PDA

View Full Version : Living in JB

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64

arsenal
19-10-2011, 09:30 AM
Do you keep "xiao qiang" at home? ha ha ..

haha bros..no insect language la...just human language will do.

Food for thought. Does anyone deserve the death penalty simply because he wants to have a meal?. Think about this next time before you start whacking those pesky mosquitoes. If you find them a nuisance, simply shoo them away or take precautionary measures such as netting etc. never kill direct. Its bad for karma.

Sorry for being philosophical bros.

cheers.

Investor
19-10-2011, 11:38 AM
I just have a golf game today in Horizon Hills today.. At hole 7, when the course is nearest to the highway, I find the noise unbearable and not acceptable..

I hope HH, UEM will erect noise insulator at the fence at hole 7.. At other holes noise level is fine.. However with the new highway, I find the golf course is less serene as compared with other courses like Legend.. Even in Singapore like Safra or Tenah Merah with several holes very near the highway, I still don't get affected by the road noise..

Hi Arsenal and everyone else who plays golf,

Is it possible that a golfer can hit the golf ball into a house beside the golf course? Eg. those houses in Horizon Hills beside the golf course.

Narmi
19-10-2011, 12:00 PM

Is it possible that a golfer can hit the golf ball into a house beside the golf course? Eg. those houses in Horizon Hills beside the golf course.

It sure can happen. My NSman officer recently this July became blinded in one eye in one of d sg golf courses due to a golf ball. He was there at the right moment, right angle , right velocity, right wind direction but unfortunately wrong
place. What were the odds man?! So since the houses there are much much bigger than an eye socket u cant discount d possibilty.

IskandarRocks
19-10-2011, 12:16 PM
Hi, was wondering if anyone on this forum can suggest any good agents or website to publish ads for selling house? I'm trying to sell my nusa idaman semi d but can't seem to find honest agents...

Have you tried www.homeguru.com.my?

Try searching for properties above RM 500k and you will get the contacts of agents who specialise in marketing properties to foreign buyers. I noticed that agents who offer properties below 500k are distinctively different as they target Market is different as well.

mathstub
19-10-2011, 12:26 PM
so fortunate to become royalty!

Since there is discussion on bank loans and royalties, I would like to share some info.

I am on HXXC loan and I find that they have no hidden cost compared to SXXXXXXX. For SXXXXXXX, they charge you if you want to deposit above a certain amount into the account. Personally I found that a disadvantage when I want to deposit an amount to offset my interest. PB I found they were a bit slow to my queries so I gave up not too long after talking to them. HXXC just charge the RM10 every month, no other charges. Only complain is dunno why they keep sending my statements to my old address even after updating my new address with them.

As far as i know for royalties, I heard the show unit bungalow beside the clubhouse is owned by the bigest royalty in the state, but I doubt he bought it. More like they gave it to him. I don't know if it's occupied since I hardly to there after I purchase my place.

Narmi
19-10-2011, 12:32 PM
Wow great work by Royal Msian Police..they managed to find the stolen sporean car and wif his 2 golf bags still in d car..3 days found already! Hope this concerted effort will b d rule rather than d exception esp with sg big brother interests in Iskandar

IskandarRocks
19-10-2011, 12:33 PM
Anyone using hsbc loan? From the previos post i saw ppl say its nt nice? Mind to share?

Sorry for the late response. I have used HSBC for 2 mortgages and they exceeded my expectations. In both cases, the approval came within 48 hours. Overall, they are very responsive to all queries. They are a bit conservative and go up to 85 percent (in both cases). You will have to cover loan stamping and legal fee for loan (total approx 1 percent of loan) separately. MRTA is not required and they will not include in the loan in case you take it. I found an apples to apples life insurance cheaper in Singapore, and most importantly, you pay on a monthly basis, not up front as in MRTA.

If you opt for a flexible mortgage, they will charge you interest only on the loan outstanding, minus any balance on your account.

Depending on the loan amount, you may qualify for the Premier Account. If you get one in MY, you automatically qualify for Premier Account in SG. Transferring money is very quick and exchange rates are very good, given the convenience. Hope this helps.

Depending on the loan size, they may give you a Premier account along with the mortgage

Investor
19-10-2011, 12:33 PM
It sure can happen. My NSman officer recently this July became blinded in one eye in one of d sg golf courses due to a golf ball. He was there at the right moment, right angle , right velocity, right wind direction but unfortunately wrong
place. What were the odds man?! So since the houses there are much much bigger than an eye socket u cant discount d possibilty.

Alamah so there's no help at all for his eye? Was he also a player that day or just passing by the golf course?

mathstub
19-10-2011, 12:38 PM
Facing million dollar limestone and lake, very tempting

Hi,

I havent got any houses there cos I feel that I cant control it. Imagine having to drive 3-4 hours just to check out the place or renovation? I love exploring houses with concept.. one in Ipoh I saw in the papers last year.. condo facing those million dollar limestone and with natural lake.. wanted to drop by one day to see. :)

Narmi
19-10-2011, 12:43 PM
Alamah so there's no help at all for his eye? Was he also a player that day or just passing by the golf course?

Bro investor
He was a player but got hit by stray golf ball..we thot it was not that bad but true enuff when we met up 3wks ago his eye was blind. *Gulp*

mathstub
19-10-2011, 12:45 PM
I am so sorry to hear that. I wish him the best. Has he given up the golf after getting hit by the golfball?

mathstub
19-10-2011, 12:53 PM
This issue needs to be brought up to HH, UEM. Have you told them about this? Hi Bro, are you the owner of some landed properties there at HH? There is an exit of the new highway that goes straight to the heart of Horizon Hills.

I don't remember whether there are guards there at the entrance of HH close to the exit of the new highway.

I just have a golf game today in Horizon Hills today.. At hole 7, when the course is nearest to the highway, I find the noise unbearable and not acceptable..

I hope HH, UEM will erect noise insulator at the fence at hole 7.. At other holes noise level is fine.. However with the new highway, I find the golf course is less serene as compared with other courses like Legend.. Even in Singapore like Safra or Tenah Merah with several holes very near the highway, I still don't get affected by the road noise..

mathstub
19-10-2011, 12:54 PM
Any Bros have experience with SCB for loan application for the second property?

arsenal
19-10-2011, 12:56 PM
Quite unlikely unless the golfer purposely aim the ball into your house..

Narmi
19-10-2011, 01:01 PM
I am so sorry to hear that. I wish him the best. Has he given up the golf after getting hit by the golfball?

We treated him just like b4 like nothg happen so neva bring up issue whther he cont playg golf or not..he took it on his chin and didnt mop over his loss of sight (his cornea and retina was damaged beyond repair).if it were me i cant imagine my reactn

arsenal
19-10-2011, 01:03 PM
No I haven't written to UEM but I believe they will definitely rectify it if they still want to position Horizon Hills as a premium golf club in Malaysia. I believe the golf pros during iskandar open will definitely sound this up to HH..

There is an exit from new highway direct to HH that is closed. If they open this up and allow the traffic and noise level to rise, the Johor chief minister house ambient will definitely be affected as his is quite close to the exit.. Hope it will not open..

This issue needs to be brought up to HH, UEM. Have you told them about this? Hi Bro, are you the owner of some landed properties there at HH? There is an exit of the new highway that goes straight to the heart of Horizon Hills.

I don't remember whether there are guards there at the entrance of HH close to the exit of the new highway.

Narmi
19-10-2011, 01:05 PM
Quite unlikely unless the golfer purposely aim the ball into your house..

I dont play golf but can a beginner golfer commit a mistake as to hit a stray ball into d hse?

arsenal
19-10-2011, 01:05 PM
Wow great work by Royal Msian Police..they managed to find the stolen sporean car and wif his 2 golf bags still in d car..3 days found already! Hope this concerted effort will b d rule rather than d exception esp with sg big brother interests in Iskandar

Great news.. If the police are committed to do their job well, I am sure they can do it..

Sanur
19-10-2011, 01:10 PM
:D on the same note I found some parts of the web discuss using ultra high frequency sounds to repel mosquitoes. I wonder if that works!

For mozzie management, whether in my Singapore or Jb place, once a month we will use a chemical spray, which my hub got it from the nursery n mix it with water n use a pump to spray around the garden, I should said the smells stinks for a while, but it really keeps thaem away. I am staying very close to the reserve.

arsenal
19-10-2011, 01:14 PM
I dont play golf but can a beginner golfer commit a mistake as to hit a stray ball into d hse?

I think the houses are at quite a distance from the fairway for accident to happen unless someone purposely aim a ball directly into the house.. If the player is a novice and swing his clubs anyhow, he will be spotted and not allowed to play there.. He could kill other golfers and his handicap declaration will work against him when there is a claim... I think..

SeriAustinian
19-10-2011, 01:32 PM
Hi aangsc, the indoor theme park is confirmed at Puteri Harbour. Targeted to open on Sept-2012. Beside the indoor theme park is Traders Hotel. That is what I know at this moment. Maybe some bros would like to share more.

Hi everyone, had been following this forum since page 1 for the past 1.5yr n had benefitted tremendously fr it! With utmost respect to Wuqi for starting "Living in JB" n grateful to all who hv been contributing regularly despite their busy schedules. Puts me to shame for waiting so long! This is my 1st post. Hope I can learn more by beginning to share.

Attended a Bursa Malaysia talk few mths bck at DBS building. Few MY developers were there like Mah Sing, SP Setia n UM Land, etc. Informed by UM Land staff tt they r in the pipeline to launch a low-rise waterfront residential at Puteri Harbour. Detailed plan is not firm but they claim their development has better waterfront view than Imperial. Guess they r fine-tuning after Imperial. V tempted but no budget. Hope to pass moderation phase soon...

Grago
19-10-2011, 01:40 PM
I think the houses are at quite a distance from the fairway for accident to happen unless someone purposely aim a ball directly into the house.. If the player is a novice and swing his clubs anyhow, he will be spotted and not allowed to play there.. He could kill other golfers and his handicap declaration will work against him when there is a claim... I think..A novice could 'shank' the ball in an attempt to do a "Tiger Woods" thereby slicing the shot and reaching a house that's close to the fairways.

Fook Seng
19-10-2011, 01:54 PM
A novice could 'shank' the ball in an attempt to do a "Tiger Woods" thereby slicing the shot and reaching a house that's close to the fairways.

How can you shank and slice a golf shot at the same time?

SeriAustinian
19-10-2011, 01:58 PM
Well, actually it would be great to know whether Bros here bought the mortgage insurance when they got their property loan.

I bot MRTA for both my terraces in Ser Austin(own-stay, ready Mar'12) n HH Golf (investment, ready Jun'12). Reason being not to burden my wife in case anything happens to me.

chong2011
19-10-2011, 02:04 PM
Today Nusa Duta sales office called and notified that a freehold condominium D'Rich will be launched soon. Worth to invest? Any comments, pls.

Grago
19-10-2011, 03:07 PM
How can you shank and slice a golf shot at the same time?You're quite right, difficult to do most times but when not impossible by the novice..... I should know as I've hit a couple of them when I first took up the game....... Ball hits the hosel but then instead of just scooting along the ground to the right it severely slices off to the right for the right handed golfer and vice versa for the left hander. Normally when trying to hit it hard as you can to gain distance and at the same time the weight moves too much forward to the toes.....

lastresort
19-10-2011, 04:27 PM
so many golfers here, you guys might wanna take a look at the Iskandar Johor Open website.

http://www.iskandarjohoropen.com/course_index.php

Season pass at only RM 50 =)

SeriAustinian
19-10-2011, 05:13 PM
... once the mosquitoes, drosphilas and whatever flying insects are gone, I have to deal with the lizards next. grrr. They are way to shitty, literally!!

Great tips shared:
- Cloves for cockroaches
- poison for ants

"Shitty" lizards hv been haunting us even in our high-rise HDB dwellings. Wifey especially paranoid. Heard tt textured walls/ceiling can hamper their movement n hence reduce "lizard bombardments". Any experienced homeowners/pestbusters can verify that? Thx!

SeriAustinian
19-10-2011, 05:52 PM
Hi,

I havent got any houses there cos I feel that I cant control it. Imagine having to drive 3-4 hours just to check out the place or renovation? I love exploring houses with concept.. one in Ipoh I saw in the papers last year.. condo facing those million dollar limestone and with natural lake.. wanted to drop by one day to see. :)

Hi bro HH, I believe it's called the Haven. Went there few mths bck while visiting in-laws in Ipoh. If I remember correctly, the owner is S'porean who has migrated to Australia. Last I heard, 1st blk almost sold out, 2nd blk 60% sold n final blk shd b launched nw. The natural surrounding scenery is simply beautiful n material used not too bad either. Only drawback is pricing, abt 500psf which I feel is on the high side in Ipoh. Great for retirement tho as the balcony facing the natural limestone feature plus lake is v therapeutic (spotted kingfisher on our 1st visit).

Will go bck there again on my next visit next month.

checkers
19-10-2011, 11:49 PM
I bot MRTA for both my terraces in Ser Austin(own-stay, ready Mar'12) n HH Golf (investment, ready Jun'12). Reason being not to burden my wife in case anything happens to me.

If you already have enough insurance coverage on hand, there isn't any need to buy MRTA or MLTA. :cool:

abugumgum
19-10-2011, 11:51 PM
More info at http://www.ijmland.com/property_details/property_details.aspx?pID=223

Noted the GPS cor-ordinates for the location. Kind of near the highway.

Today Nusa Duta sales office called and notified that a freehold condominium D'Rich will be launched soon. Worth to invest? Any comments, pls.

vincentck
20-10-2011, 12:25 AM
Photo of roof installation @ Horizon Hills

Now you guys don't have to guess what's above your ceiling. :)

Any comments on the steel structure of the roof ????
Hi bro, how did u manage to take photos of your roof? The steel frames are good because it eliminates the problem of termite infestation or wood rotting in the long term. Also, it looks like there is a layer of plastic sheet below the roof tiles. That should help to prevent any water from reaching your ceiling if there's a leakage thru ur roof tiles.

Investor
20-10-2011, 12:52 AM
Yes, you have noticed well. I did act fast and picked up a EL landed and Imperia. I was quite convinced about the potential after 2-3 visits. Of course, the wealth of information on this forum was definitely the accelerator. Many thanks to all of you.

For some of you who have questions about Imperia, the price at pre-launch (from what I remember) started at RM 550 psf and goes all the way to RM 800 psf. This one has no bumi units from what I understand. The ones (3 bedrooms) facing the marina are significantly more, on a psf basis, than the ones that face the office block. On the day of the soft launch, they had received payments for around 60 units and were waiting for a wire transfer for another 20 units from Japanese buyers who were looking into the MM2H program. Not sure what the current number after adds and dropouts are. This is out of a total of 250 units. Given that I have not seen a single advertisement, I consider this to be pretty good. As someone mentioned, the full-launch will be in November and they were talking about bumping up the prices.

In terms of the developments, as you all know, Traders Hotel and Indoor Theme Park are coming up fast. I was also told that Legoland is putting a lot of pressure on UEM Land to get the CIQ center going fast so that they can start ferrying in visitors to the theme park once it opens next year. Not sure how soon this will happen but this should help boost the potential.

What is better? Ujana or Imperia? I was asking the same question earlier. Ujana is sold out. The new launch at East Ledang is Impiana. Pricing is different, as it was from RM 400 to RM 600 range. To me, Impiana sounded more like an upper-mid market segment. The targeted residents would be students at Educity. Imperia, on the other hand, is positioned at high end or luxury and the target residents would be professionals and executives. So it really depends on what you are looking at as well as your appetite for risk. Imperia is definitely riskier, as it is more expensive and there are fewer firmed up developments around Puteri Harbour (meaning under construction) compared with East Ledang. My decision towards Imperia was based on the potentailly fantastic views of the harbour, located near future CIQ, and also the quality of finishings as noticed in the show units. Hope this helps.

Congrats and thanks for sharing. As long as you like the place and can enjoy it for own leisure or long term stay, then investment risk is much lower :) Your East Ledang terrace is in which phase?

yonglip
20-10-2011, 01:04 AM
Do you keep "xiao qiang" at home? ha ha ..

i used to kill them. baits, sprays and the once a while 'human touch'..haha..if u know what i mean.

i stopped and their numbers dwindled naturally...this is despite having 3 young kids whose day job is to make sure you clean up after them. of course a clean house does help a lot.

cheers.

mallow
20-10-2011, 01:33 AM
Photo of roof installation @ Horizon Hills. Now you guys don't have to guess what's above your ceiling. :) Any comments on the steel structure of the roof ????

I would be grateful to know a professional opinion. Our second of two contractors who constructed this told us that when there is a significant drop or rise in temperature the metal would contract/expand and would make loud 'ping' noises noticeably, and advised against having it. Is anybody able to tell me if he was - as he did successfully many times, so ignorant we were - in fact trying to save money?

cleyeo
20-10-2011, 01:51 AM
brought one of my friends (who is interested in BH) to visit BH yesterday. Reached around 11:00 morning. busy day, many trucks/ lorries moved in and out the place.

Unable to find a place to park my car, then I decided to park at car port of one of the unit (unfinished unit). we saw the show units, as well as the unit under construction. After viewing few houses, I wanted to collect my car. I saw one guy in a small car (kancil ?), waiting for me. He gave a signal to me telling me to move my car. I understood that my car might have affecting the worker, so I quickly run and moved my car. The guy was so unfriendly, kept staring at me even though I have apologized.

Well, I was fully aware that I should not have parked there. But at that time, I had no choice, no room for me to park. I just felt upset seeing the guy who is so arrogant, not even a smile when I apologize. It just made my day !!

From BH, we proceed to view the SEED.

mallow
20-10-2011, 01:54 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_pest_control I don't recommend these products although i still use it (no choice cos buy already have to use). i am hoping it deters bats but that is based on my personal thesis. Cheers

For those who are able to meditate peacefully while a mosquito is feasting - yes, you have transcended many human weaknesses on a correct path to enlightenment. But for the rest of us, mosquitoes are a risk of terminal diseases. The possibility of dengue or of malaria is real and children and older people more vulnerable. They also bite your cats and dogs. Chikungunya has killed people in the Gelang Patah area in particular.
This is what I summarised about mosquitoes: http://www.puterim.com/joomla/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=187:mosquitoes&catid=50:medical-considerations&Itemid=18

I have an electronic pest repeller that is of high quality and made in Australia, which does not work for me. The same model owned by a friend in JB, he cannot live without, swearing by its effectiveness. Worth the investment anyway, if you have many moskies around. Any of those diseases would be a serious drag.

crystal_tiong
20-10-2011, 02:09 AM
brought one of my friends (who is interested in BH) to visit BH yesterday. Reached around 11:00 morning. busy day, many trucks/ lorries moved in and out the place.

Unable to find a place to park my car, then I decided to park at car port of one of the unit (unfinished unit). we saw the show units, as well as the unit under construction. After viewing few houses, I wanted to collect my car. I saw one guy in a small car (kancil ?), waiting for me. He gave a signal to me telling me to move my car. I understood that my car might have affecting the worker, so I quickly run and moved my car. The guy was so unfriendly, kept staring at me even though I have apologized.

Well, I was fully aware that I should not have parked there. But at that time, I had no choice, no room for me to park. I just felt upset seeing the guy who is so arrogant, not even a smile when I apologize. It just made my day !!

Hi

Any review on the SEED ?

jasonjst
20-10-2011, 02:21 AM
Hi bro, how did u manage to take photos of your roof? The steel frames are good because it eliminates the problem of termite infestation or wood rotting in the long term. Also, it looks like there is a layer of plastic sheet below the roof tiles. That should help to prevent any water from reaching your ceiling if there's a leakage thru ur roof tiles.

But will also prevent us from detecting the leak earlier during the hand over of the house ?

IskandarRocks
20-10-2011, 02:36 AM
Congrats and thanks for sharing. As long as you like the place and can enjoy it for own leisure or long term stay, then investment risk is much lower :) Your East Ledang terrace is in which phase?

Thanks Much! Yes, fully agree with you Investor. For me, this is very long term, and I like Marinas and Harbours. So you are absolutely right, the level of risk from my personal perspective is very low.

East Ledang - Phase 3A, Melody Park. Terraces and Semi Ds were all sold out by the time I got to know about this.

matx3315
20-10-2011, 03:31 AM

Any comments on BH (the development ) beside the un-friendly guy?

cockcansing
20-10-2011, 03:57 AM
No one know if Sultan has to pay money for the house.. If he wants, he can certainly do it.. I heard from HH sales staffs that he bought the place for his girl friend..and I think it is true..

Haha, My friend told me that the Sultan receive 10% from every developement in Johor. Probably he got the place for free.

Investor
20-10-2011, 04:45 AM
List of forummers who have purchased or intend to purchase property in Johor. Hope those guests who are following this thread actively will also create their own account and join 'The List'. (Copy the whole list including this heading. Click 'Reply to Thread'. Paste it in your reply and add your nick to the list.)
# IMPORTANT - For new members, please try to make your first 10 post anywhere else before adding your nick to this list.

1. Wuqi256 - Nusajaya, Wuqi256 sisters, sister bf. Wuqi256's relatives, friends and colleagues - Total 27 bought so far in Nusajaya
2. Investor - Nusajaya
3. Analytical Professor - Kempas
4. Sanur - Leisure farm/polo view
5. Sanur's mum - Leisure Farm/bayou water village
6. Sanur's SIL - Leisure Farm/polo view
7. Jasonjst - Sutera Utama
8. Tansi - Leisure Farm
9. relaxmannn - Nusajaya
10. nusajayaphile - The Hills Precinct, Horizon Hills
11. Mahesh - Leisure Farm/pinggiran bayou
12. East539 - Nusajaya
13. East539's Sis - EL/LF
14. JazJoz - Horizon Hills
15. Lynn - east Ledang
16. TheGolf - HH
17. Grago. - Horizon Hills
18. Arsenal - Horizon Hills
19. Vincentck & Wife - NI
20. mathstub- Horizon Hills
21. ShawnLow - Bestari Heights
22. Skippy - Horizon Hill The Golf
23. LastResort Family - Horizon Hills, The Gateway, The Hills & Fairway Suites
24. Kaeel - Nusa Idaman , Hill side Semi D
25. Lord Aragorn - The Straits View Residences, Permas Jaya
26. cathylmg - Kempas
27. captw - Bukit Indah, Amelia 1
28. mallow - Nusajaya
29. IskandarRocks - East Ledang, Imperia@Puteri Harbour
30. euphony - LF & mt. austin
31. narmi - NI
32. maxpark - Fairway Suites, Indahwalk3
33. Avalon74- Setia Eco Garden
34. Yonglip - Bestari Heights
35. AbuGumGum - Sungai Chat, Johor Bahru
36. 2bFree - HH
37. Aisanbo - Sky Gardens Residences @ Setia Tropika
38. 29ers - LF
39. Weetabix - HH

horizonhills
20-10-2011, 06:46 AM
Hi do u know where is the sales office? Really feel like visiting Heaven, I mean Haven.. I was literally awed by the natural surroundings in the advertisement. Much astounding than Horizon Hills.

Hi bro HH, I believe it's called the Haven. Went there few mths bck while visiting in-laws in Ipoh. If I remember correctly, the owner is S'porean who has migrated to Australia. Last I heard, 1st blk almost sold out, 2nd blk 60% sold n final blk shd b launched nw. The natural surrounding scenery is simply beautiful n material used not too bad either. Only drawback is pricing, abt 500psf which I feel is on the high side in Ipoh. Great for retirement tho as the balcony facing the natural limestone feature plus lake is v therapeutic (spotted kingfisher on our 1st visit).

checkers
20-10-2011, 06:47 AM
Hi

Any review on the SEED ?

Crystal

There is a show unit near to Sutera mall. Go take a look and you will have a good idea of what it is like and if it suits your needs. The salestaff there are very helpful.

After viewing, you can drop by Sutera mall and the shops around it for shopping and makan session.... You will be spoilt for choice :)

checkers
20-10-2011, 06:49 AM
Any comments on BH (the development ) beside the un-friendly guy?

Think it is going to TOP soon ...

horizonhills
20-10-2011, 06:51 AM
cant blame uncouth rascals. In Malaysia, all I can say is, dont expect too much. When they say buildings are built to BCA in Spore standards, u listen can already. The mouth is theirs so let them brag. The truth is they can never compete with Spoore, lar!

horizonhills
20-10-2011, 06:53 AM
http://www.thehaven.com.my/

Seriously, this is the pride of Ipoh and probably the best natural views of all property developments I have seen. If its in Johor, I would snap up the units for sure. Would rather stay in a penthouse in Haven rather than a bungalow in HH.

horizonhills
20-10-2011, 06:55 AM
If anyone dares hit a golf ball inside my house, I will sue until they become pok.

horizonhills
20-10-2011, 07:00 AM
Haha.. its actually VERY easy to solve crimes in Malaysia. When you have police and thief wearing the same shirt, reporting to the same boss, u can crack any case, anyday, anywhere

crystal_tiong
20-10-2011, 07:23 AM
Crystal

There is a show unit near to Sutera mall. Go take a look and you will have a good idea of what it is like and if it suits your needs. The salestaff there are very helpful.

After viewing, you can drop by Sutera mall and the shops around it for shopping and makan session.... You will be spoilt for choice :)

Hi Checkers

Wow , u quite informative ah , so which house u bought in nusajaya ?
Cant find your name in the list leh ....
Hmm , i dun really like the SEED location , a bit too congested....

Investor
20-10-2011, 08:15 AM
For fellow forummers who stay in estates which benefits from the upcoming Eastern Dispersal Link's (EDL),
see photos update in Super325.com (http://super325.com/2011/10/20/east-dispersal-link-edl-project-update-27-photos/)

jazjoz
20-10-2011, 08:18 AM
May I know if anyone did any external reno on their house in HH? Since it's not strata title, and from what I can see from the S&P, there is only mention of no change of colour, how are they going to enforce what you do to the external of the house?

arsenal
20-10-2011, 08:30 AM
Beautiful.. Can buy, but where to find time and energy to drive to that place?

Can such concept being developed in Pulau Ubin or Bukit Timah?

Seriously, this is the pride of Ipoh and probably the best natural views of all property developments I have seen. If its in Johor, I would snap up the units for sure. Would rather stay in a penthouse in Haven rather than a bungalow in HH.

checkers
20-10-2011, 08:32 AM
Beautiful.. Can buy, but where to find time and energy to drive to that place?

Can such concept being developed in Pulau Ubin or Bukit Timah?

You can fly there via budget airline "Firefly" !

Ipoh - a nice town with good food ...yummy:)

arsenal
20-10-2011, 08:35 AM
Ipoh lady are also very pretty.. and many Singapore scholars are from Ipoh..

You can fly there via budget airline "Firefly" !

Ipoh - a nice town with good food ...yummy:)

arsenal
20-10-2011, 08:40 AM
There are so many roads and infrastructure projects in JB and it is like Beijing in early part of year 2000..

If such investment carry on, maybe JB can host Olympic one day? Before that happen, we need to gear up and buy more properties?

For fellow forummers who stay in estates which benefits from the upcoming Eastern Dispersal Link's (EDL),
see photos update in Super325.com (http://super325.com/2011/10/20/east-dispersal-link-edl-project-update-27-photos/)

Investor
20-10-2011, 11:10 AM
Hi IskandarRocks,

You posted questions about East Ledang and Puteri Harbour just 2 months ago and now you've already bought both? East Ledang landed plus Puteri Harbour's Imperia? I mean that's great to hear, you are one who acts and not just talk.

Yes, you have noticed well. I did act fast and picked up a EL landed and Imperia. I was quite convinced about the potential after 2-3 visits. Of course, the wealth of information on this forum was definitely the accelerator. Many thanks to all of you.

For some of you who have questions about Imperia, the price at pre-launch (from what I remember) started at RM 550 psf and goes all the way to RM 800 psf. This one has no bumi units from what I understand. The ones (3 bedrooms) facing the marina are significantly more, on a psf basis, than the ones that face the office block. On the day of the soft launch, they had received payments for around 60 units and were waiting for a wire transfer for another 20 units from Japanese buyers who were looking into the MM2H program. Not sure what the current number after adds and dropouts are. This is out of a total of 250 units. Given that I have not seen a single advertisement, I consider this to be pretty good. As someone mentioned, the full-launch will be in November and they were talking about bumping up the prices.

In terms of the developments, as you all know, Traders Hotel and Indoor Theme Park are coming up fast. I was also told that Legoland is putting a lot of pressure on UEM Land to get the CIQ center going fast so that they can start ferrying in visitors to the theme park once it opens next year. Not sure how soon this will happen but this should help boost the potential.

What is better? Ujana or Imperia? I was asking the same question earlier. Ujana is sold out. The new launch at East Ledang is Impiana. Pricing is different, as it was from RM 400 to RM 600 range. To me, Impiana sounded more like an upper-mid market segment. The targeted residents would be students at Educity. Imperia, on the other hand, is positioned at high end or luxury and the target residents would be professionals and executives. So it really depends on what you are looking at as well as your appetite for risk. Imperia is definitely riskier, as it is more expensive and there are fewer firmed up developments around Puteri Harbour (meaning under construction) compared with East Ledang. My decision towards Imperia was based on the potentailly fantastic views of the harbour, located near future CIQ, and also the quality of finishings as noticed in the show units. Hope this helps.

Thanks Much! Yes, fully agree with you Investor. For me, this is very long term, and I like Marinas and Harbours. So you are absolutely right, the level of risk from my personal perspective is very low.

East Ledang - Phase 3A, Melody Park. Terraces and Semi Ds were all sold out by the time I got to know about this.

Oops, sorry for the downgrade by me, my bungalow friend :p Just your bungalow's investment value alone is already more than the value of all my present units in Nusajaya added up.

You said, "were all sold out by the time I got to know about this(Nusajaya)". That was one of the reason why I invested in Nusajaya since last year 2010. I believe that as the catalist projects materialized along the way, there will be more and more new demands for properties in Nusajaya from the many(Malaysians and Singaporeans just like yourself) who will then only start to visit Nusajaya for the first time.

Yes, many have heard about Nusajaya, but this unique chance(slow and delayed demand) only happens in Malaysia as people simply Do Not believe that the Malaysian government can succeed in such mega projects. Most of us who visited Nusajaya knows that this city is a 'see to believe city', if you don't visit it personally, you won't believe that it'll materialize.

Luckily for us, we've visited Nusajaya earlier than others and have seen
1) Already developed projects like Kota Iskandar, Puteri Harbour, Columbia Asia, Horizon Hills etc.
2) Government commitments - Newly developed infrastructure like highways, city's roads, new police stations etc.
3) Massive private sector's committed projects like Medini, Temasek's Wellness Village, Pinewood Studio, Legoland, Childrens' Indoor Theme Park, Mega Mall and Retails(Lifestyle Mall & Medini Square), many hotels eg. Traders Hotel, Gleneagle Hospital, 8 nos. of Universities in EduCity, Marlborough Colleague and... (too many to name).

All the above have given us the confidence in the further progress and prospect of Nusajaya. Just like what our friend Yonglip said,"You don't need a degree to figure that out(he was referring to the prospect of capital appreciation in Nusajaya) :)

So, Congratulations to all forummers who have bought properties in Nusajaya, we are the early birds for this one :D

Investor
20-10-2011, 01:17 PM
There are so many roads and infrastructure projects in JB... ... Before that happen, we need to gear up and buy more properties?

I don't know what others think as I was once mocked and laughed at by a forumer here when I shared my views on the investment potential of Nusajaya here last year right up to early this year. I'm not mentioning names as I'm not trying to say "I told you so". No one can always be 100% right on all investments. I'll just say that I'm lucky on this one :)

I'm not saying that I was the earliest investor who saw potential in Nusajaya. In fact, the earliest investor, in terms of time of post in this thread, is obviously the thread starter Wuqi. But there were many naysayers last year and Wuqi decided not to discuss about investment in this thread in order not to be accussed of promoting Nusajaya for personal gains. How can it be possible that by sharing our views here, we can create enough demand which is able to push up the prices of Nusajaya's properties? All we can achieve is helping a handful of believers to make profit with us. Crazy and narrow minded naysayers. I have no time to bother about such narrow minded people and remained thick skinned and continued to post about investments potentials and good news of Nusajaya till today.

Last year, when you talked about investment potential of Nusajaya here, you'll feel like you are talking to yourself. I remember only Dapbest and Coolsaint replying to my post. Slowly, more new forumers joined the discussion about investment of properties and the potential of capital appreciation in Nusajaya. Anyway, I just like to share lobangs and hope that there might be one or two who might invest and make money because of my sharing, and finally thanking me for it in future, that's all :)

Just like Wuqi, we just hope that others can make profit because we shared lobang with them. Too bad for those who choose to believe that there's no such thing as a kind hearted person in this world. To those people, believe in what you want to believe, I've invested since last year and will still tell you that it's still the right time to invest now as price will still continue to appreciate. But Iskandar is 3 times the size of Singapore, choose your project wisely.

Serenity
20-10-2011, 01:36 PM
I just want say that "what you pay is what you will get", don't compare. You pay 1 cent, you get 1 cent worth of goods.

arsenal
20-10-2011, 01:38 PM
Yesterday brought some "learned" uncles to play golf.. On the way, the uncles were laughing at JB and also laughing at Singaporeans who intended to retire in JB.. They were talking about "Machinta", Tropical night clubs and the strip shows..The most prominent project during their time was Danga bay.. True it was a failure. The project was only begin to have a second life after so many years.. Some of these events are something beyond my era, however it was clear that they didn't visit JB since then.. I guess it could be 30-40 years ago.. Most people still think JB is like a cow boy town, whereas the neighbour will tear down your air-conditions where you are not around.. It could be true.. but obviously many Singaporeans memory on Malaysia is still stay at 20--30 years ago.. Not many people know about Nusajaya.. Some Malaysians who work in Singapore also heard nothing about Nusajaya.. Ha ha.. It is so interesting.. It also means the prospect of the property in JB still has a lot of potential and room to grow, since most people still have such image of JB..

The standard of living in Singapore has raised so high and the COE at cat B is now 75K... 100K COE won't be too far from now.. Living in JB is something viable.. Singapore is not a place of us to retire. Can you imagine if you lose your job in Singapore today? It is quite likely that such event will happen to anyone working in Singapore, unless you belong to the elite govt group, or people like the SMRT CEO.. whom mistakes will always be honest and company will bear any possible penalty... With more and more foreigners taking up the skilled jobs, eventually Singaporeans will lose the skill gap and we could either work for govt or work as businessmen or taxi drivers..

I don't know what others think as I was once mocked and laughed at by a forumer here when I shared my views on the investment potential of Nusajaya here. I'm not mentioning names as I'm not trying to say "I told you so". No one is always 100% right on all investments. I'll just say that I'm lucky on this one. I'm not saying that I'm the earliest investor who sees potential in Nusajaya. In fact, the earliest investor, in terms of time of post in this thread, is obviously the thread starter Wuqi. But there were many naysayers last year and Wuqi decided not to discuss about investment in this thread in order not to be accussed of promoting Nusajaya for personal gains. How can it be possible that by sharing our views here, we can push up the prices and demand of Nusajaya. Crazy and narrow minded naysayers. I have no time to bother about such narrow minded people and remained thick skinned and continued to post about investments potentials and good news of Nusajaya till today.

Last year, when you talked about investment potential of Nusajaya here, you'll feel like you are talking to yourself. I remember only Dapbest and Coolsaint replying to my post. Slowly, more new forumers joined the discussion about investment of properties and potentials in capital appreciation in Nusajaya. Anyway, I just like to share lobangs and hope that there might be one or two who might invest and make money because of my sharing, and finally thanking me for it in future, that's all. Just like Wuqi, we hope that others can make profit because we shared lobang with them. Too bad for those who choose to believe that there's no such thing as a good person in this world. To those people, believe in what you want to believe, I've invested since last year and will still tell you that it's still the right time to invest as price will still continue to appreciate. But Iskandar is 3 times the size of Singapore, choose your project wisely.

Sanur
20-10-2011, 01:53 PM
Hi

I share your sentiments.

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 01:58 PM
horizonhills
Re: Living in JB

Agree with Horizonhills here, definitely, that view is really nice. If this was in Johore, just for natural views alone, not even EL or HH can compare.

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:00 PM
I just want say that "what you pay is what you will get", don't compare. You pay 1 cent, you get 1 cent worth of goods.

Agree with you on this, there are always comparison but then some people who compare (and complains) alot but still buy nonetheless. ;)

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:02 PM
Bro Arsenal, Someone once asked me, what happens if there is a recession in SG?

Everyone either tightens their belts or else look for other alternatives. Johore is but just one alternative, there are other places but this one is my choice. :)
They can always laugh at people as its their own choice. The people they are laughing at may be laughing as well.

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:09 PM
Bros who frequent Ah Mengs car repair shop (Overseas Tyre, its yellow Michellin signboard) located near the Station One cafe.
Please do me a favour. When you are going to service/repair your car with him and you want a discount, please say to him very
nicely but loudly "Satu Malaysia" This is his pet phrase and for saying that, he will give you a special discount. :D

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:14 PM
To add on to bro abugumgum's earlier message about MACS.

Bros, its a great time to do this. Its right outside Jusco near the Lavender cake shop, its very near to the supermarket portion of Jusco.
Just went to recce and brought the family to do it yesterday.

You just need to bring your passport and RM 30, they are open only up to 7pm unfortunately.
You need to be there personally though and they will scan both of your index (pointing) fingers.
You don't need photographs, S&P or even photocopies of VISA or fill up any form. They will scan
the photograph on your passport and use it for your MACS application.
They will do it for you. Just sit there, fill in your name and particulars and relax. Wait 10 minutes and you
are done :)

As bro abugumgum said, for new registrants, they even have a lucky draw.

Crystal, i would highly recommend you doing this and bringing in a relative so that they can see things for themselves and with the convenience
of MACS, it might be easier for them to come in.

20-10-2011, 02:15 PM
Hi Ginfreely thanks for the info :)

Ok lets take it as 6km on Coaster Highway from East Ledang to Horizon Hills. That means just 4 mins if you travel at 90km/hr. Fantastic! That's good news for HH and demand will surely become on par with or even beat EL in future. Prices will surely be on the rise from now till at least 2016 with so many committed catalist projects completing within this time frame. Too bad I don't have any unit in HH yet :mad:

Yes very fast, probably took around five minutes.

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:16 PM
Satu Malaysia!!! (Now its my pet phrase too) :D

Satu Malaysia!!! I forgot to add on, the places to sign up for this during the special promotion (Ends November 15) are:

Jusco/Aeon Mall @ Bukit Indah
Jusco @ Tebrau City
Giant @ Tampoi
Holiday Plaza
City Square

Satu Malaysia!!!

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:19 PM
cant blame uncouth rascals. In Malaysia, all I can say is, dont expect too much. When they say buildings are built to BCA in Spore standards, u listen can already. The mouth is theirs so let them brag. The truth is they can never compete with Spoore, lar!

Your style of writing is really familar and sometimes made me think of someone. Especially that "lar".

Serenity
20-10-2011, 02:22 PM
Published in ST on Sep 24, 2011

Indpendent chartered building surveyors found 32 defects in the pool, lift lobbies, residential units and basement carpark. Rotting wooden plank in the pool deck area (above), and water seepage in the basement carpark. -- ST PHOTOS: LIM WUI LIANG
By Amanda Tan

Home owners of The Seaview, an upmarket condo in the east, are seeking $14 million for defects that have allegedly plagued the estate since 2008.

In what is believed to be one of the largest amounts that a developer here is being sued for, the residents of the 546-unit project in Amber Road are suing Mer Vue Developments, a subsidiary of listed Wheelock Properties.

Also named in the suit - filed by the condo's management corporation (MC) - are main contractor Tiong Aik Construction, RSP Architects Planners & Engineers and engineering firm Squire Mech.

Even with properties worth over millions Singapore Dollar, what happen????

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:25 PM
I think the houses are at quite a distance from the fairway for accident to happen unless someone purposely aim a ball directly into the house.. If the player is a novice and swing his clubs anyhow, he will be spotted and not allowed to play there.. He could kill other golfers and his handicap declaration will work against him when there is a claim... I think..

Actually in some parts of the greens, it is possible to accidentally hit one into some houses (actually only 2 houses in total really affected). They do have insurance coverage but one poor Indian chap has highlighted his plight. I have tried to talk to them on his behalf and they are considering more trees but not nettings. I have also asked that they change the direction slightly so that the chances of accidentally hitting one into others houses are much lesser.

Living in the midst of golf courses is good but not if you are literally inside a golf course. One lady from overseas with a similar type property back in her country told me, whenever she was there, she would wait until the end of the week before making the familar call to the management team and they will just come by to replace almost every weekly. I asked if that bothered her, her amusing reply, i could make a living selling used golf balls actually.

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:27 PM

Indpendent chartered building surveyors found 32 defects in the pool, lift lobbies, residential units and basement carpark. Rotting wooden plank in the pool deck area (above), and water seepage in the basement carpark. -- ST PHOTOS: LIM WUI LIANG
By Amanda Tan

Home owners of The Seaview, an upmarket condo in the east, are seeking $14 million for defects that have allegedly plagued the estate since 2008.

In what is believed to be one of the largest amounts that a developer here is being sued for, the residents of the 546-unit project in Amber Road are suing Mer Vue Developments, a subsidiary of listed Wheelock Properties.

Also named in the suit - filed by the condo's management corporation (MC) - are main contractor Tiong Aik Construction, RSP Architects Planners & Engineers and engineering firm Squire Mech.

Thanks for sharing that Serenity, amazing how houses built in Johore well worth a million Singapore dollars are still full of defects. :p
:p

To those brainwashed by the guys up there, they can only see perfection. Only "Hear" and "see" the good stuff. Nothing else matters.

The list sounds serious though. Especially water seepage in basement carparks? Only good if your car can do this:
http://www.topspeed.com/cars/car-news/top-five-james-bond-cars-ar93143/picture368633.html

LeMans2011
20-10-2011, 02:29 PM
Be careful about Ipoh properties. Ipoh was formerly a mining town and there are a lot of deep craters left behind which now becomes a lake. There have been cases of land caving in.

Investor
20-10-2011, 02:31 PM

By Amanda Tan

Wah The Seaview near Marine Parade also has such problems, even my multi-millionaire friend is staying there. His company owns a very famous household brand in Sg, revenue of $80+ million per year. Maybe he is one of the complainants :D

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:33 PM
Bro Investor, to each his own is what i would say to people who continually scoff at others.
Once i am more "concrete" on things in NZ, it will be time to start living in NZ thread. This is
apparently less scoff worthy to certain "talk big but never any action type of people"

Just ignore them, they have their own lives to lead, you have yours. How they think if their
business as we can never control their thought process. Different people different logic.

By the way, if you are keen on HH houses, you should consider buying them from HorizonHills,
the way he/she disses the place, you might be able to get from he/she cheaply. ;)

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:35 PM
Be careful about Ipoh properties. Ipoh was formerly a mining town and there are a lot of deep craters left behind which now becomes a lake. There have been cases of land caving in.

I only actually know 3 things about the place:

1. The coffee
2. The horfun
3. The women (real pretty)

arsenal
20-10-2011, 02:37 PM
Latest news.. One of the lift in a Kakit Bukit building had a free fall and crashed to the ground, damaged a few vehicles and 2 persons were in the life when it drop..

One of my learned friend working in HDB commented the quality of construction in Singapore has degraded a lot in HDB as well as private condo.. It was all due to some foreigned foremen who are more relaxed and inexperienced workers who were employed just because they are cheap and most came without experience.. Also he said to be careful about materials used by china contractor..same copper piping that looked beautiful has different lifespan as those from Australia.. China copper piping are not used by most construction companies but no one know if it will be used by the lowest bidders.. I am surprised to know china copper pipe are so easy to get corroded.. Poor materials could be used in malaysia, but it doesn't mean it won't be used in Singapore.. As these companies all work for the profit as well as shareholders interests..

By Amanda Tan

LeMans2011
20-10-2011, 02:42 PM

By Amanda Tan

Singapore still has some way to go in terms of consumer rights... thanks to PAP who has tried hard to suppress anything that encourages civil liberty. Even the Fair Trading Act was in place just a couple of years ago. Despite being first world in hardware, we are severely lacking in other aspects of a developed nation such as consumer rights. There were many unreported cases of condos MCST seeking compensation from developer for shoddy workmanship but in most cases, the developer offers a token compensation worth a few hundred thousand and close the case. In fact they will leave you to deal with the main contractor. It takes a lot of energy to sue a developer, and council members being volunteers are usually unwilling to spend too much energy pursuing a case on behalf of typically ungrateful owners. eg. if the council incurs a lot of money and lose the case, the residents are likely to blame the council members for their "wrong judgement". Condo owners are like the typical Sinkie who wants you to fight for them but will blame you if things go wrong... basically the 60.1%... just my 2 cents from my short tenure serving in a Council years back :)

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:44 PM
Latest news.. One of the lift in a Kakit Bukit building had a free fall and crashed to the ground, damaged a few vehicles and 2 persons were in the life when it drop..

Thanks for sharing bro Arsenal, i had no idea that even a lift in Kaki Bukit can be allowed to fail so drastically? They should investigate this as there should have been many failsafe to avoid this. Are the building management sleeping or is this a condemned building? Didn't realised that Kaki Bukit is in Malaysia too. :P

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:46 PM
Bro Lemans, sometimes its a thankless job but someone has to do it. Its like this thread actually, i have a feeling that quite a few here are are from the 39.9 percent or the rare guys who think differently from the 60.1%.

arsenal
20-10-2011, 02:47 PM
Sorry.. That Kakit bukit is in Singapore...

Thanks for sharing bro Arsenal, i had no idea that even a lift in Kaki Bukit can be allowed to fail so drastically? They should investigate this as there should have been many failsafe to avoid this. Are the building management sleeping or is this a condemned building? Didn't realised that Kaki Bukit is in Malaysia too. :P

20-10-2011, 02:51 PM

One of my learned friend working in HDB commented the quality of construction in Singapore has degraded a lot in HDB as well as private condo.. It was all due to some foreigned foremen who are more relaxed and inexperienced workers who were employed just because they are cheap and most came without experience.. Also he said to be careful about materials used by china contractor..same copper piping that looked beautiful has different lifespan as those from Australia.. China copper piping are not used by most construction companies but no one know if it will be used by the lowest bidders.. I am surprised to know china copper pipe are so easy to get corroded.. Poor materials could be used in malaysia, but it doesn't mean it won't be used in Singapore.. As these companies all work for the profit as well as shareholders interests..

Did the 2 persons in the lift survived the fall? Aiyoh so not just standard of food dropped due to prepared by foreigners, construction standard also dropped due to foreign foremen.

I also think standard of Spore condo dropping, new condos are so small, high density, very little common space and car parks are multi storeys instead of basement car park. I heard that is becos basement car park costs more to build.

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:57 PM
Sorry.. That Kakit bukit is in Singapore...

I am so surprised and disappointed at the same time. There should never be such things happening. Not to anyone or anywhere. Imagine being stuck in a lift is bad enough, then it free falls in the darkness. Woosh.....

arsenal
20-10-2011, 02:58 PM
Found the news..
If spend S$1M and S$1M ringget also get similar quality, might as well get a plain house and do all renovation yourself..

"
SINGAPORE: A free-falling loading lift at a Kaki Bukit building caused a ceiling to crash onto cars in the basement car park, according to an eyewitness who spoke to Channel NewsAsia.

A scene of devastation greeted the eyewitness, who only wanted to be known as Linda, when she went to the car park at about 6pm on Thursday.

She was told by the building's security staff that a lift had fallen a few floors causing extensive damage in the basement car park.

Channel NewsAsia understands there were two people inside the lift, but they have been rescued.

Police said a member of the public called about the incident at Block 1 Kaki Bukit Avenue 3, saying the lift had malfunctioned.

No one was injured in the accident."

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 02:59 PM
Did the 2 persons in the lift survived the fall? Aiyoh so not just standard of food dropped due to prepared by foreigners, construction standard also dropped due to foreign foremen.

I also think standard of Spore condo dropping, new condos are so small, high density, very little common space and car parks are multi storeys instead of basement car park. I heard that is becos basement car park costs more to build.

Systematic failure? Points to ponder. When you go to these new launches, the amount of people you see there clearly points to the sign with the popular grammatically challenged statement "All your base are belong to us!!!"

http://www.planettribes.com/allyourbase/signs.shtml

wuqi256
20-10-2011, 03:01 PM
Found the news..
If spend S$1M and S$1M ringget also get similar quality, might as well get a plain house and do all renovation yourself..

"
SINGAPORE: A free-falling loading lift at a Kaki Bukit building caused a ceiling to crash onto cars in the basement car park, according to an eyewitness who spoke to Channel NewsAsia.

A scene of devastation greeted the eyewitness, who only wanted to be known as Linda, when she went to the car park at about 6pm on Thursday.

She was told by the building's security staff that a lift had fallen a few floors causing extensive damage in the basement car park.

Channel NewsAsia understands there were two people inside the lift, but they have been rescued.

Police said a member of the public called about the incident at Block 1 Kaki Bukit Avenue 3, saying the lift had malfunctioned.

No one was injured in the accident."

Thanks for sharing, jokes and digs aside, i am really glad no one got hurt, FT or no FT alike.

Investor
20-10-2011, 03:38 PM
Plan for SME hub in Medini Iskandar
By Ahmad Fairuz Othman
Business Times | Oct 20, 2011
http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_New...#ixzz1bFVlgULa

SINGAPORE: A dedicated hub for small and medium enterprises (SMEs) will be set up on a 121-hectare zone at the Medini Iskandar Malaysia to provide an opportunity for SMEs to contribute to the growth of the corridor.

Iskandar Regional Development Authority (IRDA) chief executive Ismail Ibrahim said the facility will be set up in anticipation of the arrival of more SMEs to Iskandar Malaysia following a RM2 billion syariah-compliant SME Financing Fund announced in the recent Budget.

"In a show of support for SMEs, a special business park in the flagship site of Medini in Nusajaya will be developed to cater to the needs of the SMEs.

"Global Capital & Development (GCD), which holds the concession to develop Medini, will be seeking investor-developer partners to set up the SME park," Ismail said during a press conference at Global Entropolis @Singapore at the Resort World Sentosa Convention Centre, Singapore, on Tuesday.

He said details on the SME park was still being finalised by GDC.

"In addition to SMEs involved in the media industry, which is part of their (GCD) portfolio, the business park will be relevant to those engaged in high-end technology, research, product development, business processing, telecommunications, call centre and data centre," he said.

On Singaporean investments in Iskandar Malaysia, Ismail said the cumulative committed investments from the island state stands at RM75.96 billion as of the second quarter of 2011.

Of this figure, RM3.67 billion was invested in the manufacturing sector and RM463 million in the services sector, of which RM100 million was in healthcare.

"In terms of manufacturing, Singapore is one of the top three investors in Iskandar Malaysia."

On a related matter, Ismail said Iskandar Malaysia is still aggressive in competing with other countries in the region and other growth corridors in Malaysia.

"We acknowledge there is competition from Vietnam and Indonesia but we still stand out, due to our good location and investment-ready climate."

Ismail said efforts must be made to return the Sultan Ismail Airport in Senai to its full potential as a regional aviation hub for passenger and cargo services as there are many growth clusters in Senai.

Ismail's comments come after a call by state Tourism and Domestic Trade Committee chairman Hoo Seong Chang for FlyFirefly Sdn Bhd to re-consider its decision to stop flights to Sabah and Sarawak from the airport.

lastresort
20-10-2011, 05:19 PM
Gemas-Johor Baru double-tracking and electrification project to be completed in 2016

http://www.ktmb.com.my/images/stories/project2011/mapgmsjb.jpg

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story...&if_height=635

KUALA LUMPUR: The final package of the Gemas-Johor Baharu double-tracking and electrification project is expected to be completed in 2016, said Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha.

He said the double-tracking and electrification project between Ipoh-Padang Besar will be completed by the end of 2013 and the Seremban-Gemas line by next year.

"We have finished the double-tracking and electrification project from Kuala Lumpur-Ipoh and also from Kuala Lumpur-Seremban. At the moment, the Seremban- Gemas route is almost 80 per cent complete.

"For the Ipoh-Padang Besar project, I think it is about 70 per cent complete.

"The completion of the final package will also complete the link with Thailand in the north and Singapore in the south," he told reporters after the launch of the 33rd Asean Railway Chief Executive Officers' (CEOs) Conference 2011 here today.

Meanwhile, Keretapi Tanah Melayu Berhad (KTMB) president Dr Aminuddin Adnan said the company had purchased 38 train sets from China.

"The first six-car train sets arrived last month and another eight sets will be delivered by year-end. All 38 sets will be in Malaysia by May next year," he said.

He said the government has allocated RM1.895 billion to purchase the train sets.

Aminuddin said KTMB also had sent its staff to serve the Mecca Metro from last year and aims to venture into more business opportunities by collaborating with other countries.

He also said through this initiative, the staff would gain more knowledge and experience. - BERNAMA

crystal_tiong
21-10-2011, 12:23 AM

Bros, its a great time to do this. Its right outside Jusco near the Lavender cake shop, its very near to the supermarket portion of Jusco.

You just need to bring your passport and RM 30, they are open only up to 7pm unfortunately.
You need to be there personally though and they will scan both of your index (pointing) fingers.
You don't need photographs, S&P or even photocopies of VISA or fill up any form. They will scan
They will do it for you. Just sit there, fill in your name and particulars and relax. Wait 10 minutes and you

As bro abugumgum said, for new registrants, they even have a lucky draw.

Crystal, i would highly recommend you doing this and bringing in a relative so that they can see things for themselves and with the convenience
of MACS, it might be easier for them to come in.

Hi Bro Wuqi
I am on MACS for 1.5 yrs liao .... hee , I go msia weekly to pump petrol , makan and shopping ...
My mum and sis has MACS too , now have to bring another sis family to do macs.

Thanks for sharing the closure time!

crystal_tiong
21-10-2011, 12:26 AM
Bros who frequent Ah Mengs car repair shop (Overseas Tyre, its yellow Michellin signboard) located near the Station One cafe.
Please do me a favour. When you are going to service/repair your car with him and you want a discount, please say to him very
nicely but loudly "Satu Malaysia" This is his pet phrase and for saying that, he will give you a special discount. :D

I think last sat i went here to buy windscreen wiper , only 1 shop seliing michellin tyres right ? slightly behind one station . even went there for afternoon tea break after viewing house.

euphony
21-10-2011, 12:42 AM
May I know if anyone did any external reno on their house in HH? Since it's not strata title, and from what I can see from the S&P, there is only mention of no change of colour, how are they going to enforce what you do to the external of the house?

there are people who do external reno (http://www.homerejuvenation.com.sg/2010/11/state-of-things-at-horizon-hills.html) in HH, totally different design different color etc.

euphony
21-10-2011, 12:43 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_pest_control

I don't recommend these products although i still use it (no choice cos buy already have to use). i am hoping it deters bats but that is based on my personal thesis.

Cheers

hmmm right, i better not waste money then.

euphony
21-10-2011, 12:46 AM
For mozzie management, whether in my Singapore or Jb place, once a month we will use a chemical spray, which my hub got it from the nursery n mix it with water n use a pump to spray around the garden, I should said the smells stinks for a while, but it really keeps thaem away. I am staying very close to the reserve.

there were some guys hired to fog the whole precinct (BWV) a few days ago, so I guess that's covered. :)

euphony
21-10-2011, 12:47 AM

studios fully pre-booked! as the sales rep told me.

aangsc
21-10-2011, 01:09 AM
studios fully pre-booked! as the sales rep told me.

Any idea what you could get for RM500K ?
Location is quite a distance away from main road, should be nice and quiet just wondering whether it has a good view of the surrounding.

Sanur
21-10-2011, 02:32 AM
hmmm right, i better not waste money then.

Hi euPhony,

To get rid of bats, I bought the inflatable crow from daiso, just 2 dollars , hang it up where the bats nest. The inflatable crows kept bats away for good.

arsenal
21-10-2011, 02:40 AM
Hi euPhony,

To get rid of bats, I bought the inflatable crow from daiso, just 2 dollars , hang it up where the bats nest. The inflatable crows kept bats away for good.

I thought putting a Cross will do?

thegolf
21-10-2011, 02:41 AM
Vincentck bro.. picture copy from one of the roof installer Facebook. That layer of plaster sheet is more for heat insulation rather than waterproofing.

Jansinjst bro.. too bad, you can only detect if there is waterstain mark on the ceiling.

Any bro, sis here waiting for the completion of the golf 'South' 24x75 terrace HH next year...

relaxmannn
21-10-2011, 02:45 AM

The name Ipoh reminded me in the 90's whereby Ipoh women are the prettiest in Malaysia.

Sanur
21-10-2011, 02:50 AM

Naughty arsenal,

Cross n a bunch of garlics!!

SeriAustinian
21-10-2011, 03:04 AM
Hi do u know where is the sales office? Really feel like visiting Heaven, I mean Haven.. I was literally awed by the natural surroundings in the advertisement. Much astounding than Horizon Hills.

It's at Tambun very near Suncity Ipoh n Tambun Hotspring. While driving on your way to Suncity Ipoh, there will be signs directing u to The Haven, as the developer has invested much on marketing and erecting advertisement roadsigns (their slogan "Pride of Ipoh, Envy Of The Nation"). The sales office is just beside the million-year-old limestone feature and serene lake. Gotta see to believe. However I still think it's overpriced for Ipoh and it's about 20-25min drive fr Ipoh city centre.

Can't compare w HH lah as it's not apple to apple. One is golf course concept while the other is built around nature. Proximity to SG is also what makes us commit in Nusajaya. Ipoh is a 1.45hr flight/ 8hr bus ride/ 6hr drive away. Mayb if one day children(none for the time being yet) grow up n JB gets too congested n my aged wifey n I wants somewhere quiet may buy resale there as dun need to climb stairs n got multi-tier security. Of course if we have deep pockets would not hesitate to buy one as a weekend/holiday home (wishful thinking only).

SeriAustinian
21-10-2011, 03:21 AM
Ipoh lady are also very pretty.. and many Singapore scholars are from Ipoh..

I can vouch for the pretty ladies there (score points in case wifey reading this. Haha!) Of course beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. Still a good heart is more important. People from Ipoh always praised their brain/look from the spring water they drink , but for the past few years I've been drinking the natural (mountain) water, I keep looking into the mirror and see no difference! However I gotta agree on the good food though.

Grago
21-10-2011, 03:39 AM
I thought putting a Cross will do?What about GARRRLICKKK.......!!

Grago
21-10-2011, 03:40 AM
Naughty arsenal,Cross n a bunch of garlics!!Hey Bro you beat me to it about the Garrlickk.....! :)

Sanur
21-10-2011, 04:06 AM
Hey Bro you beat me to it about the Garrlickk.....! :)

Grago
Let's make it two bunches of garlic then. Btw, me no bro, me sis

Grago
21-10-2011, 04:17 AM
GragoLet's make it two bunches of garlic then. Btw, me no bro, me sisSooooo sorry Sis, Ok two bunches, for such the Count won't dare to make an 'appearance' :0

SeriAustinian
21-10-2011, 04:24 AM
Any bro, sis here waiting for the completion of the golf 'South' 24x75 terrace HH next year...

Hi thegolf,
I'm impatiently waiting for my South Golf 24X75 to be completed next year. Seems so long! Took the plunge last Dec when they offer free club membership. Personally prefer the layout of South Golf 22X70 (staircase by the side after entering main door) but sold out due to contemplating for too long. U too?

SeriAustinian
21-10-2011, 04:33 AM
List of forummers who have purchased or intend to purchase property in Johor. Hope those guests who are following this thread actively will also create their own account and join 'The List'. (Copy the whole list including this heading. Click 'Reply to Thread'. Paste it in your reply and add your nick to the list.)
# IMPORTANT - For new members, please try to make your first 10 post anywhere else before adding your nick to this list.

1. Wuqi256 - Nusajaya, Wuqi256 sisters, sister bf. Wuqi256's relatives, friends and colleagues - Total 27 bought so far in Nusajaya
2. Investor - Nusajaya
8. Tansi - Leisure Farm
9. relaxmannn - Nusajaya
12. East539 - Nusajaya
15. Lynn - east Ledang
16. TheGolf - HH
26. cathylmg - Kempas
28. mallow - Nusajaya
31. narmi - NI
36. 2bFree - HH
38. 29ers - LF
39. Weetabix - HH
40. SeriAustinian - Seri Austin, HH South Golf

spidey
21-10-2011, 04:48 AM
I don't know what others think as I was once mocked and laughed at by a forumer here when I shared my views on the investment potential of Nusajaya here last year right up to early this year. I'm not mentioning names as I'm not trying to say "I told you so". No one can always be 100% right on all investments. I'll just say that I'm lucky on this one :)

I'm not saying that I was the earliest investor who saw potential in Nusajaya. In fact, the earliest investor, in terms of time of post in this thread, is obviously the thread starter Wuqi. But there were many naysayers last year and Wuqi decided not to discuss about investment in this thread in order not to be accussed of promoting Nusajaya for personal gains. How can it be possible that by sharing our views here, we can create enough demand which is able to push up the prices of Nusajaya's properties? All we can achieve is helping a handful of believers to make profit with us. Crazy and narrow minded naysayers. I have no time to bother about such narrow minded people and remained thick skinned and continued to post about investments potentials and good news of Nusajaya till today.

Last year, when you talked about investment potential of Nusajaya here, you'll feel like you are talking to yourself. I remember only Dapbest and Coolsaint replying to my post. Slowly, more new forumers joined the discussion about investment of properties and the potential of capital appreciation in Nusajaya. Anyway, I just like to share lobangs and hope that there might be one or two who might invest and make money because of my sharing, and finally thanking me for it in future, that's all :)

Just like Wuqi, we just hope that others can make profit because we shared lobang with them. Too bad for those who choose to believe that there's no such thing as a kind hearted person in this world. To those people, believe in what you want to believe, I've invested since last year and will still tell you that it's still the right time to invest now as price will still continue to appreciate. But Iskandar is 3 times the size of Singapore, choose your project wisely.

Guys, I am new here - was in another forum and posted investing in a house in JB and was redirected here, which i found what I am looking for...haven't read all the postings - which i plan to over the weekend!
But I can't resist the question now - Which is a better buy for long term investment in JB?

few places i have in mind

HH
Bukit Indah - also pricey now - Condo is going for half a million!!
Austin Heights near the golf course (Tebrau Area - Tmn Daya, Kempas ect)
Tropika near the NSH..
Senibong Cove

I love HH - But prices are rediculously high for me (out of my budget now) 920K for a cluster home!

my budget is around 500k...and looking for landed with a little bit of land at the side...
for long term investment - like most of you, plan to retire here and kids probably will be working in SG...hence not too far for them to visit me! - means need to rent out the place now ...and then retire and move here.

So which place offer better rental - easy of rentign i mean..i don't mind if it does not cover the monthly instalment, as long as it is rented out...(dun wan it to be a ghost house rite!)

otehr priorities would be near ammenities and gated and gurded with lots of greens...

Appreciate some recommendations, as I plan to drive in this weekend to have a look at a few places in Tebrau area...

what about Puteri Harbour? is that a good place?

Thanks Bro - hope will be able to join all of you as one havign a place in JB

vincentck
21-10-2011, 04:58 AM
(Nusajaya, Iskandar Region) From the middle of nowhere to prime waterfront land
Straits Times 8 Oct 11;

Thanks for posting the whole news Bro Investor... didn't have a chance to buy the ST because I was in KL.

Well, actually it would be great to know whether Bros here bought the mortgage insurance when they got their property loan.I used to buy when it was compulsory back in 2006. Now I stoped buying and increase my insurance coverage to cover my property loans. But my personal insurance won't be enough to settle all my property loans if something happens to me; it's a risk I'm taking. BTW, MRTA and MLTA doesn't cover critical illness, AFAIK it's only death or TPD.

UXX is bad. May I say it is the worst service I have ever received in my life? It promised it could give you such and such and after waiting for a long long time, it would say "sorry, we still could not provide you the loan amount you asked". Then when you asked "why does it take so long to just get this answer?" and they said "well, because the one who was responsible was very busy, blah blah blah.....".

It is like it does not care to do your business. What a waste of time trusting and waiting for it to approve the loan.Same bad experience with them too; I had to call the bank officer to ask for an update on my loan after 2 weeks of no news. And the news was a bad news that they can only approve 80%... blah blah blah... never again.

Serenity
21-10-2011, 05:14 AM
Every Quarter, Banks allocate certain amount to loan for housing (again split to amount for local, foreigner) so when that is depleted they will not be able to approve the loan or amount requested. The best thing to do is to try other banks whom may still have the funds or wait till the banks reallocate its funds.

thegolf
21-10-2011, 06:01 AM
came across this wonderful website @ http://livinginjohore.blogspot.com/, wonder does it belong to bro Wu???

Grago
21-10-2011, 06:07 AM
came across this wonderful website @ http://livinginjohore.blogspot.com/, wonder does it belong to bro Wu???You are Correct.....

thegolf
21-10-2011, 06:36 AM
You are Correct.....

No wonder the writing style is the same!! Nice blog.. Swee! :)

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 06:36 AM

I laughed so hard that now my monitor screen is covered with coffee. Speaking of monitors, there is a shop in the Giant at Bukit Indah for IT needs.
Its a bit hard to locate as its at the back entrance area near the furniture/KTV. Their prices are quite ok here. Look for the bald gent who is quite helpful. I bought several stuff from him and always gets discounts.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 06:38 AM
Hi Crystal, nice to hear that you have the MACS already. Well done! :)

east539
21-10-2011, 06:38 AM
Guys, I am new here - was in another forum and posted investing in a house in JB and was redirected here, which i found what I am looking for...haven't read all the postings - which i plan to over the weekend!
But I can't resist the question now - Which is a better buy for long term investment in JB?

HH
Tropika near the NSH..
Senibong Cove

I love HH - But prices are rediculously high for me (out of my budget now) 920K for a cluster home!

my budget is around 500k...and looking for landed with a little bit of land at the side...
for long term investment - like most of you, plan to retire here and kids probably will be working in SG...hence not too far for them to visit me! - means need to rent out the place now ...and then retire and move here.

So which place offer better rental - easy of rentign i mean..i don't mind if it does not cover the monthly instalment, as long as it is rented out...(dun wan it to be a ghost house rite!)

otehr priorities would be near ammenities and gated and gurded with lots of greens...

Appreciate some recommendations, as I plan to drive in this weekend to have a look at a few places in Tebrau area...

Hi Spidey, great to see you here. kindly take some time to read through the thread here, lots of information & all are very helpful.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 06:41 AM
Yes Meng's shop is the Yellow sign board Michellin. :)
In him i trust. There, all my cars are repaired of rust.

He is a really humorous guy, please remember to salute
him by saying to him "Satu Malaysia!!!"

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 06:44 AM
Sooooo sorry Sis, Ok two bunches, for such the Count won't dare to make an 'appearance' :0

Most of the nobility will not be arriving, only Count De Mo-ney will be there.

thegolf
21-10-2011, 06:44 AM
Hi thegolf,
I'm impatiently waiting for my South Golf 24X75 to be completed next year. Seems so long! Took the plunge last Dec when they offer free club membership. Personally prefer the layout of South Golf 22X70 (staircase by the side after entering main door) but sold out due to contemplating for too long. U too?

Yap.. but but 4 mths earlier than you. hehee.

Update group for 24'x75' Terrace - TheGolf "South" - HorizonHills

1) TheGolf
2) SeriAustinian

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 06:46 AM
No wonder the writing style is the same!! Nice blog.. Swee! :)

Thanks, wanted to keep it private as much as possible but guess its out in the open now.

toyohon
21-10-2011, 06:48 AM

HH
Tropika near the NSH..
Senibong Cove

Spidey, for your budget of RM500k and amongst the developments mentioned, for a landed property, Tebrau area seems to be your best bet. Prices for landed around the Nusajaya has gone way up. You'll also be shocked at the prices for Senibong area.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 06:48 AM
Same bad experience with them too; I had to call the bank officer to ask for an update on my loan after 2 weeks of no news. And the news was a bad news that they can only approve 80%... blah blah blah... never again.

Agree, very uppity people there. I actually know of some senior people from UXX in Singapore, none of them are like that though so we cannot automatically assume UXX in SG = UXX in Johore.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 06:49 AM
Spidey, for your budget of RM500k and amongst the developments mentioned, for a landed property, Tebrau area seems to be your best bet. Prices for landed around the Nusajaya has gone way up. You'll also be shocked at the prices for Senibong area.

Agree with your assessement, Tebrau is a good option.

thegolf
21-10-2011, 06:51 AM
Thanks, wanted to keep it private as much as possible but guess its out in the open now.

Oppss! Paisay! Sorry! Didn't know that! But why you want to keep it private lei?

arsenal
21-10-2011, 06:59 AM
Ha ha.. Mahathir said Singaporeans are drinking their own self generated natural water so our skin cannot be compared with those from Ipoh..
Mr Lee said it is the right thing to peg our water and utility to market rate.. What is market rate? For people with skin problem, it might make sense to live and drink in Ipoh...

I can vouch for the pretty ladies there (score points in case wifey reading this. Haha!) Of course beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. Still a good heart is more important. People from Ipoh always praised their brain/look from the spring water they drink , but for the past few years I've been drinking the natural (mountain) water, I keep looking into the mirror and see no difference! However I gotta agree on the good food though.

arsenal
21-10-2011, 07:05 AM
http://pbp.sph.com.sg/property/

There is a talk on property tomorrow at SPH, main organiser is Gamuda.. You guys might want to participate..
I am not free tomorrow, but for those who attend, can you make a summary on the talks and share with us?

Investor
21-10-2011, 07:06 AM
Hi

I share your sentiments.

Alright man... oh I should say alright gal.

jasonjst
21-10-2011, 07:10 AM

HH
Tropika near the NSH..
Senibong Cove

Nice to see you here bros !:)

Investor
21-10-2011, 07:21 AM
Thanks for posting the whole news Bro Investor... didn't have a chance to buy the ST because I was in KL.
No problem at all :) Just sharing.

I used to buy when it was compulsory back in 2006. Now I stoped buying and increase my insurance coverage to cover my property loans. But my personal insurance won't be enough to settle all my property loans if something happens to me; it's a risk I'm taking. BTW, MRTA and MLTA doesn't cover critical illness, AFAIK it's only death or TPD.
For insurance on my units in Nusajaya, I bought a SGD 1mil term coverage on death and terminal illnesses(if I'm not wrong) from NTUC Singapore which cost SGD54.33 per month and I pay the premium yearly. I chose this instead of MRTA not because I've compared the two in terms of price and coverage but simply because I think the claim procedure, being done in Singapore, should be of lesser hassle for my family if something really happens to me.

Investor
21-10-2011, 07:24 AM
Gemas-Johor Baru double-tracking and electrification project to be completed in 2016

http://www.ktmb.com.my/images/stories/project2011/mapgmsjb.jpg

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story...&if_height=635

Thanks for your constant sharing of such related news bro Lastresort.

Investor
21-10-2011, 07:31 AM
there are people who do external reno (http://www.homerejuvenation.com.sg/2010/11/state-of-things-at-horizon-hills.html) in HH, totally different design different color etc.

Great link, thank you euphony. I've been thinking of getting a trustworthy Interior Designer company from Singapore who is willing to cross the straits daily and manage the whole reno project of my future units in Nusajaya.

I don't think I wanna handle those contractors and everything else by myself. As long as I find the package price reasonable and the design makes me drool, I'll just deal with the Singapore ID firm and they manage the whole project for me :)

Aisanbo
21-10-2011, 07:38 AM
Ha ha Spidey, I seem to be in your shoes.
But I recently bought the condo at Tropika and is still considering a terrace at Setia Eco Cascadia at Tebrau area.
I buy the Tropika condo for it's location as it is all the way highway from CIQ. Also rumored future MTR nearby.
For Cascadia, I am positive on the potential of landed strata properties in JB. A landed house, with security and clubhouse at about same price as a condo which is only half the size.

Nusajaya is very exp already so didn't consider.
I also intend to rent out and as long as it can cover the interest portion of the loan and maintenance fee, I am fine with it.

Grago
21-10-2011, 07:44 AM

Bro Wuqi you inbox is full. I am unable to send you a PM. Thanks

Investor
21-10-2011, 07:46 AM
Every Quarter, Banks allocate certain amount to loan for housing (again split to amount for local, foreigner) so when that is depleted they will not be able to approve the loan or amount requested. The best thing to do is to try other banks whom may still have the funds or wait till the banks reallocate its funds.

That's something new I learned today. Thanks for sharing Serenity.
Oh by the way, were you replying to me when you said not to compare?

toyohon
21-10-2011, 07:46 AM
But I recently bought the condo at Tropika and is still considering a terrace at Setia Eco Cascadia at Tebrau area.
I buy the Tropika condo for it's location as it is all the way highway from CIQ. Also rumored future MTR nearby.
For Cascadia, I am positive on the potential of landed strata properties in JB. A landed house, with security and clubhouse at about same price as a condo which is only half the size.

I also intend to rent out and as long as it can cover the interest portion of the loan and maintenance fee, I am fine with it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zzSf2c_ysI

Latest trailer from Cascadia....

abugumgum
21-10-2011, 08:12 AM
For people who may be interested in property fair.

MAPEX 2011
Date: 17-11-2011 to 20-11-2011
Time: 10am to 10pm
Venue: KSL City EXPO Hall Ground Floor

Home Fiesta will be held during the same period. (Home Reno Fair)

KSL City EXPO Hall Ground Floor
33, Jalan Seladang, Taman Abad,
80250 Johor Bahru, Johor, Malaysia.

g3abc
21-10-2011, 08:15 AM
Hello Sir,

pardon the slight change in subject, but may i know your comments on the following,..

1. in these new estates, the nights are so much darker, quieter,..have you ever stayed over-night in your house, alone, with all lights off..how was the feeling ?

Driving Experience, alone,. nights around these areas ?

Anyone believe in Ghosts presence ?

I spent a night at Taman Nusa Perintis,..and was amused by the alternate periods of quietness, and the occasional group of noisy, neighbourhood kids-on-motorbikes,....felt "adventourous".

2. Does anyone have a topographic map of this area ? what are the risks of tropical monson flooding in Johor ? where are the low-lying areas ?

Thanks

Investor
21-10-2011, 08:21 AM

HH
Tropika near the NSH..
Senibong Cove

For your budget, you can check out terraces of the below projects in Nusajaya;
1) Nusa Idaman
2) Nusa Duta
3) Nusa Sentral
All the above were recommended by Wuqi, I'm not familiar with all 3 as I've not visited them.

Puteri harbour is the most expensive in Johor. Imperia condo's price is between RM550 - RM800 per sq ft. A small unit of 1,000 sq ft for example will cost RM800,000. Future landed expected to be bungalows only, price expected to be from RM6 million.

May I know which forum did you post your question in initially? Just curious :)

aangsc
21-10-2011, 08:26 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zzSf2c_ysI

Latest trailer from Cascadia....

the cascading water looks really soothing to the soul, I doubt the real thing is anywhere close to advertisement.
Anyone has seen the show house and has some REAL picture to show ?

crystal_tiong
21-10-2011, 08:28 AM
Investor

He posted in mycarforum and Jason redirect him to here.
I was redirected here too by Jason.

Investor
21-10-2011, 08:33 AM
Investor

Hi Crystal,

OIC thanks for your response :) I guessed so too because that forum seems to be a popular forum amongst Singaporeans.

tansi
21-10-2011, 08:37 AM
the easiest way to get MACS
at the corner of Jusco facing lavender is a MACS counter. It is there till nov 15. got my passport scanned, paid rm30 and my macs was renewed in 5 min. no need form or photo. was informed same for new applicant. didnt ask but i presumed 2 year passport validity period criteria remains.

Hi Crystal, nice to hear that you have the MACS already. Well done! :)

toyohon
21-10-2011, 08:44 AM
the cascading water looks really soothing to the soul, I doubt the real thing is anywhere close to advertisement.
Anyone has seen the show house and has some REAL picture to show ?

You might have to get to their Show Gallery at Setia Indah. This Cascadia project was apparently soft launched last weekend.

east539
21-10-2011, 08:45 AM
at the corner of Jusco facing lavender is a MACS counter. It is there till nov 15. got my passport scanned, paid rm30 and my macs was renewed in 5 min. no need form or photo. was informed same for new applicant. didnt ask but i presumed 2 year passport validity period criteria remains.

no more 2 years for passport validity, 13 months is enough for renew or new applicant.

crystal_tiong
21-10-2011, 08:48 AM

hopefully , next yr when i renew in Jan , they still have such road shows around , its so troublesome to do it at custom ... got to park my car at city sqaure and walked againist direction to renew it ....

Serenity
21-10-2011, 08:50 AM
That's something new I learned today. Thanks for sharing Serenity.
Oh by the way, were you replying to me when you said not to compare?

No. not replying to you.

Bank loan officer normally do not know whether the allocated funds had been depleted, it is only after submitting the case to HQ for approval, then they would know. Hope everyone know that banks HQ are in KL, so it will take time. the officer generally do not have control over the approval and the quantum amount.

arsenal
21-10-2011, 08:50 AM
1) with all the lights off, the feel is heavenly... you can see the stars and the moon as if chatting to you gently and asking you to have a good night sleep..
2) driving at night is also a very nice experience.. you can see bats and occassionally animals that you won't see in Singapore.. It broaden one's soul.. and make you realise the world is not just about money and concrete..
3) don't do anything sinful, do more good deeds and ghosts will not disturb you.. ( you can keep some garlics in your pockets or hang by your neck)
4) dont worry about moonsoon.. JB is not like Bangkok.. of course you can consider Horizon hills.. There is no flood in horizon hill..

Hello Sir,

pardon the slight change in subject, but may i know your comments on the following,..

1. in these new estates, the nights are so much darker, quieter,..have you ever stayed over-night in your house, alone, with all lights off..how was the feeling ?

