• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Slot games, Casino Rewards & Privileges

Slotloser

Dear Bros,

Wanted to share with you over my slot machine expereince.

Since the MBS casino has opened in Apr 2010, i pay my first visit. Since then, i have started to visit MBS or RWS like once a month from Apr to Aug 2010. I become very addicted. It has become twice a month from Sep to Oct 2010. Then it become worse from Dec 2010 to Feb 2011. Eventually it has become every week.

Every nite, i have the urge to go after work and i even have taken leave to just to play slot machine for the last 2 months. I know that i am addicted to slot quite badly like some narcotics drugs.

To date, i have clocked in net losses of $5k plus including levy in just 9 months. Of course, to the high roller, this sum means nothing. But when i think back, i could have used this money to buy many things i liked.

Eventually, i have banned myself last sun. I have become so depressed right now. I know i have did the right thing but i could not help feeling depressed that i could no longer go to the casino and unable to play slot machine anymore. I have difficulty overcoming this addiction currently. The feeling is like quitting from drugs.

Does any one share the same sentiment as me?

Thanks.

Hello Bear,

There's nothing to be depressed off!! What you did is definitely CORRECT!!

To be honest, I have lost 20x of what you have lost on both slots and table games from these 2 IRs!!

Stop thinking of your losses!Treat it as an expensive lesson you have bought....

Hope you will get out of this sucks feeling soon.

Cheers

Kia0042

Gong Xi Fa Cai to all Bro & Sis !

I have stopped my slot play "marathon" since yesterday, my initital plan was to go until this weekend, but really have to stop coz Burnt ONE BIG HOLE liao ! :(
My luck wasn't good this CNY, my car air-con spoil for no reason on the first day of CNY, nowhere to repair but to tolerate till 7 feb to find a workshop to repair, yesterday was my most suay day, for no reason kena bitten by my brother's dog !! Clinic was closed during lunch time and no choice have to rush to hospital for injection. Luckily, no mad dog disease nowadays, after resting at the hospital for few hours can discharge.
Have to take a few days rest before going to RWS/MBS. Exhausted :o

theblackhole

Gong Xi Fa Cai to all Bro & Sis !

I have stopped my slot play "marathon" since yesterday, my initital plan was to go until this weekend, but really have to stop coz Burnt ONE BIG HOLE liao ! :(.......

Dear Bro Kia,

I'm really very sorry to hear about your loss.It must be quite substantial to force you to stop your marathon. I hope you will take stock of everything and perhaps adopt a low profile until such time you feel confident again.

Many of my friends had also been burnt during this LNY! Many lost heavily in slots.

I thought I was lucky when I had a good modest start. So after another LoHei dinner, my friend and I went to MBS. I was quite lucky with the roulette..up $1K and then RUN. The crowd was thickening with many foreigners crowding round and I left my table and played slots at B1 and L1. The Bank Buster robbed me! The Sabre White Tooth ate me up! The Three Kingdons betrayed me!!! The Dolphins did not work too...no features and no payouts...It must be my damned unlucky day....Played so long and yet no strikes and no features and no payouts!!!I lost and I kept pump in my hard earned cash!!!

Then I went to my favourite Quickhits at B1 and there also lost like hell. That was suicidal....Didn't believe my bad luck, I went upstairs and tried the Quickhits - the Silver Rain, the Gold Storm and the Amber Green!!! It was unbelievable!!!! I got glued to my chair and kept pumping in cash into the machine. The slots were not paying and kept pumping in money!!!! Damned shit! The 4 D lucky draws were also nonsense.One number at 4 pm, 6 pm and 8 pm...

I left at 8.30 pm....$2.5K down the drain!!!!:-(((

Brothers all , please be very careful.The slot machines are merciless monsters.Don't play too long and RUN after one hour or so. There is some kind of "black magic" that made you glued to the machine and you kept pumping in money mindlessly like a intoxicated punter!!! I saw so many ladies pumping in 50s and 100s into the machine...almost nonstop.All of them were playing max 90 credits= $4.50....Hardly strike at all! The biggest I got was a 6 Quickhits = $400!!!

Went home feeling rather down and depressed.Swear off slots !!!!!:-(((...Please be careful...very very careful.Even if you are a very experienced player,you can still be caught. I was told once again that the Feng Shi in MBS and RWS has been reinforced during the LNY period to maximmise profits and gains.....So it's a death trap now.Be very careful.

Take care Bro Kia....

theblackhole

Every nite, i have the urge to go after work and i even have taken leave to just to play slot machine for the last 2 months. I know that i am addicted to slot quite badly like some narcotics drugs.

To date, i have clocked in net losses of $5k plus including levy in just 9 months. Of course, to the high roller, this sum means nothing. But when i think back, i could have used this money to buy many things i liked.

Eventually, i have banned myself last sun. I have become so depressed right now. I know i have did the right thing but i could not help feeling depressed that i could no longer go to the casino and unable to play slot machine anymore. I have difficulty overcoming this addiction currently. The feeling is like quitting from drugs.

Does any one share the same sentiment as me?

Thanks.

Thank you Bro for sharing your painful experience. I'm experiencing the same thing now and I've told myself to stay away from the casino, esp the slots...Yes, it was like an addiction...and it's good you ban yourself otherwise you will continue to patronise the casino and lose everything.

Thank you for sharing and hope you strike the $10 million toto soon.Take care and good luck.

theblackhole

Dear Bros and sis all,

I told myself I already made enough...about $1K from the roulette. But why did I swtich to playing slots!!! Why!!!

I could have RUN and went home....richer by a $1K!!! Instead, I stayed on and played slots and lost in the end....I just can't pull myself away from the slots.It was a massive magnet pulling towards them. I was so hopeless.

Here, we are writing about discipline, RUN and leave the casino.But over there, I just got stuck ...and got sucked in deeper and deeper into the hell hole.

Is Feng Shui and demons really true? Are there really gambling demons that sucked your money????

aurvandil

Is Feng Shui and demons really true? Are there really gambling demons that sucked your money????

There is no feng shui or demons. There is only statistics and the Law of Large Numbers.

As I wrote in the begining of the year, your experience is the norm rather than the exception. Your gambling profile is typical of many of those who had bought the $2k levy. There is no need to feel bad that you had somehow done something wrong or used the wrong gambling strategy.

If you want to continue to pursue the casino gambling hobby, you need to set aside $50k to $100k per year to pay for your hobby.

theblackhole

There is no feng shui or demons. There is only statistics and the Law of Large Numbers.

As I wrote in the begining of the year, your experience is the norm rather than the exception. Your gambling profile is typical of many of those who had bought the $2k levy. There is no need to feel bad that you had somehow done something wrong or used the wrong gambling strategy.

If you want to continue to pursue the casino gambling hobby, you need to set aside $50k to $100k per year to pay for your hobby.

Thank you Bro Aurvandil,
You're spot on! After a long self imposed ban, I returned and made a modest sum $1.5K. Then greed got into me and I returned...hope to win more:GREED!!!! And I ended up losing $2.5K!!!! I could have RUN away when I was winning.But damned it, GREED ..I stayed on hopefull to win at the slots.In the end, I lost all my winnings PLUS my own capital!!! My GF refused to talk to me because I stayed late and lost all my winnings!!!

Thank you Bro.I will heed your warning.Gong Xi Fa Cai!!!!

aurvandil

After a long self imposed ban, I returned and made a modest sum $1.5K. Then greed got into me and I returned...hope to win more:GREED!!!! And I ended up losing $2.5K!!!! I could have RUN away when I was winning.But damned it, GREED ..I stayed on hopefull to win at the slots.In the end, I lost all my winnings PLUS my own capital!!! My GF refused to talk to me because I stayed late and lost all my winnings!!!

Here something to think about.

When people talk about the long run, most people have the wrong idea that this is thousands of hands of play. Hence if you "hit and run", you can potentially "earn" from the casino.

This is a fallacy. To illustrate this, let us use the example of rapid roulette.

