• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is the education in Singapore stressful for students?

SeeaMike

most rote-learning education system seems to put much stress on their students and thus result in some student suicides. Does that happen in Singapore too?

Received_by_Kings

Would you like to compare to another First World country in Asia that is Japan?

Sure, everybody goes to high school (they don't have polytechnics or labor college) but gaining entry into a good high school let alone a prestigious university in their own country is an incredible challenge for most of them.

History will be re-written that old fart is not a leader to reckon with. Old fart is selfish and only a gangster like him will wants everything to himself, bully and destory anyone who is against him in his pathways.

Take bull dozed and dispersed of Hillview Ave Est for example. Even after he won back the election he was still not contented but must destoryed and demise them, to satisfy his urge to bully people.

His wife heart attacked and in coma for many years was a pay for his sins. Karma!

Would you like to compare to another First World country in Asia that is Japan?

Sure, everybody goes to high school (they don't have polytechnics or labor college) but gaining entry into a good high school let alone a prestigious university in their own country is an incredible challenge for most of them.

Ash007

Old students can still take? Yes, its stressful and unnecessary rote learning in Singapore.
Hi all,

If you're studying in Singapore and are currently free, could you help do this two short surveys? All multiple choice, will take less than 5 minutes in total, thank you!

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/embeddedform?formkey=dHh3WVRFWV9MSXhsX0l2Z3JaTm90MHc6MQ

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/embeddedform?formkey=dFdMS0xZWTRaalhmMEkybkZzUGVRd2c6MQ

Yes, it does happen in Singapore.

Hanabi

Singapore kids have no balls for suicides. Depression? Yes. Self-mutilation a.k.a cutting? Yes. But suicide? No. We have got no balls to take the plunge.

Raynall

It is too stressful. But when suicides happen, the gahmen usually will spin the story without emphasizing how stressed (and fucked) up our education system is. It will almost always be because of boy/girlfriend problems lah, kena molested by father/mother/teacher lah or kena bullied at school lah. Nothing wrong with our education system, okay? :rolleyes:

DelphiGOD

In Singapore, it's mandatory to send your child to school unless valid reasons are given for home teaching. Not many cases of approval by MOE, I should guess.

thekingsmen

The education system is all right i guess... so many of us when through it... but it is made too competitive by parents who make their children learn all kind of additional lessons and classes because they feel it is good for their kids or because other children are attending those lessons...