• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Acquired taste (food) you can find in SG

anyway blk 85 is not the original for the soup version, but they are the first to shoot into fame. the original is at blk 511 bedok north hawker, now i think is the 3rd gen running it. the first gen old man no longer around, if you ask those old timer kiao ku mee they will know. blk 216 at bedok centre also got one bak cho mee, off spring of blk 511.

OK. I can only know and share as much as I know. I think your version is even more indepth. Thanks.

NB, you really want to challenge me to go down take pic for u to see. My office at MAS, I have been eating for 3 years liao....zzzz.

Uh Bro,,,Alamaking is right, Tai Wah has only one main store and no branches,,I propose you go the the Crawford one and have a look, taste the food and than compare with Bestway canteen, see the difference and make the judgement.

as for acquired taste type of food,

Turtle soup, the first i ever ate was selling from a run down shop in tai seng in the 80s where it a dirt road from payer laba road. Now mainly eat at jalan beser food centre occasionally.

in fact, there are many "special" type food available at jalan beser food centre that cater to people with "acquired" taste, ie.shark, crocodile etc etc...

how can blk85 bedok north be the "yuan zhu" of bak cho mee when the original stall in 85 only sell soup version?

Are you sure? How come I've eaten dry version there more than 20 years ago? Anyway, I don't really like bak chor mee. Just once in a while.

Turtle soup, the first i ever ate was selling from a run down shop in tai seng in the 80s where it a dirt road from payer laba road. Now mainly eat at jalan beser food centre occasionally.

in fact, there are many "special" type food available at jalan beser food centre that cater to people with "acquired" taste, ie.shark, crocodile etc etc...

Shark meat (not shark fin) is stiff wooden crap that fishmongers lelong to poorer housewives and grandmas who use with porridge lunch or snack. That's why people take the fin and throw the shark back into the water. Do you know your food? Crocodile, ostrich and even dog are available in Geylang.

The turtle soup centre is not called Jalan Besar HC. It's called Jalan Berseh HC. Yes, those stalls are good. Herbally brewed and a little (don't expect too much) dash of XO. Haven't been to Tai Seng and MacPherson for a long time. Jackson has been demolished and the turtle soup specialist restaurant opposite Jackson, I also don't know what happened, is it still there or not? It was really the best, but as price goes, it was also the most expensive too, but fair enough with air-con.

249226.jpg

Ok, fully agree, turtle soup is also one of the weird food in SG

Are you sure? How come I've eaten dry version there more than 20 years ago? Anyway, I don't really like bak chor mee. Just once in a while.

Shark meat (not shark fin) is stiff wooden crap that fishmongers lelong to poorer housewives and grandmas who use with porridge lunch or snack. That's why people take the fin and throw the shark back into the water. Do you know your food? Crocodile, ostrich and even dog are available in Geylang.

i dont go gayland, at least not after the prc invasion. gayland is no longer a place for one to relac with friends anymore.

The turtle soup centre is not called Jalan Besar HC. It's called Jalan Berseh HC. Yes, those stalls are good. Herbally brewed and a little (don't expect too much) dash of XO. Haven't been to Tai Seng and MacPherson for a long time. Jackson has been demolished and the turtle soup specialist restaurant opposite Jackson, I also don't know what happened, is it still there or not? It was really the best, but as price goes, it was also the most expensive too, but fair enough with air-con.

jalan beasr or jalan berseh, have it your way.

the turtleshop opposite jackson still there, in fact took over door unit and expand into a 2 unit establishment. So there a price increase and even charge gst liao. the old tai seng turtle shop now along payer leba road opposite tai keng garden and few yrs back also have a branch at gayland lor 3, that i not sure still around.

jalan beasr or jalan berseh, have it your way.

the turtleshop opposite jackson still there, in fact took over door unit and expand into a 2 unit establishment. So there a price increase and even charge gst liao. the old tai seng turtle shop now along payer leba road opposite tai keng garden and few yrs back also have a branch at gayland lor 3, that i not sure still around.

Geylang 1 still around, i passed there last night...

The one with houseful of buddha statue ?

not as good as the old Tai Seng days

yes, the one with houseful of buddha statues. and like LSB and KTV, one can put liquor of your choice there to be put in the soup or drink neat during the meal.

true, the standard drop quite a lot after move from tai seng.

Uh Bro,,,Alamaking is right, Tai Wah has only one main store and no branches,,I propose you go the the Crawford one and have a look, taste the food and than compare with Bestway canteen, see the difference and make the judgement.

Crawford one got the longest history last time in marina square before move to present spot.
Both tai wah stalls not related but both featured in top 5 Ba Chor Mee always.
The closest thing to a branch of this is one at vivocity set up by the owner's nephew.

Raiders

Crawford one got the longest history last time in marina square before move to present spot.
Both tai wah stalls not related but both featured in top 5 Ba Chor Mee always.
The closest thing to a branch of this is one at vivocity set up by the owner's nephew.

Bro, about the branch in vivo, are you talking about the high street or Crawford one?

Bedok 85 the soup only one is original. The one with dry version next door is imitation.
All the other fake ones also sell both versions.

add $2, you also can have turtle egg added to your soup. but i find it strange that muliple yolks inside the soup so i not sure it a few eggs or one egg with multiple yolks.
Wah... i didnt know that.... can sell turtle egg meh? tamade gov dun even allow fresh duck egg into SG leh...