• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Are we better off now than 5 years or 10 years ago?

wMulew

Any idiot who claims SG is worse off than 5 - 10 yrs ago is lying or a retarded opposition supporting moron. Wages are up, everyone can afford more. 45% of households own cars, meanstream media have open up more. More opposition in Parliament.

ilovesingapore

Any idiot who claims SG is worse off than 5 - 10 yrs ago is lying or a retarded opposition supporting moron. Wages are up, everyone can afford more. 45% of households own cars, meanstream media have open up more. More opposition in Parliament.

excellent post!!! i up you!!!! well written and well spoken!!! majulah singapura!!!

batman1

Singapore's Gini coefficient was at 0.473 in 2011,up slightly from 0.472 in 2010 ,according to a report released by the Ministry of Finance on 26-12-2012.

M0LANY0NG

LOL the common complaints are "everything increases except my pay" :biggrin:

moolightaffairs

Many agreed that the CPF-Life is a scam and booby trap.
Why many Singapore Citizens are very angry ? Because their CPF Money is locked-up and detained by the PAP until 65 years old OR FURTHER at the whims and fancies of the PAP.Please remember tomorrow they can just extend the withdrawal date to 70 or 75 without any consultation with the CPF members. WE WANT OUR CPF MONEY NOW FOR OUR SURVIVAL .DO NOT TELL US TO WAIT FOR ANOTHER 10 YEARS TO WITHDRAW OUR CPF MONEY AT 65,SOME MAY BE DEAD BEFORE 65.
THERE MUST BE AN OPTION TO OPT OUT OF THE CPF-LIFE PLAN.

some people already cannot survive this month, no money to eat, hdb few mths never pay, pub few mths never pay, children got no pocket money, jobless no income, sick also. then cpf got around 100k in the OA (ordinary ac, not orachi army). cannot use to tide over, now also feel like jumping off the flat and yet cpf cannot use to tide over? i think a lot of people kill themselves because of all the bills and the down time in life. but no one to help them. they got money, but in cpf! must wait until 65!!! now cannot survive liao still wait until 65??? THOSE WHO SET ALL THESE POLICIES IN CPF WILL BE CURSED AND SUFFER!!!

Bigfuck

Real Household income grew 20% in last 10 years as claimed by Singstats, but resale flats went up >100 percent in the last 5 years. COE tripled in the last 10 years, CPF minimum sum has been raised 100% and more for medical minimum sum. Do you feel rich? Your 2 dollar noodle is now 3.5.

batman1

some people already cannot survive this month, no money to eat, hdb few mths never pay, pub few mths never pay, children got no pocket money, jobless no income, sick also. then cpf got around 100k in the OA (ordinary ac, not orachi army). cannot use to tide over, now also feel like jumping off the flat and yet cpf cannot use to tide over? i think a lot of people kill themselves because of all the bills and the down time in life. but no one to help them. they got money, but in cpf! must wait until 65!!! now cannot survive liao still wait until 65??? THOSE WHO SET ALL THESE POLICIES IN CPF WILL BE CURSED AND SUFFER!!!

Must go see your MP,pester him ,annoy him,ask him to write petition letter to CPF to opt out of CPF-Life scam.
The PAP bandits must be burnt in hell !!!

Kuailan

Back then, OUR hard earned Cpf money were promptly returned to us at age 55.

Now they locked up to age 65 and beyond !:oIo:

They cant return u the money when you reached 55yrs b'cos they are all
taken by jinx company, so our gahmen keep on extending payout age from 55 to
65yrs hoping u go b4 u reached that age! than they can chiong kong the money or
dont return to u at all!

evisionary

5 years ago CPF minimum sum is $96,000 and it is going to be $120,000 by 2015. Having more saving is good but with inflation the value of our money will be so small that it can't cover our basic needs when older. So moving forward will be tougher and we are losing more from now on.

wMulew

Singapore's Gini coefficient was at 0.473 in 2011,up slightly from 0.472 in 2010 ,according to a report released by the Ministry of Finance on 26-12-2012.

Another retarded opposition supporting moron talking stats using his dick. How does widening gap affects U. Someone becomes richer, does that makes U poorer? Retard

ChannelG

There are many so called the 'new poors' who envy those who can afford bigger car, private house and able to travel to far away places. When you travel to Thailand and greeted with smile from the street hawkers then you realise you are not poor since you still afford to travel there with the young kids and better off than your parents who were contented for being able to visit Genting.

Kinana

There are many so called the 'new poors' who envy those who can afford bigger car, private house and able to travel to far away places. When you travel to Thailand and greeted with smile from the street hawkers then you realise you are not poor since you still afford to travel there with the young kids and better off than your parents who were contented for being able to visit Genting.

You are absolutely correct

rusty

You are damned right too.
So how?
Check with your parents already?
For our honeymoon, you prefer Thailand or Genting?

batman1

Another retarded opposition supporting moron talking stats using his dick. How does widening gap affects U. Someone becomes richer, does that makes U poorer? Retard

KNNCCB TO U !!! U THINK U VERY CLEVER.TIU LEH MA KE CHOW HEI !!!! RPFL....

U and MIW MUST BE BURNT IN HELL !!!

winners

If in the civil service, still okay not to adapt. Never rock the stable boat. Outside the civil service, adapting to new situation is key.
Agree. In the civil service, just do what your superior says and your iron rice bowl will be assured eternally even if they're against your conscience. As long as you don't get yourself condemned you'll be safe even if you just act blur. But if you're able to "SAKAR", it will be a great advantage.

neddy

#4winners

congratulations!!! the political stability,despite all the warts and all, give many singaporeans the opportunity to make money!!! those who had missed the boat felt cheated and therefore they feel vengeful and angry...and of course, they are now much poorer!!!

Those who voted PAP, scratch the back of PAP "cadres" will be rewarded handsomely :biggrin:

These days I por PRC moneyed people, also get rewarded. Thery are so happy with the new Australian "PR for money" scheme. Better than Singapore's :biggrin:

hockbeng

#4winners

congratulations!!! the political stability,despite all the warts and all, give many singaporeans the opportunity to make money!!! those who had missed the boat felt cheated and therefore they feel vengeful and angry...and of course, they are now much poorer!!! esp those who did not purchase any house/flat at all....they die standing and many have to resort to hitting the government behind their pc in their hideout somewhere in the cave!!! i think tonychat felt cheated!!!

U make it sound like its their fault which isnt true.

Those who so called "made it" played the "game" right. They borrowed heavily, using cheap money to ride the inflation wave. Inflation wiped out the value of their debt and hence they got richer; but at the expense of those who didn't borrow excessively.

Inflation pressures came from both abroad (The Feds $$$ printing) and our own MAS (who probably also printed huge amts of $$$ to keep our SGD weak to protect exports); of course we cannot forget Mah Bow Tan who inflated the price of homes to excessive levels for which future generations will suffer.

Those who understood this game of monetary expansion profited immensely; and those who didnt paid for it.
Many didnt borrow and saved their cash, which had its purchasing power stealthily stolen from right under their nose.