• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sham Marriages - How to you know one??

enterprise2

Just reading about sham marriages in today's papers. Just scratching my head, how can you tell a sham marriage? The couple not living together....but a lot of genuine cases where the relationship has broken down...also not living together. Any bros/sis..can shed some light on this?

No fucking involved.

bushtucker

do you think ICA employs PIs to check on these sham couples? otherwise how they gather evidence?

enterprise2

do you think ICA employs PIs to check on these sham couples? otherwise how they gather evidence?

Thats what I am thinking too. Otherwise really no way to tell....they can live apart, no kids, have their own separate lives and still be in a marriage...... and both parties no complaints and who is the state to say otherwise!

lorrydriver

if the char bor good girl don't get into trouble, I think no one will find out. To the man, most likely a transaction to get the money to cover Ah Long etc....

I know one supposedly bachelor didn't get caught until his wonderful mother wanted to put in his name as a owner of the flat. HDB came back and said he was MARRIED therefore cannot co-own with his mother!!!! The mother almost had a heart attack......

Hawkeye1819

In most cases if there's an agent involved, he will usually bao toh all your personal details to the police once caught including photocopies of your NRIC and passport. No way the agent is going to destroy evidence and bring further incrimination onto himself.

For sham marriages that don't go through any agent, meaning the gal and guy just happened to meet at some KTV or HFJ and hatched it together, harder to spot, usually the trigger is the gal got caught at some KTV or HFJ. Under interrogation, usually the WL will admit to being in a sham marriage. I don't think any WL can withstand the interrogation.

Bro Goldendragon, pls correct if I got my facts wrong.

Hawkeye1819

Sure or not?? In the news case, the so called hubby gets $15k from the China Mei Mei. Maybe he gets a freebee thrown in as well??

$15K is very generous. Maybe market rate increased liao. Last time it used to be $5K plus 12 months of monthly payment (usually $500 per month). Some gals bargained down to $3K upfront. Don't know who these fuckers are, so desperate to commit a crime of sham marriage for a measly sum of $3K. Must be owe $$ to loansharks.

enterprise2

$15K is very generous. Maybe market rate increased liao. Last time it used to be $5K plus 12 months of monthly payment (usually $500 per month). Some gals bargained down to $3K upfront. Don't know who these fuckers are, so desperate to commit a crime of sham marriage for a measly sum of $3K. Must be owe $$ to loansharks.

I imagine the criteria for determining a sham marriage got to be very narrow and strict otherwise it fall into the realms of a genuine marriage gone bad. Maybe some bros/sis can enlighten us to what those conditions are?

In the beginning back then the rates were even higher....30k upfront.
Usually the mistresses of married rich men will fork out the money....now these group of Roberts got other cheaper avenues such as student pass, business visas etc.
So only nightclub girls etc will do this route....and coupled with more desperados created by pap inflicted hardships, now rates are down. 15k now is indeed generous.
Mostly drug addicts and many poor retirees will sign on.

enterprise2

In the beginning back then the rates were even higher....30k upfront.
Usually the mistresses of married rich men will fork out the money....now these group of Roberts got other cheaper avenues such as student pass, business visas etc.
So only nightclub girls etc will do this route....and coupled with more desperados created by pap inflicted hardships, now rates are down. 15k now is indeed generous.
Mostly drug addicts and many poor retirees will sign on.

Desperate?? I don't know. A beautiful hostess wants to marry me, pay me $$$ some more...., and do not want any monies or claim on my properties.....sounds like a good deal to me!!

Beware the pitfalls....
Knew an ex con druggie who signed on....chap committed suicide.
Fake PRC wife turned up to collect insurance, cpf monies and HDB flat.

Not difficult to prove a sham marriage. Get the couple down for an interview. Put themn in separate rooms. They can only clear the interview if they can answer intimate details of their partners. Getting their relatives and close friends down for an interview is another option. From my knowledge, no PIs involved.

In most cases if there's an agent involved, he will usually bao toh all your personal details to the police once caught including photocopies of your NRIC and passport. No way the agent is going to destroy evidence and bring further incrimination onto himself.

For sham marriages that don't go through any agent, meaning the gal and guy just happened to meet at some KTV or HFJ and hatched it together, harder to spot, usually the trigger is the gal got caught at some KTV or HFJ. Under interrogation, usually the WL will admit to being in a sham marriage. I don't think any WL can withstand the interrogation.

Yes, never go through an agent. He is likely to ask for more even deal is done. Most will give in for fear of him reporting. Need not do so personally. Can always tip ICA anonymously. This problem need not come from the agent. The fake spouse can also extort. Imo, not worth it. Such a task is safer if a friend takes the place of fake spouse. I mentioned safer. No guarantee won't kena extorted in future.

15k is cheap. Wrt HFJs and KTVs, same problem exists. One is always at risk of being extorted. Best to stay out of such deals. Just not worth it.