PDA

View Full Version : Living in JB

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64

14-08-2011, 03:01 PM
True, like canberra residences & canopy in Yishun/sembawang by MCC Land..
However think 8 courtyards by Frasers still selling better though pricing much higher than yishun sapphire beside

Hehe i visited the Caberra Residence showflat and was shocked to see the toilets are those mobile type. No proper toilets built for showflat site nowadays?!

matx3315
14-08-2011, 03:29 PM
Bestari Heights is a good choice. And it is almost near completion.

Narmi
14-08-2011, 03:51 PM
The exchange rate yday was 2.465 tho it was shown as 2.43 at 1st link money changer near shell

Narmi
14-08-2011, 03:54 PM
Ehh now the Singaporean husband said he is the one who wrote the comments. Really no eye to see the Spore now!

Ahh let us not be bothered by these psuedo sporeans.

jasonjst
14-08-2011, 04:32 PM
thanks for the endorsement man..as mentioned in my earlier post....the perfect development or house in JB is a very subject and indeed elusive concept. i suppose it all boils down to what we can live with and what we can live without.

Something on the financing part...i am using CIMB's homeflexi plan which allows for interest offset..need to pay close to S$1K per month for 16 years. I am not sure whether bros here are aware, but CIMB Singapore allow internet transfer from Sing to M'sia at no cost. Exchange rate is not so bad...about 2.442 compared to outside cash rate of 2.457...they still got to earn la..at least no need to bring so much cash around and is instant transfer...just the click of the mouse.

Good to loan from bank based in SG ? I see the advantage of low interest rate and strong SGD .
But not too sure 1 SGD = RM 246 can stay how long . Make me wonder how we can hedge at current rate for say next 10 years ? Any bank willing to take the hedge ?

Investor
14-08-2011, 04:44 PM
Went to Restoran Pekin @ Sutera Utama today, the food is really quite nice and price is not expensive. Recommended!

Analytical Professor
14-08-2011, 05:06 PM
Agreed....

My home remains a wip forever.... Nothing is complete..

mentioned in my earlier post....the perfect development or house in JB is a very subject and indeed elusive concept. i suppose it all boils down to what we can live with and what we can live without.

Analytical Professor
14-08-2011, 05:08 PM
Nice tip bro..

Decent exchange rate

Time saving

No hassle

Something on the financing part...i am using CIMB's homeflexi plan which allows for interest offset..need to pay close to S$1K per month for 16 years. I am not sure whether bros here are aware, but CIMB Singapore allow internet transfer from Sing to M'sia at no cost. Exchange rate is not so bad...about 2.442 compared to outside cash rate of 2.457...they still got to earn la..at least no need to bring so much cash around and is instant transfer...just the click of the mouse.

Analytical Professor
14-08-2011, 05:10 PM
Eventually they will indicate percentages since votes will have to be counted

Anyone knows if there will be tally of vote percentages?
Will be interesting to see if TT gets below 40% but end up eventual winner

Analytical Professor
14-08-2011, 05:11 PM
Im hopin for a straight fight between dr tt n tkl

I hope the number of candidates will be lesser on nomination day cos it is to the advantage of tt. 2 way contest will be better as there will be clear winner of more than half of d votes

Analytical Professor
14-08-2011, 05:12 PM
Actually as long as there is a st fight i think i dun mind anyone else even if not tkl my fav

I hope the number of candidates will be lesser on nomination day cos it is to the advantage of tt. 2 way contest will be better as there will be clear winner of more than half of d votes

Analytical Professor
14-08-2011, 05:13 PM
Sounds like tpl story

Btw where did u read it?

Post for us la...

Ehh now the Singaporean husband said he is the one who wrote the comments. Really no eye to see the Spore now!

Analytical Professor
14-08-2011, 05:22 PM
I think they should check ip address n time log of rachelle to verify...

More interesting stuff

Gay Chao Hui: I am very embarrassed to be a Singaporean
The ‘apology’ made by Gay Chao Hui, the Singaporean husband of Rachelle Ann Beguia on the Facebook of PAP MP Penny Low three hours ago was greeted with disbelief by most Singaporeans.

Mr Gay claimed that he posted the derogatory comments about Singaporeans using his wife’s Facebook account which questioned the loyalty of NSmen and ridiculed Singaporeans who lost their jobs to foreigners as being ‘incompetent’, among other things.

“I would like to express my remorse and deepest apologies to the people of Singapore who have been hurt by my remarks,” he wrote.

Though most netizens have dismissed his apology as a desperate ploy to save the skin of Rachelle, it may not be entirely impossible given that Mr Gay has made more damning remarks about Singaporeans in the past.

Using the moniker of ‘Xoom’ on the Filipino forum pinoysg.com, he described himself as a Singaporean who is on a ‘crusade’ to better the employment conditions of Filipinos and even gave his handphone number (9658 1443) to the Filipinos in the forum to contact him if they know of any cases of maid abuse.

In a post made on 13 January 2009, he claimed that he was embarrassed to be a Singaporean:

“I am Chinese Singapoean but I despise Chinese SIngaporeans the most….really KIASU and a bunch of maid abuses. Hail the Filipinos screw all you SINGAPOREANS! From what you described, as a Singaporean (am very embarassed to be one and have disavowed any association with this nationality).”

In another comment made in October 2009, he asked the Filipinos in the forum to recommend a Filipino playgroup for his son as he does not want him to mix around with Singaporean children:

“I am a Singaporean Chinese and my wife is Pinay. We have an 18 month old son. I am very very keen for my son to mix with other Filipino children and also want him to start learning Filipino language and values. I do not like him to mix with other Singaporean children as I simply am disdainful of their values and self-centeredness. Can any of you recommend a playgroup for our son? “

Mr Gay Chao Hui is currently working as a civics tutor in Tampines Junior College. Since he is so ashamed of being a Singaporean, Mr Gay should renounce his citizenship and relocate to the Philipines permanently with his wife and child.

There are some rumors circulating around that Mr Gay is a PAP grassroots leader serving in Penny Low’s constituency which explained why he stepped forth to defend her on Facebook. If you have any information about Mr Gay, please contact us immediately using our web contact form. Thanks.

yonglip
14-08-2011, 10:19 PM
Good to loan from bank based in SG ? I see the advantage of low interest rate and strong SGD .
But not too sure 1 SGD = RM 246 can stay how long . Make me wonder how we can hedge at current rate for say next 10 years ? Any bank willing to take the hedge ?

no la bro. we borrowing from M'sia CIMB. they have the homeflexi plan. I just have their CIMB Sing savings account. It allows transfer to my CIMB M'sia account at no cost. understand maybank charge $15 per transaction. this is different from TT. its just cross border internal transfer within the same bank.

for us we are exposed to 2 risk - interest rate and foreign exchange. i mitigate interest rate risk with interest offset plan..so if i put an equal amount in their current account, interest rate is zero..i.e. why a 30 years loan duration ends up being paid in 16 years. so interest rate move up/down..bo tai zee.

For exchange rate risk, we are also more or less ok...if Sing dollar strong, we are earning sing dollars and therefore is able to convert more RM down the road...although house value/RM funds in Sing Dollars term drop...as long as dont sell or convert...still safe.....if RM strong, we have the funds in there already..no need to convert to Sing...house value/RM funds in Sing Dollars increase...so wont be that bad la.

Bigfatfish
15-08-2011, 05:00 AM
Totally agree with what you say, you write so beautifully! :)

Scattering ashes at sea is good right? At least then no 30 years problem and secondly our kids will not be forced to come and visit the niches.;)

With respect to everyone else's view, religious or emotional, I have never understood this need to preserve ashes. Yes, respect for the body of any human being and certainly not to allow disrespect to the corpse in any way, specially mutilation. But I was a witness to my mother's annual visit to my father's grave and the deep sorrow each visit would produce for days.

I don't think any religion teaches that any part of the spirit or soul still resides in the remains - whether we bury, cremate, cover with goldleaf or allow birds to pick the corpse clean.

Nor do any of the religions teach that prayers said at the graveside/halls of niches/family altar penetrates and benefits the actual ashes or bones of the dear one who has moved on. Surely it is for the soul or spirit of the loved one.

I was amazed to hear, some years ago, all about the different prices for the niches: the higher up ones give a better view, light and airiness and the lower and cheaper ones are too close to people's feet etc etc It dawned on me then how much money can be made from this from people who are grieving (and grieving in advance!), and how much better use that money could be put right now to feeding the poor, clothing and housing the desperate, to scientific research into horrible diseases, educating children and ignorant adults [who want education but could never afford it], cleaning up the planet, preserving the rainforest and the seas, helping in so many ways living people in need. And if not, to having a good time with that money while there is still life in you. At least donate the money to groups of religious, nuns or monks, who will pray for the departed soul - it will keep the temple or church in repair and provide them with sustenance while they are doing the praying for you, you lazy sod.

My same mother, when asked about the distribution of her personal effects, said this most liberating thing: Oh do what you like dear, I'll be dead and gone!

I mean no disrespect to anyone else's views on how best to commemorate the loss of a dearly loved one.

Bigfatfish
15-08-2011, 05:01 AM
Welcome to another interesting world of people who think just like you.

Hi everyone here, I have been reading this forum since the time it started, i shared the feeling of each members here and the reasons behind the move to start up alternative homes in JB. Before i continue let me share a bit of myself, i just retire recently after reaching the age of 62. However in 2009 I come to realise that the cost of living is becoming more and more costly beside the crowded MRT, bus and roads. What do we have? i ask myself beside shopping centres and foodcourts, the kids and adults don't have places to go for relaxations and get away from the commercial aspect of city life. the so called quality of life can only be measured here in term of the money you earned and material possessions that so many are so proud of. So in 2009 i make up my mind to do something about it, no point just talk about it with friend and collagues, i when to purchase a house in JB, a cornered unit in Taman Pelangi Indah. I have plans to use the place for retirement and aslo to setup a workshop for my future crafts business and aslo to try my hand on planting some exotics plants with the available land i have. Well i am looking forward to share with this group my plans and progress if anyone is interested. I will sign off here and hope to continue at a later date, good days to all.

Bigfatfish
15-08-2011, 05:04 AM
hmmmm quality of handover. before i start, i've high expectations or high standards due to nature of my work. so very likely going to offend same people again.

i would say for layman, very very nice and beautiful. however, a lot of defects are hidden. confirm better than the showroom of HH. however a lot of defects are hidden. i was doing one condo last week. very very pretty but i see where the imperfections are. however according to national singapore standards pass lah. of cuz a lot of things maybe never check. like hollowness of parquet flooring. aiyoh headache next time.

Missed this post. Yes, nowadays see quite a few projects in Singapore by China developers. And the thing is they are not priced cheaper than other condos! Wow everything PRC, how's their quality like for the handover?

Bigfatfish
15-08-2011, 05:21 AM
Political bullshiters. one min say this , next min they say dat. what is what. pinoys are good at twisting words. so maybe now kenna , so ask husband to shield her. if singapore so lousy then ask them to go somewhere else.

Analytical Professor
15-08-2011, 05:47 AM
Stay in singapore....

Want spore blood

Still criticize spore....

Political bullshiters. one min say this , next min they say dat. what is what. pinoys are good at twisting words. so maybe now kenna , so ask husband to shield her. if singapore so lousy then ask them to go somewhere else.

Analytical Professor
15-08-2011, 05:48 AM
How does that work bro?bthe interest offset plan?

no la bro. we borrowing from M'sia CIMB. they have the homeflexi plan. I just have their CIMB Sing savings account. It allows transfer to my CIMB M'sia account at no cost. understand maybank charge $15 per transaction. this is different from TT. its just cross border internal transfer within the same bank.

for us we are exposed to 2 risk - interest rate and foreign exchange. i mitigate interest rate risk with interest offset plan..so if i put an equal amount in their current account, interest rate is zero..i.e. why a 30 years loan duration ends up being paid in 16 years. so interest rate move up/down..bo tai zee.

For exchange rate risk, we are also more or less ok...if Sing dollar strong, we are earning sing dollars and therefore is able to convert more RM down the road...although house value/RM funds in Sing Dollars term drop...as long as dont sell or convert...still safe.....if RM strong, we have the funds in there already..no need to convert to Sing...house value/RM funds in Sing Dollars increase...so wont be that bad la.

yonglip
15-08-2011, 07:00 AM
[QUOTE=Analytical Professor;797229]How does that work bro?bthe interest offset plan?[/QUOTE

let me illustrate using my house example..

Valuation = RM560K
borrow 80% = RM448K
Duration = 30 years
Instalment per month = RM2,300+
Open a current account with them and put in RM448K cash. under the interest offset plan, the 2 accounts are linked resulting in 0 effective loan. so interest is 0 regardless of interest rate levels.
in the meantime, they will deduct about RM2300 per month from the current account as mortgage payment. Both the accounts will fall in tandem. i..e LOAN balance goes down, Current Account Balance goes down...with this, a loan that normally takes 30 years to repay will be repaid in 16 years.

my plan is to top up this current account periodically and eventually i will still have some RM cash there waiting for me when i retire as well as a fully paid up home in 16 years time.

why go through this hassel and not pay them one shot since got cash?..i hear some bros asking....

simple...the rationale is similar to why pay cash when you can utilise the 24 month interest free instalment payment plan on most credit cards to pay for your electrical purchase at COURTS for example.

if you pay them one shot, your money is gone overnight. With this plan, it will only be gone over a period of 16 years. its more of a pyschological thingy. hahaha...actually below are some real reasons.

it effectively becomes an interest free payment plan. Interest rates are high in M'sia, so it makes sense to reduce it. in any case, the money in Sing account is earning peanuts interest.

Funds in the current account is still yours..i.e. can still be used. So if need money, can still withdraw via ATM/transfer out/write cheque. of course if current account is lesser than outstanding loan amount, have to pay standard mortgage interest (BLR-XX%) on the net balance.

If RM strenghtens, i am ok cos my funds are already in there for auto monthly deductions. I dont have to really change from Sing to RM to pay the instalments. If RM weakens, the initial amount in the current account will take a hit but since i am topping up this account periodically, it also means that i will be topping up with less Sing dollars down the road. so net impact bearable.

Finally a mortgage loan allows one to buy the MRTA...a cheap reducing term insurance which you never really know when it might come in handy (hahaha - touch wood hor)...

Do note that there is a monthly fee of RM10 and initial set up fee of RM200 for this type of account. such interest offset accounts are available in most banks over there.

for bros with idle cash, may be worthwhile to use such accounts to reduce interest. there is no need to offset in full, partial offset also can.

Such accounts are nothing new, in Sing, they have similar mechanisms like the mortgageOne from Standard Chartered Bank,...the difference in Sing is that the banks do not allow 100% offset...as usual la..in Sing everything maciam like must squeeze you until dry. if not, this forum will not even exist. hahaha.

yonglip
15-08-2011, 07:09 AM
The exchange rate yday was 2.465 tho it was shown as 2.43 at 1st link money changer near shell

hi narmi..so are you saying that they actually exchange 2.465 to the dollar eventho they display 2.43?

help me here man...

Narmi
15-08-2011, 09:21 AM
hi narmi..so are you saying that they actually exchange 2.465 to the dollar eventho they display 2.43?

help me here man...

Hi yl bro

Yes that is correct. The display rate wAS 243rm. But they give 246.5 when i exchange. If u exchange more they give even better. Tip if u wanna exchnage to rm always ask how much the rate even tho it is on display big big. They will definitely quote higher than display rate. Then u can get even better deal by telling "Eh i wanna exchange $5k" for example. They wil give even higher than they initially quoted.

Analytical Professor
15-08-2011, 09:58 AM
Bro yonglip

Thank you for taking time off to explain the details.

Appreciate ur time spent

yonglip
15-08-2011, 11:58 AM
Hi yl bro

Yes that is correct. The display rate wAS 243rm. But they give 246.5 when i exchange. If u exchange more they give even better. Tip if u wanna exchnage to rm always ask how much the rate even tho it is on display big big. They will definitely quote higher than display rate. Then u can get even better deal by telling "Eh i wanna exchange $5k" for example. They wil give even higher than they initially quoted.

ok. will try out. on sunday i exchanged at boon lay shopping centre at 2.46 to the dollar. thot got good deal...changed $8K+ for RM 20K all $50 notes...the stack as big as my palm...the only other time i held so much paper money was burning hell notes during 7th month..hahahaha. but that incident taught me a lesson...no more cash exchange liao...scariest day of my life..if you know what i mean.

yonglip
15-08-2011, 12:01 PM
Bro yonglip

Thank you for taking time off to explain the details.

