• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino gambling fall in here!!!

Platini

tks bro breaking free nw i knw wats 1326,i found out e worst enemy in gambling is our ownself.

theory n practical in gambling are totally 2 different things.

it's easy to control when e ride is smooth but when e traffic is against u,tis went e discipline counts.

it's easy to quote as abv,but i've not encounted such sifu.

ive saw alot can win 300-500 each time for a few days but lost 3-5K one shot when luck is dwn.

overall to my own opinion,to survive as a pro in casino is really2 tough

kelvin

my best tips :::

always bet within your means.
treat it as a game, NOT life and death.
be discipline, do NOT be greedy.

GOOD LUCK !!!

silverfox@

Silverfox

Ok back to casino gambling. :smile: Some questions on blackjack.
1. I think you will agree that it is better for the player when there are other players in the table playing with the dealer? I guess it is so that you can better ascertain what the dealers' cards or your cards will be?
2. I find it very irritating when I am seated at the table and someone places a bet "on me". Can I reject this person's bet? Or can I just take away my bet and walk away?
3. If the person places a higher bet than mine, does he have the right to make the decision to hit or stay?
Please clarify your answers by stating whether they are casino rules or merely etiquette.
Thanks.

Bro JW5,

it depends.. in genting the sitting player have the final say..

i kena once in macau, over there the higher stake player have the say..

i be cheonging genting at last weekend of sept... huat ah..

ah pek
I don't understand why the person who places a higher bet can't go and find his own table and game. Is it to show that he has more money and hence more power? Damn kwai lan these people. :smile:

Hi there,
just back only and a bit busy so give a quick round up on this issue.

Ques 2,3)
In blackjack, if you are seated, regardless of whether you are in which casino, you have the final say to hit or stand. Even if someone places his bet(bigger than yours) on yours, you have the final decision. But if his bet very big and a decision has to be made on hit or stand, normally can discuss, but its at your perogative. If you anyhow hit or stand and lose, the person who places his bet on you will leave sooner or later.
In baccarat, some players will place their bets on mine. I welcome all. Because got money win together. I not superstitious on these, just that I try to wear at least red underwear. In an etiquette way, one should ask whether it is ok to put a bet on top of another player. I have seen some players who are very superstitious on these and brush away the bets of others. I wouldn't say its wrong, because the one who tamba on top also never ask in 1st place.

In your last post here which I quoted, blackjack is not an easy game to play emotionally. Because your last posting already shows you will be emotionally affected by what others do, say. When you can be emotionally affected, it affects judgement, thinking, and thus your percentage of winning the game will even be lowered further as the house already has an edge.
So that is why, I don't play Blackjack.

Will update more when I am free. Next week will be in casino again:o

silverfox@

Bro,

no leh.. i macau ( last time that bird cage, not new 1 ) i kena before.. even thou i am sitting player, the dealer still ask the one behind me ( BIGGER STAKE ) to call the shots..

U can tell the dealer off and get the supervisor over to voice your displeasure. Depends on situation and normally can be solved amicably. Anyway, blackjack is a lousy game where I always see people kpkb, quarelling. Like that how to win money?

kelvin

i read a story in Las Vegas.
the sitted player placed a small bet on Blackjack.
then, another standing player placed a very Big bet with him.
they got 20 points, so the sitted player turned to the standing player and asked him to give him some tips otherwise he will take another card !!
20 points, yet want to take another card.
well, i dont really read the rules, but i strongly believed that the sitted player shall have the final decision, but of course, as a point of courtesy, they may discuss.
anyway, Black jack is a "frustrating" game especially if there are many grumpy aunties around.
why ? u take card or dont take card, then lose, all the aunties will curse and swear, right ? ?

michaely

Hi Silverfox

I understand that you're a professional baccarat player.

May I know, if there are 2 bacarrat tables, one is a normal table (5% comm on banker bet) and the other one is a no-comm. baccarat table (50% comm. on banker winning on 6), which one will you choose to play? Which one has a lower house advantage?

Thanks in advance!

aakumu

Hi all

din see any thread on casino games. So tot of starting a thread on Dice or in chinese call "da xiao". Share with you some of my knowledge on how to win this game in casino if you following some betting rules that I gonna share

Hi bro,
What I learn over the years that you could not win over the table, gambling is just to fill you time or at least to make you playing time longer.

My humble two cents.

silverfox@

Hi Silverfox

I understand that you're a professional baccarat player.

May I know, if there are 2 bacarrat tables, one is a normal table (5% comm on banker bet) and the other one is a no-comm. baccarat table (50% comm. on banker winning on 6), which one will you choose to play? Which one has a lower house advantage?

Thanks in advance!

I am not a 'professional' yet, just semi-pro:p

Back to baccarat table.

