• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Army Food is getting Better & Better!!!

Logisex

went to rockhampton for exercise wallaby.. the ang mo cookhouse at sam hill is fuck up.. mince meat curry everyday wtf!!! me & friends spent most of the time & money at the canteen. LOL

Was there too. The first day was good as they served western food - lamp chops. Then from second day onwards, it was all 'asian cuisine' which included 'I don't know how to describe the taste' curry and rubbery sotong. The ang mo cooks were using the sotong like rubber bands and shooting at each other. Heard that these was due to the complaints from the last batch of reservists who said that there were too many western food served and they wanted more 'asian cuisine'. Canteen also nothing much to eat so everyday drink milk to fill stomach.

$6.50 is quite a lot of money for a meal. Might as well spend the money in setting up a cook academy and get some real chefs to train the cooks rather than outsource.

Actually army food not suppose to outsource. If some terrorist put some rat poison in the rice, half the camp will be dead by night snack time.

yes good point...guess its uniquely Singapore again...machiam the old railroad that run direct from Malaysia into Singapore right onto mindef's doorstep....theoretically malaysian soldiers could ride the train in and invade us then.

Why should officers be served better food? That's the problem with sinkapore - the class divide. If the officers are smart, they would want to live like the soldiers they lead or face being deserted by the troops.

This "commissioned officer enjoy better food" affair is a military tradition that dates back a few centuries, SAF did not invent it.

Even in real life, you get treated differently based on your credentials. No big deal.

i think ICT as training troops not counted.....i had very good fare in Crescendo as perm staff.....me buddy attached to US base in Thailand keep raving about the food.

I remember one exercise at Crescendo... for the first 3 days we were served styrofoam boxes of only cold rice with gravy etc. because of logistic difficulties.. Good thing there were some old bird reservists who packed canned food along and shared with us Nsfs.

Then the brigade commander fucked the S4 for it..Thank god for the remainder of the 2 week in the field rations improved significantly. I remember we even had flower crabs in one of the dinner :biggrin:

RT, u got BS or not. There so many stores inside the kanchanaburi camp that sell provisions and u NSF never buy food for outfield? Don't tell me u drink tap water with purified tablets in it. Btw, there mobile S4 following training troops so as long got bring Thai baht outfield, no way troops will go hungry. I went there twice so I know what I posting. Either that or your batch of NSF got hay as brain.

yes good point...guess its uniquely Singapore again...machiam the old railroad that run direct from Malaysia into Singapore right onto mindef's doorstep....theoretically malaysian soldiers could ride the train in and invade us then.

Ok lah. In armour, men eat better than officers outfield.

RT, u got BS or not. There so many stores inside the kanchanaburi camp that sell provisions and u NSF never buy food for outfield? Don't tell me u drink tap water with purified tablets in it. Btw, there mobile S4 following training troops so as long got bring Thai baht outfield, no way troops will go hungry. I went there twice so I know what I posting. Either that or your batch of NSF got hay as brain.

We were at Sai yok camp, outfield for 2 weeks with fresh rations. The problem was we were being deployed several times a day so the rations were delivered late and cold (and sometimes full of sand). The old bird reservists packed canned food brought from Singapore. I think no one predicted the ration problem would be so bad.

We spent the third week in Sai yok eating at the canteen. That was heaven after 2 weeks on the field.

ThugSin

Was there too. The first day was good as they served western food - lamp chops. Then from second day onwards, it was all 'asian cuisine' which included 'I don't know how to describe the taste' curry and rubbery sotong. The ang mo cooks were using the sotong like rubber bands and shooting at each other. Heard that these was due to the complaints from the last batch of reservists who said that there were too many western food served and they wanted more 'asian cuisine'. Canteen also nothing much to eat so everyday drink milk to fill stomach.

rarely we have western food. still remember first lunch at the cook house, curry bak chor, stir fry tee boon with hard boil egg and chili sauce. the rice dont know how to describe, full of chlorine taste.

Fook Seng

Why should officers be served better food? That's the problem with sinkapore - the class divide. If the officers are smart, they would want to live like the soldiers they lead or face being deserted by the troops.

If you ask our dear leaders, they will tell you exactly the same reason as to why Ministers need million dollars' pay - to gain respect.

quartz28

...memory....seletar east camp....cookhouse like shit...getting Aluminium tray from slot is like lucky draw...out of 5 , probably 4 of them are not being washed ....the curry stain, rice, decay vege all suck on the tray...really knn...

Conqueror

chicken wings are some of the worst. hormonal injections are made at the wings. with skin on, wings have the highest concentration of fat per square inch in a chicken. and there's not much meat to provide protein. might as well get a protein shake. :rolleyes:

There' a controversy whether these protein shakes actually work at all. :*: It's a fun thing for beginners. :p

Conqueror

If you ask our dear leaders, they will tell you exactly the same reason as why Ministers need million dollars' pay - to gain respect.

You mean to escape to another foreign country while living in luxury ? :eek:

What a leader ! For escaping en masse ! :rolleyes:

Yes the mobile food vendors will follow the troops everywhere....can even get ice-cream.
But some commanders forbid NSFs to buy from them....as well as going to the canteen.
Some smart ones will stock up on food....knew a sgt who pack his APC with 2 alibaba bags full of titbits and foodstuff for exercise.

Fook Seng

You mean to escape to another foreign country while living in luxury ? :eek:

What a leader ! For escaping en masse ! :rolleyes:

I think you have to explain this a bit more. Recently seem to be suffering from dementia and a bit slow up there in the core processing.

babuSingh

i rem those days when i was attached to commando camp for training, the food is at least drum stick and huge amt of rice or noodle no feel hungry during training

Yes the mobile food vendors will follow the troops everywhere....can even get ice-cream.

I didn't see any mobile food vendors at my exercise crescendo. Only kids coming around our deployment site to beg for food. We happily gave them the rations of course.

Fook Seng

I didn't see any mobile food vendors at my exercise crescendo. Only kids coming around our deployment site to beg for food. We happily gave them the rations of course.

I don't the SAF took that into consideration in their catering plan.

dey say in ze army ... ze kopi is mighty fine! ... :smile:

it looks like muddy water ... n tastes like turpentine! ... :eek: :o
dey say in ze army ... ze biscuits r mighty fine! ... :smile:

1 rolled off ze table ... n killed a fren of mine! ... :eek: :o

Army food isnt that bad but just a lot of carbs and little protein.

I still remember the plastics smelling Nasi Lemak, the Hoe Fun that tasted like KuayTeow soup and CharSiew rice with just 4 pieces of meat and one huge serving of rice.

my first two ICT at gedong was at the old ATC up a small knoll beside the armoured engineer. That time was pre-SAR period so the rumor then was that a meal cost $7+ so the food was fantestic. But when ATC shift to the new buildings near the main gate, the standard drop a lot, rumor against because of the SFI new contact was only $5+ a meal, so quality went south. my last ICT at 2009, it was so bad that many of us reservists rate the food as lousy at the cookhouse survey machine. apparently too many ppl rated lousy that the trainers tell us to "shou xia liu qing" wahaha...

In the old days, "elite units" like commandoes and armour had the best food. The COs of these units had a lot of pull, and got in the best food. The canteen operators were excellent too. The mui fang at the old Keat Hong camp 2 was very good, and the curry puff in the nasi padang store at 46 SAR is the best in the country. The Indian cookhouse at Keat Hong served indian curries cooked in small batches, very good. My CO at one time managed to have a national snooker posted to the officer's mess at Brigade HQ in Keat Hong. He was in charge of looking after and cleanning the officer's mess, but his real job was to give snooker tips to all the capts. and majors there. LOL.