Let us assume that you are betting on single numbers and that your bet is $100 per number.

The expected loss per $100 bet is $2.7027.

Now this is the part that is not so widely known.

If you play 38 rounds, there is a 90% chance you will lose the expected amount of 38x$2.70 = $102.70.

If you play 384 rounds, there is a 95% chance that you will lose the expected amount of 384x$2.70=$1037.84.

The same logic can be applied to more complex games with varied payouts like slots, blackjack etc. If you play between 38 to 384 rounds, then there is a 90% to 95% that you will experience the expected loss return of the games.

Incidentally there is no "escape" from this Law of Large Numbers by playing a variety of differernt games. You will still lose money if you do something create like play 20 games of roulette, 20 games of balckjack, 20 games of slots etc. Your expected loss will simply be a composite of the expected loss of the various games.

theblackhole

Here something to think about.

When people talk about the long run, most people have the wrong idea that this is thousands of hands of play. Hence if you "hit and run", you can potentially "earn" from the casino...........

Incidentally there is no "escape" from this Law of Large Numbers by playing a variety of differernt games. You will still lose money if you do something create like play 20 games of roulette, 20 games of balckjack, 20 games of slots etc. Your expected loss will simply be a composite of the expected loss of the various games.

Thank you Bro Aurvandil once again for your concern and analysis of the Law Of Large Numbers. It was precisely this that robbed me of my winnings. I won quite happily at the roulette....wow!!!

Then I switched to slots....it was hell all the way....no payouts and no features at different machines....returned to roulette and also lost....lost and lost...how could this happen? I thought it was my lucky day!!!!!!!!

Thank you Bro Aurvandil for your very enlightened posting. I will keep in mind.If ever I hit again, if ever, I will RUN this time. My GF threatened to BAN me from the hell hole if I kept patronising and losing!!!!

Thanks and Keong Hee Fatt Choy!!!

Kia0042

Review on my past 1 year slot play at RWS.
Total number of visits - Est 150 (3 times/wk)
Bankroll for each visit - Ave 2.5k / visit
Total 375k

Out of 150 visits - Est 40 win trips.
Win amount - Ave 3k
Total Win 120k

JP Winning
JP 47k (Island Delights)
JP 20k (Island Delights)
JP 9k (Rush Gold)
JP 7k x 3 ( Cash Express & Gold Rush )
JP 4k x 10 ( Island Delights )
Total JP 137k

Total Lost 118k
Previleges recevied - NONE.
GP Points - 25,000 Redeemed
Card status - Gold
--------------------------------------------------------

Review on my past 9 months slot play at MBS.

Total number of visits - Est 50 (1-2 times/wk)
Bankroll for each visit - Ave 2.5k / visit
Total 125k

Out of 50 visits - Est 10 win trips.
Win amount - Ave 2k
Total Win 20k

JP Winning
JP 5k ( Cash Express )

Total Lost 100k
Previleges recevied - Hotel Stays (Abt . 20 days)
Premium Dollars - $10k Redeemed, Bal $10k
Card status - Paiza

theblackhole

Thanks Bro Kia for sharing your experience with us.

From your own analysis, the long term play is actual LOSS and that is about $100K a year....

Bro Aurvandil is quite right in his assessment of the chances of losing at the IRs. From my limited experience, since the both IRs opened, I've contributed about $25K already averaging once a week...sometimes once in two weeks....if lucky, every week, and if not lucky..once in several weeks...but I realised that my winnings were quickly depleted when I returned...just couldn't keep my winnings...and the loss include all the previous winnings plus capital plus additional withdrawals..

and in the long run, a loser.....so i think we better take it easy and perhaps stay away from the casino as long as possible...it's a money sucking machine!!!!

cheesey

Wow.. a cool 218k for slot expenses per annum for bro Kia.. That's why the popular saying exist - "Happy can liao".. hehe.

theblackhole

Work hard, Play hard, this is my life. :wink:
You are right, happy can liao.

take care Bro Kia....don't lose too much...

yes we really cannot buy happiness but we also cannot lose too much money .that will make us unhappy.

all the best and hope you are happy and hope you win continue to be happy always....cheers!

aurvandil

I would like to salute both Bro Kia and Bro Blackhole for their honest and open sharing of their gaming experience. You have my respect.

Review on my past 1 year slot play...

From my limited experience, since the both IRs opened, I've contributed about $25K already averaging once a week...

All too often, we have wannabes with all sorts of wild stories like secret gambling kung-fu taught by mysterious ah peks or statistically impossible "double up" method with greatly exaggerated amounts to show "balls of steel".

While entertaining to read (and sometimes very funny if you are a real advantage player), this kind of bullshit can cause a lot of harm to newbies by giving the wrong impression of what the real gambling experience is like.

CoffeeMe

Just got few articles from some websites. Now, please don't take this as an encouragement to go to casino. These articles mostly for newbies (like me) as a reminder that There's NO shourt cut to get rich and of course,for every entertainment there is always a price to pay.
Don't feel frustated when u lose, and don't lose too much.

Article 1:
DON’T LOSE CONTROL
Casinos are in the entertainment business and like other forms of entertainment we expect to pay a price for admission. Unlike a movie or Theme Park, the price of entertainment in the casino is not a fixed expense. You can spend a little or you can spend a lot. In some instance you have a shot at being paid for your entertainment when you win at the games. The reality is that most of the players lose when they visit the casino. This is the price they pay to play the games and the casinos are entitled to charge for supplying the gaming tables, dealers and machines. However you must realize that their primary business is separating you from your money and making you think you’re having fun while they do it.
The casino is a place of glitz and glamour. The excitement of the sights and sounds and the general atmosphere help to add to a fantasy world. Many people get caught up in the excitement. When this happens it is easy to get carried away and gamble more than you should. Even the best of us can be caught off guard and lose control when we fall into some of the casino traps that were designed to have us spend more. Here are some things to keep in mind when you visit the casino.
1) There are no clocks or windows in most casinos. They want you to forget about time and just focus on the games. Always wear a watch and set a time limit for you gambling activities. 2) They convert your cash into chips at the tables. You find yourself looking at the chips and seeing red and green tokens. You lose the sense that this is really money. This leads to over betting. Remember chips are money.
2) Most of the new slot machines use bill receptors that covert your bills into machine credits. Once your dollars become credits they seem to lose value. Many of the newer machines also use the ticket out system. Players have a tendency to play out a few credits rather than be bothered taking the slip to the cage. Put smaller denomination bills in the machine to start each session. If you lose it take a break.
3) Finally the pace of the casino is fast. The dealers try to deal at lightning speed. Take a second to make sure you are playing you hand correctly at the tables. If you are playing the machines, slow down the rate you are hitting the spin button.
4) They supply you with FREE drinks while you are playing. There is nothing like a few cocktails to loosen up your inhibitions. One gambling writer I know calls free drinks “Chip Remover.” Use moderation or wait until after you finish playing before you have any alcohol.
5) Don’t get greedy. One thing that turns winners into losers is the notion that once they win they are playing with the casino’s money. Once you win, it’s YOUR MONEY. Don’t give it back. When you get ahead take half of your winning and put it in a different pocket. It’s easy to leave the casino when all your money is gone. It takes discipline to walk away when you are ahead. Discipline and control is what separates winners from losers.
6) Set your entertainment price before you go to the casino. Don’t take more money to the casino than you can afford to lose.
Keep these tips in mind when you visit the casino and it will help you enjoy yourself without spending more than you had planned to. Keep in mind, if you don’t learn how to handle YOUR money, the casino will do it for you once it becomes THEIR money!

