PDA

View Full Version : Living in JB

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 [46] 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64

euphony
29-10-2011, 04:44 AM
Speaking of which, have you seen the horrible purple house near the Rochester (Bt Indah) area? Even the concrete wall iis purple.

Nasty. there is a special place for these houses, like 6 ft under. :p

euphony
29-10-2011, 04:45 AM
Some may find it horrible but some find it unique. Hahaha. Its easy to spot, so you just tell your friend look out for the purple house, then mine is next to it. hahaha

you know what they say, takes an ugly to bring out the beauty beside it. :cool:

arsenal
29-10-2011, 04:46 AM
Tutucake,

I can assure you whether you buy an appt in Seaview Singapore, Orchard Road or a house in Sp Setia, they might also have problem.

Quoted this message which I think is quite meaningful.. (Just ignore any religion parts..)

"
Man: I understand. But I still can’t figure out. By the way, I was not expecting YOU to buzz me on instant messaging chat.

Jesus: Well I wanted to resolve your fight for time, by giving you some clarity. In this net era, I wanted to reach you through the medium you are comfortable with.

Man: Tell me, why has life become complicated now?

Jesus: Stop analyzing life. Just live it. Analysis is what makes it complicated.

Man: why are we then constantly unhappy?

Jesus: Your today is the tomorrow that you worried about yesterday. You are worrying because you are analyzing. Worrying has become your habit. That’s why you are not happy.

Man: But how can we not worry when there is so much uncertainty?

Jesus: Uncertainty is inevitable, but worrying is optional.

Man: But then, there is so much pain due to uncertainty.

Jesus: Pain is inevitable, but suffering is optional.
Man: Frankly in the midst of so many problems, we don’t know where we are heading.

Jesus: If you look outside you will not know where you are heading. Look inside. Looking outside, you dream. Looking inside, you awaken. Eyes provide sight. Heart provides insight.

Man: Sometimes not succeeding fast seems to hurt more than moving in the right direction. What should I do?

Jesus: Success is a measure as decided by others. Satisfaction is a measure as decided by you. Knowing the road ahead is more satisfying than knowing you rode ahead. You work with the compass. Let others work with the clock.

Man: In tough times, how do you stay motivated?

Jesus: Always look at how far you have come rather than how far you have to go. Always count your blessing, not what you are missing.

Man: What surprises you about people?

Jesus: When they suffer they ask, “Why me?" When they prosper, they never ask “Why me” Everyone wishes to have truth on their side, but few want to be on the side of the truth.
Jesus: Seek not to find who you are, but to determine who you want to be. Stop looking for a purpose as to why you are here. Create it. Life is not a process of discovery but a process of creation.

Man: How can I get the best out of life?

Jesus: Face your past without regret. Handle your present with confidence. Prepare for the future without fear.
"

Alamak... just when i was abt to feel better abt the negativities of my developer, you plant a new negative thought in my brain.... if the foundtion work wasnt done probably.... which is not unusual.... I did came across articles which says alot of the Sp Setia houses at Shah Alam are having cracked walls, pipes and drainage due to poor foundation work...

There are really 101 things that can go wrong if i'm gonna be the unlucky one... even houses at the very exclusive EL can have workshipman problems.... it's all about the kind of contractors the developer engaged....But then again, it could also be a case of developers engaging cheap cheap contractors, hence producing lok lok end product.... Things that we cannot control, just dont think abt them anymore... make ur life miserable only... i was a victim :*:

For now, my intention is to not shift in upon getting the keys... i'll give the house 1 year to withstand the rain, the heat, the soil shifting and also at the meantime wait for more occupants to shift in... every now and then i will go in and check for new defects....(also do more good deeds hopefully will help make everything soon soon) ensure that everything is okie liao then start reno...

euphony
29-10-2011, 04:47 AM
there's always gonna be these kind of people ard... same goes where there are ppl who put big ugly spoiler on their Audi thinking it's gonna give the an additional 5 horse power....

agree, sometimes the spoilers really spoil it. :D
having said that the self-deployed automatic types are quite nice, deploy on speeds and hides into the lines when not needed, that is design!

tutucake
29-10-2011, 04:55 AM
agree, sometimes the spoilers really spoil it. :D
having said that the self-deployed automatic types are quite nice, deploy on speeds and hides into the lines when not needed, that is design!

Yeah...some are nice...really adds a elegant sporty touch to a normal car (especially hatchbacks)

But i cannot tahan a nice car like Audi or VW with a nasty looking GT wing they call it on the boot.... what the heck...

contra
29-10-2011, 10:13 AM
Just to share an analysis to compare property investment between Sg and JB now.
I looked at median salary, typical rental and price for a 3BR condo in both countries.
I found that the "median salaried" guy would find it much more affordable to purchase or to rent a condo in JB.
I'm talking about earning JB salary for JB condo, compared with earning Sg salary for Sg condo.

I then looked at the 70th percentile salary in both countries which is more realistic.
I found that the "70th percentile salaried" guy would still find it much more affordable to purchase or to rent a condo in JB than in Sg.
Note that I guestimate the 70th percentile salary for JB.

& the thing is that rental yield is also better in JB despite the fact that it is more affordable to rent in JB.
So the notion that JB salary is not sufficient to sustain the JB property market does not seem to hold water to me.
It points to either JB properties undervalued, or Sg properties overvalued, or combination of both.
What do you think ?

Hi Aisanbo & all the JB landlords in this forum,

I think this is not so straightforward. Too many variables in JB. Just look at the variety of property available. But I am also curious to know what kind of people rent houses in JB esp in the new G&G places that command higher rents of around MYR2k ;

Situation:
Was having a discussion with my colleague the other day and he asked me what kind of rental returns he can get if invest in JB? I have seen quotes in this forum of MYR3k etc for HH terrace (for example). Then I also know some Americans keen on places in Nusajaya because needs more space that Singapore cannot provide with their budget. Question to the multiple-property landlords in this forum... is this reflective of the demography of tenants in JB today or this type (US expats who need more space) just a small minority ?

What type of profile of people pay MYR3k rent? Singaporeans & SPR Malaysians working in Singapore more likely? while Malaysians working in JB less likely I would guess? I do not know.

(For me, I buy to stay/weekend home so my motivation different).

Any one can help shed some light .... it will help me understand better to convey to my colleague who is looking to buy to rent. (PMs also can)...

Narmi
29-10-2011, 10:25 AM
Hey arsenal haha of cos! your nick suggest you're gunners fan...well, we'll have bbq while liverpool plays arsenal

Hei bro GP
Welcome to ni from another ni RedDevil worshipper ;) resident to be tho mine is in phase 4a. Maybe bro arsenal and i can join u nex yr when lpool vs manu vs gunner yah?

GorengPisang
29-10-2011, 04:13 PM
Hi, yeah i its 22x75 + 10 ft land near the lake, legal completion for mine is mid 2013, but i guess usually it'll be earlier by a couple of mths or so

Hi GorengPisang! Nice to see another NI neighbour in the forums! :) At first when I heard your lot is 32x75 I was surprised as that is pretty big. If that's the standard unit size at 8B then I'd say it's an increase from Phase 8A. Then I thought maybe you included the 10ft land as well? A unit at 8A is about 22x75. Is your unit close to the lake itself? Btw I'm vincentck's neighbour :)
So when will is the official date for receiving your keys for 8B? I'm supposed to get mine latest June 2012. Can't wait!

GorengPisang
29-10-2011, 04:14 PM
haha, so we've got arsenal, devils n reds here....and good to c more future NI neighbours here

Hei bro GP
Welcome to ni from another ni RedDevil worshipper ;) resident to be tho mine is in phase 4a. Maybe bro arsenal and i can join u nex yr when lpool vs manu vs gunner yah?

crystal_tiong
30-10-2011, 12:28 AM
Do check if they will rebate the 10k booking fee/deposit as part of the 10% down payment rebate. Also check whether they will absorb all the legal fees, stamp duty, progressive payment etc. Personally, I would prefer ND or NI. In my opinion, Nusa Sentral caters more to the local community. But as what everyone here says, each has their own preferences. :)

If you don't mind resale, I think you still can find resale unit in The Gateway within your budget. :)

Hi last resort

How's yr trip to ipropert at Mbs?
Hmm, resale I saw in e web. I dun quite like it. I buying for own stay so prefer brand new. Hee

cockcansing
30-10-2011, 01:18 AM
Was informed by my wife that there was a car overturn at the golf round about. Any news or photos?

avalon74
30-10-2011, 01:32 AM
Takes 3 weeks to rectify . Can you imagine if it happen after you renovated. The damn pipe leak right behind your kitchen cabinet ? They came , heck out a big part of your wall to locate where the leak ......replace a new PVC pipe again. Are they going to pay you your designer kitchen cabinet when they are done? Worse of all , this happen again maybe this time in your masterbed room , 3yrs after you moved in ? Why ? because when the soil shift , wall will crack and PVC pipes will give way one . Especially in JB where some developer cut coners on the foundation work. The only way out will be lay a new pipe without conceal .

The worst is if pipe burst underground where you do not detect until the water bill comes.. the rectification is also more complicated as you need to locate the section that is cracked..

avalon74
30-10-2011, 01:36 AM
Alamak... just when i was abt to feel better abt the negativities of my developer, you plant a new negative thought in my brain.... if the foundtion work wasnt done probably.... which is not unusual.... I did came across articles which says alot of the Sp Setia houses at Shah Alam are having cracked walls, pipes and drainage due to poor foundation work...

There are really 101 things that can go wrong if i'm gonna be the unlucky one... even houses at the very exclusive EL can have workshipman problems.... it's all about the kind of contractors the developer engaged....But then again, it could also be a case of developers engaging cheap cheap contractors, hence producing lok lok end product.... Things that we cannot control, just dont think abt them anymore... make ur life miserable only... i was a victim :*:

For now, my intention is to not shift in upon getting the keys... i'll give the house 1 year to withstand the rain, the heat, the soil shifting and also at the meantime wait for more occupants to shift in... every now and then i will go in and check for new defects....(also do more good deeds hopefully will help make everything soon soon) ensure that everything is okie liao then start reno...

Think Setia paid a hefty price for Shah Alam soil issue & make sure it did not affect them in the 4 developments in Johor.. just be more vigilant during VP inspection

Puteri harbour
30-10-2011, 02:24 AM
Thank for the read Investor.

The train has rolled out of the station. It is steadily increasing pace now. Not too late to hop on with some effort, but it is picking up speed. For those who are still contemplating, don't hesitate further. Now is the right time! :)

Hi, i am new to this forum.
Great to find that many of you are strong believer of the Johor properties. I am a strong believer, especially nusajaya city due to the many developments that is announced and committed.
Any updates on imperia, puteri harbour? What is your views on the pricing of between 600-900psf for imperia?

lastresort
30-10-2011, 02:32 AM
Hi last resort

How's yr trip to ipropert at Mbs?
Hmm, resale I saw in e web. I dun quite like it. I buying for own stay so prefer brand new. Hee

Great, managed to meet a few HH marketing staff there as well as bankers who usually station at the HH sales office, met one of the guest speakers, and was honored to have a chat and dinner with Iproperty co-founder Mr J Tay, he shared briefly with me his views on Iskandar Malaysia. He and a guest speaker joined us for dinner, the Iskandar Malaysia discussion was good, I was told there will be more news to be announced sometime later, more developers from KL and Penang are coming in, and other things that we already know. EL and many other JB developments also have booths there! :)

Puteri harbour
30-10-2011, 02:50 AM
Hi all, I am new to the forum.
Glad to know that there are so many believers of Johor properties, especially nusajaya city.
With so many development announced and committed, I believe that IDR will take off led by nusajaya.

Cheers....

rhino
30-10-2011, 08:19 AM
Hi all, does anyone know about the 5-storey lifestyle office at Indah Walk 3?
Keen to invest in a small office around the central area...
Or you might know any other office that is nearby?

arsenal
30-10-2011, 08:27 AM
"Water woes at Ion's loos force closure of toilets
Unusually low pressure forces Orchard Road mall to close toilets; one restaurant unable to serve drinking water to customers"

30oct2011...

Aisanbo
30-10-2011, 10:55 AM
Just wondering how do bros here pay your mortgage in Malaysia.

My plan is to use a flexi-linked loan account where they will calculate your interest payable based on remaining principal minus the balance in the current account.
Transfer 1 years worth of installments into the current account and let it be deducted every month.
Extra money sitting in there is actually helping me save interest costs. (though there's a RM10 monthly fee for the facility)
I'll transfer the money from Sg to My about once every yr.
Not logical to do it monthly and incur the additional TT charges.

For the money transfer, I'm thinking of www.pay2home.com.
It charges $9 every transaction to any malaysia bank account regardless of amount remitted.
Currency conversion rates is supposed to be better than banks.
Any bros used b4 ?

I read somewhere that can use moneychanger to transfer to malaysia account. But I'm not sure they are doing it the 'licensed' way and there's a maximum amount per transaction, I think.

IskandarRocks
30-10-2011, 11:36 AM
Hi, i am new to this forum.
Great to find that many of you are strong believer of the Johor properties. I am a strong believer, especially nusajaya city due to the many developments that is announced and committed.
Any updates on imperia, puteri harbour? What is your views on the pricing of between 600-900psf for imperia?

Check out page 528 and 544. I have posted my views and a few links. The launch price is around 40% higher than most other condos in the area, such as Impiana at East Ledang. The premium is justified, to me personally, given the potential views of the Marina facing units, location, proximity to the future CIQ, and the quality of materials as seen in the showflat. I guess it really depends on what your preferences are. If waterfront living is something that excites you, this may not be a bad option.

I hope I am not sounding like an agent. :)

wuqi256
30-10-2011, 11:57 AM
Hi all, please don't use Mr Liu from now on for renovation as my relatives just got very high quotes from him even though we don't get anything.

Please use this contractor instead as my relatives had very good experience with them:

CHOON KONG RENOVATION & CONSTRUCTION
NO. 29, JALAN COKMAR 1, TAMAN SRI TEBRAU
80050, JOHOR BAHRU, JOHOR

HP: 016 7118729

crystal_tiong
30-10-2011, 12:07 PM
Hi all, please don't use Mr Liu from now on for renovation as my relatives just got very high quotes from him even though we don't get anything.

Please use this contractor instead as my relatives had very good experience with them:

CHOON KONG RENOVATION & CONSTRUCTION
NO. 29, JALAN COKMAR 1, TAMAN SRI TEBRAU
80050, JOHOR BAHRU, JOHOR

HP: 016 7118729
Bro wuqi
thanks for sharing this info ...

yonglip
30-10-2011, 12:12 PM

My plan is to use a flexi-linked loan account where they will calculate your interest payable based on remaining principal minus the balance in the current account.
Transfer 1 years worth of installments into the current account and let it be deducted every month.
Extra money sitting in there is actually helping me save interest costs. (though there's a RM10 monthly fee for the facility)

It charges $9 every transaction to any malaysia bank account regardless of amount remitted.
Any bros used b4 ?

I read somewhere that can use moneychanger to transfer to malaysia account. But I'm not sure they are doing it the 'licensed' way and there's a maximum amount per transaction, I think.

hi bro..i m using interest offset also...makes sense to do it as Sing savings interest rates are pathetic.

i had a quick check on your pay2home...2.4128? this is worse than bank's TT rates...2.44

mine is instant trans from CIMB Sing to CIMB M'sia...u can check my earlier post for details.

cheers bro .

Aisanbo
30-10-2011, 12:47 PM
hi bro..i m using interest offset also...makes sense to do it as Sing savings interest rates are pathetic.

i had a quick check on your pay2home...2.4128? this is worse than bank's TT rates...2.44

mine is instant trans from CIMB Sing to CIMB M'sia...u can check my earlier post for details.

cheers bro .
Thanks bro. Will take note at their exchange rate.....

thegolf
30-10-2011, 02:42 PM
Google Earth Update

Horizon Hills

The Gateway

The Golf

Drops of Jupiter
30-10-2011, 03:36 PM
Some good news:
The coastal highway entrance outside Horizon Hills (right turn from HH) which was blocked by concrete bollards is now OPEN.
But only the turn towards Danga Bay (and Woodlands) is accessible, the 2nd link / Nusajaya route is still cordoned off.
Also, along the coastal route, the ramp (on the right hand side, after Danga Bay) leading up to the road leading to the CIQ is now open, allowing us to skip the annoying traffic light near thistle hotel.

SeriAustinian
30-10-2011, 06:33 PM
Great, managed to meet a few HH marketing staff there as well as bankers who usually station at the HH sales office, met one of the guest speakers, and was honored to have a chat and dinner with Iproperty co-founder Mr J Tay, he shared briefly with me his views on Iskandar Malaysia. He and a guest speaker joined us for dinner, the Iskandar Malaysia discussion was good, I was told there will be more news to be announced sometime later, more developers from KL and Penang are coming in, and other things that we already know. EL and many other JB developments also have booths there! :)

Hi Bro Lastresort,
U mean the dinner at Marina Bay Link Mall? Jus a coincidence I joined a group of like-minded frens n met another bro (n sis-in-law) from this forum as well as Mr J Tay too!

Hi Puteri harbour,
Popped by UM Land booth n they were creating awareness about their upcoming low-rise condo fronting the marina with unblocked view. It was marketed by a SG real estate agency whose staff was not too well-informed about the project (few of them haven even been to Puteri Harbour as well as the location / direction there). A young lady informed me it was about RM1.0M and the smallest unit starts from abt 1000sqft. That equates to RM1000psf!!! If it is true, UM Land must either be very optimistic about the global financial situation or they are very very greedy to even surpass the selling price of Imperia by such a margin (in terms of psf)...

SeriAustinian
30-10-2011, 06:52 PM
Bro, so you bought Seri Austin and HH?
I hv checked out Seri Austin, didn't like the location, find it a bit too"deep" in...saw the houses that were on top of the hill and hv a nice view of jb city and surrounding -those with this view fully sold...nice but somehow, didn't hv that feeling about the place..and yes, prices hv not moved here though it is just a stone throw away from Setia's development! That's why I dun understand same location and same build up but price difference is huge!!!

Bandar Dato Onn , plan to check it out this weekend...anything to lookout for apart fr the cables,

Also, I think location of bandar dato Onn is way way much better than seri Austin, it's just on the way out o the NSHW, probably less than 3 mins if I not wrong...recall on the way out to Setia tropika, it was on the left side of the road next to an empty huge field! It's just like bukit indah but minus the jusco and commercial hub,

Fully agree that Bandar Dato Onn's location is much better. Not too far off from Kempas where the transport hub is gonna b in future too. I jus hv that "feel" about Seri Austin la, despite being more "ulu". Moreover intend to blend in w the locals n lead a quiet life when we retire. Different strokes for different folks la.

