• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

michaely

Bro Wuqi & all, thank you very much for starting this wonderful thread. It's really helpful for people like me who can't wait to leave this country.

Actually, I'm single and in the process of buying a 4-rm HDB flat, but due to the high price and absurd cash-over-valuation that sellers are asking for, I've more or less given up hope of ever getting a house of my own in this expensive country.

I think Horizon Hills is a very good development and will definitely go over there to have a look, but I have one question about the customs.

I wonder will there be any problem if I continue to work in S'pore but go in & out of Malaysia almost everyday?

Thanks in advance!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Wuqi,

Some more questions. How does this fated community thing work? I am guessing that u must pay some kind of monthly maintenance fee for the upkeep of the grounds, security guards, clubhouse, etc. If so, how much is this and is there some sort of enforcement device for owners who don't pay.

I ask this because my brother in law bought a new condo project in KL a few years. After a while, when the developer eased out after selling off all the units, the management company had difficulty collecting some of the monthly maintanance fee. Eventually, if enough of them don't pay, the management had no choice but to cut back on upkeep. Do u see this sort of situation happening in these gated communities?

Also, I am guessing the rule prohibiting for S'poreans driving Malaysian cars in S'pore is still in place? I would assume that there is some where to park ones car when they take this bus into Jurong East. I will cheak their website anyway. Thanks for the link.

Hi Papsmearer,

Yes, its about 100 ringgit monthly but for first 2 years, its waived. Its linked to a golf course and management is still done by developer. Thats why i have put down in my earlier posts not to buy condos in MY.

Even if it happens, you are still in much better shape as its much better than a condo as you don't have
1. Faulty lift to contend with
2. Common rubbish bin overflowing
3. Weird stuff happening doors, etc

Also, they have cafes, etc so they do need to keep it in some acceptable standards.

Right, that rule, so take the bus in and take the MRT from Jurong East or drive from the car parks there.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Bro Wuqi & all, thank you very much for starting this wonderful thread. It's really helpful for people like me who can't wait to leave this country.

Actually, I'm single and in the process of buying a 4-rm HDB flat, but due to the high price and absurd cash-over-valuation that sellers are asking for, I've more or less given up hope of ever getting a house of my own in this expensive country.

I think Horizon Hills is a very good development and will definitely go over there to have a look, but I have one question about the customs.

I wonder will there be any problem if I continue to work in S'pore but go in & out of Malaysia almost everyday?

Thanks in advance!

Sure, glad to help, i have been going in and out almost every day last week and the week before that so i don't forsee any problems as we still pay our taxes in Singapore.

whoami

Hi Bro Whoami,

I am attaching some floor plans, i will try to get some more scanned.
One is a 20x70, the smallest i believe and the other is a 22x70.

Tks for the trouble, bro wuqi.

Thats why i have put down in my earlier posts not to buy condos in MY.

Even if it happens, you are still in much better shape as its much better than a condo as you don't have
1. Faulty lift to contend with
2. Common rubbish bin overflowing
3. Weird stuff happening doors, etc

Actually i prefer landed properties. But one thing that worry me is that initially I doubt I would be able to travel to and from JB every week. Heard cases whereby landed properties were raided by thieves..belongings, everything they stole if the house left unattended for some time!

Btw bro, heard of Danga Bay project? I missed the Danga Bay view condo. Fully taken up since 2004. Up coming one going like RM500 per sf min. I am also considering this project cos IS JUST OPP SILLYPORE. Wheeeee.....:biggrin:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Tks for the trouble, bro wuqi.

Actually i prefer landed properties. But one thing that worry me is that initially I doubt I would be able to travel to and from JB every week. Heard cases whereby landed properties were raided by thieves..belongings, everything they stole if the house left unattended for some time!

Btw bro, heard of Danga Bay project? I missed the Danga Bay view condo. Fully taken up since 2004. Up coming one going like RM500 per sf min. I am also considering this project cos IS JUST OPP SILLYPORE. Wheeeee.....:biggrin:

Sure, no problem. You don't really have to furnish it until you are ready to move in. You can do simple furnishing if you are concerned about security. Its slighter a bit more secure in my own view as the guards take motorcycle and go around the estate which is better than the condo option.

I see that a lot of folks here who actually don't even secure the place Also, you can secure it with cameras as well as alarm systems if security is still a concern.

Oh i have not really, like some of the bros who advised against condos, i would go more for landed property as i get something freehold and of course own garden to grow stuff, etc.

Still its your personal choice and i respect that, i am happy for you regardless as long as you get something you like.

lewlian88

wuqi & po2wq
thanks for your feedback! reliable & reasonable quick internet connection are important to me. while I can't say I really like Johor as my home, what attract me are the prices & space so that I can fulfill my dreams of having a garden

when living in foreign land, i felt it's important to build a cohesive & trustworhty community that helps to support each other. hopefully you build good relationship with your neighbors

whoami.
imho ~ danga bay is pretty far from 2nd link, the jams at woodlands are very very bad unless u communte during unearthly hours :smile:

btw, it's is possible to move this thread to emigration matters?

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
wuqi & po2wq
thanks for your feedback! reliable & reasonable quick internet connection are important to me. while I can't say I really like Johor as my home, what attract me are the prices & space so that I can fulfill my dreams of having a garden

when living in foreign land, i felt it's important to build a cohesive & trustworhty community that helps to support each other. hopefully you build good relationship with your neighbors

whoami.
imho ~ danga bay is pretty far from 2nd link, the jams at woodlands are very very bad unless u communte during unearthly hours :smile:

Sure, thanks to po2wq too. I have checked on some forums, so seems there are a few options for internet and pricing and reliability is pretty ok.

With a landed place, my plan is to have a couple of my existing UPS to move over there as power as well as internet also needs to be reliable. Maybe a genset but that would be overkill and also as their power plans(3 phase, etc) seems ok.

I plan to have 2 links for internet if i could or use a main link and a secondary mobile plan as a back up.

Definitely, go low profile and build up a community there. Its the convenience of the place that really attracts me. Whether in heavy rain or otherwise, so far, door to door is about 1 hour.

lewlian88

dunno if i'm too kiasu hehehehe is water storage needed? just in case .....
good luck to your community building

i'm still exploring vairous options

whoami

Sure, no problem. You don't really have to furnish it until you are ready to move in. You can do simple furnishing if you are concerned about security. Its slighter a bit more secure in my own view as the guards take motorcycle and go around the estate which is better than the condo option.

Another reason I dont quite fancy condo cos I am living in pigeon hole already. So for a change landed properties would be ideal. Still remember those days where I used to live in Kampong which was a landed property. :biggrin:

Oh ya bro. Havent you heard of the Danga Bay project?

whoami

whoami.

Yes, no denying with rgds to the jam. But I got siblings living in Sillypore. And it does make me feel we are still "together" knowing they are just opp my JB home. :biggrin: Anyway, just another option. JB houses plenty available.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Another reason I dont quite fancy condo cos I am living in pigeon hole already. So for a change landed properties would be ideal. Still remember those days where I used to live in Kampong which was a landed property. :biggrin:

Oh ya bro. Havent you heard of the Danga Bay project?

I understand, yes its a better in my humble opinion. Seriously i haven't, is it only for condos or do they have a few landed units? Googling now. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes, no denying with rgds to the jam. But I got siblings living in Sillypore. And it does make me feel we are still "together" knowing they are just opp my JB home. :biggrin: Anyway, just another option. JB houses plenty available.

Agree, houses are widely available(can get for around 100k SGD and even below for some) but i would recommend to go for gated properties at least so that you get the "protection" that condos have and yet have the land you want.

whoami

I understand, yes its a better in my humble opinion. Seriously i haven't, is it only for condos or do they have a few landed units? Googling now. :smile:

Understand a 38 storey condo be ready by 2011. Something like that. Landed, not too sure. They going to have a casino on reclaimed land. Thus competing with our IRC. A new jetty be coming up too. In fact next week may go to their site office and recce for more info...

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Understand a 38 storey condo be ready by 2011. Something like that. Landed, not too sure. They going to have a casino on reclaimed land. Thus competing with our IRC. A new jetty be coming up too. In fact next week may go to their site office and recce for more info...

Ah i see, it seems quite good. Condos are out for me though, reasons as given earlier. The jetty seems good too, i have also received flyers from them. If they are indeed freehold, maybe worth considering. Hope you get a good price! :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Bro whoami, went there yesterday. The surrounding plans at Danga Bay seems cool! Maybe a worthy investment as well though the gent i spoke with told me its 99 years? They are pretty spread out though so pretty spacious.

whoami

Bro whoami, went there yesterday. The surrounding plans at Danga Bay seems cool! Maybe a worthy investment as well though the gent i spoke with told me its 99 years? They are pretty spread out though so pretty spacious.

Yes. Alot of happening coming along the way. A 38 storey condo coming up soon at M$500 psf up. Thought I heard its freehold? I will be going this weekend for a 2nd look. Will try to check on-site.

Understand Ledang Heights and East Ledang area all classic. Selling all above M$1million and above. As for Horizon area, u are right. Semi-D kosong. Developer recommend Nusa Idaman/Bukit Indah area. But quite far from 2nd link and causeway too.

Just refer to latest pigeon hole prices at Ponggol area. Really die cock stand. Cant imagine 5 - 10yrs time what will be the price of 4-rm flats here??:mad: Seriously have to consider 2nd home elsewhere...

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_423628.html

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hi bro Whoami,

Great to hear, its pretty exciting and seems would be a pretty cool place to live in. I wanted it to be slightly further in as my parents wanted areas away from water, etc. Still, it looks to be fantastic! The gent told us, some areas would be freehold though, etc. Well, freehold or not, if i have some spare cash left end of the year, probably get a unit there especially the jetty one as i like fishing.

By the way, just to share with you and rest of the bros here from the findings of my friends and myself on pricing:

All prices in SGD for reference, your mileage may vary.
Carpet grass - enough to cover an entire side and backyard - Below 500-600
KDK/Panasonic fan - 65-150 depending on regulator to the new remote control, etc type
Air con - from 480 for a Panasonic 1HP one, installation about 60-70
Toyota Car - 2nd hand, 10 year car - 11-13k
New Toyota Car, 1.5 litre for a cheap Avanza model - 26k

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Oh wow, this is serious, punggol for so much? I wonder how my sons would be able to finance this if they turn out to be average joes. Ok, at least i will be able to leave for them a home each should things turn out bad.

whoami

Agree, houses are widely available(can get for around 100k SGD and even below for some) but i would recommend to go for gated properties at least so that you get the "protection" that condos have and yet have the land you want.

But I thought foreigners only can buy 250k >? Somemore must be two storeys for Semi-D/Terraces?

All prices in SGD for reference, your mileage may vary.
Carpet grass - enough to cover an entire side and backyard - Below 500-600
KDK/Panasonic fan - 65-150 depending on regulator to the new remote control, etc type
Air con - from 480 for a Panasonic 1HP one, installation about 60-70
Toyota Car - 2nd hand, 10 year car - 11-13k
New Toyota Car, 1.5 litre for a cheap Avanza model - 26k

Noted there. Tks.

Ok, at least i will be able to leave for them a home each should things turn out bad.

I share the same thoughts as u too.:smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hey Whoami,

Its actually still doable now though the minimum is actually 350k ringgit and it has to be at least 2 storeys tall. As long as the property you are buying is not too far off the mark(example 320-340), the agent/guy will be able to do something for you to get around this.

I am trying to verify the rumour that the government are going to raise the minimum property price to 500k ringgit by start of next year, it would basically make it impossible for people to buy properties that are still available now.

I am thinking to cheong for Danga bay, etc and get more before that if this is true so if you find any information here, will be glad if you could share.

Status
Not open for further replies.