PDA

View Full Version : Living in JB

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64

2bFree
09-02-2011, 10:28 AM
Just did my MACS application at 2nd link. Required to fill up a simple form (much like the white card), provide passport + 1 photo and got it done in 15min! Was there around 5pm and there was no queue.

As for potholes, not only are they now more prevalent in MY due to heavy rains, but SG also has them; although the size, number of such holes in MY is much higher! Have to weave all around them holes to save my poor old car's suspension....

09-02-2011, 11:24 AM
Mean in chinese 'men pai shui', house plate. People from MBJB came down to Setia on June last year to do the collection. I paid it and changed the name from Setia to me and my hubby's name there too. So Professor you can keep a look out for it around that time. Do remember to bring along a copy of your S & P. They need it to process changes. ;)

Hi Cathy, how much do you have to pay for this house plate thing? Is it a one time payment? How about property tax, how much do you have to pay (roughly)? :)

dapbest
09-02-2011, 11:24 AM
anyone know if the golf-course facing semi-des at the Golf are still available? The last time i checked its not selling that well because the pricing is like rm1.3m to 1.5 million. But the size is much bigger than those at Gateway ( Golf semis are almost 4000 sq feet for those facing golf course )
i may just decide to buy another one at the Golf facing the golf course should it be available

Whats4
09-02-2011, 11:49 AM
i have 2 questions

1. for living purpose, freehold condo or freehold landed properties

2. what is the arangements like for foreigners should the freehold properties
are reaccquired for redevelopments for both condo and landed?

wuqi256
09-02-2011, 12:22 PM
I would go for landed if you have family and a condo unit if you don't want or can't take care of the place or if you have a small family.

If you want to be really safe, search out only non bumiputra places and development with the land gazetted for foreigners.

More information, some of this is a bit outdated though:

http://eprints.utm.my/4919/1/TheLaw.pdf

4.0 CONCLUSION
Prior to the 1992 Amendment, the law did not impose any limitation
on foreign landownership in the country. Despite the liberalised law, the State Authority
of Johor in alienating land have been imposing variou forms of restrictions in interest on the land alienated or on realienation
of land, the latest form being restrictions against purchase
of shoplots and residential lots by foreigners. However, the effectiveness of these restrictions in controlling the increase of foreign purchases of land was all suspect due to overwhelming number of properties acquired by the Singaporeans in recent years.

wuqi256
09-02-2011, 12:27 PM
Yes there are still potholes, they are filling them up but slowly and not doing anything for roads that will soon be replaced by highway, example towards Perling side

Analytical Professor
09-02-2011, 02:51 PM
It would be difficult for you to move to another location Cathy for atleast 2 reasons. There could be more....

1) New developments will possibly be further
2) ST is quite nicely designed. The single entry and single exit concept i really lurve it. In addition the demarcation of commercial areas from residential areas is another big plus

As an eg if you look at Bukit Indah (earlier developments from Setia) the security aspect(s) had not been properly planned.

By then I think its time for me to move to another location liao. ;)

Analytical Professor
09-02-2011, 02:53 PM
The objective of course is to get the public to use the toll ways and swell the profits of the companies that built them.

I was driving around Nusa Bestari today. The area near Standard Chartered... Narrowly missed the pothole along the left lane..

Yes there are still potholes, they are filling them up but slowly and not doing anything for roads that will soon be replaced by highway, example towards Perling side

Analytical Professor
09-02-2011, 02:56 PM
There are 2 taxes to be paid every year

Cukai Harta atleast Rm 400 and above for foreigners. can be paid in 2 installments

Cukai Pintu about Rm 70 single installment

Hi Cathy, how much do you have to pay for this house plate thing? Is it a one time payment? How about property tax, how much do you have to pay (roughly)? :)

Analytical Professor
09-02-2011, 03:01 PM
School Holidays in March i will be staying at Setia Tropika.... Nice.... Can get to enjoy the home for a good 9 days.

The whole of June too...

Analytical Professor
09-02-2011, 03:06 PM
The reduction in toll at the 2nd link does not seem to have made a difference..

People still love to use the Causeway??

For those who enter-exit Spore through the 2nd link it must be a pretty expensive process (exclude the expats and other hi networth individuals who would definitely be a small percentage)

Analytical Professor
09-02-2011, 03:11 PM
Sorry folks just posting thoughts at Random.

No offence to anyone.

Did a price comparison for Regrow (Minoxidil 5%)

Sg 5% 60 ml S$ 56
MY 5% 60 ml MYR 160

Analytical Professor
09-02-2011, 03:14 PM
PRice Comparison again...

However a good and clean massage was cheap.

A very hot day today.... But had a very good and clean massage for RM 40

Happy hour pricing!

dapbest
10-02-2011, 01:25 AM
The reduction in toll at the 2nd link does not seem to have made a difference..

People still love to use the Causeway??

For those who enter-exit Spore through the 2nd link it must be a pretty expensive process (exclude the expats and other hi networth individuals who would definitely be a small percentage)

Statistics show a 10% increase in the traffic volume in 2nd link. Maybe u cant notice it but I use the 2nd link to and fro almost every day. Actually I can also use causeway at much cheaper toll but I dislike causeway. Even without traffic, the winding roads limit my speed.

maxpark
10-02-2011, 01:49 AM
Hi,

Can anyone recommend a reliable and SAFE money changer place near to Bukit Indah, HH area to change currencies... say few thousand each time?

Analytical Professor
10-02-2011, 02:39 AM
Ur right. The 2nd link is a niceway to drive into MY. My wife loves to enter MY via 2nd link. The road is nice and well maintained apart from lesser traffic.

For me personally i choose between Causeway and 2nd link based on traffic conditions. If both are free flowing i usually choose the Causeway cause its shorter.

Statistics show a 10% increase in the traffic volume in 2nd link. Maybe u cant notice it but I use the 2nd link to and fro almost every day. Actually I can also use causeway at much cheaper toll but I dislike causeway. Even without traffic, the winding roads limit my speed.

Analytical Professor
10-02-2011, 02:40 AM
I am sure the Maybank inside AEON Jusco shopping centre in Bukit Indah is reasonably safe.

Hi,

Can anyone recommend a reliable and SAFE money changer place near to Bukit Indah, HH area to change currencies... say few thousand each time?

maxpark
10-02-2011, 02:45 AM
I am sure the Maybank inside AEON Jusco shopping centre in Bukit Indah is reasonably safe.

Am aware of Maybank there but bank conversion rates are generally much higher...
Are there any money changers that can give good rates in these areas and which you would not hesitate to change, say sgd10-20k each time?

dapbest
10-02-2011, 04:47 AM
Am aware of Maybank there but bank conversion rates are generally much higher...
Are there any money changers that can give good rates in these areas and which you would not hesitate to change, say sgd10-20k each time?

recently i changed RM 2.365 ( the sign reflected rm2.34 ) in perling next to the polis station and Maybank there. I understand that nusa bestari there also got good money changers. sometimes i change at the first money changer at nusa bestari ( coming from tesco side ) and the rate is good and girls friendly.

The girl at perling lagi best. Nice rates and definitely nice boobs. See it for yourself!

Sorry for my dirty jokes but the tot of changing money reminds me of my lovely girl over there.

dapbest
10-02-2011, 05:01 AM
Ur right. The 2nd link is a niceway to drive into MY. My wife loves to enter MY via 2nd link. The road is nice and well maintained apart from lesser traffic.

For me personally i choose between Causeway and 2nd link based on traffic conditions. If both are free flowing i usually choose the Causeway cause its shorter.

Today and yesterday I reached 2nd link mudland custom at around 845am. Totally no jam and I was first at the counter. I wondered if this is only during CNY period. Sg custom also no jam. I hope this is the case throughout the year!

wuqi256
10-02-2011, 05:41 AM

Maxpark, PM me. Don't let anyone knows when and where you are changing money

dapbest
10-02-2011, 05:57 AM
Hey guys,

Today I read the Chinese newspaper about this robber during the CNY festival within the petrol station near the highway entrance.

Apparently this man was driving into the station to pump petrol and did not lock the car lock. His 3 or 4 daughters and his wife are inside the car.

3 Indian robbers also stopped on the pretext of pumping petrol but all of a sudden opened the door of the victims and forcefully robbed and slashed the victims with parangs. The girls and mum were injured in the process.

The time is about 615am in the morning. Very Very quiet and deserted about this time somemore its the CNY period.

Be caution

10-02-2011, 08:36 AM
Went to EL yesterday, quite surprise saw many people there...sales rep very busy as well. But I knew not many units are available at this moment, think they withdraw all freebies n $$ for semi-d also increase another 5% more.

5%...sounds like % price increase for semi d is lower than the % price increase for EL terrace

Coolsaint77
10-02-2011, 09:51 AM

Never safe to deal with too much cash.

If you have an address in MY, why not open a bank account in MY? Then you can just remit money via a moneychanger in SG (good rate) over directly into your account.

cathylmg
10-02-2011, 10:41 AM
May I know which money changer Singapore do remittance to Malaysia? Do you have their contact number?

matix
10-02-2011, 01:27 PM
[QUOTE=cathylmg;669539]May I know which money changer Singapore do remittance to Malaysia? Do you have their contact number?[/QUOT

There is one on the 2nd Floor of Change Alley. That is how I remit money to UEM Land for the purchase of my terrace at East Ledang. First timyme doing it this way. It is quite "scary" as they just chop on my application form and told me it is done, after the money is handed over. But everything turned out
ok

Analytical Professor
10-02-2011, 01:34 PM
You still lose money for wiring and commission.

Never safe to deal with too much cash.

If you have an address in MY, why not open a bank account in MY? Then you can just remit money via a moneychanger in SG (good rate) over directly into your account.

maxpark
10-02-2011, 03:25 PM
Maxpark, PM me. Don't let anyone knows when and where you are changing money

Hi Wuqi, et al,

Thanks for the good advice.

Had some free time today, went to open account with Maybank, so will remit fm Singapore if bigger amounts needed.
Recce-d around and seems there are quite a number of money changers around Bt Indah area, will use them for smaller amounts.

Best offer today was 237 but did not see any big cups :D

Analytical Professor
10-02-2011, 03:42 PM
237 is pretty decent right?

Who knows we may even get more as the S$ is expected to strengthen.

Big Cups at perling mate...:D

Hi Wuqi, et al,

Forvendet
10-02-2011, 03:48 PM
You're not analytical enough. There's no such thing as free service. The service providers need to to pay rent, bills and eat too.

Thank you for your analysis Wise Ole Man.

Pardon my ignorance.... I really thought there was a free lunch.... (Or Atleast you thought that i had thought so right?)

Really no shit this Sherlock Ramseth Holmes. :D

Coolsaint77
10-02-2011, 03:52 PM
May I know which money changer Singapore do remittance to Malaysia? Do you have their contact number?

Any of those at Parkway. I usually use Sino (next to Citibank) or Yakadir (beside HSBC).

Sino tends to have better rates than Yakadir for larger amount, but this fluctuates daily so just check. Sino waives the S$10 charge for larger amount.

Coolsaint77
10-02-2011, 03:56 PM
You still lose money for wiring and commission.

You get to remit at money changer's rate, for Sino (at Parkway) they might even offer you better rate than changing cash, or same rate. The S$10 is waived for larger amount, i think more than 10k thereabout. There are no other costs involved ==> same as changing cash except you don't have to carry them around.

Coolsaint77
10-02-2011, 03:59 PM
Another spectacular display of fireworks while i was having my late dinner tonight. I can see some coming from horizon hills.

Batok Seri
10-02-2011, 04:51 PM
Thinking of carrying cash?
Say..$5 to 10k worth?

Remember largest ringgit note is only Rm100 since bigger notes are no longer in circulation. But even RM100 are in short supply. Most likely moneychanger will give you RM50 notes. This means walking away from the moneychanger carrying thick wads of cash looking like you have just robbed a bank.

Best part when you get to the Malaysian bank to deposit, the bank teller will tell you to use the cash deposit machine. The machine can only swallow max 99 pcs in one go. Often times there'll be some notes it cannot digest and you have to try again. You end up hogging the machine while here you are trying to be discreet and a long queue is forming behind you.

No shit Sherlock will come by shortly to spell out the big obvious reason why it is not safe.

matix
11-02-2011, 12:04 AM
Sigh! Our washing machine broke down and have to buy a new one. I was hoping it can last us one more year so that we don't have to move from Singapore to JB when the house is ready. I was told there are taxes when you move electrical items to JB. :(

11-02-2011, 12:40 AM
PRice Comparison again...

However a good and clean massage was cheap.

A very hot day today.... But had a very good and clean massage for RM 40

Happy hour pricing!

I try a happy hour foot massage only RM22 for 45min. Supper cheap less than SG$10.

Analytical Professor
11-02-2011, 12:47 AM
Yeah that really is a very good price.

Where did you go? Address?

I am a sucker for good and clean massage.

I try a happy hour foot massage only RM22 for 45min. Supper cheap less than SG$10.

aangsc
11-02-2011, 01:49 AM

There are so many money changers that remit money to M'sia : Jurong point basement has 2, Boon Lay shopping at least 3 that I have traied. I use to bring stack of ringgits to deposit but it is so unsafe and troublesome. Now I use those that I have tried. You get a 0.005 point extra for remittance compare to cash but you pay an extra S$10 as well , so max it at RM10,000 because that is the limit. Was told that today rate is 2.375 , so remittance would be 2.38.:)

dapbest
11-02-2011, 02:29 AM
Another spectacular display of fireworks while i was having my late dinner tonight. I can see some coming from horizon hills.

You watched it from Nusa Idaman? I was stationed in Sutera utama area and saw the spectacular fireworks from 1130pm to 1230am... literally NON-stop. Polis on bike came and talked to me.. say " bro, someone comprain lah, dont put now.. delay by 20 minute please"

He smiled and fuck off.

In Singapore, I would have been handcuffed to safety!

dapbest
11-02-2011, 02:30 AM
There are so many money changers that remit money to M'sia : Jurong point basement has 2, Boon Lay shopping at least 3 that I have traied. I use to bring stack of ringgits to deposit but it is so unsafe and troublesome. Now I use those that I have tried. You get a 0.005 point extra for remittance compare to cash but you pay an extra S$10 as well , so max it at RM10,000 because that is the limit. Was told that today rate is 2.375 , so remittance would be 2.38.:)

where did u get the rate of rm2.375? is it reflected from the money changer in mudland? if it is, then if i change a few thousand sing dollars it should be almost rm 2.40.