Any good find during the weekend?

horizonhills
30-10-2011, 11:55 PM
UM is simply learning to become like Singapore Far East developers. Near the roundabout of Mindef they are launching a SOHO cum shopping centre type.. I wont be surprised if they launch at S$1500 psf even though the average FREEHOLD prices of the condo is only $900 psf. I suspect UM is trying to launch at "future" price.

Hi Bro Lastresort,
U mean the dinner at Marina Bay Link Mall? Jus a coincidence I joined a group of like-minded frens n met another bro (n sis-in-law) from this forum as well as Mr J Tay too!

Hi Puteri harbour,
Popped by UM Land booth n they were creating awareness about their upcoming low-rise condo fronting the marina with unblocked view. It was marketed by a SG real estate agency whose staff was not too well-informed about the project (few of them haven even been to Puteri Harbour as well as the location / direction there). A young lady informed me it was about RM1.0M and the smallest unit starts from abt 1000sqft. That equates to RM1000psf!!! If it is true, UM Land must either be very optimistic about the global financial situation or they are very very greedy to even surpass the selling price of Imperia by such a margin (in terms of psf)...

checkers
31-10-2011, 12:09 AM
Eating in JB

Chef Wah Restaurant (Air conditioned)

We ordered Cereal Prawns, Soup (great soup), Crayfish, Vegetable, Roasted Chicken(very well done), Tofu. Total Bill : 200 RM for six. Generally food is tasty and well presented except for the vegetable (not young shoots - so not crunchy). Service is excellent.

One of the Zhi Char coffeeshops (Fans and quite clean)

We ordered bullfrogs cooked in rice wine (yummy), sotong (delicious), vegetable, tofu, tom yam soup plus drinks. Total bill is RM 70 for four. Service is ok. One of the barley drinks comes with 'ants' and is a little too sweet. Vegetable is a little bitter.

Always remember to tell them not to add too much salt, ajinomoto, oil and sauce. Good to tell them how to cook the vegetables. Otherwise you may get a plateful of soggy vegetables piled with sauces. That is if you are particular with food like me :) Home cooked food is still the BEST .

checkers
31-10-2011, 12:12 AM

Any bros used b4 ?

Have you all tried getting a term loan in singapore ? Interest in singapore is much lower. Your singapore property must be fully paid up though. :D

spidey
31-10-2011, 12:57 AM
Fully agree that Bandar Dato Onn's location is much better. Not too far off from Kempas where the transport hub is gonna b in future too. I jus hv that "feel" about Seri Austin la, despite being more "ulu". Moreover intend to blend in w the locals n lead a quiet life when we retire. Different strokes for different folks la.

Any good find during the weekend?

Thanks to all Bros and Sisters here - I have taken the plunge over the weekend and paid a deposit for a place - met most of my requirements, corner house with land...and found the location and price(way below my budget) as well as the surrounding pretty good..

Thanks again for all the feedback and tips given here...

Cheers..

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 01:37 AM
Thanks to all Bros and Sisters here - I have taken the plunge over the weekend and paid a deposit for a place - met most of my requirements, corner house with land...and found the location and price(way below my budget) as well as the surrounding pretty good..

Thanks again for all the feedback and tips given here...

Cheers..

wow spidey , u so fast hand and fast leg.
Happy for u !
Do u mind sharing with us where u bought ?
let me guess , is it Nusa Idaman ?

abugumgum
31-10-2011, 01:45 AM
Thanks for the update.

Some good news:
The coastal highway entrance outside Horizon Hills (right turn from HH) which was blocked by concrete bollards is now OPEN.
But only the turn towards Danga Bay (and Woodlands) is accessible, the 2nd link / Nusajaya route is still cordoned off.
Also, along the coastal route, the ramp (on the right hand side, after Danga Bay) leading up to the road leading to the CIQ is now open, allowing us to skip the annoying traffic light near thistle hotel.

IskandarRocks
31-10-2011, 03:26 AM
UM is simply learning to become like Singapore Far East developers. Near the roundabout of Mindef they are launching a SOHO cum shopping centre type.. I wont be surprised if they launch at S$1500 psf even though the average FREEHOLD prices of the condo is only $900 psf. I suspect UM is trying to launch at "future" price.

Is this the serviced apartment they have tied up with Ascott? If that is the case, the RM 1000 PSF may be because of some guaranteed returns over a few years.

spidey
31-10-2011, 03:32 AM
wow spidey , u so fast hand and fast leg.
Happy for u !
Do u mind sharing with us where u bought ?
let me guess , is it Nusa Idaman ?

Noleh - not around the 2nd link...

Family went to check out Austin and Bandar Dato Onn as recommended by our fren here...and found Bandar Dato Onn pretty decent in terms of location, price and quality..the good thing is there are a couple of units for us to select from
Family was cracking our head as to what we want interms of build up space or side land - in the end we opted for side land with lower build up (actually it's quite decent 1,940 sq feet) + side land vs build up of 2500 sq feet but without land...

aangsc
31-10-2011, 03:47 AM
Is this the serviced apartment they have tied up with Ascott? If that is the case, the RM 1000 PSF may be because of some guaranteed returns over a few years.

Visited Imperia at Puteri Harbour, seems to be selling rather well from the look of the "sold!" chart. The biggest penthouse at 6640 sqft was sold for over RM6M. Cheapest unit is over RM800 psf. I think it will have quite a nice view if the place is well maintained and if place whole Marina project is sustainable. Still wonder where the crowd come from beside SG. Was told 25% sold to Japanese and 45% Singaporean. Unit also come partially furnished .Any brother here with pro and con input of this project. I personally find distance into Marina is far from highway but was told there will be a CIQ for people coming by ferry from Raffles Marina, no idea whether Singapore side already agree to that ? If yes, then it is quite nice trip from Marina to Marina .

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 03:50 AM
Went with relatives to check on their defects for Nusa Duta, surprisingly few.
Shared some tips and ideas but didn't want to impose my ideas too much as its their place
and should be done to their tastes and wants. ND is slightly more relaxed for home renovation.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 03:52 AM
Bro aangsc, confirmed they will be able to do the ferry arrangment but price is a little. Plus live firing at the camp in SG may not be so good especially if over the weekends. Last i heard though, this may be cut down given the spirit of cooperation between the 2 countries now.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 03:57 AM
Another relative had issues with his neighbour who kind of damaged some part of his house
when doing renovation. He is starting his own renovation today so invited him to stay over
and wrote a letter for him to IJM management.

A friend of mine showed some new friends around during the weekend and i think they really
like the place now. Yet another colleague just pinged me asking about semi-ds available in
Gateway.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:01 AM
Went to "car city" in Kulai to look for car accessories and noticed that prices of 2nd hand cars
also tend to be slightly lower as compared to what you will find in our area.

Found that Mega Raizin (real one = purple colour with blue cables, capacitor wording on the capacitors are in bold
Works is quite ok but the one at the car city are selling mainly fakes.

Anything below 300 plus is usually a fake. Lots around. Also, some of the Bil-Speed stuff,
just got a few. They also sell the "power charger" VS which links directly to the alternator.
This one, my mechanic swears by it. A bit expensive if i have to buy one for every car though
so i settled on Mega Raizin for now.

So far so good, with all the K&N filters, VS, grounding, P6 tyres, 12v solar charger (for batt)
all my cars, at least made sure that i have done all the easy "installs" for all the cars.

I am kind of a standardization guy so i made all the cars pretty standard in terms of what they
have. I tried the XGold engine oil additive too as well as the X1R for the transmission. Works
well so far.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:02 AM
Congrats Spidey, welcome to the far north :)

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:03 AM
Nice food there and thanks for sharing Checkers

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:04 AM
Went over to BH for a quick revisit and saw that they have done pretty nice things. The show unit is really really nice, like the design and the room sizes. Just avoid the show house that row which is besides those drainage ponds, etc. My personal preference if i have to buy BH would be those inner ones that are further in from the main road.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:07 AM
My wife and one of my neighbours mentioned about the experience the other day at when we were surrounded by fog/mist in HH. Opinions are mixed, mostly good but my wife told me it felt a bit like Genting as it was nice and cool when it came. I wish i was there, either enjoy the serenity or the flipside, the "Silent Hill" experience. :)

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:09 AM
Even the Kulai side has new highways which are soon to be opened, took one which was partially blocked and was very quickly on my way back to Kulai, should cut down the travel time by 10 minutes i think. Saw the JPO and took some pictures, saw that its really coming along nicely.

aangsc
31-10-2011, 04:11 AM
Bro aangsc, confirmed they will be able to do the ferry arrangment but price is a little. Plus live firing at the camp in SG may not be so good especially if over the weekends. Last i heard though, this may be cut down given the spirit of cooperation between the 2 countries now.

Ah yes, that Live firing question did bother me somewhat as I know even a 81mm mortar bomb can reach mudland. However, if illumination bomb is fire, it can be quite nice ligh-up at night like candles in the sky.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:13 AM
Some good news:

Thanks Jupiter for sharing, i was actually there in HH looking when they had the ceremony with a couple of blue tentages. Its only partially though, yes. Its opened for a while now but it really helped to speed things up especially when going towards the first link. Really starting to see things taking shape. Its a weird thing, to see what you believe appearing right before your eyes. Wife said to me when she saw all the recent developments, we are really living your dream for real.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:14 AM
Was informed by my wife that there was a car overturn at the golf round about. Any news or photos?

Haven't seen anything like that, scary though. Hope its not one of those F1 wannabes. I am more the rally type of guy so definitely keeping it slow and safe.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:15 AM
Guys who need space, lots of it in the car? Then you might want to consider the Hyundai Starex (5 years or 300k warranty)
Its really good and runs quiet even though its using diesel. Sits 11 comfortably.

One Vellfire can buy 2-3 of these. Made a booking and saw that one of my neighbours just got one.

Those who need a cheap and good MPV, then probably Perodua Alza(recommended rightly by my former good bro), the
maintenance is really low and very fuel efficient. Not very fast though but then again, 200kmph and above is not a really good
speed to be hauling a lot of people you love along the highways.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 04:20 AM

I have no more bullets now but if i have, i would buy shops purely from an investment point of view.
The main caveat though is LOCATION, LOCATION and.................................... LOCATION

Buy one that is bad, you will definitely have problems unless you are able to stay there or use it to
do some of your own business. Like my learned neighbour always told me about his bad experiences
in JJ or Permas Jaya. Lots of car modding shops in Permas Jaya though. Saw a car mod shop still open
at almost 2am near the 1st link (KSL side)

cockcansing
31-10-2011, 04:57 AM
Haven't seen anything like that, scary though. Hope its not one of those F1 wannabes. I am more the rally type of guy so definitely keeping it slow and safe.

My wife told me it happened about 9pm, and police were there and some neighbours there too to take some photos. Was hoping to see some photos of the accident. A tow truck was called to bring it up and tow away i guess. But the driver was not injured. Hopefully not the lambo guy, cos the dad will be piss about it huh? Well now they have to be careful of that conner.

Cheers

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 05:03 AM
My wife and one of my neighbours mentioned about the experience the other day at when we were surrounded by fog/mist in HH. Opinions are mixed, mostly good but my wife told me it felt a bit like Genting as it was nice and cool when it came. I wish i was there, either enjoy the serenity or the flipside, the "Silent Hill" experience. :)

oh , i went to see BH last sat again and it was raining , i saw the ceiling has the stain and floor was wet at 1 part , in 1 of the show house in the middle.
Guys ,please take note .

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 05:15 AM
Noleh - not around the 2nd link...

Family went to check out Austin and Bandar Dato Onn as recommended by our fren here...and found Bandar Dato Onn pretty decent in terms of location, price and quality..the good thing is there are a couple of units for us to select from
Family was cracking our head as to what we want interms of build up space or side land - in the end we opted for side land with lower build up (actually it's quite decent 1,940 sq feet) + side land vs build up of 2500 sq feet but without land...

oh i c , i yet to explore there ...
Once again , congrats!

yonglip
31-10-2011, 05:27 AM
Went over to BH for a quick revisit and saw that they have done pretty nice things. The show unit is really really nice, like the design and the room sizes. Just avoid the show house that row which is besides those drainage ponds, etc. My personal preference if i have to buy BH would be those inner ones that are further in from the main road.

With current prices at 700K for the smallest unit, BH has aligned itself in terms of price with BI and ND. i reckon new launches within 1KM from the area of Giant/Teso/Jusco will be min 750K hereon....500+ is history liao. For bros with limited budget, NI's latest launches at phase 8 would be the next best alternative...

cheers.

jasonjst
31-10-2011, 05:39 AM
I have no more bullets now but if i have, i would buy shops purely from an investment point of view.
The main caveat though is LOCATION, LOCATION and.................................... LOCATION

Buy one that is bad, you will definitely have problems unless you are able to stay there or use it to
do some of your own business. Like my learned neighbour always told me about his bad experiences
in JJ or Permas Jaya. Lots of car modding shops in Permas Jaya though. Saw a car mod shop still open

Prices for shophouses very big range , can be from 1M to 2.5M for a typical 3-storey unit ! Very difficult to tell which one is "wang or not" . But I feel is a good move, since it has not move as much as residential units .

yonglip
31-10-2011, 05:48 AM
oh , i went to see BH last sat again and it was raining , i saw the ceiling has the stain and floor was wet at 1 part , in 1 of the show house in the middle.
Guys ,please take note .

yes. i think i saw it too the last time i went to see..it could be structural or the aircon pipes leaking onto the false ceiling..

thats why i am not making the L box or false ceiling for my new house..as any leaks will be v difficult to repair. I learnt this the hard way in Sing...i currently stay on the top floor of my block and the ceiling does leak too....so my Lbox/false ceiling is slightly damaged as well..HDB come and say cannot do repair unless want to remove false ceiling..

cheers.

cathylmg
31-10-2011, 05:50 AM
.....And I dare say, buying into living in JB, if you manage your finances properly can even speed up the goal of getting a place in SG I recently casually observed...

Care to share with us how?

cathylmg
31-10-2011, 06:01 AM
....For now, my intention is to not shift in upon getting the keys... i'll give the house 1 year to withstand the rain, the heat, the soil shifting and also at the meantime wait for more occupants to shift in... every now and then i will go in and check for new defects....(also do more good deeds hopefully will help make everything soon soon) ensure that everything is okie liao then start reno...

I did just that. Although it took 4 months to finish all the rectification works, my renovation only started 1 year after I got the key. I think its the norm for a lot of JB houses. My house in Setia Tropika. So far no problem for me. If that is any consolations to you. ;)

cathylmg
31-10-2011, 06:06 AM
Tutucake,

I can assure you whether you buy an appt in Seaview Singapore, Orchard Road or a house in Sp Setia, they might also have problem.

Quoted this message which I think is quite meaningful.. (Just ignore any religion parts..)

"
Man: I understand. But I still can’t figure out. By the way, I was not expecting YOU to buzz me on instant messaging chat.

Jesus: Well I wanted to resolve your fight for time, by giving you some clarity. In this net era, I wanted to reach you through the medium you are comfortable with.

Man: Tell me, why has life become complicated now?

Jesus: Stop analyzing life. Just live it. Analysis is what makes it complicated.

Man: why are we then constantly unhappy?

Jesus: Your today is the tomorrow that you worried about yesterday. You are worrying because you are analyzing. Worrying has become your habit. That’s why you are not happy.

Man: But how can we not worry when there is so much uncertainty?

Jesus: Uncertainty is inevitable, but worrying is optional.

Man: But then, there is so much pain due to uncertainty.

Jesus: Pain is inevitable, but suffering is optional.
Man: Frankly in the midst of so many problems, we don’t know where we are heading.

Jesus: If you look outside you will not know where you are heading. Look inside. Looking outside, you dream. Looking inside, you awaken. Eyes provide sight. Heart provides insight.

Man: Sometimes not succeeding fast seems to hurt more than moving in the right direction. What should I do?

Jesus: Success is a measure as decided by others. Satisfaction is a measure as decided by you. Knowing the road ahead is more satisfying than knowing you rode ahead. You work with the compass. Let others work with the clock.

Man: In tough times, how do you stay motivated?

Jesus: Always look at how far you have come rather than how far you have to go. Always count your blessing, not what you are missing.

Man: What surprises you about people?

Jesus: When they suffer they ask, “Why me?" When they prosper, they never ask “Why me” Everyone wishes to have truth on their side, but few want to be on the side of the truth.
Jesus: Seek not to find who you are, but to determine who you want to be. Stop looking for a purpose as to why you are here. Create it. Life is not a process of discovery but a process of creation.

Man: How can I get the best out of life?

Jesus: Face your past without regret. Handle your present with confidence. Prepare for the future without fear.
"

To code 1 example. The wall of my HDB flat crack at year 3. Rain water sipped in through the wall. In the end, my buildin wall cabinate dropped off. HDB only repaired the external part. There goes my cabinate! :(

arsenal
31-10-2011, 06:19 AM
My brother has a crazy but interesting idea. He suggested to buy a land in guarded place like leisure farm. Then buy a container to use as a house. Everynow and then he can go there for camping and barbecue, and can use the club house toilets for washing and so on.. and wait for capital appreciation on the land... and may pass the land for future generation..

arsenal
31-10-2011, 06:21 AM
Hi Wuqi,
your mail box is full...but no problem..I 'll reply you later when you clear the box..
Cheers..

yonglip
31-10-2011, 06:25 AM

hi bro..this is my take on investing there...

setia is a sensible developer who is keen to see the whole place come together and work beautifully. couple of years ago, i was similarly skeptical when the meek sales girl told me "we are going to build a big shopping mall called JUSCO here, there will be bla..bla.." haha..the rest is history..

i understand they have kept level 1 of the retail stretch along indah walk for themselves and selling only levels 2 & 3 onwards...that tells you they are in it for the long haul....preferring rental income so that they can control the ambience of the place...to have a good tenant mix for indah walk...not a rojak mix of tenants that normally plague owner occupied shops.

the place is a centre of gravity for things...you can be assured there will be demand for ancillary services (office rentals) once the whole place is built up..

cheers.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 06:43 AM
All,

My humble 2 cents, things to look out for houses whether buying from developer or subsale:

Check out for wet stains or dried yellowish or dark stains on the ceilings
Check for signs of water seepage into the walls especially near the outdoor area
Check for serious cracks especially around 2nd floor, near the corners/edges of the rooms where
the wall meets the ceiling

I would agree definitely with some forummers here, all of the houses have no false ceiling, occupational
hazard as i always want to ease up on troubleshooting.

Your preference and inclination may vary/differ. There are always lemons in every development, even the
world best watches or car makes may have lemons. Just don't accept it as a lemon and get the developer
to make good.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 06:45 AM
Your brother is not crazy, the only issue is will the developer allow him to do that over time, as in long term. Once or twice, i definitely don't think they will even notice. If i have bullets, i would definitely consider but shops at Bukit Indah, etc are a better bet right now if you want appreciation and fast. This sounds feasible though and is good for future generations.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 06:45 AM
Hi Wuqi,
your mail box is full...but no problem..I 'll reply you later when you clear the box..
Cheers..

My apologies, it has been cleared already. Thanks

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 06:47 AM
yes. i think i saw it too the last time i went to see..it could be structural or the aircon pipes leaking onto the false ceiling..

thats why i am not making the L box or false ceiling for my new house..as any leaks will be v difficult to repair. I learnt this the hard way in Sing...i currently stay on the top floor of my block and the ceiling does leak too....so my Lbox/false ceiling is slightly damaged as well..HDB come and say cannot do repair unless want to remove false ceiling..

cheers.

I didn't see it though as it was a dry day when i went there and they might have cleaned up already. One time, the worst showhouse was during the time we went to the Setia Show village long ago. It was raining outside, it rained inside too. This was the unit with the red egg shaped seat.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 06:49 AM
Prices for shophouses very big range , can be from 1M to 2.5M for a typical 3-storey unit ! Very difficult to tell which one is "wang or not" . But I feel is a good move, since it has not move as much as residential units .

Hey jasonjst, actually shops have moved more than residential depending on where you are looking. Some have more than doubled and are costing as much as a semi-d in HH or more. Any shops that is 3 storey, freehold and below 1m around Bukit Indah, i will get if i could.

yonglip
31-10-2011, 06:53 AM
I didn't see it though as it was a dry day when i went there and they might have cleaned up already. One time, the worst showhouse was during the time we went to the Setia Show village long ago. It was raining outside, it rained inside too. This was the unit with the red egg shaped seat.

haha...yep. i remembered that unit bro..not too long ago only..

arsenal
31-10-2011, 07:07 AM
Can Singaporean buy those 2 storey shop houses outside Horizon Hills?

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 07:09 AM
Can Singaporean buy those 2 storey shop houses outside Horizon Hills?

Cannot, unless you set up a company, if i could, then i would have bought a couple already.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 07:10 AM
haha...yep. i remembered that unit bro..not too long ago only..

It was actually more than 2 years ago when i first went there and saw it raining, i even tried to move things out of the way and closed the door for them when i saw water splashing in through the side entrance.

cathylmg
31-10-2011, 07:45 AM
Heard from a relative that next year there will be a downturn. Any advise on rental return for JB houses?

arsenal
31-10-2011, 08:02 AM
Heard from a relative that next year there will be a downturn. Any advise on rental return for JB houses?

All the news and even feng shui masters are saying there will be a downturn next year especially on property.. Not just in malaysia, but everywhere in the world... So buy within your mean..and prepare to hold longer term... Malaysia property especially just beginning to have a rise after so many years as compared to Singapore..should be able to tahan better right?

euphony
31-10-2011, 08:06 AM
Care to share with us how?

sis sent u pm, hope it helps :p
btw I dun profess to be expert. just experiment here and there a bit to find the best fit.

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 08:06 AM
All the news and even feng shui masters are saying there will be a downturn next year especially on property.. Not just in malaysia, but everywhere in the world... So buy within your mean..and prepare to hold longer term... Malaysia property especially just beginning to have a rise after so many years as compared to Singapore..should be able to tahan better right?

buy within mean is 1 issue , losing job is another issue .....
hearing all this news makes me wonder wan to commit a property leh ...
if only we can withdraw CPF money out anytime then I am not afraid of recession ...

euphony
31-10-2011, 08:09 AM
:D imagine telling people, I am going to LF to camp! wah lao. I think finally, EL/LH/LF will see some potential action from its proximity to medini yet still be landed residentials. let's see what the future brings!

My brother has a crazy but interesting idea. He suggested to buy a land in guarded place like leisure farm. Then buy a container to use as a house. Everynow and then he can go there for camping and barbecue, and can use the club house toilets for washing and so on.. and wait for capital appreciation on the land... and may pass the land for future generation..

arsenal
31-10-2011, 08:18 AM
if only we can withdraw CPF money out anytime then I am not afraid of recession ...

Hi Crystal, I have a friend holding very high post in govt on urban planning.. He should be an expert in property.. However until today he has yet purchased any property.. Since year 2004, he has said the property price is too high and not sustainable.. Until now he is saying the same thing.. If you are buying a house in Singapore, I will ask you to think twice as it is too expensive... If you are buying a house in JB, I think it is still affordable by Singapore standard.. So have some cushion in case you lose your job.. maybe 0.5 to 1 year of saving in case you can't find a job?

Donkey years ago when I first purchase my exe flat at a high, I was very worried if I lose my job.. However thanks goodness, youth is a strength and easily employable.. Don't wait until you are too old.. I think... Maybe find a hubby to share the burden with you? ha ha.. A good hubby worth 10 houses..

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 08:23 AM
Hi Crystal, I have a friend holding very high post in govt on urban planning.. He should be an expert in property.. However until today he has yet purchased any property.. Since year 2004, he has said the property price is too high and not sustainable.. Until now he is saying the same thing.. If you are buying a house in Singapore, I will ask you to think twice as it is too expensive... If you are buying a house in JB, I think it is still affordable by Singapore standard.. So have some cushion in case you lose your job.. maybe 0.5 to 1 year of saving in case you can't find a job?

Donkey years ago when I first purchase my exe flat at a high, I was very worried if I lose my job.. However thanks goodness, youth is a strength and easily employable.. Don't wait until you are too old.. I think... Maybe find a hubby to share the burden with you? ha ha.. A good hubby worth 10 houses..

Hi Arsenal

Hahaha , suay suay i get a hubby which I have to share burden of his financial probs , then die la ....
Best to rely on myself ...

arsenal
31-10-2011, 08:25 AM
:D imagine telling people, I am going to LF to camp! wah lao. I think finally, EL/LH/LF will see some potential action from its proximity to medini yet still be landed residentials. let's see what the future brings!

No lah.. LF houses are very nice.. very resort feeling definitely not a camping ground.. and it is also very expensive as well.. However for Singaporeans who want to use it as a weekend house, it is perfect... I simply love it.. However talking about maintaining another house, cleaning, renovation, etc...it require lots of effort..

Talking about simple investment, it is not bad to own a bare land with guarded security..

aangsc
31-10-2011, 08:29 AM

Ha Ha , that day will come when the sun rise from the west.
A more definite way is throw in your pink IC, but first find a country that take you in.
With so much negative news about coming downturn , make me wonder how of the price keep rising in SG and MY.
Even today papers said many developers are rushing it out before price soften.

arsenal
31-10-2011, 08:30 AM
Hi Arsenal

Hahaha , suay suay i get a hubby which I have to share burden of his financial probs , then die la ....

Ai yo.. did you read my earlier quotes on Jesus conversation to a person... Read again... I find that very meaningful...

arsenal
31-10-2011, 08:36 AM
Maybe QE 3 or 4... Remember 2008 financial crissis? Nobody expect property price in Singapore to shoot up.. How I wish to have another citizenship.. It will make me feel more balanced as compared to the FT working in Singapore.. in which I can still find a place to retire and call home when no longer economically viable to our $$$ first govt..

Ha Ha , that day will come when the sun rise from the west.
A more definite way is throw in your pink IC, but first find a country that take you in.
With so much negative news about coming downturn , make me wonder how of the price keep rising in SG and MY.
Even today papers said many developers are rushing it out before price soften.

yonglip
31-10-2011, 08:37 AM
Hi Arsenal

Since you are into JB houses, would strongly suggest you keep a look out for M'sian hubby...worth 24.6 houses according to bro Arsenal's standards....haha..just kidding hor.

cheers.

arsenal
31-10-2011, 08:38 AM
Since you are into JB houses, would strongly suggest you keep a look out for M'sian hubby...worth 24.6 houses according to bro Arsenal's standards....haha..just kidding hor.

cheers.
1 S$ = MY2.46..
10 S$ = 24.6... I see see

aangsc
31-10-2011, 08:38 AM
Hi Crystal, I have a friend holding very high post in govt on urban planning.. He should be an expert in property.. ..
Is your high ranking frenz working for SG govt ? So even when the old MahBT said our housing is affordable , the insiders are saying otherwise.
Actually I am not surprise as I know a current minister's brother already got ride of all his ppties since last dec and renting now. Why ? Is the storm coming ?
The people in inner circle certainly have some news not accessible by the ordinary folks here .

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 08:40 AM

cheers.

hahaha , maybe ....
but i think msian man will think sporean woman too Materialstics liao ..

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 08:42 AM
Ai yo.. did you read my earlier quotes on Jesus conversation to a person... Read again... I find that very meaningful...

got read few times liao .... but still reality .....

euphony
31-10-2011, 08:43 AM
very resort feeling definitely not a camping ground..

we're both just making comments in jest la. :D
actually talking about space, the kids are really the ones who'd enjoy it most. play catching can hide whole day.
for adults and older folks, cleaning and maintenance is enough to break the back already esp DIYers.

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 08:44 AM
1 S$ = MY2.46..
10 S$ = 24.6... I see see

u ah , still purposely typed out ....

arsenal
31-10-2011, 08:56 AM
Is your high ranking frenz working for SG govt ? So even when the old MahBT said our housing is affordable , the insiders are saying otherwise.
Actually I am not surprise as I know a current minister's brother already got ride of all his ppties since last dec and renting now. Why ? Is the storm coming ?
The people in inner circle certainly have some news not accessible by the ordinary folks here .

In year 2005, govt use the casino concept and world class monaco living standard to push up the economy.. Then they piss people off by rising their pay and bonus as if the world is coming to an end and make the hay while they could..

Anyway be ignorance is good.. Beside property, one can still invest in other means.. Now is too late to flip property, but for long term holding, it is ok.. So many "smart"people have sold their properties and on rental since 2008...

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 09:07 AM
In year 2005, govt use the casino concept and world class monaco living standard to push up the economy.. Then they piss people off by rising their pay and bonus as if the world is coming to an end and make the hay while they could..

Anyway be ignorance is good.. Beside property, one can still invest in other means.. Now is too late to flip property, but for long term holding, it is ok.. So many "smart"people have sold their properties and on rental since 2008...

erm still can invest simi ah ?
Can use cpf to buy gold when its low price then hold till price go up since cannot withdraw cpf?

jasonjst
31-10-2011, 10:55 AM
Hey jasonjst, actually shops have moved more than residential depending on where you are looking. Some have more than doubled and are costing as much as a semi-d in HH or more. Any shops that is 3 storey, freehold and below 1m around Bukit Indah, i will get if i could.

I like the few rows of shophouses just opposite of Jusco . Enquired about it last year but was all taken out .Managed to got one two storey unit along the RHB bank , Nusa Bestari .:)

tutucake
31-10-2011, 11:03 AM
I did just that. Although it took 4 months to finish all the rectification works, my renovation only started 1 year after I got the key. I think its the norm for a lot of JB houses. My house in Setia Tropika. So far no problem for me. If that is any consolations to you. ;)

I think the situation is slightly different with the bukit indah houses... many of them are eager to do reno and shift in as i would say most are locals working in singapore... they want to quickly move in so that they stop staying in their current rented place...

Just worried that if i only start my reno after my immediate neighbours have moved in, i will be a nuisance to them...

thanks for the consolation cathylmg....hope luck will be with me as well...

ShawnLow
31-10-2011, 12:43 PM

Thanks for bro wuqi ur thoughts is js same like mine i bought at the middle row middle house which will avoid the car sound(tat 1 is 2nd link high way)

Besides that ppl kindly take note the show house is 36x75 which is 760k+++(i tink i is 8xx k now) the actual size u may visit middle row for 32x75 which is slightly smaller bt overall still very big n comfortable =) i got 1 worry which is they may have leaking prob for those who bought there too plz take note of the leaking

31-10-2011, 12:46 PM
Eating in JB

Chef Wah Restaurant (Air conditioned)

We ordered Cereal Prawns, Soup (great soup), Crayfish, Vegetable, Roasted Chicken(very well done), Tofu. Total Bill : 200 RM for six. Generally food is tasty and well presented except for the vegetable (not young shoots - so not crunchy). Service is excellent.

One of the Zhi Char coffeeshops (Fans and quite clean)

We ordered bullfrogs cooked in rice wine (yummy), sotong (delicious), vegetable, tofu, tom yam soup plus drinks. Total bill is RM 70 for four. Service is ok. One of the barley drinks comes with 'ants' and is a little too sweet. Vegetable is a little bitter.

Always remember to tell them not to add too much salt, ajinomoto, oil and sauce. Good to tell them how to cook the vegetables. Otherwise you may get a plateful of soggy vegetables piled with sauces. That is if you are particular with food like me :) Home cooked food is still the BEST .

Yeah I ever took lunch at Chef Wah restaurant and they have many lunch dishes at Rm6.80 per dish on weekdays, not seafood type but include chicken, veg, tofu, eggs etc dishes, plenty of selection and very affordable. Best thing is it is air-con restaurant and not coffee shop.

Drinks come with ants...hehe I took the mee hoon kuey at the Golden coffee shop (the one on the same stretch of road as the 88 coffee shop on the way to HH), came with a fly in the soup.

31-10-2011, 12:51 PM
Went with relatives to check on their defects for Nusa Duta, surprisingly few.
Shared some tips and ideas but didn't want to impose my ideas too much as its their place
and should be done to their tastes and wants. ND is slightly more relaxed for home renovation.

Hi Wuqi, can share how to do defect checking? If you don't mind, can share your checklist?

LeMans2011
31-10-2011, 01:03 PM
Can use cpf to buy gold when its low price then hold till price go up since cannot withdraw cpf?

Can. But only 10% of your ordinary account can be used for gold related products.

Aisanbo
31-10-2011, 01:09 PM
Hi Wuqi, can share how to do defect checking? If you don't mind, can share your checklist?

I also wonder if a professional building inspector would be useful to save all the headaches.
http://www.architectcentre.com.my/ac/p3.asp?id=7
Defects Liability Inspection Report (additional charge applies)

A comprehensive visual inspection in accordance to the Architect Centre’s standard inspection format.
Purpose:
A report prepared on behalf of the Client for the purpose of submitting to the developer to make good defects under defects liability claims.

When should it be done?
Upon Vacant Possession and before the expiry of the Defects Liability Period
Anytime from the date of Vacant Possession to before the expiry of the Defects Liability Period, provided that extensive renovations have not been carried out.

crystal_tiong
31-10-2011, 01:09 PM
Can. But only 10% of your ordinary account can be used for gold related products.

Gold related product? Can't buy e pure gold ah?

jasonjst
31-10-2011, 01:11 PM
Thanks for bro wuqi ur thoughts is js same like mine i bought at the middle row middle house which will avoid the car sound(tat 1 is 2nd link high way)

Besides that ppl kindly take note the show house is 36x75 which is 760k+++(i tink i is 8xx k now) the actual size u may visit middle row for 32x75 which is slightly smaller bt overall still very big n comfortable =) i got 1 worry which is they may have leaking prob for those who bought there too plz take note of the leaking

Dont worry BH houses there wont leak one . They have metal roof structure / powder coated metal roof , unlikely to leak . Should last at least 30years , for such design. Why I know ? I just checked my shophouse at the same are , hence should be similar design they are using lor .
Talking about makan at Chef Wah , you guys can also try the craypot rice at Old Place , located at last row behind Chef Wah.

mathstub
31-10-2011, 01:57 PM
Bro Wuqi, I have just got a chance to look at the posts here after leaving for so many days. I am so sorry to hear that you have encountered such a jerk who made use of your kindness. Anyway, lessons are learnt. I am sure this type of things should not happen to you again in the future.

I am definitely not prominent but i have bought 3 units resale, the rest straight from the developer. 2 to invest and 1 was at least 50% because i wanted to help someone i thought was my "bro". Anyway hard lesson learnt there. No issues with the other 2 units subsale.

The main problem (actually only problem) i had with a subsale was in the unit i bought from this "bro".
The one i thought was my only real friend in Johore.

Anyway its really sad but to cut a long story short, towards the end, didn't honour what he said earlier and made it worse by repeatedly promising (and not delivering) and not transferring DMC. Even said i maligned him when i spoke online about it(when first i tried to contact him many times and he did not respond for months) Then sent me rude SMS when i said i wanted to resolve this amicably. Maybe i wasn't tactful or nice enough. For all the shennigans, in the end, he did all this in vain. Lawyer side told me lots of stuff and in a way some of the people he knew also tried to drum me up to take action but i declined, just felt sad enough at that time.

Turns out in the end it would affect him adversely if the DMC (with HH and etc) wasn't completed (taxation and other issues) and then he asked lawyer side to chase me repeatedly.(probably fearing i would do the same to him)

I didn't want to make things difficult for him and by the time the lawyer side called me, i already did all the necessary things and paid up the necessary stuff so the transfer went ahead smoothly. He probably will never know this but i paid all the tax stuff ahead already for him before i even did the rest of my other properties, didn't want to affect him buying other properties as he is still young.

Still, no hard feelings any more but just to share all on the pitfalls, just get all the paperwork done and don't just depend on trust no matter how much you like or trust someone. Imagine, back then i trusted this guy more than alot of my family members.

I still do alot of business based on trust but i learnt a hard lesson in life.

mathstub
31-10-2011, 02:00 PM
Bro, Mind sharing how much you spent on furnishing and renovating the houses you rented out? I have heard one needs to pay high percentage of tax if you are a foreigner and earn rental income, right?

Bros who are thinking of buying properties here mainly to rent out. Only some areas are good, most aren't so great, at least not yet.

A bro of mine has several and most of his are terraces. His are $2500-$2800. He shared with me only has one family (his tenants) that he likes a lot (i actually recommended them to him if i am not mistaken) so always kept low for them. My semi-d neighbours has no issues with renting out at 5000MYR or more. These are fully furnished units, just sharing some experience in The Gateway, your mileage may vary.

I was able to rent out some units and some references:

The Gateway:
1. Terrace - $2600 MYR
2. Terrace - $2800 MYR
3. Cluster - $3600 MYR

All fully furnished with aircon units, curtains, dining sets, wardrobe sets water heaters, sofa sets, queen/king sized beds, lighting/fans, kitchen stoves, etc. Only things required are some shelves/cupboards and personal clothing. Average of 1-3 months within taking of keys to rent out. Rented without the use of agents except for the Cluster one as i wanted a higher price.

euphony
31-10-2011, 02:04 PM
how to do defect checking?

i'm lucky in a sense, the very sales rep whom i interacted with turned up on the day I got my keys. She went through 1 round of checking pointing things out to the estate manager nudging him to record them as defects (fairly minor) even as I was scratching my head and what to look out for. Perhaps you could ask the person who dealt with u? The sales reps go in and out of houses much I think they might have a keener eye.

yonglip
31-10-2011, 02:08 PM
Dont worry BH houses there wont leak one . They have metal roof structure / powder coated metal roof , unlikely to leak . Should last at least 30years , for such design. Why I know ? I just checked my shophouse at the same are , hence should be similar design they are using lor .

yes. roof is metal with steel truss and radiant barrier. saw it when they put it up.

mathstub
31-10-2011, 02:09 PM
Bro Wuqi, just realize you were sick. Please take care and hope you have recovered.

Wuqi, health is worth much more than wealth ... :)

mathstub
31-10-2011, 02:11 PM
Do we reserve the right to ask the tenants to live if we find out they do not take care of our property properly? Of course, how to ask tenants to leave is another practical difficulty. Anyway has experience in this?

The rental market target in Johore is small and the "classier/richer" ones will get those high-end G & G Tamans. I have friends who rented out their landed terraces and besides the usual problem of delays in rent payments, the sight of the condition of the houses really breaks their heart. Not to mention the extreme cases where evicting tenants becomes near impossible.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 02:16 PM
Bro, Mind sharing how much you spent on furnishing and renovating the houses you rented out? I have heard one needs to pay high percentage of tax if you are a foreigner and earn rental income, right?

Each about 30k on average. Yes up to 26% if you are foreigner but not if you are a tax resident here. As in if you stay here at least 182 days a year, you qualify and can just pay the tax from 1-26% (depending on your income bracket) as if you are a local. Certain deductions apply to you too. :)

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 02:18 PM

Buy bonds and gold. If you have spare cash, buy real gold from UOB or if you want, go online and get Canadian Maple Gold coins.
Good way to hedge against inflation if one is certain about prospect of golf appreciating further.

mathstub
31-10-2011, 02:19 PM
Bro, May I know what the dimension of land next to your house for the corner lot?

Hey Gin! Yeah of cos i rem u, well i got myself a corner end lot at NI! :D well not as convinient as Duta, but it has a nice residential environment. Would have taken a unit at Duta but i was still in initial stage of search at that time. But no regrets, both are ncie developments. U are also waiting for completion eh?

yonglip
31-10-2011, 02:25 PM
i'm lucky in a sense, the very sales rep whom i interacted with turned up on the day I got my keys. She went through 1 round of checking pointing things out to the estate manager nudging him to record them as defects (fairly minor) even as I was scratching my head and what to look out for. Perhaps you could ask the person who dealt with u? The sales reps go in and out of houses much I think they might have a keener eye.

agree bro. sales rep in general is helpful. but still they work for developer. such tactics could be deployed as a distraction that takes your attention away from critical defects which are costly for developers to rectify. they will appear helpful and point out multiple but sometimes frivolous defects. end of the day, you have the impression they have helped you a lot in spotting and rectifying the problems. sorry for being paranoid bro...but you will be surprised how many tricks sales people have up their sleeves.

for bros with no prior knowledge what to look for, one way is to hook up with a reno contractor and get him to go through the house. he will be more keen to get the critical defects rectified so that it will make his job that much easier when the carry out reno later. example, if the kitchen tiles are hollow, he will be quick to point it out cos he has to mount the cabinets later.

cheers.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 02:26 PM

Very good words of wisdom. Debt incurred for gambling, etc = in vain. Debt incurred while one is still young and
banks willing to lend for properties, etc = a good way to leverage on ones youth while it still there.

Imagine if you are already 50-60, even if you are still gainfully employed and drawing a decent salary, how many
banks would loan to you and even there, for how long? How long more does one intend to work when one is already 60?

Another 20 years and straight to final resting place 6 feet under? When wouldthey allow us to rest and take a breather?
I certainly would not be moving about much nor being able to enjoy much of life at age 85 unless i am still hale and healthy.

Demographics about life expectancy does not equate to reliability of mortality 10-20 or 30 years from now.
It may be longer or even shorter. Who can say for certain? The experts? We see so many studies that are
proven to be wrong by yet another study and yet another. Who can say for certain? The only 2 things
certain in life are death and taxes. No one can guarantee an age where one would live to when the very people
making such rules are subject to the same uncertainities about death.

Its just an arbituary number that they put up there when they talked about age 85.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 02:28 PM
Thanks Mathstub for your kind words.
One more such case and i would really lose faith in most people.
I still want to believe people would do the right thing and still
give chances even when we shouldn't.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 02:34 PM

The main critical defects i have mentioned, mainly the roof and the flooring area.
Its a bit subjective as some have homogeneous tiles outside whilst others have it
done differently. Yet others have ceramic tiles while others have parquet or hardwood
flooring. I would look at the critical parts and bring along my contractor to help check.

Always make sure you inspect the manhole and major points of the house for sewerage
and drainage. Also check on electrical wiring as well as water pressure etc.

I didn't use a checklist but i would go inside the house first, inspect each room and then bathroom of each floor and moved from
top to bottom. Once i make it to the exterior, i would then inspect further. Go with some rolls of black tape (ubiquitous but always
essential) and use it to mark out areas where you find suspect. Hairline cracks on walls are very common. Check on tiles on stair
cases if they are hollow or if the glue has dried out on parquet flooring.

A 20 cent coin would do nicely as a "tapping" tool and the sound would inform you of the condition. (doesn't matter if its MYR or SGD)

mathstub
31-10-2011, 02:37 PM
When I was in the US, I saw a lot of times some house owners hired some professional people to inspect and check for defects for them and commented on what looked right and what did not. Are there some professional people who do this type of job in Johor? There are also professional people who do valuation of the value of the house after its renovation or make an estimate how much the landed property is worth after doing a certain degree of renovation.

mathstub
31-10-2011, 02:43 PM
Bro Wuqi, what is the land size on the side of semi-d house? Mind sharing? thanks.

Another relative had issues with his neighbour who kind of damaged some part of his house
when doing renovation. He is starting his own renovation today so invited him to stay over
and wrote a letter for him to IJM management.

A friend of mine showed some new friends around during the weekend and i think they really
like the place now. Yet another colleague just pinged me asking about semi-ds available in
Gateway.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 02:51 PM
When I was in the US, I saw a lot of times some house owners hired some professional people to inspect and check for defects for them and commented on what looked right and what did not. Are there some professional people who do this type of job in Johor? There are also professional people who do valuation of the value of the house after its renovation or make an estimate how much the landed property is worth after doing a certain degree of renovation.

Yes, not a lot here but the contractors, especially those who are mainly doing your neighbours one might know best as they already went through some rounds of checks before you. Lots of firms do valuation but not all are done very accurately. Those renovation that increase your total sqft has a slightly better chance to increase the value.

wuqi256
31-10-2011, 02:53 PM
Bro Wuqi, what is the land size on the side of semi-d house? Mind sharing? thanks.

I can't remember now but normally the semi-ds in The Gateway is about 35x80. Land size differs quite a bit. Those units near to the road side like No. 88 has very little land to speak of.

euphony
31-10-2011, 02:54 PM
agree bro. sales rep in general is helpful. but still they work for developer. such tactics could be deployed as a distraction that takes your attention away from critical defects which are costly for developers to rectify. they will appear helpful and point out multiple but sometimes frivolous defects. end of the day, you have the impression they have helped you a lot in spotting and rectifying the problems. sorry for being paranoid bro...but you will be surprised how many tricks sales people have up their sleeves.

for bros with no prior knowledge what to look for, one way is to hook up with a reno contractor and get him to go through the house. he will be more keen to get the critical defects rectified so that it will make his job that much easier when the carry out reno later. example, if the kitchen tiles are hollow, he will be quick to point it out cos he has to mount the cabinets later.

cheers.

good point! I did not think of that though i did not need any renovations. an independent professional 3rd party is an insurance policy in itself. how i did it was i look up, my mum looked down sales rep covered everything in between :D

again I count myself lucky, 1 month plus moving in. the house has weathered through storms without leaks, 2nd floor water pressure is strong, mopping the floor myself, i don't feel empty tiles. Cross fingers I hope it stays in this state though...

avalon74
31-10-2011, 03:02 PM
I think the situation is slightly different with the bukit indah houses... many of them are eager to do reno and shift in as i would say most are locals working in singapore... they want to quickly move in so that they stop staying in their current rented place...

Just worried that if i only start my reno after my immediate neighbours have moved in, i will be a nuisance to them...

thanks for the consolation cathylmg....hope luck will be with me as well...

Like what Wuqi & other forumers say, inspect during VP for cracks & water seepage..
You can visit the place after rain to check on the condition..

For me, even did the backyard extension also no problem with heavy rain..
Go ahead & renovate after key collection, besides you are already paying for the place so why not use it.. :)

euphony
31-10-2011, 03:10 PM
i have reading news after news of multiple severe accidents since fri up till today. hope everybody here are safe and without incidence. touch wood.
as much as i sympathize with the victims, I think next year car insurance...

lastresort
31-10-2011, 04:50 PM
Hi Bro Lastresort,

Hi SeriAustinian, I'm sure we attended the same dinner without knowing. =) great, I think you know who I am lah.. haha. But I still don't know who you are.

Puteri harbour
31-10-2011, 04:57 PM
Silver better...... Also from uob. Just my two cents worth.....

Cheers

GorengPisang
31-10-2011, 05:27 PM
Hi bro, just a little extra info to make your house hunting easier....landed estates comes with corners, end lots and intermediate.

Corners: Usually comes with big garden, maybe 15 - 20 ft? (noticed most of the time have odd/triangular shaped garden for corner houses, as the word corner suggest, are at the end/beginning of the road, thus the odd shape, of course there are also huge nice squarish ones)
End lots: 2 types of end lots;

a) End lot with no garden, just windows at the side, slightly more exp than intermediate.
b) End lots with small strip of land/garden beside, and usually these garden strips varies in size

Mine is (b), i was told typically its 8-10ft, mine is slightly bigger at 11+ ft, so dimension is 11x75. However do note that the boundary wall wil take up about 2ft of your garden space, so i suppose usable garden strip is only abt 9ft...if u just want some extra space for a small garden/tea table or some plants then end lot with garden will be suitable...if u want to have space for kids to play, cycle or run around or an outdoor dining table to entertain 10 guest, then a corner might be a better choice. Hope that helps.

Bro, May I know what the dimension of land next to your house for the corner lot?

mathstub
31-10-2011, 06:02 PM
Thanks for this great info, Bro Wuqi.

Each about 30k on average. Yes up to 26% if you are foreigner but not if you are a tax resident here. As in if you stay here at least 182 days a year, you qualify and can just pay the tax from 1-26% (depending on your income bracket) as if you are a local. Certain deductions apply to you too. :)

mathstub
31-10-2011, 06:06 PM
Bro Wuqi, really a good idea to seek help from the neighbors' contractors. I wonder whether they are willing to do just the inspection but not renovation.

Yes, not a lot here but the contractors, especially those who are mainly doing your neighbours one might know best as they already went through some rounds of checks before you. Lots of firms do valuation but not all are done very accurately. Those renovation that increase your total sqft has a slightly better chance to increase the value.

mathstub
31-10-2011, 06:11 PM
Hi Bro, thank you very much for the following detailed information. Corner lots are often quickly taken up by others after they are released. Not sure whether there is any opportunity (having sufficient money at the right time) to get the corner lots in the future.

Hi bro, just a little extra info to make your house hunting easier....landed estates comes with corners, end lots and intermediate.

Corners: Usually comes with big garden, maybe 15 - 20 ft? (noticed most of the time have odd/triangular shaped garden for corner houses, as the word corner suggest, are at the end/beginning of the road, thus the odd shape, of course there are also huge nice squarish ones)
End lots: 2 types of end lots;

a) End lot with no garden, just windows at the side, slightly more exp than intermediate.
b) End lots with small strip of land/garden beside, and usually these garden strips varies in size

Mine is (b), i was told typically its 8-10ft, mine is slightly bigger at 11+ ft, so dimension is 11x75. However do note that the boundary wall wil take up about 2ft of your garden space, so i suppose usable garden strip is only abt 9ft...if u just want some extra space for a small garden/tea table or some plants then end lot with garden will be suitable...if u want to have space for kids to play, cycle or run around or an outdoor dining table to entertain 10 guest, then a corner might be a better choice. Hope that helps.

mathstub
31-10-2011, 06:13 PM
I have also noticed the piece of land next to the semi-D can be a lot smaller than that next to the terrace house at the corner.

I can't remember now but normally the semi-ds in The Gateway is about 35x80. Land size differs quite a bit. Those units near to the road side like No. 88 has very little land to speak of.

checkers
31-10-2011, 11:22 PM
Hi all

The Home Defect Rectification Checklist in the link below might be helpful. :)

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/385900

checkers
31-10-2011, 11:24 PM
I have also noticed the piece of land next to the semi-D can be a lot smaller than that next to the terrace house at the corner.

Yup..that is if you are comparing terrace with a corner and a intermediate Semi Detached. But the house types are of a different class .

Puteri harbour
31-10-2011, 11:28 PM
Wuqi, you are really an asset to the forum....

Cannot agree more With your view on leveraging for properties....

The cheapest loans is mortgage loan and mortgage loans allows term as long as 30-40 years depend on age.

The the asset(property) appreciate more than interest and inflation rate over the mid-long term. Only thing need to take care is cash reserves... The more you leverage, the more cash reserves you should have.... Reserves of 4-8 years of installments payment will almost guaranteed you a 100% positive returns on property investment......

Hope it is helpful....

crystal_tiong
01-11-2011, 12:33 AM
Buy bonds and gold. If you have spare cash, buy real gold from UOB or if you want, go online and get Canadian Maple Gold coins.
Good way to hedge against inflation if one is certain about prospect of golf appreciating further.

Hi Bro Wuqi

Thanks for sharing .
Me no spare cash , only wan to use cpf to make some money instead of relying on Govt interest and misuse our hard earned money....

tutucake
01-11-2011, 01:26 AM
Like what Wuqi & other forumers say, inspect during VP for cracks & water seepage..
You can visit the place after rain to check on the condition..

For me, even did the backyard extension also no problem with heavy rain..
Go ahead & renovate after key collection, besides you are already paying for the place so why not use it.. :)

I will definitely check for leaks on my roof after rain... But sekali Singapore heavy rain, then rush in liAo then realize Bukit indah having a sunny day.... Any way to get a daily weather report of Bukit indah? Hehe...

Hey... I'm abosutely gonna extend my living room... How much u paid for ur extension?Care to share?

aangsc
01-11-2011, 01:33 AM

Does 35x80 means 2800 sqft of builtup ? Actually I always find it confusing if that is accurate.
Can anyone give a brief lesson how to tell from the dimension of 20x70 , 26x80, 35x80 etc.
My case of 26x80 is 3000 sqft builtup, how does the calculation work ?

cleyeo
01-11-2011, 03:08 AM
Does 35x80 means 2800 sqft of builtup ? Actually I always find it confusing if that is accurate.
Can anyone give a brief lesson how to tell from the dimension of 20x70 , 26x80, 35x80 etc.

Bro, this is what I understand.

26X80, referring to the size of your land.
As for the 3000 sqft builtup, it refers to the total area of the building/house itself (minus the garden, if any). The more floors you have, the bigger the builtup size will be.

GorengPisang
01-11-2011, 03:26 AM
Landed properties have 2 sizes that we have to take note of:

a) Land size
b) Built up size (usually refers to internal areas+balcony upstairs+aircond ledges

20x70, 32x70, 40x80 refers to the land size, its different from built up sizes, intermediate terraces with 20x70 land might have different built-up sizes, take Nusa Duta semi-d for example, their earlier batch of 40x80 semi-d has similar built up as their clusters which are 32x70, so sometimes bigger plot size doesnt mean bigger living spaces.

In Spore developer does not reflect the dimention in eg. 20x70 etc etc, instead its just 1400 sqf land, 2000 sqf built up (in spore min plot size is smwhere 1600+ sqf, developers cant built a house on anything smaller than that.

aangsc
01-11-2011, 04:02 AM
Landed properties have 2 sizes that we have to take note of:

a) Land size
b) Built up size (usually refers to internal areas+balcony upstairs+aircond ledges

20x70, 32x70, 40x80 refers to the land size, its different from built up sizes, intermediate terraces with 20x70 land might have different built-up sizes, take Nusa Duta semi-d for example, their earlier batch of 40x80 semi-d has similar built up as their clusters which are 32x70, so sometimes bigger plot size doesnt mean bigger living spaces.

In Spore developer does not reflect the dimention in eg. 20x70 etc etc, instead its just 1400 sqf land, 2000 sqf built up (in spore min plot size is smwhere 1600+ sqf, developers cant built a house on anything smaller than that.

I prefer SG way really straight to the point.....mine is 26x80 with built up 3000 and the land size is 3700sqft , how to explain the math here ?
Still confuse how to calculate although I know my unit size. My guess is 26x80 is the size of land that the ground floor build-up sit on and it does not indicate garden size or complete plot size.

Aisanbo
01-11-2011, 04:31 AM
I prefer SG way really straight to the point.....mine is 26x80 with built up 3000 and the land size is 3700sqft , how to explain the math here ?
Still confuse how to calculate although I know my unit size. My guess is 26x80 is the size of land that the ground floor build-up sit on and it does not indicate garden size or complete plot size.
26x80 is the standard land plot size for the intermediate.
If yours is corner and 3700 sf land, means the corneer land is about 1600 sf. Right?

GorengPisang
01-11-2011, 04:43 AM
26x80 refers to teh standard lot size in the estate/house model/type. So instead of having differing sizes within the same estate/taman which might be confusing, all houses similar to yours will be reflected /presented as 26x80 (by looking at this size we know it is a superlink)....of course with the exception of corners & end lots.

So its pretty simple, 26x80=2080 sqf (the plost size your house is sitting on)
Land 3700-2080=1620 sqf (your corner garden size)
Your garden dimension therefore : 1620/80= 20 ft (20x80)

So u have a superlink 26x80 house, and its a corner unit with 20ft extra land.

Total dimension: 46x80

Of course in Singapore landed properties are not the norm, majority live in aprtments (hdb & condo), so we're not that accustomed with it, this is smthing commonly known for malaysians

aangsc
01-11-2011, 05:31 AM
26x80 refers to teh standard lot size in the estate/house model/type. So instead of having differing sizes within the same estate/taman which might be confusing, all houses similar to yours will be reflected /presented as 26x80 (by looking at this size we know it is a superlink)....of course with the exception of corners & end lots.

Of course in Singapore landed properties are not the norm, majority live in aprtments (hdb & condo), so we're not that accustomed with it, this is smthing commonly known for malaysians

Thank you bro ! That's the most complete explanation I get so far. Now I understand how it is interpreted.

aangsc
01-11-2011, 06:39 AM
Those looking for cleaning service can try the one below.
Suria supply and cleaning services.
607 3322881 / 019-7444797

Operation manager : Saffie Nasir 6019-7611345.

2bFree
01-11-2011, 07:33 AM
^^Thanks for the link! Getting tired of cleaning the whole place on my own :D

aangsc
01-11-2011, 07:55 AM
^^Thanks for the link! Getting tired of cleaning the whole place on my own :D
I can understand how you feel especially if you are those weekend stay over type,it is meant to be a relaxing and enjoyable stay but ended up tired from the cleaning.
I did that for a year and finally 'handed' over to a tenant to take care. Occasionally still pop over to see but cannot enjoy the stay anymore. Next time got $ would invest on a smaller unit.
Still miss the quiet night, the morning air and chirping birds. :-)

cockcansing
01-11-2011, 08:24 AM
Those looking for cleaning service can try the one below.
Suria supply and cleaning services.
607 3322881 / 019-7444797

Operation manager : Saffie Nasir 6019-7611345.

Thanks bro Aangsc

01-11-2011, 10:13 AM
I also wonder if a professional building inspector would be useful to save all the headaches.
http://www.architectcentre.com.my/ac/p3.asp?id=7
Defects Liability Inspection Report (additional charge applies)

A comprehensive visual inspection in accordance to the Architect Centre’s standard inspection format.
Purpose:
A report prepared on behalf of the Client for the purpose of submitting to the developer to make good defects under defects liability claims.

When should it be done?
Upon Vacant Possession and before the expiry of the Defects Liability Period
Anytime from the date of Vacant Possession to before the expiry of the Defects Liability Period, provided that extensive renovations have not been carried out.

Thanks for sharing this site, saw the photos are helpful reminders on what to look out for...interesting, wonder how much they charge for such service..

01-11-2011, 10:15 AM

Wow your sales rep is pretty helpful and very rare indeed...

mathstub
01-11-2011, 10:25 AM
Hi Bro, where do you get your corner unit? How much do you pay for your property and how much your tenant pays you for renting your corner unit?

Thanks.

Thank you bro ! That's the most complete explanation I get so far. Now I understand how it is interpreted.

01-11-2011, 10:28 AM
The main critical defects i have mentioned, mainly the roof and the flooring area.
Its a bit subjective as some have homogeneous tiles outside whilst others have it
done differently. Yet others have ceramic tiles while others have parquet or hardwood
flooring. I would look at the critical parts and bring along my contractor to help check.

Always make sure you inspect the manhole and major points of the house for sewerage
and drainage. Also check on electrical wiring as well as water pressure etc.

I didn't use a checklist but i would go inside the house first, inspect each room and then bathroom of each floor and moved from
top to bottom. Once i make it to the exterior, i would then inspect further. Go with some rolls of black tape (ubiquitous but always
essential) and use it to mark out areas where you find suspect. Hairline cracks on walls are very common. Check on tiles on stair
cases if they are hollow or if the glue has dried out on parquet flooring.

A 20 cent coin would do nicely as a "tapping" tool and the sound would inform you of the condition. (doesn't matter if its MYR or SGD)

Hi Wuqi, thanks for the info. You mentioned check on electrical wiring, err how and what to check about the wiring?

Btw how do you check for waterproofing of the bathroom? In SG, we have ten year warranty for bathroom floor waterproofing, so not so critical. In MY, anyway to confirm the waterproofing works in the bathroom?

mathstub
01-11-2011, 10:29 AM
For those Bros and Sis with corner unit, do you get 20 ft extra land on the side or 30 ft? Do you get the corner unit very early (even on the first day) at the beginning of the sales launch?

01-11-2011, 10:30 AM
Hi all

Thanks for sharing, had a quick glance and it looks interesting, will read later.

mathstub
01-11-2011, 10:35 AM
Hi Bro, Thanks for sharing the useful info.

Hi all

mathstub
01-11-2011, 10:36 AM
Bros and Sis here, when do you start doing the renovation after collecting the key?

checkers
01-11-2011, 10:37 AM
For those Bros and Sis with corner unit, do you get 20 ft extra land on the side or 30 ft? Do you get the corner unit very early (even on the first day) at the beginning of the sales launch?

Extra land varies from unit to unit. For some developments, it can be as big as 3000 square feet. Think can build another small terrace there :D

For certain develpments, corner units are snapped up fast - if the facing is good. As for others, the smaller intermediate ones are the first to go because of affordability as corner units are usually pricier. That's my observation.

mathstub
01-11-2011, 10:38 AM
Hi Bro Euphony, I guess I know which sales rep you are talking about. I can say she is one of the most helpful sales rep I have ever encountered, very patient and kind.

good point! I did not think of that though i did not need any renovations. an independent professional 3rd party is an insurance policy in itself. how i did it was i look up, my mum looked down sales rep covered everything in between :D

again I count myself lucky, 1 month plus moving in. the house has weathered through storms without leaks, 2nd floor water pressure is strong, mopping the floor myself, i don't feel empty tiles. Cross fingers I hope it stays in this state though...

Aisanbo
01-11-2011, 10:48 AM
I can understand how you feel especially if you are those weekend stay over type,it is meant to be a relaxing and enjoyable stay but ended up tired from the cleaning.
I did that for a year and finally 'handed' over to a tenant to take care. Occasionally still pop over to see but cannot enjoy the stay anymore. Next time got $ would invest on a smaller unit.
Still miss the quiet night, the morning air and chirping birds. :-)

I hope next time I can rent out the whole house for , say RM2-2.5k, and then rent back one room from the tenant for RM200-400 for weekend stay. Possible ? That would be ideal.

euphony
01-11-2011, 11:38 AM
Hi Bro Euphony, I guess I know which sales rep you are talking about. I can say she is one of the most useful sales rep I have ever encountered, very patient and kind.

yea. :) they really took the cake in terms of customer service.

euphony
01-11-2011, 11:55 AM
a very curious thing happened and I am documenting to see if it will help fellow forummers here. I was surfing renotalk forum alot looking for inspiration to do up my place. At this point its pretty utilitarian as I slowly pick furnishings i really like rather than the usual '1 shot gun' kind of reno/furnishing. So I saw one of the t-blog reno recommend a curtains person who happens to give a good pricing for curtain works and he is based in JB though he has quite a few projects in SG. From the pictures on renotalk, it seems not bad at all. If I engage him, will do an FR and post pictures here. :cool:

mathstub
01-11-2011, 12:01 PM
Regarding the reno, for a built-up area of about 3000 ft, people are talking about renovation costs of about RM100K. Spending this amount is supposed to get a very good reno or just the normal one? I assume this does not include the costs for furniture and electrical appliances.

a very curious thing happened and I am documenting to see if it will help fellow forummers here. I was surfing renotalk forum alot looking for inspiration to do up my place. At this point its pretty utilitarian as I slowly pick furnishings i really like rather than the usual '1 shot gun' kind of reno/furnishing. So I saw one of the t-blog reno recommend a curtains person who happens to give a good pricing for curtain works and he is based in JB though he has quite a few projects in SG. From the pictures on renotalk, it seems not bad at all. If I engage him, will do an FR and post pictures here. :cool:

euphony
01-11-2011, 12:41 PM
Regarding the reno, for a built-up area of about 3000 ft, people are talking about renovation costs of about RM100K. Spending this amount is supposed to get a very good reno or just the normal one? I assume this does not include the costs for furniture and electrical appliances.

wow! I couldn't and won't afford a 100k reno. Having said that knocking down walls and carpentry works will mean the bill shoot up pretty fast. Retiling works especially for a big house can also easily slaughter the golden goose. Keeping these to a minimum will at least control the reno bill. hmmm having seen quite a handful of show-houses, i have not come across a JB ID that is impressive. Those showrooms with very good IDs usually from KL when i asked, even the furnitures come down from there. I hear some people say that the best of JB contractors and talents are doing SG jobs dunno how true :D

tutucake
01-11-2011, 01:17 PM
wow! I couldn't and won't afford a 100k reno. Having said that knocking down walls and carpentry works will mean the bill shoot up pretty fast. Retiling works especially for a big house can also easily slaughter the golden goose. Keeping these to a minimum will at least control the reno bill. hmmm having seen quite a handful of show-houses, i have not come across a JB ID that is impressive. Those showrooms with very good IDs usually from KL when i asked, even the furnitures come down from there. I hear some people say that the best of JB contractors and talents are doing SG jobs dunno how true :D

I have the same feeling... All the jb renovated house I've seen are pretty ugly... Poor color combi, cheap looking but yet expensive furnitures...outdated carpentry all over... And they actually pay up to 70 to 100k for the Reno....

Furniture shops in jb does not have the style I like..Im considering getting furniture from KL and transport transport them to jb... Wonder if the charges will be very high...

geritan
01-11-2011, 01:32 PM
All,

My humble 2 cents, things to look out for houses whether buying from developer or subsale:

Check out for wet stains or dried yellowish or dark stains on the ceilings
Check for signs of water seepage into the walls especially near the outdoor area
Check for serious cracks especially around 2nd floor, near the corners/edges of the rooms where
the wall meets the ceiling

I would agree definitely with some forummers here, all of the houses have no false ceiling, occupational
hazard as i always want to ease up on troubleshooting.

Your preference and inclination may vary/differ. There are always lemons in every development, even the
world best watches or car makes may have lemons. Just don't accept it as a lemon and get the developer
to make good.

Other than the abovementioned, if you are getting a sub-sale house, make sure you list all the terms and conditions you have with the owner in the SPA. If the house is fully furnished, make sure you take photos of everything and state them in SPA. Don't trust the vendor even if he sounds friendly and sincere. If not, at the end of the day, you will be at the losing end.

Investor
01-11-2011, 01:52 PM

I googled and found the below checklist and thought it might be useful to many readers here;

NEW HOME INSPECTION CHECKLIST

You should not be afraid to conduct your Pre-Delivery Inspection on your own. To guide you through this process and help keep you organized the Ontario New Home Warranty Program (ONHWP) has provided you with the New Home Inspection Checklist. (Based on the Greater Toronto Homebuilders' Association pamphlet Pre-Delivery Inspection 21 Points to Consider.)

Things to Look for…

Your builder will likely start the inspection inside the home and proceed from room to room.

When examining ceilings, walls, doors and windows you should check for obvious defects such as gouges, cracks and dents on finished surfaces. Doors should be well-fitted, evenly joined around the outside and top and bottom. Locks should be well installed and not rattle when the door is closed. Drywall should have no noticeable seams or evidence of nail pops.

Walk along floors and ensure there are no excessive squeaks or spring. Subfloor joints should not show ridges around tiles.

Flush toilets and turn on water taps to check water pressure and temperature. Check the caulking and grouting around tiles and tubs for gaps and cracks. Check tubs and sinks for any scratches in the finishes.

If appliances are part of your purchase package, make sure that the builder gives you the instruction booklets and individual warranty packages for them.

Locate the switches for ventilation and circulation fans normally found near the thermostat. Also, ensure that the fans in the bathrooms and in the kitchen are operating properly. Ask your builder to show you where they vent on the exterior of the house.

Outside, check that the brickwork and masonry are free of cracks and the doors and windows are properly caulked. Open and close the garage door to make sure that it does not stick.

Print out your copy of the New Home Inspection Checklist and you are ready to go.

New Home Inspection Checklist….

This checklist can be printed from your browser or saved to your computer for future reference.

Exterior

Grading
Grounds are graded with a gentle slope away from the house to direct rain and melted snow into the drain system.
If the house has a basement, check the window wells for gravel and ensure they are cleaned out.
Swale
Some lots require shallow runoff trenches (swales) to help collect and drain water. Swales should be even and of a regular slope.
Sod
Sod should be rolled after it is laid
Siding
Siding should be nailed securely to the walls.
Caulking
All window and door frames should be caulked where the frame meets the wall of the house.
Painting
Inspect the paint to ensure there is good coverage on the exterior surfaces and all trimwork.
Exterior Trim
Trim should have a minimum of knots and be securely fixed.
Brickwork
Vertical and horizontal mortar joints between the bricks should be completely filled. Weep holes near the bottom of brick walls should be free and open.
Windows
Windows should open and close properly. Make sure there are no cracked panes and that all appropriate screens are in place.
Roof Ventilation
Weatherstripping should be installed securely.
Air vents should be as close as possible to the ridge of the roof.
Shingles
Shingles should be flat with no corners lifting, extending over the roof edge by approximately 2 cm and over the edge of the fascia board at the eavestrough.
Gutters and Downspouts
If your house comes with eavestroughs and downspouts ensure that they are installed securely.
Check to ensure that drainage of downpipes is directed away from the house, walkways and driveways.
Garage
Garages must be gas proofed. The walls of an attached garage should be sheeted with either a non-combustible material, e.g., gypsum board, with joints sealed, or a masonry board.
If there is a door from the garage to the house, ensure that an automatic closer has been installed and that the door closes properly.
Interior

BASEMENT
Check for cracks and/or signs of leaks in the walls.
Floor drains should be in the lowest part of the basement.
Floor joists should be made of sound lumber. Joists spanning more than 2.1 metres should have bridging between them. There should be double joists directly beneath bearing partitions on the floor above and around stairway openings.
Check the furnace and hot water heater for general damage, capacity, shut-off mechanisms and the type of filtering systems
Doors
Doors should be well-fitted, evenly joined around the outside and at the top and the bottom. They should clear the carpet.
Locks should be well-installed and not rattle when the door is closed. There should be a door stop.
Floors
There should be only a minimum of squeaks and a minimum of spring when the floor is walked on.
Subfloor joints should not show ridges around titles. Wood flooring should have a certain amount of deflection. Any other floor coverings should have a flat surface.
Joints should be tight between asbestos or vinyl tiles.
Carpeting
Check if the carpet is tight and if the seams match.
Hardwood
Check the finish for any large scratches or gouges. Check the floor for any excessive gaps or cracks in the flooring.
Painting
Check to ensure that the colour you requested was applied and that all finishes are free from dents and scratches.
Plumbing Fixtures
Check for chips in the porcelain or vanity top covers. Faucets should work properly.
Faucets and shower heads should be caulked. Turn on the faucets and taps to ensure that hot is hot and cold is cold.
The top of the tub should be level. See if water will run off the ledge of the bathtub onto the floor.
Caulking around the tub and between the tiles should be complete.
Cabinets
Cabinets should be well secured to the wall.
Check the operation of the doors and drawers and ensure all handles (door pulls) are installed.
Check the surface and countertops for noticeable scratches.
Closets
Doors should be secure and working properly.
KITCHEN
Cabinet doors should be aligned properly.
There should be no damage to the counter top.
The space allotted for your appliances should be correct.
Test the range hood fan and light.
Make sure there are electrical outlets above the counter.
Fireplaces
If your home has a fireplace ensure that the damper and vents work. If you have a gas fireplace ask for instructions on how to operate it.
Heating
Heat registers should not be covered by carpeting and should not be located below a thermostat.
Make sure the damper is open and works freely.
Check the location and number of cold air returns and make sure they are free of obstruction. Ask you builder to explain about "balancing".
Electrical
Check all outlets and electrical fixtures for operation. You can purchase an outlet tester in your local hardware store.
Upgrades and Options
Make sure that all pre-selected upgrades and options have been installed.

Investor
01-11-2011, 02:03 PM
A very good guide, with photos, for new house defects-inspection

Aisanbo
01-11-2011, 02:41 PM

Note that tax is not 26% of our rental revenue. We can deduct cost such as property tax, maintenance fee, lawyer fees, agents fee, repairs, and the mortgage interests (not the principal payment).

rhino
01-11-2011, 02:51 PM
I like the few rows of shophouses just opposite of Jusco . Enquired about it last year but was all taken out .Managed to got one two storey unit along the RHB bank , Nusa Bestari .:)

Thanks Jasonjst, is there also a minimum price threshold of RM$500,00 for foreigners who want to purchase office space?

mrbean
01-11-2011, 03:00 PM
Hi everyone here. For those who have bought landed houses in JB or other parts of Malaysia, I was wondering if any of you noticed installation of earth pits and lightning protection on the roof. For rooftop, its usually laid with copper or aluminium tapes at the perimeter. But if its metal roof it can be bonded to steel structures to form the protective earthing. Reason why I'm asking is that I don't seem to notice it being installed, at least I never seem to see any earth pits. Which may explain some of the posted instances here where lightning wreaked havoc on appliances. Of course, having surge arrestors additionally helps too. Lightning protection is generally compulsory in s'pore for safety reasons. Houses on higher ground are especially vulnerable.

rhino
01-11-2011, 03:20 PM

Thanks Wuqi, am keen to purchase office space to perhaps set up a psychology consulting firm in future. But not sure if there is demand for such service in Nusayaja? What do you think?

wuqi256
01-11-2011, 03:44 PM
Hi everyone here. For those who have bought landed houses in JB or other parts of Malaysia, I was wondering if any of you noticed installation of earth pits and lightning protection on the roof. For rooftop, its usually laid with copper or aluminium tapes at the perimeter. But if its metal roof it can be bonded to steel structures to form the protective earthing. Reason why I'm asking is that I don't seem to notice it being installed, at least I never seem to see any earth pits. Which may explain some of the posted instances here where lightning wreaked havoc on appliances. Of course, having surge arrestors additionally helps too. Lightning protection is generally compulsory in s'pore for safety reasons. Houses on higher ground are especially vulnerable.

