• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Finding: SG Lawyers Quickly Being Replaced by FTrash Lawyers...Who Did They Vote For?

[h=2]Number of FT lawyers outgrows local lawyers[/h]
PostDateIcon.png
January 5th, 2013 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Editorial

lawsoc2.png
Recent trends show that the number of foreign lawyers is growing faster than that of local lawyers.

Newly-appointed president of the Law Society of Singapore, Lok Vi Ming, made the point at the opening of the new legal year on Friday (4 Jan).
Between 2007 and 2012, the growth in the number of local lawyers was 27% while that of foreign lawyers was 42%
At the Law Society’s Council election in Oct last year, some of the local lawyers have expressed concerns of foreign lawyers slowly making their presence felt in the Singapore marketplace.

Dr Chuang Wei Ping, a local lawyer, said, “Doctors always give the impression they are a united bunch. Doctors treat each other as trusted peers, regardless of seniority, firm, appointment, or specialty. They assist colleagues in trouble, casting stones only in extremis.”

“A united front makes it difficult for their marketplace to be penetrated by foreign doctors. It is time we lawyers took a leaf from the doctors’ book.”
Dr Chuang said that foreign lawyers are gaining back door entry, via local branches of foreign law firms.

He said, “Foreign firms can easily overstep their declared areas of expertise, ultimately leaving local firms, even larger ones, to pick the scraps.”

“Singapore lawyers must be allowed to retain our dignity and our rice-bowl. If we must share our marketplace, there must be an up-side for us, in terms of training, employment, etc. The Law Society must fight for every ‘up-side’”

Another lawyer, Mr Manimaran Arumugam also mentioned that the scope of legal practice may be eroded for local lawyers now that there is the possibility that foreign lawyers may practise Singapore law in the near future.

Looks like the opening of floodgates to foreigners working in Singapore is not only affecting our local managers, executives, engineers and technicians but also our doctors and lawyers too. The only people seem to be immune to foreign competitions are our politicians. Imagine US President Obama willing to work in Singapore as PM of Singapore for USD400,000 only – his current salary as President of US.

Re: Finding: SG Lawyers Quickly Being Replaced by FTrash Lawyers...Who Did They Vote

No iron rice bowl in Sinkieland, maybe except for PAP politicians.

Not doctors, not lawyers, not bankers, not engineers, not teachers.

Re: Finding: SG Lawyers Quickly Being Replaced by FTrash Lawyers...Who Did They Vote

Another lawyer, Mr Manimaran Arumugam also mentioned that the scope of legal practice may be eroded for local lawyers now that there is the possibility that foreign lawyers may practise Singapore law in the near future.

I had a good laugh this morning. I do not think practicing Singapore laws rank high on the ang mohs' list of things to do.

Loofydralb

I just love this news. It makes my Sunday morning brighter and meaningful.

You bunch of cowardly and selfish ppl who purport to uphold the justice, but stayed silent when the rest of your countrymen were bullied and ridden roughshod over.

They came for the factory workers and you kept silent.
They came for the engineers and you were still silent.
They came for the managers and still more silence.

Now theyre coming for you and the rest of us will stay silent too.

Now be prepared to lose yr ricebowl.

Kinana

Those lawyers have been fleecing us for far too long and want to keep fleecing us and not allow competition in. What a bunch of crap.

http://singaporedissident.blogspot.sg/2011/02/singapores-lee-kuan-yew-and-egypts.html

mycroft said... <DD id=Blog1_cmt-8596522184907101186 class=comment-body>It would be indeed astounding if the old tin-pot were not a billionaire several times over. Fifty years of a stranglehold by Lee & Lee (his family law firm run by his wife and brother) on conveyancing fees for HDB flats alone would have landed him riches far beyond the dreams of avarice. But apparently not enough to graciously waive aside the taxpayer-funded scholarships used to educate all his children, about $800,000 a pop. Enough is never enough, is it?

</DD>

Those lawyers have been fleecing us for far too long and want to keep fleecing us and not allow competition in. What a bunch of crap.

Ha ha ha ha you are slapping the hands that is feeding you, very amusing!!

TuaGow

serve thses lawyers right for carrying pap balls.

escher

serve thses lawyers right for carrying pap balls.

Either way Singkies are screwed.
But then again that is natural.
Sinkies having no balls deserved the screwing.

Rumpole

Wow! The stench of hypocrisy is very strong in this thread.

Where were the ordinary “non-lawyer” Sinkies, when Francis Seow was detained under the ISA and subject to torture? Where were they when Tang Liang Hong exposed the additional fried eggs for a certain famiLEE’s char kway teow and was repaid for his kind deed with law suits, accusations of being a Chinese chauvinist, etc? Where?