MAS has reiterated that they will further strengthen the $ing dollars. I am glad I changed RM in bulk during the RM 2.40 era.

dapbest
11-02-2011, 02:33 AM

do u always go to the massage parlour at one corner of the traffic junction of nusa bestari along Euro Rich hotel? The massage is simply great and value for money. And I understand that they are clean decent service, unlike sinkie shops kept pestering me for "special" service.

Honest & decent guys like me deserve honest service

dapbest
11-02-2011, 02:35 AM
Sigh! Our washing machine broke down and have to buy a new one. I was hoping it can last us one more year so that we don't have to move from Singapore to JB when the house is ready. I was told there are taxes when you move electrical items to JB. :(

Its quite expensive to buy one in jb but if u must, try the shop along euro rich.. many cheap applicances.. even aircons are cheap. I was planning to snap up my aircons from this shop

dapbest
11-02-2011, 02:39 AM
Hi Wuqi, et al,

Thanks for the good advice.

Had some free time today, went to open account with Maybank, so will remit fm Singapore if bigger amounts needed.
Recce-d around and seems there are quite a number of money changers around Bt Indah area, will use them for smaller amounts.

Big cups is stationed at perling my friend. Next to the polis station and maybank side. But these few weeks I was quite sad when i change money but could not be served by my big cups .. i was served by the male boss i presume or malay lady. I felt like asking the boss where he stationed his big cups so that i can visit her next time

11-02-2011, 02:48 AM

Address I not sure. Because I see the big banner RM22 45min foot massage. Is a clean joint. Is the saloon and foot massage joint together.
Some where in Pelangi same st with Alliance Bank( Behind the Maybank). Near to the end of the st selling comic book and fishing tackle shop.
I way near by to buy fishing tackle. Whne I saw the banner just give it a try. Really experience massager by adult Malaysian Uncle.

aangsc
11-02-2011, 02:51 AM
where did u get the rate of rm2.375? is it reflected from the money changer in mudland? if it is, then if i change a few thousand sing dollars it should be almost rm 2.40.

MAS has reiterated that they will further strengthen the $ing dollars. I am glad I changed RM in bulk during the RM 2.40 era.

Boon Lay Shopping Center. My best rate was 2.45 , well also long gone , sigh !:(

11-02-2011, 02:53 AM
You watched it from Nusa Idaman? I was stationed in Sutera utama area and saw the spectacular fireworks from 1130pm to 1230am... literally NON-stop. Polis on bike came and talked to me.. say " bro, someone comprain lah, dont put now.. delay by 20 minute please"

He smiled and fuck off.

In Singapore, I would have been handcuffed to safety!

That is the best about Malaysia. Can play fire cracker. Bring children there to celebrate CNY to see how traditional CNY celebration. Now many parent buy PSP/handphone spoil the child playing whole day game on it.
Now new trend coming out play lantern or small version of hot air balloon.

Analytical Professor
11-02-2011, 03:09 AM
For me i got my electrical and electronic stuff from all over the place...

My lights i got from skudai.

My TV and fridge from a shop at Setia Tropika

Water heater from another shop....

FAn from yet another place

And now aircons from yet another place and the list goes on...

Initially i did not know where to go and buy. So when i saw something and the price was good/comparable i just bought it.

Now that you have suggested Nusa Bestari that will have to be on my watch list. Thank you man.

Its quite expensive to buy one in jb but if u must, try the shop along euro rich.. many cheap applicances.. even aircons are cheap. I was planning to snap up my aircons from this shop

Analytical Professor
11-02-2011, 03:18 AM
Luckily my wife has told my kids there will strictly be no Computer Games/PSP/Wii/Nintendo etc.

Instead she offers them travel holidays, watching tv together for limited time, church, gardening, baking and plenty of parental time. My kids are still very young.

Now many parent buy PSP/handphone spoil the child playing whole day game on it.

Analytical Professor
11-02-2011, 03:19 AM
That rate hovered during January last year.

I think happy times may be back soon if the S$ strengthens...

Boon Lay Shopping Center. My best rate was 2.45 , well also long gone , sigh !:(

Analytical Professor
11-02-2011, 03:22 AM
No bro i am still not familiar with all the traditional massage shops. I just know a few.

I passed by a couple of them but did not try.

I think i know the one near Euro Rich that you are referring to.

I should try it sometime. Have not tried it yet.

Thanks.

do u always go to the massage parlour at one corner of the traffic junction of nusa bestari along Euro Rich hotel? The massage is simply great and value for money. And I understand that they are clean decent service, unlike sinkie shops kept pestering me for "special" service.

Honest & decent guys like me deserve honest service

dapbest
11-02-2011, 01:11 PM

My best ever rate was like Rm 2.47 or so.. I change at least S$5000 at a time and that time the exchange rate was the best.. Not that long ago though

dapbest
11-02-2011, 01:14 PM
[QUOTE=Analytical Professor;670090]For me i got my electrical and electronic stuff from all over the place...

My lights i got from skudai.

My TV and fridge from a shop at Setia Tropika

Water heater from another shop....

FAn from yet another place
hey are your kids studying in sg? i visited REAL kindergarden in Nusa Idaman and Cherie hearts at Bukit Indah today. The latter is not that impressive even though its Singapore name. REAL kindergarden is inside nusa idaman heliconia and is huge! u shd see it.

maxpark
11-02-2011, 01:45 PM
Big cups is stationed at perling my friend. Next to the polis station and maybank side. But these few weeks I was quite sad when i change money but could not be served by my big cups .. i was served by the male boss i presume or malay lady. I felt like asking the boss where he stationed his big cups so that i can visit her next time

Honest and decent friend, thanks for the tip, haha...
I'll keep a look out the next time I jalan jalan at Perling...and make sure I wear my dark glasses too, dont want to kena blinded by spotlights! :D

11-02-2011, 01:48 PM
My experience is exchange at Golden Mile or Woodland is usually alright. No point hunting for cents and millicents of difference. The fractions of cents you save per dollar is not worth the trouble. Just don't exchange after crossing the border. Singapore moneychanger rates are generally better, worldwide renowned.

If you need emergency cash in Malaysia, you can use ATM. Draw from your savings account, not from credit line. It'd still be more expensive than cash exchange at money changers but an emergency is an emergency. Draw at least 4 figures (in the thousands) to make the extra service charges average out to worth the while.

wuqi256
11-02-2011, 03:42 PM
Hey Ramseth, thats what i used to think too, until my wife brought me to a couple of them near Nusa Bestari, if you change more, they tend to give you better rates than even in SG provided you change with $50 dollar notes. Anything amount with per note denomination that smaller than that,then SG is definitely better. This is excluding those in change alley (SG) who may give a better rate.

wuqi256
11-02-2011, 03:43 PM
When i bought one of my homes, it was 2.49, then it went to 2.53.
I changed all i had. :)

contra
11-02-2011, 05:43 PM
Just to share some notes from a field trip today...

Took the afternoon off work to run the car. Traffic at 2nd link non-existent (sgd3.2 + RM7.5 each way up and down) . With the good new roads, the distances amongst the Nusajaya developments in the main-road loop (eastwards from Nusajaya interchange, HH & NI, Kota Iskandar, & loop back south & west passing Medini, Legoland, Educity, EL/LH, Geland Patah interchange) are even closer than I imagined. And this not yet including the Coastal Hway that can be seen being completed that will slice through the centre of the loop; from HH to Legoland. Got me thinking about the appreciation that will surely come when they are completed and more people discover the area . Saw a couple of Singapore Mercedes driving thru the show houses too...

Dropped by the showhouses of East Ledang (impressive what ideas you can get to make up a terrace. they block the road but just ask the guard in the shed and he will let you thru) and even kapoh the Nusa Idaman (semi d Prec 4 showhouse). Wonder why HH does not do a proper showhouse ? Perhaps is true without doing it, they have sold out all their developments (at least the terraces) thus the concept & from seeing outside the Gateway & Golf & Clubhouse, it sells for itself.

At the BI Jusco car park, I went into my car, and locked it. Someone came up to my side door and asked if can ask me a question. I shook my head and he went away. Part of me wanted to but another part said dont bother. Nothing happened and perhaps I over-reacted. Although I see many more police patrolling (and even the new Nusajaya Police Station at the Anjung), we should not let our guard down and better to err on the side of caution. I even bought a steering lock that is std deterrent accessory in Malaysian cars. I got the baseball bat type for RM35 as it fits the thicker steering wheels (because of airbags) and got a good grip itself as well.

At nightfall, the best part was the food, shopping, then car wash in Bukit Indah, full tank petrol and cool 'highland' air esp after the rain and straight wide highway with the cool air rushing through the winded-down windows in the drive along the 2nd link.

Looking fwd to my HH house to be ready in 2012 to enjoy more of that more regularly.

Analytical Professor
11-02-2011, 11:32 PM
Fantastic rate. Absolutely.

Where was i at that time??

When i bought one of my homes, it was 2.49, then it went to 2.53.
I changed all i had. :)

Analytical Professor
11-02-2011, 11:35 PM
Need to get some bricks today to protect my pine trees ie., to prevent the landscapers from accidentally cutting my pine trees.

Noticed a shop in Nusa Bestari that sells them.

dapbest
12-02-2011, 02:35 AM
Need to get some bricks today to protect my pine trees ie., to prevent the landscapers from accidentally cutting my pine trees.

Noticed a shop in Nusa Bestari that sells them.

If i were u, i will steal, i mean, take from the roads as i usually see them lying around without anyone noticing

matix
12-02-2011, 02:46 AM
That rate hovered during January last year.

I think happy times may be back soon if the S$ strengthens...

On the other hand, Malaysia is facing high inflation threat too. Saw in CNBC that analysts are also betting on the strengthening of the Ringgit. Don't know which one will strength more, S$ or MYR? In any case, just don't hold on to any US$ or Euro. :D

dapbest
12-02-2011, 04:28 AM
On the other hand, Malaysia is facing high inflation threat too. Saw in CNBC that analysts are also betting on the strengthening of the Ringgit. Don't know which one will strength more, S$ or MYR? In any case, just don't hold on to any US$ or Euro. :D

Yes indeed both RM and sing dollars will appreciate.

aangsc
12-02-2011, 04:50 AM
Yeah my kids are studying in Sg.

That is one of the reasons i cant completely shift to JB. I cant seem to think of them doing the to and fro journey everyday.

Me too. Can only see other enjoying their investment. Some days don't even go there for a few weeks.

I was also looking for bricks for perimeter use and found a brick manufacturer who quote me RM1.3 per pcs but must pick up from plant at Kota Tinggi.

horizonhills
12-02-2011, 06:56 AM
Hello everyone,

I chanced upon this thread while surfing for more info about my new purchase in Horizon Hills. Its a 3 storey semi d in Gateway and i am sure many of u stay in Gateway.

Saw a few mercs, 7 series, and one X5 parked outside houses when I visited my house just now to do measurements. This place must be safe.

Unlike many forummers who prefer to communicate online, I am open to knowing new friends from HH or EL and anyone who stays around New JB. We can share our purchase info and wont get chopped so easily too!

Just now I was at Horizon Residence and heard that the Sri lankan group has just purchased more than 10 units! This is on top of their 100+ units in HH. Flithy rich group/man he must be.

Enjoy your day.

Skippy
12-02-2011, 11:22 AM
Hello...
Me too bought a unit at HH :)... was hoping to find out if any SG folks around and doing the same... wow surprise surprise:p... so many folks are in here ... so glad to have find this forum:cool:... Hope i can get to know more folks around. Also share the many good tips and cheap bargains... Keke

Bro Wuqi... u are really amazing... very informative and resourceful too.. thanks for your kind sharings... :)

Coolsaint77
12-02-2011, 02:18 PM
Hello everyone,

I chanced upon this thread while surfing for more info about my new purchase in Horizon Hills. Its a 3 storey semi d in Gateway and i am sure many of u stay in Gateway.

Saw a few mercs, 7 series, and one X5 parked outside houses when I visited my house just now to do measurements. This place must be safe.

Unlike many forummers who prefer to communicate online, I am open to knowing new friends from HH or EL and anyone who stays around New JB. We can share our purchase info and wont get chopped so easily too!

Just now I was at Horizon Residence and heard that the Sri lankan group has just purchased more than 10 units! This is on top of their 100+ units in HH. Flithy rich group/man he must be.

Enjoy your day.

Congrats to you. Sounds like you purchased the golf-facing Gateway units and that must be from the resale market?

We all look forward to your open house :D

12-02-2011, 06:52 PM

Hi Cathy, someone gave me this money changer contact that does remittance:

Raffles - 24 Raffles Place #20-03 Clifford Centre Tel:65380080.

They waive the transaction fee (S$10) for amount above RM50k per transaction.

13-02-2011, 12:36 AM
Very soon in 2 year time many people in Singapore and JB will have to sell theirs flat/house to pay ah long/bank for their gambling debt.
I know many people that owning bank/creditcard/utility bill....................

13-02-2011, 12:36 AM
Very soon in 2 year time many people in Singapore and JB will have to sell theirs flat/house to pay ah long/bank for their gambling debt.
I know many people that owning bank/creditcard/utility bill....................

jasonjst
13-02-2011, 01:31 AM
Me too. Can only see other enjoying their investment. Some days don't even go there for a few weeks.

I was also looking for bricks for perimeter use and found a brick manufacturer who quote me RM1.3 per pcs but must pick up from plant at Kota Tinggi.

Dont need to go so far lah . There is a shop along bestari . Abt 500m after Tesco ( towards JB ) . If you are low on buget get the " bull lock brick " only 30cent rm. Can get sand , cement and many other construction material .

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 01:41 AM
I did the round abouts for bricks yesterday. Visited 2 shops one at Anggerik
and another at Kempas. Was quoted 0.37c per brick.

Not a bad price.

But what is bull lock brick? Yeah the shop i visited had sand, cement and the stuff.

Dont need to go so far lah . There is a shop along bestari . Abt 500m after Tesco ( towards JB ) . If you are low on buget get the " bull lock brick " only 30cent rm. Can get sand , cement and many other construction material .

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 01:50 AM
Its such a relaxing feeling when i am in my home at JB. I feel so motivated to do things. I walk out of my home, walk onto the streets and do a couple o rounds before getting back home.

While in cooped up Spore i just stay fixated to my TV screen. I feel lazy and lethargic.

