• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No need to Defend Oz or any other country

Just don't know why you guys bother fighting with couple of chaps here who spend their waking hours being negative about OZ and migration.

Anyone with half a brain knows that developed countries draw migrants from lesser developed countries.

Like all countries and cultures, there will be pros and cons and issues of concern. But at the end of the day, surely a continent richly endowed with naturals resources, having garnered 9 nobel prizes with a plently of land, opportunities and breathing space must spell better hope.

By the way, Racism happens all over the world and in the scheme of things, one nation is noted for its egalitarian ethos and that is Oz, with NZ and Canada more less than in the league.

Just don't respond to these sour grapes, who probably can't qualify, suffer xenophobia or sacred to take the next steps. The fact that this seems to be their primary and sole contribution to this forum says it all.

shockshiok

Just don't know why you guys bother fighting with couple of chaps here who spend their waking hours being negative about OZ and migration.

Anyone with half a brain knows that developed countries draw migrants from lesser developed countries.

Like all countries and cultures, there will be pros and cons and issues of concern. But at the end of the day, surely a continent richly endowed with naturals resources, having garnered 9 nobel prizes with a plently of land, opportunities and breathing space must spell better hope.

By the way, Racism happens all over the world and in the scheme of things, one nation is noted for its egalitarian ethos and that is Oz, with NZ and Canada more less than in the league.

Just don't respond to these sour grapes, who probably can't qualify, suffer xenophobia or sacred to take the next steps. The fact that this seems to be their primary and sole contribution to this forum says it all.

this is one of the most fun, amusing forums - for me at least. i understand if thats not the case for the poor subprime singaporeans in australia, but i just cant help that.

if you read the old forum you would know my position on migration. in fact i am a big supporter of migration. period. canada, new zealand, the US, china, thailand, etc etc - all wonderful opportunites for a better life than singapore.
just not to australia, because not only is it the worst country in the world - its full of very badly behaved singaporeans which is why there are so many sour grapes on this forum. j

but its very fun.

hee hee

depeche

this is one of the most fun, amusing forums - for me at least. i understand if thats not the case for the poor subprime singaporeans in australia, but i just cant help that.

if you read the old forum you would know my position on migration. in fact i am a big supporter of migration. period. canada, new zealand, the US, china, thailand, etc etc - all wonderful opportunites for a better life than singapore.
just not to australia, because not only is it the worst country in the world - its full of very badly behaved singaporeans which is why there are so many sour grapes on this forum. j

but its very fun.

hee hee

Oei... was it that Australia is being the country where most Singaporean emigrated to and OZ is at the top of your job list to denounce it? Lots of them are renouncing their pink IC and cash out their CPF...is that why your boss would want you to post all the negative thread targeting at OZ? Badly behaved Singaporeans are everywhere...not only in OZ lah...LOL

neddy

Most of us in Oz don't bother anymore about shockshit and his clones.

I am grateful to this country for giving me a new start in life, something that Singapore has never given Singaporeans besides asking for greater sacrifices on our part just to reward themselves obscenely.

We're don't gain anything by defending Oz, neither do we need so desperately as shockshit to disparage what we in our hearts know as lies.

But shockshit has his own use, it keeps away the ugly Singaporeans that behave badly in anonymity, but fall into a cowardly silence when confronted with their poor behaviour. It does us all some good that these kind of Singaporeans remain in Singapore, where they will never know what it means to enjoy the simple freedoms of life and will live the remainder of their lives complaining, quarrelling and fighting over trivial matter while slowing being boiled to their deaths.

The grass is truly greener on this side, if so the person wishes to see it, no need to argue when you can only see it for themselves to believe.

QXD,
Only people with a positive mind will see the greener grass. It is called opportunity. Those Aus bashing clowns are unhappy people in denial. They have been exposed in the old Sam Leong Delphi forum as liars with no idea of USA, NZ or Australia.

I have been living in Western Australia for ages and I have gone through happy and angry time with this state. But at the end of the day, I got used to the cities and towns like Kal, Geraldton, Perth or Bunbury and take them for granted and complain. After I visited Singapore, I realised that Singapore was a few rungs down in their overall quality of life. Thank God for Aus. :cool:

shockshiok

Oei... was it that Australia is being the country where most Singaporean emigrated to and OZ is at the top of your job list to denounce it? Lots of them are renouncing their pink IC and cash out their CPF...is that why your boss would want you to post all the negative thread targeting at OZ? Badly behaved Singaporeans are everywhere...not only in OZ lah...LOL

as a matter of fact you are quite close. singaporeans have a pack mentality. for holidays its always bali, thailand or china. for short holidays the causeway is always jammed. why? and for migration, there is or rather was, the default nation of choice - australia.

but things have changed. it used to be australia was an affordable laid back choice for a singaporean wishing for greener pastures. it used to be GCT was talking about australia when he asked singaporeans not to be quitters. now he doesnt have to worry. the big cars and cheap houses dont exist anymore. and i reiterate its not my fault australia has undergone many years of economic growth, wealth creation, under poor leadership that has reulted in some of the highest costs in the world for cars, housing, food, and other staples of daily living. its criminal the mismanagement in australia.

most of the intensely negative postings here on this forum are a byproduct of the bad behavior singaporeans have. this is carried over from the old forum where costs, and the changes of australia were calmly discussed. even the ex-singaporeans there such as axe168 complained of his council fees, dental costs etc.

but we singaporeans over here are not allowed to question why costs are so high. we are not allowed to question the declining standard of living in australia. should you do so, you would be attacked, and encounter typical bad behavior from singaporeans. just see for yourself. axe168, QXD, neddy, IWC2006. its all here.

so instead i have made a hobby of playing with these singaporeans and turning their bad behavior around, so we can all see how ugly they are, and how unlucky thier neighbors are to inherit such sour grapes.

its really fun.

hee hee

You are on to something for sure. Those in the old SBF will recall a couple of nick that posts extracts of negative press stories of OZ. They never did make any comments neither did they respond to others.

They were replaced and the MO was also modified. One uses Canada and another the US but the agenda is identical - to stop migration to OZ which continues to be biggest drawcard. Canada and the US is just a ploy. clearly an organised effort by some diehard PAP Cadre wannabe.

Just ignore them.

Satan

I couldn't agree more. The very fact that I don't respond to any of these rubbish these days from this loser cockroach or his humpteen nicks speaks volumes. Just that I don;t want to waste my time any more. Oz is a popular destination among migrants and that is a fact. One of my friends who had migrated to Canada told me that when he visited Singapore and attended a freind's wedding, there were so many students there who wanted to study and work in Oz. Now do you understand why the pappies are so insecured so that they have to engage cockroaches like shockshit to post craps here? :wink:

redbull313

as a matter of fact you are quite close. singaporeans have a pack mentality. for holidays its always bali, thailand or china. for short holidays the causeway is always jammed. why? and for migration, there is or rather was, the default nation of choice - australia.

but things have changed. it used to be australia was an affordable laid back choice for a singaporean wishing for greener pastures. it used to be GCT was talking about australia when he asked singaporeans not to be quitters. now he doesnt have to worry. the big cars and cheap houses dont exist anymore. and i reiterate its not my fault australia has undergone many years of economic growth, wealth creation, under poor leadership that has reulted in some of the highest costs in the world for cars, housing, food, and other staples of daily living. its criminal the mismanagement in australia.

most of the intensely negative postings here on this forum are a byproduct of the bad behavior singaporeans have. this is carried over from the old forum where costs, and the changes of australia were calmly discussed. even the ex-singaporeans there such as axe168 complained of his council fees, dental costs etc.

but we singaporeans over here are not allowed to question why costs are so high. we are not allowed to question the declining standard of living in australia. should you do so, you would be attacked, and encounter typical bad behavior from singaporeans. just see for yourself. axe168, QXD, neddy, IWC2006. its all here.

so instead i have made a hobby of playing with these singaporeans and turning their bad behavior around, so we can all see how ugly they are, and how unlucky thier neighbors are to inherit such sour grapes.

its really fun.

hee hee

They are sour apples hence your bashing of Australia. I myself see what is good in Australia, the nature, big open spaces, and western lifestyle. The onl reason I dislike the place is it has become very cost prohibitive indeed. I still remember the prices and costs of things there, but there is no such thing as a perfect place.

Perhaps nowdays Australia is meant for younger persons seeking to make money, as opposed to the retiree. In my opinion Australia has become a place to make money, not live a peaceful life. Money sure has changed Australia, I can tell you that.

shockshiok

They are sour apples hence your bashing of Australia. I myself see what is good in Australia, the nature, big open spaces, and western lifestyle. The onl reason I dislike the place is it has become very cost prohibitive indeed. I still remember the prices and costs of things there, but there is no such thing as a perfect place.

Perhaps nowdays Australia is meant for younger persons seeking to make money, as opposed to the retiree. In my opinion Australia has become a place to make money, not live a peaceful life. Money sure has changed Australia, I can tell you that.

i am surprised anyone can see anything positive in the worst country in the world, australia.

hee hee

depeche

Sad to says that Australia has also changed...money, money, money...:(

The_Latest_H

Until you have stayed in Australia, you wouldn't know the difference between Singapore and Australia.

Besides, as I said, I have stayed in US for 2 months back in 2004. I'm not against the US either, really. So all these differences between Oz and the US are really of a personal matter; a personal perception.

Thus there's no right or wrong when it comes to preference. Australia is only my first choice when it came to studying because its close to Asia, and I can travel back faster if there's an emergency back home. I might go to Canada or the US in my latter years if there's an opportunity given to me.

So for now, its Australia. And I don't find it exactly pleasing about hitting other people for their personal preferences anyway. We should have bigger fishes to fry.

axe168

... just see for yourself. axe168, QXD, neddy, IWC2006. its all here.

its really fun.

hee hee

For info.. i am not Singaporean.. lim peh hold a blue passport hor... If you feel ya much better than us, then good for you ! I feel happy for you too.. Beer on me ! Yuummmmm Senggggg !

neddy

Refer to my findings (http://www.singsupplies.com/showthread.php?t=15609)

I do wonder if it is worth spending my time here when the PAP mole is posting all kinds of anti-Aussie rubbish.

In fact, I am pretty confortable with the facts that no matter how this global economic crisis affect Australia, I am in a far better condition compared to when I am stuck in Singapore.

There is a small section of workers who are affected by the crisis and we expect the numbers to increase. The govt is planning to to help those who are affected with counselling and redeployment and to ensure that the kids' education are not disrupted when the new school term starts.

I am proud to be Aussie and wish all Aussies a HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY.

IWC2006

Until you have stayed in Australia, you wouldn't know the difference between Singapore and Australia.

Besides, as I said, I have stayed in US for 2 months back in 2004. I'm not against the US either, really. So all these differences between Oz and the US are really of a personal matter; a personal perception.

Thus there's no right or wrong when it comes to preference. Australia is only my first choice when it came to studying because its close to Asia, and I can travel back faster if there's an emergency back home. I might go to Canada or the US in my latter years if there's an opportunity given to me.

So for now, its Australia. And I don't find it exactly pleasing about hitting other people for their personal preferences anyway. We should have bigger fishes to fry.

Every state is different. though Australia is a lot smaller then USA (relative to population size and no. of cities), the vibe is different from say, Perth vs Sydney. One is more laid-back but the other is like any other capital city in the world, one thing for sure there's so much things to do and see then going from malls to malls in the lifeless Spore.

I've been to many parts of the world but I must say Australia is still among the best place to live and work. Living cost has gone up quite a bit (thanks to the china booming) in the past few years still cheaper then UK or most part of Europe (relative to income). Once you live and get used to the good life here, its very very difficult to adjust to the red.dot life. I also tend to believe most Sporeans will do relatively well in career here esp in the bigger city state where 1 out of 5 is born oversea. Shiockshit can try all possible ways to condemn Australia but the immigration numbers is just going to keep escalating no matter how hard he try.

neddy

Personally, I am very grateful to Australia because of the injuries I sustained with my leg during NS combat exercise that was never properly treated. The C class ward doctor at TTSH even performed a wrong surgical cut.

Now that age is catching up with me, my leg is giving me problems. Australian specialists and even the research university's Human Movement Dept are attending to my old injuries, all covered under Medicare and Bulk billed.

Do you think I can get such good treatment in Singapore, Yes, at a substantial cost, and I may not get such dedicated staff who are prepared to spend time to look at my case as an individual.

HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY

imperialarms

what u are saying is wrong , because in sinkapore u may not experience things that you experience in ang moh lands. we should not just have the belief that migration is hunky dory, there are many negative aspects that we must also consider. and there are many different nuances that you will simply not understand unless you have spent very extended periods in these countries.

imperialarms

i think redbull or one of them posted a photo of his house in USA in the old forum, so hes definitely living in the USA.

Yes australia is the country that most sinkies migate to, its almost an unconscious choice mainly because of proximity and also a lot of fellow sinkies are now there. They still cannot let go, to them America is too far away(?) they think we live in the era of steamships and coolies.

but SINKIES should learn to venture out of their comfort zone and learn there is a much bigger world out there

neddy

i think redbull or one of them posted a photo of his house in USA in the old forum, so hes definitely living in the USA.

Yes australia is the country that most sinkies migate to, its almost an unconscious choice mainly because of proximity and also a lot of fellow sinkies are now there. They still cannot let go, to them America is too far away(?) they think we live in the era of steamships and coolies.

but SINKIES should learn to venture out of their comfort zone and learn there is a much bigger world out there

I also suspect Redbull313 is in the US, eating 90cents sandwiches,driving
$10k Merc Benz and living in $20k mansion. :biggrin:

But I disagree that a lot of Singaporeans come to Australia. Australia is too difficult for pampered Singaporeans to adapt to. I believe that 90% of Singaporeans will end up returning to Singapore or moving on to the USA (Eg Redbull313) for good because Australia is too tough for them :smile:

I find that the major cities in the USA and Canada are a better choice.

You can forget about migrating to the UK. Even the Brits themselves are leaving. Singaporeans cannot afford 10pound sandwich and 3 pound mineral water.

WISH everyone, including subprimes and ninjas (no income no job no asset home mortgage holders), a HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR.

IWC2006

Aiya just because he posted some photos does it mean he lives in the US? U seem to be quite naive.

Statistics(2007 i think) shows there are 40,000 Sporeans living in Australia, the same figure in the UK , and half of the numbers in US. So UK is another popular choice as well (but going down).

Most Sporeans choose Australia because i) there are more students study there and stayback to get PRs and work, and another batch (like myself) immigrated there after working in Spore a number of years. ii) Closer to Spore, 3) more laid-back, work-life balance, iv) is faster and straightforward to apply as PR then the US. Canada is too far. v) Other reasons such as re-unit with family members there or business related.

Most Sporeans I know in fact do not migrate blindly. A lot of them complain a lot but they won't take any action, or they are fear of the unknown and uncertainty if they can survive in another land.

The current generation of Sporeans are more educated and well travelled, they know what is good for them and what is not. Trust me, you can find more PRCs or indians here(Sydney) then Sporeans. Sporeans are a rare sight. In my workplace with 600+ workforce, I know there's only a handful of us (not more then 5) are from Singapore, quite a number of Asians are from HK, Malaysia, Vietnam, india. U think survive in Australia is simple and is not a venture - then try it yourself, don't just post something u don't know.

IWC2006

I also suspect Redbull313 is in the US, eating 90cents sandwiches,driving
$10k Merc Benz and living in $20k mansion. :biggrin:

But I disagree that a lot of Singaporeans come to Australia. Australia is too difficult for pampered Singaporeans to adapt to. I believe that 90% of Singaporeans will end up returning to Singapore or moving on to the USA (Eg Redbull313) for good because Australia is too tough for them :smile:

I find that the major cities in the USA and Canada are a better choice.

You can forget about migrating to the UK. Even the Brits themselves are leaving. Singaporeans cannot afford 10pound sandwich and 3 pound mineral water.

WISH everyone, including subprimes and ninjas (no income no job no asset home mortgage holders), a HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR.

It's a lot easier for those who have had educated in Australia before. If you migrate based on this route then u can safety say most of them will integrate well in the society and settle here pretty well with a good career and family life. The younger Sporean immigrants should avoid settle in Perth, Adelaide or Tasmania(too laid-back and boring for the city-state breed Sporeans) instead opt for the major cities Sydney, Melboune, Brisbane. In fact I think the younger generations should work in Spore(due to the regional hub nature) to gain more experience and would have better international exposure then in Australia before they migrate. However, in Australia they do gain something else as the workforce there have better work ethic, higher productivity, brush up better communication skills.

US & UK both are better choice for career building as they are the main drivers behind the economy. However, US is in deep depression now and UK economy is equally in bad shape. With the government pushing to save thousands of jobs in America at the expense of foreign workers holding the H1 or H1B visas, there will be plenty of foreigners ask to leave the country thus Sporeans should avoid US at all cost ,at least in the next couple of years. Canada? I'm not sure, I think it is has some similiarity with Australia.