• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Speech from a so call 'Division 1' politican?

char_jig_kar

Lee Hsian Loong has got higher pay than other 1st world country leaders, and this is the best he could do? This national day rally speech is fucking boring, FUCKING BLAND, NOTHING NEW IN IT.

So this is so call 'Division 1' politician according to Lee Kuan Yew? So this is the kind of speech we get from so call 'Division 1' politician?? Shame on you Lee Hsian Loong. Shame on you Lee Kuan Yew. SHAME ON YOU PAP. AND SHAME ON YOU SINGAPORE.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Singapore PM highlights inflation, immigrants, birth rate concerns
Posted: 17 August 2008 1939 hrs

SINGAPORE: Inflation, foreign workers and parenthood issues featured prominently in Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's National Day Rally speech to the Chinese community on Sunday.

Prime Minister Lee acknowledged that inflationary pressures on living costs and the pressure from new immigrants in the job market remain the immediate concerns of Singaporeans. But he also urged them not to ignore long-term challenges, like encouraging people to get married and start a family.

The integrated resort at Marina Bay is taking shape. Along with Resorts World at Sentosa, the two multi-billion-dollar projects will provide 20,000 new jobs.

But with a low unemployment rate of 2.3 per cent, there just aren't enough Singaporeans to fill all the positions. So, more foreign talent have arrived to support the workforce.

Stressing that the government's responsibility is to Singaporeans, Prime Minister Lee gave the assurance that new immigrants will not compromise on opportunities for Singaporeans.

Mr Lee said: "Our economy has become more vibrant and diversified because of foreign workers. Without their participation, there will not be enough Singapore workers to grow the economy. Foreign talent also strengthen our ranks in sports. Our performance at the Beijing Olympics demonstrates this. Because we welcome talent, we can compete above our class."

On inflation, Prime Minister Lee acknowledged that many Singaporeans are feeling the heat of rising living costs. So, Mr Lee said, more will be done at the grassroots level to help needy families.

A second instalment of Growth Dividend, or cash payouts to share the nation's budget surpluses, will be given out in October.

This year, some S$3 billion has been set aside to help Singaporeans cope with hard times. Apart from assistance packages, Mr Lee said the government will try to restrain cost increases whenever possible.

Recounting how the government had come up with initiatives to help Singaporeans cope with inflationary pressures, Mr Lee said despite this, there is still anxiety, and some have blamed the government for not doing enough.

Mr Lee said this could be because the government did not make a big show that it was giving out help.

Apart from the immediate concerns, a longer-term challenge is getting more Singaporean couples to have more babies.

At the Rally, Mr Lee said Singapore's Total Fertility Rate (TFR) of 1.29, which is far short of the replacement level of 2.1, is worrying.

"(The) problem is acute for Chinese, whose TFR is 1.14. This means each family only replacing either the father or mother. (The) numbers will decline rapidly in a few generations," he said.

Another closely-linked topic is to encourage young people to get hitched. Some have put off marriage to advance their careers or they could not find a partner.

To this end, Mr Lee remarked candidly that perhaps the People's Association could organise "Parental Matchmaking Sessions" in Singapore too. Such sessions are a popular activity in Beijing, where parents meet, exchange information and find suitable partners for their children.

But Mr Lee admitted that these are personal matters which the government can only facilitate.

The Prime Minister also identified the challenges of new media and promoting gracious living as other important long-term problems for Singapore.

- CNA

He also mentioned that Conservancy charges and water fees have not been increased for this year and is considered part of the assistance plans. The increment plans will be postponed and HDB dwellers will be expected to pay more next time. He said govt have been helping people to own cars and thus the road became congested, so there is need to erect ERPs to help the car owners. He said Singapore transport systems are very efficient, thus transport hike is very necessary. He criticised Liang Zhi Qiang movie as being fake and not realistic too. Everything he said he win liao lor, who dare to complain when we have 1001 reasons to bombard his reasoning.

congo9

He also mentioned that Conservancy charges and water fees have not been increased for this year and is considered part of the assistance plans. The increment plans will be postponed and HDB dwellers will be expected to pay more next time. He said govt have been helping people to own cars and thus the road became congested, so there is need to erect ERPs to help the car owners. He said Singapore transport systems are very efficient, thus transport hike is very necessary. He criticised Liang Zhi Qiang movie as being fake and not realistic too. Everything he said he win liao lor, who dare to complain when we have 1001 reasons to bombard his reasoning.
There is just only one way to counter all this shit spewing out from his mouth ! Vote with your feet !

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I am amused at PM Lee's logic; one should not be concerned about the present high cost of living only, but needs to make more babies!

I guess he is really out of touch. Whether a couple decides to have more babies or not, depends on one critical factor, whether they could possibly provide their children good education and livelihood for the next 20 years! If one could not even cope with the present high cost of living (thanks to more GST and indirect taxes from PAP government!), is not certain of job security due to cheap foreign substitutes induced by an ultra-liberal FT policy, who in his right mind will want to have more babies? Not everyone is earning million dollar annual pay like his ministers you know!

Gosh! I am really amused at his ignorance of the average middle class citizens' sentiments!

Goh Meng Seng

Lee Hsian Loong has got higher pay than other 1st world country leaders, and this is the best he could do? This national day rally speech is fucking boring, FUCKING BLAND, NOTHING NEW IN IT.

So this is so call 'Division 1' politician according to Lee Kuan Yew? So this is the kind of speech we get from so call 'Division 1' politician?? Shame on you Lee Hsian Loong. Shame on you Lee Kuan Yew. SHAME ON YOU PAP. AND SHAME ON YOU SINGAPORE.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Singapore PM highlights inflation, immigrants, birth rate concerns
Posted: 17 August 2008 1939 hrs

SINGAPORE: Inflation, foreign workers and parenthood issues featured prominently in Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's National Day Rally speech to the Chinese community on Sunday.

Prime Minister Lee acknowledged that inflationary pressures on living costs and the pressure from new immigrants in the job market remain the immediate concerns of Singaporeans. But he also urged them not to ignore long-term challenges, like encouraging people to get married and start a family.

The integrated resort at Marina Bay is taking shape. Along with Resorts World at Sentosa, the two multi-billion-dollar projects will provide 20,000 new jobs.

But with a low unemployment rate of 2.3 per cent, there just aren't enough Singaporeans to fill all the positions. So, more foreign talent have arrived to support the workforce.

Stressing that the government's responsibility is to Singaporeans, Prime Minister Lee gave the assurance that new immigrants will not compromise on opportunities for Singaporeans.

Mr Lee said: "Our economy has become more vibrant and diversified because of foreign workers. Without their participation, there will not be enough Singapore workers to grow the economy. Foreign talent also strengthen our ranks in sports. Our performance at the Beijing Olympics demonstrates this. Because we welcome talent, we can compete above our class."

On inflation, Prime Minister Lee acknowledged that many Singaporeans are feeling the heat of rising living costs. So, Mr Lee said, more will be done at the grassroots level to help needy families.

A second instalment of Growth Dividend, or cash payouts to share the nation's budget surpluses, will be given out in October.

This year, some S$3 billion has been set aside to help Singaporeans cope with hard times. Apart from assistance packages, Mr Lee said the government will try to restrain cost increases whenever possible.

Recounting how the government had come up with initiatives to help Singaporeans cope with inflationary pressures, Mr Lee said despite this, there is still anxiety, and some have blamed the government for not doing enough.

Mr Lee said this could be because the government did not make a big show that it was giving out help.

Apart from the immediate concerns, a longer-term challenge is getting more Singaporean couples to have more babies.

At the Rally, Mr Lee said Singapore's Total Fertility Rate (TFR) of 1.29, which is far short of the replacement level of 2.1, is worrying.

"(The) problem is acute for Chinese, whose TFR is 1.14. This means each family only replacing either the father or mother. (The) numbers will decline rapidly in a few generations," he said.

Another closely-linked topic is to encourage young people to get hitched. Some have put off marriage to advance their careers or they could not find a partner.

To this end, Mr Lee remarked candidly that perhaps the People's Association could organise "Parental Matchmaking Sessions" in Singapore too. Such sessions are a popular activity in Beijing, where parents meet, exchange information and find suitable partners for their children.

But Mr Lee admitted that these are personal matters which the government can only facilitate.

The Prime Minister also identified the challenges of new media and promoting gracious living as other important long-term problems for Singapore.

- CNA

Gosh! I am really amused at his ignorance of the average middle class citizens' sentiments!

Goh Meng Seng

Hi Mr Goh,

Welcome to the new forum. :smile:

You do not need to quote the whole post when replying. When you click on quote, delete the portions which you don't need and are not relevant to your reply.