Anyway school holidays are here next month. So while kids can enjoy the investment my wife and I will do the to and fro. Quite manageable.

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 01:54 AM
Cant beat Bro Wuqi and the depth of detail he has about JB.

Hello...

Bro Wuqi... u are really amazing... very informative and resourceful too.. thanks for your kind sharings... :)

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 01:58 AM
I had cool wind blowing through my bedroom the whole of Jan and FEb. I even experienced this yesterday. But its only in my bedroom (cause of the positioning i guess)??

But this cool wind was not there through a greater part of last year! Seasonal perhaps??

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 02:03 AM
The fireworks dun seem to end:). They went On and On for quite some time last night. From neighbouring tamans too!!

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 02:06 AM
Visited the Giant at Bukit INdah yesterday. Was reasonably well stocked. Yet was quite empty.

How do they do business like that?

Honestly i do not like Giant.

While at Giant i ordered coffee from Sedap Corner. RM3. Wow!!

I prefer to patronise TESCO and Jusco in that order.

cathylmg
13-02-2011, 03:30 AM
Anyone knows where in JB that I can get some mock meats stuffs? I'm a vegetarian and I do enjoy mock meats sometimes. Btw professor, I'll be moving to ST during Jun holidays. :)

Jogs1
13-02-2011, 04:20 AM
For Singaporean, can I drive MY plate car in JB?? Must I convert to MY driving license to buy MY car??

Jogs1
13-02-2011, 04:26 AM
[QUOTE=aangsc;671142]Me too. Can only see other enjoying their investment. Some days don't even go there for a few weeks.

Envy those bros can enjoy their investment now...even just a weekend home. For me, need to wait until next year:) But I'm enjoyed to read everyone share their good time in JB.

Coolsaint77
13-02-2011, 04:32 AM
For Singaporean, can I drive MY plate car in JB?? Must I convert to MY driving license to buy MY car??

Wuqi has a post about this... keke when i'm free i'll dig it out as i am considering as well... i think the answer is you need to pay MYR30 to get some kind of supplemetary licence... sorry about this half-baked answer rushing out

Jogs1
13-02-2011, 04:43 AM
Wuqi has a post about this... keke when i'm free i'll dig it out as i am considering as well... i think the answer is you need to pay MYR30 to get some kind of supplemetary licence... sorry about this half-baked answer rushing out

Oh, thanks...I was told by someone tat I need to do some simple test for the conversion:) I'll very happy If just to pay RM $30 for the license...please dig the info when u free. Appreciated very much!

Coolsaint77
13-02-2011, 04:50 AM
Anyone knows where in JB that I can get some mock meats stuffs? I'm a vegetarian and I do enjoy mock meats sometimes. Btw professor, I'll be moving to ST during Jun holidays. :)

Hmmm... if you chose to be vegetarian, you should not eat mock meat otherwise your heart is not pure... lol just kidding... i will have a look the next time i drop by Bestmart in Nusa Bestari

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 06:05 AM
Eh Cathy, I had thought that you had already permanently shifted to Caryota @ Setia Tropika.

You have got your keys right? What about the MArch School holidays? You should try and if possible stay there during that period as well.

Mock Meat. I Cant confirm this but my wife thought she saw at Tesco. But cant remember if its the Plentong or the Bukit Indah Tesco

aangsc
13-02-2011, 06:18 AM
Hi Cathy, someone gave me this money changer contact that does remittance:

Raffles - 24 Raffles Place #20-03 Clifford Centre Tel:65380080.

They waive the transaction fee (S$10) for amount above RM50k per transaction.
Do you mean they can remit more than the limit of RM10K per transaction ? SO far , all those I used said only 10K per trans.

jasonjst
13-02-2011, 07:17 AM

Not a bad price.

But what is bull lock brick? Yeah the shop i visited had sand, cement and the stuff.

" bull lock brick " = those grey colour type , not as strong as the orange type. Good enough for planting , perimeter . But if the orange type is only 0.37cts , better go for the orange one leh !

iamapseudoneem
13-02-2011, 07:36 AM
I definitely saw some vegetarian mock meat stuff at Tesco Bukit Indah.

cathylmg
13-02-2011, 07:52 AM
I definitely saw some vegetarian mock meat stuff at Tesco Bukit Indah.

My I know is it inside the supermarket? Or where is the location? Thanks for the info.:)

cathylmg
13-02-2011, 07:56 AM
Hmmm... if you chose to be vegetarian, you should not eat mock meat otherwise your heart is not pure... lol just kidding... i will have a look the next time i drop by Bestmart in Nusa Bestari

Pure or not its in the heart dear...I can't deny the way I was brought up. When the urge comes, at least I know that I have a choice to chose alternatives rather then having the real ones, just for a start...;)

horizonhills
13-02-2011, 08:10 AM
[Yes I feel that this is one of the best units in HH. The space is huge, golf course facing and the price is reasonable at RM 1.3 million onwards. Very good view and already very established place in the Golf

I stay with my partner and a dog. :)[/QUOTE]

iamapseudoneem
13-02-2011, 09:19 AM
It's inside Tesco supermarket. Placed along one of the refrigerated food aisles.

My I know is it inside the supermarket? Or where is the location? Thanks for the info.:)

cathylmg
13-02-2011, 02:32 PM

Not a bad price.

May i know where in Kempas to get those bricks? I will need it for my garden patch.

Coolsaint77
13-02-2011, 03:29 PM
Do you mean they can remit more than the limit of RM10K per transaction ? SO far , all those I used said only 10K per trans.

Of course. I remitted my 10% downpayment directly to UEM from money changer in SG.

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 04:37 PM
I am bad at giving directions but let me try.

As you exit Setia Tropika (at the dead end) turn left and drive straight. You will pass by the Golf shop in ST on your left.

Cross the traffic light and as you drive ahead keep looking to your right and you will find it.

The other shop is when you exit Setia Tropika turn right (at the dead end).
drive to the traffic light (another dead end) turn left.
Drive straight.
Keep looking to the right... very soon you will see the brick shop on your right.

But you need to drive ahead to U turn.

May i know where in Kempas to get those bricks? I will need it for my garden patch.

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 04:39 PM
So my wife was right then.

It's inside Tesco supermarket. Placed along one of the refrigerated food aisles.

Analytical Professor
13-02-2011, 04:42 PM
Yeah you are right. The grey ones are not strong. Some people refer to it as Hollow bricks. Not sure if they are hollow though. But i know they break easily.

The Red/Orange bricks are quite hardy and most reputed developers use them.

" bull lock brick " = those grey colour type , not as strong as the orange type. Good enough for planting , perimeter . But if the orange type is only 0.37cts , better go for the orange one leh !

13-02-2011, 04:53 PM

Understand this RM10k limit applies for remittance to non-Malaysian-held bank account, but if you are remitting to Malaysian-held bank account such as when you make payment to developer, there is no limit.

But note that the S$10 fee waiver for RM50k is on per transaction basis, so if you're remitting RM50k to your own bank account in Malaysia and you're Singaporean, they'll have to break up the RM50k to 5 transactions and the $10 fee will apply for each of the 5 transactions.

Skippy
14-02-2011, 01:32 AM
Cant beat Bro Wuqi and the depth of detail he has about JB.

Hi Analytical Prof,

Pls dun say that you have also been as informative... great sharings too... pardon me as i was feeling very much like Bro Wuqi... tot buy the place for my parents to live in... not too sure if i make the right choice... plus hearing so much from the naysayers... turn around these grp of pple are asking my dad for the contacts and stuff.. even my old minded relatives thinks it's a good deal now... anyhow... i also wish to contribute so that all of here follow folks can unite and share the greatness of their new homes. BTW.. Daiso has a store in Aeon Jusco at bt indah think level 2 corner shop... everything in there sells at RM5... in case need something like a file or a bowl.. surely can find there... Meanwhile have a good day... cheers :p

cathylmg
14-02-2011, 01:53 AM
Hi Analytical Prof,

Pls dun say that you have also been as informative... great sharings too... pardon me as i was feeling very much like Bro Wuqi... tot buy the place for my parents to live in... not too sure if i make the right choice... plus hearing so much from the naysayers... turn around these grp of pple are asking my dad for the contacts and stuff.. even my old minded relatives thinks it's a good deal now... anyhow... i also wish to contribute so that all of here follow folks can unite and share the greatness of their new homes. BTW.. Daiso has a store in Aeon Jusco at bt indah think level 2 corner shop... everything in there sells at RM5... in case need something like a file or a bowl.. surely can find there... Meanwhile have a good day... cheers :p

Daiso at Aeon Jusco Bukit Indah is quite big. They have just about everything you need. I especially love the gardening section. Very beautiful.:)

cathylmg
14-02-2011, 01:56 AM
I am bad at giving directions but let me try.

As you exit Setia Tropika (at the dead end) turn left and drive straight. You will pass by the Golf shop in ST on your left.

Cross the traffic light and as you drive ahead keep looking to your right and you will find it.

The other shop is when you exit Setia Tropika turn right (at the dead end).
drive to the traffic light (another dead end) turn left.
Drive straight.
Keep looking to the right... very soon you will see the brick shop on your right.

But you need to drive ahead to U turn.

Thanks Professor. Will go take a look.;)

Analytical Professor
14-02-2011, 02:12 AM
My wife has been asking me to go there. Me the lazy one ...never venture there. he he...

BTW.. Daiso has a store in Aeon Jusco at bt indah think level 2 corner shop... everything in there sells at RM5... in case need something like a file or a bowl.. surely can find there... :p

Skippy
14-02-2011, 02:21 AM
Yeap Cathy... even gardening stuff can be found.. i love the cooking bowls and cockery stuffs...

Prof, bring her lah... but must ensure enough cash... think only $ terms... got make up stuff like lashes and hair clips like a one stop place.. but then again seems like buy in SG would be cheaper as the conversion rate thingy... in SG $2 only... hmmm... gotta go check this out to see can grab good steal...

Cheers...:p

Analytical Professor
14-02-2011, 03:01 AM
Bro Skippy thank you so much.

Congratulations on your new home.

Yes this thread is becoming a great place to share and learn. One of the main reasons i am ever so thankful to Wuqi is his sustained interest in maintaining the thread and keepin it relevant. So many threads appear and disappear. This thread has not died so far. Touch Wood...

And the main reason for this is Bro Wuqis efforts in painstakingly providing the information sought.

If this thread ever dies it will be a tremendous loss and hence we must support it.

Hi Analytical Prof,

Pls dun say that you have also been as informative... great sharings too... pardon me as i was feeling very much like Bro Wuqi... tot buy the place for my parents to live in... not too sure if i make the right choice... plus hearing so much from the naysayers... turn around these grp of pple are asking my dad for the contacts and stuff.. even my old minded relatives thinks it's a good deal now... anyhow... i also wish to contribute so that all of here follow folks can unite and share the greatness of their new homes. :p

29ers
14-02-2011, 03:34 AM
Hi Folks,

Just to share my 2cts worth....

u can go to www.plusmiles.com.my to get the plusmiles card which can earn u 5% rebate when using the Link Dua (or Tuas Tolls MY side). Rebate applies if you exceed monthly usage of RM200.

To get the Plusmiles card...i think nearest toll to get it from would be Perling Toll.

Has this been brought up before? if so my bad.

just lazing around in quiet JB.

Cheers

Analytical Professor
14-02-2011, 08:39 AM
I did not know this. I dun think it has been brought up before and even it has been brought up before it definitely did not register in my mind.

So i guess we should not get upset if someone repeats a topic.

Eg.... reiterating safety and security while in Malaysia is something that each one of us need to remind each other every now and then else we slacken up and become victims.

Thanks for bringing this up. Atleast it helps frequent travellers who use Link Dua.

u can go to www.plusmiles.com.my to get the plusmiles card which can earn u 5% rebate when using the Link Dua (or Tuas Tolls MY side). Rebate applies if you exceed monthly usage of RM200.

To get the Plusmiles card...i think nearest toll to get it from would be Perling Toll.

Coolsaint77
14-02-2011, 08:48 AM
Hi Folks,

Just to share my 2cts worth....

just lazing around in quiet JB.

Cheers

Thanks for that.

Btw... does anyone know what do i need to do to use the "smart" lane? ie for Tuas it is the right most lane whereby you dont need to sprain your shoulder to touch your card but just drive through

matix
14-02-2011, 09:21 AM

I think we need a "sticky" in page 1 of this thread. I have definitely read about this somewhere in this humongous thread, but can't seems to find it. Perhaps a "sticky" in page 1 with all important info such as this, as well as payments for electric bills, etc, etc. That will helpa lot. What you guys think? I am afraid by the time I move in late next year, there will be 1000 pages in this thread! :eek:

danteakc
14-02-2011, 09:38 AM
Daiso at Aeon Jusco Bukit Indah is quite big. They have just about everything you need. I especially love the gardening section. Very beautiful.:)

If traveling back home via tuas best to chk out IMM Daiso. Better value for $$ as it is only $2.

toyohon
14-02-2011, 10:53 AM
I think the least the regulars here could do is to come in once in a while and keep this thread alive and afloat. :)

rw6akr
14-02-2011, 10:57 AM
Hi,

My SG driving license is about to be suspended as I was caught for hand phone driving few days ago. The minimum penalty for such an offense in Singapore is 12 demerit points and since I already have 16 I hardly can expect any other result.

Since I have relocated to East Ledang the only two options for me are to hire a driver (a Malaysian with Singapore driving license) or move back to Singapore.

I only need to travel to the office at Alexandra and back and that makes such job rather relaxing (8am to pick up, 6pm to bring back / free most of the day) while I'm ready to pay ~1,500 RM for such arrangements. However, it seems quite difficult to find a person in Malaysia with Singapore driving license and I have no idea if there are any companies that might help to hire such person.

Any recommendations or job applications are welcome!

euphony
14-02-2011, 11:26 AM
If traveling back home via tuas best to chk out IMM Daiso. Better value for $$ as it is only $2.

yes IMM is a better bet, also free parking (within 3 hours). i always swipe off all the $2 car charcoal deodorizer. absolute cheapest and effective. the wan chai char chan in front is also a good snack break place.

cathylmg
14-02-2011, 01:41 PM
I think the least the regulars here could do is to come in once in a while and keep this thread alive and afloat. :)

I go shopping at Bukit Indah once in a while, Daiso is definately in my itinery. Must prepare more money. $2 per item is cheap, but just because its cheap, I tend to buy as much as I could. So would spend a couple of tens dollar each visit. I always get their charcoal peel off mask. Very cost effective. Can see all the white heads being pull out.:D

I don't bother leaving by 2nd link because I live in the east area. Always used 1st link cause its free and nearer to my house. Even if I go to Bukit Indah, I will still go back to first link to leave the place.

horizonhills
14-02-2011, 02:20 PM
Thanks for that.

