• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

things you miss from the past?

Sad to say this is a man-made phenomena.
Yet no one agrees.
The skies flooded with planes and its emissions,
The ground with cars and other fuel-thirsty machines.
The increase in polulation and with it the increase in human waste.
Forest burning.
Man will only learn and appreciate when disaster strike and that too for a short while.
Canada still is a lovely and natural place compared to the massive rape of Singapore
KLT,

Where I am living now still can see some of the stuff from the 70s. There are "Diam Lam Huay" (Mobile Night Market) that comes complete with food, concert, drinks and games stall. Can still see Ti Kum. Yes, morning is cool and usually the roosters will wake me up instead of the iphone.

Kohliantye

No the "Green Spot "factory was next to the Bukit Timah Fire Station, with a giant size rotating
Green Spot Bottle at the corner of the factory.

Thanks Ablekid for that update.

Yes that revolving Green Spot bottle separated from the main road by a canal.

Bro, my memories continue to linger and revolve in the area close to Bukit Timah Plaza and Beauty World because when I was young, my parents would bring us by a Tay Koh Yat Bus from Bartley Road to these place.

It was then a huge rubber smoke-house and we would visit some relatives who were employed by these rich towkay.

They were given quarters inside. Most of these people were employed to wash the sheets of rubber before they were hung in the smoke-house to be dried.

A common stench used to emanate from these place.

There were lots of fruit trees.

The watchman of the premises, a turbanned Sikh had a beautiful daughter (slightly older then us).

She spoke good Hokkien and would bring us to the Bukit Timah Hill behind the factory.

It was then known as Jalan Anak Bukit. I cannot forget the sound of cicadas and the chatter of that beautiful sharp-featured lass.

She was later married to a supervisor of the company.

Kohliantye

KLT,

Where I am living now still can see some of the stuff from the 70s. There are "Diam Lam Huay" (Mobile Night Market) that comes complete with food, concert, drinks and games stall. Can still see Ti Kum. Yes, morning is cool and usually the roosters will wake me up instead of the iphone.

Bro,
I assume you must be living in a rural area of the Beautiful Nation of Smiles (Kingdom of Siam).

I miss these

Cover%20story%20-%20Feeding%20SAF%20-%20199111061P.jpg

Rushwind

Any bros recall the drink RC Cola? Should be in the late 60s and early 70s.

Yes. I remember RC Cola. But back then it was rather costly for me to drink it, so ended up drinking the one cup of syrupy drink just next to the drink vendor at the tuckshop at Canning Rise.

Fishypie

i remembered Green spot was the choice drink for wedding ocassions.Then, our foLks wouLd caLL them
'Pok-chwee'; perhaps due to the sound of the fizz after opening one..
Your host wouLd probabLy have asked you : ai Lim pok chwee mai ?..:smile:

yinyang

Kickapoo still around.......no one mention Sinalco? Till today i cannot make out what fruit taste they are exactly
Kikapoo sopken by cantonese is kai ka po:p Sinalco confuses your taste buds, as alleged to be a combo of several fruits.

20 cents in kopitiam (15 from sarabat stalls?). Meepok dry or mee kia only 40cents from stall.

yinyang

Before Boat Quay bar/pubs bar strip. When business was done over a handshake. Remember Abalone king episode?
[video=youtube;FvvhY6DtfZs]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FvvhY6DtfZs&feature=player_embedded[/video]

Yes, RC Cola popped out from National Aerated Water Company and quickly fizzled away.
Coca and Pepsi Cola were the giants AND MAIN PLAYERS. They were aligned to local giants like F&N and other big players.

Do you remember about the unique bottle from EASTERN Aerated Water,
The main factory was situated (and still is) at the Lorong 22 junction of Geylang Road just opposite the Post Office.
Their brand was a steamer making way in the oceans.
They had a unique colourful drinks and one particular drink that tasted like Banana fruit. The contents was Green in colour.

Old timers must also be able to recall FRAMROZ soft drinks factory. If I am not wrong, the factory was somewhere in Paya Lebar Road.

In the early 50's there used to be a giant bottle of FRAMROZ Orange displayed at the junction of Airport Road and Macpherson Road just before Playfair Road.
I grew up in that area and if only somone is able to show me a pic of that advert, I will be the happiest person for it bring back the fond memories of those slow days gone by when, after school I used to pick discarded metal, tin and bottles to sell to the Karung-Guni at nearby Harper Road for pocket money.
So thirsty I used to be in the afternoons that that bottle high up above made me drool.

Framroz bottles were same of the size with F&N Sarsaparilla, Cherryade, Ice Cream Soda, Orangeade. They had medium size and bigger ones. The big one used to come in wooden crates of 12 each, whereas the medium ones come in 24 bottles. Families will buy these crates during the New Years and other celebrations.

RC Cola, & those without brand from that bottling factory at Gelylang Rd , was it National ? or Eastern?, they have ice cream soda, "ang moh lew lian" ( ha ha) aka Soursop and that root beer, what's that brand from the same people who bottled RC Cola? which I loved, before A&W. Not to forget, GREEN SPOT, the drinks for funeral wakes 7 wedding dinner. F&N Ice cream soda, Orange Squash! F&N Orange syrup & Rose Syrup with the dimples bottle.

Don't forget Sinalco, Kickapoo (Joy Juice), later Fanta...Fanta grapes & Orange, and you mentioned Framroz gone long time ago... there was one more just slip my mind...

We rarely dring Pepsi or Coca Cola....the soft drinks from that bottling company at Geylang Road was the cheapest, you can afford F&N, Fanta, one is quite well off. & if you drink Pepsi or Coca Cola....you are somewhere "up there".

For getting extra pocket money to buy that Match Box, Airfix or Revell, toys, there was a shop near where I used to live, I would make down payment of $2 for that Match box or corgi car I want, or that Airfix or Revell model, and the shop owner give me one month, to come up with the money, to pay for them or it goes to any buyer. Same goes with the Beano, Dandy , Batman or whatever annuals or magazines I want, usually Stamp Publication. at the mama shop that sells magazines, newspapers etc, and when I was older "naked woman' photographs & erotic literature.. ha ha ha ha

Pocket money is limited, stealing is prohibited & unethical, I earn that money from trimming the hedges, mowing the lawns, doing some handy work etc and selling of empty bottles I collect around the house & the neighbours, including the tin cans.

(1) Plain bottles, and sauce bottles I get 5cts each
(2) F& N Syrup bottle the dimples ones, return value of 30cts each
(3) Other bottles that have return value and my prize collection if obtain:

(4) Milk Bottles at $1 each.
(5) Horlicks
(6) Sanatogen

Tins I forgot, how much I get for them, any shape & sizes, the bigger the better:
(1) Milk cans ( F&N, Dutch Baby..etc)
(2) Milo & Ovaltine
(3)Thye Hong Biscuit tins
(4) Kerosene tins
etc

It was fun & at least I learn what it was like to work honestly for money to buy the things that I want & treasure those things that I had bought.

Hard work, before liquid stuff era

131b0811.jpg

Kiwi black shoe poilish, the standard kit we draw out from the QM store!!, you light a candle & heat up the can, you get the unmistakable smell of boiling shoe wax & the pop sound, when they tin heats up. We have to use that to polish our parade boots & not to mention that KIWI starch spray for our parade uniform...the underwear, no need to starch (:-

No the "Green Spot "factory was next to the Bukit Timah Fire Station, with a giant size rotating
Green Spot Bottle at the corner of the factory.

It belongs to AMOY CANNING...the factory was there for donkey years, the fire station is used for some commercial something now... have not been to that part of SINgapore for a very long time.

wikiphile

An entire generation was raised drinking this tum balik MILK brand

chaffin+klim.jpg

An entire generation was raised drinking this tum balik MILK brand

chaffin+klim.jpg

Cannot understand the milk powders today at $78 a tin for that size. with whatever minerals they are touting that will make the child intelligent!!. KLIM, Nespray, Lactogen & "S" which later became "S26". Not well off people, their babies drink " an ghee gu nee" Milkmaid, Dutch Baby, Tea Pot...condensed milk, prepared in a F&N soft drink bottle with the teats where you can buy from the Chinese medical halls, provision stalls, mam stalls off the way..etc They will boil the rubber teats & used the scissors to cut the holes, must cut carefully, too big a hole, the baby choke when sucking the milk. Only those who can't really afford the condensed milk, milk powder, Mama's breast milk, the lady will pull up the blouse, pull up the home made bra & the baby will suckle from them..it was common back then. Never heard of pumping mama's milk and buy a special freezer to chill and keep the milk, many drink it natural, from mama's tits!!

Yet, we have intelligent people, healthy...a generation had grown up doing that!!

Fishypie

Remembered aLmost aLL the TV adverts then comes with a catchy jingLe catering to different diaLect groups..