• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The SAKAE DECEPTION - Singapore's Shame...

TopSage

The SAKAE DECEPTION....Singapore's shame...
All I can say is I'm lucky never to have eaten at this luxury restaurant.

What the boss of this restaurant did is so shameful. He went to say there are no Singaporean takers for a $3000 a month dishwasher job wiping dirt off dishes before putting it into the dishwasher. This gave the impression that lowly skilled Singaporeans are fussy workers demanding too much pay. Mind you, the person creating this impression is a millionaire who lives in a luxury home and he drives luxury car. He did so to advance his own interest to hire cheap foreign labor to get higher profits ....after having benefited so much from our society and making millions.

It turned out this is a 72 hours 6 days a week job. Given 44 hours a week is the MOM legal work week, it means the worker is suppose to perform a whopping 28 hours of OT with one day of rest per week. This is $10 per hour wage lower than the lowest minimum wage in Australia, USA, etc. It is hardship money.

Even if I have money I'll never eat at this SAKAE SUSHI. What the CEO done is deceptive and shameful, I feel sorry for all those people washing dishes at his restaurant.

I CALL FOR A BOYCOTT OF THIS RESTAURANT!

batman1

Doughlas Fool is the Typical singapore employer slave-driver mindset.
KNNCCB to the PAP !!!
KNNCCB to the Singapore employers !!!
KNNCCB to the 60 % !!!

Tension68

B4 this piece of news came out, I was contemplating going there to celebrate a happy occasion.. now.. FORGET IT!
If this Sinkie employer thinks he's so smart.. then go earn from foreigners in other countries.. I dun recognize him as a fellow citizen.
Total rip-off.. jus like all those who nvr give the FULL facts of the story.. jus highlight what he wants others to see.. and it's the bad part.
SHAME! Total disgrace!

cass888

I wouldn't go to Sakae Sushi because it's a low end Japanese restaurant. But seeing all the vitriol coming out from you losers, I am going to treat my department to lunch there.

That is why we need foreigners. $3,000.00 is a fucking lot of money to pay a dishwater even for 72 hours a week. That is still a fucking whopping $9.24 per hour. Fucking hell, graduates working part time get paid $10.00 per hour. Primary school education getting paid $9.24 an hour is high beyond the imagination of anyone doing the job. Douglas could very well have hired two fuckers at $1,500.00 per month (high for a cleaner) and he would have got 96 hours of work

Boycott all you want - spend $30 at a Japanese restaurant you guys already think it's a big deal.

I will not patronise Sakae Sushi.

DuYunQi

I wouldn't go to Sakae Sushi because it's a low end Japanese restaurant. But seeing all the vitriol coming out from you losers, I am going to treat my department to lunch there.

That is why we need foreigners. $3,000.00 is a fucking lot of money to pay a dishwater even for 72 hours a week. That is still a fucking whopping $9.24 per hour. Fucking hell, graduates working part time get paid $10.00 per hour. Primary school education getting paid $9.24 an hour is high beyond the imagination of anyone doing the job. Douglas could very well have hired two fuckers at $1,500.00 per month (high for a cleaner) and he would have got 96 hours of work

Boycott all you want - spend $30 at a Japanese restaurant you guys already think it's a big deal.

Go ahead and go to such a low class, sub-standard place if you want. Don't need to validate your actions by pointing to others responses.
If you like cheap, not that great food, just go.

And, if you agree with the present govt that our population needs more foreigners, then, with all due respect, I disagree.
With cheap labour, wage growth is restricted, as employers will always seek out these pool, or point to their acceptance of lower wages to discourage others from asking for higher wages, which may be fitting and proportionate to the duties and responsibilities of the job.
Cheap labour never helps in the long run, and will contain the economy in a manual labour hungry state.

And if you go on, more and more employers of cleaning companies will not only hire cheaper foreigners, but also "demand" that locals accept the low wages, and appalling working hours and conditions. Why? Because the employers will say, "foreigners ok, you not ok?"

I just read a piece of sad news in the chinese news paper, Shin Min Daily.. that a 80 yo lady, who works as a dishwasher in a Redhill kopitiam or hawker centre (sorry, I don't know where RedHill ABC is or what it is), died in a toilet cubicle.

It is reported that she works 7 days a week, and earns lower than what this Douglass Foo would have paid.
But I ask, if this lady (who has passed, let her soul be at peace), had gone to Douglass for interview.. would she have gotten the job, even if she had no problems with all his demands?

Employers will look to the elderly who have little or no education for cleaners.. so as to cut their wages until mirco-thin.. and then demand that they give their body and soul for the job. Well, sad to say, this lady gave her life already.

