• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singaporeans form 1% of Western Australia population

neddy

After all the PAP IBs talk of how bad Australia is, and how Singaporeans are leaving, one statistic stand out.

Singaporeans are really making their pressence felt in this city.

Perth remains one of the original city of refuge for Singaporeans who got sick of the hectic lifestyle in Singapore.

For those Singaporeans who are after a :-
- different lifestyle,
- escaping conflicts with family, in-laws, etc,
- escaping the daily grind (Singapore's crowded places, traffic jams, lack of employment protection)
- want a piece of landed property for under half million
- overseas weekend home
- bringing up kids
- divorcees seeking new life away from conservative Singapore
- Singapore single women left on the shelf find partnerships

neddy

Trollers like Aussie Prick will tell you how expensive Australia is ... is it really so? Why are Singaporeans still buying properties in Australia? In fact, China people are outbidding Singaporeans at property auctions.

The secret is this. A lot of SAF officers and Singapore government ministers own lands in Australia.

There are a lot of Singapore business interests in Australia as well.

Why are they here?

If a typical Singaporean see how your rich minister is living it up in Australia, they will get pretty jealous for sure. Singaporeans NOT WELCOME to this paradise for Singapore minister.

A forummer also noticed seeing The Old Lee's second son in Perth to escape his father's scolding after keeping a mistress in Sydney.

A top civil servant's son got kicked out of Murdoch University.

These are the type of news the less Singaporeans know, the better.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Aussie Prick
Alfrescian Join Date: Dec 2008
My Reputation:Points: 45 / Power: 15

Re: Why Singapore return from Australia

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by neddy
Again, it depends on the character of the people settling in Perth.

Everytime, I go back Singapore for visit ... After spending 1 week in Singapore, start thinking about Perth already.

I think it is the easy living nature of this city that everyone thought is a Dullville.

That person must love the racism, taxes and overall shit of Australia

Oops forgot the traffic jams in Perth now

Whoops forgot Perth has very expensive property too

Oh my whoops forgot people in Perth super stressed out due to long work hours etc

long list how bad Perth sucks

Hee Hee

neddy

Sunset Coast - Overlooking the Indian Ocean

Take time to relax.

800px-Beach_sunset_Perth.jpg

neddy

Perth CBD

The face of Perth is changing, as the state is set to become the 2nd largest global supplier of LNG over the next 2-3 decades, overtaking countries such as Indonesia.

800px-Perth_foreshore_panorama.jpg

neddy

Points taken from the paper, ‘Creativity and Cultural Globalisation in Suburbia: Mediating the Perth-Singapore ‘Network’ by Terence Lee.
Associate Professor Terence Lee
[email protected]
Phone: (08) 9360 6689

Associate Prof -Mass Communication
Faculty of Creative Technologies and Media, Media Communication and Culture,
Murdoch University, Perth WA Australia

citing Long, Susan
Singaperth’, The Sunday Times, 28 September 2003
'Not so Perth-fect after all’, The Straits Times Interactive, 5 October 2003

The Perth metropolitan area is home to almost enough Singaporeans to form a constituency. Eight times the size of Singapore island, there are more than 10,000 Singaporeans here within the population of 1.3 million, a third of the total 33,590 in Australia. The actual number of Singaporeans [in Perth] is probably double the official figure, because the latter reflects only those who have successfully applied for permanent residency.

In many ways, the notion of Perth as a Singaporean creative frontier resonates with Singaporean emigrants who desire “a different lifestyle” and see Perth as a “land of second chances and new beginnings”

While the blue skies of Perth beckons, many actually do so because they feel socially and politically restricted in Singapore. Many feel disenfranchised with life in a hectic and fast-paced city, or feel edged out of the profession they would prefer to be in.

What the new Singaporean migrant travels all this way in search of is not so much cheap land (NOTE: Property prices have doubled/tripled since this article is released) or spectacular sunsets but really, respect” – and I would add, respite from the rat race without bowing out of the work they enjoy. In this regard, the cultural proximity and familiarity of ‘Singaperth’ offers a way for such Singaporeans to create new ‘cultural networks’, without forsaking old ties with Singapore, and their Singaporean families and friends.

Not sure if you are aware of this. Perth is the location where Singapore Cabinet in exile will operate in the event of an invasion similar to Kuwait Govt in Cairo during the Gulf war.

Sometime in the early 90s, there was a wave of property buying by govt officials around the Joondalup area. The lee clan also bought properties there and at one stage, LHY commutted from Perth preferring to reside there on weekends. He used to shop at Whitford.