On the streets protesting? No lah, go coffee shop complain, complain and then guai guai vote for PAP at the next election. Fast forward two decades and last year the Law Society tried to silence one Ravi, supposedly on the ground that his mental illness has relapsed, but everybody knows the true reason. And where were the ordinary “non-lawyer” Sinkies? Instead of complaining in the coffee shop, they now do it on the Internet, including on Sammy Boy, but still no street protest.

In Hong Kong on the other hand, where the populace has BALLS, it naturally follows that their lawyers also take inspiration from their “grass roots”. A group of lawyers there has produced a booklet on protestors’ rights and uploaded it onto the Internet! That’s because when you call for a protest in Hong Kong and the cause resonates, tens if not hundreds of thousands turn up. In Singapore? Well, you know I know lah!

Therefore, my personal opinion is that the Hong Kong public deserve the great support that they get from their lawyers. The Sinkie public get what they deserve. If you don't fight for your own rights, nobody is going to help you. It works this way in Sinkieland as well Lah-Lah Land or Whatever Land.

This is from Sunday’s edition of the South China Morning Post:

A big rise in the number of arrests of demonstrators has prompted a group of legal professionals to produce a handbook to explain their rights.

The new Hong Kong Civil Liberties Union has published the five-page booklet in Chinese and English. It follows a seven-fold increase in the number of protester arrests last year, from 57 in 2011 to 440.

The group's spokesman is Craig Choy, 34, a former criminal law barrister who now works as an in-house lawyer.

He said: "We noticed that more people were being arrested at protests, so that's why we gathered this publicly available information so they know their rights." He said the group was not affiliated with any political party and the booklet was also applicable to daily life, not just for protesters.

"We aren't just talking about pro- and anti-government protesters. It's about rights under the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights," he said.

See rest of article at http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article/1120924/legal-group-produces-handbook-protesters

English version of the protestors' handbook can be downloaded here: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B43QX8ndzXGrRlVubGNHaXdwRk0/preview?pli=1

this is good news mah..................more people fed up with PAP is good what..................

escher

Hongkies got the balls.
They deserved all that is due to them.
Singkies got no balls.
So Singkies must buy Vaseline and bend over for the screwing and screwing.
And must moan that they liked it all - FOR THE GREATER GOOD

What ever FOR THE GREATER GOOD is meant.
For that, go ask those running dogs in white

Debonerman

KNNBCCB! The foreign lawyers gonna charge half price? Something about being the child of a prostitute must have an effect on your intellect!

Kinana

Hongkies got the balls.
They deserved all that is due to them.
Singkies got no balls.
So Singkies must buy Vaseline and bend over for the screwing and screwing.
And must moan that they liked it all - FOR THE GREATER GOOD

What ever FOR THE GREATER GOOD is meant.
For that, go ask those running dogs in white

I'm very sure Hongkies would have voted PAP if they are there too.

I just love this news. It makes my Sunday morning brighter and meaningful.

You bunch of cowardly and selfish ppl who purport to uphold the justice, but stayed silent when the rest of your countrymen were bullied and ridden roughshod over.

They came for the factory workers and you kept silent.
They came for the engineers and you were still silent.
They came for the managers and still more silence.

Now theyre coming for you and the rest of us will stay silent too.

Now be prepared to lose yr ricebowl.
yes yes now these lawyers are feeling the heat.....hur hur hur....serves them right

Loofydralb

Wow! The stench of hypocrisy is very strong in this thread.

Where were the ordinary “non-lawyer” Sinkies, when Francis Seow was detained under the ISA and subject to torture? Where were they when Tang Liang Hong exposed the additional fried eggs for a certain famiLEE’s char kway teow and was repaid for his kind deed with law suits, accusations of being a Chinese chauvinist, etc? Where?

Yup, hypocricy is the word. Don't point a finger at the laymen when many of your own was persecuted and the whole bunch of you remained silent. We don't even have to go to show how compliant you guys were when it came to us mortals.

The number of law practitioners who raised a ruckus when the saw unjust things done can be counted on one hand. Where was the Law Society, The Academy of Law, the many law associations, the law publications,the Bar Associations, the Law students?

Where were they when the playing rules were changed?

So now enjoy it while the foreign firms screw you. We the Citizens will not speak out, that's the lawyer's job. Guess there's no one else to speak out for you.

Wtf !! now Singapore lawyers rice bowl also affected by the FT lawyers ? Singapore really hopeless Liao !!! Fuck you PAP !!! Knnbccb !!! You Singaporean better pack your barang barang if you want your next generation to have a Better life !!!

There are hundreds of foreign lawyers in Singapore and most are in-house lawyers for foreign firms. This was payback for their 1986 revolt. They have never recovered. We don't see them as many are in-house lawyers or doing arbitration for foreign firms. SMA never attempted to confront the govt and they were left in peace. Only problem is that nobody wants to work in polyclinics and the ladies tend to leave the profession.