In theory, I ever read before that when the comm % is reduced from 5% to 4%, the casino's advantage edge is greatly reduced. But I myself haven't been to a casino that charges less than 5%.

In a shoe, average out about 60-65 hands will be played.
Let's say each hand you bet $100. In 60 hands, let's say there are 30 banker results. And out of this 30, 4 are Banker6.

So instead of winning $100, you win $50, and you make $200 less due to B6.
If it's a 5% comm table, out of 30 banker hands, you make $150 less due to every banker bet only getting $95 in return.

For me, I have no preference. Because trying to keng on this, will not make one rich. Because the most important task is to be able to win on all kinds of tables and conditions. The most common condition is the mini baccarat where Banker6 gets 50%.

Most people prefer to buy PLAYER, because in all conditions, PLAYER pays full if won. AND majority of people lose money in casinos. :o However I am not saying buying Player is bad.

You must be able to read each and every game. Every shoe is different in its way. There is no full proof single system that can win by itself. I myself combine a few systems into 1 thus anykind of table, shoe, hands, I can guess more or less what kind of results will turn up. Of course there will be shoes where I lose, but I know how to cut loss in a single shoe. That is to say if i lose a certain amount of credits, I stop and go for next shoe or next table and start again. Thus in this way, when I win, I continue, when I lose, I cut. Average out, can win a few hands every 1-2 hours. The most important point I will drive across is I bet only at most 50% of bets in a shoe. So that means a shoe has 60 hands, I bet at most 30 hands and this itself is very rare. Normally around 10-20 hands on average.

I have no problems when I see people following what I bet on tables, as they see I am winning. Because by the end of the shoe, they have won the same number of credits as me, but they never understand how to win. So the most important thing for one to win, is to understand how to win at the game.

Imagine you are luckless, how to win at a table, that is the kind of scenario one should be looking at.

Next thing, understand the rules of the game. Many people bet Baccarat without knowing what kind of scenario player take 3rd card, under what condition for player then the banker must take 3rd card. Study the rules of the game carefully and analyse why it is so. Then from there one can know what is the advantage of playing Baccarat. Casinos make money not because of the house edge but because many people gamble without knowing what is the card conditions. It's like a chef, don't know how to cook, just know how to eat, or cook maggi mee means he can become a chef? Even a top chef takes years to reach the top, what about a professional gambler?

Gambling is something which is being portrayed in a very bad form because many people lose money, lose house, lose family, friends. We have seen how people become addicted. But to boil down, gambling is not the root. It's human's greed that kills. Everyone always highlight gambling in its bad form with all the horror stories. But when a fairy tale story is shown, people start to believe and this is bad. It's true, there are fairy tale stories, just that compare to horror ones, its much much less if not casinos would have close down.

silverfox@

Hi bro,
What I learn over the years that you could not win over the table, gambling is just to fill you time or at least to make you playing time longer.

My humble two cents.

For the hobbyist, yes. For serious people, no. If one understands how to win, you can win over the table.

silverfox@

bro silverfox,

any more tips to win in casino?? I cheonging genting at end sep leh.. pls continue your posts.. thanks..

Any more tips to win in casino?

1 good tip, never choose a pretty croupier. :p
I have a penchant for playing with pretty croupiers. Eye candy, makes the sitting experience more enjoyable. But focus can lose.

So what I do is normally I win from other tables, then I will go to the pretty croupier's table and take $1000 play for fun with her till I lose that $1000, no more.

PS: Got because of this, manage to ask 1 croupier out. But only go makan, watch movie. Nothing more. Just like the kick out of it.

If one wants to win at Casinos, play only Baccarat. Learn to play it well and you will win money. The others can simply forget it. Or maybe others can share that they can win at roulettes, big small or blackjack.

For me baccarat has the lowest house edge. So its the only game with the best advantage for us.
2nd, never never never buy TIE.
3rd, never because of Banker 6 pays only 50% and dislike buying Banker. Instead learn to love it.

silverfox@

i read a story in Las Vegas.
the sitted player placed a small bet on Blackjack.
then, another standing player placed a very Big bet with him.
they got 20 points, so the sitted player turned to the standing player and asked him to give him some tips otherwise he will take another card !!
20 points, yet want to take another card.
well, i dont really read the rules, but i strongly believed that the sitted player shall have the final decision, but of course, as a point of courtesy, they may discuss.
anyway, Black jack is a "frustrating" game especially if there are many grumpy aunties around.
why ? u take card or dont take card, then lose, all the aunties will curse and swear, right ? ?

