PDA

View Full Version : Living in JB

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64

wuqi256
28-06-2011, 10:23 AM
The news were a bit delayed but breaking the past couple of now, the media campaign has begun it seems. The actual direction is finally becoming clear.

wuqi256
28-06-2011, 10:28 AM
Bro RT, i am so sorry to hear. Regardless of race, they are from Singapore, so i don't think they want to disturb the peace knowingly. Maybe some sharing of food or packaged snacks, etc would do better to foster some form of kampong spirit. If nothing else, maybe you can check in with the committee members and ask them to approach the family for you, being foreigners, i think sometimes statements from locals would help in some way.

Again bros, don't pay the agents the 1+1 comms unless you are really renting it for long(more than 1 year). Then again, you can still tell the agent you want to rent for only 1 year and then check in with the landlord directly to extend the rental.

Whathefish
28-06-2011, 10:29 AM
Thanks for sharing bro Lemans, wow i didn't know she was capable of such bad service as normally she is very respectful to myself and the folks i know. Just got back home and been away as i needed to rush work. So many pages have passed, need to slowly go through and digest.

I think the problem might lies with either 1. the commission for the sales pple are very low, no incentive to perform. 2. Sales target quite healthy, so no incentive to promote more. in fact, i'm surprised they don't really promote HH in SG, unlike EL

Btw, i heard Semi-D in south golf going for >1.5mil RM, OMFG... friend wanted to buy, now worried it's getting too high...

LeMans2011
28-06-2011, 10:30 AM
Thanks for sharing bro Lemans, wow i didn't know she was capable of such bad service as normally she is very respectful to myself and the folks i know. Just got back home and been away as i needed to rush work. So many pages have passed, need to slowly go through and digest.

Yes she was pretty ok the first time round. I suppose she felt that i took her for a ride the first time round. But the again... i had the East Ledang sales guy brought me around 3 times over a period of 2 years (yes, it took me that long to decide investing in JB) before i jumped in. When i did purchase he did not laugh at me for buying at 200k higher compared to if i had purchased 2 years earlier. What followed is i bought another unit through him and recommended him customers.

So i would say ShinYi has very little patience as a salesperson. In fact i am thinking seriously to purchase a unit at Fairway Suites (the tower to be launched soon). I would just get another salesperson to do it :)

wuqi256
28-06-2011, 10:35 AM
Bros who need printing stuff to be done can get cheap printers like HP ones below 200 RM (Tesco) and get those CISS systems from Jusco to print cheaply.
Only caveat for using systems like these is some of the inks may not be so safe for kids so always check on the ink source or unless you are going to laminate
the printouts. Another thing is to use the system at least once a week.

For folks who are looking at some form of personal safety, pepper spray can be purchased from Tesco at about 14-15 RM. Don't forget to remove them when you are travelling to SG though as these are illegal in SG. You can also get portable alarms to deter against molestors.predators in JB as well as in our SG MRTs cheaply in Tesco.

horizonhills
28-06-2011, 10:37 AM
So i would say ShinYi has very little patience as a salesperson. In fact i am thinking seriously to purchase a unit at Fairway Suites (the tower to be launched soon). I would just get another salesperson to do it :)[/QUOTE]

Is she the one who is slightly plump? A bit of flesh but not that plump. Not surprised that u get this kinda bad service from her. I got her namecards but she was so unfriendly so I dint buy from her at all.

wuqi256
28-06-2011, 10:39 AM
Need more of these to crop up inorder for the MIW to review it FTs policies ..

Sadly, the government(not referring to the JB one surprisingly) needs to think of a solution for chopped, bagged, mutilated bodies in water tanks, reservoirs, rivers/seas though.

Nowadays though, when i hear people mentioning of JB, i just keep quiet and smile when they mention JB is so dangerous/hazardous then in the same breath, they mention they just went there. You will see many of people like that, complaining its so dangerous, etc but then they just bought this and that there when they were there LAST WEEKEND.

euphony
28-06-2011, 10:44 AM
Haha i had decent treatment before by the sales person called ShinYi.
But ended up i did not purchase HH as i chose EL instead. Guess what? When i made a subsequent visit to HH (with genuine intention to purchase) she made a point to treat me really badly. Its like you have to keep prompting her for info and she gives you yes and no answers, showing reluctance to offer any info, refuse to move her ass from her chair to explain to me... unfortunately i was not letting her get away with it. I made her move her blady ass and give go point to me where the available units are on the plan, etc. And should i decide to buy, i will look for another salesperson and tell her i don't want to purchase from her due to her bad service. Bitch!

i guess a few of us could probably trade stories whole day. my mediocre experience was with R****. i suspect their service attitude depends on their sales targets for different projects in HH. it was a very good experience initially as i was interested in fairway suites too once upon a time. was very close to signing but family matters changed my housing needs at that same time and when i asked him for more info got the cold shoulder. The banker that was present could tell me more than he did... i smiled, thank the banker turned around, never turned back. Still the area is pretty amazing in its own right am sure some of forumers here may have very good service in other occasions in contrast.

Inception
28-06-2011, 10:53 AM
So i would say ShinYi has very little patience as a salesperson. In fact i am thinking seriously to purchase a unit at Fairway Suites (the tower to be launched soon). I would just get another salesperson to do it :)

I've dealt with ShinYi and Prem. Prem offers better service and advice and doesn't have attitude problems so I booked my unit through her - she's the Indian woman seated at the table at 1:03min in this skycam video:

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/_lw6nwSef2o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Grago
28-06-2011, 12:38 PM
I've dealt with ShinYi and Prem. Prem offers better service and advice and doesn't have attitude problems so I booked my unit through her - she's the Indian woman seated at the table at 1:03min in this skycam video:

<iframe width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/_lw6nwSef2o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Bro, You've got the wrong person. That's Pooni whose at the golf membership desk. Very nice and helpful person. Prem is upstairs at the sales together with Chris Ho. Either of them are quite helpful. I have dealt with Chris on my purchases. He's knowledgeable and very helpful.

cockcansing
28-06-2011, 12:38 PM
Bro Wuqi, Thanks for the number. Tried PM you but full. Good to have the numbers in hand.

RafflesTiger
28-06-2011, 12:40 PM
[QUOTE=wuqi256;763731]Bro RT, i am so sorry to hear. Regardless of race, they are from Singapore, so i don't think they want to disturb the peace knowingly. Maybe some sharing of food or packaged snacks, etc would do better to foster some form of kampong spirit. If nothing else, maybe you can check in with the committee members and ask them to approach the family for you, being foreigners, i think sometimes statements from locals would help in some way.

I know a few locals, they are willing to help.. Spoken to a few of them.. I know many of the guards here.. Today one malay auntie went with me to speak to the security chief... The clerk also told me they will call the owner if this problem cannot be resolved... I also told the security the owner of this apartment is a datuk... Hope that helps..

The locals seems very willing to help.. The convenience store uncle wants to help, the malay auntie wants to vouch for me, one of the security guards wants me to call him if cannot solve..

Yes he is singaporean but he is making my life very difficult, I have no choice.. He doesn't have to keep 100% silence, he just has to tone down... and spare a thought for the singles living here.. Not an unreasonable request.. And most importantly stop the banging and knocking... he really is a king kong type of character... Smashing and bashing things..

I told the security chief about his PHD story and he was quite shocked that the man wants to be a baby sitter when he has a PHD..

Now I am waiting for the management office to do something, perhaps speak to him..

RafflesTiger
28-06-2011, 12:52 PM
[QUOTE=horizonhills;763661]Haha u can always tell us your problems. From what I see, probably this PhD holder is trying to hide from Ah loongs in Singapore and hence relocate his family on a temporary basis to JB. Since he dont have too much money, a small apartment with rental of RM 500-RM 800 should suffice.

What u should pray now is he better not start borrowing from ah loongs in JB!

Everyone I have spoken to is of the view that one family of 4(somemore big sized fellows) should not be staying here... My indian friend told me there is NO family like here in this entire block... That tells a lot...

Hope he automatic a bit... I am grateful to the malay auntie for helping me speak up.. Although I do not understand what she was saying to the security chief, I know she spoke up loud and clear for me.. Quite touched actually.. She actually cried to me later on and told me she has 3 good friends here, 2 are leaving... If I also leave, she will have no friends.. She told me if the malay man wants to bear grudges, let it be... She doesn't care... I am very very touched to witness such kindness... I have been a Singaporean for 32 years, and I do not remember many times I felt so touched by the acts of someone outside my family..

maxpark
28-06-2011, 01:11 PM
Guys, the HH sales also need to make a living and frankly, its not easy dealing with literally thousands of visitors...and some of these potential customers are not exactly very patient angels themselves too ya...

I know some of the staff including Shinyi, Chrxx, Dafxx, etc and generally they are okay people la.

Give them a break, man, peace!

lastresort
28-06-2011, 01:22 PM
I'm friends with most of the HH sales execs now, initially 2 of them were also very unfriendly, but after they found out I'm a direct neighbour of one of the Gamuda bosses and am a repeat customer, these 2 started smiling to us everytime and even intro us more units. Interesting part is one of them will approach and intro us resale units when our sales exec is out for lunch, tell us where they bought their HH units, ask for advice how we deal with design problem as their customers who are looking for similar units asked them.

One advice I would give to potential HH buyers is to go there prepared. Do some research about buying a house in Malaysia, know the gov policies and regulations, go there only to enquire about the project itself, avoid general questions like can foreigner buy 2 storey terraces, landed below 500K, what is a cluster house. They will think you are not an experienced, serious buyer.

But I must admit, I've seen some interested buyers who are simply too yaya like they own the place, and they ask questions like is that a golf course, etc.

Though I agree the sales execs at HH are generally inexperienced sales people, I have seen much worst sales people at Scientex, Skudai. We can go into the empty sales office, look look and walk around for 5 minutes without anyone approaching or acknowledging our presence. When we approached a lady sales exec who was chilling at her seat at a counter chit chatting with her colleagues laughing like nobody's business, the lady didn't seem interested to serve and didn't seem to want to answer our questions. Then we saw a master plan which shows low cost apartments, out of curiosity, I asked her whether they are planning to build low cost apartments, she seems very offended. Then halfway thru, she told us straight that this project is a high end project, and it's not what we are looking for (because we wore shorts and slippers), and when another customer (seems to be a regular customer) entered the office, the lady promptly called her part time colleague (some 18/19 year old teen) over to take over. This one is worst, when we asked her questions, she will pretend not to hear us, and at most, she will nod or shake her head while looking away. It felt as if she can't wait for us to leave, not paying any attention to us when we left after we politely greet her good bye.

LeMans2011
28-06-2011, 03:27 PM
Guys, the HH sales also need to make a living and frankly, its not easy dealing with literally thousands of visitors...and some of these potential customers are not exactly very patient angels themselves too ya... I know some of the staff including Shinyi, Chrxx, Dafxx, etc and generally they are okay people la. Give them a break, man, peace!

Everyone has his fair share of frustration at work and this is no excuse for bad attitude. Obviously sales have been good and some of these sales exec are not concerned at all about pissing off customers. "some of these potential customers are not exactly very patient angels themselves too ya"... well... i am very patient although i am not an angel... and if i am not given good service i will demand for it. Please... this is not Singapore and there is no PAP here... nobody should tolerate bad service.

LeMans2011
28-06-2011, 03:42 PM
....initially 2 of them were also very unfriendly, but after they found out I'm a direct neighbour of one of the Gamuda bosses and am a repeat customer, these 2 started smiling to us everytime and even intro us more units... Well... you said it all... they are only helpful because you are a direct neighbour of one of the Gamuda bosses

One advice I would give to potential HH buyers is to go there prepared. Do some research about buying a house in Malaysia, know the gov policies and regulations, go there only to enquire about the project itself, avoid general questions like can foreigner buy 2 storey terraces, landed below 500K, what is a cluster house. They will think you are not an experienced, serious buyer. But I must admit, I've seen some interested buyers who are simply too yaya like they own the place, and they ask questions like is that a golf course, etc.
Wow... are you for real there are people like that? Even then some basic level of service is expected. As for myself who experienced bad service at HH, i can assure you i don't have any of these attributes you cited as purchasing property in JB is not new to me.

Though I agree the sales execs at HH are generally inexperienced sales people, I have seen much worst sales people at Scientex, Skudai. We can go into the empty sales office, look look and walk around for 5 minutes without anyone approaching or acknowledging our presence. When we approached a lady sales exec who was chilling at her seat at a counter chit chatting with her colleagues laughing like nobody's business, the lady didn't seem interested to serve and didn't seem to want to answer our questions. Then we saw a master plan which shows low cost apartments, out of curiosity, I asked her whether they are planning to build low cost apartments, she seems very offended. Then halfway thru, she told us straight that this project is a high end project, and it's not what we are looking for (because we wore shorts and slippers), and when another customer (seems to be a regular customer) entered the office, the lady promptly called her part time colleague (some 18/19 year old teen) over to take over. This one is worst, when we asked her questions, she will pretend not to hear us, and at most, she will nod or shake her head while looking away. It felt as if she can't wait for us to leave, not paying any attention to us when we left after we politely greet her good bye.
Why compare bad service with worse service? HH is a decent grade property and sales exec should have some basic standard

vincentck
28-06-2011, 04:06 PM
i was munching down dinner and watching this (http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/flying-cheaper/) streaming on the web on my laptop. Lots of thoughts running through my head as I watched. Mostly uncomfortable.

Its an expose of STA mobile in the US as a MRO for fleets of airlines and their sloppy work (wait for the pencil whipping description). Drove a chill down my spine.

The trend is deeply pervasive in SG inc. as well where we (or rather the leadership) sought a massive influx of cheap foreign labor as a solution to staying competitive/profitable. Looks good on the books but typical style of rubbish in rubbish out instead of trying to get ahead by innovation and creativity. Which is why SG still has not inked a mandatory requirement for minimum wage.

All these are as suspected affecting us common folk who compete vis a vis these foreign 'talents'. We are fortunate enough to have the resources and perhaps the guts to make the move but how are we preparing our kids for the future? To get a straight A cert in a brand named school and then say it'll qualify them for a better future?

(brains in over drive working to burn out the carbohydrates post-dinner hurhur - please do watch the video if you can in its entirety)

Wow... watched the whole video... sounds scary... I wonder if MAS, SQ, AA or other airlines here do that or not...

vincentck
28-06-2011, 04:25 PM

My wife and I met her too when we visited HH for the 1st time... treated us well enough, although she forgot to update us on The Hills after we told her we wanted corner units. Second time I was there with my friend and wife; she gave decent service too. I told her I bought a corner unit in NI; maybe she felt guilty for forgetting to let me know about The Hills. Can't imagine she would purposely give bad service... but I guess we can't really tell. I guess different people will have different experiences.

vincentck
28-06-2011, 04:50 PM
Bros who need printing stuff to be done can get cheap printers like HP ones below 200 RM (Tesco) and get those CISS systems from Jusco to print cheaply.
Only caveat for using systems like these is some of the inks may not be so safe for kids so always check on the ink source or unless you are going to laminate
the printouts. Another thing is to use the system at least once a week.

For folks who are looking at some form of personal safety, pepper spray can be purchased from Tesco at about 14-15 RM. Don't forget to remove them when you are travelling to SG though as these are illegal in SG. You can also get portable alarms to deter against molestors.predators in JB as well as in our SG MRTs cheaply in Tesco.

I did a comparison on the prices of IT stuff in MY & SG and proofed to myself that IT stuff are cheaper in MY after converting the equivalent price in SGD. E.g. I bought a Canon MX357 for RM375 in Low Yat KL, but it is selling for SGD249 in Challenger. Same goes for external hard disk and memory, laptops etc

28-06-2011, 05:53 PM
Again bros, don't pay the agents the 1+1 comms unless you are really renting it for long(more than 1 year). Then again, you can still tell the agent you want to rent for only 1 year and then check in with the landlord directly to extend the rental.

Hi Wuqi or anyone, so the JB market practice is tenant no need to pay commission and landlord pay the commission for rental? How much commission does the landlord need to pay for every one year lease? In Spore, it is usually half month for every 1 year rental paid by landlord.

contra
28-06-2011, 09:11 PM
The Malay man is here to stay for good.. He doesn't even want his kids in school... He wants to stay in this small shoe box and take care of his kids... Live off the rent from the HDB flat.. Very scared of him also.. He looks very big sized and very fierce..
One other problem is the speed of the internet here is simply too slow... Not possible to use the platforms to trade.. I am using P1... My mum doesn't want me to stay with her, but she wants me back in Singapore, and she is willing to subsidise the rent for me.. So I am unsure what to do now...

Hi bro RT,
I do not mean to be busy body but you did ask for our opinions...

I recall you moved to JB so your dad can stay with you also. But looks like he did not go over? Also if you were planning to do online trading for a living but that is not working out, then what will you live on in JB? And now the neighbour is causing issue.

The way I look at it, Singapore good place to earn money. Hope you continue to choose to continue to stay in JB to stretch the income & better quality of life, then I suggest you speak with your neighbour. After all what to lose? Sometimes people do not realise that noise travels in apartment blocks. Worse case, if he becomes more aggravated, then either you stand your ground with the help of security & nice aunties or look for someplace else. After all you said that you have easy get-out clause. Time to bring out those claws & show those fangs, brother Tiger.

contra
28-06-2011, 09:25 PM
Medini is a Leasehold area within Nusajaya. I am not sure of Puteri Harbour.

