• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok, i just sent the good comments about NI to a friend, seems he considered before, his reply:

Hahaha, halo boss.. ask your friend to see this:

http://property.malaysiamostwanted.com/projects/nusa-idaman-suasana-homes

Comments
by pcj091(1) on 03 Nov 2009
-Crack everywhere in the Wall.
-Poor wall plastering particular at Plug point area.
-Roof leaking during raining.
-Value for the price paid.(Around 30%).
-Security Guards not in good attire n doze during working hrs.
-There is a few robbery case reported.
-Kindly advised to do a survey with resident before purchasing any unit. 1.0 by 323334(1) on 26 Nov 2009
Agreed. Which phase are you staying? by *BKjune on 29 Jun 2010
agreed, value for $$ 30% only, feel fully cheated. Workmanship really an issue, wall are wavy plastering. would wanted to sell off even at a loss.

There was an earlier posting on NI in this thread:

kenron
Alfrescian Join Date: Jun 2010
My Reputation:Points: 31 / Power: 0

Re: Living in JB

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Weekim
Went to view houses over the weekend at Nusa Idaman and just to share some findings and photos with bros here.

1. Nusa Idaman

Safety/Security:

1.Main entrance guardhouse not ready yet. Only individual precincts have guardhouse. As each precincts have hundreds of houses, security may be an issue as human traffic will be large compared to Horizon hills where the guards can easily recognize residents.

2.Perimeter and house fences have really low height which is insufficient to keep out intruders. Was advised by agent to install grills on all windows which is a big turn-off for me as window grills make the house feels like a jail cell.

Proximity to amenities:

1. The development is new and currently only 3-4precincts have been completed. There is a cluster of shops nearby but not within walking distance. Jusco is about 5mins drive away as there is a long and winding road to the entrance.

Current launches: Courtyard 2 and Impiana.

1. House Types: 2 Storey Terrace, 1867sqft to 2415sqft,

2. Facilities: Playground, park. No clubhouse, swimming pool etc.

3. Cost : RM 300K to RM450K. (detailed price list can be obtained from the showroom.)

Attachment 1234
Precinct 6 Entrance

Attachment 1235
View from outside main entrance

Attachment 1236
House beside main entrance. Notice how low the fences are.

Attachment 1237
Playground and Park within the precinct

Attachment 1238
House, RM330k.

Hey bro, thanks for your sharing.

A lot of malays are living there. Hence, they will build a giant mosque there. lol..free daily morning call...won't be late for work.

Besides, I also observed that the security has to be enhanced as that area is not using access card for security control.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
We can never take security for granted so no matter how safe your place is, just be vigilant. Just like how you will check your valuables when you are in a crowded MRT or bus in SG.

Ok something new, i don't read Malay but its about something in NI that a neighbour has just sent to me. Can someone help translate? This seems to be from their forum or something.

http://nusaidaman.lefora.com/2008/10/08/masalah-jaga/

Ok this posting that he also sent is in English version, seems there were break ins for NI but this was in 2009 May so i am sure its better now:

http://nusaidaman.lefora.com/2009/05/18/break-ins/

Hi there,
I am from phase 4. Heard so much about the break ins that are going on in phase 3. Last month, there were 4 parang yielding men who broke in one of the houses there. I had sleepless nites after hearing this. As of yesterday, I heard 2 more attempted break ins in 1 of the semi Ds there.
Is everyone aware of this? Did anybody make any complains to the UEM, on their safety and security issues?
I did go to UEM to raise this issue, however, they wanted me to write officially so that the people 'on top' can do something about it.
ANy suggestions?

replyquote18 May 2009 05:13 AM connieteoh
novice - member 18 posts 0 permalink So terrible!!!
I would suggest group submission to UEM , only then they will act on it. Very disappointed, this area not only house quality not good, the security only not good.
Don't submit the letter to Nusa Idaman Services Customer dept, they are damm slow. Send directly to Headquater better.
Appreciate your information sharing.