Information on lightning in SG: http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/web/home/lightning

Hi Mr Bean, yes there are but they do it differently here. Its pretty minimal compared to some of what we do in Singapore as we are one of the most lightning prone countries. I noticed that they will always have a large and high comms tower nearby some developments. There was some solutions proposed, such as doing what SG do but may result in more strikes on certain houses as you are basically installing something a lightning rod with a pointed tip and made of metal.

What i do is to lower my antenna, vulnerable spots, i would put surge protection equipment and remove the critical stuff from the most common point of lightning attack. So far though, it has worked out very well for me. The roof top part with a spike and a copper connection down along the walls to earth, that is for directing the lightning strike deep into the earth where the energy is dissipated.

More reading information:
Source:

http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?sec=lifefocus&file=/2009/5/17/lifefocus/3895023

Arrest the surge

However, Lim emphasises that external lightning rods and downward conductors are just part of the story.

“Some people complain, ‘I have paid RM10,000 to my contractor Ah Meng or Ah Fatt to do lightning and earthing rods but why is my TV still getting damaged?’ What they don’t know is that a lot of damage to electrical equipment happens when lightning strikes power or telephone lines outside the building and a “power surge” travels along those lines and burns out stuff indoors.

Sometimes, lightning may strike the ground outside our buildings and the power surge can travel along the ground and then enter our homes through the building’s grounding wires. (see graphic Surge and destroy)

In other words, while a building may be protected inside a Faraday cage, any wires coming in are in effect “holes” puncturing that cage.

Lim cautions that a lightning bolt that hits 5km away can still cause damage because 500,000 volts of electricity carries a whole lot of power, sufficient to reach your home. (For comparison, the standard voltage supplied to households is 240 volts.) The solution is to have good “lightning surge arresters” which can deal with this massive tsunami of power coming through the telephone/power lines or our earth wires.

Lim notes that such power surges will usually affect corner terrace houses because that is where the electrical supply cables (for a row of terrace houses) are first connected to. So, in a way, the corner houses are “protecting” those in the middle.

“You are really paying the price for being a corner house,” Lim smiles. “The same argument applies to bungalows since they have their own power supply lines.”

Technical guide -
http://www.lightningsafety.com/nlsi_lhm/IEEE_Guide.pdf

GorengPisang
01-11-2011, 04:15 PM
Thanks Wuqi, am keen to purchase office space to perhaps set up a psychology consulting firm in future. But not sure if there is demand for such service in Nusayaja? What do you think?

Eh, with property booming in Iskandar, prosperous businesses and relaxing lifestyle with all the resort homes like LF/EL/HH, i think hard press to see demand for psychology consulting......KL is a better place, commuting to work and back after work involves an average 3-4 hours back to back traffic with many reckless hell drivers cutting in & out.....alot of people need to go for anger management session :D....child psychology might see demand, for SG kids who have to wake up at 3am to commute to school in SG cos their parents cant leave their newly purchased house alone hehe

arsenal
01-11-2011, 04:16 PM
Something new to me on corner unit or bungalow.. Maybe need bigger surge protectors...

Information on lightning in SG: http://www.weather.gov.sg/wip/web/home/lightning

Hi Mr Bean, yes there are but they do it differently here. Its pretty minimal compared to some of what we do in Singapore as we are one of the most lightning prone countries. I noticed that they will always have a large and high comms tower nearby some developments. There was some solutions proposed, such as doing what SG do but may result in more strikes on certain houses as you are basically installing something a lightning rod with a pointed tip and made of metal.

What i do is to lower my antenna, vulnerable spots, i would put surge protection equipment and remove the critical stuff from the most common point of lightning attack. So far though, it has worked out very well for me. The roof top part with a spike and a copper connection down along the walls to earth, that is for directing the lightning strike deep into the earth where the energy is dissipated.

More reading information:
Source:

http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?sec=lifefocus&file=/2009/5/17/lifefocus/3895023

Arrest the surge

However, Lim emphasises that external lightning rods and downward conductors are just part of the story.

“Some people complain, ‘I have paid RM10,000 to my contractor Ah Meng or Ah Fatt to do lightning and earthing rods but why is my TV still getting damaged?’ What they don’t know is that a lot of damage to electrical equipment happens when lightning strikes power or telephone lines outside the building and a “power surge” travels along those lines and burns out stuff indoors.

Sometimes, lightning may strike the ground outside our buildings and the power surge can travel along the ground and then enter our homes through the building’s grounding wires. (see graphic Surge and destroy)

In other words, while a building may be protected inside a Faraday cage, any wires coming in are in effect “holes” puncturing that cage.

Lim cautions that a lightning bolt that hits 5km away can still cause damage because 500,000 volts of electricity carries a whole lot of power, sufficient to reach your home. (For comparison, the standard voltage supplied to households is 240 volts.) The solution is to have good “lightning surge arresters” which can deal with this massive tsunami of power coming through the telephone/power lines or our earth wires.

Lim notes that such power surges will usually affect corner terrace houses because that is where the electrical supply cables (for a row of terrace houses) are first connected to. So, in a way, the corner houses are “protecting” those in the middle.

“You are really paying the price for being a corner house,” Lim smiles. “The same argument applies to bungalows since they have their own power supply lines.”

Technical guide -
http://www.lightningsafety.com/nlsi_lhm/IEEE_Guide.pdf

arsenal
01-11-2011, 04:19 PM
Singaporeans staying in Singapore might need more psychology consultancy... Singaporeans living in JB might need to take up some wushu or karete training instead..

Eh, with property booming in Iskandar, prosperous businesses and relaxing lifestyle with all the resort homes like LF/EL/HH, i think hard press to see demand for psychology consulting......KL is a better place, commuting to work and back after work involves an average 3-4 hours back to back traffic with many reckless hell drivers cutting in & out.....alot of people need to go for anger management session :D....child psychology might see demand, for SG kids who have to wake up at 3am to commute to school in SG cos their parents cant leave their newly purchased house alone hehe

mallow
01-11-2011, 05:57 PM
PLEASE MAKE UP A PARTY AND SUPPORT NOAH’S ARK’s DINNER on November 13 at the renewed Straits View Hotel along the seafront, next to the old Macinta. Music from Vernon Cornelius and band from Singapore, so improper singalongs will be encouraged. Good 8 course Chinese dinner @ RM1000 per table – just RM$100 a head, and a good time is guaranteed. Immediately sms me for tickets @ 0127005415, as we only have 25 tables.
Raymund Wee plans to set up an Animal Birth Control (ABC) Clinic that will do high-volume sterilization of street strays and provide this almost free to those who cannot afford sterilization of their pets. And since we are now here in Johor, we will all benefit from stray-free roads and markets.
It will be an orchid-filled dining room, informal and fun – an evening to remember with good food, great music and wonderful company.
Also a good time to meet like-minded Johorians and your Singapore flens and neighbours who obviously are nice people, since they are supporting this good cause too.
WOULD ALL BROS AND SISTAHS PLEASE COME AND SUPPORT A TRUE CAUSE BY A TRUE SINGAPOREAN?

cockcansing
01-11-2011, 11:52 PM

Yeah about 20ft I guess, Well its about 4m to 7m. I am not sure if it was the begining of the launch as I was driving around HH and asked for a corner lot. This was about 2 years back. But was lucky enough as there were only 2 conner units left.

Cheers

jasonjst
02-11-2011, 02:06 AM
Thanks Jasonjst, is there also a minimum price threshold of RM$500,00 for foreigners who want to purchase office space?

Not to sure about foreigner buying office leh . But I think foreigners can only buy 3 storey shophouses , which mostly way above 500K . To go around the problem , you can register a company and buy under company name.

BTW why dont rent first , office can be easily rent for 1K at good location. If biz is viable then commit long term buy.

Grago
02-11-2011, 02:11 AM
Something new to me on corner unit or bungalow.. Maybe need bigger surge protectors...

Thanks for the infor Bro.I've seen some spectacular lightning formations when at Nusajaya either on the highway or at HH. The rain is at times literally 'blinding' and the thunder is ear splitting!! Can't imagine the vast power that stored in that lightning bolt!!
Are there such lightning protection devices in Malaysia in particular JB? I know Bro Wuqi has mention those in Tesco. These are single application devices. The article suggest that there are 'arrestors' that can be applied to point of entry of transmission be it electrical or cable signals? Do any of the forummers know if any of those mentioned equipment is available here in Johore/Malaysia/Singapore and where to get them?

thegolf
02-11-2011, 02:12 AM
Horizon hills The gateway 2 storey super link.

Nice extended balcony

Come with Jacuzzi bathtub!!!

toyohon
02-11-2011, 02:47 AM
Prince Andrew opens the doors of Johor medical varsity

By Yee Xiang Yun
The Star/Asia News Network
Wednesday, Nov 02, 2011

JOHOR BARU - Prince Andrew the second son of Queen Elizabeth II opened Johor's latest international institute of learning, the Newcastle University of Medicine Malaysia (NUMed).

Dressed in a grey suit, the prince gave a brief speech when he opened the university in a hall that took in only a selected audience yesterday.

Students strained their necks to catch a glimpse of the royal guest and to take pictures of him from an upper terrace.

Prince Andrew said the opening of the campus would popularise the university and draw students from all over the world to the institution.

"It is an honour to have Johor and Britain to work together on the university. It is good collaboration," he added, thanking the state government under Mentri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman as well as NUmed chancellor Sir Liam Donaldson and vice-chancellor Prof Chris Brink in their common quest for excellence.

About 80 students have begun a five-year course beginning September. The university at Nusajaya, near here, is targeting a student intake of 900 by 2017.

The campus is part of the broader 125ha EduCity that is being built in the Iskandar Malaysia development corridor and designed to promote the country as a world-class education hub and to house a range of international universities in one area.

Prince Andrew, who is also the Duke of York, arrived in Malaysia on Sunday for a three-day visit in his capacity as Britain's special representative for international trade and investment.

This is his second visit to Malaysia since 2001.

Abdul Ghani envisaged the university would become a major contributor to the national effort to raise the number of trained doctors from 3,000 annually to 4,000 in five years' time.

"The state is proud that NUMed is the first and flagship campus to be established at EduCity in Iskandar Malaysia and, therefore, represents a key British investment in this significant growth corridor," Abdul Ghani added.

Sir Liam said NUMed provided trans-national access to world-class medical education for Malaysian and international students, otherwise denied by geographical or financial circumstances.

"In the longer term, we hope very much to contribute to meeting Malaysia's human capital needs and also improving medical services and healthcare that people receive in the region," he said

aangsc
02-11-2011, 03:03 AM

Nice extended balcony

Hi,is that your place ?
Yes, kind of nice to soak with a view but others also enjoy your view although not so many units around.

aangsc
02-11-2011, 03:13 AM
Hi Bro, where do you get your corner unit? How much do you pay for your property and how much your tenant pays you for renting your corner unit?

Thanks.
Mine is HH around 2008, there was little crowd then. Well over 600K and yield around 6%. Almost go with Ledang Height but find it too quiet, too big and too far from last visible house. Got to thank a gentleman Mr Foo who brought me there even when we were total stranger .

Grago
02-11-2011, 04:59 AM
Horizon hills The gateway 2 storey super link.Nice extended balcony2741Come with Jacuzzi bathtub!!!2742Very nice!

thegolf
02-11-2011, 08:00 AM

Nice extended balcony

Hi,is that your place ?
Yes, kind of nice to soak with a view but others also enjoy your view although not so many units around.

Hahaa.. how I wish the balcony is mine but must minus the Jaczzi!! :DVery funny to be naked there:D
Found it @ http://cforum6.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?tid=2561309

aangsc
02-11-2011, 08:26 AM
Hahaa.. how I wish the balcony is mine but must minus the Jaczzi!! :DVery funny to be naked there:D

Wow, renting for 4K for intermediate and sales of 890K. One of my neighbour and first time I got to peep in , hasn't meet formally.
If you have that bugging question, the answer is No, has seen seen anyone soak in Jacuzzi nake !!! .

euphony
02-11-2011, 09:21 AM
I have the same feeling... All the jb renovated house I've seen are pretty ugly... Poor color combi, cheap looking but yet expensive furnitures...outdated carpentry all over... And they actually pay up to 70 to 100k for the Reno....

Furniture shops in jb does not have the style I like..Im considering getting furniture from KL and transport transport them to jb... Wonder if the charges will be very high...

i almost want to do that but in the end decided its easier to buy from SG instead. Closer to home and can monitor from departure till arrival. I think rejection could be difficult from KL shops (damaged furniture) cos they'll definitely charge transport.

euphony
02-11-2011, 09:24 AM

nice balcony, buy aiyoh what's with the pink sofa set :eek:

cathylmg
02-11-2011, 11:06 AM

May I add that the queue to see a the doctor for kids with dyslexia, autism and adhd is very long in Singapore. Also private doctors are very expensive. Maybe in can look into this as a matter of cost savings for the parents to sick treatments in JB instead.

arsenal
02-11-2011, 11:11 AM
May I add that the queue to see a the doctor for kids with dyslexia, autism and adhd is very long in Singapore. Also private doctors are very expensive. Maybe in can look into this as a matter of cost savings for the parents to sick treatments in JB instead.

With that, many Singaporeans with autism children do not have to migrate to Australia or new Zealand.. I know 6 families migrated to down under for that..

mrbean
02-11-2011, 11:19 AM
Thanks for the info bro Wuqi.

On a separate note, does anyone in this forum own or know of anyone who owns a water home? There are a couple at Port Dickson managed by Nexis group. Last weekend they were in Singapore promoting The Hibiscus. Seem to have attractive rental returns if its to be believed. Some short facts:

a) property will be professionally managed by an operator as a resort. Owner leases back to operator for 7% pa first 4 yrs. Thereafter profit sharing 75% owner-25% operator next 11 yrs. Owner gets 10 days stay per yr.
b) property is 99 yr leasehold. Considered as commercial property.
c) all outgoings will be paid for by operator - tax, maintenance, etc. If owner does not lease back, then all charges owner bears.

Details not shown/indicated:
a) profit is based on projection, any track record of past projects to show what actual profits experienced?
b) 99 yrs lease starts from when?
c) after 15 yrs, what happens to the property? Its not suitable as a house, its on water.
d) if operator does not do a good job, then what is the recourse? I guess buying the property is based on faith of the operator.
e) Are foreign restrictions applicable to selling back such properties? Eg. if need to liquidate urgently can sell to foreigner below $500K? Or must still stick to the rules of transaction must be above $500k.

Any bro/sis here who may have experience or knows of someone who has the experience, appreciate if can share feedback. My relative seems keen to invest but I cautioned him to hold back first. But the project seems to be selling well, if their sales representation is to be believed.

euphony
02-11-2011, 11:35 AM
caution i'd say, i went to avillion the past june period and took a drive around since i've never been there before, there were countless abandoned resorts/condos etc dotted along the coast...

On a separate note, does anyone in this forum own or know of anyone who owns a water home? There are a couple at Port Dickson managed by Nexis group. Last weekend they were in Singapore promoting The Hibiscus. Seem to have attractive rental returns if its to be believed. Some short facts:

a) property will be professionally managed by an operator as a resort. Owner leases back to operator for 7% pa first 4 yrs. Thereafter profit sharing 75% owner-25% operator next 11 yrs. Owner gets 10 days stay per yr.
c) all outgoings will be paid for by operator - tax, maintenance, etc. If owner does not lease back, then all charges owner bears.

a) profit is based on projection, any track record of past projects to show what actual profits experienced?
c) after 15 yrs, what happens to the property? Its not suitable as a house, its on water.
d) if operator does not do a good job, then what is the recourse? I guess buying the property is based on faith of the operator.
e) Are foreign restrictions applicable to selling back such properties? Eg. if need to liquidate urgently can sell to foreigner below $500K? Or must still stick to the rules of transaction must be above $500k.

Any bro/sis here who may have experience or knows of someone who has the experience, appreciate if can share feedback. My relative seems keen to invest but I cautioned him to hold back first. But the project seems to be selling well, if their sales representation is to be believed.

tutucake
02-11-2011, 12:04 PM
The Malaysia custom gonna tax u like crazy if u bring in from sg... How do u plan to do it?

I really liked one of the sofa from ikea... But cheaper by 700sgd in KL... Thts y I was thinking if I can get more items, it's gonna be really worth it... But like u said, if there is transportion damages, it will be impossible to claim...

arsenal
02-11-2011, 01:40 PM
The Malaysia custom gonna tax u like crazy if u bring in from sg... How do u plan to do it?

I really liked one of the sofa from ikea... But cheaper by 700sgd in KL... Thts y I was thinking if I can get more items, it's gonna be really worth it... But like u said, if there is transportion damages, it will be impossible to claim...

IKEA Tebrau City
Sneak peak into IKEA Johor Bahru.. Expected completion 2012..

A cool cartoon showing "pulling IKEA" to JB :)
IKEA JB will look something like this, opposite Jusco Tebrau City
--
http://www.tjarc.com/15-ikea-tebrau-sc.html

tutucake
02-11-2011, 01:43 PM
IKEA Tebrau City

--

I know...but i heard there's still no progress....
i did see a squarish building in contruction there lately...donnoe if its IKea...

matx3315
02-11-2011, 01:45 PM

Do give a good thought. house on water, have you thought about the corrosion level of the property from the salt water?

thegolf
02-11-2011, 02:19 PM
Bro Wu...your tread "Living In JB" gonna hit 1,000,000 views really soon!!!:)

lastresort
02-11-2011, 02:39 PM
Update on Legoland. What do you guys think of the progress so far?

http://super325.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/img_1251.jpg

http://super325.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/img_1249.jpg

Replica of shoplots at Jalan Wong Ah Fook in Johor made from Lego
http://super325.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/legoland-malaysia-johor-shop-houses.jpg

http://super325.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/legolandmalaysia-shophouses-johor.jpg

http://super325.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/sri-perdana-lego-building-malaysia.jpg

http://i763.photobucket.com/albums/xx276/afiqnadzir/276368580-22155730.jpg

http://i763.photobucket.com/albums/xx276/afiqnadzir/391840000-22154903.jpg

http://i763.photobucket.com/albums/xx276/afiqnadzir/389962600-22154910.jpg

contra
02-11-2011, 05:09 PM

Yea been seeing that advert. I thought was a joke.
My neighbour got burnt on a PD investment once which developer at the time was by a reputable company (MBF). It did not materialise and she had to write off.
I guess if its legs are detacheable and can become a boat then maybe.....

contra
02-11-2011, 05:12 PM
Hi bro lastresort, I like this! But my kid does not understand why they cannot open Legoland yet .... I wonder if got jalan to go see the place where they are constructing these lego pieces..

Investor
02-11-2011, 06:37 PM
Nusajaya - The investment magnet of Iskandar Region.
BioXCell in Nusajaya is in discussions with 10 more potential foreign investors.
http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/11/1/business/9809601&sec=business

NUSAJAYA: Malaysian BioXCell Sdn Bhd is in discussions with 10 more foreign biotechnology companies which are planning to invest in BioXCell here.

Chief executive officer Rizatuddin Ramli said the investors had shown serious commitment to set up operations here.

The some of the companies, from Europe, India, South Korea and the United States, were public-listed entities.

“The new investments in BioXCell are worth several billion ringgit,” Rizatuddin told reporters during a media tour to the BioXCell site yesterday... ... ... ... ... ...

Investor
02-11-2011, 06:47 PM
Johor Premium Outlets grand opening on Dec 11

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/ietp2-2/Article/#ixzz1cVzSv62s
KUALA LUMPUR: Johor Premium Outlets (JPO), a shopping haven joint-venture project between Genting Bhd and Simon Property Group, is scheduled for a grand opening on December 11.

The project, located in Kulai, Johor, is 95 per cent complete, said Datuk Seri Idris Jala, chief executive officer of Pemandu, the government unit that oversees the implementation of the Economic Transformation Programme (ETP).

JPO, a project earmarked under the ETP to boost the economy via tourism, is expected to create more than 3,000 jobs.

"It is currently 95 per cent completed. More than 80 designer and brand names have confirmed their presence," Idris said at a briefing here yesterday that marked one year since the ETP was launched.

It was previously reported that the 330,000 sq ft centre will offer savings of 25 per cent to 65 per cent on brands that include Burberry, Coach, Tumi, DKNY, Giorgio Armani, Gap Outlet and Levi's.

Investor
02-11-2011, 06:54 PM
Iskandar Malaysia property market set to grow
http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file=/2011/11/1/southneast/9802768&sec=southneast

JOHOR BARU: The property sector in Iskandar Malaysia will benefit immensely with the improvement in connectivity and accessibility within the economic growth corridor.

Iskandar Regional Development Authority (Irda) chief executive officer Ismail Ibrahim said this could be seen from many new property projects being built in recent years.

“Better accessibility and connectivity will help push up demand as well as prices for properties within Iskandar Malaysia,” he said at an event to mark the completion of three new traffic interchanges.

These are the Bukit Indah-Taman Tema 1 and Taman Tema 2 interchanges costing RM135mil, Jalan Abu Bakar-Jalan Lingkaran Dalam interchange (RM17mil) and Indahpura elevated interchange (RM36.2mil).

Ismail said the interchanges are expected to be open to motorists between now and the first quarter of 2012, pending approval from the Malaysian Highway Authority.

He added that the new interchanges would help to reduce traffic congestion between 20% and 30% along existing roads and shorten travelling times between 15mins and 20mins.

“Apart from upgrading the road network, we will also focus on improving the public transportation system in Iskandar Malaysia,” he said.

Ismail said relevant parties in Malaysia and Singapore were already discussing the improvement of people’s movement between Iskandar Malaysia and Singapore via a Light Railway Transit system by 2018 or 2020.

He said, to date, Irda had spent RM4bil from a RM6.38bil allocation to undertake infrastructure works such as road improvement, flood mitigation, river cleaning and public housing.

The country’s first economic growth corridor Iskandar Malaysia, was launched on Nov 4, 2006, it covers 2,217 sq km located in the southernmost part of Johor.

From 2006 up to the third quarter of this year, it has attracted RM77.82bil in committed investments, of which 60% is from domestic investors and 40% from foreigners.

CUBIC
02-11-2011, 10:45 PM
Hi Bro Lastresort,

Hi Puteri harbour,

Hi SriAustinian,

Been to the EXPO and noticed the same development also. The service apartment is
ucalled Somerset. Understand from a lady this project haven't officially launch yet. Floor plan not finalize and off the record price indicative around $700 to $1100. This apartment will be managed by Ascott. Shops below are not for sale but only rent out by the developer.

By the way, I have been following this forum since it is still under 50 pages. A big thanks to Wuqi and other forumers for keeping this forum hot and rolling.

vincentck
03-11-2011, 12:32 AM

Of course in Singapore landed properties are not the norm, majority live in aprtments (hdb & condo), so we're not that accustomed with it, this is smthing commonly known for malaysiansHi Bro GP... thanks for your explanation. Really explains it logically... now must go and ask the sales exec what's the land size for my corner units so that I know roughly how much extra land I have.

Hi all

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/385900 Thansk bro checkers... i saved another website that has someting similar for high-rise, but that website is no longer accesible; always good to have a reminder even though I've done defect-checking before for my first property many years ago.

vincentck
03-11-2011, 12:53 AM
For those Bros and Sis with corner unit, do you get 20 ft extra land on the side or 30 ft? Do you get the corner unit very early (even on the first day) at the beginning of the sales launch?It depends on the project; the first one we purchased in NI came with extra 20ft land according to the Sales Exec while the 2nd one in NI supposedly comes with 40ft extra land (yet to verify). For the 1st corner unit, we managed to buy it because the loan was rejected for the earlier buyer. We just happened to ask the sales exec and he mentioned a corner unit just became available and we decided in 20mins after viewing and paid the booking fee; a matter of being there at the right time. For the 2nd corner unit, we went to the 1st day of sales launch in the afternoon and placed the booking fee for the last corner unit too. There were other end lots, but we prefered corner unit. For this one, the price was high and I believe it turned other buyers away.

Bros and Sis here, when do you start doing the renovation after collecting the key? I will spend a week to check for defects; then give them a month to finish rectifying it for my highrise properties. But some ppl are in a rush to move in so that they don't have to pay rental anymore; so they will ask their contractor to help rectify the visible defects. Some contractors are fine with it as long as it's surface defects. It depends on the individual on when you wanna start renovation.

I hope next time I can rent out the whole house for , say RM2-2.5k, and then rent back one room from the tenant for RM200-400 for weekend stay. Possible ? That would be ideal.Bro, I rent out my back room to you at HH, want? Hehehe...

Note that tax is not 26% of our rental revenue. We can deduct cost such as property tax, maintenance fee, lawyer fees, agents fee, repairs, and the mortgage interests (not the principal payment).If i'm not mistaken, we can also deduct the assessment and quit rent from the rental income.

vincentck
03-11-2011, 01:20 AM

Arrest the surge

“You are really paying the price for being a corner house,” Lim smiles. “The same argument applies to bungalows since they have their own power supply lines.” Woah... that's scary but sounds plausible; must remember to ask my contractor for suggestions on how to reduce the lightning risk.

Nice extended balcony

2742 Wow... a jacuzzi is nice, but I wouldn't put it on the balcony to avoid future leakage problems. Have it in the garden and partitioned from viewing eyes so that we can really be naked in the tub... hahaa

vincentck
03-11-2011, 01:52 AM

For furniture, usually the transporter will know how to make it look like used item by removing the original packaging and covering it with normal plastic or something. If I'm not wrong, new items will be taxed. Also, electrical appliances will be taxed regardless of new or old... bummer on that.

ODYSSEY
03-11-2011, 02:07 AM
"Last resort: Update on Legoland. What do you guys think of the progress so far?"

Nice! Thanks for the update.

ODYSSEY
03-11-2011, 02:14 AM
Anyone bought his house from sub-sale, can share your experience? I found some units for sub-sale on iproperty.my which I liked. But, when I wrote in to enquire n try to get a viewing, the agents dun seem to reply. Why neh? Am I doing this right? Pse advise, thanks.

vincentck
03-11-2011, 02:27 AM
Hi Odyssey, it's better to call them directly from the numbers on the website. I also contacted them in the begining by emailing them thru the website tools, but no one responded or called me back.

GorengPisang
03-11-2011, 02:27 AM
Anyone bought his house from sub-sale, can share your experience? I found some units for sub-sale on iproperty.my which I liked. But, when I wrote in to enquire n try to get a viewing, the agents dun seem to reply. Why neh? Am I doing this right? Pse advise, thanks.

Might be easier & faster to just dial and call their hp no posted, agents move about all the time, but i've called quite a few agents, 50% dont even asnwer their call or return missed call....cmi.....however some of those who asnwered were quite prompt n good service level....good luck!

cockcansing
03-11-2011, 02:40 AM
IKEA Tebrau City

--

My wife will love this piece of news.

Thanks for sharing

vincentck
03-11-2011, 03:01 AM
Hi everyone, I read this on a Facebook property page that I follow; just sharing on a case of a problematic tenant staying in a KL condo. The 1st paragraph was the status update by the TS and the comments below are from other people.

Facing problems with my condo tenant. Did not pay his rent for the past 5 months. Have to engage a lawyer to sue and evict him now. Agreed to move out this week but he did not keep his promise. Gave me two Account Closed cheques. Never pay his TNB bills for 5 months too. Regret listening to his sad stories. Now got con pulak. Should have been firm from the start. They can dine out daily lunch and dinner at the mall but they refuse to pay their rental. How could people behave like this? Even the management was shocked that they are still able to stay on despite having no electricity for the past one week. Tnb came to terminate the supply a week ago.

Also lodge a police report and if by end of eviction notice the tenant does not move out, secure the premises under lock & key. Auction off his belongings to recover arrears! Heh heh

Hi XXX, I thought only me who fell for sad story although I knew that we should not. Sometimes it is not easy because we feel bad and compassionate to those in needs. Always believe good deeds will be be reciprocated but in real world it is not the case. I lost 3 months rent & $500 TNB bill. I called TNB to cut the power supply, only then he moved out. We can teach others what and how to do in certain circumstances but wait until we face it ourself .. then we learn. it is a very expensive lesson but it will definitely stick in my boney head forever. I am running a biz and not charity. But it doesn't mean I will not donate to the needy. Just got to be careful no to fall to sad story again to those who speaks with "Lembut Gigi Dari Lidah" - Malay proverb

We all have a soft spot in us. This tenant really first class actor. He cried and beg us for three months every time I ask for payment. Then after another month gave us excuse that he was cheated by his brother. Later, told us he lost his job. The following month ask us to have mercy as his children is facing exams and promised to pay. Finally, on the 5th month gave us a 'account closed' cheque. Last month he told me to sue him instead. He has not pay me for six months and owe tnb 1000++. This month, he send me SMS to say he will commit suicide in the condo if I insist him to move out. My lawyer and the police are taking over the case now.

Sorry to hear this has happened to you. I guess as landlords we are bound to face this kind of tenant at least once no matter how careful we are through background check etc. Though this has not happened to me before ("touch wood"), but some of my tenants are consistently late a two to three weeks always. But I tell myself if they are over a month late, I'd chase them out and pay them 1 month rental towards a deposit elsewhere ... i.e. pay them 1 month rental to evict them. Though it may sound silly but it may save some further hassles later.

Lodge a police report. Have your lawyer serve him eviction notice. One day when they are all out, lock & chain up your property. But notify police first before u do so. Good luck!

Nancy, this may sound stupid but I don't mind doing this as long as the bugger get the hell out of the condo. Offer him something you think they can't refuse. Someone did by offering to pay the cost of moving out eg cost to rent a lorry or something like that

Just cut the water supply will do,see how long they can sustain...no choice seem he is too far d.

Please make sure you get all your money's worth even-though you may not need it - give it to charity. Like I mentioned before , it is not the money but the trust that has been betrayed and the feeling of being cheated and making you slightly less trusting in future - you cannot put a price to that loss or possibility of being less trusting in future. Make the culprit pay for THIS loss where it hurts most - the wallet. Bill all the lawyer fee and whatever cost in evicting him. Let me tell you that a lawyer's letter does wonders if the lawyer knows what he/she is doing and says what he means and means what he says.

ODYSSEY
03-11-2011, 03:04 AM
Hi Odyssey, it's better to call them directly from the numbers on the website. I also contacted them in the begining by emailing them thru the website tools, but no one responded or called me back.

Thanks Vincent, so it normal after all. I am going into JB this wkend - Guess I will call them. Do you have any reliable agents to recommend or those I should avoid? Haha. You can PM me if you wish. : )

ODYSSEY
03-11-2011, 03:07 AM
Might be easier & faster to just dial and call their hp no posted, agents move about all the time, but i've called quite a few agents, 50% dont even asnwer their call or return missed call....cmi.....however some of those who asnwered were quite prompt n good service level....good luck!

Thanks GP. Hope to find my house soon.

euphony
03-11-2011, 03:21 AM
viola! same thing the mover told me.

For furniture, usually the transporter will know how to make it look like used item by removing the original packaging and covering it with normal plastic or something. If I'm not wrong, new items will be taxed. Also, electrical appliances will be taxed regardless of new or old... bummer on that.

euphony
03-11-2011, 03:23 AM
maybe it will come to fruition by the time you collect keys, rectify defects and renovate :)
let's hope ikano is really serious about bring scandinavian chic into jb.

I know...but i heard there's still no progress....
i did see a squarish building in contruction there lately...donnoe if its IKea...

euphony
03-11-2011, 03:28 AM
thanks for sharing, this is an eye opening read. i hope i won't get tenants like these in the future to come... >.<'

Hi everyone, I read this on a Facebook property page that I follow; just sharing on a case of a problematic tenant staying in a KL condo. The 1st paragraph was the status update by the TS and the comments below are from other people.

Facing problems with my condo tenant. Did not pay his rent for the past 5 months. Have to engage a lawyer to sue and evict him now. Agreed to move out this week but he did not keep his promise. Gave me two Account Closed cheques. Never pay his TNB bills for 5 months too. Regret listening to his sad stories. Now got con pulak. Should have been firm from the start. They can dine out daily lunch and dinner at the mall but they refuse to pay their rental. How could people behave like this? Even the management was shocked that they are still able to stay on despite having no electricity for the past one week. Tnb came to terminate the supply a week ago.

Also lodge a police report and if by end of eviction notice the tenant does not move out, secure the premises under lock & key. Auction off his belongings to recover arrears! Heh heh

Hi XXX, I thought only me who fell for sad story although I knew that we should not. Sometimes it is not easy because we feel bad and compassionate to those in needs. Always believe good deeds will be be reciprocated but in real world it is not the case. I lost 3 months rent & $500 TNB bill. I called TNB to cut the power supply, only then he moved out. We can teach others what and how to do in certain circumstances but wait until we face it ourself .. then we learn. it is a very expensive lesson but it will definitely stick in my boney head forever. I am running a biz and not charity. But it doesn't mean I will not donate to the needy. Just got to be careful no to fall to sad story again to those who speaks with "Lembut Gigi Dari Lidah" - Malay proverb

We all have a soft spot in us. This tenant really first class actor. He cried and beg us for three months every time I ask for payment. Then after another month gave us excuse that he was cheated by his brother. Later, told us he lost his job. The following month ask us to have mercy as his children is facing exams and promised to pay. Finally, on the 5th month gave us a 'account closed' cheque. Last month he told me to sue him instead. He has not pay me for six months and owe tnb 1000++. This month, he send me SMS to say he will commit suicide in the condo if I insist him to move out. My lawyer and the police are taking over the case now.

Sorry to hear this has happened to you. I guess as landlords we are bound to face this kind of tenant at least once no matter how careful we are through background check etc. Though this has not happened to me before ("touch wood"), but some of my tenants are consistently late a two to three weeks always. But I tell myself if they are over a month late, I'd chase them out and pay them 1 month rental towards a deposit elsewhere ... i.e. pay them 1 month rental to evict them. Though it may sound silly but it may save some further hassles later.

Lodge a police report. Have your lawyer serve him eviction notice. One day when they are all out, lock & chain up your property. But notify police first before u do so. Good luck!

Nancy, this may sound stupid but I don't mind doing this as long as the bugger get the hell out of the condo. Offer him something you think they can't refuse. Someone did by offering to pay the cost of moving out eg cost to rent a lorry or something like that

Just cut the water supply will do,see how long they can sustain...no choice seem he is too far d.

Please make sure you get all your money's worth even-though you may not need it - give it to charity. Like I mentioned before , it is not the money but the trust that has been betrayed and the feeling of being cheated and making you slightly less trusting in future - you cannot put a price to that loss or possibility of being less trusting in future. Make the culprit pay for THIS loss where it hurts most - the wallet. Bill all the lawyer fee and whatever cost in evicting him. Let me tell you that a lawyer's letter does wonders if the lawyer knows what he/she is doing and says what he means and means what he says.

aangsc
03-11-2011, 04:12 AM
thanks for sharing, this is an eye opening read. i hope i won't get tenants like these in the future to come... >.<'
These cases also happened in SG, just got to know one recently . A chap from down-under owed 7 months always promise and always break promise until lawyer were engaged and almost auction his stuff then he paid up a couple of month and said money coming in later. Always delaying tactics and landlord too kind heart. The same story goes on until lease expired , had the cheek to ask for extension of lease by a month . Finally got ride of him but understand that he rent another unit elsewhere . The legal system does not protect the landlord well, rent with open eyes , check background / company , and make sure tenancy is well cover yourself.

wuqi256
03-11-2011, 04:21 AM
Probably need to find some way to have easier access to postings here. Tebrau having Ikea was discussed like a couple of hundred pages back. I just went there recently, there is some progress but don't think it will be ready early next year.

Now with the new highways here and there, getting around is so much easier, even in Kulai. Had a couple of near misses as i skidded on a road, quickly changed all the tyres. Safety first. My neighbour wasn't so lucky as he skidded in heavy rain, luckily he wasn't hurt.

wuqi256
03-11-2011, 04:27 AM
Bad tenants are everywhere, in MY, SG, AU, basically everywhere. Folks who just jumped into this thread, post bad news and scoot off had no answer when someone posted same burning of the property in Singapore when the tenant is unable to pay.

You will get your fair share of bad eggs with the good one, just do your due dilligence and get all the paper work properly done.

2bFree
03-11-2011, 05:45 AM
Yea got to be careful now with the stormy weather and waterlogged roads in MY and SG!

The best ways to avoid aquaplaning are:
1. Change tyres if they are more than 2 yrs old (compound has harden even if the threads are still prominent; check tyre manufacture date before purchase). Most MY cars are running on tyres that are really old which explains why during rains, they are accident prone.
2. Ensure proper tyre pressures by checking every week (use a proper tyre gauge as those at kiosks are not accurate and have to take pressures when tyres are as cold as possible)
3. Drive slower but never suddenly jam brake. Just release the accelerator and use engine braking to ensure traction is not lost
4. If your car has ABS, learn how it works and practise so when you need to apply it, it will be done correctly

My car is 20 yrs old and has no electronic driving aids and is a stick shift but I have no issues driving in the rain by following the above guidelines. Also modern cars have taken control of driving away from the driver to the computer thus that is why driving skills are lacking or not well honed.

Safest is to just take left most lane and drive not more than 60km/h!

Now with the new highways here and there, getting around is so much easier, even in Kulai. Had a couple of near misses as i skidded on a road, quickly changed all the tyres. Safety first. My neighbour wasn't so lucky as he skidded in heavy rain, luckily he wasn't hurt.

03-11-2011, 09:55 AM
I googled and found the below checklist and thought it might be useful to many readers here;

NEW HOME INSPECTION CHECKLIST

You should not be afraid to conduct your Pre-Delivery Inspection on your own. To guide you through this process and help keep you organized the Ontario New Home Warranty Program (ONHWP) has provided you with the New Home Inspection Checklist. (Based on the Greater Toronto Homebuilders' Association pamphlet Pre-Delivery Inspection 21 Points to Consider.)

Things to Look for…

Your builder will likely start the inspection inside the home and proceed from room to room.

When examining ceilings, walls, doors and windows you should check for obvious defects such as gouges, cracks and dents on finished surfaces. Doors should be well-fitted, evenly joined around the outside and top and bottom. Locks should be well installed and not rattle when the door is closed. Drywall should have no noticeable seams or evidence of nail pops.

Walk along floors and ensure there are no excessive squeaks or spring. Subfloor joints should not show ridges around tiles.

Flush toilets and turn on water taps to check water pressure and temperature. Check the caulking and grouting around tiles and tubs for gaps and cracks. Check tubs and sinks for any scratches in the finishes.

If appliances are part of your purchase package, make sure that the builder gives you the instruction booklets and individual warranty packages for them.

Locate the switches for ventilation and circulation fans normally found near the thermostat. Also, ensure that the fans in the bathrooms and in the kitchen are operating properly. Ask your builder to show you where they vent on the exterior of the house.

Outside, check that the brickwork and masonry are free of cracks and the doors and windows are properly caulked. Open and close the garage door to make sure that it does not stick.

Print out your copy of the New Home Inspection Checklist and you are ready to go.

New Home Inspection Checklist….

This checklist can be printed from your browser or saved to your computer for future reference.

Thanks for sharing, pretty useful checklist.

03-11-2011, 09:59 AM
These cases also happened in SG, just got to know one recently . A chap from down-under owed 7 months always promise and always break promise until lawyer were engaged and almost auction his stuff then he paid up a couple of month and said money coming in later. Always delaying tactics and landlord too kind heart. The same story goes on until lease expired , had the cheek to ask for extension of lease by a month . Finally got ride of him but understand that he rent another unit elsewhere . The legal system does not protect the landlord well, rent with open eyes , check background / company , and make sure tenancy is well cover yourself.

The landlord was too nice, there is a clause in standard tenancy contract for landlord to re-enter premise and the tenancy terminate if rental is not paid after 7 days.

thegolf
03-11-2011, 10:51 AM
Wow! Channel 8; 6.30pm news just promoted iskandar investment news. Maybe u guys may catch up again later but not sure will it show in prime news...

relaxmannn
03-11-2011, 11:19 AM
Hi all gd bros n sis,
Can a person who is discharged from bankrupt buy property in JB?
What is the guide line?

geritan
03-11-2011, 12:13 PM
Call them direct if you are interested to view the house. Few points to note : if you were to buy the house, make sure all terms and conditions like early move in or sales price that include furnishings are all listed out in the SPA. In case any dispute arise, you have the law to back you up. Learned my lesson the unpleasant way. Therefore don't wish to hear forummer here kenna con.

geritan
03-11-2011, 12:19 PM
For furniture, usually the transporter will know how to make it look like used item by removing the original packaging and covering it with normal plastic or something. If I'm not wrong, new items will be taxed. Also, electrical appliances will be taxed regardless of new or old... bummer on that.According to the mover that I'm going to hire, his says electrical appliances that are older that 2 years are tax free. They will apply import permit. Only fax machine is prohibited, regardless new or old.

ODYSSEY
03-11-2011, 12:35 PM
Call them direct if you are interested to view the house. Few points to note : if you were to buy the house, make sure all terms and conditions like early move in or sales price that include furnishings are all listed out in the SPA. In case any dispute arise, you have the law to back you up. Learned my lesson the unpleasant way. Therefore don't wish to hear forummer here kenna con.

Thanks Geritan, will remember that.

tutucake
03-11-2011, 12:54 PM
According to the mover that I'm going to hire, his says electrical appliances that are older that 2 years are tax free. They will apply import permit. Only fax machine is prohibited, regardless new or old.

How much did they charge you? By per trip or by per item?

GorengPisang
03-11-2011, 01:54 PM

Erm..not sure if this is appropriate, if any1 feels this is in any way out of line do let me knw and i'll take out my posting:

I can bring in households/appliances/tv etc for no tax....of course for some compensation, as i can only do this once (when my house is ready next yr then i will have to pay tax for any imports back to msia....so if any1 feels that savings can be substantial do pm me, cheers.

lastresort
03-11-2011, 02:34 PM
Wow! Channel 8; 6.30pm news just promoted iskandar investment news. Maybe u guys may catch up again later but not sure will it show in prime news...

Yeah bro, I just watched the repeat news at 10pm. Not bad they actually talked about the committed investments up to date.

lastresort
03-11-2011, 02:39 PM
Iskandar Malaysia gets bankrolled by a Chinese investment company

http://www.property-report.com/site/iskandar-malaysia-gets-bankrolled-by-a-chinese-investment-company-17039

Iskandar Investment Bhd, a property developer behind the Iskandar Malaysia project has landed a MYR1.8bn (US$572mn) real estate investment from a Chinese company, Qingdao Zhouyuan Investment Holdings.

Qingdao Zhouyuan is a subsidiary of Hebei-based property developer, Zhouda Real Estate Group.

The investment is the first of its kind by a foreign company in Medini Iskandar Malaysia and the biggest project investment in the area. The investment project will be covered in two phases and will commence next year, over a period of 10-15 years.

The first framework for the joint venture between Iskandar Investment and Qingdao Zhuoyuan will be to develop a residential project on a 7.256 hectare plot in Medini North. The total sales value of the project with 80 per cent share held by Qingdao Zhouyuan, is MYR157.6mn (US$50mn), with an estimated investment reaching MYR1.2bn (US$381mn).

The second framework agreement is for a 3.896 hectare plot in Medini. Qingdao Zhouyuan will establish a mixed-use development on the site, with a total sale value of MYR70.8mn (US$22.5mn) and total investment estimated at MYR520mn (US$165.3mn).

lastresort
03-11-2011, 02:41 PM
I think the latest not updated total committed investments should be around 80 billion Ringgit already. :)

Sime Darby, Sunway To Jointly Develop Township In Iskandar Malaysia

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v5/newsbusiness.php?id=624416

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 3 (Bernama) -- Conglomerate Sime Darby Bhd and Sunway Group's property division are likely to jointly develop townships in Iskandar Malaysia in Johor, industry sources said Thursday.

The source said the government was allocating land for the joint development and that the companies were buying the concession land at a good rate.

It is also understood that both companies would sign a memorandum of understanding in the next few weeks.

The source said that such collaboration between government linked companies (GLCs) and the private sector was best for the future development of Malaysia.

The joint development could be a strong message for Malaysian companies to forge relations with GLCs and play their part in the next stage of the country's development.

The idea of undertaking joint development between GLCs and the private sector was also stressed by Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin in building a sustainable and inclusive economy and drive Malaysia towards a developed nation status by 2020.

-- BERNAMA

vincentck
03-11-2011, 02:56 PM
Thanks for the encouragement Bro, I'm sure you're doing very good! Yup, I'm 23 and have lots more to learn. They say its never about how you start, but whats more important is how you finish the race. I hope I will enjoy the journey and be able to share with people next time, like how many bros and sisters are sharing their experiences and inspiring more.

I heard Milan Doshi is good, so I will attend his seminar one day. I am now reading Azizi Ali's books and will also read Milan's book. 2006 was a good year to start, prices were still affordable. :)Fantastic, 23 is a great time to start... better than most of us who started when we're in our late 20s. People also say, it's not the destination that counts; it's the journey in getting to your destination.

Yes, Milan Doshi is a practical speaker. I need to attend his seminar again as a refresher and also get my wife to attend so that we have the same property investment mindset. When I attended Milan's seminar, he started by showing us the various profits he made from investing in stock market. His point was that he made money in stocks, and it was numerous times... which is why he qualifies to lecture on that topic. And he warned us against others who advise and lecture about making money, but still don't have anything to show for it.

lastresort
03-11-2011, 04:04 PM
Fantastic, 23 is a great time to start... better than most of us who started when we're in our late 20s. People also say, it's not the destination that counts; it's the journey in getting to your destination.

Yes, Milan Doshi is a practical speaker. I need to attend his seminar again as a refresher and also get my wife to attend so that we have the same property investment mindset. When I attended Milan's seminar, he started by showing us the various profits he made from investing in stock market. His point was that he made money in stocks, and it was numerous times... which is why he qualifies to lecture on that topic. And he warned us against others who advise and lecture about making money, but still don't have anything to show for it.

Agreed with you bro vincentck, journey is the most important, although I must also add it is really important how we start (not when we start). Because the first few experiences make a lot of difference. If the first 3 are successful, you can move on very fast. But if the first one is a failed one, it takes a lot of time to start again.

Great, Milan's seminar is the one that I will definitely attend since he is endorsed by so many shifus. And the fact that you intend to attend again means he is really good! Knowledge is the best investment! =)

lastresort
03-11-2011, 04:19 PM
^^ anyways contradicting my own statement above.

It's Friday and long weekend is coming! Time to relax..

Puteri harbour
03-11-2011, 04:30 PM
Hi,
I am happy that things are moving fast, faster than I expect since I bought Imperia during the soft launch. a 2508 sqft unit at high floor with good view of marina and Singapore.

This is my first investment in Johor and I hope that I will not be wrong as all my Malaysia friends and malaysia relative advise me against it.

All the best to all whose have already invested in nusajaya city....

Cheers
PH

Hi SriAustinian,

Been to the EXPO and noticed the same development also. The service apartment is
ucalled Somerset. Understand from a lady this project haven't officially launch yet. Floor plan not finalize and off the record price indicative around $700 to $1100. This apartment will be managed by Ascott. Shops below are not for sale but only rent out by the developer.

By the way, I have been following this forum since it is still under 50 pages. A big thanks to Wuqi and other forumers for keeping this forum hot and rolling.

lastresort
03-11-2011, 04:39 PM
JB-Singapore MRT to have 5 stations in 2018!, Singapore to Kempas, including Nusajaya (News)

http://www.chinapress.com.my/node/238613

Key points Summary.

- JB-Singapore MRT might be ready in 2018

- It may have 5 stations in JB, with the terminus at Kempas station

- Each station interval distance would be about 1 km

- The terminal will have shopping centre, food centre

- The station in Singapore would be in Woodlands, near to the Republic Polytechnic

lastresort
03-11-2011, 04:41 PM
5終站相接總站.每1公里有停站 新山地鐵2018年落成

報導:鄭慶勵
攝影:張來星

(新山30日訊)新山預計2018年落成的地鐵(MRT)計劃,將有5大終站與甘拔士總站相接,每隔約1 公里再有停站,方便南上北下的民眾。

建議中的終站包括努沙再也終站、烏魯地南終站、巴西古當終站、古來終站及士乃機場終站。

有望紓解交通流量

工程預計2018年竣工,到時有望紓解新山地區的交通流量,新加坡也正策劃擴建現有的地鐵軌道,准備與新 山地鐵連接,相信可在2018年成事。

然而,地鐵計劃乃是一件大工程,並有多方面需要考量,雙方仍在商討階段。

新山地鐵工程顧問羅斯里博士在“馬來西亞依斯干達特區─新加坡的綜合發展潛能”研討會發表指出,新山地下 鐵路總站將建在甘拔士,能與吉隆坡中環媲美,因為該總站也將提供一站式服務,包括德士、巴士及 輕快鐵等。

他說,總站有如購物中心般,設有購物商店、小食中心等,讓公眾在等待之餘,還能閒逛,消磨時 間。

將近百人出席研討會,包括城市規劃師、建築師及馬新兩國的政府官員。其他出席者包括,依斯幹達旗艦發展部 副主席莫哈末扎米爾及新加坡市區重建局主管黃玉寧(譯音)。

暫定在兀蘭共和理工學院
馬新兩國地鐵將連接

新加坡暫把連接點定在兀蘭共和理工學院,從該處延申現有的地鐵線到我國。

新加坡陸路交通管理局總建築師張愛珠受《中國報》訪問時透露,馬新兩國的地鐵路將會相連,連接點暫定在共 和理工學院一帶。

“新加坡方面的路線經已肯定,不過尚未開始建造,需要考量各方面的安全及地價問題。新加坡政府要建個四通 八達的地下鐵路,好讓人民舒適地乘搭地鐵,更能夠惠及人民。”

她之前曾到過香港考察當地的地鐵系統,並發現該國的地下鐵路非常方便,值得新加坡學習。

她坦承,新加坡的地下鐵路工程應該會在2018年竣工,現在政府正在篩選發展商。

尋合適跑道建地下鐵路

羅斯里透露,現階段大馬當局尚在尋找合適的跑道興建地下鐵路,因為需要多方面考量。

他說,就算找到合適的跑道,也要找到合適的地點興建總站與終站,需要蠻大的地段及空間,才能 建成。

“興建新的地下鐵路工程就要投入很大心血、資金及人力,這是件非常龐大且复雜的工程。如果成功找到合適的 跑道和地點,政府還需投入大筆資金和人力,也需時間想出一個十全十美的計劃,以便建造一個人人受用的地下鐵 路。”

此外,他說,政府也還需要考量安全問題,因為不想發生任何不愉快事件。

cleyeo
04-11-2011, 12:46 AM
The landlord was too nice, there is a clause in standard tenancy contract for landlord to re-enter premise and the tenancy terminate if rental is not paid after 7 days.

Agree, it was the fault of the landlord himself. He was too kind , payment delayed for months and he did not do anything.

spidey
04-11-2011, 02:13 AM
JB-Singapore MRT to have 5 stations in 2018!, Singapore to Kempas, including Nusajaya (News)

Key points Summary.

- The station in Singapore would be in Woodlands, near to the Republic Polytechnic

Is that the Kempas area opposite Setia Tropika??

ODYSSEY
04-11-2011, 02:39 AM
Hi,
I am happy that things are moving fast, faster than I expect since I bought Imperia during the soft launch. a 2508 sqft unit at high floor with good view of marina and Singapore.

This is my first investment in Johor and I hope that I will not be wrong as all my Malaysia friends and malaysia relative advise me against it.

All the best to all whose have already invested in nusajaya city....

Cheers
PH

Good for you PH, enjoy your house!

ODYSSEY
04-11-2011, 02:48 AM
Agree, it was the fault of the landlord himself. He was too kind , payment delayed for months and he did not do anything.

I have been following this discussion on the landlord matter. Seriously, I think I would have fallen for it like the landlord too. My wife said that I can be too trusting most times. I think I would make a terrible landlord! : (

checkers
04-11-2011, 02:53 AM

Yes...near there.

Investor
04-11-2011, 04:01 AM
I vaguely remember Mallow mentioned about being able to feel the vibration from Live Firing of military training nearby her home at Ledang Heights.
Can anyone confirm that?
Are those Malaysia's or Singapore's military trainings?

Investor
04-11-2011, 04:06 AM
Did anyone ever visit Puteri Harbour and happened to experience the sound and vibration of Live Firing from Singapore?

aangsc
04-11-2011, 05:13 AM
I vaguely remember Mallow mentioned about being able to feel the vibration from Live Firing of military training nearby her home at Ledang Heights.
Can anyone confirm that?
Are those Malaysia's or Singapore's military trainings?

I would be shock if malaysia military firing is anywhere near or even within Nusajaya .

jasonjst
04-11-2011, 05:26 AM

Key points Summary.

How come Singapore side didnt report news on these 5 stations ? Should be built by the Malaysian since it is in their lands. I belived Singapore is only resposible for the Woodland station. What ever the case , it is good news !

cathylmg
04-11-2011, 05:42 AM

Its just beside Setia Tropika. Hopefully by then I can let them go to school or to work by taking the MRT themselves. But I am also hoping that they would open up a road directly towards the terminal. Crossing my fingers. :)

IskandarRocks
04-11-2011, 05:58 AM
I would be shock if malaysia military firing is anywhere near or even within Nusajaya .

It is actually in Singapore and you can see the location on Google Maps as 'Live Firing Area':

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=singapore&hl=en&ll=1.405251,103.672314&spn=0.082201,0.153637&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=33.352165,78.662109&vpsrc=6&hnear=Singapore&t=m&z=13

PH - you and I may be able to see them in action from our apartments if they still do it in 3 years time. :)

Joke apart - I doubt if this will still be around if they have people in tall buildings gazing at them from across the border in a few years time.

lastresort
04-11-2011, 06:00 AM
The terminal will be built in Kempas instead of JB sentral because KTM has a huge land bank in Kempas. My guess is that the depot will also be located there. It is much more suitable area than building it nearer to city centre (JB Sentral or Nusajaya), which makes sense as land acquisition for this purpose would be very costly. Note that however, the latest update is that there will be 5 stations in this RTS system. Not the one station in either Kempas or JB Sentral reported earlier. Therefore one or more of the other 4 stations would very likely be interchange that will connect to the JB's MRT system if any in future.

It is speculated that there will be 5 stations, they are located in Nusajaya, Ulu Tiram, Pasir Gudang, Kulai and Senai Airport.

Investor
04-11-2011, 06:10 AM
It is actually in Singapore and you can see the location on Google Maps as 'Live Firing Area':

http://maps.google.com/maps?q=singapore&hl=en&ll=1.405251,103.672314&spn=0.082201,0.153637&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=33.352165,78.662109&vpsrc=6&hnear=Singapore&t=m&z=13

PH - you and I may be able to see them in action from our apartments if they still do it in 3 years time. :)

Joke apart - I doubt if this will still be around if they have people in tall buildings gazing at them from across the border in a few years time.

It'll be nice to own a water-front bungalow in Puteri Harbour with own yacht right at the backyard. Coming back to Sg will be a breeze :)