Best to stick with EL & HH for Freehold that side of town. Near Wellness, Educity, Afiat Health, Jusco (with new cinema:), Legoland, easy-traffic 2nd link, dont see how can go wrong.

If looking for train, then Setia, Austin etc. near Kempas terminal convenient. Then again there is the intracity Iskandar trains, so high chance to have a line thru the 3 official Nusajaya Residences, ie EL & HH & NI, in the future.

hangyong
28-06-2011, 10:26 PM
Bro, You've got the wrong person. That's Pooni whose at the golf membership desk. Very nice and helpful person. Prem is upstairs at the sales together with Chris Ho. Either of them are quite helpful. I have dealt with Chris on my purchases. He's knowledgeable and very helpful.

bro, that looks like Prem to me also leh... Prem is the best sales I interacted with in HH so far...
The first time I was there, was served by Ricky and he was really slow at my subsequent questions through email
Bought my unit through Prem in the end.

hangyong
28-06-2011, 10:35 PM
I did a comparison on the prices of IT stuff in MY & SG and proofed to myself that IT stuff are cheaper in MY after converting the equivalent price in SGD. E.g. I bought a Canon MX357 for RM375 in Low Yat KL, but it is selling for SGD249 in Challenger. Same goes for external hard disk and memory, laptops etc

you should buy your electronics from Sim Lim Square.... Low Yat is selling below the MRSP of Canon Malaysia of RM468 while Challenger is following the MRSP of $249 of Canon Singapore.

but yes, Canon printers are priced slightly slower in Malaysia compared to Singapore for older products.

horizonhills
28-06-2011, 11:47 PM
I have recently checked out the bungalows at East Ledang and the sales is not that fast compared to those Twin Villas. Anyone knows why is this the case? Also no new launches at Horizon Hills for the past few months. At this rate, I wonder when will HH be fully completed given they have another 6-8 more major themes to be launched

Someone asked about renting out the house to the tenant and whether he can use the golf course or gym etc. Well as a owner, you have to pay RM 1000 every 6 month or 12 months to the HH just to ensure that the ownership is being transferred over. When u got time, find the girl at the membership branch to talk and u will be shocked to realise that in HH, everything NEEDs money.

abugumgum
29-06-2011, 12:07 AM
Welcome back to JB bro Abugumgum, thats the spirit! Rather than give up halfway, one should try each road to its end(unless you know 100% sure its a dead end road)

I am happy for you. :)

Thank you bro wuqi.
I have a lingering question on the need for a International Driving License in order to drive MY registered car in MY.
Is it ok to drive MY registered car with Singapore Driving License? I am not under MM2H.
Thanks.

euphony
29-06-2011, 12:39 AM
I have recently checked out the bungalows at East Ledang and the sales is not that fast compared to those Twin Villas. Anyone knows why is this the case? Also no new launches at Horizon Hills for the past few months. At this rate, I wonder when will HH be fully completed given they have another 6-8 more major themes to be launched.

everywhere is launching bungalows and stopped marketing smaller units so buyers are spoilt for choice. also these are not affordable to the common folks in JB with projects asking in excess of 2 mil... currently i think has reached a saturation point before the 2012 completed projects bring in a fresh lot of tenants and settlers. and these houses are plenty too big for the single family really. hmmm...

euphony
29-06-2011, 12:41 AM
Wow... watched the whole video... sounds scary... I wonder if MAS, SQ, AA or other airlines here do that or not...

think st covers sq. there were reported incidences but all did not attribute to maintenance lapses. dun dare to think too deep about it. juxtapose it to other sgporean companies practicing this and its recipe for disaster.

lastresort
29-06-2011, 12:52 AM
Well... you said it all... they are only helpful because you are a direct neighbour of one of the Gamuda bosses

Wow... are you for real there are people like that? Even then some basic level of service is expected. As for myself who experienced bad service at HH, i can assure you i don't have any of these attributes you cited as purchasing property in JB is not new to me.

Why compare bad service with worse service? HH is a decent grade property and sales exec should have some basic standard

:) Chill bro, I also agree some HH sales have bad service and there's no deny. I'm just sharing my experience about some other sales who also provide poor service as there are many forumers here who are not HH residents or buyers.

It's just my general opinion though that i want to share, not stating any sales or buyer in particular, and definitely not saying my fellow forumers here have no experience. :p I'm also learning like everyone and it's good to hear your experience.

horizonhills
29-06-2011, 12:56 AM
Advice to RafflesTiger.. find a decent job in Singapore which pays a market rate of $1500-$2500. Convert to RM and stay in JB as usual. He is alone without kids to take care of so the problems will be lesser.

Hi bro RT,

I recall you moved to JB so your dad can stay with you also. But looks like he did not go over? Also if you were planning to do online trading for a living but that is not working out, then what will you live on in JB? And now the neighbour is causing issue.

The way I look at it, Singapore good place to earn money. Hope you continue to choose to continue to stay in JB to stretch the income & better quality of life, then I suggest you speak with your neighbour. After all what to lose? Sometimes people do not realise that noise travels in apartment blocks. Worse case, if he becomes more aggravated, then either you stand your ground with the help of security & nice aunties or look for someplace else. After all you said that you have easy get-out clause. Time to bring out those claws & show those fangs, brother Tiger.

Skippy
29-06-2011, 12:59 AM
Thanks to everyone for the well wishes. We will continue to explore and share info.

Yippie abugumgum & family! We can share more good deals together. I'm sure all things would turn out all good! Do stay safe always....

Cheers...:cool:

Skippy
29-06-2011, 01:32 AM

Hi Brothers & Sisters...
My family & i have personally dealth with a couple of salespersons in HH. When my dad 1st called to find out about the property, the person on the line referred to salesperson D and make arrangement to see her. But when i personally made the phone enquiry with Prem but becos of prior arrangement made by my dad i had to made the trip there to see D... she was quite alright initially but after that 1st round of showing me ard, i personally find her inexperience thus she shown much doubted in me(thinking i'm just another phony kid, sure wont buy such home). So i left and went back home to discuss whether to make the purchase. Not long after, our transaction was finally done with Chris. I personally also agree with Bro Grago that Chris and Prem are very experience and nice pple. They able to address most of the major doubts. I also understand that they were the pioneer since the project started. Last heard is that Prem is on maternity. In all, i'm thankful to them (Chris, Prem & D). As for the others... no matter how bad they can get.. it only wont deter me since my parents love that place and that matters most! :)

hangyong
29-06-2011, 01:35 AM
Last heard is that Prem is on maternity. In all, i'm thankful to them (Chris, Prem & D). As for the others... no matter how bad they can get.. it only wont deter me since my parents love that place and that matters most! :)

Prem on Maternity? Serious?! was still talking to her 3 weeks back at the gallery.

cathylmg
29-06-2011, 01:37 AM
Hi Wuqi or anyone, so the JB market practice is tenant no need to pay commission and landlord pay the commission for rental? How much commission does the landlord need to pay for every one year lease? In Spore, it is usually half month for every 1 year rental paid by landlord.

Gin, I just rent out my HDB flat. Its 1 month for 1 year contract. ;)

cathylmg
29-06-2011, 01:46 AM
Sadly, the government(not referring to the JB one surprisingly) needs to think of a solution for chopped, bagged, mutilated bodies in water tanks, reservoirs, rivers/seas though.

Nowadays though, when i hear people mentioning of JB, i just keep quiet and smile when they mention JB is so dangerous/hazardous then in the same breath, they mention they just went there. You will see many of people like that, complaining its so dangerous, etc but then they just bought this and that there when they were there LAST WEEKEND.

Wuqi, you can say that again. Just last week, a friend of mine who do not dare to drive her car into JB asked me if I could pick up her contact lens for her at City Square. What an irony. She is so careful with her car, but how about mine? :rolleyes:

And the contact lens costs S$300 in Singapore but RM300 in City Square. Or maybe she can pass some savings into my pocket? Nah! Just kidding...will check for her at my Taman instead. :D

aangsc
29-06-2011, 01:46 AM
At this rate, I wonder when will HH be fully completed given they have another 6-8 more major themes to be launched

Someone asked about renting out the house to the tenant and whether he can use the golf course or gym etc. Well as a owner, you have to pay RM 1000 every 6 month or 12 months to the HH just to ensure that the ownership is being transferred over. When u got time, find the girl at the membership branch to talk and u will be shocked to realise that in HH, everything NEEDs money.

Actually , I don't any problem with the rate HH is going. I expect them to take upto 10 years for all phases. In fact, I would rather they go at gradual pace than fast pace so as not to flood the market. Iskandar is just beginning to attract some interest after the numerous educational setup and it will be at least another 10-20 years to see a new city forming. When the iconic project between SG and MY is up and running , there will be more interest from SG side. Then more may be build.

Skippy
29-06-2011, 01:56 AM
Prem on Maternity? Serious?! was still talking to her 3 weeks back at the gallery.

Guess i've not met her since... good to know she's back! I've not been to HH for quite a while since. I'm over at KSL most of the time for now. Waiting patiently for the new place to be ready. Guess shall pop over to see see look look... :P

euphony
29-06-2011, 02:27 AM
Wuqi, you can say that again. Just last week, a friend of mine who do not dare to drive her car into JB asked me if I could pick up her contact lens for her at City Square. What an irony. She is so careful with her car, but how about mine? :rolleyes:

And the contact lens costs S$300 in Singapore but RM300 in City Square. Or maybe she can pass some savings into my pocket? Nah! Just kidding...will check for her at my Taman instead. :D

cathy: these people! dun dare to drive in then dun even think about taking advantage of the currency exchange. say u busy not in the way =p

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 02:32 AM
Thank you bro wuqi.
I have a lingering question on the need for a International Driving License in order to drive MY registered car in MY.
Is it ok to drive MY registered car with Singapore Driving License? I am not under MM2H.
Thanks.

Best to get one if you have doubts, i have driven without incidents here for past 2 plus years. Even though i did have a couple of traffic offencese, i managed to settle them. Just in case though, you might want to get it from SG (AA) as the license from MY is more expensive.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 02:35 AM
Didn't have that much experience with the guys mentioned as i dealt primarily with one last time and as we trusted him a lot, when he told us not to deal with them, we really believed him and never did. When he subsequently left, luckily all our bases were covered but the house we bought from him personally, still some odds and ends left over which dragged on and on.

Some of my friends including tenants dealt with Chris, so far, 5 stars. Prem is good too i heard so tend to concur with the findings shared here.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 02:36 AM
Actually , I don't any problem with the rate HH is going. I expect them to take upto 10 years for all phases. In fact, I would rather they go at gradual pace than fast pace so as not to flood the market. Iskandar is just beginning to attract some interest after the numerous educational setup and it will be at least another 10-20 years to see a new city forming. When the iconic project between SG and MY is up and running , there will be more interest from SG side. Then more may be build.

Yes aangsc, i prefer to see slow and steady growth too. Ensures that the quality of construction, service is kept as well.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 02:37 AM

Congrats Cathylmg, you are well and truly here. :)
Well done!

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 02:38 AM
Bro HH,
Good guidance to RT, thanks for your help! :)

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 02:47 AM
Hi Polyman,

Don't leave, i am glad you managed to find your way back despite your initial U turn at the causeway, somehow your writing style seems to be related to someone familiar though.

1. Knows Johor well, been there many years ago, knows his/her stuff
2. Wanted to buy back then but didn't
3. Talked about traffic jams and glad that you didn't buy unlike others who are stuck there (are they really stuck there to begin with, hmmm)

Well i digress. Not to worry, i don't think your sharing of how much $$$ you have currently would thumb down most of the folks here. Some have (whom i have the good luck to know) already reached your current level before age 30 and just like you, they are self starters.

Whilst the SG dollar is doing well now, its still not well enough such that 200k SGD = 500k RM so you still need slightly more than 200k to get the house plus levy, legal fees, stamp duty (for developments which don't cover these) You would also likely need another 50-150k to cover for renovation. So you might need closer to 300k SGD.

I am glad you reached a decision to save your money but as this is a forum, whether you regret your decision or make another U-turn, no one knows so you don't need to feel embarrassed.

Feel free to U turn on your decision not to buy as well. I wish you well.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 02:50 AM

Its sometimes so funny, people who diss JB at every turn are almost always there every weekend. Whether they U turn or cuss at the traffic, they still go back there regularly whether its in a bus, in a BMW or on a plane. Why curse and still always go at the same time? Makes one really wonder.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 03:28 AM
Despite never actively (at least not from me) promoting this thread elsewhere such as posting on other forums to draw traffic, someone just told me we have more than 500k views now.

Realistically, even if we half this figure, at least this thread would have reached out to 250k people.

Thanks to all who contributed to the thread including the naysayers.

abugumgum
29-06-2011, 03:29 AM
Best to get one if you have doubts, i have driven without incidents here for past 2 plus years. Even though i did have a couple of traffic offencese, i managed to settle them. Just in case though, you might want to get it from SG (AA) as the license from MY is more expensive.

Ok, thank you.

lastresort
29-06-2011, 03:32 AM
Guess i've not met her since... good to know she's back! I've not been to HH for quite a while since. I'm over at KSL most of the time for now. Waiting patiently for the new place to be ready. Guess shall pop over to see see look look... :P

Hi Skippy, yup she's back and she will be moving in to HH soon i guess. She's definitely one of the better sales execs as she will not hesitate to help even if you're not her direct customer.

Great to know you got a place at KSL. It will be one that will benefit greatly from the new RTS between SG and JB. But it's really too expensive for me.

vincentck
29-06-2011, 03:35 AM
you should buy your electronics from Sim Lim Square.... Low Yat is selling below the MRSP of Canon Malaysia of RM468 while Challenger is following the MRSP of $249 of Canon Singapore.

but yes, Canon printers are priced slightly slower in Malaysia compared to Singapore for older products.

I checked at 2 stores in SLS, and they priced their MX357 at SGD249 too... Anyway, I believe the bigger IT chain shops have better buying power and thus can get their products cheaper than the smaller 1-store companies. FYI, I bought my Canon printer at All IT Hypermarket, a chain store in KL similar to Challenger. Very few IT items are cheaper in SG compared to MY after converting.

Skippy
29-06-2011, 03:47 AM
Hi Skippy, yup she's back and she will be moving in to HH soon i guess. She's definitely one of the better sales execs as she will not hesitate to help even if you're not her direct customer.

Great to know you got a place at KSL. It will be one that will benefit greatly from the new RTS between SG and JB. But it's really too expensive for me.

Hee hee bro lastresort, yup totally agreed with you that Prem is very helpful even though u not her customers. Not sure she's ready for house warming.. ha ha..

Oh i didnt get a place in KSL :O ... but am ard the area most of the time. There's nice thai style steamboat just behind Pelangi Plaza.. loves the soup base there. Hee hee :P

cathylmg
29-06-2011, 05:04 AM
cathy: these people! dun dare to drive in then dun even think about taking advantage of the currency exchange. say u busy not in the way =p

I said there are car smashing incidence, better not drive there. I also don't drive there, which is true, I cannot lie unnecessarily. :cool:

Secretly thinking: Next time please pass some of the savings to me!:D

lastresort
29-06-2011, 05:54 AM
Hee hee bro lastresort, yup totally agreed with you that Prem is very helpful even though u not her customers. Not sure she's ready for house warming.. ha ha..

Oh i didnt get a place in KSL :O ... but am ard the area most of the time. There's nice thai style steamboat just behind Pelangi Plaza.. loves the soup base there. Hee hee :P

haha skippy bro, I bet I'm younger than you, so it feels weird to be called bro. great, i'll try the food there when i happen to be around the area. My parents usually wouldn't want to go there as they feel the area is not so safe and hard to find parking place. But heck, i'll just take a bus in with my friends. :cool:

hangyong
29-06-2011, 06:34 AM
haha skippy bro, I bet I'm younger than you, so it feels weird to be called bro. great, i'll try the food there when i happen to be around the area. My parents usually wouldn't want to go there as they feel the area is not so safe and hard to find parking place. But heck, i'll just take a bus in with my friends. :cool:

many other nice place have food leh... the other day coming back from Cameron Highlands stopped by Gelang Patah for dinner.... the Zhe Char there.... aiyo! soooo good!

euphony
29-06-2011, 06:36 AM

if i remember correctly skippy is XX not XY =p

hangyong
29-06-2011, 06:42 AM
hey everyone... is the gathering still on????

lastresort
29-06-2011, 07:29 AM

wah what is xx, xy. generation gap here, I'm confused.:confused:

lastresort
29-06-2011, 07:32 AM
many other nice place have food leh... the other day coming back from Cameron Highlands stopped by Gelang Patah for dinner.... the Zhe Char there.... aiyo! soooo good!

haha, correct, but it means quite some travel to the place with good food, I have no car so gotta rely on my dad, but my mother is always lazy to go far, and we are quite budget all the time. 3 meals at coffeeshop also can!

Maybe next time no need to go too far, will be trying the dim sum at HH soon (right outside Fairway Suites! just cross the road). We're are not very good eaters, anything also can. =)

RafflesTiger
29-06-2011, 07:36 AM
Hi bro RT,

Yes you are right, maybe I should come back to singapore.. Its not possible that they do not know noise can travel.. And the bangs are getting louder and louder each day..