Errr, actually 20 points how come the player still want to hit?
Anyway, like said if the situation is not 20 but 13 points. How? That is why blackjack is a game where you not only have to deal with the house, but also to deal with emotions. Not only that, still have to handle other people. This game to me is one of the lousiest in casino. To be frank, I love to play blackjack. But winning it is another thing. So I gave up playing blackjack not because I don't love it but because I am not the dealer. :biggrin:

Talking about arguments, there was this situation once in a baccarat table where 2 cards came out instead of 1, and because it was too fast, no one can determine which is the actual card for player or banker. So there was a scenario where 2 gamblers, 1 on banker, 1 on player. No one wants to budge on the result. So floor manager came over, maybe talk to both of them, everything settled. I suspected that both of them got the winning payout. Later on when I talk to croupier, he told me customer is king, if the payout is not high, can settle for both sides, most important is everyone is happy with outcome and in fair play.

Hi silverfox
In blackjack, let's say we have the following scenario:
5 other players excluding you and the dealer. There are no picture or 10 cards for any of the other players, except you and the dealer. You have 13, the dealer has 15 and you are the first to be dealt the third card. Wouldn't this be a good time to hold on 13? I'm not a big fan or advocate of blackjack, but I think that the chances are not too bad.

Btw which casino are you going next week? How do you normally go to Genting, by plane then taxi, by plane then bus and cable car, by train then bus or by direct coach? :smile:

silverfox@

Hi silverfox
In blackjack, let's say we have the following scenario:
5 other players excluding you and the dealer. There are no picture or 10 cards for any of the other players, except you and the dealer. You have 13, the dealer has 15 and you are the first to be dealt the third card. Wouldn't this be a good time to hold on 13? I'm not a big fan or advocate of blackjack, but I think that the chances are not too bad.

Btw which casino are you going next week? How do you normally go to Genting, by plane then taxi, by plane then bus and cable car, by train then bus or by direct coach? :smile:

The odds of blackjack is not a matter of whether you hit or stand. Dealer normally wait for player to hit till burst. And theoretically its easy for dealer to get a 10' card. But in real life, dealer have a good advantage when hitting and not bursting.
I am a lover of blackjack and I think blackjack odds really sucks for players. If I can, I be the dealer.:p

Probably genting as just went macau. I normally go via bus as I took plane before and the checking in process is quite tedious and I was questioned a few times before for bringing over the amount of currency in/out of SG.

Via air, I would need to switch to taxi which is another 1 hour plus ride.
So nowadays I take coaches. I don't drive all the way there because I think its not really worth it as i travel alone, not like in a family group. Firthermore on coach can relax.

xavier69

Recently watched the movie 21 about the true story of MIT students who mastered the art of card counting and took Vegas casinos for millions in winnings. Interesting movie for those who play Blackjack.

hi silverfox
When you take a coach to Genting, do you have a problem with the duration and the pit stops along the way, especially the conditions of the toilets?
Are you also concerned about security, since you are carrying a fair amount of money?

How do you go to Macau, via SQ or Cathay to HK and then ferry to Macau?
I find the ferry ride quite tiresome, almost like the taxi ride from KL airport to Genting.

Regarding blackjack, I think there is an advantage to the players that the dealer must hit on 16 and stay on 17.

Recently watched the movie 21 about the true story of MIT students who mastered the art of card counting and took Vegas casinos for millions in winnings. Interesting movie for those who play Blackjack.
xavier
I watched 21 as well, on the plane back from HK after having played blackjack in Macau casino! Good movie with fine performance from Kevin Spacey as usual. Interesting concept, although I didn't quite understood how they did it.

silverfox@

xavier
I watched 21 as well, on the plane back from HK after having played blackjack in Macau casino! Good movie with fine performance from Kevin Spacey as usual. Interesting concept, although I didn't quite understood how they did it.

With card counting, its a probability issue. Where the probability of hitting and not bursting or standing and not bursting. I think many casinos in order to defeat card counters, they chose to shuffle every deck, so this way can't count anymore.:p

sohbuckkong

hi silverfox
..........on 17.

I would like to add that by the law of average, on average, out of 10 times, a person will guess 5 times right and 5 times wrong. The problem is that out of the 5 times which they guess correctly, they bet very little and of those that were wrong, they usually bet a lot, so they end out lose. This is the most basic problem of all gamblers.

So the key to winning in casinos is to be able to bet more during those times that you are able to guess correctly and to bet less when winning, the problem is how do I know when is winning or losing? The answer is no body knows.

I therefore conclude that one should not increase stakes while losing and to increase stakes only if winning, this is the only way to win however it takes guts to increase stakes when winning which is contrary to a normal gamblers behavious, thats why most people lose. But this is the only way to win in casinos as most losers will always say the same thing "losing is fast and winning is slow".

Adidas

we are not professional gamblers la.
so normal people likes us, always bet smal small in the first few bets.
when on the rolls,then place big bets,this is why we always lost.

good points, sohbuckkong :cool: