• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

If Not for MM Lee, Singapore Would Still Be A Fishing Village Today!

clinton666

Lee Kuan Yew Is The Undisputed Founding Father of Singapore!MM Lee tranform Singapore from a Third World sleepy fishing village to a First World country. This is a fact and the truth. If the Opposition wins the election in a freak incident, Singapore will become a fishing village again:mad:

GE: Every General Election is a "serious choice of the people", says MM Lee
By Imelda Saad | Posted: 23 April 2011 2002 hrs

SINGAPORE : Singapore Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said that the results of the past 12 general elections from 1959 have got the country to where it is today.

He added that every General Election "is a serious choice of the people", determining whether the country moves forward or backwards.

On Saturday, Mr Lee took the opportunity of the Tanjong Pagar Family Day to speak on the fundamentals of Singapore's success.

These include the use of English as the first language, and government policies that have ensured a mix of races in public flats.

On voters' concerns about foreign workers, Mr Lee said: "Please remember, we need the 900,000 foreign workers on two-year work permits."

He said they do jobs that Singaporeans are not willing to do and workers do not stay here permanently.

Mr Lee added that Singapore needs to attract better educated foreigners to increase the country's birth rate and maintain its competitiveness.

He said "Our PRs (Permanent Residents) will eventually become citizens and help raise our performance."

Mr Lee, who is also an advisor to Tanjong Pagar Group Representation Constituency (GRC), also had news for elderly residents at Tanjong Pagar, such as barrier-free access to buildings and more fitness corners.

He said: "Although I am 87 years old, I stay fit because I exercise every day, walking, cycling and swimming. If you do likewise, you will also keep trim and fit like me."

The last time Tanjong Pagar was contested was in 1988 when it was still a single-member ward. But at this point, it is still uncertain if the constituency will see a contest. The only person who has expressed interest is Socialist Front Chairman Ng Teck Siong. Mr Ng told MediaCorp that he is still trying to put a team together.

Lui Tuck Yew, Information, Communications and the Arts Minister, and advisor to Tanjong Pagar GRC, said: "We welcome contests in all the GRCs and all the SMCs (Single-Member Constituencies).

"When I came in in 2006, I was disappointed that we went through a walkover because I think that going to the people, getting a mandate from them, working closely with the grassroots and the people with the branch and fighting an election together is an important experience. It is an experience that I am now going through in Moulmein-Kallang.

"I hope that the opposition would be able to get themselves organised so that every single GRC and every single SMC will be contested. Whether it is a direct fight, three-cornered fight, it does not matter; give people that choice."

Mr Lui is a potential candidate for the newly-carved Moulmein-Kallang GRC.

Meanwhile, when contacted, the Socialist Front's Secretary-General, Chia Ti Lik, said Mr Ng has not sought approval from the party's Central Executive Committee.

He added that until Mr Ng informs the party about the proposed line-up of his team for Tanjong Pagar, the party will still need to convene and approve it.

The Socialist Front had recently announced that it is dropping out of the race to contest this General Election because it wants to avoid multi-cornered fights. However, Mr Ng disagreed with the party's decision. The party had said that it will back Mr Ng if he stands in a constituency with a straight fight.

- CNA/ms

iFARKurMADER

When LKY came into power, singapore is NOT a fishing village but with decent infrastructure laid down already by the british, and the port is already very busy.

and if i am not wrong, even before LKY comes in, HDB, CPF (at that time its really for the people), and a few important policies is ALREADY in place and improving.

Whats4

u neber study or fail history? Sir THomas Standford Raffles is the real 'Father of Singapore' :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Cruxx

Lee Kuan Yew Is The Undisputed Founding Father of Singapore!MM Lee tranform Singapore from a Third World sleepy fishing village to a First World country. This is a fact and the truth. If the Opposition wins the election in a freak incident, Singapore will become a fishing village again:mad:

GE: Every General Election is a "serious choice of the people", says MM Lee
By Imelda Saad | Posted: 23 April 2011 2002 hrs

SINGAPORE : Singapore Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew has said that the results of the past 12 general elections from 1959 have got the country to where it is today.

He added that every General Election "is a serious choice of the people", determining whether the country moves forward or backwards.

On Saturday, Mr Lee took the opportunity of the Tanjong Pagar Family Day to speak on the fundamentals of Singapore's success.

These include the use of English as the first language, and government policies that have ensured a mix of races in public flats.

On voters' concerns about foreign workers, Mr Lee said: "Please remember, we need the 900,000 foreign workers on two-year work permits."

He said they do jobs that Singaporeans are not willing to do and workers do not stay here permanently.

Mr Lee added that Singapore needs to attract better educated foreigners to increase the country's birth rate and maintain its competitiveness.

He said "Our PRs (Permanent Residents) will eventually become citizens and help raise our performance."

Mr Lee, who is also an advisor to Tanjong Pagar Group Representation Constituency (GRC), also had news for elderly residents at Tanjong Pagar, such as barrier-free access to buildings and more fitness corners.

He said: "Although I am 87 years old, I stay fit because I exercise every day, walking, cycling and swimming. If you do likewise, you will also keep trim and fit like me."

The last time Tanjong Pagar was contested was in 1988 when it was still a single-member ward. But at this point, it is still uncertain if the constituency will see a contest. The only person who has expressed interest is Socialist Front Chairman Ng Teck Siong. Mr Ng told MediaCorp that he is still trying to put a team together.

Lui Tuck Yew, Information, Communications and the Arts Minister, and advisor to Tanjong Pagar GRC, said: "We welcome contests in all the GRCs and all the SMCs (Single-Member Constituencies).

"When I came in in 2006, I was disappointed that we went through a walkover because I think that going to the people, getting a mandate from them, working closely with the grassroots and the people with the branch and fighting an election together is an important experience. It is an experience that I am now going through in Moulmein-Kallang.

"I hope that the opposition would be able to get themselves organised so that every single GRC and every single SMC will be contested. Whether it is a direct fight, three-cornered fight, it does not matter; give people that choice."

Mr Lui is a potential candidate for the newly-carved Moulmein-Kallang GRC.

Meanwhile, when contacted, the Socialist Front's Secretary-General, Chia Ti Lik, said Mr Ng has not sought approval from the party's Central Executive Committee.

He added that until Mr Ng informs the party about the proposed line-up of his team for Tanjong Pagar, the party will still need to convene and approve it.

The Socialist Front had recently announced that it is dropping out of the race to contest this General Election because it wants to avoid multi-cornered fights. However, Mr Ng disagreed with the party's decision. The party had said that it will back Mr Ng if he stands in a constituency with a straight fight.

- CNA/ms

Which was LKY's most effective policy then? And how? I'm all ears. :rolleyes:

His most effective policy?
He allowed his son and Ho Ching to get married.
That saved 2 people from accidentally marrying them. :biggrin:

spotter542

His most effective policy?
He allowed his son and Ho Ching to get married.
That saved 2 people from accidentally marrying them. :biggrin:

Also prevented his daughter from marrying an Ah Neh ?
He don't want to end up as Bro KNNBCCB , an Ah Neh shooter ( 6 times , no less )

youtalkcock

Also prevented his daughter from marrying an Ah Neh ?
He don't want to end up as Bro KNNBCCB , an Ah Neh shooter ( 6 times , no less )

Wah.. never expected you to know that too. Means you have been lurking in this forum since early days but seldom post . :biggrin:

spotter542

Wah.. never expected you to know that too. Means you have been lurking in this forum since early days but seldom post . :biggrin:

Don't wish to be politically incorrect mah :p
How ? Made a killing tonight ? :wink:
Tomorrow big fat payday from the bookies ?

youtalkcock

Don't wish to be politically incorrect mah :p
How ? Made a killing tonight ? :wink:
Tomorrow big fat payday from the bookies ?

Arsenal's match lost $50.
Wolfsburg vs Koln won $75
so offset.. :p

Now waiting for Sevilla vs Villarreal match

On stats Sevilla can win this one but again the ball is round so play with caution.

the only legacy of harry worth a pinch of mention in the hall of fame for a sinkhole like sinkingpoor is the cleanup of longkangs and waterways leading to the sinknpour river and kallang basin. he transformed an otherwise filthy and smelly shithole into a pristine urban paradise for the general population who don't possess genes and habit in them for a clean environment. nonetheless, this is only superficial and scratching the surface. the shitty behavior of sinkies is still deep in the genes and cannot be cleansed. anyway, with the unabated influx of shittier imports, the good work done in waterways is being undone with more shit, trash and pollution flowing back and clogging the longkangs. it is one good fucking legacy wasted on bad policy. two steps forward, three steps back.