Appreciate ur time spent

don mention bro...everyone is here to share...:)

blondeyes
15-08-2011, 12:48 PM
Did a lot of research on pfingo, skype, pennytel

As u rightly mentioned pfingo n pennytel r good n a whole load cheaper than skype as well

Hi i would like to suggest to who are traveling a lot between SG and Msia. Use Flexiroam to make call or to receive call from Msia while in SG. Switch to SG sims and people in Malaysia will call your Msia number and it will forward to your SG sims.. Unlimited call for RM10/day.. It saves roaming cost a lot expecially those who need to make call often.. Currenly Flexiroam giving 3 days roaming FREE.. just sign up at their website.. here (http://blog.flexiroam.com/2011/08/02/free-3-day-roaming-pass-for-new-subscribers-this-entire-month/):

avalon74
15-08-2011, 01:19 PM
Hehe i visited the Caberra Residence showflat and was shocked to see the toilets are those mobile type. No proper toilets built for showflat site nowadays?!
Though close to my place.. did not visit.. notice the land behind the plot of land for canberra residences is actually a new water plant..

mallow
15-08-2011, 01:54 PM
[QUOTE=Bigfatfish;797173]Totally agree with what you say, you write so beautifully! :)

Blush ...! Thank you. Just an opinion which not all will agree with.

HH_lover
15-08-2011, 02:10 PM
Some Updates on Puteri Habour (http://living-in-jb.blogspot.com/2011/08/my-first-visit-to-puteri-harbour.html)

Launching soon.... Those who have reserved, you'll need to follow through with first 10% to confirm your unit.

HH_lover
15-08-2011, 02:26 PM
[QUOTE=Analytical Professor;797229]How does that work bro?bthe interest offset plan?[/QUOTE

Valuation = RM560K
borrow 80% = RM448K
Duration = 30 years
Open a current account with them and put in RM448K cash. under the interest offset plan, the 2 accounts are linked resulting in 0 effective loan. so interest is 0 regardless of interest rate levels.
in the meantime, they will deduct about RM2300 per month from the current account as mortgage payment. Both the accounts will fall in tandem. i..e LOAN balance goes down, Current Account Balance goes down...with this, a loan that normally takes 30 years to repay will be repaid in 16 years.

my plan is to top up this current account periodically and eventually i will still have some RM cash there waiting for me when i retire as well as a fully paid up home in 16 years time.

why go through this hassel and not pay them one shot since got cash?..i hear some bros asking....

simple...the rationale is similar to why pay cash when you can utilise the 24 month interest free instalment payment plan on most credit cards to pay for your electrical purchase at COURTS for example.

I have been toying with this idea of interest-offset package for sometime already. Was confounded by the fact that the banks are willing to offer such a good deal--"effectively" raising the interest rate of your savings of the borrowed amount (in FD let's say) to BLR-XX of let's say 4.1%. What was the catch given that FD interest rates are going at 3.3% p.a. averagely?

Then I realised one thing, interest offset is non-interest bearing. In other words, your principle does not ever grow. And given that the borrowed amount is reducing, putting your borrowed amount in FD might be a better deal over time for bros with spare cash. The power of compounding interest.

After 30 years, your principle of $448K would become $1.275mil in your FD account based on 3.55%. Your house with interest paid up over 30 years would be a total of $780K, and you will have access cash to spare. :)

Btw, RHB is having FD promotion of averaged 3.55% p.a. for 8months FD, till end September.

matx3315
15-08-2011, 02:26 PM
Hi,

Don't understand how above can be achieved?>>

Valuation = RM560K
borrow 80% = RM448K
Duration = 30 years

if you pay them one shot, your money is gone overnight. With this plan, it will only be gone over a period of 16 years. its more of a pyschological thingy. hahaha...actually below are some real reasons.

it effectively becomes an interest free payment plan. Interest rates are high in M'sia, so it makes sense to reduce it. in any case, the money in Sing account is earning peanuts interest.

Funds in the current account is still yours..i.e. can still be used. So if need money, can still withdraw via ATM/transfer out/write cheque. of course if current account is lesser than outstanding loan amount, have to pay standard mortgage interest (BLR-XX%) on the net balance.

If RM strenghtens, i am ok cos my funds are already in there for auto monthly deductions. I dont have to really change from Sing to RM to pay the instalments. If RM weakens, the initial amount in the current account will take a hit but since i am topping up this account periodically, it also means that i will be topping up with less Sing dollars down the road. so net impact bearable.

Finally a mortgage loan allows one to buy the MRTA...a cheap reducing term insurance which you never really know when it might come in handy (hahaha - touch wood hor)...

Do note that there is a monthly fee of RM10 and initial set up fee of RM200 for this type of account. such interest offset accounts are available in most banks over there.

for bros with idle cash, may be worthwhile to use such accounts to reduce interest. there is no need to offset in full, partial offset also can.

Such accounts are nothing new, in Sing, they have similar mechanisms like the mortgageOne from Standard Chartered Bank,...the difference in Sing is that the banks do not allow 100% offset...as usual la..in Sing everything maciam like must squeeze you until dry. if not, this forum will not even exist. hahaha.

Analytical Professor
15-08-2011, 02:45 PM
Mallow i was not wrong!

Please continue.

Welcome to another interesting world of people who think just like you.

[QUOTE=Bigfatfish;797173]Totally agree with what you say, you write so beautifully! :)

Blush ...! Thank you. Just an opinion which not all will agree with.

arsenal
15-08-2011, 02:51 PM
Some Updates on Puteri Habour (http://living-in-jb.blogspot.com/2011/08/my-first-visit-to-puteri-harbour.html)

Launching soon.... Those who have reserved, you'll need to follow through with first 10% to confirm your unit.

Wow.. Another blog...but i like it..

HH_lover
15-08-2011, 03:06 PM

Haha...danke.... Just a way of keeping track of things...

15-08-2011, 03:11 PM
Though close to my place.. did not visit.. notice the land behind the plot of land for canberra residences is actually a new water plant..

New water plant, what is that? Is it same as waste treatment plant? Didn't know about it, only know there is a waste treatment plant at Seletar area, that one can smell it when drive past..

15-08-2011, 03:15 PM
[QUOTE=yonglip;797289]
Btw, RHB is having FD promotion of averaged 3.55% p.a. for 8months FD, till end September.

That is a good rate, HSBC only offer 3.3% for 12 month FD. Must open saving account at RHB then can open FD?

lastresort
15-08-2011, 03:46 PM
Hey guys, very good news! I have just checked online after my KL friend updated me on FB. Malaysia has just confirmed Foxconn investment project in Kulai!

Malaysia confirms Foxconn investment project

http://focustaiwan.tw/ShowNews/WebNews_Detail.aspx?Type=aECO&ID=201108100042

Kuala Lumpur, Aug. 10 (CNA) Taiwan's Foxconn Technology Group has received a licence to invest in Kulai, in Malaysia's Johor State, Malaysia's Ministry of International Trade and Industry confirmed Wednesday.

A ministry official told CNA the Taiwanese electronics titan said the group will produce printer cartridges, employing 1,000 engineers and technicians. It did not disclose the number of general workers that will be required to operate the plant.

The official declined to reveal the amount of capital to be injected into the investment project.

Foxconn received approval May 18 from the Kulai City council to build an industrial park, and construction is currently underway.

According to Malaysian regulations, foreign investment projects with paid-in capital of more than 2.5 million Malaysian ringgit (US$831,532) or a work force of more than 75 full-time workers are required to obtain a licence from the ministry. (By Sun Tien-mei and Lilian Wu) ENDITEM/J

lastresort
15-08-2011, 04:10 PM
hi guys

i have just bought at Bestari Heights...i have been looking around JB houses for some time aleardy (easily 5 years and more)...you name it, i have practically seen it all and finally decided on BH where both my wife and I deemed it as OK. This is my take on some of the other developments we have seen from causeway to 2nd link....i know some bros here stay at these places..no offence intended..just my personal opinion..welcome detractors..

Hi Yonglip bro, welcome to the forum and hope you will like your new home when it's ready! I supposed your unit is a cluster house. I think you have bought the home at a very reasonable price considering other developments nearby are priced higher.

The newer precincts at Bukit Indah are situated further away from the commercial area (Jusco), so definitely not as good as BH in terms of location. HH's cluster homes of around the same built up and land size are selling above 910 K, but I wouldn't compare them because they are of different concepts and market.

The closest alternative I can think of is Nusa Duta (also one of my personal favourite developments), it is also very near to commercial areas. It has a very neat and organised masterplan, good quality, design, touch up and I foresee very good top end management, maintainance and security. Only thing is the built up of cluster homes are only around 2400sf for the same price you're paying, land size is around the same. Good units are already taken up some time ago. What do you think of Nusa Duta? :D

lastresort
15-08-2011, 04:30 PM
Hi everyone here, I have been reading this forum since the time it started, i shared the feeling of each members here and the reasons behind the move to start up alternative homes in JB. Before i continue let me share a bit of myself, i just retire recently after reaching the age of 62. However in 2009 I come to realise that the cost of living is becoming more and more costly beside the crowded MRT, bus and roads. What do we have? i ask myself beside shopping centres and foodcourts, the kids and adults don't have places to go for relaxations and get away from the commercial aspect of city life. the so called quality of life can only be measured here in term of the money you earned and material possessions that so many are so proud of. So in 2009 i make up my mind to do something about it, no point just talk about it with friend and collagues, i when to purchase a house in JB, a cornered unit in Taman Pelangi Indah. I have plans to use the place for retirement and aslo to setup a workshop for my future crafts business and aslo to try my hand on planting some exotics plants with the available land i have. Well i am looking forward to share with this group my plans and progress if anyone is interested. I will sign off here and hope to continue at a later date, good days to all.

Hi /0m0\,

welcome! I have always wanted to check out older tamans nearer to the custom/JB sentral as I have always believe the Pelangi area will always remain as the true downtown area so it will always be wang! It has all the fundamentals, being nearer to custom and town and I think the price is reasonable and some are undervalued. But it may get a little congested at times. Nusajaya to JB sentral is like Putrajaya to Kuala lumpur. Both are important cities.

It's also good to have someone who is more senior than us in this forum who is full of drive and energy to share with us your perspectives and views. Maybe you can share with us about the living environment in the Pelangi area. Do you meet Singaporeans who have moved there decades ago, and some who have recently moved there? :D

HH_lover
15-08-2011, 05:24 PM
[QUOTE=HH_lover;797614]

That is a good rate, HSBC only offer 3.3% for 12 month FD. Must open saving account at RHB then can open FD?

Yup, the agreement is for 8months. Interest paid out every 2 months.

Rates per 2 months:
1 & 2 - 3.45%
3 & 4 - 3.5%
5 & 6 - 3.55%
7 & 8 - 3.7%

If you keep the interest in, you will get 3.55% averaged.

Not sure, but I think you can place a direct FD. I have a savings acct with them. You can check with them though.

jasonjst
15-08-2011, 06:47 PM
Come accross this funny Curry Song !

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aOsijzsG27U

yonglip
15-08-2011, 10:01 PM
Hi Yonglip bro, welcome to the forum and hope you will like your new home when it's ready! I supposed your unit is a cluster house. I think you have bought the home at a very reasonable price considering other developments nearby are priced higher.

The newer precincts at Bukit Indah are situated further away from the commercial area (Jusco), so definitely not as good as BH in terms of location. HH's cluster homes of around the same built up and land size are selling above 910 K, but I wouldn't compare them because they are of different concepts and market.

The closest alternative I can think of is Nusa Duta (also one of my personal favourite developments), it is also very near to commercial areas. It has a very neat and organised masterplan, good quality, design, touch up and I foresee very good top end management, maintainance and security. Only thing is the built up of cluster homes are only around 2400sf for the same price you're paying, land size is around the same. Good units are already taken up some time ago. What do you think of Nusa Duta? :D

hi bro..nice to be here man. Nusa Duta is great! i would definitely have bought the Type A (32 x 70, 2592 sqft) if it was not sold out.current launches are around RM740K (beyond budget) and size is bigger. Quality wise, BH is better in terms of internal finishes...timbre..wrought iron railing for staircase and main gate, flushed drainage at land area...and so forth....but ND is further away from highway/wires...like i said no one development is perfect..cheers bro.

yonglip
15-08-2011, 10:22 PM
[QUOTE=yonglip;797289]

I have been toying with this idea of interest-offset package for sometime already. Was confounded by the fact that the banks are willing to offer such a good deal--"effectively" raising the interest rate of your savings of the borrowed amount (in FD let's say) to BLR-XX of let's say 4.1%. What was the catch given that FD interest rates are going at 3.3% p.a. averagely?

ater 30 years, the RM448K indeed does grow to RM1.3million

Then I realised one thing, interest offset is non-interest bearing. In other words, your principle does not ever grow. And given that the borrowed amount is reducing, putting your borrowed amount in FD might be a better deal over time for bros with spare cash. The power of compounding interest.

After 30 years, your principle of $448K would become $1.275mil in your FD account based on 3.55%. Your house with interest paid up over 30 years would be a total of $780K, and you will have access cash to spare. :)

Hi HH_lover. thanks for the insight man...however your analysis is half right. You are right to say with compounding, RM448K does grow to RM1.3 million after 30 years, however, you also need to compound your instalments per month paid to the banks. i.e. saving up the monthly instalments in savings or FD account. if you do that you realise its more than just the RM800K we are talking here..in fact it is closer to 1.3 million even at just 2.5% p.a. so no real gains from FD route. Also FD result in the money being virtually "stuck"...a big no no for me. this is really no difference from paying off the developer. the interest offset route is practically immune to interest rate movement..whether BLR goes up or down..bo tai chee..this makes the linked current account a de-facto FD that is earning at the lending rate which is definitely much higher than FD rate..cheers bro.

winners
15-08-2011, 10:30 PM
Hi /0m0\,

welcome! I have always wanted to check out older tamans nearer to the custom/JB sentral as I have always believe the Pelangi area will always remain as the true downtown area so it will always be wang! It has all the fundamentals, being nearer to custom and town and I think the price is reasonable and some are undervalued. But it may get a little congested at times. Nusajaya to JB sentral is like Putrajaya to Kuala lumpur. Both are important cities.

It's also good to have someone who is more senior than us in this forum who is full of drive and energy to share with us your perspectives and views. Maybe you can share with us about the living environment in the Pelangi area. Do you meet Singaporeans who have moved there decades ago, and some who have recently moved there? :D

I believe he means Taman Pelangi Indah (about 15km away from causeway), which is different from the Taman Pelangi in JB town.

arsenal
16-08-2011, 01:20 AM
That is a good news.. jobs creation for the local.. win win... If this continue, JB will become like Shenzhen.. not bad..

Hey guys, very good news! I have just checked online after my KL friend updated me on FB. Malaysia has just confirmed Foxconn investment project in Kulai!

Malaysia confirms Foxconn investment project

http://focustaiwan.tw/ShowNews/WebNews_Detail.aspx?Type=aECO&ID=201108100042

Kuala Lumpur, Aug. 10 (CNA) Taiwan's Foxconn Technology Group has received a licence to invest in Kulai, in Malaysia's Johor State, Malaysia's Ministry of International Trade and Industry confirmed Wednesday.

A ministry official told CNA the Taiwanese electronics titan said the group will produce printer cartridges, employing 1,000 engineers and technicians. It did not disclose the number of general workers that will be required to operate the plant.

The official declined to reveal the amount of capital to be injected into the investment project.

Foxconn received approval May 18 from the Kulai City council to build an industrial park, and construction is currently underway.

According to Malaysian regulations, foreign investment projects with paid-in capital of more than 2.5 million Malaysian ringgit (US$831,532) or a work force of more than 75 full-time workers are required to obtain a licence from the ministry. (By Sun Tien-mei and Lilian Wu) ENDITEM/J

Analytical Professor
16-08-2011, 02:39 AM
Where is Cathy gone?

Everytime i request Cathy to cook she is gone....

Analytical Professor
16-08-2011, 02:43 AM
This was what i was discussing long long ago.... When i was clamped down....

I believe for a place to thrive the fundamentals must be super strong

....places of higher education and an abundance of these

...jobs up the value chain

... Higher wages and purchasing power amongst others

Below is a good start

That is a good news.. jobs creation for the local.. win win... If this continue, JB will become like Shenzhen.. not bad..

lastresort
16-08-2011, 03:24 AM
I believe he means Taman Pelangi Indah (about 15km away from causeway), which is different from the Taman Pelangi in JB town.

Winners bro, I guess you are right. It is located near Setia Indah, so the "Indah" word is the cue word. My bad.

This is a very typical Malaysian way of naming developments. Like in KL, after the famous Damansara Heights, developers are naming new developments after this town. Damansara Utama, Kota Damansara, Bukit Damansara and Damansara Perdana just to name a few. They are all located miles apart in totally different areas and as what they say, home buyers get really confused sometimes.

lastresort
16-08-2011, 04:46 AM
Iskandar gets RM95bil pledges

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/8/16/business/9211084&sec=business

More investments are expected to be announced in the next few months, says Irda CEO

JOHOR BARU: Iskandar Malaysia attracted about RM95bil in committed investments from January to June 2011, according to Iskandar Regional Development Authority (Irda) chief executive officer Ismail Ibrahim.

This was more than double the cumulative RM47bil target for the five years up to 2010. From 2011 to 2015, Iskandar Malaysia is targeted to achieve RM73bil in investments.

“More good news (on investments) are coming to Iskandar but let Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak or Mentri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman do the appropriate announcements,” Ismail added.

Iskandar will be focusing on potential investors from Asean, China, India, Japan and South Korea apart from Europe and the Middle East which were the main targets during its inception.

In line with the aspirations for a high-income economy, Iskandar would focus on acquiring quality investments.

Ismail expected more Singaporeans to invest in Iskandar as the small and medium enterprises were planning to relocate their operations due to the high cost of doing business in the republic.

Among the economic clusters under the comprehensive development plan are electrical and electronics, petrochemical and oleochemical, food and agro-processing, logistic and related services, tourism, health services, educational services, financial services, ICT and creative industries.

Ismail said Irda would conduct a study on the multiplier effect of major tourism-related projects such as the Johor Premium Outlet (JPO) and Legoland Theme Park.

The JPO, to open in November, is expected to receive four million visitors in its first year while one million visitors are expected to visit Legoland which will start operations by end-2012.

Irda has spent about RM339mil in the first half of the year from RM945mil in 2011 on infrastructure projects and related activities. The projects include the construction of the New Coastal Highway linking Johor Baru city centre to Nusajaya, river cleaning jobs, roads upgrading and public housing.

Ismail said RM214mil would be disbursed in the second half of 2011, bringing total spending to RM553mil.

He dismissed allegations that Irda did not have enough money to undertake infrastructure projects in Iskandar Malaysia.

“This has been going on even when Irda was helmed by the previous two CEOs. It will not stop but I know, my conscience is clear.” he said.

Investor
16-08-2011, 06:54 AM
Iskandar gets RM95bil pledges

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/8/16/business/9211084&sec=business

More investments are expected to be announced in the next few months, says Irda CEO

JOHOR BARU: Iskandar Malaysia attracted about RM95bil in committed investments from January to June 2011, according to Iskandar Regional Development Authority (Irda) chief executive officer Ismail Ibrahim.

This was more than double the cumulative RM47bil target for the five years up to 2010. From 2011 to 2015, Iskandar Malaysia is targeted to achieve RM73bil in investments.

“More good news (on investments) are coming to Iskandar but let Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak or Mentri Besar Datuk Abdul Ghani Othman do the appropriate announcements,” Ismail added.

RM22.52 billion in just 3 months is a Crazy Bullish Surge in incoming investments to Iskandar! :)

But I think the first statement is wrong. The RM95 billion should be total cumulative investments from 2006 to June 2011, not Jan to June 2011.

Iskandar Malaysia had attracted cumulative investments totalling RM72.48 billion from 2006 to March 2011.
So they had attracted another RM22.52 billion in just a short period of 3 months from April to June this year :eek: And that was before the announcement of Temasek and Khazana's joint venture in Medini.

Iskandar's target for 2006 to 2010 = RM47 billion (average of RM9.40 billion per year)
Iskandar's target for 2011 to 2015 = RM73 billion (average of RM14.6 billion per year)

lastresort
16-08-2011, 07:56 AM
I think the first statement is wrong. The RM95 billion should be total cumulative investments from 2006 to June 2011.
Iskandar Malaysia had attracted cumulative investments totalling RM72.48 billion from 2006 to March 2011.
So they had attracted another RM22.52 billion in just a short period of 3 months from April to June this year :eek: And that was before the announcement of Temasek and Khazana's joint venture in Medini.

Iskandar's target for 2006 to 2010 = RM47 billion (average of RM9.40 billion per year)
Iskandar's target for 2011 to 2015 = RM73 billion (average of RM14.6 billion per year)

RM22.52 billion in just 3 months is a Crazy Bullish Surge in incoming investments to Iskandar! :)

haha, i also think the figure is inaccurate, but even so, i think they must be right that more positive announcements will be made soon. :rolleyes:

mallow
16-08-2011, 08:09 AM
[QUOTE=Analytical Professor;798120]This was what i was discussing long long ago.... I believe for a place to thrive the fundamentals must be super strong....places of higher education and an abundance of these...j ...

I was suitably impressed by the University of Newcastle's Medical Faculty at Nusajaya, both teachers and students. And many of the expats here are keenly awaiting Marlborough College's opening next year: in the UK it has a formidable reputation. I recall a taxi ride with a justifiably bitter driver whose daughter had done brilliantly in her A levels and so badly wanted to do medicine in Singapore but she was just not good enough and was offered some totally different course of study - such people if tenacious enough can hope to find a scholarship to pay considerably less at this university 45 minutes away. It would be S$ half a million in Australia.

Investor
16-08-2011, 08:16 AM
haha, i also think the figure is inaccurate, but even so, i think they must be right that more positive announcements will be made soon. :rolleyes:

Hi bro I didn't mean that they made up figures, just that the writer stated the period wrongly.
If I'm not wrong, RM95 Bil should be total investments committed from 2006-2011 June.
Not 2011 Jan to Jun.

lastresort
16-08-2011, 08:32 AM
Hi bro I didn't mean that they made up figures, just that the writer stated the period wrongly.
If I'm not wrong, RM95 Bil should be total investments committed from 2006-2011 June.
Not 2011 Jan to Jun.

haha, i get what you mean, I meant the figure is inaccurate in the sense that it is meant for a longer period, need to brush up my english haha! I agree it must be the mistake of the writer to state the wrong period.

Lazyjane59
16-08-2011, 09:03 AM

It is indeed another blog but not as interesting and informative as this one!
Have been reading it for a couple of weeks after deciding with family to consider the move up north :-)

Have one question which I dunno if anyone ask/answer before (and the search function here not so good so please bear with me) but how are those of you who live in Johor and come in to Singapore to work every day managing to stay in johor from immigration perspective? Do you all have mm2h or does Malaysian immigration basically turn a blind eye?

Many thanks!

HH_lover
16-08-2011, 11:20 AM
[QUOTE=HH_lover;797614]

Hi HH_lover. thanks for the insight man...however your analysis is half right. You are right to say with compounding, RM448K does grow to RM1.3 million after 30 years, however, you also need to compound your instalments per month paid to the banks. i.e. saving up the monthly instalments in savings or FD account. if you do that you realise its more than just the RM800K we are talking here..in fact it is closer to 1.3 million even at just 2.5% p.a. so no real gains from FD route. Also FD result in the money being virtually "stuck"...a big no no for me. this is really no difference from paying off the developer. the interest offset route is practically immune to interest rate movement..whether BLR goes up or down..bo tai chee..this makes the linked current account a de-facto FD that is earning at the lending rate which is definitely much higher than FD rate..cheers bro.

@Yonglip: Thank you for your explanation. I think you might be right...but somehow i have not arrived at equilibrium with this yet. Thanks bro!

Btw, have you actually tried this out? Are they willing to loan you at 0% as you have described? Like that the bank confirm tan-bo-jiak! LOL

Good for us then!

HH_lover
16-08-2011, 11:42 AM

I've updated with the sales brochure for PH together with indicative pricing. Have fun!

Btw, I'm not affiliated with any sales persons from any development. Just wanting to share with the wonderful community here, in the spirit that already exists here. Those who have read my blog know what I have purchased. Have fun!

arsenal
16-08-2011, 11:51 AM
Hi YongLip,

I just heard if one is not a Malaysian, if he wants to bank transfer money from his Singapore bank to Malaysia bank, the max transfer per day is 10K..

It that true? Have you tried transferring money from Singaproe CIMB to Malaysia CIMB as non citizen?

Rgds

[QUOTE=HH_lover;797614]

cathylmg
16-08-2011, 12:58 PM
Where is Cathy gone?

Everytime i request Cathy to cook she is gone....

Hear, hear..... u didn't read my respond to your last request meh? Anyway ds having PSLE liao....berry berry bz...fighting! :P

Sorry for not having time to catchup on posting. Will proberly resume after all is over....

yonglip
16-08-2011, 01:23 PM
Hi YongLip,

I just heard if one is not a Malaysian, if he wants to bank transfer money from his Singapore bank to Malaysia bank, the max transfer per day is 10K..

It that true? Have you tried transferring money from Singaproe CIMB to Malaysia CIMB as non citizen?

Rgds

[QUOTE=yonglip;798015]

hi bro..i dont know your 10K is RM or Sing.

There is a max daily limit of RM20K from Sing to M'sia. You can adjust this limit online also..bloody convenient.

You can however circumvent this limit by

1. trans first to own account from CIMB Sing to CIMB M'sia (MAX RM20k)
2. trans to 3rd party account (which is actually the same own account in CIMB M'sia). Also MAX RM20K

in other words, daily RM40K or around S$16K+ per day is possible. I just did it..How i know it works, cos you have visbility of your RM account in CIMB M'sia from your CIMB Singapore online banking page (by using CIMB Singapore Clicks)...instantaneous credit!....the beauty of modern technology..sweet!! do note that it will take about a week for CIMB Sing to process the link up. The online page has the details for the link up request and transfer.

The bank only earn on the exchange rate and nothing else...sweeter..

today's rate is 2.445...of course cannot compare to cash rate la...but super safe and super fast. hahaha. cheers bro.

yonglip
16-08-2011, 01:26 PM
[QUOTE=arsenal;798735]Hi YongLip,

Rgds

There is a max daily limit of RM20K from Sing to M'sia. You can adjust this limit online also..bloody convenient.

2. trans to 3rd party account (which is actually the same own account in CIMB M'sia). Also MAX RM20K

in other words, daily RM40K or around S$16K+ per day is possible. I just did it..How i know it works, cos you have visbility of your RM account in CIMB M'sia from your CIMB Singapore online banking page (by using CIMB Singapore Clicks)...instantaneous credit!....the beauty of modern technology..sweet!! do note that it will take about a week for CIMB Sing to process the link up. The online page has the details for the link up request and transfer.

today's rate is 2.445...of course cannot compare to cash rate la...but super safe and super fast. hahaha. cheers bro.

by the way may i know how bros here actually do the periodic transfer to M'sia...is there a better, safer and cheaper way?..always eager to learn..cheers.

Analytical Professor
16-08-2011, 01:28 PM
Oh yes....

I am sorry... I did not notice that it was PSLE time alredy...

Just about 5 weeks to go right?

The pressure must be eating up parents like crazy...

The interesting part is after the regimented study on war footing life is back to normal once the child is in Sec 1.

Surprisingly parents are not tense at the O's.... which should be equally important.

Any ideas why?

PS: i did read the previous one and replied.

BTW you have a wonderful hubby who does so much.... Compared to a couch potato like me who sits and surfs whole day

Hear, hear..... u didn't read my respond to your last request meh? Anyway ds having PSLE liao....berry berry bz...fighting! :P

Sorry for not having time to catchup on posting. Will proberly resume after all is over....

avalon74
16-08-2011, 01:31 PM
New water plant, what is that? Is it same as waste treatment plant? Didn't know about it, only know there is a waste treatment plant at Seletar area, that one can smell it when drive past..

I may be mistaken but remembered seeing some sign boards previously.. its still under construction & loads of FT going in/out of the place..

arsenal
16-08-2011, 01:40 PM
Can any bros here confirm if a local write me a cheque of say 200K Rm, can I deposit it into my account in Malaysia?

[QUOTE=arsenal;798735]Hi YongLip,

Rgds

Analytical Professor
16-08-2011, 01:49 PM
if a local as in malaysian local ? and then u deposit i malaysia ?

Why not?

ofcourse you can as long as you have an account

Different issue you may be flagged by the bank authorities to the IT dept... he he....

May or may not...

Can any bros here confirm if a local write me a cheque of say 200K Rm, can I deposit it into my account in Malaysia?

[QUOTE=yonglip;798791]

arsenal
16-08-2011, 02:25 PM
I really hope it is why not..

since TT money to my account in Malaysia is already so restrictive.. Hope that next time if I want to transfer money out of Malaysia, I won't have the same problem like the CLOB case..

So I can't TT say 200-300K to my bank account in Malaysia.. Can a Malaysian friend or a malaysia company TT or write me a cheque to my malaysian bank account?

Any comments from guys who did that before? I am on HSBC flexi loan scheme and I also want to put some money into my bank account in Malaysia to offset the interest..

if a local as in malaysian local ? and then u deposit i malaysia ?

Why not?

Different issue you may be flagged by the bank authorities to the IT dept... he he....

May or may not...

[QUOTE=arsenal;798807]Can any bros here confirm if a local write me a cheque of say 200K Rm, can I deposit it into my account in Malaysia?

arsenal
16-08-2011, 03:16 PM
One last basic question.. I know I can write a Singapore cheque to a malaysia company such as property developer. Can I write a cheque to my Malaysia account? If I receive a malaysia cheque, can I deposit that into my Malaysia account? The restriction is just TT or bank transfer only right? Can a Malaysian TT large sum of money to my Malaysia account?

since TT money to my account in Malaysia is already so restrictive.. Hope that next time if I want to transfer money out of Malaysia, I won't have the same problem like the CLOB case..

So I can't TT say 200-300K to my bank account in Malaysia.. Can a Malaysian friend or a malaysia company TT or write me a cheque to my malaysian bank account?

Any comments from guys who did that before? I am on HSBC flexi loan scheme and I also want to put some money into my bank account in Malaysia to offset the interest..

[QUOTE=Analytical Professor;798816]if a local as in malaysian local ? and then u deposit i malaysia ?

Why not?

May or may not...

wuqi256
16-08-2011, 03:34 PM
Can I write a cheque to my Malaysia account? If I receive a malaysia cheque, can I deposit that into my Malaysia account? The restriction is just TT or bank transfer only right? Can a Malaysian TT large sum of money to my Malaysia account?

Bro Arsenal, you can definitely have a MYR local cheque to be deposited into your account.
You can also TT money from SG straight to your account, that is not an issue though normally
they restrict it to 10k MYR a day. There are other ways to get $$$ in and out or if you really
trust a friend(not really advisable unless you really trust or its a relative that you really trust),
then TT it to him and then from him to your account.

I have accounts here for shares as well and its quite ok, i guess they relaxed a bit.

wuqi256
16-08-2011, 03:46 PM
This was what i was discussing long long ago.... When i was clamped down....

I believe for a place to thrive the fundamentals must be super strong

....places of higher education and an abundance of these

...jobs up the value chain

... Higher wages and purchasing power amongst others

Below is a good start

Don't be anymore bro, the last time we had to watch ourselves as there was people very ready to accuse us of trying to lead people astray, cheat people of their money by asking them to invest and then draw out the carpet from beneath their feet once they have got here. 2 years have passed and we are still here.

I guess things are starting to speak for themselves now. I no longer conduct tours as there are simply too many these days to entertain. I will still help but only those i find who are willing to help others as well. Meanwhile, I just concentrate on work and help out my wife in her growing business. I sort of know the winds of change arrived at the 2nd quarter of this year when more than 1 local said to me, should have bought more.

Bros, BH is ok, ND is still my choice between the 2 as its location is still ok. As i said before, something bad in the house, i can still change, something bad in the location, would be much harder to fix especially if its not something easily rectified.

Investor
16-08-2011, 03:53 PM
Hi YongLip,

Rgds

One last basic question.. I know I can write a Singapore cheque to a malaysia company such as property developer. Can I write a cheque to my Malaysia account? If I receive a malaysia cheque, can I deposit that into my Malaysia account? The restriction is just TT or bank transfer only right? Can a Malaysian TT large sum of money to my Malaysia account?

By Malaysian Law-
For bank account in Malaysia under a foreigner's name - Daily deposit limit is RM10,000. That's it!

There are many loopholes whereby you can deposit more than RM10,000/day because the limit is not set in bank's system, but it's against the law of course.
You can deposit more than RM10,000/day into your account via 'Cash deposit Machine'.
Your friend can TT more than RM10,000/day into your account.
Again, it's against Malaysian Law.

If you want to deposit more than RM10,000 over the counter and that particular officer attending to you knows about this law, she will tell you that you can't deposit more than RM10,000.
If that officer doesn't know about this law or maybe she slipped her mind at that moment, she will proceed to deposit the 'more than RM10,000' amount for you.

lastresort
16-08-2011, 04:55 PM
By Malaysian Law-
For bank account in Malaysia under a foreigner's name - Daily deposit limit is RM10,000. That's it!

There are many loopholes whereby you can deposit more than RM10,000/day because the limit is not set in bank's system, but it's against the law of course.
You can deposit more than RM10,000/day into your account via 'Cash deposit Machine'.

If you want to deposit more than RM10,000 over the counter and that particular officer attending to you knows about this law, she will tell you that you can't deposit more than RM10,000.
If that officer doesn't know about this law or maybe she slipped her mind at that moment, she will proceed to deposit the 'more than RM10,000' amount for you.

Hi Investor bro, you are almost correct, however for one point, we cannot deposit more than RM10, 000/day into our account via 'Cash deposit Machine', even if it is possible at the time we deposite, they might find out and notify us. At least that was what happened when we deposited into our StanChart account.

We have tried it 2 times and each time, a bank staff would call us to notify us we have exceeded our limit and they would send us the balance by cheque. And we had to pay some small admin or postal fee, which I cannot recall. This is even though we deposited more than 24 hours apart on a sat and sun. The machine we used have an incorrect time set, so when we deposited again the following day using another machine with a correct time set, the time recorded shows we'd deposited less than 24 hours ago.

Investor
16-08-2011, 05:05 PM
Hi Investor bro, you are almost correct, however for one point, we cannot deposit more than RM10, 000/day into our account via 'Cash deposit Machine', even if it is possible at the time we deposite, they might find out and notify us. At least that was what happened when we deposited into our StanChart account.

We have tried it 2 times and each time, a bank staff would call us to notify us we have exceeded our limit and they would send us the balance by cheque. And we had to pay some small admin or postal fee, which I cannot recall. This is even though we deposited more than 24 hours apart on a sat and sun. The machine we used have an incorrect time set, so when we deposited again the following day using another machine with a correct time set, the time recorded shows we'd deposited less than 24 hours ago.

Cathylmg mentioned before that she managed to deposit much more than RM10k via cash deposit machine, I don't know which bank and didn't hear from Cathy that the bank had rejected her deposit. I think it all depends on how 'by the book' each bank chooses to be.

crumpler_white
16-08-2011, 05:08 PM
Fellow countrymen, i am fed up with the system and uprooting my family to JB. My friends are doing the same

This is my plan:

Get a couple of higher end properties for around 200k, example near to golf course, etc. Get properties with at least 3 layers of security. Secure your place with additional CCTV cameras etc. Live there and continue working in SG. Take morning express bus to Jurong East and take MRT or park your car there beforehand so you can continue from Jurong East by car:
http://www.handalindah.com.my/latest.php

Places like Mont Calista, Horizon hills and others are just good examples. Especially Horizon Hills as its a very integrated place. A Chinese primary school, international school, shops are all there inside the secured compound.

It also has a full 18 hole golf course and my parents and siblings were amazed.
It really took us a total of 15 minutes to the place and its very nice and close to all amenities. I am taking my keys to my 2nd unit there and i must say, its really nice with a nice resort feel. The golf course and olympic sized pool helps too.

Mont Calista is great too, lots of space and very big.

hi wuqi256,

i just chanced upon this thread... i have been pondering over about shifting to JB to stay... however, without any friend in malaysia or any malaysian friend in singapore, i do not have the courage or the idea to choose to live in JB. now that i have read your thread, i shall give u more info on me so that u may assist me in whatever i need to survive JB and also come over to singapore to look for work.

Below is a brief info on me - 30 yrs old (i will email you if u need additional info):

My dad has filed for bankruptcy this year on July 2011. However, my dad (55 yrs old) is able to make a claim for me as i have medical problems and is on psychiatric medication for more than 2 years. Hence, my dad (currently working as an employee for a local small company to repay his debt of S$350 per month to bank for 10 years) is paying for my monthly room rental of S$1000 a month and S$700 monthly allowance for me to survive per month. Currently, i am unemployed for more than 2 years as my medical problem doesn't allow me to work for the time being. I do find singapore too stressful and is not conducive for me to recover from my illness due to fast pace of life and many miserable problems brought by the current ruling party. May i know what is the best solutions for me to allow me to rent a place in JB to stay while at the same time i can look for job if i decide to go back for singapore to seek work..?

lastresort
16-08-2011, 05:18 PM
As i said before, something bad in the house, i can still change, something bad in the location, would be much harder to fix especially if its not something easily rectified.

Bro Wuqi, I guess that's why I'm in love with HH and ND too because I tend to look at the outside environment more than the interior quality. I also quite like Nusa Idaman, and Taman Laguna (both are reasonably priced). A few others that have caught my attention are Adda Heights (nice environment), Austin Heights (good location and quality, new phrase coming up) and Seri Austin (for it's value).

Senibong Cove phase 2 is another development which has caught my attention, phase 1 is along the smelly river which I cannot stand. As with any development, there are pros and cons. But overall, I think the new phrase 2 facing the straits would be awesome.

crumpler_white
16-08-2011, 05:20 PM
Testing...

lastresort
16-08-2011, 05:21 PM
Cathylmg mentioned before that she managed to deposit much more than RM10k via cash deposit machine, I don't know which bank and didn't hear from Cathy that the bank had rejected her deposit. I think it all depends on how 'by the book' each bank choose to be.

Haha, then it might be different for different banks, or whether one is lucky or not!

crumpler_white
16-08-2011, 05:23 PM
May i know why my 1st post has not been posted...?

Later, i put " Testing ... " and it still haven't been shown on the post...

Anyway, bro wuqi please reply soon once u see my 1st post...

contra
16-08-2011, 05:27 PM
I am using moneyworld currently.. their rate is definitely not that good, but ..

Hi arsenal & Investor,

Tried them, love them. I trusted them with >rm$10k and they got it thru, even if it was not same day, even if they had to split it over couple of days.

Not cheapest (2.449 with $10 commission on the same day Raffles was offering 2.46 nil comm) but appears to me, to be a professional outfit. My perception only or not, I could sleep soundly at night.

Just avoid to do during Malaysia public holiday periods in case money gets stuck in the Malaysia banking system during the public holidays period can be anxiety-causing, and there are some coming up with Hari Raya end Aug.

contra
16-08-2011, 05:39 PM
Bro Wuqi, I guess that's why I'm in love with HH and ND too because I tend to look at the outside environment more than the interior quality. .

Hi lastresort,

word in the street is the developments' bosses are studying this thread . who worth their serious marketing efforts, wouldn't?

thus I will say here for their benefit that I am anxious about the interiors quality and maintenance of HH from recent comments by contributors like bigfatfish & horizonhills & the facebook page. I hope the HH bosses will sit up and see how others are upping their ante and HH need to do same.

lastresort
16-08-2011, 06:07 PM
Hi lastresort,

word in the street is the developments' bosses are studying this thread . who worth their serious marketing efforts, wouldn't?

thus I will say here for their benefit that I am anxious about the interiors quality and maintenance of HH from recent comments by contributors like bigfatfish & horizonhills & the facebook page. I hope the HH bosses will sit up and see how others are upping their ante and HH need to do same.

I have to agree, though I like HH environment but I am disappointed with HH maintenance and the security level seems to be dropping. They don't clean up or sweep certain parts of the gateway precinct, esp those areas where people don't normally see. I notice many corners full of litters. They don't trim the grass evenly, and the landscape is not well maintained. They used to disallow renovation works on late Sunday, but now they just let those people in. Some guards are also seen sleeping under the checkpoint umbrellas. Patrols on bikes are less frequent these days.

Also we have been complaining week after week to get the defects rectified. Warranty is ending this month, but they are not following up on anything.

yonglip
16-08-2011, 10:33 PM

hi bros...i am not aware of this ruling but i think it really depends on the purpose of the transfer. On the transfer page, there is one section whereby you need to fill up the reason for the transfer and "real estate" was one of them. I always click this. The banks will do their reporting to BanK negara periodically on such transfers I suppose and if they deem your reason as legit, i think its ok...they cannot expect people to buy their real estate with RM10K per day transfers?...hahaha...then again this is M'sia...anything can happen..:D

any bros have the link to this ruling on Bank negara page?..

yonglip
17-08-2011, 12:55 AM
[QUOTE=wuqi256;798906 Bros, BH is ok, ND is still my choice between the 2 as its location is still ok. As i said before, something bad in the house, i can still change, something bad in the location, would be much harder to fix especially if its not something easily rectified.[/QUOTE]

this was my concern also when i look at both BH and ND. BH is nearer to both highway and wires although the 2 developments are actually next to one another. So i make sure i brought along my 'EMF detector'...hahaha...wife la.. to the actual unit site to make sure both EMF and noise ok b4 inking the deal. we were able to do that cos the actual unit already 40-50% done. BH won in the end becos of better psf/internal.

cheers all.

arsenal
17-08-2011, 01:08 AM
So if I want to open a Fixed Deposit account in Malaysia with 200-300K as an example, how can I do it?
It seemed that even if some local write me a cheque greater than 10-20K, and it is also not possible...

By Malaysian Law-

arsenal
17-08-2011, 01:19 AM
hi bros...i am not aware of this ruling but i think it really depends on the purpose of the transfer. On the transfer page, there is one section whereby you need to fill up the reason for the transfer and "real estate" was one of them. I always click this. The banks will do their reporting to BanK negara periodically on such transfers I suppose and if they deem your reason as legit, i think its ok...they cannot expect people to buy their real estate with RM10K per day transfers?...hahaha...then again this is M'sia...anything can happen..:D

any bros have the link to this ruling on Bank negara page?..

Hi Yonglip, have you tried that yet?

yonglip
17-08-2011, 01:56 AM
Hi Yonglip, have you tried that yet?

eh bro..must read my earlier post la...haha..as mentioned earlier, i have done it since aug 9th with transfers of RM20K each time...then from that m'sia account, i wrote RM cheques to pay for my 10% down...so far so good leh..banks also never come back to me..their rules are always opened to interpretation..some say transfer between own or family account not subjected to the limit...i oso don know..just wait for bank to say cannot lor.

jasonjst
17-08-2011, 02:16 AM
this was my concern also when i look at both BH and ND. BH is nearer to both highway and wires although the 2 developments are actually next to one another. So i make sure i brought along my 'EMF detector'...hahaha...wife la.. to the actual unit site to make sure both EMF and noise ok b4 inking the deal. we were able to do that cos the actual unit already 40-50% done. BH won in the end becos of better psf/internal.

cheers all.

BH ok lah (except the noise fr HY and lower ground ) . Surrounding might be better that ND because houses mostly higher range one lah , cheapest is 560K custers next will be bigger custers like 750K and semi D above 1m so you get different kind of people staying there lor .

yonglip
17-08-2011, 02:27 AM
hi ALL. i decide to use my JB house as a 'rehab' place for myself and family during weekends...hahaha.

there will be no TV / computer / internet / handhelds / wiis in the new place...will replace it with books/radio/board games/bicycles/religion...to stimulate the other sensory part of the brain...for both my kids and myself...

in sing i discovered that whenever i am at home, it is natural for me to gravitate towards the tv and internet...so much so that when my son come up to me and say "papa..care to play with me?"...my reply is "son, play yourself, papa busy!" actually busy watching youtube..hahaha. same for my kids, ask them sit down eat, they will say after tv or internet games or worse bring their food and sit down in front of the tv....minimal family interaction! i reckon this is not very healthy.

at least 2 days a week in the new place will allow me to focus on my wife and kids total development...i hope can survive this cold turkey!..hehehe. when told wife about this...she say "brilliant plan!!...now can save money on the tv wall/console liao." hahaha.

for weekenders who have done something similar, can always PM me to share experiences man...cheers.

HH_lover
17-08-2011, 02:31 AM
Cathylmg mentioned before that she managed to deposit much more than RM10k via cash deposit machine, I don't know which bank and didn't hear from Cathy that the bank had rejected her deposit. I think it all depends on how 'by the book' each bank chooses to be.

From what I understand, you can deposit unlimited in your home branch (the branch where you opened your account) and a maximum of 10K at cash deposit machines in other branches (non-home). This is true for Maybank, I cannot confirm for other banks.

Cathy, did you deposit at your home branch in the case stated above? :)

cathylmg
17-08-2011, 04:06 AM
O
h yes....

Professor, you can say that again. Having a son whos only interest is on computer and nothing else really gives me a headache. He is good at programming, he can download nintendo games to play on his 'computer'. He even hack my password to my computer with some kind of programme. Wants to be a hacker, or a game designer. Been pestering me to send him for diploma in game design course and wanting to quit main stream education totally. I must do my best to make him study at least until poly.:o

PS: do you see why I refuse to apply for internet connection for my house jb? Once the flood gate is open, he will go load up all the funny funny programmes from the internet and neglect his school work again...

The interesting part is after the regimented study on war footing life is back to normal once the child is in Sec 1.

Surprisingly parents are not tense at the O's.... which should be equally important.

Any ideas why?

Err...... I haven't got to this stage of my life yet so can only tell you when the time comes..... :o

BTW you have a wonderful hubby who does so much.... Compared to a couch potato like me who sits and surfs whole day

Bo bian lah, no money mah! :P

Btw, the McDonald in ST is 24hrs and have free wifi, my son was interested to go there nowadays! With

cathylmg
17-08-2011, 04:07 AM
O
h yes....

Professor, you can say that again. Having a son whos only interest is on computer and nothing else really gives me a headache. He is good at programming, he can download nintendo games to play on his 'computer'. He even hack my password to my computer with some kind of programme. Wants to be a hacker, or a game designer. Been pestering me to send him for diploma in game design course and wanting to quit main stream education totally. I must do my best to make him study at least until poly.:o

PS: do you see why I refuse to apply for internet connection for my house jb? Once the flood gate is open, he will go load up all the funny funny programmes from the internet and neglect his school work again...

Any ideas why?

Err...... I haven't got to this stage of my life yet so can only tell you when the time comes..... :o

Bo bian lah, no money mah! :P

Btw, the McDonald in ST is 24hrs and have free wifi, my son was interested to go there nowadays! With my notebook of course! ;)

cathylmg
17-08-2011, 04:22 AM
Don't be anymore bro, the last time we had to watch ourselves as there was people very ready to accuse us of trying to lead people astray, cheat people of their money by asking them to invest and then draw out the carpet from beneath their feet once they have got here. 2 years have passed and we are still here.

I guess things are starting to speak for themselves now. I no longer conduct tours as there are simply too many these days to entertain. I will still help but only those i find who are willing to help others as well. Meanwhile, I just concentrate on work and help out my wife in her growing business. I sort of know the winds of change arrived at the 2nd quarter of this year when more than 1 local said to me, should have bought more.

Wuqi, and indeed we saw the flow and took the plunge when everybody wasn't looking this way yet. We were and will be the pioneers in years to come. For now, its time to sit back and relax while waiting for our investment do the work for us. Give yourself a pat on your shoulder. The one who laugh last laugh the loudest! :D

........something bad in the house, i can still change, something bad inthe location, would be much harder to fix especially if its not something easily rectified.

Wuqi, agree with you totally on this. Location is the most of important part to consider in an investment. The interior part you can rectify it according to your budget.

cathylmg
17-08-2011, 04:27 AM

Its Maybank. Deposited more then rm100k. But I didn't know the 10k rule at that time. The machine could only take 99 notes at a time, so can imagine how stress it was while a long queue behind you waited patiently for you to finish?

I swear that I won't do it again!

cathylmg
17-08-2011, 05:03 AM
Aiya..... This ipad giving me headache....

Cant bold .... Cant hi light.....

Nothing beats using desk top....

My statistics post.... I spent o much time but failed to edit it....

So give up...

I tested it in Sim Lim Square some time ago. Although it the talk of the town now, everybody seems to be getting or thinking of getting it. Its just not my cuppa. Somemore speed is agonisingly slow. 1.2GB at best. Fainted!

Investor
17-08-2011, 05:53 AM
Its Maybank. Deposited more then rm100k. But I didn't know the 10k rule at that time. The machine could only take 99 notes at a time, so can imagine how stress it was while a long queue behind you waited patiently for you to finish?

I swear that I won't do it again!

If there's a 'next time', go to the counter. If they suggest that you can deposit it by yourself at the Cash Deposit Machine, insist that your amount is too large and you want to deposit over the counter(easier and no stress).

crumpler_white
17-08-2011, 07:52 AM
hi bro wuqi, if assuming i move to JB, will i help my parent save a bit of money too..?

crumpler_white
17-08-2011, 07:56 AM
bro wuqi, could u clear your PM as i couldn't send...

TinkerMan
17-08-2011, 11:24 AM
Hi everybody,

I would very much appreciate if you could tell me more about Mont Callista. Loction , Price, rental returns etc.

Once again thank you very much for your valuable advice

17-08-2011, 02:07 PM
hi bro..nice to be here man. Nusa Duta is great! i would definitely have bought the Type A (32 x 70, 2592 sqft) if it was not sold out.current launches are around RM740K (beyond budget) and size is bigger. Quality wise, BH is better in terms of internal finishes...timbre..wrought iron railing for staircase and main gate, flushed drainage at land area...and so forth....but ND is further away from highway/wires...like i said no one development is perfect..cheers bro.

The wrought iron railing and main gate are unique to BH, among the JB developments I visited, only this project has this special touch (comparing cluster and terrace or even semi d). However, the windows of the BH show house are flimsy, you can shake it, compared to the windows of the ND show house are sturdy.

17-08-2011, 02:18 PM

cheers all.

Although next to each other, the BH site is next to highway and wire while ND site is next to BH, so there is a significant difference in distance from highway and wire, especially for the ND cluster houses, which is sited at the farthest end of the ND site away from BH site.

Another significant difference is the house orientation, ND is north-south orientation while BH is east-west orientation, most people prefer houses to be north-south orientation for wind and fengshui reason.

matx3315
17-08-2011, 03:16 PM
It is a misconception North South Orientation is good fengshui for everyone. This depend on owner's Life. Some has to stay in East West Orientation houses.

Although next to each other, the BH site is next to highway and wire while ND site is next to BH, so there is a significant difference in distance from highway and wire, especially for the ND cluster houses, which is sited at the farthest end of the ND site away from BH site.

Another significant difference is the house orientation, ND is north-south orientation while BH is east-west orientation, most people prefer houses to be north-south orientation for wind and fengshui reason.

mallow
17-08-2011, 04:42 PM
hi ALL. i decide to use my JB house as a 'rehab' place for myself and family during weekends...hahaha....there will be no TV / computer / internet / handhelds / wiis in the new place...will replace it with books/radio/board games/bicycles/religion...to stimulate the other sensory part of the brain...for both my kids and myself...
in sing i discovered that whenever i am at home, it is natural for me to gravitate towards the tv and internet...so much so that when my son come up to me and say "papa..care to play with me?"...my reply is "son, play yourself, papa busy!" actually busy watching youtube..hahaha. same for my kids, ask them sit down eat, they will say after tv or internet games or worse bring their food and sit down in front of the tv....minimal family interaction! i reckon this is not very healthy...at least 2 days a week in the new place will allow me to focus on my wife and kids total development...i hope can survive this cold turkey!..hehehe. when told wife about this...she say "brilliant plan!!...

Are your children very young? If so DO ALL THIS RIGHT AWAY! Ask Cathy how it is when the kids are asked to go without their computer fix for more than a few hours.
Good luck!! on your very good thinking and planning. Outdoor activities also work off their accumulated energy from having to sit in class all day 5 days a week.
Johor has a lot to offer, and it's at your doorstep, mostly free too.... erm... plugging here for some growing of plants that produce veg and fruit - some kids find that interesting.

mallow
17-08-2011, 04:47 PM
Dali & Van Gogh exhibitions
Went to these at S$10 per today and if you are into Dali, this is amazing and brilliant. The Van Gogh exhibition was special - huge slides set to music and other special effects in vast spaces.
Worth the special trip into Spore and since it was a Wednesday afternoon, there were few people, so you could take your time and see it over a few times. Brain, eye and soul food.

yonglip
18-08-2011, 12:58 AM
It is a misconception North South Orientation is good fengshui for everyone. This depend on owner's Life. Some has to stay in East West Orientation houses.

I think enough of distance from highway/wires discussion. as with any house finding, it would be best to actually visit the site and see whether those things impact you. Indeed, once there, you will realise wires/highway is really no big deal for both BH/ND. for me the location of these 2 developments within what i consider to be the golden belt of nusujaya is the key.

BH is not east-west oriented....it is SW/NE...

BTW, I din mention i have very good fengshui knowledge too..hehehe..actually Max is right..Sit North face south is for amateur fengshui practioners..in period 8, houses facing SW and NE are considered better FS houses compared to N-S orientation..In N-S houses, mountain star 8 and water star 8 are both located together at the back or front...a very difficult combination to 'fix' from a fengshui perspective. in layman's term, such houses can either be rich but poor health or healthy but poor...cannot have both..this is in fact another reason i chose BH...but i dont want to mention in my early post as i don want to bring "mumbo jumbo" into a forum that is talking about living in JB..but since u guys mentioned, i tot i give my 2 cents worth...cheers bro.

arsenal
18-08-2011, 01:33 AM
Hi YongLip,
for fengshui how you determine the direction? Must you stand in the central spot of the house and point the compass at the main door or at the main gate?
rgds

I think enough of distance from highway/wires discussion. as with any house finding, it would be best to actually visit the site and see whether those things impact you. Indeed, once there, you will realise wires/highway is really no big deal for both BH/ND. for me the location of these 2 developments within what i consider to be the golden belt of nusujaya is the key.

BTW, I din mention i have very good fengshui knowledge too..hehehe..actually Max is right..Sit North face south is for amateur fengshui practioners..in period 8, houses facing SW and NE are considered better FS houses compared to N-S orientation..In N-S houses, mountain star 8 and water star 8 are both located together at the back or front...a very difficult combination to 'fix' from a fengshui perspective. in layman's term, such houses can either be rich but poor health or healthy but poor...cannot have both..this is in fact another reason i chose BH...but i dont want to mention in my early post as i don want to bring "mumbo jumbo" into a forum that is talking about living in JB..but since u guys mentioned, i tot i give my 2 cents worth...cheers bro.

yonglip
18-08-2011, 02:06 AM
Hi YongLip,
for fengshui how you determine the direction? Must you stand in the central spot of the house and point the compass at the main door or at the main gate?
rgds

depends on school..some tell you main door, some tell u centre...my school tells me main door....but also got other consideration. but again bros...this forum not right platform for this la..mayb we stick to non FS question on JB living...cheers.

yonglip
18-08-2011, 03:03 AM
Are your children very young? If so DO ALL THIS RIGHT AWAY! Ask Cathy how it is when the kids are asked to go without their computer fix for more than a few hours.
Good luck!! on your very good thinking and planning. Outdoor activities also work off their accumulated energy from having to sit in class all day 5 days a week.
Johor has a lot to offer, and it's at your doorstep, mostly free too.... erm... plugging here for some growing of plants that produce veg and fruit - some kids find that interesting.

thanks for the thumbs up,,...my kids are young..oldest onli primary 1 nia..

yonglip
18-08-2011, 03:06 AM
The wrought iron railing and main gate are unique to BH, among the JB developments I visited, only this project has this special touch (comparing cluster and terrace or even semi d). However, the windows of the BH show house are flimsy, you can shake it, compared to the windows of the ND show house are sturdy.

thanks for the info bro..din know about the windows 'shakiness'..hahaha. will keep a look out. what i did notice tho are probably alarm sensors that were installed on the windows...i may be wrong.

yonglip
18-08-2011, 03:31 AM
[QUOTE=yonglip;798015]

@Yonglip: Thank you for your explanation. I think you might be right...but somehow i have not arrived at equilibrium with this yet. Thanks bro!

Btw, have you actually tried this out? Are they willing to loan you at 0% as you have described? Like that the bank confirm tan-bo-jiak! LOL

Good for us then!

sorry bro..miss this post earlier..banks will not tan bo jiak due to 2 basic assumptions...

1. not everyone has so much idle cash to achieve 100% offset...To m'sians especially, we are talking close to half a million RM cash...for us its more palatable cos we are talking about just around 200K Sing...so they will earn from partial offsets.

2. Also even tho it is 100% offset, they know people will draw down if they need cash...so it becomes partial offset again.

Confirm 100% offset can...check and double check...many banks in M'sia offer this...of course there is no stopping them in the future to reduce the offset ratio...from present 100% to less than that..maybe 70%....This is what happened in Sing..cheers.

geritan
18-08-2011, 07:15 AM

I just deposited RM47k into my current a/c over counter at Public Bank. No question asked.

arsenal
18-08-2011, 07:32 AM
I just deposited RM47k into my current a/c over counter at Public Bank. No question asked.

Are you depositing cash or cheque (singapore or malaysia cheque?) Are you non malaysian?

geritan
18-08-2011, 07:37 AM

How about numbers? Can advise? tks.

geritan
18-08-2011, 07:41 AM
Are you depositing cash or cheque (singapore or malaysia cheque?) Are you non malaysian?
Deposited cash. I'm non-malaysian.

HH_lover
18-08-2011, 08:04 AM
Deposited cash. I'm non-malaysian.

Is it the home branch or other branch? :)

yonglip
18-08-2011, 08:29 AM
How about numbers? Can advise? tks.

House numbers?..

numbers don really influence the flow of Qi in a place. orientation of a house does...

for numbers...its more of a pyschological thing.

i don want to sound rude bros...but appreciate if bros don ask me FS related things again,...thanks a million..will not entertain any more FS related question.

18-08-2011, 09:44 AM
thanks for the info bro..din know about the windows 'shakiness'..hahaha. will keep a look out. what i did notice tho are probably alarm sensors that were installed on the windows...i may be wrong.

Haha, just sharing my observation like you did, think i got mentioned about the windows many many pages ago...yeah you can keep a lookout and try shaking it and can tell the difference in sturdiness, don't worry, no alarm sounded when i tried it leh...

18-08-2011, 09:50 AM

Huh i saw the site plan, thought BH is almost direct east west orientation? May be slanted abit but almost direct east-west? North-south no good fengshui? But you mentioned in earlier posting you would have bought ND Type A clusters if not sold out and ND cluster is direct north-south.

18-08-2011, 09:59 AM

That's why only most people prefer North south orientation, not all people prefer. There'll be people who go for East-west orientation for personal preference, just less lor. I don't claim to be expert in fengshui, just sharing observation that most people prefer north south orientation for wind and fengshui (forgot to mention sun factor also plays a part). That's why developers always price the north-south orientation houses at a premium and if a project has units of all facing, most of the time the north-south orientation houses are more popular and sold off earlier than the other facing.

yonglip
18-08-2011, 11:25 AM
Huh i saw the site plan, thought BH is almost direct east west orientation? May be slanted abit but almost direct east-west? North-south no good fengshui? But you mentioned in earlier posting you would have bought ND Type A clusters if not sold out and ND cluster is direct north-south.

yes. you are right bro..cos i know how to deal with it...its difficult...not impossible bro. every FS problem has a solution..its just how extensive the problem is and how elaborate the 'fix' you want...i think i said enough about FS..the last thing i want to see is this forum becoming another FS forum. cheers.

yonglip
18-08-2011, 11:31 AM
Haha, just sharing my observation like you did, think i got mentioned about the windows many many pages ago...yeah you can keep a lookout and try shaking it and can tell the difference in sturdiness, don't worry, no alarm sounded when i tried it leh...

hi bro. thanks for your keen eye..i would have to agree that whatever location/house you are currently staying in Jb is definitely far superior to my humble place at BH. cheers.

geritan
18-08-2011, 02:16 PM
Is it the home branch or other branch? :)

At home branch.

Inception
18-08-2011, 10:54 PM
Feng Shui Tips for Home Buyers
How to determine your auspicious direction is on page 8
http://www.prosperwithfengshui.com/txt/0310_Feng%20Shui%20Tips%20For%20Home%20Buyers.pdf

yonglip
19-08-2011, 12:27 AM
http://www.prosperwithfengshui.com/txt/0310_Feng%20Shui%20Tips%20For%20Home%20Buyers.pdf

nice checklist. Suffice tips for most home buyers.

abugumgum
19-08-2011, 09:21 AM
we just explored PapaRich at

PappaRich Skudai
No. 26, 26A & 26B Jln Sutera Tanjung 8/4, Taman Sutera Utama 81300 Skudai, Johor

Map : http://maps.google.com/maps?q=PappaRich+Skudai&hl=en&ll=1.51688,103.671627&spn=0.039297,0.066047&sll=1.467373,103.763638&sspn=0.08237,0.169086&z=15&vpsrc=6

Co-Ordinates:
1.51792, 103.66768

They have vegetarian as well. Check this menu out:
http://www.papparich.com.my/vegetarian.html

We had:
Coffee ---- good
Red bean + Cendol (Iced) --- she likes this, me too.
Pappa Nasi Lemak ---- i really like this.

19-08-2011, 09:31 AM
hi bro. thanks for your keen eye..i would have to agree that whatever location/house you are currently staying in Jb is definitely far superior to my humble place at BH. cheers.

Oh you don't know I am ND buyer, think I got mentioned several times before. I did not say anything about being far superior than BH, but since you mentioned it, yes I think between ND and BH, ND is much better in terms of location and orientation.

yonglip
19-08-2011, 11:18 AM
Oh you don't know I am ND buyer, think I got mentioned several times before. I did not say anything about being far superior than BH, but since you mentioned it, yes I think between ND and BH, ND is much better in terms of location and orientation.

hi bro. now i know why u feel so strongly about N-S direction...if u think yours is superior, then i agree its superior also la..

i think you also agree that we have better things in life to do then just to argue over who is superior/larger/better/stronger/right/wrong etc...

maybe a parable can illustrate this better...

there was once 2 students arguing over something in class...

The first student insisted he is right and said "I am correct! you are wrong!"
The 2nd student retorted and said "No! you are wrong, i am right!"
They turned to their teacher and asked him to be the judge on who is actually correct.
The teacher turned to the first student and said "you are right!"..
He later turned to the 2nd student and said "you are also right!"
Both students left the class happily....
Another staff who happened to witness everything asked the teacher "why u say both the students are right when in fact both were wrong?!"
To that, the teacher replied "you are also right!".

cheers bro.

mallow
19-08-2011, 02:48 PM

Thank you! Fun!

19-08-2011, 02:52 PM
hi bro. now i know why u feel so strongly about N-S direction...if u think yours is superior, then i agree its superior also la..

i think you also agree that we have better things in life to do then just to argue over who is superior/larger/better/stronger/right/wrong etc...

Aiyah, you can comment on other developments' negatives but when I commented on BH negatives, you accused me of saying my unit is far superior than BH....so i agreed with you that my unit is much better lor and now you said i'm aguing on who is superior/larger/stronger etc?! Ok lor, only you can comment, when other people make comments means "arguing" and "feel so strongly"....

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 12:51 AM
Hi mallow sent u pm...

But no reply

Thank you! Fun!

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 12:54 AM
Dude r u able to video stream either on P1 or Digi?

PappaRich Skudai
No. 26, 26A & 26B Jln Sutera Tanjung 8/4, Taman Sutera Utama 81300 Skudai, Johor

Map : http://maps.google.com/maps?q=PappaRich+Skudai&hl=en&ll=1.51688,103.671627&spn=0.039297,0.066047&sll=1.467373,103.763638&sspn=0.08237,0.169086&z=15&vpsrc=6

Co-Ordinates:
1.51792, 103.66768

We had:
Coffee ---- good

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 12:57 AM
Video streaming on maxis worked like a charm even when tethered.

The flip side pay per use.

But still if u want bandwith n speed i think maxis is cool....

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 12:58 AM
Having said that Maxis worked well. I must also add that yesterday i subscribed to their two day pass.

Could hardly surf after that....

I think their service was down.

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 01:00 AM
There is a guy at TESCO bukit indah who approaches spore cars with sob story, claims to be singaporean n asks for mone.

Anyone had the same encounter!

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 01:01 AM
Exchange rate 246.2

Good enuf for me

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 01:25 AM
Depends how u view it.

Five years ago my friend bought a unit at Setia Tropika for 200k.

Today unit Selling approx 500k

So to each his own.

Talking about features its still Setia tropika...

i am sure same applies for HH and other plush developments

yes. it was tempting then without the RM500K requirement. however development then was not so booming with no tesco/jusco/giant and of course the big iskandar picture then. now you can really feel the m'sians are serious this time. in fact i dont mind paying today's prices as you get better features compared to years ago...also my retirement will be another 15-20 years away..so really no hurry then..slowly see how things pan out...seems like it is developing quite well..these are some reasons..

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 03:59 AM
Second raddish harvest today.

One raddish per plant.

Raddish leaves n the raddish itself are both healthy

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 04:01 AM
The red hibiscus looks really innocent amd pretty. Finally succeded in getting a red hibiscus to grow n flower. Hope it continues to thrive.

abugumgum
20-08-2011, 04:29 AM
No.

Similar experiences only in Sgp, while stopping at traffic lights, and once by a man on a bicycle that rode alongside our car and knock on the window. Gave us a fright as it was totally unexpected.

There is a guy at TESCO bukit indah who approaches spore cars with sob story, claims to be singaporean n asks for mone.

abugumgum
20-08-2011, 04:34 AM
I subscribed to P1 2mbps plan.
Video streaming works fine.

As for Digi, my quota is only 3GB for whole month, so I did not try to stream or download video files.

Previously I was using Maxis on postpaid, the video streaming works well too. But it is more expensive than P1 on quota basis, so I switched over.

Btw, if you are considering P1, they have recently lowered the foreigner deposit from Rm 300 to Rm 100.
There is the usual 7 days cooling off period for one to try out the service and speed.

Dude r u able to video stream either on P1 or Digi?

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 05:29 AM
Thanks for ur quick reply bro...

The 2mbps plan.... What speeds u usually get bro?

As for Digi, my quota is only 3GB for whole month, so I did not try to stream or download video files.

Previously I was using Maxis on postpaid, the video streaming works well too. But it is more expensive than P1 on quota basis, so I switched over.

Btw, if you are considering P1, they have recently lowered the foreigner deposit from Rm 300 to Rm 100.
There is the usual 7 days cooling off period for one to try out the service and speed.

Analytical Professor
20-08-2011, 05:30 AM
Yeah bro.... Am considering p1 postpaid

abugumgum
20-08-2011, 05:36 AM
Speed test result:
D/L 2136kbps
U/L 1279kbps

speed is decent in my area. I have read about other subscribers dissatisfaction with speed and consistency. It really depends on the signal in your area. I can download and upload fast enough.

If you sign online, you get Rm 100 rebate and free delivery. There is a promo now that you only pay Rm 79 instead of Rm 99 for the first 3 months.

Thanks for ur quick reply bro...

The 2mbps plan.... What speeds u usually get bro?

Investor
20-08-2011, 06:23 AM
Iskandar Regional Development Authority (IRDA) Ismail Ibrahim said early next month, 100 senior government officials and business leaders from Wenzhou Province, China, will visit Iskandar Malaysia to explore trade and investment opportunities.

Investor
20-08-2011, 06:25 AM
Ismail pointed out that the RM500 million KSL Resort in Johor Baru will open for business by the end of this year.

The resort will boast a 5-star hotel with 1,000 exclusive rooms and suites, a shopping mall, an expo hall, five cinemas, as well as a Tesco outlet and other retail outlets.

LeMans2011
20-08-2011, 07:22 AM

I encountered a Malay guy who said he lost eveything and could not go back to Singapore, at Jusco Bkt Indah, asked me whether he should report to police. That was 2.5 years back. *Amazingly* he lost everything but had a Singapore pink NRIC to show me. Must have pickpockected or picked up somewhere. I offered to drive him to the police station... and he started speaking incoherently before walking off.

Grago
20-08-2011, 09:04 AM
Found this when I went to the Plus website! Hope it's useful. Apparently for frequent usage, one is rewarded with discounts! http://www.plusmiles.com.my/about-plusmiles.aspx

TinkerMan
20-08-2011, 09:24 AM
Exchange rate 246.2

Good enuf for me

Hi AP

Who is offering that rate? I am oly getting 2.453 from mustafa

Grago
20-08-2011, 09:49 AM
US puts burden on the entire world – PutinAmerica's possible default has resonated far and wide. Russia's prime minister says that the current deal struck by US lawmakers will not solve the underlying issues.Vladimir Putin believes that raising the ceiling yet again only signals delay in tackling inevitable problems. “Actually, there's nothing good about it. It’s just postponed making more systematic decisions,” Putin said. The PM stressed that in doing so the US is putting pressure on the global finance system. “This colossal debt, 14 trillion or more, means that the country has been living on credit, which is really bad for one of the world’s leading economies. They live beyond their means, and put a part of their burden on the entire world’s economy,” Putin added.The way out, Putin believes, is in varying the existing currency system. “To some extent, they sponge on the world’s economy and on their monopolistic dollar position. Other reserve currencies should show up in the world, not just the dollar, and that the euro should be consolidated,” Putin said. “Asia should come up with regional reserve currencies. The ruble can become a regional reserve currency,” the PM added.Putin criticize the US on one hand BUT invests even more in the Dollar. By the way Russia had "the hat in their hand" for a US handout after the collapse of the Soviet Union to help rebuilt Russia..... Ironic isn't it.....
http://www.businessweek.com/news/2011-08-19/putin-slams-u-s-parasite-after-russia-holdings-jump-1-600-.html

arsenal
20-08-2011, 10:49 AM
Iskandar Regional Development Authority (IRDA) Ismail Ibrahim said early next month, 100 senior government officials and business leaders from Wenzhou Province, China, will visit Iskandar Malaysia to explore trade and investment opportunities.

Wenzhou folks are some of the most screwed business people in china. They are responsible to buy up the properties in various big cities of the world.. Let's see how things turn up..

Investor
20-08-2011, 11:10 AM
Wenzhou folks are some of the most screwed business people in china. They are responsible to buy up the properties in various big cities of the world.. Let's see how things turn up..

Sounds more like shrewd than screwed, hehe!

arsenal
20-08-2011, 11:24 AM
oh.. sorry... hee

Bigfatfish
20-08-2011, 01:56 PM
Hi lastresort

i heard bout this issue as welll n i'm quite bothered about this. I really hope more can be done. I see people in the advisory commitee but what is their role? Who is really gonna help i wonder. I wonder if HH is understaffed.

QUOTE=lastresort;799012]I have to agree, though I like HH environment but I am disappointed with HH maintenance and the security level seems to be dropping. They don't clean up or sweep certain parts of the gateway precinct, esp those areas where people don't normally see. I notice many corners full of litters. They don't trim the grass evenly, and the landscape is not well maintained. They used to disallow renovation works on late Sunday, but now they just let those people in. Some guards are also seen sleeping under the checkpoint umbrellas. Patrols on bikes are less frequent these days.

Also we have been complaining week after week to get the defects rectified. Warranty is ending this month, but they are not following up on anything.[/QUOTE]

Bigfatfish
20-08-2011, 02:07 PM
The red hibiscus looks really innocent amd pretty. Finally succeded in getting a red hibiscus to grow n flower. Hope it continues to thrive.

jealous, counting down to the day i can start.

Bigfatfish
20-08-2011, 02:12 PM
Same, we encountered this year. Near the circle round about. Skinny malay chap. Few mths ago. Ask me why i singaporean yet i dun noe where police station is. Owner restaurant came out n he walk away quiclky.

I encountered a Malay guy who said he lost eveything and could not go back to Singapore, at Jusco Bkt Indah, asked me whether he should report to police. That was 2.5 years back. *Amazingly* he lost everything but had a Singapore pink NRIC to show me. Must have pickpockected or picked up somewhere. I offered to drive him to the police station... and he started speaking incoherently before walking off.

Bigfatfish
20-08-2011, 02:14 PM

if we dun gathee to do something u shall see what they do to the whole area. They r super united n very powerful.

HH_lover
20-08-2011, 02:37 PM
Just to add to the conversation here.

UMobile Introduces 42mbps Network Services In Johor Bahru (http://living-in-jb.blogspot.com/2011/08/umobile-introduces-42mbps-network.html)

Good days ahead I hope for all to be connected. :)

HH_lover
20-08-2011, 02:45 PM
Sometime back, I visited quite a number of developments around JB. Most of which were mentioned here in this thread. Filled with curiosity, I embarked on my own odyssey.

For those who have not been acquainted with any JB developments, you will find some photos of EL and ST here (http://living-in-jb.blogspot.com/2011/07/getting-acquainted-with-jb-property.html).

Hope there are those who find this helpful. :)

contra
20-08-2011, 02:50 PM
Just fyi, this weekend's Edge Singapore's cover page is on Iskandar, entitled "Northern Exposure"

http://www.theedgesingapore.com/component/content/article/1119/32058-main-cov.html

"Malaysia’s massive development initiative in south Johor is about to take off, with several projects due for completion in the next two years. Why have investors from Singapore not participated in the boom? Is it too late to get in now? Issue 486 of The Edge Singapore is on sale at newstands and on Singtel's iPad2...."

In summary, an optimistic article that acknowledges the negatives but credits the authorities with the comprehensive well-thought out initiatives that they call "catalytic projects" and how they will all come together to complement Singapore instead of compete - Pinewood, Legoland, Johor Premium Outlet, The Hospitals - Columbia, Gleneagles etc. Even a top talent police chief of Malaysia has been moved to Iskandar. This article will trigger an even more serious wave of interest as is acknowledged positively by the most influential business periodical in Singapore. I enjoyed reading it this morning.

contra
20-08-2011, 02:54 PM
Same, we encountered this year. Near the circle round about. Skinny malay chap. Few mths ago. Ask me why i singaporean yet i dun noe where police station is. Owner restaurant came out n he walk away quiclky.

you guys are too kind. when a person of this description came up to my car at Jusco early this year, I just waved my hand to indicate not interested... safety first.

LeMans2011
20-08-2011, 04:13 PM
you guys are too kind. when a person of this description came up to my car at Jusco early this year, I just waved my hand to indicate not interested... safety first.

That was 3 years back... now i wouldn't even let a stranger get within 5 meters lol

20-08-2011, 05:22 PM

One raddish per plant.

Your radish is green or white? Second harvest in how many months?

Analytical Professor
21-08-2011, 03:55 AM
Really pretty dude...nice...

jealous, counting down to the day i can start.

Analytical Professor
21-08-2011, 04:02 AM
White...

The white long one....

The raddish leaves have health benefits..

Think about 7 weeks

My mum dun wanna wait.... Scared it may rot with rains or the leaves dry under the blazing sun.

So she pulled it out in 4.5 weeks

If had waited longer would have been even nicer n longer..

Your radish is green or white? Second harvest in how many months?

Analytical Professor
21-08-2011, 04:03 AM
We gotta be extremely cautious at all times.

Analytical Professor
21-08-2011, 04:05 AM
Yeah man really need the higher d/l speeds.

Its frustrating wen the speed is real slow

Just to add to the conversation here.

UMobile Introduces 42mbps Network Services In Johor Bahru (http://living-in-jb.blogspot.com/2011/08/umobile-introduces-42mbps-network.html)

Good days ahead I hope for all to be connected. :)

Analytical Professor
21-08-2011, 04:13 AM
Thats cool... U pay for 2mbps n u get 2mbps. Thts real good..

Just a question. U can hook up to singtel n other spore providers rite. So you actually dun need p1??

Yeah i read about the frustrations of other users too

Speed test result:
D/L 2136kbps
U/L 1279kbps

speed is decent in my area. I have read about other subscribers dissatisfaction with speed and consistency. It really depends on the signal in your area. I can download and upload fast enough.

If you sign online, you get Rm 100 rebate and free delivery. There is a promo now that you only pay Rm 79 instead of Rm 99 for the first 3 months.

abugumgum
21-08-2011, 06:50 AM
The Singtel signal in my unit is rather unstable, swinging from 3G to GPRS to and fro, so I decided just to use P1.

Singtel signal is good when I am at Ground floor, so unless I change to another unit in the condo that has stable signal strength, I am pretty much better off with P1.

Thats cool... U pay for 2mbps n u get 2mbps. Thts real good..

Just a question. U can hook up to singtel n other spore providers rite. So you actually dun need p1??

Yeah i read about the frustrations of other users too

21-08-2011, 10:46 AM
White...

The white long one....

The raddish leaves have health benefits..

Think about 7 weeks

My mum dun wanna wait.... Scared it may rot with rains or the leaves dry under the blazing sun.

So she pulled it out in 4.5 weeks

If had waited longer would have been even nicer n longer..

Wow so fast, only need 4.5 weeks. The white radish selling at Jusco organic section are also not very big, bought once before and it is not tasty, so now I buy the non-organic ones as cheaper and bigger. The green radish are more tasty for making soup.

Ever watched a health program that said radish has high calcium. What health benefits the radish leaves have?

LeMans2011
21-08-2011, 04:19 PM
Sometime back, I visited quite a number of developments around JB. Most of which were mentioned here in this thread. Filled with curiosity, I embarked on my own odyssey.

For those who have not been acquainted with any JB developments, you will find some photos of EL and ST here (http://living-in-jb.blogspot.com/2011/07/getting-acquainted-with-jb-property.html).

Hope there are those who find this helpful. :)

Nice blog you've got and great pictures!

21-08-2011, 04:46 PM
Anyone bought a house at 8th Avenue, Bukit Indah? Developer by Setia

Sorry, too long for me to read from the start, hhahaha....

Hows the environment there? is it safe? have a friend who bought 1 house there, she got the keys already and are about to do renovations. Some contractors came to the house and give her namecards, basically for ceiling, wiring, parquet and window grils.

I wanna ask if window grills are necessary in that area? sorry for my noob questions, I'm just helping her ask, thank you.

Analytical Professor
21-08-2011, 06:26 PM
Bro you pretty good with tech eh....?

Yes its an irritation wen signal changesvfrom 3g to edge to gprs

The Singtel signal in my unit is rather unstable, swinging from 3G to GPRS to and fro, so I decided just to use P1.

Singtel signal is good when I am at Ground floor, so unless I change to another unit in the condo that has stable signal strength, I am pretty much better off with P1.

abugumgum
22-08-2011, 01:08 AM
Er, no, I am just a consumer of tech. Layman. :)

Bro you pretty good with tech eh....?

Yes its an irritation wen signal changesvfrom 3g to edge to gprs

HH_lover
22-08-2011, 01:32 AM

Thanks bro, you are only too kind.

Hope to see more updates from you as well. I'm only in transition, many of you are already across the straits. :)

LeMans2011
22-08-2011, 01:53 AM
Anyone bought a house at 8th Avenue, Bukit Indah? Developer by Setia

Sorry, too long for me to read from the start, hhahaha....

Hows the environment there? is it safe? have a friend who bought 1 house there, she got the keys already and are about to do renovations. Some contractors came to the house and give her namecards, basically for ceiling, wiring, parquet and window grils.

I wanna ask if window grills are necessary in that area? sorry for my noob questions, I'm just helping her ask, thank you.

For a moment i thought 8th avenue is 2 streets away from 6th avenue bukit timah... eh look carefully skali its Bukit Indah lol
For the peace of mind, install the grills and preferably alarm system. Ask your friend to ask around the neighbours on their experience with the contractors. One thing to note is there are territorial rules in some development. Meaning if you go look for your own contractor to install aircon, the contractor who considers that area his territory might sneak around and cut your connection.

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 03:25 AM
Mustafa pretty decent man.

Whilst in Singapore.... i usually change at Mustafa.... No point going any other place (atleast for me... since Mustafa is on the way for me)

The rate i secured was at Bukit Indah...

Hi AP

Who is offering that rate? I am oly getting 2.453 from mustafa

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 03:28 AM
No dude....

Really you are pretty good at tech.... when compared with most laymen....

Er, no, I am just a consumer of tech. Layman. :)

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 03:29 AM
Thats what i thought too bro...

For a moment i thought 8th avenue is 2 streets away from 6th avenue bukit timah... eh look carefully skali its Bukit Indah lol

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 03:30 AM
I agree with bro lemans.

It is really nice.

Nice pics.

Thanks bro, you are only too kind.

Hope to see more updates from you as well. I'm only in transition, many of you are already across the straits. :)

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 03:37 AM
Pulled this out from the net... Ever since started eating quite a bit of raddish and its leaves..

Health Benefits of Radish

Radish, the well known part of your salad, is a root crop, pungent or sweet in taste with a lot of juice. Radishes can be white, red, purple or black, long cylindrical or round in shape. They are eaten raw, cooked or pickled. The oil obtained from the seeds of radish is also used. The other parts of radish which are consumed are the leaves, the flowers, the pods and the seeds. The scientific name of radish is Raphanus Sativus which belongs to the Brassicaceae family. Radish is also known as Daiken in some parts of the world.

The benefits of radish against certain ailments and on certain body parts are listed below:

Jaundice: Radish is very good for the liver and the stomach and it is a very good detoxifier too, that is, it purifies blood. It is miraculously useful in jaundice as it helps removing bilirubin and also checks its production. It also checks destruction of red blood cells during jaundice by increasing supply of fresh oxygen in the blood. The black radish is more preferred in jaundice. The leaves of radish are also very useful in treatment of jaundice.

Piles: Radish is very rich in roughage, i.e. indigestible carbohydrates. This facilitates digestion, retains water, cures constipation (one of the main causes for piles) and thus gives relief in piles. Being a very good detoxifier, it helps heal up piles fast. Its juice also soothes the digestive and excretory system and this also relieves piles.

Urinary Disorders: Radishes are diurectic in nature, i.e. increase production of urine. Juice of radish also cures inflammation and burning feeling during urinating. It also cleans the kidneys and inhibits infections in kidneys and urinary system. Thus it helps a great deal in curing urinary disorders.

Weight Loss: Radishes are very filling, i.e. fills your stomach and satisfies your hunger easily without giving you many calories, as they are low in digestible carbohydrates, high in roughage and contain a lot of water. It is a very good dietary option for those determined to lose weight.

Cancer: Being a very good detoxifier and rich in vitamin-C, folic and anthocyanins, radish helps cure many types of cancer, particularly those of colon, kidney, intestines, stomach and oral cancer

Leucoderma: The detoxifying and anti carcinogenic properties of radish make it useful in treatment of Leucoderma. The radish seeds are used in this case. They should be powdered and soaked in vinegar or ginger juice or cows urine and then applied on the white patches. Eating radish also aids treatment of Leucoderma.

Skin Disorders: Vitamin-C, phosphorus, zinc and some members of vitamin-B complex, which are present in radish, are good for skin. The water in it helps maintaining moisture of the skin. Smashed raw radish is a very good cleanser and serves as a very efficient face pack. Due to its disinfectant properties, radish also helps cure skin disorders, such as drying up, rashes, cracks

Kidney Disorders: Being diurectic, cleanser and disinfectant, it helps cure many kidney disorders. Its diurectic properties help wash away the toxins accumulated in the kidneys. Cleansing properties clean kidneys up and lessens accumulation of toxins in the blood, thereby decreasing their concentration in the kidneys. Its disinfectant properties protect the kidneys from any infections too. Thus it is good for overall health of the kidneys.

Insect Bites: It has anti pruritic properties and can be used as an effective treatment for insect bites, stings of bees, hornets, wasps etc. Its juice also reduces pain and swelling and soothes the affected area.

Fever: It brings down the body temperature and relieves inflammation due to fever. Drink radish juice mixed with black salt. Being a good disinfectant, it also fights infections which cause fever, thereby helping cure it.

Respiratory Disorders, Bronchitis and Asthma: Radish is an anti congestive, i.e. it relieves congestion of respiratory system including nose, throat, wind-pipe and lungs, due to cold, infection, allergies and other causes. It is a good disinfectant and also rich in vitamins, which protect respiratory system from infections.

Liver & Gallbladder: Radish is especially beneficial for liver and gallbladder functions. It regulates production and flow of bile and bilirubin, acids, enzymes and removes excess bilirubin from the blood, being a good detoxifier. It also contains enzymes like myrosinase, diastase, amylase and esterase. It protects liver and gallbladder from infections and ulcers and soothes them.

Other Benefits: Apart from above benefits, radish is a good appetizer, mouth and breathe freshener, laxative, regulates metabolism, improves blood circulation, is a good treatment for headache, acidity, constipation, nausea, obesity, sore throat, whooping cough, gastric problems, gallbladder stones, dyspepsia

Ever watched a health program that said radish has high calcium. What health benefits the radish leaves have?

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 04:34 AM
True Bro.... I agree with u on tht....

My random thoughts at the moment (not an answer to ur post)

1) india had the hat in the hand for quite a few years about 20-25 years ago right? I vividly recall my US born American grago cousin, a US govt scholar vociferously criticising Indian nuclear tests (media bias n anti india stance of then US govt). Today he has to eat his words... Today the US Media is anti-china. The indian govt today gives Afghanistan a US $2 billion financial aid albeit with a strategic intent.

2) in the 70s US propped up china with aid...

Today the US has been pulling the world down with its debt burden for more than ten years now and they are still not getting it right. Obama talked about the Banglored phenomema amongst others and yet has not managed to reverse FDI into Bangalore. In fact whats happening now is huge contracts are still coming into Bangalore. indian companies due to higher costs in Bangalore are outsourcing these projects to Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippones etc..

Putin criticize the US on one hand BUT invests even more in the Dollar. By the way Russia had "the hat in their hand" for a US handout after the collapse of the Soviet Union to help rebuilt Russia..... Ironic isn't it.....
http://www.businessweek.com/news/2011-08-19/putin-slams-u-s-parasite-after-russia-holdings-jump-1-600-.html

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 04:36 AM
Bro u not online lately?

Hardly c u.

Putin criticize the US on one hand BUT invests even more in the Dollar. By the way Russia had "the hat in their hand" for a US handout after the collapse of the Soviet Union to help rebuilt Russia..... Ironic isn't it.....

Investor
22-08-2011, 04:44 AM
Just fyi, this weekend's Edge Singapore's cover page is on Iskandar, entitled "Northern Exposure"

http://www.theedgesingapore.com/component/content/article/1119/32058-main-cov.html

"Malaysia’s massive development initiative in south Johor is about to take off, with several projects due for completion in the next two years. Why have investors from Singapore not participated in the boom? Is it too late to get in now? Issue 486 of The Edge Singapore is on sale at newstands and on Singtel's iPad2...."

In summary, an optimistic article that acknowledges the negatives but credits the authorities with the comprehensive well-thought out initiatives that they call "catalytic projects" and how they will all come together to complement Singapore instead of compete - Pinewood, Legoland, Johor Premium Outlet, The Hospitals - Columbia, Gleneagles etc. Even a top talent police chief of Malaysia has been moved to Iskandar. This article will trigger an even more serious wave of interest as is acknowledged positively by the most influential business periodical in Singapore. I enjoyed reading it this morning.

Thanks for sharing, I bought a copy yesterday.

I agree with bro lemans.

It is really nice.

Nice pics.

Yup I like HH_Lover's blog for the constant update of news on Iskandar Region, the list of other Blogs showing their last updates and last but not least the nice photos.

Grago
22-08-2011, 06:04 AM
Bro u not online lately?Hardly c u.Been quite hectic for me! Manage to catch quick read here and there.....Bro HH_lover nice pics

Jogs1
22-08-2011, 07:38 AM
Good news to everyone, Coastal Highway will be ready by end of this month! Cheers to all!

cathylmg
22-08-2011, 08:27 AM

A lot of tips from this one. Thanks for posting. Also looks like a fengshui singseh prospertus to me. 2 in 1. LOL!

cathylmg
22-08-2011, 08:30 AM

PappaRich Skudai

Co-Ordinates:
1.51792, 103.66768

We had:
Coffee ---- good

Wah! Looks yummy! I wish they could come to Setia Tropika. Dripping saliva already... :P

cathylmg
22-08-2011, 08:37 AM
An auspicious direction is dictated by your gua number. Each person has a different gua number so you must chose the one that match your gua number direction. But then for my house, hubby's auspicious direction is my inauspicous direction so how? Alemak! So I kept all the fengshui books and Ahmitabha lor..... So long as hubby good can liao cause he is the one holding the purse string mah... :D

there was once 2 students arguing over something in class...

The first student insisted he is right and said "I am correct! you are wrong!"
The 2nd student retorted and said "No! you are wrong, i am right!"
They turned to their teacher and asked him to be the judge on who is actually correct.
The teacher turned to the first student and said "you are right!"..
He later turned to the 2nd student and said "you are also right!"
Both students left the class happily....
Another staff who happened to witness everything asked the teacher "why u say both the students are right when in fact both were wrong?!"
To that, the teacher replied "you are also right!".

cheers bro.

cathylmg
22-08-2011, 08:44 AM

One raddish per plant.

Professor, congratulations for the success. Wish I can go back to planting as soon as son finishes his exam. Been neglecting the gardening patch for a long time liao. Feeling very guilty.... :o

cathylmg
22-08-2011, 08:46 AM
Ismail pointed out that the RM500 million KSL Resort in Johor Baru will open for business by the end of this year.

The resort will boast a 5-star hotel with 1,000 exclusive rooms and suites, a shopping mall, an expo hall, five cinemas, as well as a Tesco outlet and other retail outlets.

May I know the exact location of KSL resort? Is it same as the KSL shopping centre?

arsenal
22-08-2011, 08:59 AM
An auspicious direction is dictated by your gua number. Each person has a different gua number so you must chose the one that match your gua number direction. But then for my house, hubby's auspicious direction is my inauspicous direction so how? Alemak! So I kept all the fengshui books and Ahmitabha lor..... So long as hubby good can liao cause he is the one holding the purse string mah... :D

There is another school that just focus on direction.. saying NE-SW is good at around 22.5 -36 degree.. this school of talk doesnt care about the gua number.. So how? who is right?

22-08-2011, 09:06 AM
Pulled this out from the net... Ever since started eating quite a bit of raddish and its leaves..

Health Benefits of Radish

Radish, the well known part of your salad, is a root crop, pungent or sweet in taste with a lot of juice. Radishes can be white, red, purple or black, long cylindrical or round in shape. They are eaten raw, cooked or pickled. The oil obtained from the seeds of radish is also used. The other parts of radish which are consumed are the leaves, the flowers, the pods and the seeds. The scientific name of radish is Raphanus Sativus which belongs to the Brassicaceae family. Radish is also known as Daiken in some parts of the world.

The benefits of radish against certain ailments and on certain body parts are listed below:

Jaundice: Radish is very good for the liver and the stomach and it is a very good detoxifier too, that is, it purifies blood. It is miraculously useful in jaundice as it helps removing bilirubin and also checks its production. It also checks destruction of red blood cells during jaundice by increasing supply of fresh oxygen in the blood. The black radish is more preferred in jaundice. The leaves of radish are also very useful in treatment of jaundice.

Oic, so radish leaves are useful in treatment of jaundice, thanks. Chinese always drink radish soup for detoxifying, so radish has so many more health benefits, must eat more!

cathylmg
22-08-2011, 09:06 AM
There is another school that just focus on direction.. saying NE-SW is good at around 22.5 -36 degree.. this school of talk doesnt care about the gua number.. So how? who is right?

The best way is to hope for the best....ahhhh.....inner peace.....ommmmmm........! :D

Investor
22-08-2011, 09:28 AM
May I know the exact location of KSL resort? Is it same as the KSL shopping centre?

Sorry Cathy, I don't know the location of this resort too, didn't google for it either.

22-08-2011, 09:42 AM
For the peace of mind, install the grills and preferably alarm system. Ask your friend to ask around the neighbours on their experience with the contractors. One thing to note is there are territorial rules in some development. Meaning if you go look for your own contractor to install aircon, the contractor who considers that area his territory might sneak around and cut your connection.
Ok, thanks for the advise Lemans :)

Forvendet
22-08-2011, 10:03 AM
Alamaking seems very rich. Wants to buy property in Bukit Timah, Bukit Indah, Johor and Bangkok.

HH_lover
22-08-2011, 10:28 AM
I agree with bro lemans.

It is really nice.

Nice pics.

Yup I like HH_Lover's blog for the constant update of news on Iskandar Region, the list of other Blogs showing their last updates and last but not least the nice photos.

Bro HH_lover nice pics

LOL....Thanks guys...the wonder of Apple Phone...so convient and image quality is decent enough. :)

btw, is Coastal tolle-free?

HH_lover
22-08-2011, 10:32 AM
I don't know if this has been shared before. But, those who are looking for good deals across the straits can check this out (http://living-in-jb.blogspot.com/2011/08/johor-sales.html).

Have fun!

Whathefish
22-08-2011, 10:40 AM
Some help needed:

I received email from lawyer to sign "xxx Bank has requested the letter of
acknowledgement to be signed by Purchaser acknowledging the
disbursement of loan pending State Consent and the risk on non
consent by the State Authority pursuant to clause 9(e)(ii) Letter
of Offer."

It has been around 5 mths since state consent application. And i was not told about the risks per se. Anyone encounters the above, and do you sign the acknowledgment?

Pls advise.

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 10:51 AM
yea la

I aso shocked after reading tht it got so many health benefits....

Shd this be commercially known if true... Confirm price skyrocket

Oic, so radish leaves are useful in treatment of jaundice, thanks. Chinese always drink radish soup for detoxifying, so radish has so many more health benefits, must eat more!

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 10:53 AM
open ready ah?

Yes will be toll free

Edl toll free only if used to enter n exit within MY

LOL....Thanks guys...the wonder of Apple Phone...so convient and image quality is decent enough. :)

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 10:59 AM
Yeah apple iphone has so many features. Uv put it to good use.. Cheers

Hardly used by many still bought for the wow factor..

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 11:08 AM
dude please elaborate what exactly it meant?

I had the lawyers calling me as well but looks different from your issue

Some help needed:

of Offer."

It has been around 5 mths since state consent application. And i was not told about the risks per se. Anyone encounters the above, and do you sign the acknowledgment?

Pls advise.

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 11:09 AM
Im for tkl as well

22-08-2011, 11:11 AM
Im for tkl as well
Haha... thanks :)

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 11:11 AM
Ok you answered my Qs.

CH Not open yet

Good news to everyone, Coastal Highway will be ready by end of this month! Cheers to all!

jasonjst
22-08-2011, 11:45 AM
Some help needed:

of Offer."

Pls advise.

You should not sign the letter to disburse payment to developer . Should push the developer to get State Consent done first , since they want the money ! In an unlikely even that state consent not given , you got to solve the problem yourself man !

jasonjst
22-08-2011, 12:18 PM
Thanks for sharing, I bought a copy yesterday.

Bro AP , since you buy a copy , can scan and post here to share ? Save us some bucks lor !
Or at least tell us what are the things they say that we missed out in this forum .

arsenal
22-08-2011, 01:06 PM
Sorry Cathy, I don't know the location of this resort too, didn't google for it either.

I took a quick glance of the brochure before and my memory tell me the resort is the Starhill Golf Country Club.. However my memory might have failed me..

Investor
22-08-2011, 02:58 PM
Bro AP , since you buy a copy , can scan and post here to share ? Save us some bucks lor !
Or at least tell us what are the things they say that we missed out in this forum .

Since when did I become AP :D

Anyway Jason, they wrote a very long story about Iskandar and Nusajaya, 4 full pages! If I use an iphone to take photos, I think I'll need to take at least 20 shots in order to cover the 4 pages. Most of the investments mentioned are already widely known, so it's nothing new. There are some insider info though:

"Syed Mohamed Syed Ismail, CEO of IIB, says some property investors who looked at Nusajaya months ago but gave it a miss have recently started returning with cheques in hand. The property property prices have gone up and they decide this time round that due diligence has been done. Instead of buying three parcels, one of them came back to buy 15 parcels of land"

Investor
22-08-2011, 03:01 PM
There is a story about how Iskandar Malaysia won over Marlborough College which was initially interested in a location in Singapore, India or Hong Kong. Bob Pick, Marlborough College's former director for international development, went to India in the early 2007 and to Hong Kong and Singapore in the summer of 2007.

"Bob Pick says one reason Marlborough College chose Iskandar Malaysia is because Khazanah Nasional agreed to work with the school. Khazanah not only provided the land for the school but also agreed to build facilities which it will lease to the school. Iskandar Malaysia also offers nearby facilities for golf, equestrianism and yachting that the new school could use".

There has been hugh interest for the school. Marlborough College will open on 27th Aug 2012. It expects its enrolment to eventually rise to 1,300 students, exceeding the 900 studying in Wiltshire now."

Investor
22-08-2011, 03:04 PM
They interviewed Keith Martin, CEO of Global Capital and Development, and writes about the story of Medini and its progress now.

MDIS will build a campus which is 5 times the size of their school in Singapore.

Pinewood Studio, where several James Bond and Harry Potter movies were filmed, will be ready in 2013 and will eventually need to employ 5,000 workers. LegoLand could need as many as 1,500 workers. In the meantime, they are preparing to build ancillary facilities such as serviced apartments, bars and restaurants to serve the hordes of artistes, film crews and film-production people that they hope will soon be working there.

Investor
22-08-2011, 03:04 PM
They interviewed Ismail Ibrahim, CEO of IRDA. Ismail's quest to win over support in Johor during the early days even saw him go down to the Kampungs to tell the villagers how they would benefit from the Iskandar Malaysia project. "We had to dismantle and change the mindset of how they saw themselves and Singapore," he says.

He emphasised that Singapore offered the best examples of things such as broadband services, energy management, public sector administration and fiscal planning. And, he kept making the point that south Johor had to benchmark itself against the best in the world, instead of against Kuala Lumpur as it had traditionally done. "For south Johor to grow, we must open up and take advantage of our geographic and strategic position," says Ismail, who hails from Johor hinself.

Ismail is a Colombo Plan scholar with a town-planning degree from Heriot-Watt University, and a master's degree in planning law from University of Newcastle.

22-08-2011, 03:56 PM
I took a quick glance of the brochure before and my memory tell me the resort is the Starhill Golf Country Club.. However my memory might have failed me..

KSL Resort is the hotel on top of KSL City shopping mall. There are few towers on top of the mall, one is the hotel, one is serviced apartment and the other residential. I visited the KSL showflat and the sales staff call the hotel as KSL resort.

jasonjst
22-08-2011, 04:16 PM
Since when did I become AP :D

Anyway Jason, they wrote a very long story about Iskandar and Nusajaya, 4 full pages! If I use an iphone to take photos, I think I'll need to take at least 20 shots in order to cover the 4 pages. Most of the investments mentioned are already widely known, so it's nothing new. There are some insider info though:

"Syed Mohamed Syed Ismail, CEO of IIB, says some property investors who looked at Nusajaya months ago but gave it a miss have recently started returning with cheques in hand. The property property prices have gone up and they decide this time round that due diligence has been done. Instead of buying three parcels, one of them came back to buy 15 parcels of land"

Thanks Bros Investor , nice lengthty write out, must be hard on you ! You really save us time and bucks this time .

lastresort
22-08-2011, 04:19 PM
KSL Resort is the hotel on top of KSL City shopping mall. There are few towers on top of the mall, one is the hotel, one is serviced apartment and the other residential. I visited the KSL showflat and the sales staff call the hotel as KSL resort.

yup yup, been there too, if you buy a condo unit with guaranteed returns, you will be allowed to stay in the hotel (KSL Resort) 7 days a year but of course they have priced it into the sale price.

Been to starhills too, it is owned by a Japanese group, my dad has played golf there.

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 04:59 PM
Ok understand the situation better now...

Mine was different

You should not sign the letter to disburse payment to developer . Should push the developer to get State Consent done first , since they want the money ! In an unlikely even that state consent not given , you got to solve the problem yourself man !

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 05:02 PM
Did not google it... But its the same.....

Investor
22-08-2011, 05:04 PM
Thanks Bros Investor , nice lengthty write out, must be hard on you ! You really save us time and bucks this time .

I only typed out maybe about 5% of what was published.
Took me about 1 hour I guess, I type really slow.

22-08-2011, 05:06 PM
yup yup, been there too, if you buy a condo unit with guaranteed returns, you will be allowed to stay in the hotel (KSL Resort) 7 days a year but of course they have priced it into the sale price.

Been to starhills too, it is owned by a Japanese group, my dad has played golf there.

That day i went to see Molek Pine III showflat and was told a Japanese group bought up almost the whole block and so no more units for sale to foreigners!

Investor
22-08-2011, 05:28 PM
That day i went to see Molek Pine III showflat and was told a Japanese group bought up almost the whole block and so no more units for sale to foreigners!

Of all the people from neighbouring countries like Sg, Indonesia, Brunei, Thailand etc, don't know why it's the Japanese who are particularly interested in properties in Iskandar. If the 100 Chinese investors from Wenzhou, who will be visiting Iskandar early next month, are also interested in Iskandar's properties... ... Boomz! (Ris Low's famous word)

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 05:42 PM
Bro Jason ... Its not me.... Its bro investor

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 05:51 PM
Such a joy wen u harvest Cathy but costs more leh

Professor, congratulations for the success. Wish I can go back to planting as soon as son finishes his exam. Been neglecting the gardening patch for a long time liao. Feeling very guilty.... :o

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 06:56 PM
Hirebme bro....

I semi retired already...

Too free...

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 06:59 PM
juz like the taiwanese lady who bought the entire block at keppel bay based on sifu advice

Analytical Professor
22-08-2011, 07:01 PM
Yea wonder why the japs of all the people...?

Of all the people from neighbouring countries like Sg, Indonesia, Brunei, Thailand etc, don't know why it's the Japanese who are particularly interested in properties in Iskandar. If the 100 Chinese investors from Wenzhou, who will be visiting Iskandar early next month, are also interested in Iskandar's properties... ... Boomz! (Ris Low's famous word)

arsenal
23-08-2011, 01:11 AM

Japan has so much earthquakes, typhoons and other naturual disasters.. Please come..and live here and make it a First Class Parli(oops)... Residence..

cathylmg
23-08-2011, 01:21 AM

Err....me thought babys have jaundice? Can adult have jaundice too?

cathylmg
23-08-2011, 01:42 AM
Such a joy wen u harvest Cathy but costs more leh

Nothing beats the joy of having your own organic harvest at the dinner table.... :D

cathylmg
23-08-2011, 01:47 AM
Japan has so much earthquakes, typhoons and other naturual disasters.. Please come..and live here and make it a First Class Parli(oops)... Residence..

Agreed. Ans with the recent disasters, I bet more then that will be going around buying up properties for a sound retirement/investments. Nobody wants to lose their life savings through disasters.

jasonjst
23-08-2011, 02:02 AM

I guess maybe japanese got same problem like Singapore lah , everything is super expensive back in Japan . Hence if they spent their hard earn money here in Iskandar , can retire much earlier . Maybe some of them are Japanese expat working in Singapore ?

Analytical Professor
23-08-2011, 02:05 AM
Adults can hv hepatitis.

Adult jaundiceisusually fatal....

Survival rates low

Err....me thought babys have jaundice? Can adult have jaundice too?

Serenity
23-08-2011, 02:10 AM
I guess maybe japanese got same problem like Singapore lah , everything is super expensive back in Japan . Hence if they spent their hard earn money here in Iskandar , can retire much earlier . Maybe some of them are Japanese expat working in Singapore ?

The answer is quite obvious, knowing that Japan is very prone to Earthquake, they have to find alternative, instead of WAR to own, they buy to own now.

cathylmg
23-08-2011, 02:20 AM
Adults can hv hepatitis.

Adult jaundiceisusually fatal....

Survival rates low

Oic. Didn't know that. Not at least in this part of the world. Thanks for the enlightenment! :)

Grago
23-08-2011, 03:04 AM
They interviewed Ismail Ibrahim, CEO of IRDA. Ismail's quest to win over support in Johor during the early days even saw him go down to the Kampungs to tell the villagers how they would benefit from the Iskandar Malaysia project. "We had to dismantle and change the mindset of how they saw themselves and Singapore," he says. He emphasised that Singapore offered the best examples of things such as broadband services, energy management, public sector administration and fiscal planning. And, he kept making the point that south Johor had to benchmark itself against the best in the world, instead of against Kuala Lumpur as it had traditionally done. "For south Johor to grow, we must open up and take advantage of our geographic and strategic position," says Ismail, who hails from Johor hinself.Ismail is a Colombo Plan scholar with a town-planning degree from Heriot-Watt University, and a master's degree in planning law from University of Newcastle.Thanks Bro Investor, nice write up and Infor.......

Grago
23-08-2011, 03:23 AM
Anyone know where Bro Wuqi has gone.......!

avalon74
23-08-2011, 02:02 PM

There was also an article in Edge last year on average price of land in Asia.
Surprising that it is cheaper in Malaysia compared to Philipines & Thailand. (Not sure how they derive the average price)
Taiwan is much cheaper than HK, SIN, Korea though

23-08-2011, 02:12 PM
2nd visits to 8th avenue Bukit indah after we got the keys, omg, hordes of contractors all wanna talk to us. We spent 2 hours talking to them one by one. Can I ask a question? Is it better to let 1 guy handle all the renovations or choose each contractor individually for each items like furniture, lighting, grills all these?

Deeply appreciated

avalon74
23-08-2011, 02:16 PM
In case anyone interested..
I came across Setia's annual report & it was stated that Setia acquired SEG site at 3RM psf, ST site at 7.5RM psf & BI site at 10 RM psf

contra
23-08-2011, 05:12 PM
The answer is quite obvious, knowing that Japan is very prone to Earthquake, they have to find alternative, instead of WAR to own, they buy to own now.

That reminds me of a roadtrip I took to Desaru few weeks back - if you go to Tanjung Pengelih (the east tip of Johor that faces Changi & Ubin), right at the end of the road, you can see a WWII battery that the British constructed. History has it that they made it thinking that the Japanese were coming by sea. We all know they came thru Iskandar by bicycle en route to Singapore. Must have realised Iskandar is a nice place and many years later, came back to buy ...

Furthermore Malaysia always had a Look East policy and Japan companies and people get many preferences in investing. And they love their golf, and the lovely friendly Malaysian girls.

cathylmg
24-08-2011, 01:13 AM
2nd visits to 8th avenue Bukit indah after we got the keys, omg, hordes of contractors all wanna talk to us. We spent 2 hours talking to them one by one. Can I ask a question? Is it better to let 1 guy handle all the renovations or choose each contractor individually for each items like furniture, lighting, grills all these?

Deeply appreciated

Personal experience, get your own from outside. Once you let one in, they will put a banner or a sticker prominently in front of your house. The rest who wants to work for you will have to pay them commission. Even your own contracters from outside. These contractors are pretty notorious, they work in a group, like gangster. Be extra careful.

Its advisible to lock your gate immediately once you get in. And tell them that you already have your own contracters. I think in Malaysia, it is very common to leave the house unattended for about a year to avoid all the troubles that these contracters can cause. Anyway, please take note of the vehicle numbers of contracters who keep pestering and complain to the RCs. Make a police report if you find them haressing you....

checkers
24-08-2011, 02:12 AM
Is the place gated and guarded? How come the contractors can come in so easily?

24-08-2011, 02:43 AM
Is the place gated and guarded? How come the contractors can come in so easily?
There are only 1 entrance and guarded by securities, I guessed they give some money to securities for Hari Raya goodies, haha.....

24-08-2011, 02:44 AM
Personal experience, get your own from outside. Once you let one in, they will put a banner or a sticker prominently in front of your house. The rest who wants to work for you will have to pay them commission. Even your own contracters from outside. These contractors are pretty notorious, they work in a group, like gangster. Be extra careful.

Its advisible to lock your gate immediately once you get in. And tell them that you already have your own contracters. I think in Malaysia, it is very common to leave the house unattended for about a year to avoid all the troubles that these contracters can cause. Anyway, please take note of the vehicle numbers of contracters who keep pestering and complain to the RCs. Make a police report if you find them haressing you....
Thanks for the advice, locking the gate is a good idea, thank you.

LeMans2011
24-08-2011, 05:27 AM

Depending on which development, getting your own contractor who is NOT one of those "resident contractors" has its fair share of problems... like the example i mentioned whereby one might just cut off your aircon connections while no one is around. Sorry i have no experience yet... but do take your time to select the right contractor... one who is responsible yet "strong" enough to handle harassment from the rest.

yonglip
24-08-2011, 06:34 AM
For bros who are worry about powerlines when buying your johor prop, you will be interested in my following contribution.

In johor one can see basically 2 types of distribution pylons. the big 400KV and above type. These normally ply across massive fields. An example are those pylons that litters across the area around setia eco gdns. The other type is the smaller 275KV type which is fairly common in many townships. The main concern from these wires is the EMF/ELF emitted from them. Basically EMF/ELF are magnetic field radiation. Research have shown that for EMF, if exposed for a prolonger period at doses greater than 0.3 MT (Microtesla), it can be harmful especially to young children. Ambient EMF or background EMF readings range from 0.01 MT to 0.05 MT.

Unlike electric field which can be shielded, EMF is quite impossible to shield. However, the good news about EMF is that it decreases exponentially over distance. Research have shown that even for the 400KV pylons, anything more than 100m, the EMF goes to below 0.2MT. in other words, those ppl who buy Setia Eco Gdns really have nothing to worry about as these bad boys are located more than 100m away from the township. For the smaller pylons, safe distance will of course be lesser than 100m. That is why the buffer space (called easement) given for these pylons ranges from 50 to 100m from the nearest house/building.

i own an eletric field meter that is able to measure both EMF/ELF. i have personally measured such fields at those townships that are close to such powerlines and that is why i am able to test out many of the research claims and write this piece. In fact, for many of these areas, EMF will only spike up when the house is located directly below the wires or less than 20m from the wires. Once beyond 50m, the EMF drops very quickly to ambient EMF.

i would therefore suggest bros purchase an EMF reader which can be helpful not only when it comes to house hunting but also within the confines of the home....

For parents with toddlers or small kids who like to press themselves against tv or stand/watch close to the TV, my advise is BETTER PULL THEM BACK!. My own kids have these problems. I measured the EMF from my 32 LCD tv, it spiked at 0.9MT!!. For my 32 LED TV, it only spiked at 0.3MT. So it is indeed true that LED emit lesser radiation compared to LCD. The biggest EMF emitter in the house is the micowave oven. The readings will shoot through the roof!! - More than 10MT!! - when i place my meter in front of the microwave while it is in operation. lucky i only heat up things once a while...hahhaa.

i hope bros will find this piece of info useful.

cathylmg
24-08-2011, 07:24 AM
Depending on which development, getting your own contractor who is NOT one of those "resident contractors" has its fair share of problems... like the example i mentioned whereby one might just cut off your aircon connections while no one is around. Sorry i have no experience yet... but do take your time to select the right contractor... one who is responsible yet "strong" enough to handle harassment from the rest.

Which is why waiting about a year before you start your renovation is a pretty good idea that some Malaysian owners choose to. At least so for the houses in my precinct.

The word 'strong' enough only mean 1 thing. That they pay them behind your back. Which will ultimately come from your own pocket. You will not realise it. :D But at least your are sure of their standard of delivery as you have already done your due diligence.

cathylmg
24-08-2011, 07:37 AM
There are only 1 entrance and guarded by securities, I guessed they give some money to securities for Hari Raya goodies, haha.....

They are working on other houses in the same precinct lah. Which explain why they have free excess. Not only Hari Raya, other days also like that. They don't ask for permission to enter your property like those contracters did in Singapore. They just walk in and pitch their sales directly. And the rest queuing up outside.

Got 1 jumped queue to come in to my house, the one in front came in to my house directly and shouted to him very fiercely, rolled up the sleves like wanna fight...我在那里你没有看见啊?你要怎样算?你到底想怎样?Then all the rest in my house look away and pretend like don't know him.

My children were all scared so hubby became angry and chased all of them away....And off course we give the job to outside contractors lah... :o

abugumgum
24-08-2011, 08:02 AM
This is one of the situations that I dread.

They are working on other houses in the same precinct lah. Which explain why they have free excess. Not only Hari Raya, other days also like that. They don't ask for permission to enter your property like those contracters did in Singapore. They just walk in and pitch their sales directly. And the rest queuing up outside.

Got 1 jumped queue to come in to my house, the one in front came in to my house directly and shouted to him very fiercely, rolled up the sleves like wanna fight...我在那里你没有看见啊?你要怎样算?你到底想怎样?Then all the rest in my house look away and pretend like don't know him.

My children were all scared so hubby became angry and chased all of them away....And off course we give the job to outside contractors lah... :o

abugumgum
24-08-2011, 08:03 AM
Thanks for the write up, very informative.

For bros who are worry about powerlines when buying your johor prop, you will be interested in my following contribution.

i hope bros will find this piece of info useful.

checkers
24-08-2011, 08:14 AM

Wah...so scary...does this happen in all the developments or more frequent in certain places?