• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Mainland Chinese and Chinese overseas..why the differences.

sukhoi-30

A friend who has just returned from Hongkong had a shock at the degree of intense dislike by Hongkongers of PRC Chinese that anyone who spoke Mandarin were either ignored or shooed away. Unless you tell them you are Taiwanese or S'porean,the language of Mandarin really turned them off.

A Taiwanese friend also recalled how the people in Taiwan, including Taipei are starting to show their dislike of Mainland chinese tourists who were extemely rude,loud and arrogant. Some hate them so much that they started conversing in the Hokkien dialect then Mandarin to show the difference between the PRC Chinese and the Taiwanese Chinese.

In S'pore,the perception of PRC Chinese are also starting to go downhill. In the past, it is only the younger s'poreans who complained about the PRC chinese lack of mannerism and arrogance but now due to several negative reports , the older generations of s'poreans are also starting to have a very negative attitude of them.

My friend's grandpa who was born in China in 1930s is perplexed of why the PRC chinese now are so different from his own, though they all hailed from China.He was wondering whether the communist system has create a very different breed of chinese as compared to his time where old-timer Confucianist/Buddhist/Taoist culture.moral values still influenced Chinese people behavior, mindset and morality..and thus behaved with at least a certain degree of moral value within. He thinks that Mao's communists has crushed this ancient morality completely during the Cultural Revolution and thus a new breed of chinese grew up with a totally very different mindset,totally devoid of the traditional values that the Chinese people had before 1949.
He thinks they just strive towards achieving their goals regardless of any consquences, either to their own conscience, their family, friends,country...whatsoever.

I'm am not sure but after visiting and staying in the mainland and Taiwan for equal no of years, i think there is really a vast differences between the two people.

fukyuman

Write so long for what. After more than 50 years of communist rule with ban on religion so no moral upbringing what do you expect. Have you ever talk to them about politics? Cling Clang Clong, all empty vessels.

Maximilian Chua-Heng

I agree. The communist regime is trying to right the wrong by making traditional festivals, like Qingming, Duanwu, Mid-autumn and Chongyang, national holidays since 2008.

Write so long for what. After more than 50 years of communist rule with ban on religion so no moral upbringing what do you expect. Have you ever talk to them about politics? Cling Clang Clong, all empty vessels.

Robert Half

PRC Chinese urine never flush toilets.... very bad :mad:

We do not see Taiwanese, Hongkies or Sinkie Chinese behaving like that :biggrin:

sukhoi-30

A few colleagues /friends who had lived in PRC have a very negative attitude of the whole collective Chinese people after years of living together with them. Many thought every Chinese in the world behave like those in the PRC until they went to live in Taiwan (due to work). It was there that they change their mind of the collective chinese race. The Taiwanese they told me seems to be totally different from the PRC chinese. They were more cultured,humane and have better moral values that my friends found totally lacking in the PRC.

I stay in Taiwan for a couple of years and somehow i completely agree with my friends perception.

cooleo

A few colleagues /friends who had lived in PRC have a very negative attitude of the whole collective Chinese people after years of living together with them. Many thought every Chinese in the world behave like those in the PRC until they went to live in Taiwan (due to work). It was there that they change their mind of the collective chinese race. The Taiwanese they told me seems to be totally different from the PRC chinese. They were more cultured,humane and have better moral values that my friends found totally lacking in the PRC.

I stay in Taiwan for a couple of years and somehow i completely agree with my friends perception.

Something is wrong with PRChinese. They have no morals. Little regard for others. Will do almost anything for money, at the expense of others lives. We are talking about making fake eggs which can kill others to make profits!

Ash007

Singaporean went through the same phase 10-20 years ago. Kiasu, kiasee, ugly singaporean etc. Same with Hongkong people, they are also known to be rude and arrogant. Its just a phase where for the first time they have the cash and resources to spend, hence they have no idea about humility. Give it a couple of years and it would be fine.

no_faith

the hongkies nvr regard themselves as chinese.
the older generation only speak cantonese and buay song ppl who speak to them in mandarin. the hongkies in their mind regards the mainlanders and barbarians.

Ash007

Rich barbarians then, most service staff in HK can speak Mandarin nowadays.

the older generation only speak cantonese and buay song ppl who speak to them in mandarin. the hongkies in their mind regards the mainlanders and barbarians.

Patriot

Something is wrong with PRChinese. They have no morals. Little regard for others. Will do almost anything for money, at the expense of others lives. We are talking about making fake eggs which can kill others to make profits!

That's what happens when the PRC people follow a leader like Deng Xiao Ping who can simply justify whatever dubious decisions the PRC government make by saying, "无论黑猫白猫,能抓老鼠就是好猫"!

For them, the ends always justify the means!

imagine what it was like for the malays, thais and indonesians to find their homeland suddenly flooded with chinese mainlanders 100 or so years ago, spitting and showing their off balls.

no_faith

Rich barbarians then, most service staff in HK can speak Mandarin nowadays.
yes i know, younger generation can speak well in english.
wat i pointing at is older generation. rich? yes but still poor are more than rich.

Received_by_Kings

the older generation only speak cantonese and buay song ppl who speak to them in mandarin.

As British dogs instead? Yet ironically their English is worse than Japs and Sporns even despite being controlled longer than the British. Like the Japs they are capable of speaking other languages with a twang.

The good thing I like about them is most of them still respect China as the authority, and of the One-China principle, unlike those Japanised and Westernised renegade province dogs over there.

Sperminator

The MAO Cultural Revolution Brainwashed the people...

The Chinese during that era were suffering alot... more than 60 Million people died.

Deng Xiao Ping, Father of the reformed China, brought prosperity to China.

The people borned in the 80s,90s, and present, these people are more and more educated, and more and more cultured... and with mommy, daddy, 2 grannies, and 2 grand-daddies doting on them...

Go find the youngsters of China, and do talk to them... you'll find the difference.