Do we want more such cases to happen to our local elderly folks? Cos, I fear it will continue.. unless the cheap labour mentality and mindset.. from the govt, MNCs, down to the SMEs and independent businessmen change, and look to better and a more fair wage offering for job seekers, then these elderly folks will be doing such jobs and putting their health at risk.. because they have to work to continue living, as living costs ARE TOO HIGH.

greedy and cunning

I wouldn't go to Sakae Sushi because it's a low end Japanese restaurantng out from you losers, I am going to treat my department to lunch there.

not surprising.
a crook will support another crook.
a scum will support another scum.
a liar will support another liar.
to further their own interest.

:mad::mad: :(:(

batman1

not surprising.
a crook will support another crook.
a scum will support another scum.
a liar will support another liar.
to further their own interest.

U are right.Birds of a feather flock together,with same DNA of GREED and CORRUPT BEHAVIOUR.
One lesser we have of this type of greedy and corrupt homo sapiens,a little better in justice and equality and fairness for our people.

cass888

I don't go to Sakae Sushi (probably the cheapest and lowest qualify food among the Japanese restaurants). But if losers want to try to punish Douglas for trying to restructure the job to pay higher wages, I will blanja my department there (even if I don't eat myself).

The reality is that the cleaner isn't going to be worth $10.00. Douglas tried to help, but he wasn't going to hand over $10.00 so he expended the job scope. More hours, yes, but still more money per hour .

Go ahead and go to such a low class, sub-standard place if you want. Don't need to validate your actions by pointing to others responses.
If you like cheap, not that great food, just go.

And, if you agree with the present govt that our population needs more foreigners, then, with all due respect, I disagree.
With cheap labour, wage growth is restricted, as employers will always seek out these pool, or point to their acceptance of lower wages to discourage others from asking for higher wages, which may be fitting and proportionate to the duties and responsibilities of the job.
Cheap labour never helps in the long run, and will contain the economy in a manual labour hungry state.

And if you go on, more and more employers of cleaning companies will not only hire cheaper foreigners, but also "demand" that locals accept the low wages, and appalling working hours and conditions. Why? Because the employers will say, "foreigners ok, you not ok?"

I just read a piece of sad news in the chinese news paper, Shin Min Daily.. that a 80 yo lady, who works as a dishwasher in a Redhill kopitiam or hawker centre (sorry, I don't know where RedHill ABC is or what it is), died in a toilet cubicle.

It is reported that she works 7 days a week, and earns lower than what this Douglass Foo would have paid.
But I ask, if this lady (who has passed, let her soul be at peace), had gone to Douglass for interview.. would she have gotten the job, even if she had no problems with all his demands?

Employers will look to the elderly who have little or no education for cleaners.. so as to cut their wages until mirco-thin.. and then demand that they give their body and soul for the job. Well, sad to say, this lady gave her life already.

Do we want more such cases to happen to our local elderly folks? Cos, I fear it will continue.. unless the cheap labour mentality and mindset.. from the govt, MNCs, down to the SMEs and independent businessmen change, and look to better and a more fair wage offering for job seekers, then these elderly folks will be doing such jobs and putting their health at risk.. because they have to work to continue living, as living costs ARE TOO HIGH.

aurvandil

Picture of Sakae Sushi owner Dennis Foo who was reportedly at the recent National CONversation.
Looks like he is a up and coming talent who might be fielded as an MP in GE 2016.

papcon02.jpg

hawker

Picture of Sakae Sushi owner Dennis Foo who was reportedly at the recent National CONversation.
Looks like he is a up and coming talent who might be fielded as an MP in GE 2016.

papcon02.jpg

Now you know why a 'frog' was chosen to be sakae sushi's logo.

aurvandil

Youtube for Douglas Foo fans. He explains why he wants to open a sushi restaurant in North Korea where many of the common people have been reduced to eating grass.

[video=youtube;Y_tNyH2jDmw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_tNyH2jDmw[/video]

Dreamer1

Youtube for Douglas Foo fans. He explains why he wants to open a sushi restaurant in North Korea where many of the common people have been reduced to eating grass.

[video=youtube;Y_tNyH2jDmw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_tNyH2jDmw[/video]

Thank you for msg,it is clear that Mr Foo does not know what he is doing,how did he get started in Singapore in the first place,this proves that Singapore is indeed a paradise for silly biz men,but that is no good for our globalisation,we simply are not up to the standard to compete,and throwing our money around the world.

This fucktard disgrace all the Hainan lang.......hope some nutcase disgruntle employee will go add special ingredient into this food....maybe torch one of the restaurant will be even better

if he get permit to open restaurant (it wont happen), he better dont call it sushi as there a proper korean name for sushi and the korea insist sushi was invented by the koreans and the lipoonkia copied them without paying copyrights.