• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ex-MediaCorp staff jailed over voucher scam

SammyHulk

Ex-MediaCorp staff jailed over voucher scam
Straits Times 16 july, 2008

A FORMER MediaCorp Enterprises employee was sentenced to three months' jail and ordered to pay a penalty of $5,900 on Wednesday for corruption. Teh Gim Leng, 29, was a senior accounts manager of integrated media when he conspired with Alan Leng Chih Wei to rig Shell's promotion draw.
Leng has not been charged.
Shell organised a promotion campaign known as 'Free fuel for a year, one lucky winner a day' between Sept 24 and Oct 31 last year.
A winner would be picked each day and DJs of Class 95 would announce the winner on air.
Teh was in charge of selling advertisements on radio and TV in Channel NewsAsia and also in Today newspaper.
He used his computer to select the daily winner and e-mail the result to Shell.
Shell would call the winner to collect the prize of $5,000 worth of Shell vouchers.
After the winners had collected their prizes, they would pass some vouchers to Teh.
Teh, who faced 16 charges, pleaded guilty to five charges.
Three were for corruptly accepting bribes in the form of two Shell fuel vouchers totalling $4,500 and cash of $1,400, and two for agreeing to accept vouchers worth $5,500.
The total amount he agreed to accept on 13 occasions was $30,000.
Pleading for leniency, Teh said he regretted his offences which were committed out of greed and foolishness.
He was given until next Wednesday to begin his sentence.
He could have been fined up to $100,000 and/or jailed for up to five years on each charge.

<script src="http://ads.asia1.com.sg/js.ng/site=tsti&pagepos=20&size=10X10" language="JavaScript1.1"> </script>

It doesn't pay to take bribes in singapore especially you think they are just well-wishes. Think again.:cool:

glock

all this "promotion" and "lucky draw" and that..... you don't really know if it is really a "lucky draw". when they announce prize winner, do you know what connection and family or friend links the winner have?

that is why i dont want to join always this kind of competition

johnboy_sg

all this "promotion" and "lucky draw" and that..... you don't really know if it is really a "lucky draw". when they announce prize winner, do you know what connection and family or friend links the winner have?

that is why i dont want to join always this kind of competition
If NKF can have a sloppy audit by PWC, what is Mediacorp when it comes to staff rigging the promotion.

BlueCat

if he is not an MediaCorp staff,this type of news will not be published liao.

this is not surprise,remember quite a long time ago,there was also a new about POSB's lucky draw.

shOUTloud

the problem is that the poor guy is not well paid enough by Mediacorp. If he is earning a million bucks a year, I guarantee he will not be doing this kind of things.

alwaysandy

the problem is that the poor guy is not well paid enough by Mediacorp. If he is earning a million bucks a year, I guarantee he will not be doing this kind of things.
may not 100%, sometimes people earning top pay, but still get filled with greed..as their daily expenditures and spending up with their status. :biggrin:

tate

Sad to see people ruin their lives for something so small.

They should emulate that sinkie who run road with 51 million dollars :biggrin:

sally

A FORMER MediaCorp Enterprises employee was sentenced to three months' jail and ordered to pay a penalty of $5,900 on Wednesday for corruption

He could have been fined up to $100,000 and/or jailed for up to five years on each charge.

Lucky fellow. Punishment is light. But Durai seems to have the lightest sentence. :(

S

Scolari

I think he deserves it lah. Cheating all the Shell customers in Singapore. :mad: