• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Undesired Singles Situation in Sinkieland

potentguy

http://www.straitstimes.com/Latest+News/Singapore/STIStory_257919.html

S'porean singles would rather focus on career ahead of marriage

SINGAPOREAN singles would rather would rather focus on their career ahead of marriage, and many cite difficulty in finding suitable partners as a key hurdle to settling down, a government study has revealed.

Many also said they have no time to socialise after starting work or did not know how to start. They also find matchmaking agencies too profit-oriented and not overly concerned about making matches.

For those who were in a serious relationship, some considered having a place of their own as important before they would consider marriage.

These were among the key findings from a series of consultation sessions with more than 300 people held in April to July to get feedback on the marriage and parenthood situation in Singapore, including the barriers.

The exercise was to help the Government better understand the impact of the last review carried out in 2004, when a package of measures was introduced to encourage more marriages and births in Singapore.

3 main obstacles to marriage & parenthood
There were three running themes across socialisation and marriage, and having and raising children that could affect Singaporeans from trying to fulfil their personal marriage and parenthood goals.

# Financial support
While financial support in itself was insufficient to encourage participants to have another child, it was deemed necessary to provide support to some extent given rising costs.
... more
The 2004 package seems to have arrested the decline in the total fertility rate, said a statement on Tuesday from the National Population Secretariat, which worked with the Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS), the Ministry of Manpower (MOM), REACH and the National Family Council (NFC) to conduct the exercise.

After hitting a low of 35,135 in 2004, the number of resident births has increased slightly each year since 2005 and reached 37,074 in 2007.

However, the total fertility rate now stands at 1.29, a long way below replacement level of 2.1 and one of the lowest in the world, said the statement.

Singles viewed socialisation as the first step towards marriage and parenthood. While costs could delay marriages, the determining factor was more often than not the ability to meet a suitable partner.

Key considerations for couples
For couples, financial security, time and childcare arrangements were three key considerations.

In particular, parenthood was increasingly viewed as a shared responsibility between the couple as women wanted to have children and work at the same time.

Key factors cited as challenges to having and raising children include:

# Financial concerns: The costs of bringing up a family in Singapore were high, especially when tertiary education for children was taken into consideration at the point of deciding whether or not to have more children.

There were suggestions for fathers to be allowed to claim tax benefits currently meant only for working mothers, especially if the couple includes a stay-at-home mother.

# Lack of work-life balance: There seemed to be social stigma in leaving the office on time, much less taking time off for family.

Some women said they were afraid of losing their jobs or that their positions would not be kept for them if they took longer leave to care for their children.

Women generally wanted a career and children at the same time but it was a challenge trying to manage and balance both.

Some participants pointed out other seemingly non-related policies that could have an effect on work-life balance , for example, timing of ERP charges could discourage people from going home early.

# Lack of quality and affordable infant-care and childcare facilities: Many couples did not want their children to be raised by foreign maids.

However, there seemed to be a lack of mid-range infant-care and childcare centres that were affordable and of good quality.

The feedback revealed that employers and business leaders generally recognised and were supportive of a more family-friendly workplace that would enable employees to better balance work with social and family needs.

But some employers were concerned with the cost impact and asked the Government to co-share the cost of any additional workplace measure.

The key findings will help the Government plan how it can support couples in getting married and having children, said the statement.

'The Government recognises that getting married and having children is ultimately a personal decision; it can only facilitate and support that desire and help turn it into a reality,' it added.

potentguy

This may not be the newest of topics, but as society progresses, it keeps coming back to haunt us. Living in the current age(in SG) where quality of good living comes at not such a good price(relatively compared to our "highly attractive" remuneration packages), so much has to be taken into consideration before we can even dream of starting our own families.

The (unnamed) journalist in question listed 3 major difficulties which SGians face. All of which come down to $$$$. Some participants interviewed even had the mindset that ERP was one of the causes of the lack of work life balance leading to the Singles' issue at hand. The question is, do we really need lots of $$$ to lead a happy married life? If simply sharing a roof and 3 meals with the one you love is not enough, then why bother getting married at all?

SammyHulk

It'a a changed world, simply sharing a roof and 3 meals with the one you love just no enough anymore.:wink:

The (unnamed) journalist in question listed 3 major difficulties which SGians face. All of which come down to $$$$. Some participants interviewed even had the mindset that ERP was one of the causes of the lack of work life balance leading to the Singles' issue at hand. The question is, do we really need lots of $$$ to lead a happy married life? If simply sharing a roof and 3 meals with the one you love is not enough, then why bother getting married at all?

Agreed. It all depends on the quality of life one desires. There's nothing wrong with desiring more, but somehow I get the feeling that most female Singaporeans desire much yet do not realise they have nothing special to offer in return. There's no free lunch in this world, and it works both ways.

SammyHulk

Singaporeans list key challenges to marriage and parenthood
By Wong Siew Ying, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 15 July 2008 1550 hr

SINGAPORE: A series of public consultation sessions shows that barriers to marriage and parenthood include difficulty in finding suitable partners, owning a home, financial security, work-life balance, and childcare arrangements.

The consultation exercise was facilitated by the National Population Secretariat (NPS) in the Prime Minister's Office, Ministry of Community Development, Youth and Sports (MCYS), Ministry of Manpower, REACH and the National Family Council (NFC).

The sessions, conducted from April to July this year to give an overview of the impact of the Marriage and Parenthood Package that was introduced in 2004, involved more than 300 participants.

Singles in the group cited difficulty in finding suitable partners and would rather focus on their career in the meantime. They said they had hardly any time to socialise and did not know where or how to start.

Some participants also felt that matchmaking agencies here were more concerned about making profits than making matches.

Some of those who were in a serious relationship said they would only consider marriage when they have the ability to own a home.

As for married couples, they cited financial security, work-life balance and childcare arrangements as key considerations in embarking on parenthood.

They said the costs of bringing up a family in Singapore were high, especially when tertiary education is taken into consideration.

Some had suggested that fathers should be allowed to claim tax benefits that are currently meant for only working mothers as more women are choosing to stay at home with their children.

In the area of work-life balance, there were concerns that demanding work commitments could hamper family and social life. Some female participants even said they were afraid of losing their jobs if they took longer leave to care for their children.

It is hoped that employers will put in place more pro-family measures.

Lim Soon Hock, chairperson of NFC, said: "Work-life harmony is not about working shorter hours or longer hours, it's about flexi working time, which means that if a woman has to leave the office or a man has to leave the office, the employer must trust that the employee will carry out whatever work that he or she is supposed to do."

So far, there are no plans to legislate pro-family measures, but there are suggestions to make role models of companies with good practices.

Participants of the consultation exercise also pointed out that some seemingly unrelated policies would affect their time with their family – high ERP charges generally discourage people from going home early.

Many couples in the consultation exercise said they did not want their children to be raised by domestic helpers, but there seemed to be a lack in infant care and childcare services that were good and affordable.

As Singapore still has one of the lowest fertility rates among developed countries, the National Population Committee said the government may update the 2004 Marriage and Parenthood Package, which includes incentives like CPF Housing Top-Up Grant, the use of Medisave for delivery expenses, tax rebates and enhanced childcare options.

Lim Hwee Hua, Senior Minister of State for Finance and Transport as well as a member of the National Population Committee, said: "That could mean allowing more childcare centres to be set up. Many have also commented that subsidies are quite low relative to what they actually pay."

Another suggestion to help couples cope with high costs is to review the quantum of the Baby Bonus.

Introduced in 2001, the scheme offers a cash payout of S$3,000 for the first child. This could go up to S$18,000 in cash and matching contributions for the third and fourth child.

Some S$220 million worth of Baby Bonus was given out last year.

- CNA/so

L

lauhunku

tm1.jpg

"SamuelShitSkin! Stop rubbing your dick against my ass!"

Cruxx

Money -> Dopamine

Which is why most Sinkie sheep spend their whole lives slaving for $. You see those ah pek ah mm waste their golden years squandering their coffin $ away at the IRs. Why? Because money is the only source of happiness in their lives. Give them a million bucks they also don't know how to spend. Most Sinkie sheep are very, very boring people. 90% of their insipid lives are spent on money matters. What for? :rolleyes:

The key findings will help the Government plan how it can support couples in getting married and having children, said the statement.

'The Government recognises that getting married and having children is ultimately a personal decision; it can only facilitate and support that desire and help turn it into a reality,' it added.

Huh:confused::confused:

The PAP gov't created the problem:confused: They've had 40+ years to work on a solution. Their final solution is to import replacements:rolleyes:

annexa

Why the survey ask those who not marry? Must also ask those who already marry and also those who have kids.

Before you born the kid, you already start to pay and pay. Check your HDB price. After get HDB, check your electric and water bill. If you can tahan those only got go up no go down bill, majiam like flood you with bills, ok then you start think have unprotected sex to produce kids.

When you pregnant, you worry your employer not happy. Sinkie land is big fan of MULTI-TASKING. Meaning you got no backup but backing up many unemployed positions. One person gone, means A LOT OF WORK get fucked. This one is last time policy, come back to fuck gahmen in the face.

Then think of the hospital bill. Then suddenly you will discover your milk power and diaper is fucking expensive.

If you manage to get to the stage of baby 18 months, good luck finding child care. Why must child care? Becuase HDB say they follow family trend build smaller flat. So your father mother cannot come and stay and help you. Your flat too small and it is your fucking fault for wanting a smaller family trend. Thank you Uncle Mah.

Then when kid reach 2yr old, wah! How come you is discover every tom dicky and hairy send their kid for all kind of shit enrichment class one! Just check www.kiasuparents.com, knn simi lanjiao also have. There goes your money again. Then you discover how come no have standard for pre-school or proper subsidy and price check? Maybe VB that time busy budgeting for YOG oversight on this pre-school thing.

Then when your kid is about 5 year old, you discover another BIG shit. Is the good school within 1km of your house? SHIT how come so many good school all in PRIVATE HOUSE area? Suddenly discover why some HDB area is very expensive and change hands very fast. Because MOE school allocation policy accidentally give more support to property pricing. Honest mistake. Oh wait if you not in 1km how? Must do parent volunteer, and not confirm you want to do, will give you enough hours to meet requirement, even if you finish the hours requirement, not confirm you can get in. You emotional stress, waste your leave, sorry your problem.

When you final get in school, you find that heaven actually not so easy to get. Wa got so many project, ECA, 3rd language, dance and music! You no money? Ok your child can eat ego when friends talk about their wonderful times. Not gahmen fault. It is user pay system, cannot afford don't afford what. Who ask you want to go good school?

So you manage to make it to O level. Good time. You should have spent about 1 million dollar on your kid by now. Who say the 3k baby bonus not enough? You want to eat resturant or eat hawker?

So you want Poly or go JC? Poly come out don't know what chance go Uni. JC also must score good result one. suddenly you discover, SHIT! How come Uni so fucking expensive? Because we only got 3 Uni and all are world top top rank. You got heard Harvard before? Discount already you know?

Ok ok so you manage to work your life away, paying until your kid finish Uni. Want to go which industry? Hello, are you FT? Not FT? Need to do reservist? Need to have maternity leave? Can you take lower pay than FT and work 2 times harder so you cannot afford the more expensive HDB?

Now this is why people not want to have baby.
And this is why PAP can lose the 2016!

annexa

Got bro pm me say "got money for military, no money for baby". Thank you bro who wish to stay unname.

Is it true SAF have cheap or interest free loan? If like this why still take so much money?

Got bro pm me say "got money for military, no money for baby". Thank you bro who wish to stay unname.

Is it true SAF have cheap or interest free loan? If like this why still take so much money?

Without the male babies they'll soon have to downsize the army.

Sporeans are alreay subsidising the army as parents have to support their sons during their 2 two years of NS.

ivebert

Aiyo

Sinkies damn loser

Make up all kinds of excuse when they simply cannot attract the opposite gender :eek::eek::eek::eek:

What fucking local trashes!!!!
:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: