cheers.

PS: Actually, me thinks I'm self-trained with a little bit of inspiration from here, there, everywhere. :biggrin:

i dun really know who you are, this is the first time i see your nick.

Asterix

The strike has just ended and the dock workers got some concessions - 9.8% pay rise as opposed to original 5% and improved working conditions. What is amazing is the degree of public support that the strikers got and we are not talking about cheapskate Sinkie style "moral support". We are talking about cold hard cash - Hongkies put their money where their mouths are. The fund set up by the union to support strikers and their families raised HK$8.54 million. That's equivalent to about 1.35 million Sinkie dollars! Enough to pay a Sinkie Ministar for one year! And that's not including the tents, food, drinks, blankets, etc that members of the public gave to the strikers. No wonder Georgie Boy is happier living among Hongkies than rotting together with Sinkies. Cowardly Sinkies have only themselves to blame if Zorro and his "union" sides with employers and they are too ball-less to do anything about it.

Below is the first of two articles from today's South China Morning Post:

40 days on, dockers reflect on fight for dignity

Before March 28, they were just a bunch of contract dockers at the Kwai Tsing Container Terminals who were dissatisfied with their wages and conditions but had never made their voices heard.

That day they told themselves they had had enough and walked out on strike - not realising the industrial action would last for 40 days.

Some of the 430 strikers working for contractors under tycoon Li Ka-shing's port operator Hongkong International Terminals said they had thought about giving up but stuck it out because they were touched by the support of Hongkongers.

"I never thought that it would last so long," a docker from contractor Everbest Port Services said. "I thought it would end after a few days. I thought about giving up. But I did not, because of the support from the public."

The man, giving his name only as Lee, recalled the touching sight of an old man pulling a trolley with two boxes of Spam luncheon meat to their initial strike base at the terminals.

"He came three times," Lee said. "I know he is not a rich man. He lives on social welfare. Every time he came, he just told us that we had his full support and left."

On the first day of the walkout, it was wet and cold as the strikers slept at the terminals. "It was so cold and everywhere looked flooded because of the rain," Lee said. "But the next day the public started to send us tents and other resources. They have supported us throughout."

Another Everbest docker, who asked not to be named, said he had come under pressure from his family to go back to work and let the rest of the strikers fight for the wage increase of about 20 per cent that they were seeking.

"I thought about quitting. But that would have let my 'brothers' down," he said.

"All these years working at the terminal, I have slept with my brothers more than with my wife. We always have to sleep at the terminal between shifts. My brothers and my wife are equally important."

Yet another Everbest docker, Ng Siu-keung, said the action actually gave dock workers the chance to gripe about their grievances at work - an opportunity they hardly ever had during long and exhausting days on the job.

"We did not sleep much every day. We all chatted till late after midnight.

"It was quite a precious opportunity for us, all gathered here," Ng said.

"It was not just a fight for a wage increase, it was a fight for dignity and respect."

The dockers raised HK$8.54 million from the public in their strike fund. Now that the action is over, the fund has HK$2.3 million left, which will be distributed back to them.

The strikers received their 11th subsidy from the fund yesterday. Combined with this and their share of the remainder, each will get about HK$18,840.

http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article/1232522/dockers-reflect-fight-dignity

Asterix

Second article. The strike puts in focus the practice of appointing contractors.

What the dock strike revealed about city's mood
SCMP Editorial, 8th May 2013

Thankfully, the dockers' strike is finally over. After a last-minute change of heart, workers agreed to accept a lower-than-expected pay rise of 9.8 per cent, putting an end to a 40-day walkout, the city's longest since the handover. The settlement shows that with good will and compromise on both sides, disputes can be resolved.

But there are few smiling faces. Announcing the breakthrough, the Union of Hong Kong Dockers said it was a "half victory" for the workers. This is hardly surprising. Despite public support, the strikers realised that the impasse could not drag on indefinitely. After a few weeks, they offered to accept a lower pay increase, down from the original 20 per cent rise to a double-digit one. On Monday, when contractors further offered to give written promises of reasonable meal and toilet breaks, they agreed it was time to call off the strike.

Tycoon Li Ka-shing, who became a target because of his stake in the container port operation, also suffered in terms of his image, and perhaps his business. The government cannot be shielded from attack either. The labour chief has been rightly criticised for being passive in mediating. More importantly, Hong Kong's position as an international logistics hub may have been dealt a lasting blow. It was a battle without winners.

The settlement has brought as much relief as soul searching. How did a simple demand for a pay rise and better conditions escalate into a protracted stand-off? Why did it garner considerable support in the community? What are the lessons for workers, bosses and the government?

The drama highlights a series of issues worthy of public discussion. Without the right to collective bargaining, workers and unions say they can only force bosses to negotiate by exerting public pressure. The situation is further complicated by the common business practice of appointing contractors - who act as middlemen between the corporation and workers. For corporations, contractors offer flexibility and efficiency. But workers are liable to be exploited if the contract is awarded to whoever offers the lowest price. The system also shields corporations from an employer's responsibility, in the case of the strike, and protracted the negotiation.

The strike is over. But the repercussions are still felt. That the controversy was quickly turned into an issue of social justice speaks volumes about the negative sentiment towards big business. It will be dangerous if such a mood persists.

http://www.scmp.com/comment/insight...97/what-dock-strike-revealed-about-citys-mood

Now that's what I call a real labour movement... unlike the tripartite clowns paying lip service to workers' rights but fellating big business to screw them over.

ChewCheng

I'm the only one here who said you are and interesting that you have to make declaration out of the blue here.

Why so desperate to distance yourself from your other clones?

WongMengMeng also posted something on HongKong, both of you post similar things...hmmm.....

Cheers.