• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Information Counter (TIC)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I will update this thread from time to time, adding in what little i know in the meantime:

1. DIBS will be scrapped, most banks are starting to follow.
The thing is, even if scrapped, quite a few of the developers would still rebate 3% back to their sellers when they get their keys as a kind of move in bonus.
It may actually work out better financially for some if DIBS is scrapped.

2. The RM 1m limit for foreigners has NOT been implemented yet, it is still RM 500k as of today but will be revised from next year beginning of May, 2014.

3. At least certain developers bumi-release units are still being purchased and approved currently, just that there is going to be a 7.5% increase in the price. Some developers will help to bear at least a portion of this. Market rate currently is about 3% that the developer may help to cover. Some developers only cover 1.5%.

4. GST when implemented (2nd quarter, 2015) will affect primarily the commercial properties. Residential properties are outside of this but with the cost of transportation, labour and materials being hit by GST, it will impact the cost of the developers who will pass it on to their customers. Low cost housing, etc are exempted.

5. Please remember when buying properties, even condos:

a. Residential title versus commercial title = Aside from density restrictions, residential title condos usually have:
i. Lower maintenance fees even taking into account the sinking fund.
ii. Much lower utilities as compared to commercial titled units

b. Leasehold - When buying leasehold, try to find out if the lease that the developer has is from the government or a private company. Particularly if the land is actually freehold but leased from a private company. There are usually less restrictions financially wise but more restrictions when renewing the lease comes.

Majority of developments will have a foreigner ratio. Usually 40/60 or 30/70 or some (CG) managed to make it 20/80 ratio for foreigners versus local buyers.
For high rise the ratio it is typically up to 50/50.

I know many have seen this before already but still its a good guideline to refer to when buying properties:
http://www.hhq.com.my/wp-content/up...roperty-in-Malaysia-English-Version-clean.pdf

RGPT
The raising of the RGPT or REAL PROPERTY GAINS TAX is inevitable and likely here to stay.

However the silver lining here is that the RGPT rate is actually subject to the yearly budget and so may be revised up or down subject to economic and market conditions.

RM1mil policy only for projects approved after Budget

JOHOR BARU: The minimum price for foreign property buyers will remain at RM500,000 if plans for the development projects were approved before the announcement of Budget 2014.

Johor Housing and Local Government executive councillor Datuk Abdul Latiff Bandi said that the new minimum of RM1mil would not apply to development plans approved prior to the tabling of the Budget last month.

“Following the Budget announcement, the state government is reviewing property ownership policies for foreigners looking to invest in the Iskandar region.

“The minimum price for foreigners who wish to own a property here will increase from RM500,000 to RM1mil.

“With the price doubled, locals will have less competition and more opportunities to buy the properties,” he told reporters after launching Malaysia Property Expo (Mapex) here yesterday.

Mapex organising chairman Wong Kuen Kong said there were over 12,000 units of properties worth RM10bil offered to housebuyers throughout the three-day expo.

“Despite the recent Budget announcement, we are confident of getting a good response from visitors,” he said.

He added that the previous expo last May raked in some RM1.6bil in sales.

The expo, he said, allowed visitors to survey projects offered by 34 developers at just one place, saving them time and money.

“The expo also encourages property buyers to own their homes and space at affordable rates,” he added.

The expo, which is organised by the Johor Real Estate and Housing Developers Asso*ciation, is on until tomorrow at the City Square shopping complex.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nati...-only-for-projects-approved-after-Budget.aspx

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Handal Indah Buses

Local - Larkin Bus Terminal[edit]

Route Origin Via Destination
55 Terminal Larkin Simpang Tampoi - Kg Ungku Mohsin - Taman Gembira - Kampung Ubi - Pandan - Simpang Masai/Carrefour - Saujana - Plentong - Kayu Gedong - Jambatan Megah Ria - Taman Rinting - Masai - Taman Dahlia - Institiut Latihan Kemahiran - Medan Selera - Pangsapuri Kos Rendah Pasir Gudang

66 Terminal Larkin Simpang Tampoi - Kg Ungku Mohsin - Taman Gembira - Kampung Ubi - Pandan - Carrefour - Taman Johor Jaya - Taman Desa Cemerlang - Taman Puteri Wangsa - Ulu Tiram - Bukit Kolam - PULADA - Ladang Foh Chong - Taman Sri Saujana - Ladang Harimau - Ladang Tai Tak - Simpang Kulai - Ladang R.E.M. - P.U.B. Terminal Kota Tinggi

666 Terminal Larkin Hospital Pakar Puteri - Padang Golf - Taman Tasek - UDA - Tampoi - Kemayan City - Simpang Taman Ungku Tun Aminah - Terminal Taman Ungku Tun Aminah - Taman Seri Orkid - Lima Kedai - Malaysia-Singapore Second Link interchange - Hock Lam Estate Gelang Patah

777 Terminal Larkin Taman Kota Puteri

88 Terminal Larkin Taman Cahaya Masai

888 Terminal Larkin Hospital Pakar - Padang Golf - Taman Tasek - L.I. Tampoi - Tampoi - Kemayan - Tun Aminah - Skudai - PUB - L.I. Balai Polis Senai - Taman Senai Utama - Senai Toll Plaza - Hospital Kulai - RHB Bank Kulai Besar - Terminal Kulai - Taman Permata Bt 21 - L.I Sengkang - Kota Kulai - Kilang Kelapa Sawit Batu

25 - Kelapa Sawit - Simpang Sedenak - Sek Air Manis - Masjid Air Manis - Ladang Air Manis - Petronas Bukit Batu - Kilang Batu Swi Kwang - Simpang Layang-Layang - Kilang May Brick Batu 36 - Batu 37 & 38 - Felda Layang Batu 39 - Safari World - Prime Orchard Bt 42 & 43 - Simpang Benut - Kg. Sahari - Simpang Rengam - Taman Harmoni - Ulu Benut - Yew Chai Sawmill - Kg. Setia Jaya - Esso Batu 53 & 54 - Batu 55 Kilang Batu Bata - Batu 56 - Tropical Villages Air Hitam

99 Terminal Larkin Kota Masai

Local - Shopping Service[edit]
S1 Bandaraya City Square, Holland, KSL City, Holiday Plaza, Danga City Mall, JB Sentral KSL City
Singapore[edit]

CW1 Terminal Larkin Kotaraya II Bus Terminal - Sultan Iskandar CIQ (Causeway) - Woodlands CIQ Kranji MRT
CW2 Terminal Larkin Sultan Iskandar CIQ (Causeway) - Woodlands CIQ Queen Street (Rochor Rd)
CW3 Perlin Mall Gelang Patah - Tanjung Kupang CIQ - Malaysia-Singapore Second Link - Tuas CIQ Jurong East
CW3S Sutera Mall Tanjung Kupang CIQ - Malaysia-Singapore Second Link - Tuas CIQ Jurong East
CW4 Pontian Bus Terminal Gelang Patah - Tanjung Kupang CIQ - Malaysia-Singapore Second Link - Tuas CIQ Jurong East
CW4S Sutera Mall Tanjung Kupang CIQ - Malaysia-Singapore Second Link - Tuas CIQ Jurong East
CW5 Johor Bahru Custom Sultan Iskandar CIQ (Causeway) - Woodlands CIQ Newton MRT
CW6 Bukit Indah Tanjung Kupang CIQ - Malaysia-Singapore Second Link - Tuas CIQ Boon Lay MRT/Jurong Point

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
COACH TO JOHOR BAHRU, MALAYSIA

Getting to Changi Airport has gotten even easier! Now with the new Transtar Cross Border Service (TS1), it'll be a breeze getting between Changi Airport and Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

The service will start at coach stands at Terminals 1, 2, 3 and end at Kotaraya II Terminal.

Fares for adults and children
One-way fares from Changi Airport to Johor Bahru are S$7 for adults and S$3.50 for children. From Johor Bahru, adults will pay RM7, while children will pay RM3.50.

Payment can be made using ezLink card or with cash.

Coach Timings

The first bus leaves Changi Airport for Johor Bahru at 7.15am.
The first bus leaves Johor Bahru for Changi Airport at 5.00am.
Last departures at Changi Airport and Kotaraya II are scheduled at 11.15pm and 9.00pm respectively.
Download the coach timetable here (Effective from 1 September 2013).

Changi Airport TS1 Pick Up Points :
Terminal 1 : Arrival Hall Coach Bay 12
Terminal 2 : Arrival Hall Coach Bay 09 / 10
Terminal 3 : Arrival Hall Coach Bay 1
Notes:
1. Passengers are advised to wait at the pick up point 10 mins before scheduled departure time.
2. All times are approximate, and the schedules and routes are subject to change without notice due to traffic conditions.
3. Online schedule may differ from published schedules due to unexpected additional or removal of time slot.
4. We recommend that you contact us at (65) 6297 9009 to confirm your preferred departure time at least 24 hours prior to departure to avoid any delay.

For more information, please approach Transtar Travel's counter (Daily operating hours: 0800-2130) located at the Arrival Hall of Terminal 2, or any of the Information Counters located at the arrival halls.

http://www.changiairport.com/getting-around/to-and-from-the-airport/coach-to-johor-bahru-malaysia

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Singapore to Malaysia by Taxi

All Singapore Taxis are not allowed to cross the border to Malaysia and vice verse.

Only specially licensed Singapore Taxis are allowed to enter Johor, Malaysia and stop at Kotaraya Shopping Mall (near the Malaysian Customs). You will need to change to a Malaysian Taxi cab upon arriving at Kotaraya Shopping Mall.

Specially licensed Malaysian Taxis are allowed to travel any where else in Malaysia, without the need to change taxi cabs. These taxis are operated by Johor Taxi Service.

Malaysia to Singapore by Taxi

In the reverse direction towards Singapore, you can take taxis from Kotaraya Shopping Mall (near the Malaysian Customs) to any point in central Singapore ($30) or Changi Airport ($40). The main advantage here is that you don't need to lug your stuff (or yourself) through Customs at both ends; you can just sit in the car.

Advantages
Advantages of taking the Singapore-Malaysia Taxi includes:

Travel in comfort from point A to B, without having to change vehicle (on Malaysian Taxis) and get down at the customs
Great for traveling with young children or old age.
No need to carry your heavy bags

Disadvantages
Disadvantages of taking the Singapore-Malaysia Taxi includes:

You might be stuck in the traffic jam at peak hours (unless you travel by rail or plane)
Cost a little more as compared to Public Bus or Walking
May not be as comfortable as the Singapore Taxis or Coach

Singapore-Johore Taxi Operators' Association (Johor Taxi Service)
Tel: (+65) 6296 7054
Ban San St Singapore
Singapore Taxis
S$45 one-way flat rate per vehicle (Singapore to Kotaraya Shopping Mall)
S$50 onwards per vehicle (Singapore to Kotaraya Shopping Mall to anywhere else in Malaysia)

Malaysian Taxis
Boarding Point: Rochor Rd
S$40 one-way flat rate per vehicle, or S$10/person for shared transfers

http://www.taxisingapore.com/singapore-to-malaysia/

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Private Car Or Van/MPV with Driver - Johor Baru / Singapore
| Private Car Or Van/MPV with Driver - Johor Baru | Private Car Or Van/MPV with Driver - Singapore
|

Private Car Or Van/MPV with Driver - Johor Baru

One Way Transfer (ex-Johor Bahru)

10 Seater Van (RM)

5 Seater Toyota Innova (RM)

Johor Bahru/ Singapore v.v

RM 380 nett

RM 280 nett

Johor Bahru/Melaka v.v

RM 825 nett

RM 600 nett

Johor Bahru/Mersing Jetty v.v

RM 675 nett

RM 480 nett

Johor Bahru/Tanjung Leman Jetty v.v

RM 675 nett

RM 480 nett

Johor Bahru/Kluang v.v

RM 575 nett

RM 440 nett

Johor Bahru/Kahang v.v

RM 675 nett

RM 500 nett

Johor Bahru/Kuantan v.v

RM 1250 nett

RM 925 nett

Johor Bahru/Cherating v.v

RM 1450 nett

RM 1100 nett

Johor Bahru/Fraser’s Hill v.v

RM 1450 nett

RM 1150 nett

Johor Bahru/Cameron Highlands v.v

RM 1900 nett

RM 1425 nett

Johor Bahru/Lumut jetty v.v

RM 2100 nett

RM 1575 nett

Johor Bahru/Genting Highlands v.v

RM 1450 nett

RM 1150 nett

The Rates above Include:
* toll charges * petrol * driver
Rates above does not include:
* Travel/passenger insurance * overnight stay and food expenses for driver (if any)
Please Note:
* Rates are nett inclusive of taxes and subject to peak season surcharge- date & cost to be advised.
* Overland transfer subject to 50% of midnight surcharge per way for traveling time between 11.30pm to 06.30am
* No show or cancellation of booking prior to assignment. Within 1 week - full refund, 3 days - 50% cancellation charge, 48 hours and less - full cancellation
* All rates are subject to change with or without prior notice (ie: fuel price increase)

If you can't find what you're looking for here, please email [email protected] or call 603-26912435

**Please Note that there will be a non-refundable handling charge on payment made. Conditions apply.

http://www.journeymalaysia.com/transferjb.htm

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
For folks who may need vehicles when travelling within Singapore:

Booking Types & Rates
Limousine Booking Types & Rates
Our fleet of limousine includes:

Mercedes Cab (4-seater Mercedes Benz E200 Taxi)
Maxi Cab (7-seater Mercedes Benz Vito Taxi)
Mercedes Vito (7-seater Private MPV Minivan)
Toyota Hi-roof (13-seater Private Minibus)
Mercedes Cab (4-seater Mercedes Benz E200 Taxi)
Hourly Disposals
Normal - S$50 per hr
Midnight (0000 - 0559 Hrs) - S$62 per hr
* Minimum 2 hours

Arrival Transfer
Normal - S$60
Midnight (0000 - 0559 Hrs) - S$70
* Waiting time of up to 45 mins from confirmed flight landing time after which the waiting time charge of S$10 per 15 mins block will commence.

Departure Transfer
Normal - S$50
Midnight (0000 - 0559 Hrs) - S$62

Point-to-Point Transfer
Normal - S$50
Midnight (0000 - 0559 Hrs) - S$62

Make Reservation

Maxi Cab (7-seater Mercedes Benz Vito Taxi)
Hourly Disposals
Normal - S$55 per hr
Midnight (0000 - 0559 Hrs) - S$67 per hr
* Minimum 2 hours

Arrival Transfer
Normal - S$65
Midnight (0000 - 0559 Hrs) - S$75
* Waiting time of up to 45 mins from confirmed flight landing time after which the waiting time charge of S$10 per 15 mins block will commence.

Departure Transfer
Normal - S$55
Midnight (0000 - 0559 Hrs) - S$67

Point-to-Point Transfer
Normal - S$55
Midnight (0000 - 0559 Hrs) - S$67

Make Reservation

Mercedes Vito (7-seater Private MPV Minivan)
Hourly Disposals
Normal - S$65 per hr
Midnight (2300 - 0659 Hrs) - S$77 per hr
* Minimum 2 hours

Arrival Transfer
Normal - S$75
Midnight (2300 - 0659 Hrs) - S$85
* Waiting time of up to 45 mins from confirmed flight landing time after which the waiting time charge of S$15 per 15 mins block will commence.

Departure Transfer
Normal - S$65
Midnight (2300 - 0659 Hrs) - S$77

Point-to-Point Transfer
Normal - S$65
Midnight (2300 - 0659 Hrs) - S$77

Make Reservation

Toyota Hi-roof (13-seater Private Minibus)
Hourly Disposals
Normal - S$70 per hr
Midnight (2300 - 0659 Hrs) - S$82 per hr
* Minimum 2 hours

Arrival Transfer
Normal - S$80
Midnight (2300 - 0659 Hrs) - S$90

Departure Transfer
Normal - S$70
Midnight (2300 - 0659 Hrs) - S$82

Point-to-Point Transfer
Normal - S$70
Midnight (2300 - 0659 Hrs) - S$82

Make Reservation

Point to Point Service
From Point A to Point B, anywhere within Singapore main island and Sentosa island. Transfer Service can be:

A one-way transfer service
A two-way transfer service (To and Fro)
Multiple points transfer service: Point A to Point B follow by Point C and so on.
Hourly Booking
Hourly Booking, or Hourly Disposal services are available for a minimum of 3 hours booking.

Half-Day Booking
A Half a Day Booking for the usage of our Limo Maxi transfer service. As a guide, our Half-Day Booking transfer service starts from 07:00 hrs to 12:00 hrs or 13:00 hrs to 18:00 hrs. These timings are flexible at your discretion.

Rate is calculated based on per hour basis at S$40 per hour for Half-Day Booking transfer services from 06:00 hrs to 23:59 hrs and S$52 per hour from 00:00 hrs to 05:59 hrs with a minimum of 24 hours booking.

Full-Day Booking
A whole day booking for our Limo Maxi transfer service. As a guide, our Full-Day Booking transfer service starts from 08:00 hrs to 20:00 hrs. This timing is flexible at your discretion.

24 Hrs Booking
A 24 Hrs round the clock service. Each team comprises of 3 vehicles each rotating at 8 hours shift to provide you with the best service.

During rotation, the in coming Limo Maxi which is going to take over duty will link up with the previous Limo Maxi at its location to be brief on any instructions provided by you. This procedure is flexible at your discretion.

Guaranteed Advanced Booking
Guarantees a Limo Maxi for bookings made at least one-day in advanced at no additional charges.

Priority Service
Priority Service for bookings made at least 3 hours in advanced at no additional charges. Priority Service is available only via phone booking.

Additional Charges
Midnight Surcharge
There will be an additional surcharge of S$12 per transfer or per hour for midnight charge between 00:00 Hrs to 05:59 Hrs for Maxi Cab; and an additional surcharge of S$10 per transfer or per hour for midnight charge between 23:00 Hrs to 06:59 Hrs for Mercedes Vito & Toyota Hi-roof.

Additional Stops
Extra stops will be charged at $20 per stop. Maximum of two (2) en-route stops, with the entire transfer to be completed within sixty (60) minutes. Transfer will be charged as a Hourly Disposal service beyond sixty (60) minutes, with a minimum of two (2) hours disposal for Limousine Cabs and a minimum of three (3) hours disposal for Private Limousines.

Please call us to enquire regarding our rates for F1 Singapore Limo Transfer and Transportation Services, Wedding Limo Services and Goods Transfer Services.

All our rates quoted are Nett price. You will not be required to pay for any additional ERP, peak hour surcharge other then midnight and additional stops surcharge.

http://www.limomaxi.com/rates/#toyota-hiroof

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Home Stuff:

Guys who need serious hardware including generators:

Living Depot
69,69A,69B & 71,71A,71B & 73,73A,73B, Jalan Mutiara Emas 10/19,Taman Mount Austin, 81100

This place has a lot of unusual stuff that is not so common in other hardware type of shops.

For those who likes heavy equipment, ahem:

http://www.newpages.com.my/en/compan…8636/index.htm

Still the best brand IMHO:
http://www.husqvarna.com
http://www.husqvarna.com/my/homeowne…ealer-locator/

IT/Electronics
iSave
G22 Giant Hypermarket
Nusa Bestari, Taman Nusa Bestari, 81300, JB
Look for James Tuyo +607 237 7699

Seng Electric Sales & Service (Samsung stuff as well)
Michael Lim – +6012 772 9499
1 & 3 Jalan Mutiara Emas 10/19 Taman Mount Austin 81100 Johor Bahru, Johor

Khin Guan
There is also a good Khin Guan next to the Giant (ground floor) at Taman Perling (Perling Mall)
Look for Jason as they tend to have specials for tv and they also carry different types of washing
machines including those with loads above 13kg.

For tiles and marble as well as kitchen fittings
Rainbow Marble & Tiling Sdn Bhd
No. 6630, Jln Waja 5
81100 Johor Bahru, Johor

Also, the Store in Taman Sentosa is usually pretty quiet and good for a quick burst of shopping.
Their household stuff like anti-mosquito stuff and even their emergency lights/lamps are pretty plentiful.

Not forgetting for more IT stuff, remember you can actually bargain a little even at certain IT stores:

Good for power surges:
http://www.thundermatch.com.my/belkin-extension

Good for power surges & back up power:
http://www.thundermatch.com.my/neuro-power-blackpro-bp800c-800va-ups?keyword=ups&category_id=0

Where possible, get emergency lighting with fans, something like:
http://i01.i.aliimg.com/photo/v0/270953923/2x6W_Tube_Rechargeable_Emergency_Light_with_fan.jpg

You can also get luminous stickers (RM5) at Daiso stores for areas around the staircase for the old and young kids so that they
can find their way if there is a power failure at night.

There is a Daiso in Bukit Indah (Jusco/AEON):
http://wikimapia.org/5917217/Aeon-Bukit-Indah-Shopping-Centre

Blinds (bamboo type)
Bamboo Chong @ Perniagaan Lee Teck Mee
No. 155, Ban Foo N/V 81800 Ulu Tiram, Johor Bahru
Zhong Kai Wen – +6016 7935 600/+6017 7945663

For canvas awning (retractable and fixed types)
Wong peng Kee +6012 752 4470
This uncle you need to negotiate a bit, a bit ex but still cheaper than quite a few.

Gas delivery (Bukit Indah)
+60 72344551

Locksmith
Peter Tan +010 7607 999
39, Jalan Austin Height 3, 81100 Taman Mount Austin

From Grago:

Look for Alex Wee:- (h/p) +60122871099, (O) 072353221. He is a nice guy and will work with you.

The address is 9 Jalan Titiwangsa 3/2, Taman Tampoi Indah, 81200 Johor Bahru. GPS coords:- 1.50728 103.688531

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Good developers that i had some experience with:

Gamuda
IJM
UEM Sunrise

Some of the better real estate agencies:

http://www.tgp.com.my/home.php

Their Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Trans-Global-Properties/108104675878600

Jesse Poon
Jesse - Call +60182827777

A honourable agent that i continue to hold in high regard:
Sophia Heng from Summerhill Realty
Call: +6016-7223714

A pretty ok law firm in Tebrau area:
Ms Charanjit
http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/legaldirectory/mfirmdetail.php?fid=4517

One of the most honourable persons i know as a lawyer (and the straightest talking/dealing chap that i ever got to know)

Mr Issac
http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/legaldirectory/mfirmdetail.php?fid=10638

The largest law firm that i know, they even have branches in KL as well:
http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/legaldirectory/mfirmdetail.php?fid=2517

Good secretarial firm to talk to for incorporating companies and doing audits, etc.
EC Business

Very honest business, prices are fair too:
http://www.ecbisadv.com/

Speak with Eric or Carol, they are very well versed and experienced in the industry.
[email protected]

E.C. BUSINESS ADVISORY
79A,Jalan Harimau Tarum, Taman Century, 80250,Johor Bahru,Johor
TEL :607-335 2040 FAX :607-335 3040

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
School bus to and from Singapore:

Century Bus Service Sdn Bhd owned 12 air-conditioned Bas Sekolah vans and 6 non-air-conditioned Bas Sekolah buses. Our vans and buses are identified by the "Superman" logo on the left and rear side of it.

Our main core competence is our school buses trip between Johor Bahru areas towards Singapore's school. Our pick up location cover almost all the residential area, apartments and condominiums in Johor Bahru and we have already established the confirmed routes for 11 primary schools , 9 secondary schools, 1 Republic Poly, 1 Innova JC and most of the schools situated in Woodlands, Sembawang and Yishun town.

We operate 4 trips per day from Johor Bahru to Singapore and six trips per day from Singapore, picking up pupils from their respective schools back to Johor Bahru. The 6 different trips pick up time from schools would be 12:50pm, 1:30pm, 2:30pm, 3:30pm 6:00pm and last trip on 6:30pm. Our school bus service also operates during school holidays for remedial classes, picking up pupils from homes to school and to send them home after heir classes.

http://centurybus.com.my/htm/aboutus.html

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
An old but still relevant post:

"In recognition of the needs of bona fide Singaporeans or Singapore PRs working and residing in Malaysia to make home visits to Singapore, we could consider you for the special concession scheme. Under the scheme, all approved applicants are allowed to drive their Malaysia-registered cars into Singapore for all weekends, all Singapore public holidays and another 28 weekdays in a calendar year. Approval will be given on a case-by-case basis with consideration to the following:

The applicant (his spouse or his company) is the registered owner of the vehicle. If the vehicle is rented/leased by his company, he has to submit an official letter from the company stating the period the vehicle is leased for and that the vehicle is provided solely for his use;
He is physically working and residing in Malaysia;
He is required to apply to Land Transport Authority for approval when his earlier approval letter (if any) has expired (i.e. upon expiry of his vehicle's insurance/road tax or 6 months, whichever is earlier);
His vehicle has a valid Malaysia road tax disc and insurance coverage for the period it is used in Singapore; and
He must keep, in each of his visit, his vehicle outside Singapore before the vehicle entry permit grace expiry of 14 days from the date of the last entry.

(Note: Unless further extension is granted, the vehicle entry permit valid for 14 days is issued upon each entry and encoded in its Autopass Card electronically at land checkpoint.)

If you wish to apply for the scheme, please fax your request and the following documents to us at (02)-65535329 or (02)-65535802 (from Malaysia) or by email to [email protected]:

A photocopy of your Singapore identity card (front and reverse sides);
A photocopy of your passport with the relevant page of your employment pass endorsed by Malaysian Immigration or Malaysian identity card (if any);
A photocopy of your company's letter confirming that you are currently working and residing in Malaysia;
A photocopy of your vehicle's valid registration card (front and reverse sides) with latest valid road tax endorsement by Road Transport Department, Malaysia;
A photocopy of your vehicle's valid insurance certificate;
If the vehicle in your application is registered under your company's name (or is rented/leased by your company), we would also require an photocopy of your employer's letter stating the period the vehicle is leased for and that the vehicle is given solely for your use and that only you can drive the vehicle; and
A photocopy of your marriage certificate (if you are applying with your spouse's vehicle).

Please also provide us your residential address in Malaysia and your residential address during your intending visit in Singapore and indicate your intended date(s) of visit (if available) to Singapore.

Important Note

Your application must reach us at least 5 working days (excluding Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays) before your intended visit to Singapore to allow us to process your application. Please note that we may not be able to process your application on time if your submission is incomplete or late.

Electronic Road Pricing and Vehicle Entry Permit Fees and toll charges

Please refer to our website at http://www.lta.gov.sg =>'Motoring' =>'Driving Into and Out Singapore' =>`West-Malaysian Registered Vehicles' =>'Vehicle Entry Permit/Tolls' and `Autopass card matters' for more details on payment of vehicle entry permit (VEP) fee, electronic road pricing (ERP) fee and toll charges.

Driving Licence to drive in Singapore

You may also wish to check on the type of driving licence required to drive in Singapore for Singapore citizen or Singapore permanent resident from the following Singapore Traffic Police's portal:

http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov....ence_legal.htm

Please contact our Customer Service Hotline at 1800-CALL LTA (1800-2255582) or email us at [email protected] or [email protected] if you need clarification.

We thank you for writing to us."

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
A quick note for cars. Foreigners can get International Driving license from AA Singapore:
http://www.aas.com.sg/?show=content&view=8&val=135

Foreigners can purchase cars under their own names or own company cars that are registered under their company names.
Bank loans are typically up to 70-80% and if its a company vehicle, it can be up to 85-90% but road tax, insurance may be higher.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/10/25/malaysia-budget-highlights-idUSL3N0IE0TY20131025

Budget 2014

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 25 (Reuters) - Malaysian Prime Minister
Najib Razak unveiled his government's budget for 2014 on Friday,
seeking to address a large fiscal deficit, shrinking current
account surplus and growing debt pile that are sources of
concern for investors and ratings agencies.

Following are highlights from Najib's ongoing speech to
parliament:

REAL PROPERTY GAINS TAX
* For gains on properties disposed within the holding period of
up to 3 years, RPGT rate is increased to 30 percent.
* For disposals within the holding period up to 4 and 5 years,
the rates are increased to 20 percent and 15 percent,
respectively. Malaysian property firms with exposure to this tax
change include UEM Sunrise, Mah Sing Group
and Tropicana Corp .
* Raise the minimum price of property that can be purchased by
foreigners to 1 million ringgit from 500,000 ringgit.
* Prohibit developers from implementing projects that have
features of Developer Interest Bearing Scheme (DIBS), to prevent
developers from incorporating interest rates on loans in house
prices during the construction period.
* Financial institutions are prohibited from providing final
funding for projects involved in the DIBS scheme. Malaysia's top
three banks are Maybank, CIMB and Public
Bank.

AFFORDABLE HOMES

* To further increase access to home ownership at affordable
prices, an estimated 223,000 units of new houses will be built
by the government and the private sector in 2014.
- Companies that specialise in affordable housing
development include Hua Yang Bhd.
* Government to allocate 578 million ringgit to the National
Housing Department (JPN) for low cost flats consisting of 16,473
housing units.
* Malaysian's government to provide 80,000 housing units with an
allocation of 1 billion ringgit under affordable housing scheme.
The sales price of the houses will be 20 percent lower than
market prices.
* Introduce the Private Affordable Ownership Housing Scheme
(MyHome) to encourage the private sector to build more low and
medium-cost houses. The scheme provides a subsidy of 30,000
ringgit to the private developers for each unit built.
* Preference will be given to developers who build low and
medium-cost houses in areas with high demand and limited to
10,000 units in 2014.
* The scheme is for housing projects approved effective from 1
January 2014 with an allocation of 300 million ringgit.

TAX RELIEF
* Government proposes a special tax relief of 2,000 ringgit be
given to tax payers with a monthly income up to 8,000 ringgit
received in 2013.

GOODS AND SALES TAX
* To implement goods and services tax (GST) on April 1, 2015 -
17 months from now.
* GST rate fixed at six percent, the lowest among ASEAN
countries.
* GST replaces current sales tax.
* Basic food items, transportation services, highway tolls,
water and first 200 units of electricity for domestic users per
month to be exempt from GST.
* Sale, purchase and rental of residential properties as well as
selected financial services are exempted from GST.
* PM Najib: "The reality is that inflation now is low at around
2 percent. The government is confident this will be the best
time to impose GST as inflation is minimal and under control."
* Training grant of 100 million ringgit will be provided to
businesses that send their employees for GST training in 2013
and 2014.
* Financial assistance amounting to 150 million ringgit will be
provided to small and medium enterprises for the purchase of
accounting software in 2014 and 2015.

CORPORATE TAX
* corporate income tax rate be reduced by 1 percentage from 25
percent to 24 percent.
* income tax rate for small and medium companies will be reduced
by 1 percentage point from 20 percent to 19 percent from the
year of assessment 2016.

INCOME TAX
* government to give one-off cash assistance of 300 ringgit to
low income households
* personal income tax rates be reduced by 1 to 3 percentage
points for all tax payers.
* individual income tax structure will be reviewed
* chargeable income subject to the maximum rate will be
increased from exceeding 100,000 ringgit to exceeding 400,000
ringgit.
* Current maximum tax rate at 26 percent to be reduced to 24
percent
* measures to be effective in 2015

SUBSIDIES

* Subsidy programme to be "gradually restructured"
* A portion of savings from restructuring to be distributed in
the form of direct cash assistance with the other half to
finance development projects.
* To abolish the sugar subsidy of 34 sen effective October 26

PUBLIC INVESTMENTS
* Public investments to reach 106 billion ringgit. Projects to
be implemented include:
- A 316-kilometre West Coast Expressway. Locally listed Kumpulan
Europlus Bhd owns 80 percent of the project, while IJM
Corp owns the balance 20 percent.
- Double-tracking rail project along west coast Malaysia. The
project is carried out by as a joint venture between MMC Corp
and Gamuda.
- Various projects from state oil firm Petronas under
its 300 billion ringgit capex programme, including a
petrochemicals plant in southern Johor state.

PUBLIC INVESTMENTS
* Public investments to reach 106 billion ringgit. Projects to
be implemented include:
- A 316-kilometre West Coast Expressway. Locally listed Kumpulan
Europlus Bhd owns 80 percent of the project, while IJM
Corp owns the balance 20 percent.
- Double-tracking rail project along west coast Malaysia. The
project is carried out by as a joint venture between MMC Corp
and Gamuda.
- Various projects from state oil firm Petronas under
its 300 billion ringgit capex programme, including a
petrochemicals plant in southern Johor state.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Fines and taxes:

For folks who have incurred the wrath of MBJB (never display coupon, etc) and wishes to pay (normally parking wardens check from 8-6pm Mondays to Saturdays), please see below for payment information and where to go to make payment:

You should be able to pay the fine online if you have the following bank accounts:
http://mbjb.gov.my/web/guest/e-bayar

MBJB office:
http://mbjb.gov.my/web/guest/hubungi_kami

Branches:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johor_Bahru_City_Council

These are examples of some of what you can pay at POS:
http://www.pos.com.my/pos/personal/bill/payment/billing.aspx

For traffic police/JPJ fines and a very good place to check if you got a speeding ticket - https://www.myeg.com.my/

Investor

Home Security Measures Burglars Hate Most!

"Burglaries are considered 'crimes of opportunity' because the criminal is looking for the easy way to get into your home - the unlocked door, open garage door or open window," says Charlene Miller, Crime Prevention Neighborhood Watch director at the Boise Police Department.

Fortunately, "There are practical security measures you can take to make it so difficult for burglars that they'll go somewhere else," Miller adds.
Want to learn what these measures are? Here are nine things you can do to make burglars think twice before trying to enter your home.

#1 - Secured Doors and Windows
In approximately one-third of home burglaries the burglar comes in through an unlocked door or window, according to the "Burglary of Single Family Houses"guide, published by the U.S. Department of Justice's Office of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS).
"The first line of defense in your home's security is having solid core exterior doors with high quality grade 1 or 2 deadbolt locks," Miller states. "French doors can be secured with a quality deadbolt lock and a slide bolt penetrating the upper or lower doorframe."
Miller notes that sliding glass doors are especially vulnerable if they do not have proper locks, so check with the manufacturer for the right ones.
"A snug-fitting dowel (a piece of cylindrical wood - similar to a broom handle) in the lower track of the door will also prevent it from being opened." Miller also recommends installing eyebolts in the frames of sliding windows to allow for ventilation without leaving enough room for an intruder.

#2 - A Loud Dog
Dogs are not only "man's best friend." They can also be a burglar's worst enemy.
In fact, COPS reports that most burglars avoid houses with dogs. "Burglars don't want to be seen or caught; they also want to avoid pain," agrees Miller, who adds that dogs that bark - even small, noisy dogs - can be an effective deterrent.
And while you might feel safer with a large dog that could do bodily harm, like a German Shepherd, Miller says the most important aspect is having a dog that sounds an alarm with its bark.

#3 - A Home Security System
If you want something that not only makes noise when there's an intruder, but also calls for help, consider installing a home security system. Home security systems detect when someone enters your house uninvited, sets off an alarm, and also notifies authorities of an invasion.
"If you have valuables that need protection, rampant burglaries in your area, and are away from home for long stretches, a home security system could be a good option for you," says Miller.
She recommends doing some online research and checking with local alarm system companies to find the best system for your needs.

#4 - Motion Sensor Lights
Installing sensor lights (which turn on when they detect motion) is a great way to illuminate portions of your property only when needed - like when someone enters the area.
Sensor lights will come on as soon as someone enters under cover of darkness - as a burglar would.
"Outside lighting is one of the cheapest and most effective deterrents to crime," states Miller, who adds that "motion sensor lights give you the ease of having lights come on automatically."

#5 - Surveillance Cameras
A video surveillance system can be a bit costly, but it could help you sleep better at night.
"Installing a video security system can give you peace of mind and act as a deterrent to burglars, especially when you're on vacation," Millers states.
However, if you don't want to go the full route of installing a system, think about putting up a "dummy" camera or two to give the illusion of protection. And while Miller agrees installing a "dummy" camera could intimidate a burglar, she says the downside is it can't provide evidence if a burglary occurs.

#6 - Protection Warning Signs
Got a dog or a home security system? Share that information with signage on your fence, door, or window. Much like putting up security cameras, letting a burglar know you are well protected makes you less of a target.
"It's important to look at your home from a burglar's point of view," shares Miller. "Burglars who think they might be seen or caught will think twice before targeting your house."
Miller cautions that while having this kind of signage can be to your advantage, it could also make burglars wonder what you have that's worth protecting.

#7 - A Trimmed and Tidy Yard
Untrimmed trees and shrubs provide good hiding places for burglars and can obscure their entry into your home.
To get a better sense of what she means, Miller suggests the following: "Stand out on your front sidewalk and take an objective look at your house. Do you have trees or shrubs providing hiding places for someone?" If so, Miller recommends trimming tree branches up to six feet from the ground and shrubs down to below window sills.
A shaggy lawn - especially one that's usually trimmed - can also indicate to a burglar that you're likely on vacation, or simply away on business for a prolonged period of time. Consider hiring someone to mow your lawn if you're going to be out of town for more than a week.

#8 - The Appearance That Someone Is Home
Burglars know your routine, and when there's a break in that routine - like when you're on vacation - it's a signal that your home is clear for a break-in.
With that in mind, Miller says that "the goal when you're gone is for your home to appear lived in."
To accomplish this, Miller suggests using motion-sensor lights and timers on your radio and TV to simulate occupancy and create the illusion that you're home.
Corvallis, Oregon home insurance professional, Bonnie Lundy, agrees: "Anything you can do to make your home look occupied while you're away is a good thing - and timed electronics are great for that."
She does caution, however, that burglars are aware people use timers, and recommends some variation in the pattern.

#9 - Helpful Neighbors
We just talked about making your home look lived in while you're away. And while simulating occupancy can get tricky, the good news is you can enlist help. The best recruits? Your neighbors.
Whenever you're away, Lundy highly recommends asking your neighbors to get your mail and newspapers, and check for any deliveries. Miller also recommends asking them to put garbage bags in your garbage can.
And that's not all. You should also "ask a trusted neighbor to park their vehicle in your driveway occasionally while you're out of town," suggests Miller.
Any sign of activity at your home is enough to deter most burglars - who count on an empty house.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
For those who like/love/adore the outdoors or just like to do all things 4x4.

This is a good place to go to, all my friends highly recommend this place and
some were really impressed. Look for Mr Liang.

27, Jalan Harmonium 23/14, Taman Desa Tebrau
81100 Johor Bahru
From 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Phone +60 12-717 1666

https://www.facebook.com/Sj4x4Accessories/info

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Latest

II. APPLICATIONS

2. This Guideline shall apply to the following transactions:

2.1 All property acquisitions, except for residential units, that require
approval of the Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department
as follows:

(a) direct acquisition of property valued at RM20 million and above,
resulting in the dilution in the ownership of property held by
Bumiputera interest and/or government agency; and

(b) indirect acquisition of property by other than Bumiputera interest
through acquisition of shares, resulting in a change of control of
the company owned by Bumiputera interest and/or government
agency, having property more than 50 percent of its total assets,
and the said property is valued more than RM20 million.

2.2 All property acquisitions by foreign interest that do not require the
approval of the Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department
but fall under the purview of the relevant Ministries and/or Government
Departments as follows:

(a) acquisition of commercial unit valued at RM1,000,000 and above;

(b) acquisition of agricultural land valued at RM1,000,000 and above
or at least five (5) acres in area for the following purposes:

(i) to undertake agricultural activities on a commercial scale
using modern or high technology; or

(ii) to undertake agro-tourism projects; or

(iii) to undertake agricultural or agro-based industrial activities
for the production of goods for export.

(c) acquisition of industrial land valued at RM1,000,000 and above;

Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department

and

(d) transfer of property to a foreigner based on family ties is only
allowed among immediate family members.

2.3 Acquisition of residential unit by foreign interest valued at RM1,000,000
and above. This acquisition, however, does not require the approval of
the Economic Planning Unit, Prime Minister’s Department but falls under
the purview of the State Authorities.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Based on what i have heard, any developer who applies for the exemption (highrise) of their projects are able to do so to the relevant authorities on or before June 30th, 2014 to be exempted for the 1m rule. Applies for those projects launched before the Budget 2014.

Status
Not open for further replies.