• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$7 for a plate of chai tow kway at Republic Foodcourt

ykhuser

Wow the skinny ahbeng must be trying to set a new standard for inflation

the more you all support overpriced food , the more landlord will ask for rent increase.

if all consumer boycott overpriced item, shop will closed. landlord will decreased rent by 50% to attract shop owner.

this time round, you will buy underprice food

fukyuman

All hawker style food prices has gone up since they took over the basement food court at Parkway parade. No large tourist traffic there. Plenty of FT Ah nehs though. We shall see if they can sustain their business, other outlets already gone. Burgerking, New York, Carls Junior, Fish & Co,

All hawker style food prices has gone up since they took over the basement food court at Parkway parade

Food Republic at Parkway Parade? why not take a short walk over to the Marine Parade Food Centre for a wider variety of food at a cheaper price? :confused::confused::confused:

That was what I was thinking? Just go up the escalator, through the side door, cross the road where there is a pedestrian crossing..voila! hawker centre.

Food Republic will say that the price went up because they have to pay the sinkee char kway teow cook $3000 a month whereas if they use a foreign cheap labour, they need only to pay him $1k.
Will sinkees bite this bs?

ykhuser

Food Republic will say that the price went up because they have to pay the sinkee char kway teow cook $3000 a month whereas if they use a foreign cheap labour, they need only to pay him $1k.
Will sinkees bite this bs?

also make sense.thk for the anylasis

ykhuser

That was what I was thinking? Just go up the escalator, through the side door, cross the road where there is a pedestrian crossing..voila! hawker centre.

soon they will erected a gate to block the side door.die die have to eat in the food cock

what about the rest of food prices at republic foodcourt ?

wanton mee at SGD$4.80, fish soup with noodles SGD$4.50...
me vaguely remembered noticing the chai tow kuey priced at SGD$4.50 (same stall front with the hokkien mee stall)

ykhuser

me vaguely remembered noticing the chai tow kuey priced at SGD$4.50 (same stall front with the hokkien mee stall)

my childhood...day wanton mee at tiong bahru first generation old market.
small $1.20
big $1.50.
after makan..will run all over the dry market.those were the days.
anyone got photo of old tiong bahru market?

Tuayapeh

tuayapeh couldnt be fucking bothered to patronise any of this cheebye kiah breadtalk beng's outlets....

that fucker is clearly a PAP por lum par keh so I am calling for a fucking boycott... like what the brudders here said...if you wanna teach these pap dogs a lesson... you gotta stop eating their overpriced shit until they fucking collapse and wise up about inflation and usurious rentals.

In fact i rather just go across to MP hawker centre and spend $3.50 on a bowl of nice steaming mee pok AND finish off my hearty lunch with another $3.50 plate of mee goreng.

thats 7 fuckingdollars worth of decent food and I dun need the fucking aircon...

no thanks u pap bastards!!!

bro,
me find it enlightening to walk around these areas to look at their prices and compare them with other food courts, e.g koufu, changchen, or the kopitiam... truth to be told, you're probably right about having 2 serving portions at the food market rather than the miserable small portion at Food Republic... but then hor, if me eat 2 portions like that for every meal everyday, you'll come after me very soon leh :eek::eek::eek:

Sideswipe

the fish soup noodles price ok. wanton mee price quite costly.

but chai tow kuey $7, TS sure or not ? :biggrin:

nowadays outside food prices expensive. my place food court. a roti prata with egg costs $2.20.

my childhood...day wanton mee at tiong bahru first generation old market.
small $1.20
big $1.50.
after makan..will run all over the dry market.those were the days.
anyone got photo of old tiong bahru market?

I still remember eating at Koek Road next to the wet market, which was next to Cold Storage at Orchard Rd. The wanton mee was only 50 cts:biggrin: The chinese styled satay was only 10 cts a stick. Bean curd drink at only 5 cts & bigger cup was 10 cts.