iamapseudoneem

Thanks for compiling the comments and providing those links. I've actually already read those comments you posted before as part of our research (like I said I did a LOT of web surfing on "Nusa Idaman" :smile:). And on the flip side I've also read a few comments from people who are reasonably content/really looking forward to staying in NI. So I'm viewing all the online comments as part of the possible risk factors. No guarantees either way, right? I do agree with that winding road being unlit at night not being safe. Presently that road is closed from 7pm onwards (sign posted and barrier is down when we tried to go that way one evening) and the only access to NI is through the highway exit or the other long main road from Kota Iskandar side.
As you said, NI is more for those who want to live there so it fits very nicely with our plans :smile: It would be pretty sad (and scary) if we're staying in a row where most of the homes are empty weekdays due to people only visiting on weekends and/or waiting to rent/sell them out.
Anyway, our unit won't be ready until 2012 so we're hoping the surrounding developments (Educity, coastal highway, Puteri Harbour etc.) continue on and situation improves by then. As far as I know Precinct 8 security comes with access card system and CCTV at the guardhouse, or so the sales guy told us. Btw I know that at least one of the precincts that didn't have card access before has one installed recently due to the proactiveness of the resident committee. From what I gather the RC is pretty involved in the well-being of their precincts which sounds pretty cool to me (gotong royong spirit).
We're committed so we're looking on the bright side and will make the best of it :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ok from the same site:

fadzillah
rookie - member 8 posts 1 permalink
There are so many loopholes that allow this unfortunate circumstances to happen. The ultimate reason will definitely be the poor performance of the security guards. Don't get me wrong. The security guards are very nice people. But someone needs to emphasize the importance of certain security procedures to enhance the system. Rule #1: BE STRICT AND STERN TO OUTSIDERS.
Any owner who is expecting an outsource company (eg. aircon, security system, curtain. etc) will have to enquire on the vehicle number from the company and inform the security guards. ANY vehicle which claims to belong to the company, but does not tally with the mentioned number, will not be allowed in. If not, call the owner so that the owner can verify with the stipulated company. Simple Right? You don't need to be a rocket scientist to know the duties of being a security guard. Infact, it should be practiced since day 1 security guards were enforced.

But it is not being practiced here. I got to know that a neighbour had a broken hip from fighting with a burglar, who was allowed to enter Phase 3, BECAUSE, he pretended to be from a security company. Poor old man. And when security guards were asked what the culprit's vehicle number was, they mentioned, they forgot.

Forgot??? FORGOT????

Well darling, you are not supposed to remember in the first place. To start of with, you are supposed to jot down the vehicle number. THEN, you are supposed to exchange IC/Work Pass, with an entrance pass. and Third, you are supposed to escort these people in. Is this being practiced in Phase 3? No!!! And is this an attraction to potential robbers??? YES!! System is bad. So Someone PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS POOR SECURITY SYSTEM.

( Can UEM REALLY do something about this? I doubt so. I thought security is purely under the care of the committee in the residence? No? I'm not sure.)

Anyways, maybe there should be a new rule. In any case, anyone's house is broken into, the security company will have to bear for all the cost from the result of the burglary. Medical, losses. Everything.

On a different note: Can someone please explain to me why the lights in Phase 3 only switches on after 9pm daily???!!??? I heard complaints have been made. Maybe we should also tell the lighting company to bear for any loss in any case of mishap due to the lights not on, on time they should be.

Do I sound angry in this thread? I think I do. But you know what makes me angrier?

A complaint that falls on deaf ears or worse, a complaint that is SLOW in Response.

So someone Please Do Something about the Security AND the LIGHTS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!!! It will benefit all the residence. THANK YOU VERY MUCH!!!

To be fair to NI, the other side of the coin:

Hi Fud,

Welcome to the forum. Very happy to have you here. Mind if I ask? Are you local? From your lingo, you sound like my fellow country people. Yes?

I am a Singaporean. Coming from a "so-called safe" country and being a foreigner here, we are overly OVERLY kiasu over details, especially over the safety of our loved ones (and it's because we hear and read upsetting stories). I feel you. Trust me when I say that, these stories are so common. And it's just that other developers do not set up forums like this. Hence we do not know their side of the story. But, if you were to hang out at the local coffee shop, you will hear similar cases. Infact, it's all over the country. And all over the world!

Crimes are everywhere Fud. Personally, I experienced being followed when I was in Singapore. Not only that, there were things that happened when I was staying there, that I did not wish to elaborate. And they happened more than once! But I learnt from my experience and I take precautions myself. I do not take the same lift with strangers at night, I do not walk in dark areas, etc. What I experienced made me paranoid, that when I walk under the blocks alone at night, I have a feeling that I was followed, and before I knew it, I ran, for nothing. I felt silly! I am a woman, and I am more vulnerable to dangers. So far, I feel safe in Nusa Idaman and you can trust my words on this.

If I were to provide my opinion, on whether this place is a safe place for one to bring up a family? I'll say, OF COURSE LA!! =D

Why? Because, it is not as bad as how it sounds Fud. Yes. The security is not on par (at the moment). And they need a little wack! But security system is tangible. The committee has plans up their sleeves now. Give a little time, and there will be an revolution soon, in the security system.

But you know why I've chosen to make this place my home? Well, apart from wanting to maximize my dollar, I am here because I feel safe and I feel guarded. Maybe not 100% but mostly yes. (I still wake up at the slightest sound outside. Just in case. ) And you know why? Because the people are nice. They are VERY nice and warm. At the moment, we are not able to depend solely on the security. But you know what? I am very happy and glad that I have neighbours like my current ones, because we will look out for each other. Nusa Idaman is not my first home in JB, I used to stay in other development too. But where I used to stay, the neighbours had their doors shut most of the time, because, they refused to mix around. I was truly unhappy and it made me feel awkward staying there. Definitely not the kind of neighbourhood for my future children.

By far, I am experiencing the happiest moments here, in Nusa Idaman. I am a young woman and even though I reach home at night from work daily, I feel very safe so far. AND, my old father cycles around the neighbourhood almost everyday, between 2.30 - 4am, and he is not afraid. And in case you are curious as to why he cycles in the wee hour? It is because, we have 2 cats, and the cats like to roam outside during that time. My dad will cycle to patrol around the neighbourhood, making sure that my cats are not attacked by other cats. Talking about being protective! ( Maybe the neighbourhood should pay my dad for all the patrols that he has done. *smiles* )

You have made the right decision to make this place a Home for your family. That's definite!

But there are certain precautions/steps that you are to take:
1) Get to know your neighbours. Be friend with them. Malaysians are very nice and warm. Inform them when you are not at home, so that they can have a look out for you.

2) Install Grills and Lock up securely at night and when you are not at home. One victim's house was burglared because they do not install grills in the house. (Need I say more?)

3) Do not flaunt your wealth, too much. It is very inviting to potential culprits. I've met some victims of the burglary in this precinct before. I am sorry for them because they are always the victims. From my personal opinion, it is not entirely the security's fault. You know why? Because they don too much jewellery on them like they own the pawn shop! Big, thick, attractive and obviously expensive ones, mind you. They can go the entire world to stay, but they will always be "the attraction". Even in Singapore (the "so-called safe country")!

( Please take note that I am not creating stories, as above, to make you feel good about the neighbourhood where I am staying. )

So you see my dear Fud, the safety of your family, doesn't entirely lie in the hands of the security guards. Partially yes. But not entirely. Be wise.

Give the security guards some time. Trust the committee to have the system bucked up. Let's hope that by the time you shift in, you will enjoy the best that the security can offer. Meanwhile, we are looking forward to having you in the neighbourhood.

iamapseudoneem

Ok this posting that he also sent is in English version, seems there were break ins for NI but this was in 2009 May so i am sure its better now:

Yeah that's why I was constantly searching online for latest news on happenings at NI up to and even now after signing on the dotted line. I'm hoping that no further crime news post 2009 means that things are relatively safer there now! I'm still bummed that NI doesn't have it's own website though. Makes it seem like it's not a respectable development (compared to say HH or East Ledang). Funnily enough, the existing precincts each have their own blogs/forums (which sadly doesn't get updated too regularly if at all). I think it would be cool if all the precints came together under 1 collective forum/blog to share resources/news/ideas. Something for the future RC of Precinct 8 to consider maybe? :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Oh sure iamapseudoneem, no problem, thanks for sharing anyway. (Note to you and note to myself as well, never challenge in a forum to ask folks to google, for they will)

Oh yes, in HH there are still some (mainly those 2.5 storey clusters) that are not yet full. I see a lot of renovation very recently though and every day a new family or renovation is taking place. My row and the rows besides me are mostly full these days(current as of August).

I know this as i stay here most of the time and its not just a impression during a couple of visits. In most developments, not only NI or HH, people take time to move in, whether its rented, living there on weekdays and weekends. There may be weeks and even months before your neighbour move in and even then there is no guarantee that they will help you. You need to make an effort to know them and establish some kind of trust.

I have more than 3 neighours who hand me their keys when they are out or overseas. I will gladly handover my keys too as i have in the past. I still try not to hand over my main door one (unless i warn them in advance first) or for the rooms though as i normally leave something very interesting for intruders that i don't want anyone innocent to encounter.

Some of my closer neighbours here also know where to run to in case of emergency such as riots or attacks by zombies. :P

As i said before, i have never discounted NI fully but security wise normally we won't know for sure until we have started staying there.
As i said, i am sure the situation over there has improved like you said with card access, etc. They are clearly now doing things the right way.

No place is 100% crime proof, i am sure not even HH. Those of us who are here to contribute and share are helping their fellow countrymen by sharing their experience and opinion so there is no right or wrong as its just feedback for folks to consider.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Oh yes, i am sure you did your due dilligence and homework and i am sure everyone appreciate your sharing about your experience.
Cheers!!
:smile:

iamapseudoneem

Yeah just some sharing since not much recent NI stuff is posted online anyways. I'm still jealous of those staying at HH though! And I gotta admit those "The Hills" residence designs look so appealing! :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Hey iampseudoneem,

Sure, we are all here to share. :smile:

Nothing to envy or jealous about though, its just different developments meeting different needs and wants. Each has its own purpose and market.
The design for the terrace houses in NI are nothing to complain about. Full windows and built in balcony for some of the precints.

I am sure NI is still much better than compared to Ledang H, so much crime reported from the prospective tenants (caucasians) who came by HH today.

autoroam

Any Bro know wher this is located? Is it in Dangi Bay

Residences @ Waterfront
The most affordable alternative to Sentosa Cove, come to Johor Bahru where this Waterfront development will include new residential neighbourhoods surrounded by parks, cycle and walking tracks in a secure and gated community. With a foreshore hosting an international-standard Yacht Club and restaurants, residents will experience a truly sophisticated lifestyle. Waterfront homes will have boat access to the marina and the Straits of Johor.

Within beautiful tropical landscaping, secured neighbourhoods will deliver an idyllic “gardens and waterways” style of living for families and their guests. In this gated community, residents enjoy peaceful lives, confident that unobtrusive security is protecting their investments and their privacy around the clock.

Located in Iskandar Economic Zone in Johor Bahru, this area is poised for rapid development and property prices rise.

Semi-detached, Cluster houses also available. TOP mid-2012.

iamapseudoneem

Seems like more and more developments are coming up aimed at the mid to high priced market (especially with the minimum RM500K set for foreigners recently). Most, if not all, banking on the Iskandar/Nusajaya name and location to drive up the value. They're like mushrooms sprouting up after a downpour!
I wonder if there is a steadily growing oversupply of property and worry what will happen if/when the demand starts to slow down (if it hasn't started already). Just thinking aloud :smile:

Charlie258

Seems like more and more developments are coming up aimed at the mid to high priced market (especially with the minimum RM500K set for foreigners recently). Most, if not all, banking on the Iskandar/Nusajaya name and location to drive up the value. They're like mushrooms sprouting up after a downpour!
I wonder if there is a steadily growing oversupply of property and worry what will happen if/when the demand starts to slow down (if it hasn't started already). Just thinking aloud :smile:

If bubble, so what? If crash, so what? You are not buying to speculate, nor to make a fast buck. If you want to speculate for a fast buck, go Sinkiepoor or Hong Kong. Malaysia property is for the purpose of getting a nice place to stay in, away from the Rat Race.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Its at Danga Bay, quite near to the 1st link, its not too far from the 2nd link too. Its ok, pretty crowded in the area in the evenings as well as the weekend. There is a marina there with a few nice boats.

It reminds me of the old Marina South before it was ruined by over planning and high rent.

toyohon

charlie258, totally agree. I always tell people that I treat property purchase in Msia like buying/changing cars in sg - only much better that it is a freehold landed property that you can pass on to generations, unlike the 10 years depreciating piece of machinery:biggrin:.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Not to worry bro, iamapseudoneem.

Most of us are buying it to stay, at least 1-2 units are for own stay. Some of us who has more than 2 units here use the rest for rental.

This is not the best place to flip, flipping is good for other countries if you want fast and high returns.

Land are aplenty in JB, properties aplenty too but those with good location, accessibility and amenities will always have value. Its only starting to be expensive and the bubble is only forming now, even those who are getting in now or just got in, they won't be too affected as prices have not gone so high up yet as its just starting to reach KL standards. With the money to buy a 3 room flat in SG, you can still get a very decent place in JB.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Yes bro Toyohon, very true. My ex boss came to visit yesterday, now he is thinking of becoming my neighbour. :smile:

toyohon

Bro Wuqi, during my time, it was comparable to the purchase of a say, Honda Accord but since the raising of the threshold to RM500k, its now comparable to a 3-room HDB flat .... This site provides quite good current info on Johor properties ..http://www.thissit.com/Default.aspx

Dicktamby

talking about cars, i inquired about car loans from the banks here. Was told that I need to have a work permit and a local guarantor. But M**B*** say they can 'bend' the rules if i take the mortgage loan with them. Anyone got any experience with car loans in MY ?

danteakc

Oh sure iamapseudoneem, no problem, thanks for sharing anyway. (Note to you and note to myself as well, never challenge in a forum to ask folks to google, for they will)

Oh yes, in HH there are still some (mainly those 2.5 storey clusters) that are not yet full. I see a lot of renovation very recently though and every day a new family or renovation is taking place. My row and the rows besides me are mostly full these days(current as of August).

I know this as i stay here most of the time and its not just a impression during a couple of visits. In most developments, not only NI or HH, people take time to move in, whether its rented, living there on weekdays and weekends. There may be weeks and even months before your neighbour move in and even then there is no guarantee that they will help you. You need to make an effort to know them and establish some kind of trust.

I have more than 3 neighours who hand me their keys when they are out or overseas. I will gladly handover my keys too as i have in the past. I still try not to hand over my main door one (unless i warn them in advance first) or for the rooms though as i normally leave something very interesting for intruders that i don't want anyone innocent to encounter.

Some of my closer neighbours here also know where to run to in case of emergency such as riots or attacks by zombies. :P

As i said before, i have never discounted NI fully but security wise normally we won't know for sure until we have started staying there.
As i said, i am sure the situation over there has improved like you said with card access, etc. They are clearly now doing things the right way.

No place is 100% crime proof, i am sure not even HH. Those of us who are here to contribute and share are helping their fellow countrymen by sharing their experience and opinion so there is no right or wrong as its just feedback for folks to consider.

Hi,
MIA so long, good news. Got loan approve from UOB, Alliance and HSBC however now the worrisome thing is State Consent.
State consent. At what possibility that after I had paid for it that they will disapprove me?
Also do you know where can I buy nusery for plants and tall trees?
Went to Jalan Taman Molek. Very high end furniture. Comparable to Lorenzo and Harvey Norman. However lighting still quite far in terms of quality like Strauss and Egyptian crystal. Know where to find?
Alot of auto workshop there. Finally found michellin tyres workshop now trying to get quote.

Overall experience was heart pounding and everything open/close door had to look around alot of times.
Found Ceramic World but quite far fetch from Soon Bee Huat. Found the wet market.

"Some of my closer neighbours here also know where to run to in case of emergency such as riots or attacks by zombies. :P"
Care to msg me the place so that family know what to do?

Cheers
ps can discuss trading soon? Long term or day trading?

Status
Not open for further replies.