SAF flying school is there as well.

Many are also retired civil servants with 5 years PR with renewal.

neddy

Not sure if you are aware of this. Perth is the location where Singapore Cabinet in exile will operate in the event of an invasion similar to Kuwait Govt in Cairo during the Gulf war.

Sometime in the early 90s, there was a wave of property buying by govt officials around the Joondalup area. The lee clan also bought properties there and at one stage, LHY commutted from Perth preferring to reside there on weekends. He used to shop at Whitford.

RSAF is still operating out of RAAF Pearce. I think the FTS and 130 squadron are still there.

Joondalup "shire" is/used to be the playground of Singapore govt in exile, not sure if the evacuation arrangement with the state government is in place. Perhaps, we should check with the Burmese these days?

But these days, Singapore is overshadowed by Japan, Korea, India and China, when it comes to the importance of overseas relationship. The state govt trade office is moved to KL in Malaysia. Used to be at Adelphi Shopping Centre in Singapore.

LHY looks like one of those who will migrate to Perth because of family problems .... if I have a father like that, I will also run away. hahaha

IWC2006

After all the PAP IBs talk of how bad Australia is, and how Singaporeans are leaving, one statistic stand out.

Perth remains one of the original city of refuge for Singaporeans who got sick of the hectic lifestyle in Singapore.

- different lifestyle,
- escaping the daily grind (Singapore's crowded places, traffic jams, lack of employment protection)
- overseas weekend home
- bringing up kids

Why Perth? give me Sydney or Melbourne any day, unless you are after retirement, I would give this city a miss.

Leckmichamarsch

Points taken from the paper, ‘Creativity and Cultural Globalisation in Suburbia: Mediating the Perth-Singapore ‘Network’ by

A lot of sgians with shady money are now in Perth living it up...
Remember the bayee who was convicted of cheating re sale of HDB? Heard he got lots of assets there ... Anyone can confirm???:biggrin:

neddy

Points taken from the paper, ‘Creativity and Cultural Globalisation in Suburbia: Mediating the Perth-Singapore ‘Network’ by

A lot of sgians with shady money are now in Perth living it up...
Remember the bayee who was convicted of cheating re sale of HDB? Heard he got lots of assets there ... Anyone can confirm???:biggrin:

Perth is a good place to hide crooks, and good for people who laundry money in Singapore.

But a typical resident will not notice this.

Perth is a big, wealthy and sparcely populated city.

Perth's sister city is Houston, even though it is considered to feel more like San Diego (albeit more British than Mexican)

Perth is the only Western city bordering the Indian Ocean, unless at a stretch you consider Durban in South Africa.

Perth has the highest rates of car ownership, car usage and car theft in Australia.

Perth is where Alan Bond and Rose Porteous (former Pinoy maid) made their fortunes.

Perth lacks anything like a Chinatown or Little Italy; Northbridge is the closest Perth has to a gentrified enclave, but no part is visibly identifiable to a single ethnicity.

Perth's class divisions were originally between those living North (richer) and South (poorer) of the Swan River, but now proximity to the ocean and river counts more.

Perth hugs the coast from Joondalup down to Mandurah, and the Swan River out to Midland. Its suburbs are large, flat and sparcely populated.

Perth does not have much of a manufacturing base, instead basing its affluence on supporting the state's mining industries (GIS technology, engineering, gold bullion production, car-washing the Mercedes of miner millionaires)

Perth does not have any pokie machines, not even at Burswood Casino. Pubs are therefore more expensive but are much better places to hang out in.

Perth is said to have more millionaires and restaurants per capita than other capital in Australia, and more sunlight per year.

Perth tends to receive per capita more immigrants from Britain, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, India, South Africa and Zimbabwe than other Australian cities. There are almost as many British born residents in Perth as there are in Sydney.

Perth is the most isolated city in the world with a population in excess of one million.

Perth is the capital of Western Australia, one of the largest sub-national jurisdictions in the world. But hardly anybody lives anywhere else in the state.

Perth, despite its weather and affluence, really hasn't got any worthwhile attractions. A great place to live, but given its distance a pointless place to visit.

Perth was home of the America's Cup from 1983 to 1987.

Perth has spawned the bands INXS, The Triffids, Jebediah, Eskimo Joe, Ammonia, Cartman, Lash and The Sleepy Jackson. It is also the adopted home for Gene Simmons, Jeff Martin (of The Tea Party) and British novelist Ben Elton.

