• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

De Tools

Microsoft

At last... There's a reason for lousy skill, luke warm interest in photography and lazy photographer like me to make the jump frm PnS to entry level DSLR. Thanks to Tamron. :biggrin::biggrin:

Tamron18-270-VC.jpg

Superzoom specialist Tamron has today announced the development of its most ambitious lens yet, the characteristically snappily-titled AF 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro. Designed exclusively for digital SLRs with APS-C sensors, this optic offers a 35mm-equivalent range of 28-419* mm, perfect for owners of megazoom compacts looking to upgrade to an SLR, and incorporates the company's 'Vibration Control' optical image stabilisation system. To achieve the spectacular zoom range (billed as the longest in the world),Tamron has used all its design nous, including the use of aspheric elements and low dispersion glass to keep chromatic aberration under control.

The company has not yet announced pricing or availability information. It will initially only be available in Canon and Nikon mounts. *35mm-equivalent focal length ranges will be 27mm - 405 mm on Nikon and 29mm - 432mm on Canon.

I have had bad experiences with aftermarket lenses. When I bought my first digital SLR... a nikon D100, I decided to save some money and purchased a Sigma lens instead of Nikkor glass. It was the worst mistake of my life!

I thought there was something wrong with the camera. The images weren't sharp at all and contrast was lacking. I fiddled with the settings for days trying to solve the problem.

I finally took it back to the shop. The guy popped on a Nikon lens and the difference was like night and day!

I've stuck to Nikon lenses from that day on.

Microsoft

Yes when u r comparing among DSLR lens. Nothing beat Nikkor, Canon, Carl Zeiss... But i guess the PQ of say D40x pair with the above will certainly beat my Panasonic FZ18... Gosh the noise and dynamic range is still so horrible after all these years...:( Anything above ISO400 look like drawing...:(:(

Microsoft

Hasselblad H3DII-50 50 Megapixel camera...est USD39,995 excluding lens... manzz all the moni spend on camera in my whole lifetime oso not so much...:eek::biggrin:

h3dii50topimage.jpg

Hasselblad H3DII-50 50 Megapixel camera...est USD39,995 excluding lens... manzz all the moni spend on camera in my whole lifetime oso not so much...:eek::biggrin:

That camera won't make you a good photographer. :biggrin:

It's pretty much useless beyond a studio setting. It's used by the fashion world to produce huge resolution images of supermodels and playboy playmates.

The resolution is stunning. Good for counting pussy hairs. :biggrin:

Microsoft

Some outdoor shot on Hassie... But seriously, apart frm not having the skill to full exploit the potential of the cam... These guys are crazy carring a Hassie up the mountain n shoot dis..:biggrin: Or perhaps i am too lazy...:p

pm_0803_460.jpg

pm_0610_460.jpg

pm_07_460.jpg

pm_01_460.jpg

Microsoft

Probably the most expensive upskirt shot ever taken..:biggrin::biggrin:

tennis_girl_460.jpg

How much will the under water housing cost? :eek:

262d70c1-a0ec-45d9-82ec-82a945bc811f-Chase_Jarvis_1_940.jpg

cylene_swim_460.jpg

b0062p_0276b_460.jpg

b22594ce-4f33-400e-aa3e-c708e3388f2a-Russell_James_1_940.jpg

At last... There's a reason for lousy skill, luke warm interest in photography and lazy photographer like me to make the jump frm PnS to entry level DSLR. Thanks to Tamron. :biggrin::biggrin:

Tamron18-270-VC.jpg

Superzoom specialist Tamron has today announced the development of its most ambitious lens yet, the characteristically snappily-titled AF 18-270mm F/3.5-6.3 Di II VC LD Aspherical (IF) Macro. Designed exclusively for digital SLRs with APS-C sensors, this optic offers a 35mm-equivalent range of 28-419* mm, perfect for owners of megazoom compacts looking to upgrade to an SLR, and incorporates the company's 'Vibration Control' optical image stabilisation system. To achieve the spectacular zoom range (billed as the longest in the world),Tamron has used all its design nous, including the use of aspheric elements and low dispersion glass to keep chromatic aberration under control.

The company has not yet announced pricing or availability information. It will initially only be available in Canon and Nikon mounts. *35mm-equivalent focal length ranges will be 27mm - 405 mm on Nikon and 29mm - 432mm on Canon.

How much for this Tamron? about say USD500? as for the Hassab...do not think I could afford such a camera, and my photography skills do not warrant me, to own such a camara...even though I will still salivate at the hassa...

Microsoft

How much for this Tamron? about say USD500? as for the Hassab...do not think I could afford such a camera, and my photography skills do not warrant me, to own such a camara...even though I will still salivate at the hassa...

Dun worry bout it. Lots of us cnot afford the Hassie... USD43K for body alone... Still hav the lenses collection, assessories, power pc to edit 50mb image multi layering and huge storage to hse ur photo. Jus 4 reading purpose oni. :biggrin:

Shd b ard USD500 bah? Maybe SGD600-700? Spec are nice on paper but better wait for the review... Feedback of Tamron lenses PQ and BQ are abit mix...

Microsoft

Got 2 b frank... Nothing beat a Mac when come 2 photo editing...:biggrin::biggrin:

Anyway... Still a good effort from Lenovo. No price details but looking at the spec... It's not gonna b cheap. If u can forgo the mobility, go get a Mac Pro.

W700_01001.jpg

Specsw700_001.jpg

Lenovo has released the ThinkPad W700 laptop aimed at photographers and designers, offering a built-in graphics tablet and color calibrator. What’s more, the display displays 72% of the possible color gamut of the Adobe RGB color space whereas most normal laptop displays can only show 45% (though new panel technologies becoming available allow up to 100% coverage).

This 17-inch widescreen mobile workstation is bundled with the new Nvidia Quadro FX 2700M and 3700M Open GL graphics processors with up to 1GB of video memory. It also features up to 8GB of high speed DDR3 memory, optional dual hard drives with RAID configurations, a 7-in-1 built-in card reader, a range of wireless connectivity options and multimedia capabilities including an optional Blu-ray DVD burner/player.

Loongsam

[quote This 17-inch widescreen mobile workstation is bundled with the new Nvidia Quadro FX 2700M and 3700M Open GL graphics processors with up to 1GB of video memory. quote]

The Nvidia graphics card will make the laptop very hot. It could fry an egg.

If the laptop is not for gaming, what is the purpose of the graphic card other than giving off lots of heat. :(

Loongsam

Frankly, if you ask me. If the purpose is for CAD, serious photo and video editing/creation, etc....then use a desktop instead of a laptop. The mobility and portability issue of such purposes usually do not come into play, as hours are spent on such tasks. Save the work into a portable hhd and you will most likely be fine.

Wobble

Yes when u r comparing among DSLR lens. Nothing beat Nikkor, Canon, Carl Zeiss... But i guess the PQ of say D40x pair with the above will certainly beat my Panasonic FZ18... Gosh the noise and dynamic range is still so horrible after all these years...:( Anything above ISO400 look like drawing...:(:(

there is a slight flaw with D40x...go for D90 which should be out by Comex or 28 Aug 2008 at the Photokina

kaipoh

That camera won't make you a good photographer. :biggrin:

It's pretty much useless beyond a studio setting. It's used by the fashion world to produce huge resolution images of supermodels and playboy playmates.

The resolution is stunning. Good for counting pussy hairs. :biggrin:

did you see cooties marching like sinkies soldier?