• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Another White Elephant- The Flyer.

88max

Visitor: Flyer must do more to pack them in

I HAVE just returned home to Britain, after spending a few weeks in Singapore enjoying the sights, sounds and food.

On a Wednesday afternoon, I took a party of nine to the Singapore Flyer.

It was a lovely experience. Pity, there were more staff than customers. Even the lack of customers, of any customers, in the shops around the attraction was evident.

It's not surprising that the Flyer is not flying high.

First, the location is wrong. It is too far from the hub of any of the tourist areas.

The wait for the Marina Sands integrated resort to open will be too long and too late.

Also, gamblers will be more interested in spinning the wheels on the tables than spinning up in the clouds.

Second, one cannot compare the pricing of the London Eye to Singapore's standards and tourist numbers.

Hence, the Singapore Flyer is pricey. The view from the London Eye is breathtaking. The view from the Flyer is not quite.

Third, it is a pity the management and the Singapore Tourism Board are not doing enough to advertise and promote the Flyer.

Every tourist coming to Singapore should receive a 40 per cent discount voucher to encourage him to visit the Flyer.

After all, going around empty won't bring in the bucks. It's sad to see the Flyer going round empty.

It may well be an idea to reduce the admission charge, for now.

It is also important to attract Singaporeans via schools and the like, into the wheel. Special family tickets at greatly reduced prices during off-peak hours may lure customers.

And forget the lavish banquet champagne stuff. It's typically nouveau Singaporean, which appeals to only a few.

The Flyer needs to pack them in. I'm sorry, but at the rate it's going, the Flyer may stop turning soon.

Reggie Joseph
Stafford, England

dysentry

Cut them some slack lah, it was a Wednesday afternoon.

But personally I would rather go to Equinox for makan, or New Asia Bar, which are much higher.

wallace

It is too expensive and the ride is short too. If you bring a family of four and throw in the grand parents, it's going to cost a fortune. The other forumer is right, it's better to spend the money on makan. I can have great view of SIngapore from the top of my HDB flat or worst case, go up the OUB or UOB building to enjoy the view lor.

dc7176

i hav read an article somewhere, they should propose tat sporean get to pay half the price n foreigner gotta pay more to enter place of interest!! but in spore, sporean gotta pay more than foreigner...

juz remind tat when IR is up, sporean goota pay $100 to enter the casino while foreigner get to enter free...

still wondering r we 2nd class citizen???:mad::confused:

Microsoft

i hav read an article somewhere, they should propose tat sporean get to pay half the price n foreigner gotta pay more to enter place of interest!! but in spore, sporean gotta pay more than foreigner...

Even if half the price still got to pay $15 for an adult ticket... Personally, i won't pay anything more then $5... But then hor if up there got TN shop then different story lor...:biggrin::p

Too expensive. Last time they said been FULLY book for at least 6 month. Now heard that is empty. For $30/person. NO NO NO. Must do promotion to save the WHEEL eg. free duck tour.

eRRoRist

Share with you guys an urban legend I heard. See if it makes sense to you.

The flyer is actual part of the Marina IR deal. I'm sure you guys have been to shops or places where they have a ornament with water and a ball or any movable object spinning. Suppose to bring the water(money) in. Well, you guess it. The flyer is the giant Feng Shui ornament for the IR and our CBD. Where the flyer is located, facing, direction which it's spinning have all been carefully planned. If you look at it, it's spinning directly to towards the IR, bring "water" in. So what do you guys think??

1 thing I know for sure though, those involved in gambling and all those "side door" business are very superstitious.

Lanchio1

All Flyers in Asian countries are WannaBe Neuvoux Riche Show Off.

Great to show off to ang more tourist that we have made in to the 1st world club but in reality will benefit little to the local public.

Nothing more than a Feel Good - Shiok Sendiri syndrome.

... The flyer is actual part of the Marina IR deal. I'm sure you guys have been to shops or places where they have a ornament with water and a ball or any movable object spinning. Suppose to bring the water(money) in. Well, you guess it. The flyer is the giant Feng Shui ornament for the IR and our CBD. Where the flyer is located, facing, direction which it's spinning have all been carefully planned. If you look at it, it's spinning directly to towards the IR, bring "water" in. So what do you guys think?? ...
possible oso ... u remember ze story of ze 1 $ coin? ...

wa ... no wonder dat angmo said ze view lousy la ... lidat who wants 2 go take flyer? ...

later no business ... iz supposed 2 'take care' of ze ir 1 wor ... but, can it take care of itself anot? ...

:p

shadezz69

1 thing I know for sure though, those involved in gambling and all those "side door" business are very superstitious.
I cant help but to agree w u here... Feng Shui and those "Wu Xing Ba Gua" stuff are predominant elements here.

J

jim carey

IMHO, i think the sillypore flyer is too early to commence biz...i.e. should be scheduled for opening after the 2 IRs are ready cos by then more tourists, better view of Las Vega Sands IR, Sentosa and possibly the Sports Hub but now one can see is only cranes, cranes and PSA cranes :p

Birdtau08

WHITE ELEPHANT of course. The day the project completes... only white.:biggrin:

The Flyer was white isn't it? :p

As for the operation... as White elephant... I am clueless... so I no comment.

For the icon... as White elephant... I am not skilled in this context... so I no comment.

For the purpose of masses opinion including and not necessary limited to myself.... I am only one out of the few million... so I dun need to say.

For the background engineering... I am lagi... no clue... let me be remain clueless.

Why not we wait and see... I believe and have faith on Flyer... the elements would be just right when attraction of the right crowd and lover... the package if not making this happens.... why not re-package for a change.:p

Tailok

I dun think it's dat bad. I guess we got to innovate to bring in visitors. Of course we are copying the London Eye, but if you care to check, all the major cities are considering to have it. At least 10 flyers are coming up or oredi completed in China alone.

My daughter recently hosted some guest from our neighbouring country. The school send them up the flyer. Quite a nice experience. But I must say, they must come up with some discount schemes. Else the flyer are flying nearly empty. With this pricing, who would consider go try it a second time? Even 1st time I oso not interested.

shOUTloud

I think you all got it wrong lah. If you have read the papers, they are "on track" to meet their targets ok. The owners are not worried, why should we worry for them?

wahaha

HakkaThaileen

I think you all got it wrong lah. If you have read the papers, they are "on track" to meet their targets ok. The owners are not worried, why should we worry for them?

wahaha

They claimed the flyer to be on track.. Can the records / statistics be verified? It's up to them to say whatever thing they want to say, right?

I have been using the ERP and driving pass the flyer almost every day. But I've never saw the flying wheel in action. It has been in stationary position everytime I passed by the place.

Or I've been wrong that the spinning is so slow that it cannot be seen with naked eyes?

Frankiestine

I have been using the ERP and driving pass the flyer almost every day. But I've never saw the flying wheel in action. It has been in stationary position everytime I passed by the place.
Or I've been wrong that the spinning is so slow that it cannot be seen with naked eyes?

Fast or slow not important, most important got pax or not.....most of the time seems to be empty...especially weekdays....

ranger_edd

In all honesty, no one frequents the shops that are at the Singapore Flyer - no one local at least - because they look like real tourist traps. The only place I would go is probably Popeyes for the chicken.