Btw... does anyone know what do i need to do to use the "smart" lane? ie for Tuas it is the right most lane whereby you dont need to sprain your shoulder to touch your card but just drive through

Thats the smart tag. I was going to ask this question. I popped by Shell at 2nd link to apply but they just pass me a form to fill up. Need to mail to KL. I was just lazy to do so. Smart Tag is indeed so convenient!

Jogs1
15-02-2011, 02:54 AM

Answer found in page 66:)

jasonjst
15-02-2011, 03:18 AM
http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2011/02/07/iskandar-malaysia-comes-alive/

Old news comes alive ..

Jogs1
15-02-2011, 03:30 AM
yes IMM is a better bet, also free parking (within 3 hours). i always swipe off all the $2 car charcoal deodorizer. absolute cheapest and effective. the wan chai char chan in front is also a good snack break place.

Saw 'BIG' MEDINI sign now along the road to puteri harbour. Very impressive:)

dapbest
15-02-2011, 04:28 AM
[QUOTE=rw6akr;673017]Hi,

My SG driving license is about to be suspended as I was caught for hand phone driving few days ago. The minimum penalty for such an offense in Singapore is 12 demerit points and since I already have 16 I hardly can expect any other result.

Hi,
The real issue is not to find anyone who have singapore liscence to drive u in and out. The main problem is the driver being a foreigner cannot suka suka enter Singapore daily. I heard one month max is 15 days alternate.

Wah u are so rich can pay rm1500 to drive u in and out. ERP,petrol, tax etc on u right? You can place ad in Sin Chew daily etc. Surely can find cos in jb there are tons of enciks bus drivers etc who have driven van or bus in Singapore and retire in JB when they hit 50. Road wise they are more knowledgable than u and me

29ers
15-02-2011, 04:33 AM
Hi Guys,

Since i am on the topic of rebate for the toll charges...i discovered another rebate scheme, best part is that this will work together with the plusmiles rebates. So u could eventually be earning 2 rebates.

https://privilege.touchngo.com.my/index.php?mod=tng_mod_leftmenu&id=11

the catch is u need to make 80 transaction for this to work...but the rebate is 20%.

Also for those who are asking about SMART TAG, u need to buy the device which cost 120RM i think.

Cheers

dapbest
15-02-2011, 04:50 AM
[QUOTE=rw6akr;673017]Hi,

Not wanting to Suan you but I was caught yakking on the phone with my sweetheart twice, once in Perling and once in Bukit Indah but my liscence is still intact! Thats the wonder of staying in a wonderful place called Mudland. RM 50 coffee money is damn cheap.

Last week I tio caught beating red traffic on purpose ( i was lazy to wait ) at Bukit Indah turning away from Petronas when 3 poodles greeted me with joy! They were literally jumping and joking around with me and of course, work is still work. I dont wan to waste my time and tat of theirs so I say settle at market price. The boss hear already bun buay tahan me. Say I am so pandai even know the market rate. RM 50 to be shared among the 3 fellows and off I sped off to beat another red light 200m ahead.

Life is good

freekazoid
15-02-2011, 07:37 AM
Hi Guys,

I've been following this thread for long time...and a proud owner of EL phase 7 (looking forward to next year completion).

Intend to move to Nusajaya this year....right now doing alot of planning. Basically has planned out the mover, my transport to sg to work....my wife transport in Nusajaya. Gonna check out Real kindergarden this weekend.

But there is critical topic of Maid, which I hope you guys can direct me to Maid agency or website or share their experience in this area

Thank you all!

Batok Seri
15-02-2011, 08:07 AM
Life is good

So please don't fark it up for the rest of us.

That post (double post summore) was not helpful.
You insult, belittle your host country while bragging about being let off for being a serial reckless irresponsible motorist.

15-02-2011, 09:01 AM
Hi,

Since I have relocated to East Ledang the only two options for me are to hire a driver (a Malaysian with Singapore driving license) or move back to Singapore.

I only need to travel to the office at Alexandra and back and that makes such job rather relaxing (8am to pick up, 6pm to bring back / free most of the day) while I'm ready to pay ~1,500 RM for such arrangements. However, it seems quite difficult to find a person in Malaysia with Singapore driving license and I have no idea if there are any companies that might help to hire such person.

Currently how many demerit point and when will be expired date for the demerit point to reset?
For RM1500/month(SG$630), I think you can find a driver to be your Ah Mat at fix time daily if you paid all the usage(petrol/toll/ERP).
But to prepare paid extra petrol and toll because he will be going back Malaysia twice.
Or best get some one also driving car to Malaysia work daily. You paid RM1500/month. U save on petrol and toll also car maintenance. Something like car sharing. Best of all u can sleep in car while travelling to work.:)

euphony
15-02-2011, 01:15 PM
Hi,

to ease your pain a little. If 1st time suspension get a dips letter from traffic police and go for 1 day training course at the few driving centers will reduce the suspension to 1 month only. more info here (http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/driving_in_singapore/information_dips_flowchart.htm). insurance going to take a hit though. suggest more care whilst driving because its not just your life others as well. hope the info helps.

rw6akr
15-02-2011, 03:05 PM
Wah u are so rich can pay rm1500 to drive u in and out. ERP,petrol, tax etc on u right? You can place ad in Sin Chew daily etc. Surely can find cos in jb there are tons of enciks bus drivers etc who have driven van or bus in Singapore and retire in JB when they hit 50. Road wise they are more knowledgable than u and me
Thanks for your advise but since I am caucasian it would be difficult for me to place an add in a language I don't know...

rw6akr
15-02-2011, 03:13 PM
Not wanting to Suan you but I was caught yakking on the phone with my sweetheart twice, once in Perling and once in Bukit Indah but my liscence is still intact! Thats the wonder of staying in a wonderful place called Mudland. RM 50 coffee money is damn cheap.

Last week I tio caught beating red traffic on purpose ( i was lazy to wait ) at Bukit Indah turning away from Petronas when 3 poodles greeted me with joy! They were literally jumping and joking around with me and of course, work is still work. I dont wan to waste my time and tat of theirs so I say settle at market price. The boss hear already bun buay tahan me. Say I am so pandai even know the market rate. RM 50 to be shared among the 3 fellows and off I sped off to beat another red light 200m ahead.

Life is good

Well, I was caught on AYE and it doesn't work this way there. As for the RM 50 coffee money I would strongly suggest you not to do it if you have a Singapore number plate. My own experience (based on comments from my friends similar to your advise above) was to pay them 50 RM regularly until I was stopped once with 20 over traffic summons of 150 - 300 RM.

I have checked the print out and most of those were already settled with 50RM but my number was anyway recorded. So, I don't pay them anything instead now and they don't have a right to withdraw the SG license from me and neither I have problem of not paying some of the outstanding summons.

Since my bad experience was few years ago at the time when they were randomly checking your the traffic offenses history there it was quite easy to go through with only one of those paid at a time formally BUT with at least with guarantee that it is removed from the history. I have changed the car since and quite happy that those random checks at Malaysian side of checkpoint were suspended since.

rw6akr
15-02-2011, 03:38 PM
to ease your pain a little. If 1st time suspension get a dips letter from traffic police and go for 1 day training course at the few driving centers will reduce the suspension to 1 month only. more info here (http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/driving_in_singapore/information_dips_flowchart.htm). insurance going to take a hit though. suggest more care whilst driving because its not just your life others as well. hope the info helps.
That is the best suggestion so far as that is the first time for my driving license to be suspended over the last 10 years in Singapore. I have prepared letter from the company, letter of appeal and one more letter of support in an attempt to decrease the penalty but the option you proposed seems more realistic for Singapore.

As for insurance there is a small but a legal trick. The car in Singapore can be owned by one person and insured by anyone else (e.g. with clear record) and original owner can also be fully covered since insurance is normally not a person specific...

rw6akr
15-02-2011, 03:41 PM
But there is critical topic of Maid, which I hope you guys can direct me to Maid agency or website or share their experience in this area
Shouldn't be a problem as long as you can speak Bahasa or Mandarin. More difficult if otherwise.

15-02-2011, 07:04 PM
Thanks for your advise but since I am caucasian it would be difficult for me to place an add in a language I don't know...

Well, I was caught on AYE and it doesn't work this way there. As for the RM 50 coffee money I would strongly suggest you not to do it if you have a Singapore number plate. My own experience (based on comments from my friends similar to your advise above)

Should be "Thanks for your ADVICE..." & "similar to your ADVICE above"

"Advise" is a verb.

What has Singapore done to your English!!!!! :D

horizonhills
15-02-2011, 09:44 PM
Hi Guys,

Since i am on the topic of rebate for the toll charges...i discovered another rebate scheme, best part is that this will work together with the plusmiles rebates. So u could eventually be earning 2 rebates.

https://privilege.touchngo.com.my/index.php?mod=tng_mod_leftmenu&id=11

the catch is u need to make 80 transaction for this to work...but the rebate is 20%.

Also for those who are asking about SMART TAG, u need to buy the device which cost 120RM i think.

Cheers
Thanks for your input but I dont know if this 80 transactions would include the Tanjong Kupang toll ( the JB 2nd link custom ), as the Plus reward do not apply for this checkpoint and ironically, this checkpoint is the most expensive of all.

rw6akr
15-02-2011, 11:31 PM
Should be "Thanks for your ADVICE..." & "similar to your ADVICE above"
"Advise" is a verb.
What has Singapore done to your English!!!!! :D

Being caucasian doesn't necessarily mean that English is my native language and it is not even an official language in the country where I am from. Don't forget that there are quite a number of other languages except English that are used outside Asia...

Anyway, thanks for advice! :)

15-02-2011, 11:39 PM
Being caucasian doesn't necessarily mean that English is my native language and it is not even an official language in the country where I am from.

That may well be the case but NOBODY and I mean NOBODY mangles the English language the way Singaporeans do.

rw6akr
16-02-2011, 12:46 AM
That may well be the case but NOBODY and I mean NOBODY mangles the English language the way Singaporeans do.
I wouldn't say so as there are so many other accents. The major difference is that you apart from the accent itself you also have a variation of common language rules and number of country specific peculiarities in Singlish. However, same would be applicable for any country with a mixed population where English is official but not common for all the residents (be it USA, African English, etc).

Have a look at an interesting video created by a British boy to demonstrate various accents and the other one that demonstrate how different the language in UK can be.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dABo_DCIdpM

Investor
16-02-2011, 01:27 AM
http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2011/02/07/iskandar-malaysia-comes-alive/

Old news comes alive ..

It stated that 'Temasek Holdings and Khazanah are jointly developing an iconic wellness township in Medini'.

Hope that the information is accurate. Of all areas in Iskandar Region, which is 3 times the size of Singapore, Temasek Holdings chose Nusajaya's Medini as the location for their Iconic Wellness Township after much research. That proves that all of us here had made the right choice by choosing Nusajaya as Temasek's research team had further confirmed and reassured us that Nusajaya is the area within Iskandar Region which will see the most interest from investors all over the world as compared to other areas in Iskandar Region.

The launch of Temasek Holdings' Iconic Wellness Township in coming May will create more awareness of Nusajaya within Singaporeans and also gives them more confidence in investing in Nusajaya, thus creating new demands which will directly boost property prices in Nusajaya. Congratulations to everyone here. This year will definitely be a very good year for our investments in Nusajaya and it will continue to be good for many more years as Nusajaya takes shape.

rw6akr
16-02-2011, 02:59 AM
Have a look at an interesting video created by a British boy to demonstrate various accents and the other one that demonstrate how different the language in UK can be.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dABo_DCIdpM

The link for the second video mentioned is below:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vGPr8kFStLs

Have fun!

wuqi256
16-02-2011, 10:12 AM
http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?p=675121&posted=1#post675121

Another awakened soul.

wuqi256
16-02-2011, 10:27 AM
Foreigners who are well heeled should continue staying in Singapore, you are welcome but please note that this thread was started to help those who are local and have difficulty coping or planning alternatives.

As long as you are a foreigner in Singapore, you are well treated and highly likely will be better treated than the locals.

Still, to answer some questions:

Commute
1. You can hire a Malaysia driver with a Malaysian registered car(your own of course) and do a daily trip in and out of SG. The car can be purchased cheaply and the driver can be hired on monthly basis.

2. There are also talks about shuttles for certain property developments going out to SG on daily basis in the morning. Else, you can take the CW3 out to SG to Jurong and take a cab from there.

Updates for everyone:
1. Driving conversion for those driving Malaysian vehicles - (Superceded)
I got informed by a learned friend and also others and found that there is no need for the conversion afterall (only if you are migrating there) but that you can get an international driving license and thus able to drive all Malaysia cars in Malaysia.

2. When stopped, don't volunteer a bribe, there was one time my friend got away when he politely challenged the offence as it was really ridiculous.

3. At the customs, if they stop you and want to check, please do get out of the car to open the boot for them.

4. Again at the customs, if you find that you are missing a VISA stamp/chop on your passport, park your car and get back to the same point of entry that you took and speak to the officers in the main immigration room. It helps if you can bring the passport of 1-2 fellow travellors along. Be polite, this has happened twice to my friends and families and i was able to resolve this without the need for $$$.

wuqi256
16-02-2011, 10:38 AM
International license =

One can apply to the International Driving License from Road Transport Office (J.P.J) all over the country. The rules and regulations are as follows, including the necessary documents required:

a) Domestic license which is still valid for at least a year and its photostat copy.

b) Identity card (original) and 1 copy photostat

c) 2 copies coloured photo, passport size

d) Application form JPJL1

e) International Driving License fee for 1 year (RM150)

To my knowledge, you have to surrender your Domestic Malaysian License in place of your International Driving License. As no one is permitted to posses 2 driving licenses in Malaysia.

If in the later stages, you no longer require usage of this said license (which is rather costly anyway) you could then surrender it for your C.D.L (Competent Driver’s License) domestic license later.

Other than J.P.J offices, this license is attainable from the Automobile Association Of Malaysia (A.A.M) office also.

It should be cheaper to apply for this in Singapore instead. ($22 SGD)

http://www.aas.com.sg/?show=content&showview=8&val=135

Some links and source(Malaysia, $150 RM):

http://www.mywisewife.com/how-to-get-international-driving-license-in-malaysia.html

http://driving-school.com.my/international-license/guide-to-obtain-an-international-driving-license-for-malaysian/

http://www.malaysia.gov.my/EN/Relevant%20Topics/Tour%20and%20Travel/Non%20Citizen/nTransportation/nLandTransportation/nInternationalDrivingLicense/Pages/InternationalDrivingLicense.aspx

wuqi256
16-02-2011, 10:48 AM
Also to add for matters regarding to commuting to Singapore, there is no issue with getting a Malaysian driving sending you to Singapore, there is the issue of the cost though as its $20 per day after the first 10 visits. They can come in to SG daily with no issues.

29ers is right about the SMART tag, its useful if you need to cross in a hurry and if there are many toll stations along your designated route. Its not ALWAYS detectable though so still have to slow down to pass some of them.

Maids:

http://johorbahru.olx.com.my/house-maid-agency-johor-iid-115149587

http://www.tuugo.my/Companies/malaysia-house-maid-agency/0190003086352

http://superpages.com.my/superhome/cleaning-service/cleaning-services-and-maid-agent-159975.html

wuqi256
16-02-2011, 10:53 AM
You can get the Smart tag machine and just put in your TnG card. :)

Analyticalprofessor, you have helped us a lot too, thanks for your continued sharing.

Ok for home utensils, you can go to Bestmart, opposite the Petronas petrol station. Its also besides a Shell station on the way towards Carrefour(Sutera mall)

For vegetarians, there is a nice place open from 10am to 9pm located near the Ali cafe place(near Alliance bank), its in one of the backlanes, prices good too though service can be slightly improved.

wuqi256
16-02-2011, 11:01 AM
Bank branches in Bukit Indah area (Please help to add if i miss out anything)

Standard Chartered Bank
HSBC
Alliance Bank
EON Bank
AMbank
Maybank(Inside Jusco)

Perling
Public Bank

Payment of utilities:
POS inside Jusco
POS at Perling
POS at Bestmart(next to Merrybrown[fast food restaurant which has porridge even])

Some food places:
Secret Recipe - Perling mall (Giant is located there) - A bit run down but good place to unwind as most people don't go there even on weekends. :)
Bei jing Lou Chinese restaurant located besides Sutera Mall - Nice ambience, good food too
Korean restaurant (located near Alliance bank at Bukit Indah) - Very authentic but pricey.

wuqi256
16-02-2011, 11:03 AM
Daiso is at level 3. :)

KNNBCCB
16-02-2011, 11:58 AM
You can get the Smart tag machine and just put in your TnG card. :)

29ers is right about the SMART tag, its useful if you need to cross in a hurry and if there are many toll stations along your designated route. Its not ALWAYS detectable though so still have to slow down to pass some of them.

Just a reminder ...

When you get your SMART tag , do not attach it onto the car windscreen.
When you want to use it, take it out and put it on the dashboard 5 m before you reach the toll.

A lot of thieves are into SMART tag, they will smash your windscreen to steal it and sell for quick bucks.

Keep it in the dashboard drawer if not in use. ;)
Do not let it easily be seen from outside. ;)

danteakc
16-02-2011, 01:26 PM
Just a reminder ...

When you get your SMART tag , do not attach it onto the car windscreen.
When you want to use it, take it out and put it on the dashboard 5 m before you reach the toll.

A lot of thieves are into SMART tag, they will smash your windscreen to steal it and sell for quick bucks.

Keep it in the dashboard drawer if not in use. ;)
Do not let it easily be seen from outside. ;)

Ok today just went to The Store, near the Crown Crystal Hotel or is it Crystal Crown Hotel and went to TMPoint to get streamyx. Be prepare for a long queue and pls put coupon for at least 2hrs. Pls ignore the Plaza Pelangi for streamyx they did not updated it is no longer in services. Also ignore all TAD, they don't bother to entertain you. TM Authorize Dealer.

TM, streamyx claim my area at Horizon Hill is within their coverage, so pls be prepare a deposit of $1075 and 7 days of waiting time.

Wuqi need help on 2 issues.
1) I'll be bring my appliances in from SGP to JB in terms of taxes I was told by 1 moving co. that tax for my appliances will be waive if items on receipt is more then 6 months?

Regards

wuqi256
16-02-2011, 01:46 PM
The moving company should take care of things for you, most will accept a flat fee for the "tax" and you should be able to get it in easily. The receipt thing is correct but they may still choose to ignore and levy taxes. What are you bringing in? If its not a lot, just leave it in SG and buy here as most items are cheaper. Mainly electronics and entertainment systems/items get taxed. If you are not in a hurry and come in 2-3 times a week, you can also do it slowly by moving in 1 large item at a time. I know of a few guys who did that. They either have one or borrowed some nice people's MPV and slowly but surely did it. :)

cathylmg
16-02-2011, 02:06 PM
The moving company should take care of things for you, most will accept a flat fee for the "tax" and you should be able to get it in easily. The receipt thing is correct but they may still choose to ignore and levy taxes. What are you bringing in? If its not a lot, just leave it in SG and buy here as most items are cheaper. Mainly electronics and entertainment systems/items get taxed. If you are not in a hurry and come in 2-3 times a week, you can also do it slowly by moving in 1 large item at a time. I know of a few guys who did that. They either have one or borrowed some nice people's MPV and slowly but surely did it. :)

I wonder how will I be taxed if I bring in 1 aircon-condenser, then fan coil on another occasion. What if all second hand?

matix
08-03-2011, 10:54 PM
What happened to the rest of the posts in this thread? I remembered we are already at page 154 or something like that..

09-03-2011, 12:08 AM
What happened to the rest of the posts in this thread? I remembered we are already at page 154 or something like that..

You right.
Can Sam/Wuji256 confirm what happen?:confused:

cathylmg
09-03-2011, 12:16 AM
Pages after page 125 are all gone! What happen?

dapbest
09-03-2011, 12:47 AM
I think tio virus. Back to basics

dapbest
09-03-2011, 02:53 AM
This happened once to my Handphone recently ( just 1 month ago ). I was going thru my messages ( abour 300+ of them ) when my screen went blank and later restarted by itself. I tot it hang but when I scroll thru the messages again to resume my reading and deleting, I was shocked when ALL recent message were not there but those which were there belonged to last year May 2010. I even got all these 200+ messages which I had deleted in May 2010 all INTACT. The dates and time show last May 2010.

I was shocked and later went to a temple to seek forgiveness for all the sins that I have done.

Subsquently everything went smoothly but of course I lost very important messages

cathylmg
09-03-2011, 03:24 AM
This happened once to my Handphone recently ( just 1 month ago ). I was going thru my messages ( abour 300+ of them ) when my screen went blank and later restarted by itself. I tot it hang but when I scroll thru the messages again to resume my reading and deleting, I was shocked when ALL recent message were not there but those which were there belonged to last year May 2010. I even got all these 200+ messages which I had deleted in May 2010 all INTACT. The dates and time show last May 2010.

I was shocked and later went to a temple to seek forgiveness for all the sins that I have done.

Subsquently everything went smoothly but of course I lost very important messages

Which is why I always feels that hard copy is still the best....:o

Coolsaint77
09-03-2011, 03:29 AM
Its the Sammyboy server. Happening to all other threads as well.

2bFree
09-03-2011, 04:55 AM
Hi all,

Looking for advice/feedback here. I have found a suitable terrace unit at The Gateway and am signing for a 1+1 lease period and appreciate your comments on the following T&C:
1. Earnest deposit (1st month rental advance)
2. Security deposit (1 month rental; returnable at end of lease period)
3. Utility deposit (RM1000; returnable at end of lease period)
4. Agency fees (I am going through an agent as I have had no luck with direct owners; 1/2 amt of monthly rental)
5. Stamp duty etc. at RM200

Does this look kosher? I am asking requesting for a copy of the full tenancy agreement so I can go through the T&Cs in detail too.

Thanks for all help and I look forward in joining the HH community in Apr!

rw6akr
09-03-2011, 07:21 AM
My last post was about Inland Revenue. Let me try to reproduce it below.

If I am traveling on a route Singapore - Malaysia - Singapore it creates few questions:
1. Would Inland Revenue office in Singapore consider me as a Tax Resident in Singapore (should stay more than 180 days in Singapore) or if they are just to charge me a flat rate as for Non-Resident?
2. Do I need to pay any taxes in Malaysia (or both) as they might consider me as a tax resident even though that the income is obtained Singapore.
3. I believe there should be an agreement between SG/MY about double taxation. Is that possible for me to select the country where I want to pay taxes myself in such a case?

Coolsaint77
09-03-2011, 07:51 AM
Hi all,

Looking for advice/feedback here. I have found a suitable terrace unit at The Gateway and am signing for a 1+1 lease period and appreciate your comments on the following T&C:
4. Agency fees (I am going through an agent as I have had no luck with direct owners; 1/2 amt of monthly rental)

Does this look kosher? I am asking requesting for a copy of the full tenancy agreement so I can go through the T&Cs in detail too.

When i rented my cheaper house at NI, myself, the agent and landlord met face to face, so everything is settled at one go. My utility deposit is MY500 since it is a smaller place, agency fee is half mth, stamp fee was MY100 or thereabout.

So what you have looks similar to me except that i was renting a smaller and cheaper place

2bFree
09-03-2011, 08:11 AM
^^Hey, thanks for your reply!

Any difference between 1+1 or I just go for 2 yrs instead?

vincentck
09-03-2011, 09:37 AM
Hi all,

It looks fine; and in fact the security deposit is usually 2 months. But why do you have to pay the agent? I've never rented through an agent before in Msia; so maybe it's a usual fee if you asked the agent to help find a unit.

The landlord will definitely need to pay the agent 1/2 month for a 1 year rental agreement.

barslut
09-03-2011, 03:35 PM
Hi , can anyone recommend any good movers ?

dapbest
10-03-2011, 12:08 AM
Hi here is some info I have garnered over the weekend. The primary school in HH ( just in front of the shoplot offices ) are very packed, according to my relative who wish to enrol her son there in 2 years time.

They only give places to students living in HH or nearby. And the waiting list is very very long. So if u or any relatives wish to apply there, remember, must stay there. Parents are found to use their relative's house in HH to apply and when they are found out, they got kicked out. Very strict

cathylmg
10-03-2011, 12:22 AM
Owing to the government releasing so many flats into the market, and the height of foreign levies, which means that more foreigners will have to pack up and go. Within this year or next year. Also government and bankers and also property agent friend keep hinting of interest height as a last resort to curb escalating property prices. Mostly likely next year. As for my HDB flat, I am contemplating whether to sell or rent. If I sell, I am forgoing future rental collection, also not eligible to buy back a HDB flat again because of foreign house ownership. If I don't sell, I'll run the risk of having my house vacant for a long time. I in a dilema right now.

To sell or not to sell. Any opinion welcome. Thanks in advance.

house
10-03-2011, 01:00 AM
hihi... new user here! hope to learn from u guys...

house
10-03-2011, 01:03 AM
Owing to the government releasing so many flats into the market, and the height of foreign levies, which means that more foreigners will have to pack up and go. Within this year or next year. Also government and bankers and also property agent friend keep hinting of interest height as a last resort to curb escalating property prices. Mostly likely next year. As for my HDB flat, I am contemplating whether to sell or rent. If I sell, I am forgoing future rental collection, also not eligible to buy back a HDB flat again because of foreign house ownership. If I don't sell, I'll run the risk of having my house vacant for a long time. I in a dilema right now.

keep hinting of interest height - do u mean increase of interest rate?
what type is ur hdb? location? wanna sell to me? haha... can save on the agent fees.

house
10-03-2011, 01:05 AM
taman laguna is quite isolated. any bro bought a unit there?

jasonjst
10-03-2011, 01:26 AM

Like you have sell , after selling you basically cant buy another HDB because of pte pty ownership . Even if there is a drop of 20 to 30% , it should be OK .
As for rental income , in a bad market ,you just need to lower your rental lor , unlikely to be vaccant in SG market.

euphony
10-03-2011, 02:54 AM

cathy: I think you need to make a decision factoring the merits of your HDB. Is it close to amenities (malls, supermarkets, banks, parks)? Which area is it in (close to city, blue/white collar worker districts)? How close is it to the public transportation pulse (close to interchange mrt etc). If it checks a lot of boxes the more you shouldn't sell because your unit 'sells' for itself. In a depressed renting market, all rents being equally low, the rentee looks for choice locations and all these come into consideration with choice units snapped up and the rest languishing by the wayside.

as to the counter arguments. Government is releasing a lot of flats. Where are they? are they in the vicinity of your HDB unit therefore serve as competing rentals?

foreign levies are for workers providing services in e.g. domestic help, construction, cleaning etc. Are these the target group of people you want to rent to?

Interest rate hike. This one is tricky. We've been enjoying very low interest for a long time its only a matter of time before it rises from the low fueling inflation. As inflation rises, so does consumer products, services you may consider letting the rentee shoulder the burden and/or your cpf. I do not think a big increase is likely as it does not solve the problem. People who are buying such units at very high prices (resale) can afford it anyway whats 1 in 100 000 as compared to 1 in 100. But this very act will price out first time buyers who are barely able to afford which is not what the government wants (I hope).

:p my 2 cents to help you in ur consideration. All the best, I think your decision will not be easy.

cathylmg
10-03-2011, 03:28 AM
cathy: I think you need to make a decision factoring the merits of your HDB. Is it close to amenities (malls, supermarkets, banks, parks)? Which area is it in (close to city, blue/white collar worker districts)? How close is it to the public transportation pulse (close to interchange mrt etc). If it checks a lot of boxes the more you shouldn't sell because your unit 'sells' for itself. In a depressed renting market, all rents being equally low, the rentee looks for choice locations and all these come into consideration with choice units snapped up and the rest languishing by the wayside.

Its not easy for me to come to a decision at all. I am living in Tampines now. My area is 3 bus stop to MRT and interchange. No amenities except perhap primary schools and childcare centres. So in a depressed renting market my house is not going to be a choiced location. This house which is a 5 room flat I got it for $158k only so if lower rent but not empty is still manageable.

as to the counter arguments. Government is releasing a lot of flats. Where are they? are they in the vicinity of your HDB unit therefore serve as competing rentals?