All you need to do is to make sure that any portion of the VBcode
Code:
[QUOTE Username;userid]relevant portions of post[/QUOTE]
is not deleted in the process.

Regards.

Wins88

Wah lau eh! What else you want the dude to do? Juggle and do acrobatics? I mean - the guy was talking about stuff to do with the future and you want him to make a speech that ENTERTAINS? I rather he was monotone and simply scrap ERP! hahaha

Soundwave

You mean Division 1 Bureaucrats. These guys are so un-inspiring, lacking in long term vision and charisma to be anything else.

I am amused at PM Lee's logic; one should not be concerned about the present high cost of living only, but needs to make more babies!

He's quite an amusing PM. Besides taxes and packages, amusement seems to be his other strength.

Shi Jin

<<Mr Lee said this could be because the government did not make a big show that it was giving out help.>>

:confused:

they have been broadcasting and trumpeting GST rebates and Progress Package non-stop.. now they say they did not make it a big show..:biggrin:

That is beacause they are too embarrassed about it to make it a big show!

<<Mr Lee said this could be because the government did not make a big show that it was giving out help.>>

:confused:

they have been broadcasting and trumpeting GST rebates and Progress Package non-stop.. now they say they did not make it a big show..:biggrin:

Maybe this another way of inform Sporeans dont expect anymore incentives from the govt for 2008.:rolleyes:

The_Latest_H

The content in LHL's speech is pretty much the main reason on why better-to-do Singaporeans are starting to leave for overseas and pretty much work and live overseas.

The only time they come back is during Chinese New Year, and Xmas- and other family events.

I guess the only thing the government can gain some comfort from these Singaporeans is that most of them still send back money to their parents and immediate family back home. But if more of them move their families overseas, and then there goes the lucrative foreign money exchange.

char_jig_kar

I guess he is really out of touch. Whether a couple decides to have more babies or not, depends on one critical factor, whether they could possibly provide their children good education and livelihood for the next 20 years! If one could not even cope with the present high cost of living (thanks to more GST and indirect taxes from PAP government!), is not certain of job security due to cheap foreign substitutes induced by an ultra-liberal FT policy, who in his right mind will want to have more babies? Not everyone is earning million dollar annual pay like his ministers you know!

Goh Meng Seng

Well said. 说得好。

weicong

He said govt have been helping people to own cars and thus the road became congested, so there is need to erect ERPs to help the car owners. He said Singapore transport systems are very efficient, thus transport hike is very necessary.

This is what i find amusing. At the same time of helping more people to own car, he created the problem of congestion and the solution is to erect more gantries. So why do the former in the first place?

This was taken from Channelnewsasia

(2) Enable more people to afford cars
(3) Increase ERP to control congestion

Funny little dragon.

Porfirio Rubirosa

To be fair to LHL I think he was trying to address both the short term and long term issues. He appears to come out with pure cold hard calculative pragmatic logic (standard PAP) although this time around with some what softer edges.

To me what would now be constructive is for critics of the PAP government to try, instead of just making the same old general gripes, to coherently, rationally and logically come up with solid substantive arguments to counter LHL's substantive position for eg.

1. Providing help to the Public - LHL claims $3B plus has now been allocated. assuming this true, is this reasonably sufficient? Are people still falling through the 'cracks'? If so why, are government agencies not doing enough? If not should more $$$ be allocated? If so, how and is this reasonably sustainable over the long term? Would this led to the slippery slope of a 'crutch/handout' mentality in our society? How to avoid such 'abuses'?

2. Justification for more ERP gantries and raising the cost of ERP fees - more cars on the road because of more COEs and cut in certain taxes, PAP government wanted to allow more middle class people to be able to own cars. Now with more cars leads to congestion hence the ERPs. Is this reasonably justified? Is the ERP more to collect $$$ for the PAP government? Has the PAP government really provided the public with a reasonably adequate world class public transport system?

3. FT - LHL claims this is in fact to help Singaporeans. FTs help grow the economy, grow the 'pie' for Singapore to grow and consequently provide resources and jobs for Singaporeans. On balance how true are these statements? Even if some Singaporeans are getting jobs, are these reasonably well paid jobs to provide a reasonable standard of living particularly with the indefinite rise in the cost of living? How does the Ft policy affect the 'Singaporean Identity' if at all?

Btw this list os by no means exhaustive, but I think you ought to get my drift.

I guess he is really out of touch. Gosh! I am really amused at his ignorance of the average middle class citizens' sentiments!

Goh Meng Seng

Porfirio Rubirosa

Let me play devils advocate on this one. For years, the middle classes appeared to complain to the PAPs that they wanted to own a car but cannot afford because of PAPs $$$ car policies. OK now the PAPs release more COEs and make owning a car more affordable, but what does this lead to? Road congestion, so PAPs erect more ERP gantries and raise ERP fees. So public complains again. :p

Now what does the public want? More affordable cars or road congestion, or does it have a magic wand to enable it to have its cake and eat it:biggrin:

This is what i find amusing. At the same time of helping more people to own car, he created the problem of congestion and the solution is to erect more gantries. So why do the former in the first place?

This was taken from Channelnewsasia

(2) Enable more people to afford cars
(3) Increase ERP to control congestion

Funny little dragon.

Let me play devils advocate on this one. For years, the middle classes appeared to complain to the PAPs that they wanted to own a car but cannot afford because of PAPs $$$ car policies. OK now the PAPs release more COEs and make owning a car more affordable, but what does this lead to? Road congestion, so PAPs erect more ERP gantries and raise ERP fees. So public complains again. :p

You may not be right, the congestion is partly due to opening of immigration policies and when our population increased, road cogestion also increased and not only that, our public transport systems also became extremely congested not just the cars on the road. Utlimately, the blame is still on the govt because one policy created problems and the next policy to solve the problems make it even more problematic than the first one thus forcing them to erect ERP and even upped the charges thinking it will solve all side effects of the policies. Unfortunately the side effect seems far greater when they erected ERP, business around these gantries were affected, shop owners closed shop or shifted away, taxi driver passed the cost to passengers, getting taxi in town has not been easy as not every cabs wanted to go into city to look for passengers. Businesses who owned truck, lorry, vans or trade vehicles find their operations cost has also increased if these cars have to commute daily through the gantries a few times.

With limited resource and increasing population, road cogestion is not the only issue to tackle. Public housing has also became quite out of reach for the newly wed or needy local borned citizen wanting to own a flat. Representating the workers and yet asking employer not to up wages has made affording HDB a challenge and individual CPF (which the govt failed its promise to up the employer contribution rate during vibrant time) may not have enough to pay even the home downpayments. Thus some couples still prefer to rent a cheaper flat direct from HDB while waiting for the right time to afford a decent flat of their own. Again, this was not foreseeable by the million dollars minitoots who sat comfortably in their ivory tower in the day and rest peaceful in their landed property at night (secured by gurkhas of course). This is why people wanted to be prudent in their spending knowing money is never easy to come by when PAP increased their burden on cost of living. Without privacy and not having enough monies to spend on basic things, how to have more babies?? So explains the fundamental problem of unsound policies creating problems that escalated to many other problems that follows. I think no policy is the best policy. A road is like a snake which can move smoothly but erecting ERPs is like giving a snake many legs and it became too clumsy and started toppling other things that block its way and eventually got itself killed.

Similary, town councils tried to justify their excessive fees by building unncessary and unsightly structures within the neighbourhood creating an environment that is very cramed, less airy and warm making it conducive for breeding Ades mosquitoes. To solve these problems, they mobilised manpowers, fogging, and printing costly phamplets to justify another fee hikes for their departments....

Instead of trying to understand the underlying problems, the NDP rally was merely quoting some extreme stories and selectively pain scenarios, to glorify their own achievement which have not quite justify how they deserve to be paid million dollars salaries. His stories are not representative of the key problems faced by Singaporean in general. I see the speech too partisan trying to gain votes & popularity which they have lost over the years. He is frightened that the truth is out from the internet which 154th Straits Times has been painstakingly hiding it from readers. The power of internet has created an awareness within the PAP girdle now and keeping them constantly on their toes. There is no smoke without fire, and we all knew that PAP has many worms in their closet which are currently kept in its place under the protection of self-erected laws, just like erecting ERPs, as and when they deemed fit to serve their own kind without rights and respect for its citizens.

During his NDP speech, LHL one very clear statement summed up his 3 hours speech. He said
"SINGAPORE NEEDS MONEY AND MORE MONEY
now do we need to say more why Singaporean suffer?

nanana1

Wah, so many "talents" here claiming to be better than the said Division 1 politician.

After all you all said, not impressed leh :p