I spent a night at Taman Nusa Perintis,..and was amused by the alternate periods of quietness, and the occasional group of noisy, neighbourhood kids-on-motorbikes,....felt "adventourous".

2. Does anyone have a topographic map of this area ? what are the risks of tropical monson flooding in Johor ? where are the low-lying areas ?

Thanks

louischin78
21-10-2011, 08:59 AM
Hi Bro Wuqi,

I have been trying to PM you but I think your PM is full . I have a fren who is interested to buy Nusa Duta Semi D and need to discuss with you about something . Kindlyemail me at louischin78@gmail.com

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 09:06 AM

Reposting this to the benefit of all

Investor
21-10-2011, 09:10 AM
hopefully , next yr when i renew in Jan , they still have such road shows around , its so troublesome to do it at custom ... got to park my car at city sqaure and walked againist direction to renew it ....

Much easier to apply/renew Macs at 2nd link. Right after passport booth, just park along the road side and walk 2 mins to the Macs office which opens 24 hrs.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 09:14 AM
Hello Sir,

It was great!!! Finally alone and in peace. I am the slightly more adventurous type so many places including my own shop here.

I actually drive out alone mostly at night. I am a night person. I would go around my estate as a "free" security guard as well to lonely and still developing areas.
I normally drive with most of my internal lights off and only the normal headlights and sometimes only the day running lights

I definitely do as i have encountered them, mostly in Singapore unfortunately but for most of my life, they tend to leave me alone.
If you are always thinking of negative things, you will only attract negative things in your life. There are too many potholes that we keep
looking at, forgetting that there are mountains and hills too.

Not been to that area, not fair to comment.

You can do a google earth easily. Been in Johore 3 years now, never been flooded yet but that could be because i live at Horizon Hills but never
seen anything above ankle deep in Bukit Indah Thanks

My replies to you in bold. :)

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 09:19 AM
For your budget, you can check out terraces of the below projects in Nusajaya;
1) Nusa Idaman
2) Nusa Duta
3) Nusa Sentral
All the above were recommended by Wuqi, I'm not familiar with all 3 as I've not visited them.

Puteri harbour is the most expensive in Johor. Imperia condo's price is between RM550 - RM800 per sq ft. A small unit of 1,000 sq ft for example will cost RM800,000. Future landed expected to be bungalows only, price expected to be from RM6 million.

May I know which forum did you post your question in initially? Just curious :)

For the budget, i would go for Nusa Duta for subsale and Nusa Sentral or Nusa Idaman for new sales actually in that order.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 09:20 AM
No. not replying to you.

Bank loan officer normally do not know whether the allocated funds had been depleted, it is only after submitting the case to HQ for approval, then they would know. Hope everyone know that banks HQ are in KL, so it will take time. the officer generally do not have control over the approval and the quantum amount.

Thanks for clarifying on this Serene.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 09:23 AM
no more 2 years for passport validity, 13 months is enough for renew or new applicant.

Thanks so much, really useful information.

arsenal
21-10-2011, 09:27 AM
My replies to you in bold. :)

Hi WuYi,

ha you are also a night person... ha ha..
During one of the reservist trip outside Singapore, I was dropped into an jungle from a helicopter.. Pitch dark.. I remembered when I walked, I could see hundreds of bright shinny eyes looking at me and they follow me.. I need to cover 20Km that night with my small recce teams before daylight.. What a nice experience...

Some time I joined the johor 4x4 team to Rompbin jungle.... We pitch tent by the river and swim by the waterfall.. Malaysia.. Truely Asia..!!! Satu Malaysia!

lastresort
21-10-2011, 09:28 AM
Thanks for your constant sharing of such related news bro Lastresort.

Maybe because I like to travel by land, that's why all these news updates. =)

thegolf
21-10-2011, 09:38 AM
Google videos - 'Horizon Hills' and found this,

Horizon Hills - The South Golf Construction Site

http://vimeo.com/30577060

Horizon Hills - The South Golf

http://vimeo.com/30576460

Horizon Hills - The South Golf Semi-D Showroom

http://vimeo.com/30575702

Thank you Nicolas Tang for the video update!

jazjoz
21-10-2011, 09:39 AM

So we can actually change the exterior of the house? There are a few things I don't like about the exterior and was thinking of changing it. But mine is terrace not bungalow. Same rule applies? Or rather same rule "doesn't" apply?

arsenal
21-10-2011, 09:42 AM
My brother, a learned construction person.. picked up the soil in HH and study it very hard.. He commented the soil here is excellent for building houses...

Brother YongLip.. Any comments from fengshui perspective?

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 09:45 AM
Hi WuYi,

ha you are also a night person... ha ha..
During one of the reservist trip outside Singapore, I was dropped into an jungle from a helicopter.. Pitch dark.. I remembered when I walked, I could see hundreds of bright shinny eyes looking at me and they follow me.. I need to cover 20Km that night with my small recce teams before daylight.. What a nice experience...

Some time I joined the johor 4x4 team to Rompbin jungle.... We pitch tent by the river and swim by the waterfall.. Malaysia.. Truely Asia..!!! Satu Malaysia!

Thanks Arsenal, i am truly a night person, that must have been scary but fun!!! Satu Malaysia!! Wondering how Meng will feel if suddenly lots of people go to his shop and salute him by saying that. Satu Malaysia!!!

Wu Qi (吴起)

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 09:49 AM
http://youtu.be/_lw6nwSef2o

This is still one of the best videos for HH. :)

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 09:53 AM

Map of the MRT/LRT network. :D
Apologies though as its not the full one.

Investor
21-10-2011, 09:57 AM
Maybe because I like to travel by land, that's why all these news updates. =)

Hi Lastresort,
My 'related' was meant as 'related to Nusajaya' :) I didn't mean 'same' kinda news :)
Sorry my England is limited :D

Investor
21-10-2011, 10:09 AM
http://youtu.be/_lw6nwSef2o

This is still one of the best videos for HH. :)

Are they using some kind of remote control helicopter to do the filming? Saw the shadow of a helicopter-like flying object somewhere in the video.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 10:11 AM

Proposed network

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 10:13 AM
Are they using some kind of remote control helicopter to do the filming? Saw the shadow of a helicopter-like flying object somewhere in the video.

Yes they were. Using a firm flying large and small sized helis.

yonglip
21-10-2011, 10:22 AM
My brother, a learned construction person.. picked up the soil in HH and study it very hard.. He commented the soil here is excellent for building houses...

Brother YongLip.. Any comments from fengshui perspective?

sorry bro,..soil not my forte...

cheers.

lastresort
21-10-2011, 10:25 AM

It's always good to hear from bros and sisters about their investment perspectives, especially in times of uncertainty, it helps to know that there are many people who share the same sediments. I got a lot more to learn from all the successful bros and sisters here, people like Wuqi, Investor, HH, LeMans. I am sure many people have benefited from all of you.

I for one have always believed in property investment but I've never talked to my friends about these things because all they can tell me is, they have a new eye candy in school, let's go clubbing, let's go on holiday, let's go out and play computer games, the latest movie, music, computer gadgets, new flashy cars. To be honest, I am not interested in these and if I don't pretend I am interested, I will have no one to hang out with.

I prefer to hang out with people older than me who can share with me about their life experiences. One advice I got from a Malaysian sister is to surround yourself with positive and like minded people. Next week, I will be attending a gathering with property investors from Malaysia (org by that sister), we will be sharing our views on Iskandar Malaysia and some of them will share with us their experiences (after that, hopefully I am able to share with you guys their views on Iskandar Malaysia), I'm looking to learn from these seniors. I noticed that Malaysian youths are generally more matured compared to their Singaporean peers. I met one who is in his late 20s, but has already bought land to develop houses. Met a few other very successful ones in KL, and they are all very humble and accommodating to show me around driving me from show offices to show offices, explaining the KL market in detail.

This group of brothers and sisters are all friends and through one, I got to know many more, some based in Singapore, some in KL. This is my network of like minded friends that I wish to build on and expand.

Same for this forum, we have gathered many positive and like minded people, I really wish to meet many of you in real life. Who says there are no kind hearted people? :) I too believe Iskandar Malaysia is set to grow more. Now the question is not whether or not to invest in Iskandar Malaysia, my worry is not having enough fund to buy more before prices shoot up even higher. :)

Grago
21-10-2011, 10:33 AM

Proposed network

Broi Wuqi, my apologize for letting slip about the LivinginJohore blog.

lastresort
21-10-2011, 10:34 AM
Hi Lastresort,
My 'related' was meant as 'related to Nusajaya' :) I didn't mean 'same' kinda news :)
Sorry my England is limited :D

haha, or maybe my england is also limited, comprehended wrongly. :D

lastresort
21-10-2011, 10:46 AM
So many new forumers lately, welcome everyone! :D

Investor
21-10-2011, 11:01 AM
It's always good to hear from bros and sisters about their investment perspectives, especially in times of uncertainty, it helps to know that there are many people who share the same sediments. I got a lot more to learn from all the successful bros and sisters here, people like Wuqi, Investor, HH, LeMans. I am sure many people have benefited from all of you.

I for one have always believed in property investment but I've never talked to my friends about these things because all they can tell me is, they have a new eye candy in school, let's go clubbing, let's go on holiday, let's go out and play computer games, the latest movie, music, computer gadgets, new flashy cars. To be honest, I am not interested in these and if I don't pretend I am interested, I will have no one to hang out with.

I prefer to hang out with people older than me who can share with me about their life experiences. One advice I got from a Malaysian sister is to surround yourself with positive and like minded people. Next week, I will be attending a gathering with property investors from Malaysia (org by that sister), we will be sharing our views on Iskandar Malaysia and some of them will share with us their experiences (after that, hopefully I am able to share with you guys their views on Iskandar Malaysia), I'm looking to learn from these seniors. I noticed that Malaysian youths are generally more matured compared to their Singaporean peers. I met one who is in his late 20s, but has already bought land to develop houses. Met a few other very successful ones in KL, and they are all very humble and accommodating to show me around driving me from show offices to show offices, explaining the KL market in detail.

This group of brothers and sisters are all friends and through one, I got to know many more, some based in Singapore, some in KL. This is my network of like minded friends that I wish to build on and expand.

Same for this forum, we have gathered many positive and like minded people, I really wish to meet many of you in real life. Who says there are no kind hearted people? :) I too believe Iskandar Malaysia is set to grow more. Now the question is not whether or not to invest in Iskandar Malaysia, my worry is not having enough fund to buy more before prices shoot up even higher. :)

Thanks for sharing your views, Lastresort. Will be waiting to hear your friends' views on Iskandar from you after the gathering.
Are you guys meeting in Sg or My? I think it's also very important to hear the views from investors in Singapore(but only after they visit Nusajaya).

Anyway, remember the DBS Vickers's report on Iskandar Region whereby 40 or 50 fund managers visited Iskandar?
Most of them are positive about investment in landed residential properties in Iskandar and will be investing within the next 2 years.
http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/Iskandar-Malaysia-making-tem-3380777435.html?x=0

Investor
21-10-2011, 11:23 AM

Is it Triston Park (http://www.tristangroup.com/4x4.html) 4x4?

jasonjst
21-10-2011, 11:39 AM
Hi Crystal,

OIC thanks for your response :) I guessed so too because that forum seems to be a popular forum amongst Singaporeans.

The mycarforum got too many people who would tell you half true about JB , dont know what is their motive , really.
Two years back I bring a ordinary friend to see my JB house and show him around Nusajaya properties , thinking that it might be good for him some day if like to purchase.
Saw him this morning in the city. WTF , the first thing he ask me was , " how ? have you been staying in JB ? did your house got any break in ? " . I say nothing ,everything OK . But I was thinking how nice if I got enough money to retire in JB right now, no need to live in such a cold/souless city any longer .

jasonjst
21-10-2011, 11:48 AM

Bros do you need to own a Land Rover to join the fun ? Or they allow you to rent a truck for a day trip ?

jasonjst
21-10-2011, 11:51 AM
Broi Wuqi, my apologize for letting slip about the LivinginJohore blog.

Hi Wuqi , would it be great if we move this forum to your blog . At least it is more well organise where one can refer back to past posting easily on certain subject .

lastresort
21-10-2011, 11:57 AM
Thanks for sharing your views, Lastresort. Will be waiting to hear your friends' views on Iskandar from you after the gathering.
Are you guys meeting in Sg or My? I think it's also very important to hear the views from investors in Singapore(but only after they visit Nusajaya).

Anyway, remember the DBS Vickers's report on Iskandar Region whereby 40 or 50 fund managers visited Iskandar?
Most of them are positive about investment in landed residential properties in Iskandar and will be investing within the next 2 years.
http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/Iskandar-Malaysia-making-tem-3380777435.html?x=0

Hi Investor, we will be meeting in Singapore as they are Malaysians (mainly from Klang Valley) based in Singapore. They have recently organised a field trip to Iskandar Malaysia, but I did not attend as I did not know about it. At least one of them has a property in Iskandar Malaysia and they seem to be very positive about the whole development. =)

Investor
21-10-2011, 12:02 PM
Bros do you need to own a Land Rover to join the fun ? Or they allow you to rent a truck for a day trip ?

No need to own a 4x4, they have it and they will usually arrange a one day(or few days) off-road driving experience with coaching at a fixed price.
They have a Facebook group (https://www.facebook.com/groups/55771973769/), check them out if you have a FB account.

Investor
21-10-2011, 12:04 PM
Hi Wuqi , would it be great if we move this forum to your blog . At least it is more well organise where one can refer back to past posting easily on certain subject .

Wow that'll be great if it can be done. Any IT expert here who can advise on that?

Investor
21-10-2011, 12:08 PM
Hi Investor, we will be meeting in Singapore as they are Malaysians (mainly from Klang Valley) based in Singapore. They have recently organised a field trip to Iskandar Malaysia, but I did not attend as I did not know about it. At least one of them has a property in Iskandar Malaysia and they seem to be very positive about the whole development. =)

Wow that's great to hear :) Do they act as a group or as an individual when they invest?

arsenal
21-10-2011, 12:08 PM

Oh.. I joined a different group...

lastresort
21-10-2011, 12:23 PM
Wow that's great to hear :) Do they act as a group or as an individual when they invest?

They mostly act individually as they have their full time job. A few of them do have groups, but they are small private groups.

aangsc
21-10-2011, 12:28 PM
......, my worry is not having enough fund to buy more before prices shoot up even higher. :)

brother, you buying so many huh . One at a time lah. There is always new opportunity if you keep both eyes and ears open. Live within your mean and don't be greedy. Good luck.

lastresort
21-10-2011, 12:41 PM
brother, you buying so many huh . One at a time lah. There is always new opportunity if you keep both eyes and ears open. Live within your mean and don't be greedy. Good luck.

haha true true, shouldn't be too greedy, I should work harder and not dream too much. Maybe next time we will look else where. :D

vincentck
21-10-2011, 12:45 PM
Hi, may I check something with all of you? I'm renting a house in HH for 2 years, RM1800/mth. The agent is asking for RM900 as agent fee, and he advised me to prepare the cheque in his name to avoid the government tax of 6%. The cheque to his name will be as his agent fee and also to pay the tenancy agreement stamping fee of RM265.

Anybody has any experience on this? Please share... thanks.

Investor
21-10-2011, 12:48 PM

2. Investor - Nusajaya
8. Tansi - Leisure Farm
9. relaxmannn - Nusajaya
12. East539 - Nusajaya
15. Lynn - east Ledang
16. TheGolf - HH
26. cathylmg - Kempas
28. mallow - Nusajaya
31. narmi - NI
36. 2bFree - HH
38. 29ers - LF
39. Weetabix - HH
40. SeriAustinian - Seri Austin, HH South Golf

Brought forward.

vincentck
21-10-2011, 12:51 PM
But will also prevent us from detecting the leak earlier during the hand over of the house ? Yes, that's the con of having the insulating sheet as mentioned by another bro earlier. But, if the insulating sheet can direct the water leaking to the side of the house, then it's ok since the water won't reach ur ceiling. Only thing is dunno how long the sheet will last.

May I know if anyone did any external reno on their house in HH? Since it's not strata title, and from what I can see from the S&P, there is only mention of no change of colour, how are they going to enforce what you do to the external of the house? I haven't done, but I plan to extend the side of my house out into the garden to create 2 more rooms, ground floor and 1st floor. Need to get the MBJBT approval though.

maxpark
21-10-2011, 12:57 PM

How does PVC piping compared to copper piping? Will be changing my piping and a friend suggested using PVC piping.
What are the advantages and disadvantages? Diffferences in costs?
Anyone know?

Aisanbo
21-10-2011, 01:12 PM
Hi, may I check something with all of you? I'm renting a house in HH for 2 years, RM1800/mth. The agent is asking for RM900 as agent fee, and he advised me to prepare the cheque in his name to avoid the government tax of 6%. The cheque to his name will be as his agent fee and also to pay the tenancy agreement stamping fee of RM265.

Can I know how big is the house ? Include clubhouse? And furnished?
Thanks.

jasonjst
21-10-2011, 01:12 PM
How does PVC piping compared to copper piping? Will be changing my piping and a friend suggested using PVC piping.
Anyone know?

Singapore or JB house ? If JB , mostly they use PVC because very cheap , but as you know cant beat copper/ stainless steel pipe lah .

fc3s1
21-10-2011, 01:44 PM
Sorry can anyone comment or help..?

I walked into Toyota today wanting to buy a Hilux but was told by the salesman i need a malaysian relative as guarantor for the loan to approve.

Without it i cannot buy and it confirmed.

I am ok with 70% loan but do not have malaysian relative.

Is this true and anyway to go around this? Banks to recommend?

Thanks
tang

Serenity
21-10-2011, 01:44 PM

Stamp Duty for lease in Malaysia : Monthly Rental X 12 months - RM2,400.00 / 250 = RMXXX.00 (Round up to the nearest Ringgit) X Number of years = Total Stamping Fee

Your stamp duty = RM1800X12 - RM2400/250 = RM77 X 2 yrs = RM154 plus duplicate copy for landlord RM10 = RM164. Agent is charging you RM100 for service charge which is fair.

Agents in Malaysia are also not suppose to collect commission from 2 parties for the same transaction, as this is know as Dual representation which is against their Agent's Byelaw. They can represent only 1 party and only to collect commission from the party he represent. Landlord have to pay 1 month commission for 2 yrs lease to his appointed agent.

vincentck
21-10-2011, 01:52 PM
Vincentck bro.. picture copy from one of the roof installer Facebook. That layer of plaster sheet is more for heat insulation rather than waterproofing.

Jansinjst bro.. too bad, you can only detect if there is waterstain mark on the ceiling. That's a great feature for house... keeps the heat from accumulating below the roof. But I believe it can also draw leaking water away from any cracked/broken tiles. Thanks bro.

I only actually know 3 things about the place:

1. The coffee
2. The horfun
3. The women (real pretty) I'm glad I grew up in an era where I could still see the pretty gals in Ipoh. That's my hometown, and bro wuqi, you're right about the 3 items listed. I didn't know it was that well-known.... we used to joke that all the pretty girls in KL were from Ipoh; because most people will migrate to KL to study and then to work and stay.

vincentck
21-10-2011, 01:55 PM
Agree, very uppity people there. I actually know of some senior people from UXX in Singapore, none of them are like that though so we cannot automatically assume UXX in SG = UXX in Johore. I think it's just the junior officers who are like that, all just "makan gaji"... earning their keep and doing enough to stay employed because banks pay good bonuses.

Batok Seri
21-10-2011, 02:11 PM
For folks interested in Nusajaya/Iskandar who don't already know.
Please download this http://www.iskandarmalaysia.com.my/comprehensive-development-plan-cdp#section1.
Not that big a file but makes for interesting reading covering in detail plans for mrt and such..

euphony
21-10-2011, 02:39 PM
Any idea what you could get for RM500K ?
Location is quite a distance away from main road, should be nice and quiet just wondering whether it has a good view of the surrounding.

not sure as the details are scarce at this point in time but I do think there might be units in excess of 500k to cater to foreign buyers.

euphony
21-10-2011, 02:46 PM
Great link, thank you euphony. I've been thinking of getting a trustworthy Interior Designer company from Singapore who is willing to cross the straits daily and manage the whole reno project of my future units in Nusajaya.

I don't think I wanna handle those contractors and everything else by myself. As long as I find the package price reasonable and the design makes me drool, I'll just deal with the Singapore ID firm and they manage the whole project for me :)

cheers. i think this is indeed rare to see an ID house in SG cross the straits to embark on a JB project. Having said that this particular design seems too opulent lux somewhat of a junkshop chic gone wrong with too many colors and bling. Maybe is the owners preference but I think the website has other remodeling projects which seems quite good!

euphony
21-10-2011, 02:51 PM

is the whole development landed strata titled? this might be an interesting development to follow then. less the eye sore and disastrous individual color palettes many tamans suffer from! :p

euphony
21-10-2011, 03:05 PM
Two years back I bring a ordinary friend to see my JB house and show him around Nusajaya properties , thinking that it might be good for him some day if like to purchase.
Saw him this morning in the city. WTF , the first thing he ask me was , " how ? have you been staying in JB ? did your house got any break in ? " . I say nothing ,everything OK .

whoa such comments after seeing the developments??
at least 1 less doubting thomas to crowd out our paradise :cool:

21-10-2011, 03:11 PM
Systematic failure? Points to ponder. When you go to these new launches, the amount of people you see there clearly points to the sign with the popular grammatically challenged statement "All your base are belong to us!!!"

http://www.planettribes.com/allyourbase/signs.shtml

Systemic failure? With standards declining in everything from MRT to food to construction, must be massive system failure indeed!

21-10-2011, 03:25 PM

What about Spore property investors? I am sure there are also such people interested in property investment in Spore. Do you hang out with them? Or are you planning to invest in property in Malaysia only?

tansi
21-10-2011, 03:26 PM
1)sure can see more stars, like sg back in the 50/60, but do arm yourself against mozzie if you are outdoor.
2)driving at night or early morning makes me alert and feel more alive. wonderful.
3)closeness to nature, quietness and darkness makes me humble, reconfirm my belief in the Creator, but not a thought about ghost.
4)drove in recent heavy downpour from the causeway to nusajaya. some jb streets were flooded but didn't find any in nusajaya or the highways to there.

1) with all the lights off, the feel is heavenly... you can see the stars and the moon as if chatting to you gently and asking you to have a good night sleep..
2) driving at night is also a very nice experience.. you can see bats and occassionally animals that you won't see in Singapore.. It broaden one's soul.. and make you realise the world is not just about money and concrete..
3) don't do anything sinful, do more good deeds and ghosts will not disturb you.. ( you can keep some garlics in your pockets or hang by your neck)
4) dont worry about moonsoon.. JB is not like Bangkok.. of course you can consider Horizon hills.. There is no flood in horizon hill..

21-10-2011, 03:31 PM

No such experience but I think better pay to the agency, it is safer that way.

Aisanbo
21-10-2011, 03:37 PM
is the whole development landed strata titled? this might be an interesting development to follow then. less the eye sore and disastrous individual color palettes many tamans suffer from! :p
Yes, I believe each precinct within the whole development is strata landed. The huge waterfall landscape & lake is not.
IMHO, landed strata should be more secure than normal Gated & Guarded.
The roads and area within G&G is still public area and legally anyone can enter the area.
There can therefore be more strict access control to landed strata properties.

Sanur
21-10-2011, 03:52 PM
1)sure can see more stars, like sg back in the 50/60, but do arm yourself against mozzie if you are outdoor.
2)driving at night or early morning makes me alert and feel more alive. wonderful.
3)closeness to nature, quietness and darkness makes me humble, reconfirm my belief in the Creator, but not a thought
about ghost.
4)drove in recent heavy downpour from the causeway to nusajaya. some jb streets were flooded but didn't find any in nusajaya or the highways to there.

The peace n quietness is unlike the feeling of loneliness, the sky twinkles, moonlight bright.cooling weather, With drinks in hands, jazz music n lighted candles(those repellent ones) what could one ask for more. In such a state, who will think of ghost?

arsenal
21-10-2011, 03:59 PM
The peace n quietness is unlike the feeling of loneliness, the sky twinkles, moonlight bright.cooling weather, With drinks in hands, jazz music n lighted candles(those repellent ones) what could one ask for more. In such a state, who will think of ghost?

Howl.... Great mind all think alike.... That is why living in JB is not because we are poor, but because we are seeking a lifestyle of our choice....

Sanur
21-10-2011, 04:02 PM
Regrettably, I could only do this once a while n each time I reluctantly bide goodbye to my place. Feeling sad going back to reality.

Sanur
21-10-2011, 04:06 PM
Howl.... Great mind all think alike.... That is why living in JB is not because we are poor, but because we are seeking a lifestyle of our choice....

Hey arsenal, don "howl" I actually her more howling in my Singapore area, not in Jb. Haha

arsenal
21-10-2011, 04:10 PM
Hey arsenal, don "howl" I actually her more howling in my Singapore area, not in Jb. Haha

:)
Ha ha..

jazjoz
21-10-2011, 04:23 PM
cheers. i think this is indeed rare to see an ID house in SG cross the straits to embark on a JB project. Having said that this particular design seems too opulent lux somewhat of a junkshop chic gone wrong with too many colors and bling. Maybe is the owners preference but I think the website has other remodeling projects which seems quite good!

I thought I was the only one who thinks that way. Too much of something might not be good sometimes. But well, to each his own.

LeMans2011
21-10-2011, 04:26 PM
Hello Sir,
Thanks

Nusa Perintis looks intimidating. In fact the whole Gelang Patah looks intimidating and my wife hates to go there although i don't mind eating there occasionally as the coffeeshop dishes are real cheap. My view is only selected places in Johor are safe enough to live... forget about the rest no matter how cheap they are.

In JB, it is the human you should be afraid of and not the ghosts.

LeMans2011
21-10-2011, 04:30 PM
Thanks Much! Yes, fully agree with you Investor. For me, this is very long term, and I like Marinas and Harbours. So you are absolutely right, the level of risk from my personal perspective is very low. East Ledang - Phase 3A, Melody Park. Terraces and Semi Ds were all sold out by the time I got to know about this.

I recall Imperia has good seaview units and the prices were about RM750 psf? I find it probably the only condo "exclusive" enough for investment.

LeMans2011
21-10-2011, 04:34 PM
If anyone dares hit a golf ball inside my house, I will sue until they become pok.

Provided they hang around JB long enough for you to sue them.

IskandarRocks
21-10-2011, 04:35 PM
Oops, sorry for the downgrade by me, my bungalow friend :p Just your bungalow's investment value alone is already more than the value of all my present units in Nusajaya added up.

You said, "were all sold out by the time I got to know about this(Nusajaya)". That was one of the reason why I invested in Nusajaya since last year 2010. I believe that as the catalist projects materialized along the way, there will be more and more new demands for properties in Nusajaya from the many(Malaysians and Singaporeans just like yourself) who will then only start to visit Nusajaya for the first time.

Yes, many have heard about Nusajaya, but this unique chance(slow and delayed demand) only happens in Malaysia as people simply Do Not believe that the Malaysian government can succeed in such mega projects. Most of us who visited Nusajaya knows that this city is a 'see to believe city', if you don't visit it personally, you won't believe that it'll materialize.

Luckily for us, we've visited Nusajaya earlier than others and have seen
1) Already developed projects like Kota Iskandar, Puteri Harbour, Columbia Asia, Horizon Hills etc.
2) Government commitments - Newly developed infrastructure like highways, city's roads, new police stations etc.
3) Massive private sector's committed projects like Medini, Temasek's Wellness Village, Pinewood Studio, Legoland, Childrens' Indoor Theme Park, Mega Mall and Retails(Lifestyle Mall & Medini Square), many hotels eg. Traders Hotel, Gleneagle Hospital, 8 nos. of Universities in EduCity, Marlborough Colleague and... (too many to name).

All the above have given us the confidence in the further progress and prospect of Nusajaya. Just like what our friend Yonglip said,"You don't need a degree to figure that out(he was referring to the prospect of capital appreciation in Nusajaya) :)

So, Congratulations to all forummers who have bought properties in Nusajaya, we are the early birds for this one :D

Well, well done and congrats on getting in early. Honestly, I am still happy that I made it in 2011, rather than in 2013, possibly with the 'herd'.

Once I decided to get in, I told several friends and colleague about the potential of Iskandar and encouraged them to make an investment. I have been shocked at the response. They have ranged anywhere from "Are you crazy?" to being ignored outright. Only one (a German colleague) decided to make trip to Iskandar and look around and the guy bought land in LF.

In terms of the upcoming projects, they are very well summarized in a recent Hwang DBS report. Here is the link:

http://www.einvest.com.my/Archive-CompanyFocus/2.%20Sector%20Focus/2011%20Sector%20Focus/Property%2020110907%20Iskandar%20Malaysia.pdf

LeMans2011
21-10-2011, 04:37 PM
Bro Lemans, sometimes its a thankless job but someone has to do it. Its like this thread actually, i have a feeling that quite a few here are are from the 39.9 percent or the rare guys who think differently from the 60.1%.

Haha that is the right spirit. There are always some who appreciate even if another 60.1% pick bones.

LeMans2011
21-10-2011, 04:44 PM

Have the Nusajaya properties become overpriced? I thought you could stil get an end-lot terrace (ie with small corner land) for about RM500k plus in Phase 7 Nusa Idaman - at least when i saw it 2 months ago. I advise against condo living in JB unless it is to be used as a cheap means of maintaining a mistress.

IskandarRocks
21-10-2011, 05:05 PM

HH
Tropika near the NSH..
Senibong Cove

Have you looked into Casa Almyra? Very close to Bukit Indah. Resale Semi Ds are still available for 600K odd. The agent told me that prices are suppressed as the main entrance approach is blocked due to coastal highway construction. Current approach is through some not very pleasant areas. However, this will not be an issue once the highway opens. Also, they have a nice prominade by the river, on the backside, with jettys in case you have a boat.

Would be interesting to hear comments from some of our experts ........

LeMans2011
21-10-2011, 05:06 PM
No need to own a 4x4, they have it and they will usually arrange a one day(or few days) off-road driving experience with coaching at a fixed price.
They have a Facebook group (https://www.facebook.com/groups/55771973769/), check them out if you have a FB account.

I've seen these 4x4's annual congregation at Sutera Mall... my... it was quite a spectacle. The roads around there got all muddy thanks to the muds falling off from these 4x4. But sorry i don't have the pics on hand... will post next time

LeMans2011
21-10-2011, 05:15 PM
Just in case you run out of ideas what you can do on a weekend in JB... you can go marina south fly kite... oops its go bukit indah fly kite

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 05:17 PM
Bro Louischin, i have replied to your email already. Apologies. My PM is also cleared now.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 05:20 PM
Good idea to transfer, maybe i will do that one day, its not difficult but i still hope to keep the blog less public as i share more personal things there.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 05:21 PM
No such experience but I think better pay to the agency, it is safer that way.

Definitely and keep away from some agents who take comms from both sides. Btw, just heard
boss of a successful real estate agency has a semi-d in the Gateway too and just moved in recently.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 05:22 PM
Well, well done and congrats on getting in early. Honestly, I am still happy that I made it in 2011, rather than in 2013, possibly with the 'herd'.