Perth is the birthplace of Heath Ledger, Hugh Jackman, Rove McManus, Michael and Terry Willesse, pavlova cake, Lisa McClune, Rolf Harris and Mardy.

neddy

Why Perth? give me Sydney or Melbourne any day, unless you are after retirement, I would give this city a miss.

Hey IWC2006, I am writing about Perth, because I am living here, and because a lot of Aussies have forgotten that we actually EXIST!!! :biggrin:

You can always start one for Melbourne and/or Sydney. No need to get jealous because we do not really have peak hour traffic jams like what you have at Princes Highway or M3. :biggrin:

Have you heard, Kevin Rudd is going to grab more revenue from this resource-rich state and give them to you guys over in the east. :mad:

U

UpYoz_olo

Ya Lor. Zi place swarms with 'hor sin' - rambo type and size. But on second thought, zi place is indeed suitable for ppl from here. :biggrin:

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

neddy

Ya Lor. Zi place swarms with 'hor sin' - rambo type and size. But on second thought, zi place is indeed suitable for ppl from here. :biggrin:

You are very rude. I got rights to exist too.

new_louie.gif

Don't comment on my size, I am fed on millionnaire diet.
IMG_3855.jpg

img_9464.jpg

neddy

http://www.migration.wa.gov.au/media/documents/destination-wa-booklet-jan08.pdf

State Migration Centre
Small Business Development Corporation
553 Hay Street (Cnr Pier Street)
Perth Western Australia
(08) 9220 0279 or (08) 9220 0254

Living in Perth

Population
Perth - Western Australia's capital city - is home to 1.5 million people. About 30 per cent of its population was born overseas and more than 200 different nationalities live here. This makes Perth one of the most culturally diverse cities not only in Australia but also the world.

Lifestyle
Perth's bustling central business district is seven kilometres from the coast and on the banks of the Swan River and nestled beneath the city's 400 hectare botanical garden called Kings Park. With employment options in many industries and accompanied by affordable living costs, excellent amenities and a range of entertainment choices, Perth is a great place to live and work.

Climate
Perth is known for it's Mediterranean climate and there are many outdoor activities to enjoy. There are public parks, beaches, picnic areas and riverside environments, most of them free to use. Sporting venues host many activities including cricket, golf, football, soccer, and tennis. Our climate is perfect for activities like windsurfing, swimming, surfing, sailing, horse riding and bushwalking.

Culture
Perth enjoys a rich cultural program of performances from the Western Australian Ballet, the Western Australian Opera and Western Australian Symphony Orchestra. Perth is also home to traditional and contemporary theatre companies plus many galleries. There are music, theatre and arts festivals all year round drawing the best talent from Australia and the world. Food and wine shows, sports events, fashion festivals and heritage and wildflower festivals are also hugely popular.

生活在珀斯

人口
珀斯—西澳洲首府城市, 拥有150万人口,其中,约有30%人口出生在海外。200多个不同国籍的居民居住在这里,这让珀斯不仅成为澳大利亚最多元化文化的地区之一,也让珀斯成为世界最多元化文化的地区之一。

生活方式
珀斯熙熙攘攘的中心商业区距海岸仅7公里,滨临风光旖旎的天鹅河、背倚占地400公顷的植物园——国王公园。拥有充分的就业机会、经济合理的生活费用、卓越的娱乐设施,让珀斯成为一个生活与工作最理想的地方。

气候
珀斯以其地中海气候而闻名,可以享受很种类众多的户外活动。这里有公园、海难、野餐地和河畔,大多数都是免费的。珀斯还承办大量体育赛事,包括板球、高尔夫、橄榄球、足球和网球。这里的气候对于帆板、游泳、冲浪、航海、赛马和丛林徒步旅行来说都是十分完美的。

文化
珀斯具有丰富的文化底蕴,有知名的西澳大利亚州芭蕾舞、歌剧、交响乐团。珀斯也是传统和现代剧院的集结地及众多的画廊。这里整年都有音乐节、影视节和艺术节,聚集着从澳洲乃至全世界最好的人才。美食美酒展、体育赛事、时尚艺术节、传统野花节也都十分受欢迎。

neddy

Economy

Western Australia is widely regarded as the engine-room of the Australian economy. It has consistently out-performed other State economies for the last decade.

According to Access Economic's Investment Monitor (July 2006), the value of projects under construction in Western Australia now stands at $23.3 billion (its highest ever total since the monitor was first published in 2001).

Recent initiatives to further drive economic growth include tax cuts worth $1.2 billion over five years, a massive $18.1 billion building program over four years and new measures to further diversify the Western Australian economy.

Recent ABS figures show that the value of Western Australian exports is the highest in the nation, more than double that of Victoria and significantly higher than New South Wales (NSW) and Queensland (Qld).

The nominal value of Western Australian exports was $45.7 billion in the 12 months to May 2006 - a huge 19.5 per cent higher than a year earlier.

In the same period, Western Australia showed a $27.2 billion trade surplus, compared with a national trade deficit of $16.7 billion. NSW recorded a trade deficit of $37.7 billion and Victoria a trade deficit of $29.6 million, while Qld recorded a surplus of $10.1 billion.

Western Australia's world-class infrastructure and strong economic outlook have created a dynamic business environment, attracting record levels of investment and generating positive employment growth.

With all this good economic news, you can expect a better future in Western Australia. We're investing in big projects and our state needs your skills to get them started and keep them going.

Housing

Buying a Home
The current median house price in Perth is $465,000. For approximately $530,000 - $560,000 you can buy a four bedroom, two bathroom home with a swimming pool in a quality suburb. This is great value compared to other Australian capital cities. In Perth, most people travel no longer than 40 minutes to and from their place of work. Prices will also depend on how close you are to the city, river and beaches.

Renting a Home
Rental prices and availability can fluctuate. The current median price for a three bedroom house in Perth is $320 per week. There is a wide range of rental options available in Western Australia from basic apartments, luxury mansions, short term or long term and furnished or unfurnished

Health

Western Australia offers world-class health and medical services available through a range of public and private hospitals, medical specialists and health services.

Public Health Cover
Medicare is the public health system that is regulated by the Australian Government and is available to most Australians. The public health system is designed to ensure that all Australians have access to medical and hospital care. It provides assistance with most medicines prescribed by doctors through the Pharmaceuticals Benefits Scheme.

Medicare does not generally cover temporary residents in Australia. If you are not certain of your eligibility for coverage, check your visa status (i.e. visa classification under which you entered Australia) and then contact Medicare to confirm eligibility.

Private Health Cover
Many Australians also choose to take out private health insurance as some expenses are not covered and waiting lists for elective surgery in public hospitals can take time. The cost of standard private medical cover is around $2,600 per family per year, with the government offering a 30 percent rebate on the costs of private health insurance.

Education

Primary & Secondary Education
Western Australia's education system comprises government and private schools. There are approximately 300 private schools and 800 government schools ranging from kindergarten and small community schools to high private schools. Approximately 70% of students attend government schools and 30% attend private schools.

Education is compulsory from the year in which children turn 6 to the end of the school year in which they are 17 years of age. Primary school commences at year 1 and concludes in year 7. Secondary school begins at year 8 and runs through to year 12. At senior secondary school level, students intending to enter university select at least four Tertiary Entrance Examination (TEE) subjects. These subjects contribute to a student's Tertiary Entrance Rank (TER). University places are usually offered on the basis of a students TER.

The school year commences in February each year and is divided into four terms. There is usually a two-week break at the end of the first three terms and a seven-week break over Christmas at the end of the school year.

Universities & Further Education
Perth has five world-class universities: Curtin University of Technology, Edith Cowan University (ECU), Murdoch University, University of Western Australia (UWA) and University of Notre Dame (UNDA). Generally all courses are covered from Engineering, Science, Accounting to Medicine. There are many other further education institutions such as TAFE and private colleges.

Costs
The cost of attending a government school is around $250 per year while cost of attending a private school can be as low as $1,350 rising to around $16,000 per year. Further education and tertiary course prices vary.

Aussie Prick

- different lifestyle,
- overseas weekend home
- bringing up kids

You poor deluded moron

Canada and the USA is only 10X better for those very reasons

Whining and crying about your terrible situation wont make your taxes go down, wont make your stress go away, wont change the fact that Australians are leaving Australia itself

Sorry to bust your little bubble but Australia is crap and most Singaporeans are headed elsewhere now

Dont cry now, ok?

Meltdown

Now I know why Sinkies form 1% of WA's population!

neddy

FAQ

Problems with flies and blowies?
Not a problem. A few days a year, when the hot air blows from the interior, the air carries the flies and blowies. No big deal.

neddy

Now I know why Sinkies form 1% of WA's population!

You do not need to acknowledge them, just don't damage their Mercs, BMW, Lexus, Ferraris and Rolls Royce (retired UOB banker). :-)

One of them even went to France to enjoy life, eating deluxe meal on a hot-air balloon. Thanks to Singaporeans' $$$$.