You may or may not be right in this aspect. Cos somemore flats are coming up in Tampines central. Design and build ones which can command higher returns in the near future.

foreign levies are for workers providing services in e.g. domestic help, construction, cleaning etc. Are these the target group of people you want to rent to?

S pass also included. S pass holders can also be managers and supervisors who have a higher income and able to afford the whole house. The case with my room tenants now, they will be looking for a whole flat in 2 to 3 months time as they feel that rental might come down.

Interest rate hike. This one is tricky. We've been enjoying very low interest for a long time its only a matter of time before it rises from the low fueling inflation. As inflation rises, so does consumer products, services you may consider letting the rentee shoulder the burden and/or your cpf. I do not think a big increase is likely as it does not solve the problem. People who are buying such units at very high prices (resale) can afford it anyway whats 1 in 100 000 as compared to 1 in 100. But this very act will price out first time buyers who are barely able to afford which is not what the government wants (I hope).

I really don't know, there has been lotsa talks on CNN lately about rising interest rate as a last resort should the the cooling measures that they introduced currently to curb speculative activities fail. Also a property agent friend also confirmed that lotsa 'mickey mouse' apartments in not so good locations are currently empty.

Is the government bent on depressing housing prices? Or are they just doing something for the elections and back to square one after that? Will they let our house value appreciate gradually? Or are they wanting to keep the same value for a long long time?

This is my first house. I have lotsa memories attached to it. I got married here, give birth here.... Which is why makes it all the more difficult for me to come to a decision.

euphony
10-03-2011, 04:31 AM
Cathy:
like you say yourself it is very difficult decision to make. i see pros and cons both equally meritable. In such situations what does your heart (so some say gut) say? That is very likely where your answer will come from not the unpredictable future scenarios. Interestingly, science is beginning to find proof that thinking neurons go into the heart and does more than just controlling muscular contractions explaining the heart felt emotions and 'gut' feelings. :D

On another note: all the important info and pass discussions are lost. I wonder if its permanent? Are new users lost as well? e.g. Rafflestiger??

dapbest
10-03-2011, 05:39 AM
Hi Cathay u said u wanted to rent your flat to S pass holders. Their salary is about S$1800. Dont think they can afford to rent the whole house. Anyway alot of their salaries are inflated. So its quite difficult to rent out the house to these people, at most rent out individual rooms to Work permit holders. Sporeans tenants are few though

dapbest
10-03-2011, 05:41 AM

Even if u sell your HDB, u can always buy another 2 more units in Horizon Hills. The monthly instalement for a semi d is about RM 4000 and the current rental rate is about RM 6000-RM 10,000

Even if u have 3 semis to rent out, RM 6000 extra is for you to spend ( on top of your monthly instalments secured )

dapbest
10-03-2011, 05:43 AM
Which is why I always feels that hard copy is still the best....:o

Tell u something, I was planning to PRINT out all the pages in this thread and go thru it slowly in a file to facilitate my moving permanently into Nusajaya. I procrastinate here and there and end up now some of the very important threads are gone. So sad.

I learnt that if u have the urge to do something, Just do it.

cathylmg
11-03-2011, 12:34 AM
Any advise pertaining to tax on rental income in Malaysia?

cathylmg
11-03-2011, 01:43 AM
...........On another note: all the important info and pass discussions are lost. I wonder if its permanent? Are new users lost as well? e.g. Rafflestiger??

Also didn't see bro Wuqi around these few days too...:confused:

dapbest
11-03-2011, 02:07 AM
Also didn't see bro Wuqi around these few days too...:confused:

Maybe Wuqi got washed away together with the rest of the threads? Hows your renting of units coming along?

cathylmg
11-03-2011, 02:17 AM
Maybe Wuqi got washed away together with the rest of the threads? Hows your renting of units coming along?

Hubby decided to rent it out after we move. Rent first then see how lah. Its a big flat if sell cannot buy back liao. Anyway I really like JB for its serenity. Can't get it in Singapore. Can't even find a place to sit in the coffeeshop now adays. So stressed here now. Though many have said that they will proberly balik kampong next year.

cathylmg
11-03-2011, 02:19 AM

You sure boh? He is the soul of this thread leh? Can't imagine!:o

cathylmg
11-03-2011, 05:48 AM
Johor has positive outlook, says Frank Knight
By Siti Sakinah Abdul Latif of theedgeproperty.com
Wednesday, 09 March 2011 17:35

JOHOR BAHRU: The property sector outlook in Johor Bahru is expected to be positive as the market has maintained its growth momentum in the second half of 2010, said property consultant Knight Frank Malaysia in its research report on Malaysia's 2H2010 Real Estate Highlights.

Notable growth was particularly experienced by the mid-high to high end residential properties.

The positive sentiment, it said, takes into consideration the advanced stages of completion for major infrastructure works in Johor Bahru, as well as the co-operation forged by the Malaysian and Singaporean governments.

Major projects in Iskandar Malaysia coming on stream in 2012 and the investment prospects enhanced by the Economic Transformation Programme (ETP) also contributed to the overall positive outlook.

Among the indications for a positive market outlook include Bandar Raya Developments Bhd taking over from Limitless Holdings Pte Ltd in the partnership with UEM Land (60:40) to develop the 111-acre land identified as Residential North, Puteri Harbour in Nusajaya, with an expected gross development value (GDV) of about RM2.3 billion.

Also noted was Dijaya Corp Bhd's partnership with Iskandar Water Front Sdn Bhd to form Goldhill Quest Sdn Bhd for the development of a 14.8-hectare site in Danga Bay, Johor Bahru with a GDV of about RM3.8 billion.

Also in September 2010, Iskandar Investment Bhd and Bina Puri Holdings Bhd sealed a joint venture agreement to develop Medini Square in Nusajaya, a commercial development consisting of retail, shop offices, SOHO units and an office tower. The proposed development is expected to generate RM500 million of GDV.

"The Iskandar Regional Development Authority and State Economic Planning Unit is conducting studies on the transformation of Johor Bahru city centre into a vibrant city and expected to released the results of the studies by early 2011," it said, adding that under the 10th Malaysia Plan, some RM1.8 billion will be spent for this purpose.

WCT Bhd is also taking part in the development of a 10.3-acre site in the Medini Business District, Nusajaya. The RM688 million project will include a media village and film and television production facility.

The report added that as of September 2010, Iskandar Malaysia has attracted investments of approximately RM64.38 billion, exceeding the RM47 billion target for 2010.

"More Singapore investors are expected following the joint statement by Singapore's and Malaysia's Prime Ministers in May to establish a close relationship in the development of Iskandar Malaysia Studies are also being carried out to develop a Rapid Transit System (RTS) between Singapore and Iskandar Malaysia," it said.

Under Budget 2011, RM339 million was allocated for the infrastructure support of the economic regions of Iskandar Malaysia.

Meanwhile, outside Iskandar Malaysia, S P Setia Bhd has acquired a 259-acre land for the development of Taman Setia Indah in Johor Bahru. The proposed development is expected to have a GDV of RM1.5 billion.

Knight Frank said mid-high to high-end residential properties is a growing sector in Johor Bahru. Among new developments are Nusa Sentral by Country View Bhd located along Jalan Gelang Patah, Nusajaya. The development offers 312 units of terraced homes, with built-up areas from 2,100 sq ft to 2,300 sq ft. The prices range from RM338,000 to RM380,000 per unit.

Another residential development is The Z, Indah Villa by S P Setia, located within the ongoing Taman Setia Indah offering 22 units of semi-detached houses for sale. The built-ups range from 3,795 sq ft to 4,212 sq ft with prices ranging from RM1,288,800 to RM1,408,800.

However, the commercial property market with the exception of shop offices, remained subdued

The supply of Johor Bahru's purpose-built office space remains unchanged, with the total net lettable area (NLA) of purpose-built office space in Johor Bahru as at Q3 2010 at 8,194,542 sq ft. The overall average occupancy rate is in the region of 75%.

Knight Frank said in its report that the prime central business district (CBD) office space is let at a gross rental range of RM2.50 to RM3.00 psf per month whilst offices at secondary locations are leasing below RM1.50 psf per month.

On retail property, Knight Frank said that as of 3Q, the NLA of retail space in Johor Bahru is estimated at 10,921,012 sq ft. The overall average occupancy rate is 71.0%. Prime centres have all recorded occupancy rates in excess of 80%. Prime gross rents range from RM15 to RM40 psf per month.

The report added that new proposed retail developments in Johor include a lifestyle mall by Iskandar Investment Bhd located at the western development zone of Medini North, Nusajaya with a gross retail space of one million sq ft which is expected to be completed by 2012.

There will also be the redevelopment of the KOMTAR shopping mall in Johor Bahru CBD by Johor Corporation, with a gross lettable area of about 383,000 sq ft. The mall is scheduled to be completed by 2012.

rw6akr
11-03-2011, 06:51 AM
Does anyone know if one should pay taxes in Malaysia or in Singapore if income is earned in Singapore while person is living in Malaysia and commute daily (e.g. is that more than 185 days outside of Singapore)?

barslut
13-03-2011, 10:44 AM
Sorry, will be moving into JB soon . Can anyone recommend a good reliable mover ?

Coolsaint77
13-03-2011, 01:48 PM
Does anyone know if one should pay taxes in Malaysia or in Singapore if income is earned in Singapore while person is living in Malaysia and commute daily (e.g. is that more than 185 days outside of Singapore)?

Haha don't complicate things, i hope you did not call IRAS to ask them.

You are working in SG full time hence you pay SG tax, MY authorities will not go after you for sure.

toolate
13-03-2011, 02:28 PM
Sorry, will be moving into JB soon . Can anyone recommend a good reliable mover ?

Hi,

I replied to mover queries before but think it got wiped out along with the whole chunk of pages..

So here goes:

Tag team movers, Patrick +65 9329 7171
He does cross border moves in partnership w msian agent..
Can discuss type.. Reasonable pricing.. Includes customs tax in price
Definitely not like kc dat but still professional in the sense that got black and white but somewhat flexible too within reasonable limits. Nice guy

Some of the other contacts I used:

Curtains:

Bernard from homelux +60 16 710 9966
Situated beside chef Wah / habib
Prompt, efficient, experienced with HH

Contractor:

Lam Keong Construction
Contact ST: +60 16 733 5168
He can work.. His workers are good. His electrical people are v professional. But may need some pushing if he is holding on to multiple projects (like all contractors)
Is able to connect you to good deals/special prices if you are not in a great
hurry and are flexible in Yr material options.
Fairly young chap eager to prove himself.. So if you are comfortable with this
profile then do call him for a quote..

That's all I can offer Now..

Bought a msian car too from a dealer recommended by my cousin who is local.. Wanna try out the car and his after sales service first before recommending.

Hopefully various previous contacts can be posted again.. Perhaps this will help bring back the life to this forum again

danteakc
13-03-2011, 03:44 PM
Hubby decided to rent it out after we move. Rent first then see how lah. Its a big flat if sell cannot buy back liao. Anyway I really like JB for its serenity. Can't get it in Singapore. Can't even find a place to sit in the coffeeshop now adays. So stressed here now. Though many have said that they will proberly balik kampong next year.

If possible rent for passive income n capital appreciation. I would have done it if it not for the 15% deposit & legal fees.
I lived in a 5rm HDB flat at Hougang near amenities & MRT. Was quote $2.8k for whole house.

Cheers

stayaplace
14-03-2011, 12:38 AM
today i go and apply for international drivers license

wuqi256
14-03-2011, 02:59 AM
Phew, finally back, have been trying to log on for days, no matter how many times i tried to reset password and log on, no joy.

Took my relatives to Nusa Duta on the weekends, 1 have already purchased and another 1 is still considering. Some of the ladies there are quite blur though, didn't even tell us about earlier units that are still available and only told us about the ones that are just being launched.

wuqi256
14-03-2011, 03:00 AM
Good for you Stayaplace

wuqi256
14-03-2011, 03:00 AM
Agree with Coolsaint, Cathy, the rental income in MY will be taxable by the MY authorities so no need for the SG guys to be notified.

wuqi256
14-03-2011, 03:01 AM

My humble 2 cents is that you will pay taxes still in SG as the work income is sourced from SG.

wuqi256
14-03-2011, 03:04 AM

So many of my relatives and friends are coming out here, after the last 2 families, no more tours as its really tiring and taxing on everyone. A bit fun though showing them around. Had bbq last night, ate satay and otah that my
dad cooked on the bbq grill we had at the porch.

wuqi256
14-03-2011, 03:09 AM
Btw, just out of curiosity since i never pump at the 1st link, one of the forummers here wrote that he drove his BM into JB but was jittery about pumping at Jalan Wong Ah Fook as he was concerned about kidnapping and robbery, etc?

I remembered my family members will pump at the Shell station right after exiting the customs (located on the left). Why would anyone need to go to Jalan Wong Ah Fook to pump, (unless they haven't been back in JB for a long time) its pretty out of the way and the place isn't visited as much these days?

14-03-2011, 03:20 AM
Btw, just out of curiosity since i never pump at the 1st link, one of the forummers here wrote that he drove his BM into JB but was jittery about pumping at Jalan Wong Ah Fook as he was concerned about kidnapping and robbery, etc?

I remembered my family members will pump at the Shell station right after exiting the customs (located on the left). Why would anyone need to go to Jalan Wong Ah Fook to pump, (unless they haven't been back in JB for a long time) its pretty out of the way and the place isn't visited as much these days?

Worry this and that better drive into Malaysia. Chance kena hijack is very small %. And try not to pump at petrol station with not many people around. Be street smart and try to be more alert .

cathylmg
14-03-2011, 04:02 AM
Agree with Coolsaint, Cathy, the rental income in MY will be taxable by the MY authorities so no need for the SG guys to be notified.

Wuqi can tell us how the rental is being taxed in Malaysia? How do they know we have the income? How many % to be paid for a foreigner collecting rental in Malaysia like me? And how about Singapore rental income?

Thanks for the trouble.

14-03-2011, 04:06 AM
Wuqi can tell us how the rental is being taxed in Malaysia? How do they know we have the income? How many % to be paid for a foreigner collecting rental in Malaysia like me? And how about Singapore rental income?

Thanks for the trouble.

Even have that not tenant problem is the owner problem. So no need to worry.
Best go thru agent with black and white.

cathylmg
14-03-2011, 04:12 AM
Even have that not tenant problem is the owner problem. So no need to worry.
Best go thru agent with black and white.

I'm the owner. Thats why I have these problems. LOL!:D

Wuqi is really knowledgeable as he is the pioneer among us so all the more I should learn from him. :)

14-03-2011, 04:17 AM
I'm the owner. Thats why I have these problems. LOL!:D

Wuqi is really knowledgeable as he is the pioneer among us so all the more I should learn from him. :)

No need to pay tax. Confirm I also rent out a unit in JB. Let the agent solve it. Agent will pay everything for me deducted from the rent. eg renew insurance, property tax will collect RM10 each transaction. Monthly he will collect rent for me and bank into my account at RM50 fee/month.
If you can collect your self/direct deal with the tenant will save u RM50/month.

cathylmg
14-03-2011, 04:40 AM
No need to pay tax. Confirm I also rent out a unit in JB. Let the agent solve it. Agent will pay everything for me deducted from the rent. eg renew insurance, property tax will collect RM10 each transaction. Monthly he will collect rent for me and bank into my account at RM50 fee/month.
If you can collect your self/direct deal with the tenant will save u RM50/month.

Is it that simple? Wow! I thought I have to declare the income via income tax from rental collect to the malaysia tax department and pay them yearly then and deducted whatsover expenses and so on..... Hm....you made it sounds so easy...lol!:D

14-03-2011, 04:48 AM
Is it that simple? Wow! I thought I have to declare the income via income tax from rental collect to the malaysia tax department and pay them yearly then and deducted whatsover expenses and so on..... Hm....you made it sounds so easy...lol!:D

Unless you have big property like building. The tenant will not even bill into company account why do you want to declare?
There are few type of tenant
1. Workers- you can get best rental rate but there is problem is housekeeping and regular change tenant because they will share among few friend/worker.
2. Students- may regular change tenant rental mid rate
3. House/family tenant - low rate rental but can expected long term rent unless the family buy his own property. House will keep clean because they will take care like their own property as family living there.

So is up to you.

KNNBCCB
14-03-2011, 04:58 AM
No need to pay tax. Confirm I also rent out a unit in JB. Let the agent solve it...

Yes! i double confirm ! NO need pay tax.

horizonhills
14-03-2011, 05:02 AM
Phew, finally back, have been trying to log on for days, no matter how many times i tried to reset password and log on, no joy.

Took my relatives to Nusa Duta on the weekends, 1 have already purchased and another 1 is still considering. Some of the ladies there are quite blur though, didn't even tell us about earlier units that are still available and only told us about the ones that are just being launched.

Hi wuqi,

I saw in a flyer yesterday that Nusa Duta got semi ds at RM 900+ k and the size is pretty huge at 50 x 100! The pic looks good as my HH semi d is only 35 x 80 and around the same price.

horizonhills
14-03-2011, 05:05 AM
Yes! i double confirm ! NO need pay tax.

hey that sounds very nice if we dont have to pay any tax for houses in malaysia. I just cant believe it as we are getting a good deal and yet the rental yield is pretty decent. One of my friends is paying like RM 4000+ for his semi ds and getting RM 8000 in rental income. That means a surplus of S$1700+. And he was lamenting how great is it compared to his factory in Singapore whose rental is BARELY covering the instalment

Coolsaint77
14-03-2011, 07:27 AM
Hi wuqi,

I saw in a flyer yesterday that Nusa Duta got semi ds at RM 900+ k and the size is pretty huge at 50 x 100! The pic looks good as my HH semi d is only 35 x 80 and around the same price.

Are you sure? I thought it is 50' x 80' and this has been launched for a year plus... those at the back has a view of the high tension cables maybe that's why its going slow... the clusters side are further away

danteakc
14-03-2011, 08:15 AM
was confiscated a pot plant at tuas custom. issit illegal to bring in from SGP?

RafflesTiger
14-03-2011, 08:20 AM
Hi guys, just a quick update on my situation..

I met the agent last monday to get the tenancy agreement. He told me the bathroom leaks water to the unit below and the pipes have to fixed... He said this Friday he will give me the keys.. Hope no delay..

Broadband I will be getting Celecom as no deposit required for foreigners, no minimum contract period... Maxis need to pay 300RM deposit and sign half year contract...That Celecom girl even said if terminate, no need return the usb stick... Only RM100 to activate....

Took a few cab rides. Still not sure how to negotiate with them.. Took a cab to Ksl city, malay driver said 8RM... Normally they wont agree to on the meter right? This particular fellow said 8RM then on the cab, he switched on the meter.... As if to tell me, I wanna inflate the fare what can you do?? The meter fare is 6RM... But as I agreed on 8RM, I paid up and got off...:confused:
How to deal with them?? Insist they on the meter or what??:(

14-03-2011, 08:51 AM
was confiscated a pot plant at tuas custom. issit illegal to bring in from SGP?

All living thing are not permitted to bring into Singapore except human with legal document.
Plant in the pot/live fish/dog are not allow.
If want to bring in just bring is small eg. small cactus pot/fish put inside plastic bag.

Coolsaint77
14-03-2011, 10:11 AM
Hey did anyone visit or purchase units at SENIBONG COVE ??? Haha i missed this waterfront development launched last year... seems like super hot.

stayaplace
14-03-2011, 10:39 AM
Good for you Stayaplace

i just found out that i lost my driver's license. Shit!!!

horizonhills
14-03-2011, 11:26 AM
Hey did anyone visit or purchase units at SENIBONG COVE ??? Haha i missed this waterfront development launched last year... seems like super hot.

oh yeah the Nusa Duta is 35 x 80. My apologises. Can get keys this July but the sale of the semis is nt that fast compared to EL and HH.

Will drop by Sales office to confirm my 2nd unit at HH soon. Hope the bank will grant me 90% for my 2nd purchase!

euphony
14-03-2011, 12:00 PM
bro wuqi welcome back!
Adding to petrol pumping excursions. I generally only do so late morning to afternoons just before entering into SG. Last time used to pump in the nights but I don't anymore even though it was without incidence. Lock car doors whenever. I also tend to go to those with stations lining next to each other. In the worst case scenario odds are my chances are 1/3 since there are 3 stations at my fav place and having said that again I have not had an incidence before although I remain cautious always.

CS:
I passed by Senibong via the road that passes through and head westwards parallel to pasir gudang highway. Seems like the road is very high and the area is pretty low lying for water front living. With freak weather these days you never know what will happen lest if its highrise apartments. Also nothing much to see across the river to Sembcorp shipyard and the senoko power plant. Having said that the designs are pretty modernistic and Australian developer's first foray almost guarantees at least a certain standard. And there is indeed potential if the area becomes a foreigner enclave that Straits view nearby already is. I think investing in a shoplot close to Jusco is a better bet as traffic will definitely increase with Senibong, straits view phase 2 and the permas bridge tying together with EDL plus the bayu residences nearby all slated to come to live in the near future.

-
I happen to drive into JSNAC/puteri harbor area for a look see the weekend past. The harbor view is pretty serene. And the area impressively clutter free and a totally different feeling from the old JB city. It feels somewhat like a putrajaya carbon copy although not as big and spectacular as the latter. I also saw how the coastal highway will link things up and where the road will open from HH. I hope it is sooner rather than later. Seeing how it will cut short the time to the 2nd link much and bring people right to the doorstep of the important area. I think a lot of people still don't appreciate how some of these 'talk big' plans are actually materializing bit by bit. So it's good to be first rather than late but still late rather than never. I am now like a sliver away from tying down my property ownership at HH. Crossed fingers... oh and whose MY plated Lamborghini murcielago is that parked right outside the clubhouse?! :cool:

Coolsaint77
14-03-2011, 12:41 PM
Huh ok... yeah Senibong sold like hotcakes and i asked about the waterfront semi-D apparently there are like 40 people on the queue for the bumi-release units... indeed one should not expect Senibong Cove to look anything like Sentosa Cove :D

But if the Australians have studied the waterways well and the area turns lively and clean with watersports instead of contaminated industrial water... then those who took the risk gains... haha just damn curious maybe will drop by have a look

Coolsaint77
14-03-2011, 12:43 PM
Haha is JB petrol kiosks really that scary?

The one towards Tuas is definitely safe x 5... though i ever encountered someone trying to sell fake Rolex watches while pumping my petrol

danteakc
14-03-2011, 12:46 PM
All living thing are not permitted to bring into Singapore except human with legal document.
Plant in the pot/live fish/dog are not allow.
If want to bring in just bring is small eg. small cactus pot/fish put inside plastic bag.

I meant I bought a potted tall plant from SGP and drive over to JB for my home. Was confiscated by an officer name Farid.

14-03-2011, 12:56 PM
I meant I bought a potted tall plant from SGP and drive over to JB for my home. Was confiscated by an officer name Farid.

No fine!
Maybe he like your flower. He bring back to his home.
:D

horizonhills
14-03-2011, 10:14 PM
bro wuqi welcome back!
Adding to petrol pumping excursions. I generally only do so late morning to afternoons just before entering into SG. Last time used to pump in the nights but I don't anymore even though it was without incidence. Lock car doors whenever. I also tend to go to those with stations lining next to each other. In the worst case scenario odds are my chances are 1/3 since there are 3 stations at my fav place and having said that again I have not had an incidence before although I remain cautious always.

away from tying down my property ownership at HH. Crossed fingers... oh and whose MY plated Lamborghini murcielago is that parked right outside the clubhouse?! :cool:

You are right that not many have seen the potential. Once the Coastal highway is opened, everyone will start sitting up. And once the first university and legoland opens, everyone will start to snap up resale units at high price or book future new units. Once more concrete plans come out for the International Destination resort, this place will be crazy, perhaps crazier than KL as KL lacks Singapore funds flowing in but in this place, we have so many different countries rich people snapping up properties.

Seeing a lambo in HH is nothing. As more residents move in and as more visitors come to play Golf, you shall see more.

horizonhills
14-03-2011, 11:04 PM
Anyone using Maybank credit card ( from spore ) to pay for petrol? I was told that a 5% rebate off petrol is possible when u pump in JB.

The price of Ron 97 would be RM 2.375 instead of RM 2.5 with the 5% discount. In the long term, savings could be worth thousands! And one need just a min. income of S$30000 per annum to apply

stayaplace
15-03-2011, 04:27 AM
Good for you Stayaplace

I found out that i lost my drivers license so i go and do a replacement. Quite fast and after 7 working days, i can go and apply for the International Driving license.

cathylmg
15-03-2011, 06:30 AM
I wish they scrap the plan to built the nuclear power plant in JB :P

Malaysia has no need for nuke plants, says EPSM
Monday March 14, 2011
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp...415&sec=nation

PETALING JAYA: The Environmental Protection Society Malaysia (EPSM) stressed that Malaysia does not need nuclear power plants, citing the explosion and radioactive leakage at the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear power plant in Japan as a warning.

Its president Nithi Nesadurai said the incident was one reason why Malaysia should not have nuclear power plants.

Pointing out that such a facility was vulnerable to earthquake, tsunami and floods, he said the idea of having nuclear power plants in the country should be rejected.

“We don’t even need it as there is surplus energy supply in Malaysia,” he said when contacted yesterday.

In Malaysia, there was more supply of energy than demand, he said, adding that it was the people who did not practise energy saving.

Fomca chief executive officer Datuk Paul Selva Raj said using nuclear power to generate energy was not a viable option in Malaysia now as it should be highly regulated for public safety.

“We need to be realistic about the energy approach and look at the whole energy equation. Each time a disaster happens, it indicates some risks (associated with energy options),” he said.

Paul said it was important to exploit more sources for energy that were safe, environmentally friendly and renewable.

In December last year, the Government announced plans to build two nuclear power plants that will generate 1,000 megawatts each with the first plant ready for operation in 2021 as part of an overall long-term plan to balance energy supply. The second plant was expected to be ready a year later.

Energy, Green Technology and Water Minister Datuk Seri Peter Chin Fah Kui said Malaysia Nuclear Power Corporation – the nuclear agency in the Prime Minister’s Department – would shed light on the impact of the explosion and radioactive leakage in Japan.

Malaysia to study Japan atomic accident
Published: 2010/03/14
http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_New...cle/index_html

Malaysia wants to learn from Japan’s nuclear accident before taking a final decision on whether to establish its first atomic power plant, a minister said.

“It’s best for us to learn from the investigation results and see further,” Datuk Peter Chin, minister for energy, green technology and water, said in a telephone interview.

“What happened in Japan was due to an earthquake. On the Malaysian side, we have not decided anything yet.”

Japan’s nuclear accident has prompted China and India to review plans for atomic energy. Malaysia’s government said in September it wanted to explore nuclear power as a potential solution to the country’s long-term power needs as its oil and gas reserves start to diminish.

A tender will be called by the middle of this year to appoint a consultant to conduct a feasibility study and evaluate the site chosen, Chin said, without saying where the first plant might be.

“Only after that, the government will decide whether to tender the project or not,” he said.

“Nuclear technology is a viable energy. Look at France as an example where 72 percent of the country’s energy comes from nuclear plants.”

Prime Minister Naoto Kan said yesterday Japan is facing its worst crisis since World War II after a March 11 earthquake and ensuing tsunami killed an estimated 10,000 people and caused explosions at a nuclear power plant. Workers battled to prevent a nuclear meltdown after a second hydrogen explosion rocked an atomic plant north of Tokyo today. - Bloomberg

horizonhills
15-03-2011, 07:13 AM

Hi actually should not be a problem leh. Farid is from Singapore or JB custom? If its JB side, then I think he is out for coffee money. Recently I brought some of my items from SG to JB via tuas and was stopped and checked for 5 minutes at JB side. They kept searching for taxable items i think

stayaplace
15-03-2011, 10:16 AM
could anyone post the website for the rent of apartment in JB? Thanks.

Coolsaint77
15-03-2011, 05:28 PM
Haha went to the Immigration Dept at Setia Tropika today... got my things settled real quick... marked improvement from the old days... seeing the improvement in the civil service makes me believe this place have a future :)

horizonhills
16-03-2011, 12:21 AM
Hi strange that some of my messages should be under moderation and never posted eventually even when I i waited for 2-3 days. Its getting frustrating.

Analytical Professor
16-03-2011, 12:56 AM
Had the same issue.

So frustrating. Finally am back too.

I could not reset password either. Yeah no joy....

Now am back....

Tried creating new id... Still cant log in.

Hopefully the 30 odd pages that were deleted can be restored..

[QUOTE=wuqi256;676727]Phew, finally back, have been trying to log on for days, no matter how many times i tried to reset password and log on, no joy.

QUOTE]

16-03-2011, 01:00 AM
I wish they scrap the plan to built the nuclear power plant in JB :P

Build it in Johore Sultan Istana then I support.:D

cathylmg
16-03-2011, 03:04 AM
Build it in Johore Sultan Istana then I support.:D

They should build it in KL Central.....:D

Jogs1
16-03-2011, 03:46 AM
No fine!
Maybe he like your flower. He bring back to his home.
:D

So it's alright to bring in potted plant to Johor from SG??

Jogs1
16-03-2011, 03:54 AM
Hi wuqi,

Rental wise, I think HH will get better return than Nusa Duta.

cathylmg
16-03-2011, 03:59 AM
Rental wise, I think HH will get better return than Nusa Duta.

You have to calculate ROI in % instead of the amount you are getting to find out that they are actually the same. Except perhaps capital appreciation is slightly better in HH, but you also have to consider whether you can be able to afford a higher entry point as well.

And also you have to consider whether you want to live in the property, sell for a profit in time to come or you want to just keep it for rental collection. All these are important considerations which lead to differences in decision.

For HH, I feel that you buy in it early stage, you would have sit on massive capital and rental appreciation. Its kind of wasted to stay in it yourself now, due to the high rental return, for me I would have rent it out. IMHO.

16-03-2011, 04:22 AM
So it's alright to bring in potted plant to Johor from SG??

By law is not allow. There are few reason ,May bring in virus/bacteria/insect/parasite ........that may be dangerous.
If really want to bring in just small pot or best take out the plant put inside plastic hope that custom will not find out or close one eye. Then plant it again when arrived in Singapore. Plant will not die for few hour if you take care eg. put some water. If can before bring in spray with pesticide .
Many people bring in live fish eg. Tomman/peacock fish as a pet. When the fish grew bigger and tank not big enough or give up hobby they release it into lake/canal. These fish will attack all others native fish that the danger of it. Just like rabbit in Australia. Before there are no rabbit in Australia now spread across whole country because some stupid Ang Moh bring in the rabbit as pet and escape. Now out of control. There are no restriction for hunting rabbit there.
Another case study in USA flying carp/silver carp. Now whole river full of carp. Is out of control.

16-03-2011, 04:27 AM
They should build it in KL Central.....:D

Not build near the residential area/business. Must build it near to the people agree/support the plant construction. Eg. built it near Parliament/Putrajaya or ask those ministers who support built their house next to the nuclear power station and stay there. Then they are allow to talk or comment is safe.
Same as in Singapore built it next to Parliament/inside Istana compound/ Built residential for ministers next to the power station. Then I waiting to see how the comment.:D

cathylmg
16-03-2011, 04:53 AM
Not build near the residential area/business. Must build it near to the people agree/support the plant construction. Eg. built it near Parliament/Putrajaya or ask those ministers who support built their house next to the nuclear power station and stay there. Then they are allow to talk or comment is safe.
Same as in Singapore built it next to Parliament/inside Istana compound/ Built residential for ministers next to the power station. Then I waiting to see how the comment.:D

Yalor. Agreed with you totally. Can't find any words better then yours....:D

toolate
16-03-2011, 08:37 AM
By law is not allow. There are few reason ,May bring in virus/bacteria/insect/parasite ........that may be dangerous.
If really want to bring in just small pot or best take out the plant put inside plastic hope that custom will not find out or close one eye. Then plant it again when arrived in Singapore. Plant will not die for few hour if you take care eg. put some water. If can before bring in spray with pesticide .
Many people bring in live fish eg. Tomman/peacock fish as a pet. When the fish grew bigger and tank not big enough or give up hobby they release it into lake/canal. These fish will attack all others native fish that the danger of it. Just like rabbit in Australia. Before there are no rabbit in Australia now spread across whole country because some stupid Ang Moh bring in the rabbit as pet and escape. Now out of control. There are no restriction for hunting rabbit there.
Another case study in USA flying carp/silver carp. Now whole river full of carp. Is out of control.

just for the fun of it... the scientific term for the above is 'invasive species'.
anyway its not a very valid reason as both countries have the same eco-system... but of course customs officers probably won't understand either...
on the sg side though, we are allowed to bring in 2-3 potted plants from jb.

horizonhills
16-03-2011, 11:17 PM
Totally agreed with you on this. Heard from a friend, those apartments near the Golf Course , the land is not stable , due to soil erosion.

Best place for Sinkies are still near the Iskandar Project Area and not the ulu ulu place near Permas Jaya , Pasir Gudang , etc ... ;)

Somehow I have to agree that places like Taman Sentosa, Pasir Gudang, Permas Jaya etc are quite criminal-infested compared to Nusajaya area. 5 years ago people said Taman Sutera Utama is safe because its new. Carry forward to today when its almost packed daily and still its quite safe. I have never heard of people car jacking or robbing in Sutera area and HH/EL

RafflesTiger
17-03-2011, 01:27 AM
10 characters

Damsell
17-03-2011, 02:43 AM
hi bros,need some help;
1)Sign SPA,for singaporean use I/C or Passport?
(checked with immigrartion,new pasport number will be given for every
renewal)
2)How and where to check status state of consent (can't depend on lawyer
or developer,they kept telling under process.Don't know whether they
summitted the application or not.
3)Most buyers signed SPA,paid 10% downpayment etc, whithout knowing
their status state of consent. What if their state of consent not approved.
What will happen?
4)How long will developer take to convert master title to individual title.
Bros Wuqi or any learned bros please enlighten.Thks

horizonhills
17-03-2011, 10:27 PM
anyone got the golf facing semi ds at the golf? Wat is the price tat u get and when is the expected TOP ( moving in ). I was told its early next year but as u know, we need to buffer for at least 6-12 months

Jogs1
18-03-2011, 03:18 AM
anyone got the golf facing semi ds at the golf? Wat is the price tat u get and when is the expected TOP ( moving in ). I was told its early next year but as u know, we need to buffer for at least 6-12 months

I think bros wuqi n dapbest know the answer, unfortunately both of them seldom appear nowadays:(

Analytical Professor
18-03-2011, 08:46 AM
Im back. Or am i? Test message.

Analytical Professor
18-03-2011, 11:42 AM
The database still seems to be having errors. I cant access quite a few options.

Analytical Professor
18-03-2011, 11:48 AM
There are so many nurseries out here mate. Why did you bring one all the way from Spore?

Analytical Professor
18-03-2011, 11:54 AM
Sounds rosy and something that i really want to happen.

But think of it honestly it will take time. A long time. Im not being pessimistic but at the rate at which things are progressing it will take some time.

Even when the plans come on....... they take a long time for execution.

Ofcourse being an investor myself i would love it if everything FForwards and happens in the next couple of years.

But quite unlikely.

You are right that not many have seen the potential. Once the Coastal highway is opened, everyone will start sitting up. And once the first university and legoland opens, everyone will start to snap up resale units at high price or book future new units. Once more concrete plans come out for the International Destination resort, this place will be crazy, perhaps crazier than KL as KL lacks Singapore funds flowing in but in this place, we have so many different countries rich people snapping up properties.

Seeing a lambo in HH is nothing. As more residents move in and as more visitors come to play Golf, you shall see more.

Analytical Professor
18-03-2011, 11:56 AM
If the credit card is issued by Sg Maybank you would still lose money due to currency exchange as banks do not generally offer a very competitive rate.

Anyone using Maybank credit card ( from spore ) to pay for petrol? I was told that a 5% rebate off petrol is possible when u pump in JB.

The price of Ron 97 would be RM 2.375 instead of RM 2.5 with the 5% discount. In the long term, savings could be worth thousands! And one need just a min. income of S$30000 per annum to apply

Analytical Professor
18-03-2011, 12:26 PM
I exchanged at Rm 238.5

Not bad

euphony
18-03-2011, 03:32 PM

yeh, I'm using both to pump petrol and grocery shop. I keep reading people getting good power and mileage with BHP unfortunately, the card doesn't rebate for this brand. The good thing is purchases outside the listed merchants has 0.5% rebate as well. some people say the bank will 'eat' back the 5% through the exchange rate, but I see it as a convenience requiring me to carry less cash about and less trips to money changer converting sgd to myr.

Coolsaint77
18-03-2011, 06:34 PM
Ghosh... this is like a nuclear holocaust... only few persons left in the world... eerie

horizonhills
19-03-2011, 02:27 AM
I exchanged at Rm 238.5

Not bad

good rate u have there. i also rm238. something last night when i change in jb.. yes the exchange rate when we use the maybank card is not beneficial to us at all

Damsell
19-03-2011, 01:42 PM
So many of my posting cannot get through, frustratng.Thinking of buying a property in nusajaya budget rm700k.Any tips. Thks

horizonhills
20-03-2011, 08:55 AM
Be careful when u are in JB. Many people say Jusco side at Bukit Indah is "safe" but what happened was dead serious.

JOHOR BARU, Malaysia - A 49-year-old woman was punched and held captive for almost 48 hours before she was released in a housing estate here early yesterday.

Yuen Mei Kien, an administrator in a construction firm in Singapore, lost her car and some cash at the end of the ordeal.

She said she would normally drive from her home in Taman Skudai Baru to Bukit Indah so that she could carpool to work in the republic daily.

"As usual, I drove to Bukit Indah about 6am on Thursday and parked my car near a fast food outlet. It was raining when I got down from my car and was opening an umbrella when a man came up to me, punched me repeatedly and grabbed me by the neck as I screamed for help."

Yuen said the man, in his 30s, then forced her into the back seat of her car, tied her hands behind her back with wire, taped her eyes shut and her legs together.

Later, she heard another man get into the car and both of them seemed to be going through the things in her handbag while speaking in Tamil to one another.

"I believe I was in the car for about 12 hours. At one juncture, when the pain in my arms became excruciating from lying in one position for too long, I lied to them that I was suffering from kidney problems.

"They then untied my hands but my feet and eyes remained taped."

The men made several stops, which Yuen believed was to withdraw money using her automated teller machine cards.

After the ordeal in the car, Yuen was taken to a house where she was kept blindfolded and tied up.

"I had no idea where I was or what my abductors would do to me while I was being held captive."

Yuen said her abductors released her in Jalan Indah 1/3, not far from where she had been abducted, about 2.30am yesterday.

Yuen, a divorcee, said her face and arms were still in pain.

Nusajaya district police chief Superintendent Aziz Ahmad said the case was being investigated for kidnapping and gang robbery.

He said Yuen lost her car, RM500 (S$208) and S$1,000.

-New Straits Times

Coolsaint77
20-03-2011, 09:00 AM
Yes... criminals operate in the dark and always on the lookout for opportunity... the gang must have spotted her routine, observed her... hence the ambush. Never take safety for granted.

Grago
20-03-2011, 01:22 PM
Hi Guys

Finally I'm able to get back in!! I have had to reregister BUT couldn't get in due to incompatible ID and/or password. Was quite frustrated!

Glad to hear that the lady wasn't hurt. HH and Coolsaint77 are quite right. have to be more alert about your surroundings. Doesn't matter where you are. Opportunist will take advantage when it presents itself to them. Even in 'leafy' Bukit Indah. If you have to keep a routine, be wary and alert of who and what's around you. be safe all.

euphony
20-03-2011, 01:26 PM
ai! its with much sadness reading the news. must have been traumatic for the poor lady. i guess we have to be vigilant all the time. and go with the flow (of traffic - vehicular/human). on your own walking about before sunrise and after sunset is no go this incident or not.

CS: I went again to see senibong after you brought it up. the 1st phase already bought up 7788. The exciting one I guess is the next phase mostly bungalows and semi-Ds waterfronting the straits (current phase more inland). ownership is strata so cannot do any external modifications. the bungalows get the straits view but on reclaimed land. would not touch it with a 10 foot pole no matter how chic or nicely doneup. but can consider the inner semi-Ds. Interesting part is the water canals perfusing the entire phase (provided residents don't dump rubbish into water). Despite much criticism about this place, one thing good is that the land under walker is limited so there wont much more developments beyond the next phases maintaining the exclusivity vs say horizon hill with 7 or more phases to go. The EDL plus permas bridge is also a very good thing too just as coast highway to HH.

anyone has any comments about adda heights? anybody here resides at adda? this is like almost opposite setia tropika. these days i notice most developments are pitting their asking price really high. Nothing less than an arm and a leg will do. How much more body parts do they want?! :D

euphony
20-03-2011, 01:28 PM
noobie bros waiting for comment moderation. just hang in there a bit more. it'll get easier as is the decision as per the the title of this thread. :)

Analytical Professor
20-03-2011, 02:34 PM
Sometimes can log in. Many times cant log in. Whats the issue guys??

Analytical Professor
20-03-2011, 02:36 PM
Got Rm 238.3 yesterday at Bukit Indah. <<not bad>>

good rate u have there. i also rm238. something last night when i change in jb.. yes the exchange rate when we use the maybank card is not beneficial to us at all

Analytical Professor
20-03-2011, 02:39 PM
Wow!!! Safe for now... Just imagine if they change the rules... We will be stumped.... Our investments will nosedive... And basically we will have to return to Spore if this ever comes about.

Knowing Malaysia.. All i can say is One never knows...

No plan to restrict Singaporeans

KUALA LUMPUR (March 17, 2011): The government does not intend to restrict the movement of Singaporeans in and out of the country, including those who have stayed in Malaysia for more than 90 days, Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said.

In a written reply to Wee Choo Keong (Ind-Wangsa Maju), he said it is not wise to restrict the entry of Singaporeans to the country.

“This is because Malaysia and Singapore are inter-dependent and practise a reciprocal attitude. The number of Malaysians working in Singapore is big and they also commute daily.

“The Immigration Department will continue to monitor the movement of those who come in and out and advise them to get the appropriate passes according to the purpose of their visit,” Hishammuddin said.

Wee had asked whether the ministry would pass new regulations similar to that of Singapore immigration laws which allow visitors on social pass to stay in Singapore for not more than 90 days in a year.

This is to stop the “abuse” among many Singaporeans who have entered Malaysia using the social pass and who live here on a permanent basis and/or work permanently.

Hishammuddin said the government does not limit the number of Singaporeans entering Malaysia and they can enter using the social visit pass for 30 days and extend it up till 90 days depending on circumstances.

“The immigration regulations are clear. A foreigner who enters the country for a specific reason such as work or study would have to submit the relevant application to the department and will be issued with a pass if the conditions have been met,” he said.