Once I decided to get in, I told several friends and colleague about the potential of Iskandar and encouraged them to make an investment. I have been shocked at the response. They have ranged anywhere from "Are you crazy?" to being ignored outright. Only one (a German colleague) decided to make trip to Iskandar and look around and the guy bought land in LF.

In terms of the upcoming projects, they are very well summarized in a recent Hwang DBS report. Here is the link:

http://www.einvest.com.my/Archive-CompanyFocus/2.%20Sector%20Focus/2011%20Sector%20Focus/Property%2020110907%20Iskandar%20Malaysia.pdf

Thanks for sharing this IskandarRocks. Its good news indeed

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 05:23 PM
Haha that is the right spirit. There are always some who appreciate even if another 60.1% pick bones.

Looks like some of the 60.1% are now keen as well, had to send out email updates to some in the office as somehow they got to know i have property there and kept asking me.

tansi
21-10-2011, 05:23 PM
Nusa Perintis seems a typical local residential area. It might look acceptable when new, but after a few years of negligence of public service and house owners doing whatever they like, it looks depressing. Drove thru the area when I was looking for property and it affirms my decision to stay away from local-dominated residential area--no offence, i seek for serene living of the old days, not the low standard of living.

Nusa Perintis looks intimidating. In fact the whole Gelang Patah looks intimidating and my wife hates to go there although i don't mind eating there occasionally as the coffeeshop dishes are real cheap. My view is only selected places in Johor are safe enough to live... forget about the rest no matter how cheap they are.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 05:27 PM
Have you looked into Casa Almyra? Very close to Bukit Indah. Resale Semi Ds are still available for 600K odd. The agent told me that prices are suppressed as the main entrance approach is blocked due to coastal highway construction. Current approach is through some not very pleasant areas. However, this will not be an issue once the highway opens. Also, they have a nice prominade by the river, on the backside, with jettys in case you have a boat.

Would be interesting to hear comments from some of our experts ........

Yes, it was discussed quite sometime back as i was once keen on the place. I have friends there but they kind of regretted in a way. Some issues with the developer i won't elaborate here. Very nice jetty and some houses can view the sea and there is even a guard in a kind of guardtower/lighthouse on top, a very nice gent i know has his own private jetty there while the rest share a larger one. Other than Danga Island (don't buy it), this is one where there is an option of parking your boat literally in your own backyard. Lots of boat owners there though but there are other places you should consider if you are not into boats, etc.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 05:32 PM
Nusa Perintis seems a typical local residential area. It might look acceptable when new, but after a few years of negligence of public service and house owners doing whatever they like, it looks depressing. Drove thru the area when I was looking for property and it affirms my decision to stay away from local-dominated residential area--no offence, i seek for serene living of the old days, not the low standard of living.

Originally Posted by LeMans2011

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Have to agree with both on this, i still don't go to Gelang Patah area unless i have to, the last few times i went, it was to the hidden jetty at the middle of the night for fishing or waiting just for fun for durians to fall on the roadside there. (Hint, there are lots of durian trees in some areas)

Investor
21-10-2011, 05:32 PM
I'm renting a house in HH for 2 years

Hi Vincent,

Is this your temporary plan due to security reasons? I'm just curious.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 05:44 PM
Just in case you run out of ideas what you can do on a weekend in JB... you can go marina south fly kite... oops its go bukit indah fly kite

Good idea, some other things to do:

Recreational - Play golf/archery(Sutera Mall)/tennis/swimming/radio controlled stuff (think cars/tanks/boats/submarines/helicopters/plans)/console & pc gaming
Shopping - Tesco, Jusco, Giant, Carrefour (Sutera Mall) or even visit Courts(a bit small though at Bukit Indah)
Adventure -
Kota Tinggi Waterfalls (pay 9 RM per person)
Go 4X4 or those dirt bikes around some challenging tracks
Hire a boat to go fishing in Gelang Patah area, can even go somewhere nearby (think below Tuas 2nd link bridge) for a quick spot of fishing
Hire a boat at Puteri Harbour for 400-500 RM for the entire family (seats about 12) to go around the area or visit to see fireflies at night
Leisure - Slow drive to Pontian/Kukup for food or go to Tioman/Desaru(nice bridge) for watersports fun
Desaru has a run down go-kart facility but not really expensive. There is a resort there by the name of Pulai, good place
to go.
Massage - Relaxing massage can be found for cheap here, other than Eminent, there is another place (new one) that is in the same row as Standard Chartered. Affordable and good too at 49 RM per hour (without oil)
Pubs - Lots here, the one at Eurorich (Platinum) is just one of them
Food - Lots and lots of food choices here. Just in Jusco alone, there is A&W, Old Town and lots of other choices like Secret Recipe

Danga area is somewhat closed else more to do there.

mallow
21-10-2011, 05:48 PM
Anyone know?

Not for hot water piping. More expensive of course, but really no choice.

Investor
21-10-2011, 05:50 PM
I advise against condo living in JB unless it is to be used as a cheap means of maintaining a mistress.

Hi LeMans,

I'm not looking at condos in Iskandar too but still would like to hear your views in more details. What are your reasons for going against condo living in JB?

IskandarRocks
21-10-2011, 05:56 PM
I recall Imperia has good seaview units and the prices were about RM750 psf? I find it probably the only condo "exclusive" enough for investment.

Yes, the 3 bedroom units (1850 sft and 2506 sft) only will have views of the yatch marinas and the straits. The higher floor unts may look out all the way to the sea.

BTW, they have recently launched websites and facebook pages. Here are the links:

http://www.imperiacondo.com/

http://www.facebook.com/Imperia.PHarbour?sk=photos#!/Imperia.PHarbour?sk=wall

http://www.puteriharbour.com.my/

Investor
21-10-2011, 06:05 PM
Good idea, some other things to do:

Recreational - Play golf/archery(Sutera Mall)/tennis/swimming/radio controlled stuff (think cars/tanks/boats/submarines/helicopters/plans)/console & pc gaming
Shopping - Tesco, Jusco, Giant, Carrefour (Sutera Mall) or even visit Courts(a bit small though at Bukit Indah)
Adventure -
Kota Tinggi Waterfalls (pay 9 RM per person)
Go 4X4 or those dirt bikes around some challenging tracks
Hire a boat to go fishing in Gelang Patah area, can even go somewhere nearby (think below Tuas 2nd link bridge) for a quick spot of fishing
Hire a boat at Puteri Harbour for 400-500 RM for the entire family (seats about 12) to go around the area or visit to see fireflies at night
Leisure - Slow drive to Pontian/Kukup for food or go to Tioman/Desaru(nice bridge) for watersports fun
Desaru has a run down go-kart facility but not really expensive. There is a resort there by the name of Pulai, good place
to go.
Massage - Relaxing massage can be found for cheap here, other than Eminent, there is another place (new one) that is in the same row as Standard Chartered. Affordable and good too at 49 RM per hour (without oil)
Pubs - Lots here, the one at Eurorich (Platinum) is just one of them
Food - Lots and lots of food choices here. Just in Jusco alone, there is A&W, Old Town and lots of other choices like Secret Recipe

Danga area is somewhat closed else more to do there.

For waterfall, I've heard from someone before that there's one near to Nusajaya, somewhere near Pekan Nanas. I've never been there and don't know the exact location. Does anyone know of any waterfall near Nusajaya?

LeMans2011
21-10-2011, 07:06 PM
Hi LeMans,
I'm not looking at condos in Iskandar too but still would like to hear your views in more details. What are your reasons for going against condo living in JB?

Same as what many bros (possibly yourself too) have said - JB is not land scarce. Developer can go on and on building condos and at some stage there will be oversupply. Landed house face the same problem but it is low density and it takes a lot more time and money to create many Horizon Hills and East Ledangs. Furthermore there is very little feel of luxury in the condos i have seen in JB, eg. Fairway Suites, Horizon Residences. Lastly, in case you are not aware, many locals like to buy condos as this is something new and affordable for them. However, and i hope this is not condescending, it is a nightmare sharing facilties with them. Johoreans love to bring their relatives to their house. Hence every weekend your Johorean neighbour will bring 3 families to use the condo pool and it will be very overcrowded. They will pee in the pool, maybe wash clothes in the pool, bring a boat onto the pool... and all sorts of weird behavior. Ghosh... i don't want to imagine.

Lastly, i don't know how many of them are used to the idea of paying maintenance and sinking fund. In Nusa Idaman, there is an issue of some residents refusing to pay the monthly contribution to the security fees funds - they claim that they don't need security. Why the fxxk do you buy a gated precinct if you hate to pay for security?? There is a neighbouring development "Kiara Hills" where they have done away with the security post because the majority of residents decided they don't want that. When these people stop contributing to maintenance and sinking fund... the place will rot.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 07:37 PM
Lastly, i don't know how many of them are used to the idea of paying maintenance and sinking fund. In Nusa Idaman, there is an issue of some residents refusing to pay the monthly contribution to the security fees funds - they claim that they don't need security. Why the fxxk do you buy a gated precinct if you hate to pay for security?? There is a neighbouring development "Kiara Hills" where they have done away with the security post because the majority of residents decided they don't want that. When these people stop contributing to maintenance and sinking fund... the place will rot.[/QUOTE]

Pool i don't use much but noisy neighbours i could do without. Common fear if living in condos and lots of don't pay up and if you live in high floor, then it will be tiring to get back home plus rubbish will fill up to the lower floor units for those living on lower floors. Slightly easier for landed where you can handle rubbish and normally not that many stairs to climb.

Yes, i still don't understand why but luckily for Nusa Idaman, its for only selected precints where they have
1. Balls of titanium or steel or 2. Value $$$ over their lives or 3. Think too little of the guards.

I never mentioned that Kiara place even though i pass by that place quite a bit whenever i wanted to visit Kota Iskandar/Puteri, its a pity.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 07:40 PM
On the other hand though, did anyone notice that there has been more police posts around Bukit Indah, its nothing more than a tent and a constable on a motorcycle and tables + chair.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 07:42 PM
Not defending Johoreans but i think the bringing of relatives applies to almost everyone across borders. I did hear though of some folks bringing in like 30 relatives in one night to stay. The poor terrace has to accomodate like that many people for the entire weekend. At least its a 24 x 75 place so not that bad but still.

wuqi256
21-10-2011, 07:45 PM
End of the day though, for security, it all depends on ones own needs and comfort level. I recalled there was someone who rather stay in an unguarded and ungated place in Bukit Indah as he thinks the guards in whole of Malaysia are all untrustworthy.

abugumgum
21-10-2011, 10:19 PM
Vincentck,

In a similar situation, the agent for the landlord was asking me for half month rental as comm for a one year lease.

Well, I did not take up that lease, so I do not know of the payment method.

I think, (maybe I am wrong), over here, the terms are negotiable, it is ultimately how much $$ one pays, it can be "packaged" in a few forms such as comm, service fee or some kind of charges. Landlord nay agree to some requests by tenant but try to recover that cost in another way. It is all about negotiation.

I usually look at what is the total cost that I have to pay, to determine if it suits my budget and needs.

abugumgum
21-10-2011, 10:24 PM
Yes, I agree on everyone will have visitors.

As long as the visits are short, putting up with the increase in activities is part of community living. from a positive angle, it brings life and vibrancy to the estate. :)

As long most of the time, the place is peaceful and serene.

Not defending Johoreans but i think the bringing of relatives applies to almost everyone across borders. I did hear though of some folks bringing in like 30 relatives in one night to stay. The poor terrace has to accomodate like that many people for the entire weekend. At least its a 24 x 75 place so not that bad but still.

abugumgum
21-10-2011, 10:36 PM
Indeed, I have heard and seen on the amount of $$ owed by owners for the management fee and sinking fund.

The Management will have to sue them to collect. I wonder how successful they are. I understand that the laws are being enacted just a few years back, to address the few issues faced by strata owners in the title transfer as well as the management of the estate. The situation is improving but I am not sure when it can achieve the level that we are used to.

Lastly, i don't know how many of them are used to the idea of paying maintenance and sinking fund. In Nusa Idaman, there is an issue of some residents refusing to pay the monthly contribution to the security fees funds - they claim that they don't need security. Why the fxxk do you buy a gated precinct if you hate to pay for security?? There is a neighbouring development "Kiara Hills" where they have done away with the security post because the majority of residents decided they don't want that. When these people stop contributing to maintenance and sinking fund... the place will rot.

tansi
22-10-2011, 01:36 AM
2 thins i did before i bought my hse, checked expatriate forum in my, lack of professional security service and lots of missing payments of mante and sinking fund were very common everywhere. so after my car clocked over 500km, sent for a service and then drove north to see and feel for myself, all the way to penang. conclusion, the expats were not fussy, they were telling the truth. i would avoid most residential bldg that needs a lift to access. so landed is preferred.

Pool i don't use much but noisy neighbours i could do without. Common fear if living in condos and lots of don't pay up and if you live in high floor, then it will be tiring to get back home plus rubbish will fill up to the lower floor units for those living on lower floors. Slightly easier for landed where you can handle rubbish and normally not that many stairs to climb.

Yes, i still don't understand why but luckily for Nusa Idaman, its for only selected precints where they have
1. Balls of titanium or steel or 2. Value $$$ over their lives or 3. Think too little of the guards.

I never mentioned that Kiara place even though i pass by that place quite a bit whenever i wanted to visit Kota Iskandar/Puteri, its a pity.[/QUOTE]

spidey
22-10-2011, 02:03 AM
Investor

Yup yup...Thanks Crystal for answering..
this forum is great! lot of info...and some of it makes logical sense eg my initial thots was getting a small condo, but there were comments that in Johoreans likes to bring the extended family to use the pool - hence...

Anyway - readign and digesting some of the feedback now - and also saw the MRT/LRT proposal here...i am now even more convinced that this is a nice place to retire ...hahhahaha! provided they do a good job at building the facilities and ammenities...

Still reading the....

spidey
22-10-2011, 02:14 AM
Thanks bro and to all here for sharing...

lastresort
22-10-2011, 02:48 AM
What about Spore property investors? I am sure there are also such people interested in property investment in Spore. Do you hang out with them? Or are you planning to invest in property in Malaysia only?

Yup, I do intend to invest in Singapore, but not at the moment. I'm sure there are also such property investors in Singapore just that I've not gotten the chance to meet these people. :)

tansi
22-10-2011, 02:54 AM
"done away with the security post because the majority of residents decided they don't want that"
heard about a case on security, a precinct decided to pay less for security service, as they see neighboring precincts all pay for better professional service and the safe factor or the robbers' fear factor might well spread to their precinct. when smart alecs' group together, such smartness could spread fast and then all sink together.

Sanur
22-10-2011, 03:10 AM
Originally Posted by LeMans2011
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Have to agree with both on this, i still don't go to Gelang Patah area unless i have to, the last few times i went, it was to the hidden jetty at the middle of the night for fishing or waiting just for fun for durians to fall on the roadside there. (Hint, there are lots of durian trees in some areas)

Hi,

When ever my families, relatives n myself goes to leisure farm, we will to Gelang Patah for dinner, sometimes we will stay late to watch football on the big screen, we goes there to gave breakfast, change money n shop for groceries too. I do agree that it was intimidating at first. After a while, it seems a way of life. The wan tan noodles very good n the old style you char kuay very good too. There are lots of tour buses which stop over for break, so it should b safe.

checkers
22-10-2011, 04:21 AM
Hi,

When ever my families, relatives n myself goes to leisure farm, we will to Gelang Patah for dinner, sometimes we will stay late to watch football on the big screen, we goes there to gave breakfast, change money n shop for groceries too. I do agree that it was intimidating at first. After a while, it seems a way of life. The wan tan noodles very good n the old style you char kuay very good too. There are lots of tour buses which stop over for break, so it should b safe.

U mean the 88 restaurant? The wan tan noodles, char kway teow and chee jiong fun are not bad. One can see how the chee jiong fun is done even.