That man is not the sort anyone would offend... The management office wants proof.. The clerks told me witnesses are not sufficient.. Told me to call the downstairs security to come up and listen to catch the noise... How is this possible? Yesterday there were thunderous bangs from 11pm-2am, I am not sure what was happening.. I feel very uneasy.. Those bangs are not normal, sounds like someone throwing a metal chair at a wooden cabinet.. It was very very loud... 10minutes once... Sometimes, heavy footsteps followed by a huge bang... Defitely deliberately done.. There is a dog upstairs and after every bang, the dog would start barking... Its that loud.. There is something going on inside I am sure..

I have no choice but to consider moving out.. Maybe back to Singapore... There is no peace here.. If I move within JB, can someone recommend a mover for me?

lastresort
29-06-2011, 07:36 AM
haha, correct, but it means quite some travel to the place with good food, I have no car so gotta rely on my dad, but my mother is always lazy to go far, and we are quite budget all the time. 3 meals at coffeeshop also can!

Maybe next time no need to go too far, will be trying the dim sum at HH soon (right outside Fairway Suites! just cross the road). We're are not very good eaters, anything also can. =)

oh yes, we don't go by link dua, will try your recommendation if got chance!

Skippy
29-06-2011, 07:46 AM

Yup you are so right... I'm Ms Skippy not Mr Skippy...

BTW Pai sei.... Lastresort... i'm sure you are young... not too sure younger.... or mayb same same.. but nevertheless... we are the full of zest and surely onz ones who enjoys sharing and posting our experiences in this forum.

About the gathering... answering to Bro Hangyong.. surely hopping to make it happen but alot to consider and may need help in administrative and logistic stuffs. Also need to consider parking and food wise to make sure that can cater to the young ones to the wise ones. Hence cannot say have it in HH or EL... hmm.. i need many many support to make this very possible. Plus got sponsors? can throw in some free gifts for kids to also make it enjoyable for them. Me small fly.. need to gather strength and mighty ones... any volunteers??? i promise no identity to be revealed at all times... work on secret codes... (sounds like some secret agents) ** too much movies ...

Crossing my fingers... ;)

tansi
29-06-2011, 08:18 AM
Its sometimes so funny, people who diss JB at every turn are almost always there every weekend. Whether they U turn or cuss at the traffic, they still go back there regularly whether its in a bus, in a BMW or on a plane. Why curse and still always go at the same time? Makes one really wonder.

well. it's about money well spent. it is more than ti gun. toto or small time gambling. one can see saving immediately, compare prices and feel sioh. the siohness is often sufficiently to overcome fear, as it is a human desire known as excitement. A few items are beyond reach in sg yet is readily available in jb, such as property. however, that does require more money than ti gun, hence the hesitation

euphony
29-06-2011, 08:23 AM
Yup you are so right... I'm Ms Skippy not Mr Skippy...

BTW Pai sei.... Lastresort... i'm sure you are young... not too sure younger.... or mayb same same.. but nevertheless... we are the full of zest and surely onz ones who enjoys sharing and posting our experiences in this forum.

About the gathering... answering to Bro Hangyong.. surely hopping to make it happen but alot to consider and may need help in administrative and logistic stuffs. Also need to consider parking and food wise to make sure that can cater to the young ones to the wise ones. Hence cannot say have it in HH or EL... hmm.. i need many many support to make this very possible. Plus got sponsors? can throw in some free gifts for kids to also make it enjoyable for them. Me small fly.. need to gather strength and mighty ones... any volunteers??? i promise no identity to be revealed at all times... work on secret codes... (sounds like some secret agents) ** too much movies ...

Crossing my fingers... ;)

skippy sis my suggestion is if we can make it low key and simple first since this is the easiest. then if response and turn up good proceed to plan more involving events to come. i'm simple man, lim kopi at station 1 cafe or something is good enough =p

Skippy
29-06-2011, 08:31 AM
skippy sis my suggestion is if we can make it low key and simple first since this is the easiest. then if response and turn up good proceed to plan more involving events to come. i'm simple man, lim kopi at station 1 cafe or something is good enough =p

Yes Bro Euphony... sounds cool.. yeap simple man is wise man too.. i agree mayb think along this line.. oki in this case.. give me a bit of time i fix up smething light and casual...

Cheers.. cross my fingers.. ;)

lastresort
29-06-2011, 08:43 AM
alright, uncles, aunties, bros and sis. I can envision if this community gets bonded well and strong, maybe next time we can have a mini Singapore Day in JB during NDP eve.

or maybe i'm thinking too much as SG is so near, since when was the last time I missed SG while in JB. not like miles away. We have similar food, culture, lang, religion and people.

Investor
29-06-2011, 09:04 AM
Yes Bro Euphony... sounds cool.. yeap simple man is wise man too.. i agree mayb think along this line.. oki in this case.. give me a bit of time i fix up smething light and casual...

Cheers.. cross my fingers.. ;)

The restaurant at The Ledang clubhouse? Safe place for parking :)

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 09:10 AM
alright, uncles, aunties, bros and sis. I can envision if this community gets bonded well and strong, maybe next time we can have a mini Singapore Day in JB during NDP eve.

or maybe i'm thinking too much as SG is so near, since when was the last time I missed SG while in JB. not like miles away. We have similar food, culture, lang, religion and people.

It will be good to have everyone meeting together, i would suggest we do a PM rather than through open invitation. You never know who would turn up as i remembered several years ago, some forummers got cheated etc. I would recommend no asking or revealing of identities. Also, offering of any services/agents/properties should not be part of the agenda. There are ready people out there who are waiting to take potshots out of anything we do unfortunately.

Also, it should be at a place where its less public,EL would be good. The last time there was a gathering in HH, almost a quarter of Johore turned up for the food. Not that any of the locals are desperate for food but none of the local residents got to eat anything if you know what i mean. Everyone jumped queue and we ended up just chatting with friends rather than eating or drinking anything.

The last NDP we had, they hung SG flags together with MY flags in the cafe part of the clubhouse of HH, was quite a good event. We had our own fireworks on SG's NDP followed later on in the month and celebrating MY's ones with my neighbours.

RafflesTiger
29-06-2011, 09:27 AM
Hi to all forumers..

Does anyone have the contact number of a reliable mover for moving within JB?

Thanks a lot..

lastresort
29-06-2011, 09:54 AM
It will be good to have everyone meeting together, i would suggest we do a PM rather than through open invitation. You never know who would turn up as i remembered several years ago, some forummers got cheated etc. I would recommend no asking or revealing of identities. Also, offering of any services/agents/properties should not be part of the agenda. There are ready people out there who are waiting to take potshots out of anything we do unfortunately.

Also, it should be at a place where its less public,EL would be good. The last time there was a gathering in HH, almost a quarter of Johore turned up for the food. Not that any of the locals are desperate for food but none of the local residents got to eat anything if you know what i mean. Everyone jumped queue and we ended up just chatting with friends rather than eating or drinking anything.

The last NDP we had, they hung SG flags together with MY flags in the cafe part of the clubhouse of HH, was quite a good event. We had our own fireworks on SG's NDP followed later on in the month and celebrating MY's ones with my neighbours.

oh yes, i didn't think of that, and wouldn't have expected some people to take advantage of such an event. Should we create a private facebook group for our community and whenever we have events, we will invite privately and only within the group. :cool:

oh then again, not everyone is comfortable to reveal identity, or forum nick name.

euphony
29-06-2011, 10:15 AM

omg 0_0 seriously?! skippy sis let's do pm then as advised or create a facebook closed group or something...

euphony
29-06-2011, 10:17 AM
oh yes, i didn't think of that, and wouldn't have expected some people to take advantage of such an event. Should we create a private facebook group for our community and whenever we have events, we will invite privately and only within the group. :cool:

oh then again, not everyone is comfortable to reveal identity, or forum nick name.

haha yah following your post. agree with the facebook group though i'm perfectly fine dun think people will steal my identity... yet.

euphony
29-06-2011, 10:18 AM
Hi to all forumers..

Does anyone have the contact number of a reliable mover for moving within JB?

Thanks a lot..

actually i would also like to know... u used tong carriage before right? perhaps they have within JB services.

rhino
29-06-2011, 11:29 AM
Dear all, I've finally booked a unit at the hills after months of research and viewing.
I'd like to thank everyone, especially bro Wuqi, for your generous sharing and guidance. =)
Can't wait to move in to enjoy the space once the house is ready in Dec'13!

lastresort
29-06-2011, 11:55 AM
Dear all, I've finally booked a unit at the hills after months of research and viewing.
I'd like to thank everyone, especially bro Wuqi, for your generous sharing and guidance. =)

welcome rhino! did you book a superlink or bungalow, 2 storey or 3 storey bungalow.

you might be sultan's neighbor, btw, I've been to his unit at The Hills before he got his keys, it was opened for a few days for some event. Interestingly, it was rumoured that he ordered Gamuda to demolish the unit next to his even though it was 10-20% completed and sold. So as to be separated from the rest. :*:

hangyong
29-06-2011, 12:17 PM
welcome rhino! did you book a superlink or bungalow, 2 storey or 3 storey bungalow.

you might be sultan's neighbor, btw, I've been to his unit at The Hills before he got his keys, it was opened for a few days for some event. Interestingly, it was rumoured that he ordered Gamuda to demolish the unit next to his even though it was 10-20% completed and sold. So as to be separated from the rest. :*:

sultan say one bo bian.. LL have to demolish... haha...

lastresort
29-06-2011, 01:11 PM
I heard from a malay HH panel lawyer that Johor chief minister, Dato' Haji Abdul Ghani bin Othman also bought a unit in HH.

:) So I believe they will do a good job in maintaining the place. I have seen convoys of police escorts and big big cars entering and leaving a few times, I believe it belongs to Sultan, one time was during the golf tournment, Iskandar Open :cool:

RafflesTiger
29-06-2011, 01:22 PM
Yes you are right, maybe I should come back to singapore.. Its not possible that they do not know noise can travel.. And the bangs are getting louder and louder each day..

That man is not the sort anyone would offend... The management office wants proof.. The clerks told me witnesses are not sufficient.. Told me to call the downstairs security to come up and listen to catch the noise... How is this possible? Yesterday there were thunderous bangs from 11pm-2am, I am not sure what was happening.. I feel very uneasy.. Those bangs are not normal, sounds like someone throwing a metal chair at a wooden cabinet.. It was very very loud... 10minutes once... Sometimes, heavy footsteps followed by a huge bang... Defitely deliberately done.. There is a dog upstairs and after every bang, the dog would start barking... Its that loud.. There is something going on inside I am sure..

I have no choice but to consider moving out.. Maybe back to Singapore... There is no peace here.. If I move within JB, can someone recommend a mover for me?

If anyone has a room to let out, or is willing to share a 2 storey terrace with me, please let me know...

The malay singaporean neighbour is making things too difficult.. There is no peace.. No point staying here anymore... Willing to forfeit my deposit to get out of his way...

vincentck
29-06-2011, 02:06 PM

Cathy, how come u paid 1 month for a 1 year contract? As I know, it should be 1/2 month for a 1 year contract, both landlord and tenant pays 1/2 month commission in SG. So, the agent gets 1 month commission.

vincentck
29-06-2011, 02:40 PM
wah what is xx, xy. generation gap here, I'm confused.:confused:

xx and xy refers to the chromosomes that determines the gender. XX chromosomes means a female and XY refers to a male, am I right, euphony?

lastresort
29-06-2011, 02:42 PM
xx and xy refers to the chromosomes that determines the gender. XX chromosomes means a female and XY refers to a male, am I right, euphony?

haha, that must be it. :)

avalon74
29-06-2011, 02:48 PM

Agree.. thats why when my wife & myself kenna flight delay of 3 hrs for outbound flight & 1 hr on inbound flight, we decided that we will probably skip Tiger in future.. So far Jetstar ok.. may try Air Asia in future.. esp from Senai airport.. haha

euphony
29-06-2011, 03:16 PM

haha, that must be it. :)

yes bros spot on =)

euphony
29-06-2011, 03:20 PM

congrats on getting your dream house. i think by 2013-4, will be even more colorful than it is now. Several bros here will also be moving into fairway suites I guess?

lastresort
29-06-2011, 03:38 PM
congrats on getting your dream house. i think by 2013-4, will be even more colorful than it is now. Several bros here will also be moving into fairway suites I guess?

haha yeah can't wait, though they are given 36 months to complete it, the contractors we spoke to told us they are confident of completing it in 18 months. :)

It will be more happening as many major developments around Iskandar will be ready.

vincentck
29-06-2011, 04:15 PM

Congrats on ur decision Rhino...

vincentck
29-06-2011, 04:17 PM
Jun 29, 2011
E&O and Pulau Indah in JV to build Nusajaya township

KUALA LUMPUR: Eastern & Oriental Bhd (E&O) has entered into a shareholders’ agreement with Pulau Indah Ventures Sdn Bhd to develop a wellness township Nusajaya.

Nusajaya is a flagship zone of Iskandar Malaysia.

E&O (via wholly-owned subsidiary Galaxy Prestige Sdn Bhd) and Pulau Indah have agreed to establish a 50:50 joint venture (JV) company named Nuri Merdu Sdn Bhd.

Pulau Indah is a 50:50 JV between Khazanah Nasional Bhd and Temasek Holdings.

This will be E&O’s maiden foray into Johor.

The 210-acre freehold land for the proposed development is 15 minutes away from the Tuas Second Link to Singapore, and is owned by Iskandar Investment Bhd, a 60% subsidiary of Khazanah.

http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyScene/TheStarOnlineHighlightBox/12944/0/0

vincentck
29-06-2011, 04:19 PM
By THEAN LEE CHENG
leecheng@thestar.com.my | Jun 29, 2011
UEM Land to leverage on Sunrise expertise and S’pore infrastructure

Good linkage: The future development’s proximity to the Marina Bay and future Downtown MRT stations will ensure that it is well served and easily accessible. — AFP

PETALING JAYA: The coming together of Khazanah Nasional Bhd and Temasek Holdings to develop RM30bil worth of real estate projects in Singapore and Iskandar Malaysia will help UEM Land Holdings Bhd make a great leap forward, both financially and in terms of branding, say analysts.

The tie-up also puts into focus why UEM Land launched an RM1.4bil takeover of property developer Sunrise Bhd, which was completed early this year.

“We believe UEM Land will be able to leverage on Sunrise’s expertise in lifestyle integrated developments to take on the proposed developments. As such, Sunrise will be taking the lead on behalf of UEM Land in undertaking these development projects,” said an OSK Research report.

UEM is among the top landowners in Iskandar Malaysia, with 1,300 acres of development land in the southern economic corridor. Among the several economic corridors spearheaded by the Government, Iskandar Malaysia remains the most upbeat and vibrant. In many ways, according to analysts, the alliance of the two government investment holding companies is expected to be a win-win proposition for both sides.

As a result of the Khazanah-Temasek joint venture (JV), UEM Land, together with Mapletree Investments Pte Ltd, have been appointed to oversee the marketing and development of four parcels of land at Marina South in Singapore.

UEM Land is the property arm of Khazanah, while Mapletree Investments is one of Temasek’s two real estate portfolio companies. The other Temasek property company is CapitaLand group.

The planned mixed-use development on the 2.62ha white site at Marina South would comprise two office towers with ancillary retail and two blocks of residential towers with a combined gross floor area (GFA) of 341,000 sq m, a statement from the Mapletree website said.

Located on adjoining sites behind the Marina Bay Financial Centre in the new financial and business cluster of Downtown Marina Bay, the development will be positioned between the proposed linear park and a major public open space above the Marina Bay MRT station. Its proximity to the Marina Bay and future Downtown MRT stations will ensure that it is well served and easily accessible.

Construction works are expected to commence in June 2012 with completion estimated in mid-2016.

At the same time, UEM Land will work with CapitaLand to oversee the Ophir-Rochor project in Singapore, located between the Kampong Glam Historic District and the Beach Road Conservation Area, in a new growth area envisioned to become a 24/7 mixed-use cluster. Like the Marina South parcels, the Ophir-Rochor parcels also have excellent connectivity.

By virtue of having Khazanah as an ultimate controlling shareholder, UEM Land (as with both Mapletree and CapitaLand in relation to Temasek) will be playing a huge role in this JV.

Sunrise, with its expertise and tangible portfolio of high-rise and high-end condominium in Mont’Kiara, will also have a huge role to play.

Hong Leong Research said: “UEM Land’s business model is primarily a two-pronged strategy of developing townships and niche projects – townships for stable income, complemented by niche projects to achieve enchanced growth and market branding. The bulk of its land is in Johor.”

With Khazanah’s JV, UEM Land’s opportunities have now broadened to include Singapore, where real estate is hot.

A UEM source said the success of Iskandar Malaysia is due to its proximity with the city state and its tremendous infrastructure, both economically and physically. Besides being a service and financial hub, it has an integrated transport system and other infrastructures like no other in South-East Asia.

“We are leveraging on Singapore’s tremendous connectivity. When we sell Iskandar, potential investors always ask – how many flights do we have in Iskandar Malaysia out to London? We ask them in return – how many flights do you want?

“The issue is not how many flights our domestic airport in Johor has, but how many flights does Changi Airport have? That is how close – geographically – we are to Singapore. Multiply that with the whole range of services that Singapore offers and you have the big picture. When we sell Iskandar, we are not just selling Johor; we are selling Johor and Singapore,” said the source.

http://www.starproperty.my/PropertyScene/TheStarOnlineHighlightBox/12943/0/0

mallow
29-06-2011, 04:36 PM
Hi to all forumers.. Does anyone have the contact number of a reliable mover for moving within JB? Thanks a lot..

I highly recommend Daniel - he moved us and many friends, and gives special rates when doing charity moves [donation of furniture ot charities in Johor]

see: http://www.puterim.com/joomla/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=145:relocating-to-johor-from-singapore-movers&catid=25:property&Itemid=29

Three years ago I checked with other neighbours and the price Daniel gave was cheaper significantly. Have not checked since then.

PS On another matter altogether: Mr Brown - Have you seen this?
http://www.mrbrownshow.com/2011/06/21/the-mrbrown-show-i-wanna-go-jb-music-video/

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 05:23 PM
Something is strange recently, seems even contractors are involved in some kind of selling of houses. Got approached by folks here who are asking me if i have contacts who are keen to buy houses/shops etc. Pricing they gave are quite steep though.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 05:24 PM
Welcome to the club Rhino! :)

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 05:25 PM
Hey Lastresort,

Yes,
XX - Girl
XY - Boy
Women by nature only has X while guys have X/Y

LeMans2011
29-06-2011, 05:29 PM
OK people... finally CRIME has landed on me in JB.

This is at Pearl Restaurant, ie a coffee shop opposite the Petronas kiosk where you can wait for bus CW3. I took my usual routine of going there for dinner about 10+ pm earlier last night. As i got down my car after parking, there was a bespectacled man in 30s beside my car... looked like a typical family man. I thought he was waiting for his family to get into his car beside mine. Instead, he spoke to me in Chinese "robbery"... i still din't get it... he repeated "robbery, get back into your car"... then only i noticed he was holding something which looked like a pistol.

I finally came to my senses this guy was trying to rob me... i was not sure if the pistol was real as i did not serve NS... but my impulse told me to counter-attack. I was shouting like a madman fighting for his life as i struggled with him and we both fell onto the road. During the struggle he fired a shot... i heard only small sound with some smoke coming out. So it was a fake gun. Within the split second his accomplice has taken my wife's wallet and came to join him. By then the people from the coffee shop realised this does not look like an ordinary fight and came forward but the two has fled.

Only my wife's pouch was taken with some RM100 bucks within, no other damage, except a few bruises on my mouth, elbow, toes.

Looks like my car has attracted some attention and someone has observed our routine. Fortunately they were amateurs with fake guns, otherwise things could have been worse.

So people... be watchful when you are out and about. Imagine this happened near a coffee shop with so many people around.

29-06-2011, 05:53 PM

Congrats on renting out! Can share what is the rental amount and where the tenant from? Err commission should be half month for one year or one month for two years, pretty standard rate leh, how come your commission so high?

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 05:54 PM

This is at Pearl Restaurant, ie a coffee shop opposite the Petronas kiosk where you can wait for bus CW3. I took my usual routine of going there for dinner about 10+ pm earlier last night. As i got down my car after parking, there was a bespectacled man in 30s beside my car... looked like a typical family man. I thought he was waiting for his family to get into his car beside mine. Instead, he spoke to me in Chinese "robbery"... i still din't get it... he repeated "robbery, get back into your car"... then only i noticed he was holding something which looked like a pistol.

I finally came to my senses this guy was trying to rob me... i was not sure if the pistol was real as i did not serve NS... but my impulse told me to counter-attack. I was shouting like a madman fighting for his life as i struggled with him and we both fell onto the road. During the struggle he fired a shot... i heard only small sound with some smoke coming out. So it was a fake gun. Within the split second his accomplice has taken my wife's wallet and came to join him. By then the people from the coffee shop realised this does not look like an ordinary fight and came forward but the two has fled.

Only my wife's pouch was taken with some RM100 bucks within, no other damage, except a few bruises on my mouth, elbow, toes.

Looks like my car has attracted some attention and someone has observed our routine. Fortunately they were amateurs with fake guns, otherwise things could have been worse.

So people... be watchful when you are out and about. Imagine this happened near a coffee shop with so many people around.

Bro Lemans, so sorry to hear. What type of car were you driving? J or S plate? They ran off, as in on a motorcycle or car?
Noticed that there were quite a few roadblocks around the area today, did you make a report?

29-06-2011, 05:57 PM

Sorry to hear about this robbery. So terrifying, you got report to police?

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 06:00 PM
Hi Lemans, can you confirm the location of the Petronas kiosk, is it this one?
BUKIT INDAH
Lot 2595, Bukit Indah 1
Johor Bahru 81200
Johor
Phone: 07-2242628

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 06:13 PM
Going out for some supper, will swing by that area shortly and will alert my friends to be more careful.

LeMans2011
29-06-2011, 06:16 PM
Hi Lemans, can you confirm the location of the Petronas kiosk, is it this one?
BUKIT INDAH
Lot 2595, Bukit Indah 1
Johor Bahru 81200
Johor
Phone: 07-2242628

I'm not sure, but there is actually a police station there

LeMans2011
29-06-2011, 06:21 PM
Wuqi, Ginfreely

Yes i reported at the police station which was just around the corner. You know they have night market there on Sunday evening. As i was really tired and a little bruised, i told them i would have to see their investigation officer the next day as i have critical work to do. Even the local reporting already took 2 hours, for robbery case they have to report to HQ and the investigation officer makes a rather lengthy report. I experienced this when my car window got smashed at Carrefour Sutera Mall a year back.

There is little they can do, its just formality. Anyway they have their regular road blocks these 2 mornings i noticed.

I guess i have tested out the crime activity. I drive a rather flashy SG plated car and must have given the impression i am loaded. Furthermore our habits of eating around the same time at same place must have attracted some attention. So, low profile is absolutely necessary.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 06:25 PM
Hi Lemans, attaching the google earth map. There are 2 Petronas stations nearby. Is it the one on the way to Perling or is it the one that is opposite a police station? The very busy often crowded coffeeshop which has some shops beside it selling joss papers, etc?

From the description though, it sounds like the latter rather than the former.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 06:36 PM
Ok Bro Lemans, i got it now, it should be at this place that i am attaching now. I have marked it out so that it looks
more readily identifiable.

If its really that place i would only go to mainly in my J plate car although i did notice several nice looking S plate
cars there.

S plate and flashy car eating at that place? Although crime can happen anywhere but this might really be tempting fate.
I noticed one more roadblock than usual and they even asked me questions today.

wuqi256
29-06-2011, 06:40 PM
Bro Lemans, got it. I understand from friends though, for robbery with guns, even faked ones, they will take extra notice.
Maybe just coincidence but it really seems tighter today, even in the rain they checked my car.

contra
29-06-2011, 08:56 PM

Hi RT,

You misunderstood my opinion. I meant work in Singapore and daily commute back and forth to JB.

There was a posting by an Irene who was doing daily commute and found her groove after a while.... will be good to read it.. Do not give up on first obstacle.

http://www.transitioning.org/2010/07/24/singaporeans-relocating-to-johor-bahru-2/

As for the neighbour, if you do not feel comfortable and you have tried the best you can to rectify then moving out to another place in JB is an option for sure. CW3 runs in Bukit Indah side to Jurong East station/IMM. I have seen many many motor bikes around 6am to Tuas from 2nd link. If you have bike, staying in Bukit Indah area is an option..

Bigfatfish
29-06-2011, 10:14 PM
Hi bros & sis

been a while since i logged on here. i feel strongly they are targeting s"poreans there. one evening after viewing we were approached by someone. don't wish to describe in details but we were lucky the owner of the restaurant came out and the guy went away.

very doggy. sometimes it voices down to luck. anyway, my fren's uncle got stopped at the petrol station once, someone was knocking on his windscreen. this person was using a baseball bat knocking on his windscreen. end result, pay money. even the people at the petrol station did nothing.

i was at a petronas station this week. the attendent only one sitting around chilling, suddenly he stood up and started making noise to people around pumping petrol. it seems like it's his Kampung! don't mess with me.

well it makes me wonder what kind of people petronas engage. well we are all in a foreign country, what can we do? this not singapore, so watch ourselves, watch our back. be as careful as we can. try to blend in with locals.

horizonhills
29-06-2011, 11:42 PM
oh dear oh dear! I love to dine here.. but always find that this place is too crowded and rowdy..

After that I makan at Crystal Pearl restauant which belongs to the son of Pearl coffeeshop ( about 100-200m away ).. I think u should drop by Crystal pearl instead.. anyway, its "higher" class

What car are u driving? Please do inform me because I am planning to upgrade my car recently when my wife told ( or bluff ) me that JB is very safe nowadays

euphony
29-06-2011, 11:47 PM
those bloody low lifers, wish i could bash their head in kick their groin out.
hope u & ur wife r fine now LeMans bro.

horizonhills
29-06-2011, 11:47 PM
I went into JB on Tuesday morning till 1130am. Found that the Jusco Bukit Indah leaing to the highway had strong police presence and road blocks. which appeared very normal as road blocks are very normal here.. Later on I found that even the Perling side just before the toll leading to the highway had stronger police presence and road block, which is the FIRST Time I have seen since my foray into JB 7-9 years ago. Some serious crimes must have occurred I told myself, as the jam at the road block at Perling took me a good 5 minutes. The police were obviously looking for some people.

contra
30-06-2011, 12:01 AM
My wife and I met her too when we visited HH for the 1st time... treated us well enough, although she forgot to update us on The Hills after we told her we wanted corner units. Second time I was there with my friend and wife; she gave decent service too. I told her I bought a corner unit in NI; maybe she felt guilty for forgetting to let me know about The Hills. Can't imagine she would purposely give bad service... but I guess we can't really tell. I guess different people will have different experiences.

Shinyi is probably the best salesperson of the lot I have met there. She can convince you to buy a higher priced unit by making logical rationale arguments. She is good . Some others quite blur. I also went thru the excuse by another of last-minute-MC, cannot make appointment to view site. Too bad in those cases for the salesperson concerned. I have even once been suggested not to buy in HH and instead, look at resale of another development, by one of HH's own salesperson! Sneaky side income happening...

Now, let me try explain why they are so like that, and why is not about how you dress....

When they are hungry to meet their monthly quota or when newly joined, you will be made to feel like royalty by the salesperson concerned. But if you go after mid-month (since HH sells by itself so well- noticed no landed show units?) after they have met their quota, you get ignored and treated like an itch. They do not get sales commission.

But I am impressed by this Prem whom I have one time spoken with briefly before. If she can stay in HH, I guess she is probably secondary income earner at home and just enjoys the job and interaction with people, regardless of quota having been met already..

Thus I believe it boils down to timing and some luck to have met the right salesperson at the right time.

Anyway if get bad service, so what? HH appeals so much to me that even if I have to deal with a robot, no problem.

When in Malaysia, and do not expect Singapore-level service, then 'bo boon tuay' .

euphony
30-06-2011, 01:01 AM
Anyway if get bad service, so what? HH appeals so much to me that even if I have to deal with a robot, no problem.

When in Malaysia, and do not expect Singapore-level service, then 'bo boon tuay' .

actually i find my service better than sg as a whole. Administration has less efficacy of cos. the 2 must be differentiated. i think the sales stuff is very important especially for housing projects because through them you unlock important information as to whether this project is suitable for you since it is a big ticket item. So far through several projects HH is the only one which I walked away without much detail in hand.

At setia tropika, i was looking at a particular unit and told the sales girl i will visit another time before making the decision, the next time I went, the other sales staff greeted me by name and apologized for the staff who had taken leave. They were up to speed on which unit and promptly arranged for transport to said unit. I dropped by jaws at their service and couldn't thank them enough even though i eventually did not buy.

at EL, i was there almost towards closing hour when the last few units of EL twin villa were still available. they told me to go have a look, i looked i fell in love and went back for more details, both the sales and banker sat with me patiently past knock off time even when we were the only ones around. i was the one who was wanting to leave as I was hungry! haha and i thanked them profusely.

at LF, the sales rep really went over the top for me. too much to even mention but the most important was her subtly alerting me to potential shortfalls if i choose to commit, mainly i must have my own transport to go in and around the area as she advised it may not be that accessible etc. i was showing a close foreigner friend around and she drove us inside and out of LF even to the larger iskandar area describing things which are happening. My friend and I dropped our jaws.

Perhaps I am spoilt after all these amazing service but I cannot condone bad ones because they then give people the idea it is the norm which is not le! >)
That said I am a happy owner now so as the hard decisions are over. Now am just preparing for the shift soon!

arsenal
30-06-2011, 01:22 AM
Victoria Police believed a spate of shootings in Melbourne's North (Glenroy) is being fuelled by a dispute over control of the local drugs trade.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2...29/3256104.htm

Six shooting incidents have been reported in Glenroy and nearby suburbs in recent weeks.

Yesterday afternoon, shots were exchanged between two cars on Hilda Avenue at Glenroy, with a bullet hitting one house.

This morning, dozens of police are searching cars and houses in the area.

Police say two rival families battling over control of the local drug trade are responsible for the violence.

What happens in the World's Most Liveable City???

Grago
30-06-2011, 02:14 AM

Hi Lemans,

Glad to hear that you and wife OK. Good for you, as your nick implies, got Balls..... (excuse the crude expression...:p) simply giving in could have resulted in a worse situation for both of you. Glad you had the presence and reacted quickly, not giving the coward a chance BUT happy you were not hurt. :D:D:D:D:D

Huang Lei
30-06-2011, 02:56 AM
Hi, can anyone suggest where to get ready marinated barbecue items at affordable price as well as the accessories needed. It will be convenient for me if you suggest one stop shop for all the barbecue items I need.:)

lastresort
30-06-2011, 03:19 AM

We've been to that coffee shop many times in the past and have chosen not to go there anymore, yes the place is crowded and the people can be rowdy. It's also very stuffy inside the coffeeshop, while it's really unclean at the road side area, but the main reason is because my dad drives a flashy car too.

I personally find older tamans more dangerous than new neighbourhoods. It is this kind of incident that is keeping many Singaporeans from coming and venturing further into small tamans.

While it is true crime happens every where. The difference between Singapore and JB is such incidents can happen in day broad light in crowded public places close to a "police post". It is less likely to happen in a crowded suburban market in Singapore.

It can happen to anyone, so let's all be more careful!

Narmi
30-06-2011, 03:39 AM

Hi

U may park at plaza pelangi cRpark itself. Been going thsre for many yrs. So far so good.

lastresort
30-06-2011, 03:49 AM
Hi

U may park at plaza pelangi cRpark itself. Been going thsre for many yrs. So far so good.

thanks bro, will try the food there!

Narmi
30-06-2011, 04:15 AM

This is at Pearl Restaurant, ie a coffee shop opposite the Petronas kiosk where you can wait for bus CW3. I took my usual routine of going there for dinner about 10+ pm earlier last night. As i got down my car after parking, there was a bespectacled man in 30s beside my car... looked like a typical family man. I thought he was waiting for his
family to get into his car beside mine. Instead, he spoke to me in Chinese "robbery"... i still din't get it... he
repeated "robbery, get back into your car"... then only i noticed he was holding something which looked like a
pistol.
I finally came to my senses this guy was trying to rob me... i was not sure if the pistol was real as i did not serve
NS... but my impulse told me to counter-attack. I was shouting like a madman fighting for his life as i struggled
with him and we both fell onto the road. During the struggle he fired a shot... i heard only small sound with some
smoke coming out. So it was a fake gun. Within the split second his accomplice has taken my wife's wallet and
came to join him. By then the people from the coffee shop realised this does not look like an ordinary fight and
came forward but the two has fled.

Only my wife's pouch was taken with some RM100 bucks within, no other damage, except a few bruises on my
mouth, elbow, toes.
Looks like my car has attracted some attention and someone has observed our routine. Fortunately they were
amateurs with fake guns, otherwise things could have been worse.

So people... be watchful when you are out and about. Imagine this happened near a coffee shop with so many
people around.

Sorry to hear that bro. Glad u r ok. We must always be vigilant and aware of our surroundings. Tho i would advise not to take risk unless u sure its a fqke gun. Tho i may hv gone thru ns i may not be able to distinguish bet fake or real gun at that very moment. Life is more precious.

Huang Lei
30-06-2011, 04:17 AM
Hi, can anyone suggest where to get readily marinated barbecue items as well as the accessories? It will be convenient for me if I get those from one stop shop.Thanks!

Skippy
30-06-2011, 04:21 AM
Hi Lemans,

Glad to hear that you and wife OK. Good for you, as your nick implies, got Balls..... (excuse the crude expression...:p) simply giving in could have resulted in a worse situation for both of you. Glad you had the presence and reacted quickly, not giving the coward a chance BUT happy you were not hurt. :D:D:D:D:D

Hi Lemans Bro...
Thank goodness that both of you are safe. Agree with Bro Grago... u very brave man to counter the "act decent" thief, give him a good lesson! Dun bully folks and of all should't be hurting folks! Young man willing to work hard a bit can surely find living & dun resort by harming fellow folks to gain money. Like that life also not happi.

I also agree that all of us need to stay alert at all times no mater you are XX or XY.

austin_hts
30-06-2011, 04:33 AM
Hi Narmi

My JB neighbours advised us to avoid plaza pelangi (& it's car park) and the streets behind if possible. When u're there, do be careful ... feel safer at KSL City (but parking quite expensive)....

Hi

Skippy
30-06-2011, 04:35 AM
thanks bro, will try the food there!

Hi Lastresort,

The thai steamboat has got parking lot right in front of the resturant. It's the row of shop houses... got a no. of resturant ard there. At the end, if i recall correctly got a CMIB bank.

Hope you like and enjoy!

Just some update... went to this
Best Chicken Chop place last evening "IT Roo Cafe" ... had dinner there to try out the food. The place got a very retro feel of old coffeeshop setting with modern air con or alfresco.. pictures on the wall, clock and a poster on late Princess Diana. It got crowded as i was eating half way through... tot some of sharing this place as some many also like the kopi there. I had their kaya and bread toast... yum yum.. reminds me of my childhood days of slice of butter (cold storage nu you) in between the toast bread with kaya... :p

Cheers... (thinking of a good time for the gathering)
p/s. Bros i like to pte invitation thingy.. but the mailbox here like limited.. got expert can help or teach me in this??

Narmi
30-06-2011, 04:37 AM
Hi Narmi

My JB neighbours advised us to avoid plaza pelangi (& it's car park) and the streets behind if possible. When u're there, do be careful ... feel safer at KSL City (but parking quite expensive)....

Thanx Austin. Will Always b alert n vigilant. Will be going there later in d afternoon btw.

lastresort
30-06-2011, 04:45 AM
Hi Lastresort,

The thai steamboat has got parking lot right in front of the resturant. It's the row of shop houses... got a no. of resturant ard there. At the end, if i recall correctly got a CMIB bank.

Hope you like and enjoy!

Just some update... went to this
Best Chicken Chop place last evening "IT Roo Cafe" ... had dinner there to try out the food. The place got a very retro feel of old coffeeshop setting with modern air con or alfresco.. pictures on the wall, clock and a poster on late Princess Diana. It got crowded as i was eating half way through... tot some of sharing this place as some many also like the kopi there. I had their kaya and bread toast... yum yum.. reminds me of my childhood days of slice of butter (cold storage nu you) in between the toast bread with kaya... :p

Cheers... (thinking of a good time for the gathering)
p/s. Bros i like to pte invitation thingy.. but the mailbox here like limited.. got expert can help or teach me in this??

Skippy sis, is IT Roo also behind plaza pelangi =p

Skippy
30-06-2011, 04:58 AM
Skippy sis, is IT Roo also behind plaza pelangi =p

nope..it's at jln Dorby.. (not sure i spell correct) near the HSBC bank on the way to danga bay from 1st link (link dua)....

Hee hee:D

lastresort
30-06-2011, 05:26 AM
nope..it's at jln Dorby.. (not sure i spell correct) near the HSBC bank on the way to danga bay from 1st link (link dua)....

Hee hee:D

great, i found it here with many other popular restaurants.

http://www.tripadvisor.in/Restaurants-g298278-Johor_Bahru_Johor.html#EATERY_OVERVIEW_BOX

http://apple4today.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/P1030792.jpg

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 06:36 AM
Ok Bro Lemans, i got it now, it should be at this place that i am attaching now. I have marked it out so that it looks
more readily identifiable.

If its really that place i would only go to mainly in my J plate car although i did notice several nice looking S plate
cars there.

S plate and flashy car eating at that place? Although crime can happen anywhere but this might really be tempting fate.
I noticed one more roadblock than usual and they even asked me questions today.

Wuqi,
Yes that's the place. I agree i have taken a bit too much risk here, though i never felt unsafe in my 2.5 years eating here as the customers are mostly regulars and families. There has been road blocks in the last 3 mornings and today as well. I guess keeping a low profile is the key... actually i still do recommend forummers to visit this coffeeshop as it is quite comfortable.

Ironically the reason for driving my SG car around is... i did not want to spend money buying another local car.

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 06:44 AM
oh dear oh dear! I love to dine here.. but always find that this place is too crowded and rowdy..

After that I makan at Crystal Pearl restauant which belongs to the son of Pearl coffeeshop ( about 100-200m away ).. I think u should drop by Crystal pearl instead.. anyway, its "higher" class

What car are u driving? Please do inform me because I am planning to upgrade my car recently when my wife told ( or bluff ) me that JB is very safe nowadays

Haha after 2.5 years here... i can confirm it is safe if you follow all the safety rules and stay alert... but the moment you flout any of the safety rules you face a very high risk. In my case, a year back we forgot and left a bag at the backseat and got our back window smashed. This time they actually plan this robbery, so i might have made them think i have money.

Is Crystal Pearl the one with the nice prawn noodles opposite to Kulai Claypot Noodle?

Car wise, a branded conti attracts attention, especially if it is white in color. Yes, white car is very prominent especially at night. My old car which i used for a year while staying in JB was a soft-top but it never attracted any attention.

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 06:52 AM
those bloody low lifers, wish i could bash their head in kick their groin out.
hope u & ur wife r fine now LeMans bro.

Yeah... my wife was not traumatised but just angry at facing crime the 2nd time in JB. But i reminded her she was very fortunate as she is still fine despite her high risk taking nature. I had to persuade her very hard not to walk my dog at night too far away from home. In JB women rarely dare to walk around alone at night. I am a little worried about her being alone in the day and might be planning to move to horizon hills until our house is ready. My concern arise from the fact i am not sure if the criminals laid in ambush, or if they observed and followed us from our home.

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 06:59 AM
Hi Lemans,

Grago,
Thanks for your concern. When you face something unexpected like this, you react with instinct as your mind basically go blank when someone points a gun at you. We read so much about how people get raped/robbed/killed at gunpoint, hence i have always prejudged in my mind i stand a better chance fighting them than to get back into the car and let them decide our fate, especially i cannot afford to risk my wife.

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 07:04 AM
Sorry to hear that bro. Glad u r ok. We must always be vigilant and aware of our surroundings. Tho i would advise not to take risk unless u sure its a fqke gun. Tho i may hv gone thru ns i may not be able to distinguish bet fake or real gun at that very moment. Life is more precious.

Hi Narmi,
Yes, i always advise my wife if this ever happens to her when i am not around, just give the criminal whatever they want. In this case i had to risk it, because he was asking me to get back into the car which could lead to a lot more complications.

contra
30-06-2011, 07:08 AM
Hi Lemans Bro...
Thank goodness that both of you are safe. Agree with Bro Grago... u very brave man to counter the "act decent" thief, give him a good lesson! Dun bully folks and of all should't be hurting folks! Young man willing to work hard a bit can surely find living & dun resort by harming fellow folks to gain money. Like that life also not happi.

I also agree that all of us need to stay alert at all times no mater you are XX or XY.

Hi LeMans, Is good you teached him a lesson. I hope you kicked the guy's nuts.

The word may be out that Singaporeans can fight back. This is good but be extra careful and think twice before fighting back as may not be same next time. They might start to arm with real weapons. They also learn their lessons.

I would carry two wallets from now. One with some limited but decent amount of cash to 'give' them, another with important documents and cards to remain in pocket.

Wherever you are, safety first. Glad you are ok buddy.

I believe the cops are starting to ratch up their game as well as tipping point is near and much publicised starting to go overdrive...

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 07:10 AM
Hi Skippy

Thanks for concern... when you experience crime for the first time you get shocked... when you get it the second time you get really angry... nevertheless one should still be careful, i heard from my colleague of a case where the robber dashed into macdonald to snatch a laptop and the young man fought back, got stabbed and died... sigh

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 07:16 AM
Hi LeMans, Is good you teached him a lesson. I hope you kicked the guy's nuts.

The word may be out that Singaporeans can fight back. This is good but be extra careful and think twice before fighting back as may not be same next time. They might start to arm with real weapons. They also learn their lessons.

I would carry two wallets from now. One with some limited but decent amount of cash to 'give' them, another with important documents and cards to remain in pocket.

Contra,
No... unfortunately i did not kick his nuts. My mind went blank and i focussed only on grabbing his gun but his arms were slippery.
Dispersing your money is a good idea. Carry only what is necessary. Still i would advise, if they ever ask you to get back into the car don't do it.

Skippy
30-06-2011, 07:21 AM
great, i found it here with many other popular restaurants.

http://www.tripadvisor.in/Restaurants-g298278-Johor_Bahru_Johor.html#EATERY_OVERVIEW_BOX

http://apple4today.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2010/10/P1030792.jpg

Wow Lastresort DiDi u fast checker sia... yeap nice photo.. u got it right. Got time do give a try...keke

horizonhills
30-06-2011, 07:24 AM
I have been involved in crime since I was a small boy at 16 when I ventured to JB alone by walking thru the old causeway to have lunch. During my 7 visit in a single year, I was almost robbed once and witnessed a mob of 50-100 shoppers chasing down a group of malay teenagers from City square out to their overhead bridge after a snatch theft incident. Seem that crime has moved to the new JB already.. a bit fed up.. this morning while changing my sing to ringgit, the lady in the counter wanted to pass me my RM 7k+ and she held on for a moment when an Indian chap on jb bike suddenly stopped by and wanted to change money.. with sunglass and helmet on.. and while he was changing, the lady and i purposely chatted about the exchange rate etc and not handle the money while the man is there.. after the man left, I asked why she was so afraid..

Her answer was that there had been cases of robbery recently, ALL targetted at her Singapore customs along that stretch of Nusa Bestari.. AND THE POLICE STATION IS JUST ACROSS THE ROAD !

Hi Skippy

Thanks for concern... when you experience crime for the first time you get shocked... when you get it the second time you get really angry... nevertheless one should still be careful, i heard from my colleague of a case where the robber dashed into macdonald to snatch a laptop and the young man fought back, got stabbed and died... sigh

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 07:32 AM
I have been involved in crime since I was a small boy at 16 when I ventured to JB alone by walking thru the old causeway to have lunch. During my 7 visit in a single year, I was almost robbed once and witnessed a mob of 50-100 shoppers chasing down a group of malay teenagers from City square out to their overhead bridge after a snatch theft incident. Seem that crime has moved to the new JB already.. a bit fed up.. this morning while changing my sing to ringgit, the lady in the counter wanted to pass me my RM 7k+ and she held on for a moment when an Indian chap on jb bike suddenly stopped by and wanted to change money.. with sunglass and helmet on.. and while he was changing, the lady and i purposely chatted about the exchange rate etc and not handle the money while the man is there.. after the man left, I asked why she was so afraid..

Her answer was that there had been cases of robbery recently, ALL targetted at her Singapore customs along that stretch of Nusa Bestari.. AND THE POLICE STATION IS JUST ACROSS THE ROAD !

Ah... i know which moneychanger you are talking about... there is indeed a high risk to be holding on to large sums of cash in JB. The other money changer near the CW3 terminal also has good rates. For me i would just remit money from SG, not too concern about the few dollars difference.

horizonhills
30-06-2011, 07:40 AM
Indeed the risk is high. To be frank, a S-plate ( no matter how big or small ) car are main targets of robbers. Cos to them, 1 dollar suddeny becomes RM 2.45. Put it bluntly, for every Singaporean that they rob, they need to rob 2 and a half Malaysians.

You havent tell us what car are u driving? No need to be too direct.. Issit Audi/BMW/Mercs?

Ah... i know which moneychanger you are talking about... there is indeed a high risk to be holding on to large sums of cash in JB. The other money changer near the CW3 terminal also has good rates. For me i would just remit money from SG, not too concern about the few dollars difference.

hpy090909
30-06-2011, 08:18 AM
is there any good steamboat at bukit indah area ?

pockaroo
30-06-2011, 08:41 AM

Maybe his issues are with the dog upstairs?

RafflesTiger
30-06-2011, 09:41 AM
Maybe his issues are with the dog upstairs?

So he bang things because he has problems with a dog? And I am quite sure he started the banging before the dog started barking... This malay man ah... Even parking got problems with people... Aiyoh... Got to tell him 9 times before he complied... If I want him to tone down, need to tell him 20 times perhaps..

Now someone is offering a room for 250rm in Indah something... I asked him to give more details about the location... Got bathroom somemore.. Is that the rate in JB now for a room? Not sure whether got air con..

For those brothers interested, I have emailed to Tong Carriage and they will probably provide me a quote for my furniture.. So you can have a rough idea on how much it would cost to move within JB..

pockaroo
30-06-2011, 09:52 AM
So he bang things because he has problems with a dog? And I am quite sure he started the banging before the dog started barking... This malay man ah... Even parking got problems with people... Aiyoh... Got to tell him 9 times before he complied... If I want him to tone down, need to tell him 20 times perhaps..

Maybe he is just another low life asshole. I have met people who think the whole world owes them something. Maybe moving elsewhere - if you can get out the lease agreement - might be a good thing. No point getting bothered and blood pressure rising with lowly lives like these.

pockaroo
30-06-2011, 10:00 AM
On a slightly separate topic.

This one is for the folks who live out in Leisure Farm. I am getting confused with the following and hope someone can advise/confirm.

1. Which of the precincts there where you are not allowed to keep dogs? Those strata freehold type like BWV and Garden Court? or is there a couple more? I want to try to narrow my search within Leisure Farm hopefully

2. Is Pinggiraran Bayou another name for Bayou Water Village? Or are they 2 different developments there?

3. Within BWV, are there only terrace houses? Those online ads keeps talking cluster houses, semi-D and even bungalows within BWV.

Thanks.

RafflesTiger
30-06-2011, 10:02 AM
Maybe he is just another low life asshole. I have met people who think the whole world owes them something. Maybe moving elsewhere - if you can get out the lease agreement - might be a good thing. No point getting bothered and blood pressure rising with lowly lives like these.

The lease agreement not a big problem, the uncle says just forfeit the one month deposit and thats it.. Utilities deposit he will return.. He is offering me a room in the hotel beside but I heard got vice and drugs...

I dunno whether the security chief has spoken to him or not... Moving is also tiring.. I hope he can tone down a bit lar... All of us Singaporean, he makes things so difficult for what.. Until I move out he happy.. He got into so many problems here liao, one time at pool, then car park, then banging things, next? Does he realise the bangs were so loud the auntie down the row can hear clearly? Why some people are like this I dun understand.. Like whole world owes them liddat... Also not say he stay 3 storey bungalow, just one small studio 4 people stay.. Maybe he got PHD thats why dun think much of others...

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 10:15 AM
1. Which of the precincts there where you are not allowed to keep dogs? Those strata freehold type like BWV and Garden Court? or is there a couple more? I want to try to narrow my search within Leisure Farm hopefully (Ans: Strata titled ones dont allow, i know BWV is one of them)

2. Is Pinggiraran Bayou another name for Bayou Water Village? Or are they 2 different developments there? (They are 2 different dev)

3. Within BWV, are there only terrace houses? Those online ads keeps talking cluster houses, semi-D and even bungalows within BWV. (i know they have semi-D and Bungalows, not sure about terrace but my guess is yes)

Euphony is the guy who will answer your question

pockaroo
30-06-2011, 10:16 AM
The lease agreement not a big problem, the uncle says just forfeit the one month deposit and thats it.. Utilities deposit he will return.. He is offering me a room in the hotel beside but I heard got vice and drugs...

OK, that makes things a lot easier to proceed. I hope you find something to your satisfaction.

RafflesTiger
30-06-2011, 10:52 AM
OK, that makes things a lot easier to proceed. I hope you find something to your satisfaction.

Some people we just cant fight with them... Quite sad that in a foreign country, its a singaporean making my life difficult... In fact, the locals are all quite kind and helpful...

The malay auntie went to talk to the security chief for me also no point.. That malay man not worried one.. He knows just bang and bang louder and louder somemore and eventually that guy next door will move out and they will be fine.. Owner won't do anything to them also.. Not his problem... So this kind of people, how to do anything but leave? I am not combative person.. Let them win lar, what to do.. This block only got them whole family stay here with 2 kids, so what to do?

Grago
30-06-2011, 11:15 AM
Some people we just cant fight with them... Quite sad that in a foreign country, its a singaporean making my life difficult... In fact, the locals are all quite kind and helpful...

The malay auntie went to talk to the security chief for me also no point.. That malay man not worried one.. He knows just bang and bang louder and louder somemore and eventually that guy next door will move out and they will be fine.. Owner won't do anything to them also.. Not his problem... So this kind of people, how to do anything but leave? I am not combative person.. Let them win lar, what to do.. This block only got them whole family stay here with 2 kids, so what to do?

Do you have a lease agreement? If yes, I presumed it's legal. Does it have a clause in it where it states you, the tenant are to have quite enjoyment of the leased property? If so, you have made it known to your landlord that the neighbour next door is being in an unreasonable manner and is disrupting your quite enjoyment of your lease. If yes and has the land lord made any attempt to speak to the neighbour to inform him of his diruptive behaviour. If the landlord has not been able to resolved the matter for you, then HE should NOT forfeit your deposit. He HAS BROKEN the lease agreement by not providing you with a place to quitely enjoy yourself!! Read your agreement and give it a try with resolve. OK!!!

toyohon
30-06-2011, 11:29 AM
I went into JB on Tuesday morning till 1130am. Found that the Jusco Bukit Indah leaing to the highway had strong police presence and road blocks. which appeared very normal as road blocks are very normal here.. Later on I found that even the Perling side just before the toll leading to the highway had stronger police presence and road block, which is the FIRST Time I have seen since my foray into JB 7-9 years ago. Some serious crimes must have occurred I told myself, as the jam at the road block at Perling took me a good 5 minutes. The police were obviously looking for some people.

Trust me their presence has nothing to do with increase of criminal activities. If you know about the 9 Jul rally in K.L, you'll understand why.

euphony
30-06-2011, 11:45 AM
On a slightly separate topic.

This one is for the folks who live out in Leisure Farm. I am getting confused with the following and hope someone can advise/confirm.

1. Which of the precincts there where you are not allowed to keep dogs? Those strata freehold type like BWV and Garden Court? or is there a couple more? I want to try to narrow my search within Leisure Farm hopefully

2. Is Pinggiraran Bayou another name for Bayou Water Village? Or are they 2 different developments there?

3. Within BWV, are there only terrace houses? Those online ads keeps talking cluster houses, semi-D and even bungalows within BWV.

Thanks.

I try my best! LeMan bro taking your cue =)

1. All strata titled in LF you have to sign the agreement have 'no-dog' clause does not apply to 'buy-land precincts' and the most recent bayou creek project.
2. There are 3 'phases' of strata-titled developments - 1st was garden court, 2nd Pinggiraran Bayou and 3rd and most recent BWV. All completed. They are however completely separate projects with independent resident committees taking care of individual phases (its a bit more complicated but let's simplify for now).
3. In BWV there are bungalows, semi-D and terraces. All bungalows and semi-Ds are fully sold. You can only purchase them sub-sale which is what you see in online ads. Most of the terraces are also sold as well there are about 6-7 units left but these are fully furnished and marked up in price to sell from the developers hands.

rhino
30-06-2011, 12:38 PM
Sultan? Wow interesting. Don't think I am near him. Mine just a superlink.

rhino
30-06-2011, 12:42 PM
Glad you and your wife are ok. You are brave siah! It is scary to see more of such outright robbery in nusajaya. Can't imagine what things will become in few years down the road!

mallow
30-06-2011, 03:03 PM
Haha after 2.5 years here... i can confirm it is safe if you follow all the safety rules and stay alert... but the moment you flout any of the safety rules you face a very high risk. In my case, a year back we forgot and left a bag at the backseat and got our back window smashed. This time they actually plan this robbery, so i might have made them think i have money... My old car which i used for a year while staying in JB was a soft-top but it never attracted any attention.

Appalled by the incident and applaud your courage and stubborn spirit! Very sorry you both had to endure such a bad experience.

Much as we would like to live "freely" i.e. to dress, drive and do as we please all the time, it is unwise in Johor [and not smart in Singapore either].

I cannot find anyone or any site that gives the final word on how best to react in a situation like this one: fight and risk serious injury, or give in and take the risk of gratuitous violence anyway. And you were constrained by consideration for your wife's safety. It is also probable that every situation is different, so a definitive answer may not be possible.

Vigilance without paranoia; nothing to give the impression that there is anything worth stealing; no handbag, attractive box or parcel visible and definitely not on your lap; park in an area with people and close to the destination - preferably with your vehicle in sight, front and back; Look Alert - casual and relaxed makes an easier target; get in and out quickly enough and lock the doors immediately using the alarm [no excuses that the alarm is not working]. There are many other suggestions eg which weapon to have handy and a really loud alarm to set off.

So right about rehearsing what you will do in case of a confrontation or attack. I seriously mean you should practise what your series of actions would be. Include your wife in all this - she sounds like a properly garang person.

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 03:35 PM
Glad you and your wife are ok. You are brave siah! It is scary to see more of such outright robbery in nusajaya. Can't imagine what things will become in few years down the road!

Rhino,
Thanks, i guess with the economic boom Nusajaya is experiencing comes along crime - due to presence of more "well off people" in the eyes of the robbers. For example if you drive a branded marque they will think you live in horizon hills, really. Sadly this is a journey many will have to go through. To us it is pretty obvious the police need to do a lot more. To the police life goes on as usual, they do their usual investigations, road blocks, etc. Alarm bells don't seem to be ringing yet, but i believe it will ring soon... latest 2012 :)

LeMans2011
30-06-2011, 03:51 PM
... Vigilance without paranoia... rehearsing what you will do in case of a confrontation or attack. I seriously mean you should practise what your series of actions would be. Include your wife in all this - she sounds like a properly garang person.

Mallow,

Thanks for your kind words. It is indeed good to rehearse in the mind at least... like the fire drill they do in the office. Normally people are caught unexpectedly hence not knowing how to react. All along my attention was focussed on the safety of the car, but now it seems they are capable of attacking the passenger as well and that to me is a different level of crime.

I had to complete my paperwork at the Nusajaya Police HQ along Nusa Bestari earlier on and the Inspector told me there were 2 cases at the same place last month. In one of the cases the robber attacked the driver with a metal rod repeatedly the moment driver got out of his car.

So my advise to forummers is: parking your car and getting out is a vulnerable moment because your attention is focussed on parking your car. Hence look carefully before you unlock or get out of your car.

vincentck
30-06-2011, 03:58 PM

Good to know that both you and wifey are fine. It's pretty scary hearing about this. I'm not sure if I would have fought the guy off since I'm pretty small size, only 165cm @ 60kg; unless the guy is the same built as me. Good thing you prepared yourself mentally to react. And I know how it feels to be rob since I was rob at knife point 18 years ago while walking in my hometown streets... Take care...

maxpark
30-06-2011, 04:10 PM
Rhino,
Thanks, i guess with the economic boom Nusajaya is experiencing comes along crime - due to presence of more "well off people" in the eyes of the robbers. For example if you drive a branded marque they will think you live in horizon hills, really. Sadly this is a journey many will have to go through. To us it is pretty obvious the police need to do a lot more. To the police life goes on as usual, they do their usual investigations, road blocks, etc. Alarm bells don't seem to be ringing yet, but i believe it will ring soon... latest 2012 :)

Sorry to hear this but glad you and wife are ok.
Certainly very disconcerting to hear such news and sometimes you wonder if its worth all the extra risks.
Surely will switch on my extra "alert" mode next time in JB.., sigh!

Take care, cheers!

vincentck
30-06-2011, 04:13 PM
My wife and I are getting into a habit of locking our car doors when driving in SG so that when we finally move to Nusajaya, we will do it automatically. Last time in my old car, I had an alarm system that autolock the car doors when you press the brake pedal and will auto-unlock when the car is turned off. Our current SG car doesn't have this feature because it's "safe" in SG. Need to look into installing something similar for our safety. And now that you mentioned about the guy being hit when getting out from the car, that's another habit we need to cultivate to look around before exiting/entering the car.

On the 9th July rally, I believe all Msian police have been instructed to arrest anyone wearing yellow with Bersih (Clean) words as it is now considered "illegal". We, Malaysians are demanding a fair and transparent election and 9th July will be the rally to walk to the Agung's Palace to handover the memorandum. The MY Gov is doing all in their power to stop the rally; which is why they are checking all cars, etc. As we approach 9th July, a word of advice not to wear yellow in MY if you do not want to be mistaken as supporting the rally. The organizers are requesting all the supporters to reach KL a day or 2 earlier, so I believe the police will step up their roadblocks to stop the rally.

Side note: Converted SGD to RM at Bedok Interchange at 2.4465 today; long queue of 8 ppl...

mika14
30-06-2011, 05:49 PM
hi,

am currently staying in a rented place in Permas Jaya.
just asking where in JB can i take good executive potrait photographs?
also any good language schools where i can learn Bahasa?

thanks!

pockaroo
30-06-2011, 08:56 PM
I try my best! LeMan bro taking your cue =)

1. All strata titled in LF you have to sign the agreement have 'no-dog' clause does not apply to 'buy-land precincts' and the most recent bayou creek project.
2. There are 3 'phases' of strata-titled developments - 1st was garden court, 2nd Pinggiraran Bayou and 3rd and most recent BWV. All completed. They are however completely separate projects with independent resident committees taking care of individual phases (its a bit more complicated but let's simplify for now).
3. In BWV there are bungalows, semi-D and terraces. All bungalows and semi-Ds are fully sold. You can only purchase them sub-sale which is what you see in online ads. Most of the terraces are also sold as well there are about 6-7 units left but these are fully furnished and marked up in price to sell from the developers hands.

Thanks for your clarification. So to summarise, strata freehold (Garden Court, Pinggiraran Bayou, BWV and Bayou Creek) no dogs. Bummer. Can I PM you separately to consult you on some other specifics about LF?

horizonhills
30-06-2011, 10:32 PM
Hmm, traditionally the political rallies will take place in KL. Never heard of any serious march or rallies in JB. This time round maybe they are playing it safe?

Trust me their presence has nothing to do with increase of criminal activities. If you know about the 9 Jul rally in K.L, you'll understand why.

horizonhills
30-06-2011, 10:40 PM
Guys, be extra careful nowadays. Just 2-3 years ago, Nusajaya was quite safe compared to JB city centre. Now even with stronger polis presence, robbers are making their crimes felt more strongly as well. The past 3 months I have heard of car smashing cases along Habib side ( inner part ), robbery cum kidnap in Jusco carpark at 6am+ and several robberies in money changers. It makes car and house break-ins look very ordinary that the police just record down statements without any further investigation. My wifes' neighbour house got broke in a few weeks ago and the police dont even bother to come to dust for fingerprints. I dont know if they are lazy or they dont know how crucial first-time dusting of fingerprints can lead to the crimes being solved.

And sometimes I even wonder if the police had any connection or partnership with the robbers. I had been praising the police for their strong presence for the past 1-2 years. Now I guess I gota take my word back. JB is still JB. Nowhere more safe than in the past.

tansi
01-07-2011, 12:07 AM
Hmm, traditionally the political rallies will take place in KL. Never heard of any serious march or rallies in JB. This time round maybe they are playing it safe?

newspaper reported police detained rally supporters in johor and other states. political rallies in KL have paticipants coming from various party branch offices on the country

cathylmg
01-07-2011, 01:17 AM
Cathy, how come u paid 1 month for a 1 year contract? As I know, it should be 1/2 month for a 1 year contract, both landlord and tenant pays 1/2 month commission in SG. So, the agent gets 1 month commission.

I paid 1 month while my tenant paid another half month to my agent.

No choice, the agent pester and pester me to sign the contract, then pester and pester and pester me constantly to pay up, even resort to vulgar words. Then didn't even advise on the permit part. I had to run all the permit applications myself. Very bad service. As I find that the tenant is also a good decent one, I just let it go. No point dragging on...Hopefully all is well ends well. Must concentrate on my current house now. Dont have time to keep dealing with him.

I know that local agent keep track of tenant's contract endings and come back to make a 2nd round, 3rd of contract and earn commission again and again. So I told the tenant that if he wants to renew the contract, don't go to the agent, come to me directly.

There will be no more business for this particular agent in the future.

cathylmg
01-07-2011, 01:30 AM
Congrats on renting out! Can share what is the rental amount and where the tenant from? Err commission should be half month for one year or one month for two years, pretty standard rate leh, how come your commission so high?

$2.5K monthly for a 5 room flat plus $500 yearly aircon maintenance contract. Commission 1 month for 1 year contract. Tenant from India working in a bank. Rather high post. Travels to KL 2 days a week.

hangyong
01-07-2011, 01:37 AM
$2.5K monthly for a 5 room flat plus $500 yearly aircon maintenance contract. Commission 1 month for 1 year contract. Tenant from India working in a bank. Rather high post. Travels to KL 2 days a week.

fwah! $2.5k per month?? enough to pay monthly installment of a RM1million unit over 20 years tenure.

euphony
01-07-2011, 01:46 AM
Thanks for your clarification. So to summarise, strata freehold (Garden Court, Pinggiraran Bayou, BWV and Bayou Creek) no dogs. Bummer. Can I PM you separately to consult you on some other specifics about LF?

sure do! =)
bayou creek is ok as its not strata-titled.
'small pets' are ok so long as kept within the house am contemplating cats in the future...

cathylmg
01-07-2011, 02:05 AM
fwah! $2.5k per month?? enough to pay monthly installment of a RM1million unit over 20 years tenure.

Yap, hangyong. Will use it to pay up the HDB loans. Then proceed with the JB house loan. Thats the plan. :D

nusajayaphile
01-07-2011, 02:30 AM

S$2.5K for a 5 room HDB flat seems on the low side. Just renewed rental with our tenant for our 3-room HDB flat in Tampines for S$2,200 for 2 years. Some 3-room flats asking for S$2.5K in Q'town and Tanglin Halt. 5-room going for S$3K and above, depending on location.

austin_hts
01-07-2011, 02:31 AM
Hello

Can I check if it is SOP to give tips after a massage? What is the standard rate?
Thanks !

hangyong
01-07-2011, 02:33 AM
S$2.5K for a 5 room HDB flat seems on the low side. Just renewed rental with our tenant for our 3-room HDB flat in Tampines for S$2,200 for 2 years. Some 3-room flats asking for S$2.5K in Q'town and Tanglin Halt. 5-room going for S$3K and above, depending on location.

wah.... you all joking right? rental so expensive now??????

wuqi256
01-07-2011, 02:37 AM
Hello

Can I check if it is SOP to give tips after a massage? What is the standard rate?
Thanks !

No tips normally, at most 5-10 RM unless you are really happy.

I did once give a nice tip to a lady who did my hair.
It wasn't a normal hair cut plus wash. First class service as she massaged my scalp, neck, shoulders and back. I walked out feeling very relaxed and she was surprised at the amount i gave. The next time i walked in, i was treated like a king. :)

Serenity
01-07-2011, 03:36 AM

No choice, the agent pester and pester me to sign the contract, then pester and pester and pester me constantly to pay up, even resort to vulgar words. Then didn't even advise on the permit part. I had to run all the permit applications myself. Very bad service. As I find that the tenant is also a good decent one, I just let it go. No point dragging on...Hopefully all is well ends well. Must concentrate on my current house now. Dont have time to keep dealing with him.

I know that local agent keep track of tenant's contract endings and come back to make a 2nd round, 3rd of contract and earn commission again and again. So I told the tenant that if he wants to renew the contract, don't go to the agent, come to me directly.

This is dual representation, complain to CEA http://www.cea.gov.sg and he will be out of business.

Inception
01-07-2011, 05:08 AM
I cannot find anyone or any site that gives the final word on how best to react in a situation like this one: fight and risk serious injury, or give in and take the risk of gratuitous violence anyway. And you were constrained by consideration for your wife's safety. It is also probable that every situation is different, so a definitive answer may not be possible.

Sascha Soliano Served 12 years in the Singapore Armed Forces, 10 of which was with HQ Commando Special Operations Force, now currently known as SOTF. He served in SOF where he specialized in Maritime Seal Type Operations.

During his tour in Special Forces, Sascha was sent for different courses to facilitate the requirements of his job scope, One of the many skillsets he picked up along the way was Krav Maga, he was the first batch of operators to be trained directly under Eyal Yanilov and his team from Israel and excelled very quickly in it due to his passion for Martial Arts, ultimately bagging the best trainee award (Military) for his performance and in depth understanding of Krav Maga.

Sascha is currently the Chief Instructor & Director of Krav Maga Singapore under Krav Maga Global & has been teaching Krav Maga for the past 5 years coming since he left the service in March of 2006.

He currently still trains the Singapore Special Forces and specialized Law Enforcement Departments in the Methods of Krav Maga under Krav Maga Global, the Advancing Source for all Krav Maga.

Sascha says he asks his students what they would do if a mugger asked for their wallet. Some of them insist they would “take him down”, he says. But why put yourself in danger when the only thing he wants is your wallet, he questions. When I suggested that krav maga would be useful in situations such as walking down an empty street at night, he shot back: “Why are you walking alone at night?”

https://www.facebook.com/notes/krav-maga-singapore/mind-your-body-straits-times/423358327046

http://www.kravmaga.com.sg/

<object width="480" height="390"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/07jnqD8wvyE?version=3&amp;hl=en_GB&amp;rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/07jnqD8wvyE?version=3&amp;hl=en_GB&amp;rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="480" height="390" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>

Skippy
01-07-2011, 07:17 AM
wah.... you all joking right? rental so expensive now??????

Rental in Jurong is just much... 4rm for abt $2600+... guess market is up ... hence why the govt is making the agents licenced....

It's TGIF!!

nusajayaphile
01-07-2011, 07:49 AM
Rental in Jurong is just much... 4rm for abt $2600+... guess market is up ... hence why the govt is making the agents licenced....

It's TGIF!!

Yeah, that's why I was surprised that 5-rm rented out for S$2.5K only. Real bargain! Duxton 5-rm already asking S$3.8K, but of course that's in the heart of Tanjong Pagar. Can walk to office for the tenant.

I think it's good for forumers who are living in JB and have HDB flat to rent out. Can fetch good rent to service the loan for the JB house, and HDB flat if still o/s loan.

geritan
01-07-2011, 08:21 AM

Yes, don't give business to this kind of agent. Market rate should be 0.5 month each from owner and tenant. For the next contract, if you are renewing with the same tenant, you can actually draft your own contract, signed and ask your tenant to do stamping at IRAS. For you as owner, you only need to re-apply permit from HDB and submit a form to IRAS for income tax purpose. This is my experience. Correct me if I'm wrong.

mallow
01-07-2011, 10:47 AM
[QUOTE=Inception;765850]Sascha Soliano Served 12 years in the Singapore Armed Forces, 10 of which was with HQ Commando Special Operations Force, now currently known as SOTF. He served in SOF where he specialized in Maritime Seal Type Operations...He was the first batch of operators to be trained directly under Eyal Yanilov and his team from Israel ... ultimately bagging the best trainee award (Military) for his performance and in depth understanding of Krav Maga. Sascha is currently the Chief Instructor & Director of Krav Maga Singapore under Krav Maga Global & has been teaching Krav Maga for the past 5 years coming since he left the service in March of 2006.
He currently still trains the Singapore Special Forces and specialized Law Enforcement Departments in the Methods of Krav Maga under Krav Maga Global, the Advancing Source for all Krav Maga.
Sascha says he asks his students what they would do if a mugger asked for their wallet. Some of them insist they would “take him down”, he says. But why put yourself in danger when the only thing he wants is your wallet, he questions. When I suggested that krav maga would be useful in situations such as walking down an empty street at night, he shot back: “Why are you walking alone at night?”
https://www.facebook.com/notes/krav-maga-singapore/mind-your-body-straits-times/423358327046

BRILLIANT Inception. Thank you - useful to all. But must be in touch with SS for some personal instruction: how a 61 year old weaponless woman with thin wrists should think and act in most situations when facing imminent robbery.

tansi
01-07-2011, 11:23 AM
Sascha Soliano Served 12 years in the Singapore Armed Forces, 10 of which was with HQ Commando Special Operations Force, now currently known as SOTF. He served in SOF where he specialized in Maritime Seal Type Operations.

During his tour in Special Forces, Sascha was sent for different courses to facilitate the requirements of his job scope, One of the many skillsets he picked up along the way was Krav Maga, he was the first batch of operators to be trained directly under Eyal Yanilov and his team from Israel and excelled very quickly in it due to his passion for Martial Arts, ultimately bagging the best trainee award (Military) for his performance and in depth understanding of Krav Maga.

Sascha is currently the Chief Instructor & Director of Krav Maga Singapore under Krav Maga Global & has been teaching Krav Maga for the past 5 years coming since he left the service in March of 2006.

<object width="480" height="390"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/07jnqD8wvyE?version=3&amp;hl=en_GB&amp;rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube-nocookie.com/v/07jnqD8wvyE?version=3&amp;hl=en_GB&amp;rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="480" height="390" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true"></embed></object>

Martial art experts know there is always uncertainty in a fight, hence avoid fighting unless you are cornered. However, when the robber ordered the couple to get into the car, the risk became higher, you won't know whether he just want to rob on the spot and then escape, or he would threaten to drive to somewhere else where anything more than robbing could happen. It is safer to fight back to limit the risk. Only one thing is sure, a fight would draw the attention of the coffeeshop crowd and the robber would want to escape fast.
Mallow responded correctly.

wuqi256
01-07-2011, 02:22 PM
More and more crime happening these days unfortunately.

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Singapore.html

Jul 1, 2011
Man who robbed elderly nabbed near Bedok MRT
By Danson Cheong

More than 60 police officers staked out to catch a man who robs the elderly.

Accordingly to The Straits Times online, police officers staked out at MRT stations and pawnshops all over the island for three days to catch a man who robs elderly women.

53-year-old Lim Choon Gui was finally arrested near Bedok MRT station.

The man had allegedly robbed more than ten elderly women between their 60s to 80s. He would attack his victims in lifts by pushing them and snatching the gold chains they were wearing. He would then make a run for it and try to sell the loot at nearby pawnshops.

The robberies took place between 24 May to 25 June this year in housing estates including Bedok, Tampines, Ang Mo Kio, Hougang and Toa Payoh.

austin_hts
01-07-2011, 02:31 PM
Huge huge jam at woodlands now . . 1030pm . . Why why ?

Narmi
01-07-2011, 02:51 PM
Good to know that both you and wifey are fine. It's pretty scary hearing about this. I'm not sure if I would have fought the guy off since I'm pretty small size, only 165cm @ 60kg; unless the guy is the same built as me. Good thing you prepared yourself mentally to react. And I know how it feels to be rob since I was rob at knife point 18 years ago while walking in my hometown streets... Take care...

I think i will give the fella my rugby tackle (i played rugby)and he wont know what hits him with my 100+kg frame hitting his lower half -- momentary paralysis? :)

Narmi
01-07-2011, 02:54 PM
Huge huge jam at woodlands now . . 1030pm . . Why why ?

Ya its spore side and not the jb side cause the causeway is clear. Cld it be due to the train station at woodlands now?

mallow
01-07-2011, 03:16 PM
Free key-rings
Just received this - may be real or another net scare with no basis of truth ... anyway, better to know than not.

"There is a syndicate of criminals presenting themselves as sales promoters who are giving free key-rings holders at gas stations or parking lots.

The key ring has a tracking device chip which allows them to follow you. Please don't accept them. They select their seemingly well-to-do potential victims and if you accept, then you will be in for their tricks.

The key holders are very beautiful hard to resist accepting, but remember you may end up paying more than the key holder, including the risk to your life."

wuqi256
01-07-2011, 03:22 PM
Free key-rings
Just received this - may be real or another net scare with no basis of truth ... anyway, better to know than not.

"There is a syndicate of criminals presenting themselves as sales promoters who are giving free key-rings holders at gas stations or parking lots.

The key ring has a tracking device chip which allows them to follow you. Please don't accept them. They select their seemingly well-to-do potential victims and if you accept, then you will be in for their tricks.

The key holders are very beautiful hard to resist accepting, but remember you may end up paying more than the key holder, including the risk to your life."

Thanks for the heads up mallow, i will do what my friends always do when they receive weird things, trash it or dunk it in a drink that they are throwing away. At least the electronics will be toast...

Narmi
01-07-2011, 03:23 PM
Free key-rings

The key holders are very beautiful hard to resist accepting, but remember you may end up paying more than the
key holder, including the risk to your life."

Mallow wah really ah soo advanced ah these sound like stuffs for spy and cost a lot rite?

LeMans2011
01-07-2011, 03:30 PM
Free key-rings

Thanks for the tips... always good to know more

vincentck
01-07-2011, 03:31 PM
Yap, hangyong. Will use it to pay up the HDB loans. Then proceed with the JB house loan. Thats the plan. :D

Hi Cathy, should you settle the one with the higher interest rate first? Of course use the rent to pay the hdb instalment and any balance should go towards settling the MY bank loan because it has higher interest rates... what do u think?

LeMans2011
01-07-2011, 03:32 PM
Ya its spore side and not the jb side cause the causeway is clear. Cld it be due to the train station at woodlands now?

There was a momentary jam at Tuas at 830pm as well... it seems the SG police were looking for someone

vincentck
01-07-2011, 03:43 PM
I think i will give the fella my rugby tackle (i played rugby)and he wont know what hits him with my 100+kg frame hitting his lower half -- momentary paralysis? :)

Heheh... definite advantage to being larger size... yah, that time small boy... just gave the money and the guy ran off....

Cathy, since you just recently rented out your hdb, you might want to pursue this case of the rotten agent and get back your money... up to you

01-07-2011, 04:35 PM

You mean the agent pester you to pay up commission before handover of the apartment to tenant? Are you renting out fully furnished, the agent should help you to prepare an inventory list.

01-07-2011, 04:44 PM
:D

Hmm Indian FT with high post, must charge high high :D Make all these foreigners who come here to take locals' jobs pay for it!

BTW saw in today's Straits times that the median monthly rent for 5 room in first quarter this year is $2300 for Tampines.

01-07-2011, 04:51 PM

Wow $2200 for 3 room in Tampines! The median is $1750 in today's Straits times. Can share how you managed to rent out at higher end? Is your apartment 1 minute to Mrt? Very nicely furnished? :D

arsenal
01-07-2011, 05:25 PM
Hi,

I went to HH this afternoon.. Can I check with the bros here am I expected to ask for discount or the price is fixed?
If I can expected to ask for discount, what kind of discount am is reasonable to ask?

Rgds

horizonhills
01-07-2011, 10:06 PM
Hi are you looking at the units in the Hills? They cant offer any discount as the prices are fixed :) Enjoy your shopping.

Hi,

I went to HH this afternoon.. Can I check with the bros here am I expected to ask for discount or the price is fixed?
If I can expected to ask for discount, what kind of discount am is reasonable to ask?

Rgds

horizonhills
01-07-2011, 10:13 PM

I heard from one of my property agent tenant that ONE room at Duxton Pinnacle is renting out for above $1000. Crazy price. Condo rooms are asking for about $800

Narmi
02-07-2011, 12:06 AM
Jam both ways at causeway now 0807hrs

citizen2116
02-07-2011, 12:20 AM
Has anybody tried to renew their Sgporea passport? The new form requires u to declare that u are nt holding another citizenship. What is the penalty if you are found lying in the form?

Grago
02-07-2011, 12:51 AM

Anyone knows if 2nd link jam or clear? Thanks.

Grago
02-07-2011, 12:56 AM

Anyone knows if 2nd link jam or clear? Thanks.

austin_hts
02-07-2011, 01:19 AM
Ya its spore side and not the jb side cause the causeway is clear. Cld it be due t
o the train station at woodlands now?

took me one hour to reach spore customs @1130pm. Malaysia side ok . . . Worst I have experienced so far. Jam from exit to woodlands ave 3. . .

lastresort
02-07-2011, 01:28 AM
Hi Cathy, should you settle the one with the higher interest rate first? Of course use the rent to pay the hdb instalment and any balance should go towards settling the MY bank loan because it has higher interest rates... what do u think?

not just that, you have to take into consideration price movements between both currencies.

lastresort
02-07-2011, 01:32 AM

not just that, you have to take into consideration price movements between both currencies. SGD is generally appreciating against RM in the longer term, while the difference in a year may not be as much as the difference in interests incurred. Also have to see if both accounts are structured the same. In the beginning, you may be paying more interests than principal amount, that i mean is after the progressive payment period.

jasonjst
04-07-2011, 01:46 AM
took me one hour to reach spore customs @1130pm. Malaysia side ok . . . Worst I have experienced so far. Jam from exit to woodlands ave 3. . .

The thing is when SG custom created a big jam ( most of the time ) , nobody complaint . They say for our own safety, it is good !
When MY custom created a big jam once in a while , ppl make a hell lots of noise !

austin_hts
04-07-2011, 03:25 AM
Hi

Anyone knows which bank offers the best rate for new housing loans now?
BLR - 2.4 ?

Thanks.

Inception
04-07-2011, 04:04 AM
Hi

BLR - 2.4 ?

Thanks.

HSBC: BLR (6.60) -2.40%
Standard Chartered: BLR (6.60) -2.40%
Alliance: BLR (6.60) -2.40%
Public Bank: BLR – 2.20%

euphony
04-07-2011, 04:14 AM
Adding on:
UOB -2.4%

east539
04-07-2011, 07:00 AM
start reading this thread for 3 weeks or more & finally took the plunge & booked a unit at The Hills, love the scenery there although not much is there at the hills precinct area, was told it will be ready by Mar 2013 or until May maybe...

viewed quite a few like EL, NI, Sertia Eco Gardens, Nusa Duta & some others, but in the end still prefer HH......

hangyong
04-07-2011, 12:53 PM
Hi

BLR - 2.4 ?

Thanks.

actually most banks offer BLR-2.4%

And most of them offers the full flexi plan as well.

I chose Alliance in the end coz the Islamic Package gave me 0.05% interest on the excess I pay into the linked account.

RafflesTiger
04-07-2011, 01:23 PM

Now someone is offering a room for 250rm in Indah something... I asked him to give more details about the location... Got bathroom somemore.. Is that the rate in JB now for a room? Not sure whether got air con..

For those brothers interested, I have emailed to Tong Carriage and they will probably provide me a quote for my furniture.. So you can have a rough idea on how much it would cost to move within JB..

Everyone I have spoken to on this floor thinks the malay guy is very noisy... The management office also doesn't care... The guy's kids bang on the grills more than 10 times a day, the gate is opened 20 times... No choice but to move away... Some people really don't care about the feelings of people.. They think they rent 1 small apartment 500sq ft they got the right to disturb the whole row.. Even the guy down the row told me today he can hear the children banging on the grills... Its amazing someone like that can get PHD... This problem cannot be solved.. They are just too loud a family to stay here... Banging doors, grills, opening and closing gate 20 times a day, children cant shop screaming, malay guy likes to bang things... Walk like elephant... Almost everyone I spoke to said such people can't change, only way is to run far far from them...

wuqi256
04-07-2011, 03:13 PM
Bro RT, i feel sorry for you, are you planning to move out of the place? I have neighbours like that in SG previously, i just use range ear muffs when i cannot get to bed. My wife is a light sleeper so its much harder for her. On and off, when things got too out of hand, we gave them "surprises"

One time though, a new neighbour moved in upstairs, kicked up so much of a fuss, moving tables, etc we went upstairs to try to talk nicely. I stopped and my smile(along with my heart) turned cold when i saw the place the noise should have taken place. Piled on the marble floor was layers and layers of carpet. No noise could have gone downstairs from that thick a layer and its so much that no one could have managed to pull it over there in a short time.

wuqi256
04-07-2011, 03:14 PM
Another one, the flat that my grandpa stayed in last time? No one has stayed in there for ages but the neighbours below always complained of chair and tables banging around at night. Problem is, the flat is empty and devoid of any furniture.

LeMans2011
04-07-2011, 03:19 PM
Another one, the flat that my grandpa stayed in last time? No one has stayed in there for ages but the neighbours below always complained of chair and tables banging around at night. Problem is, the flat is empty and devoid of any furniture.

The most common sound will be marble dropping on the floor. I was told "they" move with you. Indeed i used to hear the sound of marble dropping on the floor and children pulling chairs and got pissed... then when i moved to another apartment (in SG)... i heard the exact same noise! In the end i decided to make peace with "them". I had a single lady friend better still.. she stayed alone and occasionally someone just switched her lights on / off.

wuqi256
04-07-2011, 03:32 PM
Actually you are right, they really moved with me to my other place in SG.

The dropping of coins plus marbles. Earlier when i stayed with my parents new place right after NS. My dad went up to complain of the playin of marbles, etc. Turned out the couples son passed away a month ago... We still hear his toys being pushed around at night and even once when the parents moved out. Fortunately, in Johor (touchwood), no such noises.

The lighting part could be a misconnected cable, etc. Had this once, my wife turns on the switch in the master bedroom, the toilet light at the common toilet turns on. Turned out to be a cable issue.

Another time even better, electrician wired lights to a ceiling fan (go figure) so whenever one turns on the fan, the lights will go on as well.

euphony
04-07-2011, 04:13 PM
eeks! these tales aren't supposed to be described this time of the night! =p

LeMans2011
04-07-2011, 04:17 PM
eeks! these tales aren't supposed to be described this time of the night! =p

When i stayed alone last time, i had this occasional surge of fear in my mind. I found that if you are ever overcome with fear, the best solution is to turn on all the lights :)
Between human and non-human, who is more scary?

Bigfatfish
04-07-2011, 04:33 PM
The most common sound will be marble dropping on the floor. I was told "they" move with you. Indeed i used to hear the sound of marble dropping on the floor and children pulling chairs and got pissed... then when i moved to another apartment (in SG)... i heard the exact same noise! In the end i decided to make peace with "them". I had a single lady friend better still.. she stayed alone and occasionally someone just switched her lights on / off.

Ah ha, I stayed in a place like that before too

Bigfatfish
04-07-2011, 04:37 PM
When i stayed alone last time, i had this occasional surge of fear in my mind. I found that if you are ever overcome with fear, the best solution is to turn on all the lights :)

My ex housemates got so used to them that they became numb.

Bigfatfish
04-07-2011, 04:39 PM
double posting doing it from my phone.

04-07-2011, 04:40 PM

Haha definitely human more scary!

04-07-2011, 04:43 PM
Actually you are right, they really moved with me to my other place in SG.

The dropping of coins plus marbles. Earlier when i stayed with my parents new place right after NS. My dad went up to complain of the playin of marbles, etc. Turned out the couples son passed away a month ago... We still hear his toys being pushed around at night and even once when the parents moved out. Fortunately, in Johor (touchwood), no such noises.

The lighting part could be a misconnected cable, etc. Had this once, my wife turns on the switch in the master bedroom, the toilet light at the common toilet turns on. Turned out to be a cable issue.

Another time even better, electrician wired lights to a ceiling fan (go figure) so whenever one turns on the fan, the lights will go on as well.

Lucky i haven't heard all these dropping of coins and marbles before (touch wood) :D

Whathefish
04-07-2011, 04:57 PM
Bros,

marbles dropping sound is not Supernatural, it's normal for old or poorly built flats... search online :P

04-07-2011, 04:59 PM
Everyone I have spoken to on this floor thinks the malay guy is very noisy... The management office also doesn't care... The guy's kids bang on the grills more than 10 times a day, the gate is opened 20 times... No choice but to move away... Some people really don't care about the feelings of people.. They think they rent 1 small apartment 500sq ft they got the right to disturb the whole row.. Even the guy down the row told me today he can hear the children banging on the grills... Its amazing someone like that can get PHD... This problem cannot be solved.. They are just too loud a family to stay here... Banging doors, grills, opening and closing gate 20 times a day, children cant shop screaming, malay guy likes to bang things... Walk like elephant... Almost everyone I spoke to said such people can't change, only way is to run far far from them...

Err i guess the only way is either you move or they move. I believe you that there are such lousy people around as i ever had such a neigbhour living opposite me (btw they are Singaporean Chinese couple with teenage son and it is 3 bedroom apartment), they have frens/relatives staying in the same place but different level and one night they can open and close their main door twenty times to go house visiting or whatever.

Hard to believe but there are such inconsiderate people around and mangement office also no use becos it is their door and hard to prove they are banging becos they say they are only closing their door. In my case, they moved after two years and after that the new neighbour (Singaporean couple with two small kids) is perfect. And the neighbour before them was fine too. They are the only problematic neighbour i met in my 8 years here. Sometimes just heng suay.

Batok Seri
04-07-2011, 05:24 PM
Its not all rosy in fair Horizon Hills either.
Also involving Singaporean neighbour being inconsiderate to next door fellow Singaporean.

At Jalan Ambang 2/3 there's a Singapore dog loving couple who has three large dogs.
The dogs are left at the front porch of their intermediate terrace with no one to look after or walk them when the couple are away at work in Sg during daytime. So the front porch is both playpen and toilet to the dogs with no one to pick up their poo which is left to collectively bake under the sun.

The next door Malay Singaporean neighbour is too polite to raise the issue so have been putiing up with the stench (remember 3 large dogs, no walks, from dawn to dusk weekdays). Poor neighbour and his kids just stayed indoors and kept windows shut.There goes his dream of enjoying outdoor life on the porch of his landed property. The mess also attract flies and now other nearby neighbours complained of flies and smell of their clothes hung out to dry. They suggested he speak to the mgmt office since he is the nearest neighbour because if the Malay chap does not complaint who are they to say anything when they're houses are further away.

The neighbour went to the mgt office asking for help.
The first unofficial off the cuff reply was.. "Since no one is at home, why not just poison the dogs? The owners don't seem to care enough else just call MPJB if the dogs not licensed they will be taken away. We can send notice but the owner will most likely ignore it"

The Malay neighbour said in spite of everything, its not the dogs' fault and he will just live with it since he doesn't want anything bad done to the dogs or for them to be taken away...

Bigfatfish
05-07-2011, 01:10 AM
Hi east539, cool.

We took 8 weeks n hope for it to be done fast. Can't wait to move there. Believe u buy to stay as well then we r neighbors too.

hangyong
05-07-2011, 01:17 AM
Bros,

marbles dropping sound is not Supernatural, it's normal for old or poorly built flats... search online :P

poorly built flats.... hmm...

I am staying top floor, and I can hear people nailing the wall at night from up stairs....

marbles dropping (not mine) also can hear...

having shifted around, and heard the same "noise".... I guess most flats in Singapore are poorly built then

Bigfatfish
05-07-2011, 01:18 AM
Johor dangerous n lots of murder. Has anyone noticed singapore in the last few months?

Body in water tank
Half body in reservoir
body in singapore river below helix bridge
body found decomposed in tanah merah
body found floating at harbour front area
young boy found dead at home

RafflesTiger
05-07-2011, 01:40 AM
Bro RT, i feel sorry for you, are you planning to move out of the place? I have neighbours like that in SG previously, i just use range ear muffs when i cannot get to bed. My wife is a light sleeper so its much harder for her. On and off, when things got too out of hand, we gave them "surprises"

One time though, a new neighbour moved in upstairs, kicked up so much of a fuss, moving tables, etc we went upstairs to try to talk nicely. I stopped and my smile(along with my heart) turned cold when i saw the place the noise should have taken place. Piled on the marble floor was layers and layers of carpet. No noise could have gone downstairs from that thick a layer and its so much that no one could have managed to pull it over there in a short time.

Another neighbour told me the family is very used to noise and they will not change.. The kids are never restrained in any form.. I actually just found out the kid shouting and screaming in addition to banging the grills is the girl(about 5-6).. The malay man claims he wants to school his kids at home but most likely no school would accept such a girl with such disruptive behaviour.. Why does man with a PHD wants to hole his kids in such a small place, this is something I do not understand.. The living area is merely 400sq ft or less.. Its quite cagey for a family of 4... Even in Singapore or HK, its rare to see families stay like this.. In other blocks, there are 3 room apartments about 1000-1100 sq ft fully furnished for about 1400rm... A PHD holder really finds it that hard to make a living in Singapore? If what he says is true(he has 4 rm HDB rented out in Singapore), surely its more than enough to find a suitable place, even in Horizon hills).. 1400rm is not even enough to pay for the monthly petrol if he stays in Singapore.

I am contemplating moving but its rather tiring.. Moving the furniture without professional help will be difficult.. And I have to forfeit the deposit as well.. On top of that, I probably have to give a new deposit plus commission(unless its a direct owner) for the new place.. So I am in a tight spot actually..

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 01:42 AM
Yes, don't give business to this kind of agent. Market rate should be 0.5 month each from owner and tenant. For the next contract, if you are renewing with the same tenant, you can actually draft your own contract, signed and ask your tenant to do stamping at IRAS. For you as owner, you only need to re-apply permit from HDB and submit a form to IRAS for income tax purpose. This is my experience. Correct me if I'm wrong.

And for how many percent will i be taxed for rental income for my hdb?

hangyong
05-07-2011, 01:45 AM
start reading this thread for 3 weeks or more & finally took the plunge & booked a unit at The Hills, love the scenery there although not much is there at the hills precinct area, was told it will be ready by Mar 2013 or until May maybe...

viewed quite a few like EL, NI, Sertia Eco Gardens, Nusa Duta & some others, but in the end still prefer HH......

welcome to HH and the forum!

HH will not dare delay past the agreed date on the S&P... you can sue them

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 01:48 AM

I'd settle the hdb cos don;t have cpf to pay for it. Been paying in cash since the beginning. HDB flat is the goose that lays the golden egg. So pay up first. Follow by the JB house, the one with no housing insurance first.

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 01:53 AM
I heard from one of my property agent tenant that ONE room at Duxton Pinnacle is renting out for above $1000. Crazy price. Condo rooms are asking for about $800

Duxton is different because of its proximity to Shenton Way. With transport and amenities just at the doorstep, its very hard to resist even if at a premium rate. Executives working in that area will definately appreciates it.

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 01:55 AM
Wow $2200 for 3 room in Tampines! The median is $1750 in today's Straits times. Can share how you managed to rent out at higher end? Is your apartment 1 minute to Mrt? Very nicely furnished? :D

My side no MRT and no amenities. Median range from HDB website is $2300. But my house is fully furnished with 5 aircons and marble floorings so can ask for higher. The tenant himself said that its a very nice house, he had been looking for this type of house. Maybe raise his rent next change. :P

RafflesTiger
05-07-2011, 01:56 AM
Err i guess the only way is either you move or they move. I believe you that there are such lousy people around as i ever had such a neigbhour living opposite me (btw they are Singaporean Chinese couple with teenage son and it is 3 bedroom apartment), they have frens/relatives staying in the same place but different level and one night they can open and close their main door twenty times to go house visiting or whatever.

Hard to believe but there are such inconsiderate people around and mangement office also no use becos it is their door and hard to prove they are banging becos they say they are only closing their door. In my case, they moved after two years and after that the new neighbour (Singaporean couple with two small kids) is perfect. And the neighbour before them was fine too. They are the only problematic neighbour i met in my 8 years here. Sometimes just heng suay.

This was what I thought as well... The clerks at the management office wants the security guards to "catch them in the act"... Then will they take action.. Surely they have more common sense than this... Their idea of noise is that the banging has to be continuous for hours... I can try to speak to the management committee members or even the chairman but noise is hard to prove exactly like what you have said.. Even if the security guard submits a report of the problem, the only thing management can do is to send a letter... After 2 letters, they will call the owner.. And chances are, the owner would not care.. Yes, its really a matter of luck... PHD educated people are very refined,disciplined and considerate... Surely the behaviour can't be like this.. Some people feel its their right to make noise because they rented the place, so they can do whatever they want...

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 02:12 AM
This was what I thought as well... The clerks at the management office wants the security guards to "catch them in the act"... Then will they take action.. Surely they have more common sense than this... Their idea of noise is that the banging has to be continuous for hours... I can try to speak to the management committee members or even the chairman but noise is hard to prove exactly like what you have said.. Even if the security guard submits a report of the problem, the only thing management can do is to send a letter... After 2 letters, they will call the owner.. And chances are, the owner would not care.. Yes, its really a matter of luck... PHD educated people are very refined,disciplined and considerate... Surely the behaviour can't be like this.. Some people feel its their right to make noise because they rented the place, so they can do whatever they want...

Do you notice something abnormal with the kids? Like no eye contacts when talking to them? Then constantly fridgeting? Some kid have this ADHD(attention deficit hyperactive Disorder) or AS (Autism) that renders them unfit to attend normal school. If you have 1 is manageable with some effort. But if you have more then 1 of these kind of kids, you cannot work because of the constant complains from schools. No normal school will want them. Some kids will bang their head agains the wall, or shout for no particular reasons. Throw things on the floor....The parent just cannot control them.

I just making a wild guess. But if its true, then I think moving house is still the best obtion.

hangyong
05-07-2011, 02:14 AM
I'd settle the hdb cos don;t have cpf to pay for it. Been paying in cash since the beginning. HDB flat is the goose that lays the golden egg. So pay up first. Follow by the JB house, the one with no housing insurance first.

the rate for HDB is 2.6% while the rate for MY is at least 4%.

difference of 1.4%, or rather about $30k over 20 years on a loan of $200k

euphony
05-07-2011, 02:31 AM

non humans scare at night, humans... day & night! hurhur

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 02:31 AM
the rate for HDB is 2.6% while the rate for MY is at least 4%.

difference of 1.4%, or rather about $30k over 20 years on a loan of $200k

I bought the house some more then 10 years ago. Loan going to finish liao. Its the goose that lays the golden egg now. Don't wanna have to worry about it.

We are Singaporean, pay up fully so that anything goes wrong still can U-turn. As for jb house, we are after all not Malaysians. We are considered an outsiders. They can change law anytime. Furthermore, it's still a long way to go so better settle those that can be settled easily first. Then all the profits can be promptly channel to the rest.

On Robert Kyosaki's advise. Pay up those that can be fully paid faster first. Then channel all your energy towards the bigger ones. By then its amount would have gotten smaller. And also more satisfaction and more momentum to go on.

;)

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 02:33 AM
non humans scare at night, humans... day & night! hurhur

If you have tinnitus(you can google on it), 24hr non-stop. Then all the noise in the world will not have any impact on you liao. I have it. So the only thing I can do is .... ah.....inner peace...OMMMMMMM! :D

euphony
05-07-2011, 02:39 AM
Its not all rosy in fair Horizon Hills either.
Also involving Singaporean neighbour being inconsiderate to next door fellow Singaporean.

At Jalan Ambang 2/3 there's a Singapore dog loving couple who has three large dogs.
The dogs are left at the front porch of their intermediate terrace with no one to look after or walk them when the couple are away at work in Sg during daytime. So the front porch is both playpen and toilet to the dogs with no one to pick up their poo which is left to collectively bake under the sun.

ah? the owners dun clean them up afterwards at all? talk about 'shithouse' literally!

hangyong
05-07-2011, 02:44 AM
I bought the house some more then 10 years ago. Loan going to finish liao. Its the goose that lays the golden egg now. Don't wanna have to worry about it.

We are Singaporean, pay up fully so that anything goes wrong still can U-turn. As for jb house, we are after all not Malaysians. We are considered an outsiders. They can change law anytime. Furthermore, it's still a long way to go so better settle those that can be settled easily first. Then all the profits can be promptly channel to the rest.

On Robert Kyosaki's advise. Pay up those that can be fully paid faster first. Then channel all your energy towards the bigger ones. By then its amount would have gotten smaller. And also more satisfaction and more momentum to go on.

;)

that is true... if the loan term for HDB is ending soon... if both about the same time... should always pay for the one which takes more interest first...

At least in money terms lah... :-)

I am also doing it the same way as you....

HDB ending soon in 5 years... so glad that I finishing it off in 12 years.

euphony
05-07-2011, 02:47 AM

its based on 'faith' though gamuda so far has a ace track record. there are numerous other developers who have abandoned projects, not finished in time etc in Johor and greater MY. And the lawyer we use mostly appointed by developers = 'free' legal fees etc. but when the time comes to crunch they are mostly on the side of the developers. nevertheless, if a developer fails to hand over as stipulated, consumers can seek compensation via raising legal suits. my point is cannot be assumed, taken for granted. =)

euphony
05-07-2011, 02:51 AM
If you have tinnitus(you can google on it), 24hr non-stop. Then all the noise in the world will not have any impact on you liao. I have it. So the only thing I can do is .... ah.....inner peace...OMMMMMMM! :D

oh?! that can be scary indeed, or rather irritating. The doc's got no solution?

hangyong
05-07-2011, 02:53 AM
its based on 'faith' though gamuda so far has a ace track record. there are numerous other developers who have abandoned projects, not finished in time etc in Johor and greater MY. And the lawyer we use mostly appointed by developers = 'free' legal fees etc. but when the time comes to crunch they are mostly on the side of the developers. nevertheless, if a developer fails to hand over as stipulated, consumers can seek compensation via raising legal suits. my point is cannot be assumed, taken for granted. =)

well, actually if the lawyer not going to help you then, you can always go to another lawyer and get them to take up the case. We can use our copy of the S&P as proof.

But yah lah.. never take for granted.

Inception
05-07-2011, 02:56 AM
poorly built flats.... hmm...

I am staying top floor, and I can hear people nailing the wall at night from up stairs....

marbles dropping (not mine) also can hear...

having shifted around, and heard the same "noise".... I guess most flats in Singapore are poorly built then

Asia Paranormal Investigators have some articles here (http://www.api.sg/main/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=95&Itemid=1) on the Singapore Marble Dropping Mystery

east539
05-07-2011, 04:26 AM

thanks for the welcome, actually currently we have only signed the booking form, as for the S&P, it stated in the booking form we have agreed & allowed HH for a period between 6 to 9 months before we are call to sign the S&P, but that also give lots of time to look for our preferred home loan package from various banks.

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 08:13 AM
oh?! that can be scary indeed, or rather irritating. The doc's got no solution?

Yeap. No solutions. Constant cricket sound, 24hrs. Can be worst at night when all is quiet. Must tell myself to relax. No use concentrating on noises. Relax....

hangyong
05-07-2011, 08:42 AM
thanks for the welcome, actually currently we have only signed the booking form, as for the S&P, it stated in the booking form we have agreed & allowed HH for a period between 6 to 9 months before we are call to sign the S&P, but that also give lots of time to look for our preferred home loan package from various banks.

wah... that means you bought the new launch? 6-9months, seems like they have not started to built yet.

I am looking forward to the waterfall precinct as well

RafflesTiger
05-07-2011, 08:52 AM
Do you notice something abnormal with the kids? Like no eye contacts when talking to them? Then constantly fridgeting? Some kid have this ADHD(attention deficit hyperactive Disorder) or AS (Autism) that renders them unfit to attend normal school. If you have 1 is manageable with some effort. But if you have more then 1 of these kind of kids, you cannot work because of the constant complains from schools. No normal school will want them. Some kids will bang their head agains the wall, or shout for no particular reasons. Throw things on the floor....The parent just cannot control them.

I just making a wild guess. But if its true, then I think moving house is still the best obtion.

Contractor told me he went to fix something also the kids wanna disturb, such that the malay lady and the man have no choice but to bring them downstairs for a walk.. Imagine even strangers also the kid wanna disturb... Could really be some sort of attention disorder... Owner is a chinese lawyer, he does not know who he is renting his apartment to... Thats what the contractor told me..

Logically no parent would deny their child an education unless they have no choice... I can imagine the kid banging on the grills of kindergarden, until the teacher ta boleh tahan then say good bye to the kid...

cathylmg
05-07-2011, 08:55 AM
Contractor told me he went to fix something also the kids wanna disturb, such that the malay lady and the man have no choice but to bring them downstairs for a walk.. Imagine even strangers also the kid wanna disturb... Could really be some sort of attention disorder... Owner is a chinese lawyer, he does not know who he is renting his apartment to... Thats what the contractor told me..

Logically no parent would deny their child an education unless they have no choice... I can imagine the kid banging on the grills of kindergarden, until the teacher ta boleh tahan then say good bye to the kid...

If thats the case, then its nobody's fault. The parent also can't control one. Boh bian. Consider yourself suay lor. Just move away.

I got friend around me having these kind of kids. They have no choice but to give the kid some kind of steriods pills just to stable them during lessons. Imagine the side effects of having steriods for life? If the parent don't wanna give steriod then home schooling is the only choice.

Think of it this way, we are lucky to be born normal. Lets forgive and move on.

toyohon
05-07-2011, 09:22 AM
Tiger, while I can appreciate your problematic neighbor but why the emphasis that he is a PHD holder? Or you mean to imply Permanent Head Damage instead?:D

east539
05-07-2011, 09:53 AM
wah... that means you bought the new launch? 6-9months, seems like they have not started to built yet.

I am looking forward to the waterfall precinct as well

err..ya...newly launch is phrase 2B & all sold out if I am not wrong, mine is phrase 2C1, heard from Sales there HH haven't apply permissions from relevant authorities to kick start that phrase 2C1 yet, dunno how true...but 1 thing for sure is nothing is been build around that area yet.