• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cigarette smugglers smoked out

M

Metaphobia

Cigarette smugglers smoked out
By Tan Wei Zhao

EAGLE-EYED Immigration and Checkpoint Authority (ICA) officers spotted two vehicles trying to smuggle large stashes of contraband cigarettes into Singapore in separate incidents on Friday.

Both vehicles were stopped at the Woodlands Checkpoint after crossing the Causeway.

In the first incident at around midnight, 11,200 packs of cigarettes were wrapped in rubbish bags and hidden under a 2.7-metre-wide trailer.

This is too wide for the ICA's container scanner, and the smugglers had hoped to bypassing it.

But they could not fool the vigilant ICA officer SSGT Syed Amran.

During his manual inspection of the trailer, SSGT Syed crawled under the trailer and noticed the reflection from the rubbish bags.

He then removed a layer of wooden planks, which revealed a large compartment stuffed with cigarette boxes.

Later at around 10am, a car with 1,400 packs stuffed in a modified fuel tank and under the floorboards was also stopped.

The suspects have been handed over to Singapore Customs and will be charged.

The combined market value of the cigarettes is over $120,000.

In the first six months, 1.6 million packets of duty-unpaid cigarettes were seized, and 2,549 buyers were caught and fined.

Nomad

they cun catch them all lah.
the profit is too good,there will be always people trying.

kissclong

Heard that the fine had increased to $500 if gena caught with Non-Sillypore cigarettes. Dunno whether true or not?
:smile:

TD.king

Heard 10 packets for 10 bucks earlier at Aljunied.

R u dreaming ? that price is below cost. u mean 1 packet 1bucks. even u pay them 1 Britsh pounds =($2.7). they also won't sell. unless u take 1000 carton maybe u will get 1 British pound per packet and it must take from 1st hand. :eek::eek:

saf_ranger

aiya if kana caught go in and sleep lor...if happen that u got no job.my uncle use to do that when he find no job,,,.. he tell me inside u have a place to sleep and eat.. if u are sick there also got doctor..so why not

cockcansing

There are ICA officers going around singapore checking the cigarattes that you are smoking. And if they catch you with a duty unpaid cigarattes than you will be in alot of shit. Nowadays I think its not worth buying them.

Lentor

maybe ICA should make them smoke finish the whole lorry of smuggled ciggies as a form of punishment.

Adidas

they will not catch all of them.
economic so bad and if they catch all of them else they will have no job to do.

dysentry

I didn't stop to ask, only heard the guy calling. Maybe it's Texas 5 or obscure brand. Or maybe linked to the excavator news, so suppliers got scared and tried to clear stocks.

The going rate is still $5 for Marlboro and $4 for Texas 5 as seen outside Aljunied MRT.

wendypoh

SSGT Syed crawled under the trailer

Beyond the call of duty
icon14.gif