Article 2:
SLOTS MITH
The dictionary defines the following:
Myth: A popular belief that has grown around something. A traditional story to explain a practice, belief or natural phenomenon.
Misconception: Something interpreted incorrectly.
Both of these words are interchangeable when discussing the beliefs some people have about slot machines. Most people don't understand the inner working of the slots so it is easy to explain a loss or a win with some false logic. Like any other "wives tales" these are passed from person to person until they become gospel. Most of these myths and misconceptions are harmless but they can add to your frustration and take away some of the enjoyment from your casino visit. Let’'92s take a look at a few of the most popular myths and the truth behind them.
No other segment of the gaming industry has benefited more from the technology revolution than the slot machine. Once considered the ugly stepdaughter, placed on the gaming floor to appease the spouses of table players, the slot machine has been transformed into the fairy Princess of the gaming world. With her she has brought a dowry of riches no one would have imagined for the casino and a few lucky players as well. Twenty years ago the slot machine accounted for 30 percent of the casinos profits. Today it accounts for about 70 percent. Computer technology makes it possible to offer life-changing jackpots big enough to turn a pauper into a King.
This new technology also brings with it many myths and misconceptions as players try to unravel the mysteries of the modern computerized slot machine. Here are a few of the myths surrounding the slot machine.

Someone hit a jackpot on the machine you just left, you would have gotten that jackpot if you kept playing.
False. The slot machines have a computer chip inside that runs the Random Number Generator (RNG). The RNG is continuously cycling through numbers even when the machine is not being played. These numbers correspond to the stops on the wheel that display the winning or losing symbols that you see when the reels stop. When you hit the spin button or pull the handle, the RNG picks the combination at that given microsecond. If you had stayed at the machine, it is highly unlikely that you would have stopped the RNG at the exact nano-second to display that same combination of numbers. In the time it takes to talk with a friend or sip your drink the RNG has cycled through thousands of combinations.

You can tell the odds of winning by counting the symbols on each wheel.
No. The RNG generates a number for each spin. The number corresponds to the symbols on the Reel. There can be hundreds of Virtual stops on each wheel even though you only see a few symbols. For example you may see 20 symbols on each wheel of a three-reel machine. You figure 20 x 20 x 20 = 8,000 combinations and your chance of hitting the jackpot is 1 in 8000. In reality the computer chip may program 256 stops for each wheel which makes the odds 256 x 256 x 256 =16,777,216 combinations. Being able to generate millions of combinations is the reason that slots can offer large paybacks.

Casinos can loosen or tighten the slot machines with the flip of a switch.
False. The slot machines have a computer chip in them that determines the pay back percentage. These are preset at the factory. In order for a casino to change the pay back, they would have to change the chip. In most jurisdictions there is paper work that has to be filled and submitted to the Casino Control Commission for each machine if the chip is changed. It is time consuming and the chips are very expensive. For this reason, it is more economical to decide on the pay back percentages before purchasing the machines and having the factory ship them with the proper chip.

A machine that has not been paying is due to hit.
False. There is no way to determine if a machine is due to hit. Each spin is a random occurrence and has no bearing on what has happened previously. Don't ever play more than you should because of this myth. It will be devastating to your bankroll if you do.

The temperature of the coins played will affect the way a machine pays.
False. The machine is not affected by temperature. It doesn't matter if you play hot, cold, old or new coins. The coin slot is a mechanical device and has no feeling. There is one potential danger with this myth. I once saw a fellow burn his fingers while trying to heat up a coin with a lighter.

If you use your slot club card the machine will pay back less.
False. In my opinion, this is the most damaging myth of them all. There is no link between the card reader and the RNG. By not using you player's card you are denying yourself valuable comps and sometimes cash back from the casino.

Article 3:
LOCK UP YOUR WIN
I have to admit that one of the reasons I enjoy visiting the casino is the opportunity to meet and talk with other players. I’m outgoing by nature and have no problem chatting it up with my fellow players. Besides making new friends, I get the opportunity to find out what other players think and on occasion this gives me some good material for an article. Last week I had just such an encounter.
I was playing some video poker in a multi-game machine and a woman sat down next to me and began playing the slot machine. I started talking with her and through the course of our conversation I found out her name was Carolynn. She said she was on vacation and decided to visit the casino to play some slots and enjoy herself for a few hours. About twenty minutes after sitting down I heard her shriek. I thought by the sound she must have really hit a big jackpot. I looked over at her machine and saw that she had hit a jackpot of $250. I congratulated her on the win.
Carolynn told me she was really happy because she had only brought $40 to play with. She said “I felt really lucky today and thought I would try to win $100 or go broke trying.”
“You more than doubled your goal. Are you going to quit?”I asked fully anticipating what her answer would be.
I was not surprised when she said “No. I just got here and think I should play for a while. I told you this was my lucky day.”
“Well make sure you lock up your $100 profit.” I told her.
She asked me what I meant by locking up a profit. I explained it to her this way. “You came to the casino with $40 in hopes of making $100. You should put at least $140 aside and then play with the rest. This way you are guaranteed that you go home with $100 profit you wanted.”
“But I don’t want to cash out and put the money away” she said.
You don’t have to cash out.” I said “Did you put all of the $40 in when you started?”
She told me that she had only put $20 in the machine. I looked over and she had 1036 credits. “You still have $20 in you pocket. You have $259 in credits on the machine. All you have to is play down until your reach 440 credits. That is $120 which equals the $20 you started with and $100 profit. That will be your stop loss figure. If you want to take more home with you then you can set it higher. Just make sure you don’t go lower than that” I told her.
She said that sounded good to her. A little later I got up and left. I don’t know if shed took my advice or not. I hope she did. Too often people hit a small or medium size jackpot quickly when they sit down to play only to lose it all. Because they are going to be at the casino for a while they naturally want to play and they end up giving it all back and then they feel bad about not quitting while they were a winner. Learning to lock up a profit will avoid this and make your trip to the casino more enjoyable. There is nothing like the feeling you get when you go home a winner.

theblackhole

in theory everything looks so nice and so well managed...once you step inside the casino, you become a demon...completely out of control..you mind becomes the devil's playground.....MONEY AND GREED!!!!... can you imagine how you feel when you bet $500 on BIG and it remains BIG for the next 8 times!!!!!!!!! You are RICH!!!!!!! So easy to make money..so easy....so enjoy the entertainment....no need to work so hard...no need to go to office to face the black face lady boss....no need to go home to face your grumpy wife...no need to meet all your old foggy friends....no need to sleep...no need to fuck even.....just gamble day and night....night and day....so fun one..... until one fine day....you start to lose your pants and your underpants!!!!!!! ...welcome to HELL.

good luck to all those discipline and restraint....really good luck!!!!!

Kia0042

Our previous posts have lost, pity.
BTW, I won the cashexpress JP 9.9k last evening. :p

jjcc88

Our previous posts have lost, pity.
BTW, I won the cashexpress JP 9.9k last evening. :p

Wa congrats Kia !
You the really can one :biggrin::smile:

Well, it MIGHT seem lately that there's some 'trend of winnings' though might not be possible to preserve them with my continued play :p
Last Fri 4th March got the 2k Platinum JP at fav Diamonds & Roses slot
On Mon 7th March got 1k from 4 scatters at a B1 Classic Winners slot
Then last night Wed I DIDN'T LOSE my playing capital (very happy already !) :smile::wink::cool:
(and got $30 Big Sweep prize from the Toto AngPow pack bought from MBS on 18 Feb too - still yet to claim that $30)

Hmmm ... wonder if that good trend will continue if I go to RWS instead
Should I go RWS this evening and/or maybe after my Spa appointment this Fri PM ?

I think I can 'restore/repost' some recent posts here
- just copy from the email alerts that aren't deleted yet

Kia0042

1 day before I won the 14k JP, I told myself that I must stop betting 300credits(2cts) at MBS and should keep it at 150credits(2cts) and 60credits(5cts) or below. Since then, I managed to minimize my lost, gain longer play time and also able to win $500-$1000 during my last few trips.
No more 300 credits bet at MBS unless the machine is at it's super good timing mode. :wink:
Aristocrat games are still my favorites, USA made slots like Platinum JP, Diamonds & Roses, Goldfish, Rescue spin just can't make me stay long with them. And those Atronic slots at MBS, they have been long forgotten by me.